Josie Lau and team removed, AWARE elect new team

—–

—–

Josie Lau and team admit defeat and step down

—–

—–

—–

1. TOC Breaking News: Old Aware exco holds press conference, calls new Aware “moral vigilantes”
  2. All about Aware
  3. Aware members demand: “Account for our money!”
  4. More than a thousand turn up for Aware EOGM
  5. TOC Exclusive: Constance Singam’s letter to AWARE, in full

27 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

hongjun
May 3, 2009 10:17

Josie Lau and team looked rather embarrassed when delivering the “resign” speech.

Excellent work by the TOC team.

sarek_home
May 3, 2009 10:26

1) hongjun on May 3rd, 2009 10.17 am

Josie Lau and team looked rather embarrassed when delivering the “resign” speech.

But not repenting. SAD.

simplyjust
May 3, 2009 11:11

I have never bothered about AWARE and what they do ….

But as a neutral observer, I think the $90,000 spent is worth it. The lesson learnt is that ruling with an iron hand will get bottled up feelings backfire … and from the news I read, I think it’s a VICTORY for the public and a VICTORY for Christians ! A for Ms Lau and team, actions will speak louder than words. If you earnestly believe in what you do, then go all out with sincerity instead of using a pair of judgmental eyes.

simplyjust
May 3, 2009 11:22

The lack of empathy is a sure cause for failure ….

Right Versus Wrong
May 3, 2009 11:38

It does not matter now if Ms Josie Lau team is in office as we had achieved our objective of creating this torrential awareness of a wrong that needs to be right. The representation at the EGM is but a minority and hereforth much more vigilance will be placed on this New Exco which only had 200 sleeping members before we woke the rest up. We are so glad this came to fore and in a way,ironically, we had emerged victorious. We are celebrating too.

Pink Eye Sea
May 3, 2009 11:45

We the citizens of Singapore. Pledge ourselves as one united people. regardless of race, language or religion. To build a democratic society based on justice and equality so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and progress for our nation.

this never rings true until NOW !

JL
May 3, 2009 11:59

#1 hongjun,

you feel they looked rather embarrassed?

i thought they looked rather thick skinned, look at the fake smiles on their faces, look at lois, jenica and the infamous sally. if the squeezed out fake smiles were what you said was embarrassment, i really see no trace of it.

Hahaha
May 3, 2009 14:54

What is not shown is what happened after the “Josie Lau and team admit defeat and step down” clip. The moment Josie Lau announced “and I call this meeting to a close” before leaving the stage, all the microphones were turned off to prevent the original-AWARE from continuing with the replacement EXCO elections.

While at the EOGM, I considered if the sudden breakdown of all mics was a coincidental technical failure. Now I have reason to believe it was manipulated by the self-declared “gracious” losers. Look at the 1:00 of the above clip, one can see Lois giving signals to Ape Communications to resume only Josie’s podium mic. Thus, I now suspect that during their 40+ minutes of absence (not 20 minutes as stated by TOC http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/chaos/ ), Josie’s team may have been arranging their ungraceful exit.

Hahaha
May 3, 2009 14:57

In fairness to Ape Communications, the people manning the sound system resumed the mic service after a short delay during which Josie and team left the hall. Someone from the replacement EXCO (freshly elected standing on the stage) thanked them for their empathy.

mice is nice
May 3, 2009 17:49

victory aside, i think Aware should look into having more robust safeguards in place.

i wonder if a blacklist is in order for Josie & fiends. they should be barred for a few years from Exco positions to atone their “sins”.

monster
May 3, 2009 21:56

shows that 1 race + 1 religion = FAIL! haha.

mice is nice
May 4, 2009 0:23

eh, Aware newest Exco, dun rejoice so fast. there are many COOS members in Aware now.

better make it a must for all voting members to turn up every single AGM from now on. dun let history repeat…

be careful got spy eh. how to promote trust when there is a possibility it can be abused (this saga shows it can happen leh)?

smallvice585
May 4, 2009 5:00

Hi mice is nice,

I don’t think there is a need for additional safeguards such as a blacklist. The current mechanism is good and the onus to ensure that the democratic mechanism always work should remain on members. What the AWARE Saga has shown is that the lesser the number of members from the electorate who participate in election, the more susceptible the democratic mechanism is to extremists and minorities who want to impose their views over others.

conscious
May 4, 2009 10:58

Simplyjust – you consider yourself a ‘neutral observer’- ‘ how is the $$ spent justified when (a) it doesn’t belong to the ousted team and (2) no permission was sought from members as required by the Consitution – JL and co kept talking about legalities all throughout and yet they conveniently overlook the Constituition when it suited them,. Use church funds if you want to further the cause of your beliefs. Nobody will care.

Neutral party
May 4, 2009 11:19

I have nothing but respect for Ms Braema Mathi for the impartial, fair and dignified way she handled herself and the crowd. I cannot say the same for the crowd who mostly behaved like hooligans.

Perhaps LKY is correct in his draconian ways after all. As a people, I think we flounder in face of complete democracy. All civility, dignity and self control seemed to be flushed down the drain.

eh
May 4, 2009 11:58

Neutral party, maybe u would like to have someone overrun ur house becos they dun agree with ur sex life and then try and be calm when u tell them to get out.

sarek_home
May 4, 2009 12:33

14) Neutral party on May 4th, 2009 11.19 am

I have nothing but respect for Ms Braema Mathi for the impartial, fair and dignified way she handled herself and the crowd. I cannot say the same for the crowd who mostly behaved like hooligans.

They were not hooligans, they were passionate people acted boldly to right what is wrong. There is time for civic act and there is time to show ones righteous rage and to seek justice.

WeC
May 4, 2009 17:26

Does anyone know which are the 11 schools CSE was taught in?

kerondagan
May 4, 2009 18:28

Crowd is less hooligan than those who attend masses at SOOC every week. Josie & co might be back next year to attack AWARE again. Or soon another NGO will kena!

mice is nice
May 4, 2009 18:47

re post #13) smallvice585 on May 4th, 2009 5.00 am

you got a point, but i just afraid “lighning” strike twice…

aloha
May 4, 2009 20:01

i think we need to look at Josie in positive light, she allowed EGM and bowed out after losses. If for politics in Singapore, this would never happen.

Real democracy at work… people’s power la

Neutral party
May 4, 2009 20:33

16) eh on May 4th, 2009 11.58 am said

“Neutral party, maybe u would like to have someone overrun ur house becos they dun agree with ur sex life and then try and be calm when u tell them to get out.”

Well, I can choose to react like Braema Mathi – with strength, dignity and power, instead of screaming, jeering and shoving like the crowd.

Also, I don’t see your example apt as I do not see AWARE as my house.

Neutral party
May 4, 2009 20:39

17) sarek_home on May 4th, 2009 12.33 pm said

“They were not hooligans, they were passionate people acted boldly to right what is wrong. There is time for civic act and there is time to show ones righteous rage and to seek justice.”

Is Braema Mathi not passionate? Did she not act boldly to right what is wrong? In fact, she achieved much more with her demeanor than anyone there screaming and jeering madly.

We are an educated people are we not? Surely we do not want to encourage ‘Taiwanese politics’ kind of behavior here.

Neutral party
May 4, 2009 20:41

19) kerondagan on May 4th, 2009 6.28 pm said

“Crowd is less hooligan than those who attend masses at SOOC every week… ”

You attend COOS? How else do you know the COOS members behave like hooligans?

I suggest you not make this an anti Christian or religious mud sling.

corporal512
May 5, 2009 14:02

In the movie “Gone with the wind’ Clark Gable immortalized the line “I don’t care a damn” when talking to his screen wife, Vivien Leigh.
Who can ever forget the line uttered by our very own Sally Ang, a member of the old new exco committee of AWARE. “Shut up and sit down” She was referring to the rousing crowd at the AWARE’s EGM recently.

Hooligans
May 5, 2009 22:14

There are footballing types…
now there are the aware types albelt belonging to the old guards..
congratulations ,,,, the videos have recorded all for posterity….

mice is nice
May 6, 2009 23:07

birds of a feather flock together. Josie & fiends are also into videos, thats why install CCTVs in the premises…

lol.

Leave a Reply

Comment

Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 124 Comments

It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan

More In Uncategorized