Jonathan Koh, Main Stories, Top Story - Written on Sunday, May 24, 2009 8:37 - 50 Comments

10 years – and still no public transport subsidy for disabled

Jonathan Koh

Reena Rajasvari, 50, has been visually impaired for twenty-two years. Struck by glaucoma – a group of diseases that damaged her optic nerve – she gradually lost her vision in both eyes when she was 28. From afar, however, no one would suspect she is any different from able-bodied people. Her gait is steady and upright, and she wears a huge smile. She answers questions eloquently and speaks with passion. She has been pursuing this cause of granting transport concessions for the disabled since 1999. In 2000, she approached a Member of Parliament to help her speak to SMRT.

“I thank the government and transport operators for giving us the best transport system”, she says, addressing the 60 odd people who turned up at the event at Hong Lim Park. “But how can we use (the transport system) if there is no concession?” Most of the disabled people are either not working, or in the low income group, she says, clarifying that they are “not asking for free (transport), just subsidies” and concessions to ease their burden – this being especially important in the current economic crisis.

Hefty transport costs

Reena (picture, left) is actually one of the more fortunate disabled people who are employed. Her telemarketing job earns her around $700 a month. But she has to travel to work by taking two buses and the train, spending over $200 in transport fares each month, around 30% of the wages she earns.

Another visually impaired speaker, Junaidah Ramli, adds that “the cost of living is very high” in Singapore. As such, she hopes that “the transport operators will hear (them) out”.

She also urges transport operators to be “more helpful to guide disabled people”. There was once a bus driver, in his attempt to help her up the bus, took away her cane, making her ‘disoriented’. Handicapped by her inability to see, she occasionally takes the cab, paying even $50 on one occasion. She earns “$300 and below” every month.

Responses from public transport operators

The fight for transport concessions is not likely to be easy though. SMRT operator’s reply to Reena in 2000 was: we have to be “prudent about extending any travel concessions beyond the present eligible groups” because “concession fares are cross-subsidized by full-fare paying passengers with no direct subsidy”. In short, SMRT’s reply was ‘no’.

Organizer Challengeds’ Alliance Network’s (CAN!) spokesman Ravi Philemon says that it is “unfair that the disabled, already earning so little, have to pay as much as an (able-bodied) adult person”. He notes that concessions are already being given to the elderly and NSmen and there are no reasons why it cannot also be given to the disabled. He hopes that once the petition is forwarded to the Minister of Transport, more can be done to help the disabled.

TOC understands that SBS Transit, a private bus operator, is already looking into offering concession fares to commuters with physical disabilities. Though no firm proposals have been drawn up, it is likely that such concessions, if granted, will not be extended to the visually or hearing impaired. Whilst Reena acknowledges that some bus drivers ‘give concessions out of compassion’ to the blind people, this practice is technically not legal.

She says that “many disabled people are hence not coming out of their house” due to the heavy cost of transport, becoming ‘disconnected’ as a result.

Other woes

Other than feeling the pinch of paying unsubsidised transport fares, the disabled also find it hard to obtain employment, especially so in this economic downturn. For Wong U-Wen, who is hearing impaired, his job search which started mid-April last month has been particularly ‘frustrating’.

He has studied, lived and worked in the United States for the past 20 years, serving the Center for Disability Rights in upstate New York. When his H1B visa (a non-immigrant visa that allows US employers to hire foreign employees in highly specialised occupations) expired, his employer did not have enough time to apply for the US green card on his behalf. He had to return to Singapore.

In response to a question I wrote on my notepad, “What kind of job are you  looking for?”, he writes briefly: “Whatever I can get. As long as I can do the job to the best of my abilities.” 

Offering help as an individual

1.     If you believe that the disabled should be given public transport concessions, you can pen your signature here: 

2.     Also, a research and advocacy group is working on a project which aims to derive practical solutions to the problems the disabled face in Singapore. This group is currently working on research right now, and really needs to know what the people with disabilities or their friends/families have to say about the current situation and problems. Suggestions, opinions, support and criticism are all welcome. Please email your responses to sg.cedic@gmail.com and kindly help to spread the word.”

—-

For more pictures, visit TOC’s Facebook here.

—-

1. Transport Ministry and PTC wash their hands off public transport subsidy for people with disability issue
  2. Leap from transport subsidy to free public transport
  3. Transport subsidies for the disabled – passing the buck?
  4. Public transport – addressing some issues
  5. Fare hike for public transport in October?

50 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

agongkia
May 24, 2009 9:23

I gong gong think that they are given special priviledge and do not have to pay while taking public transport.
I can’t believe that they are not even given concession on public transport.
sigh..

sarek_home
May 24, 2009 9:53

Often, I notice people just ignore wheel chair bounded passengers when boarding MRT trains. They don’t give way to let the wheel chair bounded to get in first. They don’t give way to let the wheel chair bounded to take the lift first.

wei chun
May 24, 2009 10:05

I’m also shocked that the disabled are not given any public transport subsidies. surely singapore is wealthy enough to do that.

hongjun
May 24, 2009 10:22

But why I see disabled people just take bus and then show a pass without paying money? I thought they are subsidized? Or am I wrong?

hongjun

TrueBlood Singaporean
May 24, 2009 10:34

Disabled People Got More Guts than the Retrenched Workers!

MCYS is behind your Back!

yw
May 24, 2009 11:08

@4 hongjun

that only happens if the bus driver is compassionate to waive the boarding fee. the pass they flash is to identify themselves as disabled. it is up to the bus driver to decide whether s/he wants to let the disabled person get on the bus for free or pay the full fare.

Cy
May 24, 2009 11:12

“4) hongjun on May 24th, 2009 10.22 am ”

its called 人间有情. The concession is given based only on the driver’s common sense.

Honestly if a 1st world country cannt take care of a minority population of challenged citizens, what makes you think they care about the majority?

toiletmatter
May 24, 2009 12:18

those wooden, log-headed mps & lta fuc*ing know how to enforce reserved handicap lot that comes in pair per floor at every congested carpark in spore (btw which are 100% vacant 24/7, 365/yr) but don’t know how to give concession to public trans.

Donaldson Tan
May 24, 2009 12:28

Hongjun,

Those are not concession but compassion of individual bus drivers. It is not company policy to offer discounted fares to the disabled.

60 bothered
May 24, 2009 12:39

4.5 million souls.
60 give a hoot.

Eugene
May 24, 2009 14:20

wow, even disabled people are more active politically than able Singaporeans. I think its a cause for shame for the majority of us.

blackfeline
May 24, 2009 14:56

What do u xpect from greedy n pathetic company ? And useless MPs? It’s a disgrace !

prettyplace
May 24, 2009 15:02

Aiyo….so embarassing,…..I wonder how these ministers can go overseas….

My meetings overseas must be postphoned because…if and if any of my clients or sponspors read this…they will…just…cringe….and go eeeee….

I too thought that they had free rides…..what is wrong with these companies….what is wrong with the transport/ MCYS and whatever ministries….

I know the authorities would do something now….

and I’m touched by these people …. for not asking for a full-fare concession….just a subsidy….

“These guys” think that people will not wash their dirty linen in public.( asian value)..that is the reason “they” have been going and doing what “they” like…but with life so difficult and different from before…I think such values should take a back seat….

Thanks again to TOC for bringing this shame out

anon
May 24, 2009 15:03

hello? this is singapore inc.
the more u can contribute to the country’s coffers, the more subsidie u are entitled to. not the other way round.

and the govt already told u, ‘no one will be left behind’
- if u are a no one (ie poor, disabled, old) u will be left behind.

i hope everyone in this country can have a sense of proportion like mm said.

lose $4.6 billion with no regrets while people die with electricity/water cut off and hdb reposessing their house.

Sinkee
May 24, 2009 15:30

Give public transport subsidy ….and there’ll be “unnecessary” travels accordingly to Singapapor’s God of No Mercy

Gerald Giam
May 24, 2009 16:22

There was once I attended a “dialogue” session where a disabled person asked for more disabled friendly buses. The Minister’s response was, “Well if they need to get around, they can always take a cab.” This was not the Minister of Transport, btw. Someone much more senior.

korek2korek
May 24, 2009 16:28

Am not against disabled getting concessions — I think that is good as it signifies societal compassion in a tangible way.

However, let’s not use the income argument. If because of income, one needs to have concessions, then there are many other needy groups who need concessions too, not just disabled. E.g. those out of job, retrenched, those not earning enough to support family, aged parents, etc. The list goes on.

Then we have other needs – medical care, food, lodging, to take care.

Such needy people need targetted help. I think the govt should do so, but it must be sustainable and commensurate with prudent fiscal policy. Because in the end, taxpayer has to pay for govt to finance targetted help.

KopitiamApek
May 24, 2009 17:40

The cause is a noble one.
One that I believe many Singaporeans will support.
But there is no need to drag in all the irrelevant and negative blame-the-garment for-every-damn-problem-you-got comments.
It does no benefit except to reduce credibilty.
Look at the big picture.
Stay on focus.

KopitiamApek
May 24, 2009 17:47

reserved handicap lot is by HDB

bus concessions is by bus companies and the Public Tpt Council

but on both counts, you blamed LTA

get your facts right or your are sabotaging this cause

liesbuster
May 24, 2009 18:18

The govt don’t wish or expect the disabled to travel around too much – maybe the occasional trip to the clinic / hospital.

Observer(SG-HK)
May 24, 2009 19:09

I thought Singapore public transportation is world class? I think regardless of whether one travel onboard a bus or SMRT, it is easy to just use the EZlink card to pay for fares right? Singapore is so wired up these days, I think it is not difficult for public transport companies (those buses and SMRT) to issue free pass to the less-able fellow citizenry. Yes? No? Oh don’t you worry, they can register to get it if you guys (those public transportation think tank) are worried over abuse. Oh I see, you mean you guys invested million of dollars in a system that cannot identify free pass issue? Difficult to change the software programs that runs the check? That is weird, wonder who works in the planning department. I used to take world class transportation in different countries, some are less world class but this is some news to me let alone this happen to my beloved country Singapore. Really feel shameful to tell my Hong Kong and foreign friends that this is how my country treats her fellow less-able citizenry. I think the only excuse I can make up is “they did not think of that to begin with”. Wow, that is such a good excuse.

Look guys, this is just way too much. Where is the spirit of an inclusive society? You guys had let ou rPM down. You guys have given Singapore first world and world class status a bad name. Don’t you worry about the shareholders, they can understand that this is a good cause and it actually does more good to the company share value than harm. So, please get to work and go issue those free passes to our less-able fellow citizenry.

twasher
May 24, 2009 20:14

Gerald,

Wow. I’m not surprised that they lack empathy, but I’m surprised that they are incompetent enough to blatantly reveal their lack of empathy.

KopitiamApek
May 24, 2009 20:50

The “mean test” should be appiled in such subsidies to prevent the buffet syndrome.

In the same spirit as when social aid is dished to the community, the deserving must be the one who receiving. Then the deserving will get more.

Remember people grabbing free textbooks in Merc?

The cases where the rich dump their aged parents into subsidised homes. Then the poor have less places.

It is not statistically possible that all disabled are from poor background, and those who are from well off families need to be subsidised. In fact these families should start a movement (like in TOC) to help the poor disabled, like starting a charity from their own donations, as they would have even greater empathy for them. Then the rest of the citizens will sure to support.

Ak
May 24, 2009 21:02

First World we are, so the Gov’t claimed. Zero empathy and zero compassion, that is the mentality of our leaders. Just loose more money thru Temasek and collect your million dollars paycheck.

Ravi Philemon
May 24, 2009 21:21

Gerald, I cannot believe the transport minister said that…

SlumDog
May 24, 2009 21:33

Known fact that there is no free lunch and every thing is Pay And Pay…..so what subsidy you are talking when the transport companies must look after sharholders stake and enhance shareholders value yr. on yr. rather than look after the handicaps…..so tough luck………try getting a sponsors elsewhere !!!

Edward
May 24, 2009 22:16

This is another way how our stingy government have accumulated such a large foreign reserve over the past 50 years of PAP’s rule by spending less for our unfortunate fellow citizens. The government make the poor and homeless beg from their MPs so that they will be beholden to the PAP and do the right thing during the GE when many of these cases can be solved by the relevant government departments. As a result, there are long queues at PAP’s MPS.

The PAP considered money spent for the disabled as welfare consumption and can be wasteful while infrastructure development are tangible and productive which are politically rewarding. Recently, the government threw a party at Hampton Court in London for our citizens working overseas at a cost of $500 per participant. If the government were to grant just half of this amount as transport subsidy to the disabled it would last them a year instead of one day of enjoyment for our very fortunate citizens in Europe.

ST Observer
May 24, 2009 22:45

It’s simple. If the ministers could forego their pay increases, it’ll be more than enough to subsidise these disabled folks.

Was Wrong Signal Sent ?
May 24, 2009 23:12

Do singaporeans feel that by being UnInterested in the PLIGHT of the less Fortunate like the Disabled and Retrenched, what kind of signal are they sending out?

Is it wise and does this Prove the society is not Caring or Vocal or Apathetic to the plight of others?

With turnouts of between 20 – 60, would the message be sent across or back fire?

kaze18
May 25, 2009 0:04

#2 >>
It is quite sad that after so many years of education, the Singapore Society in general would still turn a blind eye to the disabled.
This is so obvious in the many MRT rides that i’d taken.
Is it really so hard to give a little way?

It is good to see the disabled standing up for their own rights.
To stand up for yourself, i guess, is something one has to do if u dun fit in the mainstream.

MC Harding
May 25, 2009 3:35

This is so sad. I guess the Singapore govt looks upon the mentally and physically challenged a waste of time, and money.

mc
May 25, 2009 7:41

In Spore, if you do not have above average IQ, you are already considered a waste of space by the Govt. MERITOCRACY, remember? Its the super rich and super well and super able that get the most help from the Govt, eg, Scholars incl Lee Hsieng Loong.

PAP supporters will tell you that they don’t want the Govt to give any sort of welfare. They will tell you the disabled, elderly poor or the sick & poor should depend on charity.

Many forgot that disability can happen to anyone at anytime. It should not only be the disabled campaigning for Govt subsidy. Every single person should be doing it for your own safe guard just in case anything happens to you. Its not a curse, its a fact.

guru
May 25, 2009 10:36

8) toiletmatter on May 24th, 2009 12.18 pm

you know why? Our government assume that all disabled are rich and can afford to drive or take taxi. Or heck, they assume everyone are drawing high salary in singapore…

les
May 25, 2009 17:50

Well, i saw a minister take a first class flight from Paris to Singapore for a trip related to the Youth Olympics.

Not sure if the Olympic Council paid for this, or it was from tax payers money. i was just wondering to myself if Business Class would have sufficed, or he really really needed the extra legroom and champagne on a higher class of travel.

and here we are, the disabled having to beg for a transport subsidy. the price difference between Biz and First Class could probably have provided a couple of trips to the clinic for physiotherapy session for a few disabled citizens for a year!

Tin
May 25, 2009 17:51

This issue + Marxist conspiracy = Cruel and heartless PAP government!

How can say like that?
May 26, 2009 0:18

35) Tin on May 25th, 2009 5.51 pm

remember, its the people who enabled them to do what they did.
By this, i am not saying they did anything wrong or cruel or heartless.
you all should know.

RoJak Rabbit
May 26, 2009 11:40

Kudos to TOC for highlighting this matter.

The government doesn’t give a fig because people, until now, have not made their opinions clear on the issue. Govt apathy stems from citizen apathy, IMHO.

As citizens, as able-bodied, educated citizens we must make it very clear we won’t stand for crap like this. The subsidies are minuscule — these guys are not asking for the moon.

This govt brushes off a $5 billion share market loss as nothing, but yet it can be bothered to give subsidies that would total in the low six-figure range for all OUR disabled citizens.

We have a pandering lame-duck MSM that’s too scared to hold the govt accountable on matters like these (the pseudo-civil servants are petrified of losing their – lo! – $3,000 monthly salary), so it up to the us, the civic citizenry to pick up the cudgels and fight.

We must keep this under spotlight and shame the MPs into doing something.

RoJak Rabbit
May 26, 2009 15:03

oops little typo in my above post.

The sixth line should read as follows: “This govt brushes off a $5 billion share market loss as nothing, but yet it CAN’T be bothered to give subsidies that would total in the low six-figure range for all OUR disabled citizens.”

Thank you.

This is Singapore for YOU
May 27, 2009 0:20

Loads of money to lose but little for those you need the subsidies. Is this what we want Singapore to be ??

Angelina
May 27, 2009 1:12

Some Singaporeans are sooooo proud of their filthy rich Singapore, a country which squeeze its poorest citizens dry. To these, you won’t be so proud anymore if you lose a limb. Such issues concerns every single Singapore citizen, it is not just a campaign for the disabled.

Babu in the house
May 27, 2009 7:22

10 years on and sama sama.
Its fair for me to assume that based on the low turnout (out of 4.5million),
the people , in general , do not want to seriously pursue subsidy for the disabled.

As said by a reader, why are some people still championing for them when clearly, the majority somehow are not interested to help the less fortunate and all let it AUTO-Pilot. Why spend time fighting when you know the majority are not interested or boh chap?

loop
May 28, 2009 11:03

Able-bodied people like us are only given 2 cents discount, you think they will give better discount to disabled people? Fat chance!

Jonah
Aug 27, 2009 22:25

“concession fares are cross-subsidized by full-fare paying passengers with no direct subsidy”

I’m so tired of this crap. What SMRT/Temasek is basically telling you is that even if it DOES give subsidies, the subsidy comes from increased fare from other passengers, thereby protecting its original profit margin.

SHAME on SMRT

SDP members calls for a more equal and caring S’pore | The Online Citizen
Aug 29, 2009 9:56

[...] Read: 10 years and still no public transport subsidy for disabled. [...]

SDP members calls for a more equal and caring S’pore | The Online Citizen
Aug 29, 2009 9:56

[...] Read: 10 years and still no public transport subsidy for disabled. [...]

Ben
Aug 29, 2009 10:41

This issue has been there for so many years, our transport companies are driven by profits.As long as you have $$$. Caring Singapore? When they lose a few more seats, it might happen.

noname
Aug 29, 2009 21:59

The dividends declared by SBS and AMRT are risk free profits which if returned to public, will be more than enough to subsidize all the disabled and some needy people.

hongjun
Aug 29, 2009 22:22

These dividends are for the shareholders.

hongjun

Bobby Tan
Dec 5, 2009 0:25

This type of attitude from the obscenely highest paid politicians in Singapore towards such a small group of people really angers me……I will inform all my friends and relatives how cruel, and callous the Minister in charge and the PTC are……I am sure many will chane their votes to opposition in the next GE.

The Country spends more than a hundred million $$ to feed these fat cat politicians and senior civil servants but they will not life a finger to help a few hundred disable citizens….real disgrace.

Lambda
Dec 10, 2009 10:10

The government’s silence on the matter proves their ignorance on it.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook

Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments

It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan

More In Uncategorized