You can read the full transcript of PM Lee’s speech here.

Watch the videos of PM Lee’s speech here.

From the Straits Times:

NEW changes to Singapore’s political system will lead to non-People’s Action Party members taking up at least 18 seats in Parliament, or roughly one-fifth of the House.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong announced in Parliament on Wednesday that the Constitution will be amended to allow for up to nine 9 Non-Constituency MPs, who are opposition candidates who lose but are nevertheless given seats in Parliament.

Workers’ Party chairman Sylvia is currently one such MP.

At the same time, the Parliamentary Elections Act will be amended to increase the stipulated minimum number of opposition MPs, including NCMPs, to nine.

The current minimum is three. This means there will be a guaranteed nine MPs from opposition parties in Parliament, whether or not they win an election.

These nine opposition MPs will join nine Nominated MPs – unelected representatives of sectors such as business and the creative industries – to bring about more diverse views in Parliament, the PM said.

The NMP scheme, started in 1990, will now be made a permanent feature of the system. One new sector – the people sector – will be invited to nominate candidates for the scheme.

Mr Lee said this candidate could include environmentalists, young activists, new citizens and community and grassroots leaders.

Another change will see on average smaller Group Representation Constituencies, which can be as big as six members.

At the same time, the number of single-member constituencies will be increased from nine to at least 12.

—-

100 Responses to “Breaking News: 9 opposition MPs, including NCMPs, to be allowed”

1. toiletmatter 28 May 2009

old man & son must be so hating the in-law wife by now…

2. Daniel 28 May 2009

Yes, these changes are crappy. It only fulfil the prophency that changes has to come from PAP, hhmmmm PAP government. You see even under the new change, if the opp party and NMP provides these diverse voice, it is useless, because it is ultimately just a “voice”, not action. Action means voting power to make change. Without Action, the PAP can always accuse and insulting opp party as talk only, NATO because the latter cannot vote for change. By providing diverse view under free reins to PAP government, the PAP get all the credits.
    We should not let history repeat itself.

=========================================================
    “I see this as a gift to the desires of the Singapore people. Since more want alternative voices to be heard, the PAP Government is giving them their wish.

I think the opposition should be happy too- they are guaranteed to get 9 seats. This is triple the members they have now.”

Nicholas,
    Are you been sarcastic ? Why should these people need voice without power ? Guaranteed what ? Another cheaptrick ? Last time, I heard cPF guarantee pathetic return but special account increase to nobody’s business now.

3. Small Time Businessman 28 May 2009

The PM is thinking: Let the 9 Non-Constituency MPs bark whatever they want so that the people can hear, and we will also hear, and of course will do nothing about it

4. mice is nice 28 May 2009

still the same million dollar salary to the same people equals to no change lah…

5. cheekenwing 28 May 2009

Actually the way I see it, this is PAP’s alternative to Proportional Representation. Since they are not comfortable with opposition MPs who have won few votes but are vested with full voting rights, this expanded NCMP scheme allows for best losing opposition MPs to represent the voices of the people in constituencies where the PAP has won by slim margins.

Given that losing GRCs can send no more than 2 NCMPs in, this allows more opposition parties to enter parliament. I’m surprised that they’ve pushed the number up to 9, because they could inadvertently allow Dr Chee Soon Juan or Chee Siok Chin to sneak into parliament.

A certain super senior minister will be hopping mad if that ever happens.

6. Daniel 28 May 2009

cheekenwing,
    you have to ask if NCMP has been effective at all this while. Siew has shown that this scheme is anything but effective. He make his voice and impress those who see his performance but that is all about it, nothing change in term of government policy because the government view it only as voice nothing more, and still going their own “I know it best” way. etc minister still get high salary, temasek still their own usual self, transport hike still increase without convincing justification. Nothing really change. Voice without Voting power for these NCMP is useless and ineffective.

7. Daniel 28 May 2009

All these superficial changes are just a wayang and hogwash. Our political changes should go for impact not mollycuddled changes in the midst of so many accumlated great “honest mistakes” of PAP government. So you means after the all unprecedented mistakes, the best this government do is to make some superficial change to mollycuddle the citizens and opp parties ? Wow, that is very noble and generous of PAP gov !

If someone ask me why not be optimistic and positive, the same thing I can ask of government that why only the government can make their change to fit their agenda and ask the citizen to be optimistic and positive. Why can’t the government abolish ISA, GRC, detention without trial, and allow real elected president like late President Ong, and that they stay optimistic and positive of the change ? Why should we always succumb to government’s demand and always at losing side of the bargain ? Isn’t the government exist to serve the people, and how is it that in Singapore, the people (eg digits) exist to serve and enrich the government ?
    Something isn’t right ? Don’t anyone (except for establishment running dog) think so ?

8. Please explain to me why a small country like singapore who likes to be referred to as the “red dot” needs a President, Prime Minister, 2 deputy prime ministers, 2 senior ministers and 1 senior minister mentor!!!

Can you imagine if we were a big country like malaysia to put it context. We will need 2 Presidents, 2 prime miinister, 3 deputy prime ministers. 3 senior ministers and well lest retain just 1 senior minister mentor!

Wow I shudder to wonder what our wage bill will be for all of them!

But wait maybe they will take a very small pay cut. So tell me we need all these ministers to run sin and prevent corruption??

9. Daniel 28 May 2009

“But wait maybe they will take a very small pay cut. So tell me we need all these ministers to run sin and prevent corruption??”

Corruption in top echelon takes a whole new meaning in Singapore as we know it. It is not a corruption and misabusement if it is approved so it seems.

10. A Tan 28 May 2009

Noticed who was NOT in parly?

Clue — who is in China?

11. Its time we the people of singapore have the right to vote who we want into parliament and not let anyone come in thru the back door.

Bring back the one vote for one back to singapore. We are matured enough to admit mistakes when they are made unlike some who just sweep things under the carpet and say “Let’s move on”", It”s one of those glitches in investments.

And lets stop kidding ourselves to the fact that we have to pay our ministers “”BIG BUCKS” so that they will not be corrupted! When you want to be a member of any government, one does it patriotically and for one’s people! It comes form the heart and mind for the love of one’s country and people to want to make one’s country a better place for all regardless of race , religion, justice.

Time to wake up! Time to change!! Stand up for the real Singapore and singaporeans!!

12. dying freedom 28 May 2009

Paying “Big Bucks”?!!! who decide on that? did we citizen agreed to that? Is it justified in the first place?

Look at this down turn. Common People (home grown Singaporean) are being squeezed so badly that most of us are trying to make ends meet. and yet the Ministers are still getting “loaded” yes they have a cut on 20% but they still have millions…..what is the rationale??? to prevent corruption? or it is already corruption?

I think we need change and not just “9″ but as singaporean that vote for ourselves and childrens’ future.

13. Daniel 28 May 2009

Yes, everyone should boycott those crappy NCMP scheme. because these wayang means that the next GST hike in the midst of astronomical state asset loss will definitely go through since the same running dog MPs will vote for it. It is the voting power that matter not just voice alone.

Would the scenario happens or did it happen already ?
    ==============================================

NCMPs: I am against GST increase as the people is suffering and having financial problem .
    PAP MPs: I support GST increase to help the poor. Last time, our GST increase did help the poor as evidence show it. Now the GST is increased to help Singapore.
    NCMPs: Where is the evidence ? And how does it help Singapore ?
    PAP MPs: You can find it in Youtube if you search hard enough and not look at Wendy Neo’s video. It help Singapore by making Singapore economy look good lah.
    NCMPs: That means you have no evidence lah.

Final verdict:
    GST pass through with majority of MPs vote.

PAP MPs: Please lah, you are just nothing but a voice. You have no voting power and no matter how talent u are and how cockup and stupid I sound, you still lose lah. Oh… i just score point ! Now awaiting my next salary increase. When GST hike go through, economy will inflate, and I have my next round of salary increment. Wow, my master is so good to me that I must support him more often. bootlicking is a art not a skill lah…. Poor Singaporean. Now they live with their eyes wide open lah. Don’t blame me.

14. Curious 28 May 2009

As the saying goes “In politics anything is possible”. What was taboo yesterday can be a sacred cow tomorrow.

This proposed Parliamentary change is a 180 degree turn because according to the Channel NewsAsia story dated 3 May 2006, the PM was quoted as saying :

“Suppose you had 10, 15, 20 opposition members in Parliament. Instead of spending my time thinking what is the right policy for Singapore, I’m going to spend all my time thinking what’s the right way to fix them, to buy my supporters votes, how can I solve this week’s problem and forget about next year’s challenges?”

See link : http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Lee_Hsien_Loong

For more famous quotes click http://en.wikiquote.org and type in the politicians’ name in the search window and you will be amazed at what they say then and now.

IMHO opinion, the opposition parties should reject this offer of 9 NCMP seats as no one but the people of Singapore can vote candidates into Parliament if it is going to be a “govt of the people, by the people and for the people of Singapore.”

The GRCs should be reduced to a two man team to bring in the minorities into Parliament which was the original intention.

IMHO, the 10 non-partisan MPs should not be nominated but voted into Parliament by the people of Singapore.

And as they represent the people of Singapore they should be called People’s MPs, not NMPs because the latter represent no one but themselves.

The People’s MPs can walk proudly into Parliament through the front door.

15. Well done Daniel!!! That’s what will happen if it come true. PM! Don’t just push around like a fool anymore. We know what is right, what is wrong. Just go back to old system and we will decide who right to get in. Is just like changing soup without changing herds.

16. my sentiment about the changes is gimmick. no confident at all. it contradicted what gct said not long ago about level field play as always.

it is obvoius that they simply just cling on powers no matter what it takes whether change or no change. the bottomline is simple…..ppl are suffering esp ordinary folks. what they came out with ‘plans’ is just buying time. be frank yoursevles, will it really help with such ‘changes’ just annouced after 50 YEARS RULING??

it will only change when the impacts are great like losing at least one GRC and few SMC just like what #35) IMS said though it is a dream to me but down to my heart, i wish it happened.

17. Daniel 28 May 2009

“Clue — who is in China?”
    Maybe someone is builting a Mausoleum there to keep his emperorly figure. Oh… it may be hidden and hard to find just in case people break into his tomb and wake him from “sleep of no regret” and ask him “Where is my CPF ?”

18. Joel Low 28 May 2009

I am amazed at the intelligence of the public now. I was so worried that people might take that bite of the carrot thinking that PAP is really taking a move to help the nation. I agreed that it is a desperate move because in recent months there are many exposures that waken up the nation that an unchecked government is dangerous and they can do anything without being accounted for. Many issues has been discussed and debated over the media and new videos and evidence has been released although the PAP tried to take it off the public.

Moreover, overseas reviews of Singapore Governments has not been majority good ones. The PAP knows that this is a crucial moment in Singapore political arena. The nation is in the verge of an awakening to really know what they want. The examples we are seeing in other countries suggested that CHANGES, no matter how uncertain, may NOT be a bad thing after all. Singaporean want changes….

They have to do something, and their strategy is the take a step back to offer a bigger carrot but still dangling it with a stick and sting.

Truly I am amazed how the public are seeing it and I know changes is going to happened in the next election. This strategy of the PAP can easily turned a wrong direction for them and hit them back on the head.

19. About NMP scheme 28 May 2009

I agree with some here that NMP appears or gives the impression of alternative voice being heard.

In reality, does a NMP have any power to veto a bill?

Is it possible that NMP like SKH keep voicing up alternative style and still no impact on any bill whatsoever ?

The fundamental problem or weakness needs to be addressed.

The power to Veto. Period.

20. tiredsingaporean 28 May 2009

You can have another eatra 9, 10, 11 or even 12 (non-pap) NMPas long as those MIW still gets the majority seats, there will still be no change in paliament debate. The new ones can shout, curse or swear with all the questions raised, but still there will be no answer except for some stupid ones who still wanting to score points for their promotion. They will still proceed ahead with just anything they want, nothing will ever change.

21. Fellow Singaporean,
    Please don’t disappoint our prime minister,vote for at least 9 Opposition Mp into the Parliament in the future election.

22. KopitiamApek 28 May 2009

70) About NMP scheme
    The power to Veto. Period.”

Whom do you advocate should have the power to veto?

23. prettyplace/READ THIS 28 May 2009

This talk by PM is good…but seems like a distraction to avoid the real issues….

Economy is in a terrible state….SPUR looks like it needs to re-train after training…becuase there are NO JOBS….(i know a living e.g)

NO NUMBERS…to substantiate the effectiveness of SPURS…..
    Job Credit was excellent …when first introduced…now is a burden to the govt. Don’t know when they are going to pull the plug on that..soon i guess.

Bank loans going on well….but no news on defaulters, if any…how effective it was…
    Any new initiatives to rejuvenate the economy…NO IDEA….

All I hear is to build this and that…..and now a change to the political landscape….
    this is like putting a bowl infront without any rice inside…..if elections are 2 years away …who needs this….

man sitting on MOM building, waiting to jump…(poor fellows, do you know, they pay agents around SGD $8000 to $6000 to come and work here for 2 years)

people at coffee shop asking me if there are any jobs….the other day a neighbour said ….his plant is closing down..(he has been there for 18 years)

Govt spending is sky high…..wonder how long it can last….albeit good to change…but

LETS GET BACK TO THE REAL ISSUES, SHALL WE….

24. evilbuster 28 May 2009

The regime do not need to be so magnanimous. A fair election system like the one we had before the GRC system was introduced is more than enough to bring in all the opposition the country need.

25. Realchange 28 May 2009

Dear Opposition parties

For this coming election, please place your super best team to fight in AMK GRC. Real political change in S’pore will only come when you kick LSH, the PM and leader of PAP, out of politics. It will send a very strong shock wave to PAP that they are so out of touch with the people.

Even if you win Aljunied or others, the post effect will not be so revolutionary.

26. Joel Low 28 May 2009

74) prettyplace/READ THIS on May 28th, 2009 3.02 pm

Agreed. it is a distraction. It also means that PAP is worried. They know people are not happy and many skeletons in the closets are being exposed and people are seeing the WAYANG show is on.

So, PAP did this to make themselves look good. They forgot the people are now more intelligent and willing to fight for what they believe in.

27. Dr Frankenstein 28 May 2009

I wonder what happened to the famous election speech that if too many opposition MPs are voted in, he will have to spend time fixing them and buying his supporters instead of helping Singapore’s economic grow? I guess recession no need to worry about economic lah……

28. KopitiamApek 28 May 2009

The reactions in the above posts is so predictable.

29. righteous 28 May 2009

I don’t think this is good enough, it’s like ‘changing the soup without changing the ingredients’. This will not applease Singaporeans who want more real opposition MPs who can truly represent the people’s voice and dare to speak out against ruling party’s policies. I think they can feel the ground that Singaporeans
    want a good number of opposition MPs in parliament but nine is still too
    small a number considering the total number of seats is about 80.

30. To Apek 28 May 2009

“The reactions in the above posts is so predictable.”

of course predictable lah. you feel pain when you get pinched lah unless you are a masochist.

31. mice is nice 28 May 2009

just give everyone who can vote a chance to cast that vote, dun play the walkover thingy loh.

there is nothing the 9 opposing voices can do other than talk (& be countered at every turn by braindead “yes” people)…

32. Retired But Not Senile Yet 28 May 2009

In the past most of those selected as NMPs are usually supporters of the ruling parties. Hence, the scheme is more or less a wayang show. The ruling party should do away with GRCs and introduced more singe wards. I am quite sure in a one to one contest, more opposition candidates will enter the fray. MPs truly elected by voters in open contests are the type of MPs that we should all aim for. Not NMPs. But I guess, we have no choice at the moment. Hence, opposition parties must start preparing and have enough top calibre candidates to stand against the ruling party in the coming GE which will have at least 12 single wards for grab. Good for a start. It will be very interesting to watch.

33. Fret not brothers;;;The time has come;;;The tipping point has passed;;;By the next election we will have AT LEAST 7 TO 10 real opposition in parliament;;;By the time the 2018 election comes the Pappees would have been kicked out of power;;;Rest assured that this prophecy is going to take place;;; This wayang by the Pappees that is going on now is irrelevant;;;Fret not.

34. MayRulersBeRighteous 28 May 2009

The PAP is smart enough to forecast that they will lose at least one GRC next GE which means that at least there will be 7 opposition MPs (including the two existing opposition MPs – LTK and CST). So OK lah to relax and allow 9 opposition MPs including NCMPs. A very smart move to save face.

35. David 28 May 2009

Our main stream media is totally out of touch again. They reported the “change” like a revolution for Singapore. The news are now out to fool the old folks in Singapore again. Imagine if this is done daily, it will not do justice to the weak mind of our older folks.

36. tiredsingaporean 28 May 2009

“9 opposition MPs including NCMPs”
    Question here is: any possibility of these 9 opp MPs or NCMPs being planted to act as new faces? I dunno, anyone?

37. Dreamer 28 May 2009

#76) even if AMK GRC is won by an Opp party, I think it is very likely that a by-election fielding LHL as candidate will be forced through YCK SMC where the die hard PAP supporters are. AMK’s loss will be placed on the shoulders of Lee Bee Wah for her antics at STTA and NSS.

I believe this by-elections strategy is a standby, a preparation was made prior to 2006 GE. YCK was part of AMK GRC since 1991, only to be dislodge along with AMK town centre as a SMC. This would act as a safeguard in the event that the Opp is able to creat another Cheng San effect and actually win AMK GRC. PAP got about 68.3% of valid votes at YCK SMC.

Seng Han Tong is already receiving some negative reactions. However, it is unlikely that his margin will drop drastically to lose the SMC. But with his popularity waning, he could well fit the bill as the sacrificial pawn for a by-elections should PAP loses AMK GRC.

38. Lifeobzervr 28 May 2009

Interesting.

Since it was already mentioned that 3 more SMC will be culled out and GRC size reduced. It is likely that the SMCs will be distributed across the island adjacent to a GRC. It is unlikely that a new GRC will be formed to make GRCs small as the adjacent SMCs will be the ’6th’ candidate of a 5-man GRC.

Looking at the last elections, increasing the number of small GRCs may not necesarily be good for Opp Parties as they have had difficulties securing election ready minority candidates. The pivotal effect for PAP teams at GRC will be the Ministers while the wedge effect for Opp Teams will be the weakest candidate.

Opp parties have been pushing for abolishment of GRCs since donkey years. The reality is clear that it will not happen until the Opp takes over the government or an International Pressure for electoral reform is strong enough to affect the economy. The strategy should be focused on getting elected and retained in subsequent elections.

Dreamer’s point in the other thread is important. All seats must be contested. Allowing a walkover means that the Opp has created an opening for the Walkover winners to campaign in other constituencies. There must be a conscious effort to keep all PAP candidates busy in their own constituency. Behind the scene, the Opp Party can strategise the key constituencies that they want their elections mechanism to focus on. The rest of the contest will definitely garner protest votes against PAP with or without Opp campaigning. However, the risk is too high for the PAP teams to slack in their campaigning.

39. yawnjustwokeup 29 May 2009

how many of you peeps know
    what within pap party?
    internal conflict
    different ideas
    1 tryin to hold power till death do us part
    the other tryin to start a new ^opposition^ party by seekin level prayin field
    last but not least
    our prince is caught in between
    still tryin to hold his pants
    when he pee pee
    ~sigh~

40. AntiForeignTalentPolicy 29 May 2009

wake up time! But it been too late, we all known ” so called ex-ordinary peoples” performances are below marks. Thank to those 66% voters, waky! waky! election time is coming to this little red dot. OOPS! remember don’t anyhow vote ok.

41. Joel Low 29 May 2009

Hey guys this is a portion of an article in “today” newspaper:

“One government backbencher noted at least one way in which the Opposition parties would gain from the new political dynamics. Aside from “encouraging more people to join the political arena”, Tampines GRC MP Ong Kian Min felt the changes would give parties a better platform to air their views rather than “visiting markets to sell their newspapers”.”

Only proves one thing, that the PAP has became so successful that they no longer need to get support from the public…. “visiting markets to sell their newspaper” …. they can do what they want to do and do not need support anymore. To PAP, they can deal with diverse views but cannot deal with defeat. So NCMPs, NMPs is nothing to them. They just don’t broadcast their views on TV and make everyone think theat everyone including the NCMP and NMP has nothing to say….. Anyway, the media is regulated. I used to be a video editor…. you can cut and paste a video to change the whole story.

Are all backbenchers the same – making stupid speeches that shoot their own foot.

42. mice is nice 29 May 2009

////Are all backbenchers the same – making stupid speeches that shoot their own foot.////

that should be worth watching- prime time bloopers!! :P

43. eat dead cat 29 May 2009

Some back bencher are very arrogant

Irene Ng from tampines GRC challenged opposition to come out alternative policies while she has not been contributing to any … she , liek other ruling MPs are taking speaking slot to score points, hoping to be appointed to government office

she is one such MP can’t stand on her own feet in a SMC, why do we need more such “people representatives ” ?

Sad, the day the pioneer PAP MPs who stood on their principles even voicing dissent views to govt is dead and buried

SOFT LEGS CRABS !

44. Curious 29 May 2009

87) tiredsingaporean on May 28th, 2009 10.36 pm

//“9 opposition MPs including NCMPs” Question here is: any possibility of these 9 opp MPs or NCMPs being planted to act as new faces? I dunno, anyone?//

I don’t know about that but the coming change in the constitution could also mean that the ruling party is planning ahead in case they get decimated in the coming election or the election after that and get tossed out lock stock and barrel.

In that scenario they will still have at least 9 MPs in Parliament. If that is too far fetch a scenario then at least it is a little comfort to just to think about it.

But anything is possible in politics. In the UK at least half the 659 MPs will be tossed out by their constituencies in the next election for fudging their expense claims but that is small beer compared to the S$58 billion lost by our intrepid investors at Temasek last year.

Just imagine how much of a difference that could do for the poor folks in Singapore, now the money is all gone up in smokes. Where is the equity?

45. GRCs Must Be Won 30 May 2009

Whatever the changes, the opposition parties must continue to aim for winning the GRCs. This is the real test of the capability and standing of the opposition parties.

All those changes as proposed by the PAP are peripheries but not the main/critical issue. They are just dressings to cater for the peasants’ simple minds.

Opposition parties must carry on relentlessly to win a few GRCs and then manage them well to show to the rest of the citizens that they too are able to run the GRCs as well if not better than PAP’s arrogant and aloof back-door-entry, walk-over MPs.

46. highest pay in the world - so lucky 30 May 2009

I urge All Opposition Party members , Not Opposition NMPs who are super duper no need any urging wan, to continue focus on winning at least 1 GRC.

Even the PM proposed more Opposition mp seats.

by this, personally, i believe that Opposition HAS A ROLE TO PLAY IN A TRUE DEMOCRACY. If not why our kind leaders, who can pass all the laws they want to be passed by virtue of 81:2, not have passed a law to change the constitution to have ZERO Opposition? I say this because I am not sure and so I am asking. If you know, pls tell me.

So now the issue for the people , who are very much responsible too, is how to bridge this 50 year gap fast before in the uncertain future, when we need a strong opposition, they are not even born yet or still learning to walk.

in fact, we need a strong 1 NOW. Even with a Strong team, they need to gain experience. Since Opposition’s role is well accepted and needful, we the people should encourage capable potential candidates to step forward. This aspect, the People are responsible.

Are employees of the largest rice bowl employer able to allow their staff to comment on political issues with their honest uncensored unbiased views?

47. Kill-netizen?? 31 May 2009

“Retired But Not Senile Yet” wrote ” I am quite sure in a one to one contest, more opposition candidates will enter the fray. ”
    Please note that, even at 2006 when there are 9 SMC-ward, only 2 opposition MPs were elected, PAP still hold the 7 SMC. One-to-one contest simply means a lower hurdle to the oppositions. Likely PAP wish to use extra 3 to lure oppositions there, so as to protect the GRCs be it 3- or 6-members.

Hence, not sure if your suggestion that “opposition parties must start preparing and have enough top calibre candidates to stand against the ruling party in the coming GE which will have at least 12 single wards for grab.” is really a good move.

Using game-theory, what if (polling day, PAP delay till last minute to put in their nomination forms) all 12 single wards are hold by ministers, and the oppositions may not have enough good candidates to compete at GRCs (even 3-member GRC) and the best candidates have to face minister at the single wards??

48. Kill-netizen?? 31 May 2009

Lifeobzervr wrote: “Dreamer’s point in the other thread is important. All seats must be contested. Allowing a walkover means that the Opp has created an opening for the Walkover winners to campaign in other constituencies. There must be a conscious effort to keep all PAP candidates busy in their own constituency. ” The problem remains : inadequate funds and inadequate good-enough candidates on the opposition part.

Dreamer wrote: “The reality is that SMCs have always been around but hardly changed hands. It is in the GRCs that Opposition has had near successes for several GEs. ” and “Track record has shown that the near wins were at GRCs… ”

Correct observation, and please read it in the light of Game-Theory, PAP can use the short-coming of opposition having inadequate funds and candidates (esp the minority candidates) to boldy field Ministers at the 12 SMCs, thereby securing 100% win.

49. Why all these charades? NMP, NCMP, SM, MM, what-ever MPs? Just vote them PAP out, and these nonsensical titles will become obsolete, I guarantee. I sheer waste of time, resource and tax money!

I dare you, Singaporeans, to vote them (PAP) out in the next election and make these titles a thing of the past!