Everyday when I wake up, the first thing I look at is: what is the level of retrenchment, how many more jobs have we lost? The second thing I worry (about) is whether every job lost translates to another unemployed worker.

NTUC Chief Lim Swee Say

Tags:

46 Responses to “Union chief wakes up everyday and…..”

1. Everyday I woke up and wondered when will be my turn to be included in the jobless statistic. I have been asking myself why another pessimistic view from the same ministers everyday and what have they practically done other than talking and passing of messages to tell us what has already happened.

If after taking bitter medicine and still we are not able to recover, what should the doctor do instead of just saying you are still ill and need to continue with the same medicine which shows no result? Do they simply sit by after collecting consultation fee and doing nothing to help the patient? So much for making this people rich and still no sign of any result of improving our health condition.

2. Major “duh” moment..

3. pen is mightier 29 April 2009

“The second thing I worry (about) is whether every job lost translates to another unemployed worker.”

hahahahhaahah Pure Genius…

4. singaporean 29 April 2009

So what does he check first? His CPF statement or level of retrenchment? Haha..

5. blackfeline 29 April 2009

Every day…the first thing he should do is to take a hard look at himself in the mirror…whether his nose is getting longer like his cousin pinochio!

6. Just another joke from him.

7. Steven 29 April 2009

Obviousman to the rescue!

8. Sinkees 29 April 2009

Wow lau these elites certainly deserved their high pay…

He starts worrying for US first time in the morning
    and previously a “poster boy” commented that he slept less than 5 hrs….

9. How come no government official has said there they should be taking a pay cut to help the nation. Its always the layman that has to bear the brunt of everything. They always say “Stand Up For Singapore”. I am yet to see them standing up for the people.

It s easy to talk from a position of strength and money. Good times they take pay rise. Bad times they take home same pay where others have to take paycut. Wheres the logic.

The CEOS of the world should not be payed so high a salary. So too should our government officials. They always like to avoid this topic. Its very the sensitive .

10. curious 29 April 2009

“The second thing I worry (about) is whether every job lost translates to another unemployed worker.”

Someone help me understand this statement. After reading the whole story, I still don’t get it. I know I know, that is why I am not paid millions of $$$$.

Or could he be counting robots in the labour statistics now. A robot lost its job, no worker becomes unemployed.

11. Benchmarking themselves according to “performance” is a model for failure as proven by Wall Street’s collapse.

Folks in finance definitely benchmarked themselves- Look where they got us.

Order of things which Lim Swee Say looks at in the morning:
    - The MM’s picture (Great country! Even greater pay/power for us ministers here thanks to you!)
    - The Unemployment data- (wah so sad.. oh well.. what to do? let’s move on..)
    - His CPF statement so he can feel better about the unemployment data (At least i am rich hahaha)

12. Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang) 29 April 2009

C’mon guys,

You gotta give the man credit when credit is due. When the first thing most people look at when they wake up is the ceiling, this dude already has the employment report hung over him liao. If that’s not dedication, I dunno what that is.

13. and then he checks his mail and turns that frown upside down.

14. #12 Zefly

maybe it’s delusion

15. woodpecker 29 April 2009

Worry only what…..big deal.

Pay any monkey a million dollars and it too can worry.

But what is critical is what he has he done to level the balance of power between the gahmen, employers and workers.

So far, most of his policies seem to result in the workers taking the shortest end of the stick vis-a-vis the gahmen and workers.

With his strategy of asking workers to taking it lying down, no wonder he has to worry every morning.

Is his real worry that people finally realise that post of Cabinet Minister has real conflicting interest with that of his role of as Labor Chief?

16. woodpecker 29 April 2009

Errata:

>> So far, most of his policies seem to result in the workers taking the shortest end of the stick vis-a-vis the gahmen and workers.

The last bit should read as “… vis-a-vis the gahmen and employers.”

Moderator, can you change it for me please? Thanks.

17. why_wakeUP 29 April 2009

Everyday when I wake up, the first thing I look at is: WHY WAS THE JOB CREDIT SCHEME BENIFITTING ONLY THE EMPLOYERS ??

AND WHY IS THE UNEMPLOYMENT RATE STILL CLIMBING UP DESPITE THE SO CALLED SUCCESSFUL FORMATION OF THE TRIPARTITE ? CAN LSS PLS ENLIGHTEN US ??

18. Upturn the downturn….however doesn’t work…

19. why_wakeUP 29 April 2009

Another thing that I question first thing I wake up : WHY ARE THE GOVERNMENT STILL PAYING THESELVES OBSCENELY HUGE MILLION DOLLLARS SALARIES DESPITE THE SEVERE ECONOMIC DOWNTURN AND UNSUCCESSFUL ATTEMPT AT THE VARIOUS SCHEMES IMPLEMENTED BY THEIR A-TEAM TO CIRCUMVENT THE MAJOR UNEMPLOYMENT SITUATION ??

20. Small Time Businessman 29 April 2009

If you link your pay level to job losses, then I will believe that you actually worry unemployment rate in SG.

Beyong that, please don’t talk c*ck

21. Small Time Businessman 29 April 2009

If you link your pay level to job losses, then I will believe that you actually worry about unemployment rate in SG.

Beyong that, please don’t talk c*ck

22. Overseas Singaporean 29 April 2009

I so didn’t understand that

23. Dr Frankenstein 29 April 2009

one unemployed= one more unemployed, wow what a revelation. 1+1=2 that’s what I call top level maths

24. I think some people dont understand. What he means (by his second thought) is whether the retrenched person gets re-employed or not. Thus he is actually worrying about two things – retrenchment and unemployment.

But this comment is funny nonetheless. I dont believe this is what he really does. Though this said, LSS is one of the better, not-so-high-up-in-his-ivory-tower ministers already. LHL and his daddy are the ones with the power to change/cut salaries. critisice him instead.

25. Pay HIM a million dollars, and he worries everyday over retrenchment, and unemployment.
    Pay ME a million dollars and I (can also) worry everyday about retrenchment and unemployment.
    Pay SOMEONE FRESH to workforce a million dollars, and he (also) worries about retrenchment and unemployment.
    What is the difference ?
    The difference ought to be in terms of results. Everyday, a million dollar minister is expected to deliver results exceedingly far more than a non minister. The key word is DELIVER, NOT WORRY.
    Looks like outdated mentality again.

26. patriot 29 April 2009

Every night when i lie on the bed, i ask myself if i have done any injustice, have i commit any mistake or have i sin with any of my action.

It is good to remind ones’ conscience daily.

patriot

27. His CPF will erase away all worries.... 29 April 2009

He probably needs to worry for 5 seconds only…….after that he just needs to check his CPF statement and all his worries will be erased.

28. TrueBlood Singaporean 29 April 2009

EveryDay I woke up “Why the $600 JobCredit benefit the Employer of the employed!” “How about $600 for 10,000 Unemployed?

Wake up your Idea! Think of solutions to help unemployed!!!

29. tew ah seow 29 April 2009

Don’t trust this man, he is a running dog.

30. kopipeng 29 April 2009

You see (face cringing) this MNC shared their profit with their unionised workers after they all agree to pay-cut. (Glamourised union)

One million dollars in CPF is not enough .. said the minister. Hey dude 80% SIN dont have i million in CPF – so what the heck are you talking about.

I am meritoracy end-product. Hey dude, meritoracy thesedays are if you know the principal eg VJC principal “the mark of silence”. Meritoracy? These day it is meritoracy through connections…Are you part of this Egima?

You did arrive in Catholic High, you became Minister. If you score 100 in maths in Yishun, maybe you become school teacher.. Was it the school or the meritoracy you preach? It is the school DUDE. They are many kids scoring 100 in maths in neighoburhood school.

Govt is blind to 100 mark kids from neighbouring school – dont you see DUDE.

How many jln Besar xxtong school boys have you plugged out to go Catholic to re-pay your gratitute?

or the milllion so intoxicating, you forgotten where you came from ?

Only you worry? Get REAL.

It OK, we employ ang-moh (give them high salary) to solve our problem. We tell SIN to integrate with them FT. Leave the ang-moh to solve SIN problem. So we can keep selling koropok to our countryfolk eg our SIN passports is so respected even Obama requested for one. You see you ungrateful SIN……

What is money? SIN have plenty! – so plenty that we give 400 million to one ABC Aussie ang-moh & he is so smart; he spent it in 5 months.. See, You Singapore SME hopeless & go fly kite; dont come asking us for monies. We rather spent it on ang-moh companies, they ang-moh know how to spent. You SIN SME all hopeless- all you can do is ask for more monies. Ang-moh never ask – WE give them. You SIN SME must learn more the ang-moh way. YES minister.

The ridicule continues…

31. actually he is worried, he may be the unemployed after the GE

32. i think that a very committed minister.

worth to take the pay.

33. kingrant 30 April 2009

Everyday I wake up and I ask myself why won’t these obscenely paid Ministers go out and spend all their millions shopping and dining so as to stimulate the badly beaten retail trade and food and beverage industry. If he doesnt know how to do it, I wonder why he has no brains to give the millions to us so that we can show him how to. Just sitting on his backside and whining isn’t going to help all of us poor taxpayers, the unemployed, the retrenched, the jobless, the homeless, the hungry!

34. notalone 30 April 2009

Every morning i wake up, the first thing i look at is the ceiling… this is the truth.

35. singaporeeyes 30 April 2009

Wow…he is just inviting us to kick his overpaid ka-chng out in the next GE.

36. iliveinuk 30 April 2009

if yuo guys met him and talked to him in person, i think he is a very sincere and dedicated person.

I have had the good honour of hearing him speak a few times and i cannot deny he is worth the money he earns.

I think that if he was not our labour chief, not the tripartite system in place, we’ll be in a worse off situation than we can be.

The facts and figures speak for themselves

37. Oviraptor11 30 April 2009

35) iliveinuk on April 30th, 2009 4.54 am wrote:
    “I have had the good honour of hearing him speak a few times and i cannot deny he is worth the money he earns.”

How do you know he is worth the money just by speaking to him? Did you work with him? Do you know what he actually does at work? That is a terribly statement to make.

“The facts and figures speak for themselves”

Yes indeed. The facts and figures say Singapore is the first country in South east asia to fall into recession and is one of the most badly hit. For that, this person should be fired for his incompetence.

38. I Can Honestly Say . . . 30 April 2009

I was laid off 2 months ago after 6 years of service. My generous ang mo employer compensated me with stellar sum of the mandatory one month after sticking it through thick and thin with them as an executive of the firm. No negotiation of pay cut, fewer working hours or any other form of compromise before wielding the axe.

From the day my retrenchment took place, I made it a point to apply for 5 to 10 positions in different industries and appointments. After more than 300 applications, I have had only 1 interview to date and nothing cast in stone still. I am sure there are others out there just like me in possibly worse positions.

The Singapore taxpayers do not pay you to worry. They pay you to solve the problem. If your policies cannot rein in employers such as mine, what are you going to do?

For your million dollar pay, your statement is an insult to those who are currently jobless. The worries and stress levels of the jobless are much higher on a day to day basis.

So stop telling us what you worry about. Solve the problem. If you can’t, return every single dime to the coffers of the Singapore taxpayer and get someone who can do it. At your level and pay scale, there are no excuses of non-performance to the common man on the street.

39. I Can Honestly Say . . . 30 April 2009

Unfortunately sincerity and dedication does not equate to solving the problem.

I, too, along with others, were also sincere and dedicated to our employers and jobs.

At his position and pay scale, it is only the final result that matters. It is not the quality of the person in question.

Solve it.

40. aiyoyo 30 April 2009

aiyoyo

action better than worry la elites.

do 1st talk later – very familiar hor army 1st day lesson

not sure elites got do army?

aiyoyo

41. TrueBlood Singapore 30 April 2009

Let all the Unemployed Singaporean show our Good Ministers what it means retrenchments in the Next Elections!

42. Before or after he looks at his CPF statement?

43. Jobless 30 April 2009

We the tax payers don’t pay u to worry every morning, we pay you to solve our jobless problem, come on wake up please n don’t give all stupid solutions n excuses.

44. farnie 30 April 2009

He said first thing he looks at though. So i think the CPF statement is last….

45. Clear eyed 30 April 2009

To be paid $millions just to look at some statistics and worry?! Where else in this world does this kind of dream job exist?

46. In SinKapore if MM Lee did not raise the subject , nobody else had the gut to do so. Nobody dared to raise any subject without his approval. Although we have a cabinet of ministers we have only one functioning brain to do the thinking as all the rest are permanently on neutral as required. It was like the period in China when Mao was running the show, the country was going downhill and nobody dare to tell him that his policies were wrong. Millions had to suffer and the situation turned for the better only after Mao went to meet his maker. Sadly, Sinkapore is in the same sad situation. No body is allow to out perform the old fox even doing the decent thing. They had to be told. Have we see any initiatives from our ministers that did not original from the old fox? We are wasting million of dollars paying all these expensive talent and to top it we lost 50B of our saving. A very successful gahment that deserve many more years to rule over us? Emotion aside, let examine the facts. Although we do not have accurate figures for the unemployed and homeless, we are begining to see more around if one care to be more observance. Fair enough, in a recession there will always be jobless and homeless but why keep it a secret? Are we now in a state that only report good news and any bad news must be subpressed or cover up? A healthy debates may throw new ideas for both the gahment and jobless to find new solution. After all we know it is the gobal recession that is causing all these problems.