You can read the full transcript of PM Lee’s speech here.

Watch the videos of PM Lee’s speech here.

From the Straits Times:

NEW changes to Singapore’s political system will lead to non-People’s Action Party members taking up at least 18 seats in Parliament, or roughly one-fifth of the House.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong announced in Parliament on Wednesday that the Constitution will be amended to allow for up to nine 9 Non-Constituency MPs, who are opposition candidates who lose but are nevertheless given seats in Parliament.

Workers’ Party chairman Sylvia is currently one such MP.

At the same time, the Parliamentary Elections Act will be amended to increase the stipulated minimum number of opposition MPs, including NCMPs, to nine.

The current minimum is three. This means there will be a guaranteed nine MPs from opposition parties in Parliament, whether or not they win an election.

These nine opposition MPs will join nine Nominated MPs – unelected representatives of sectors such as business and the creative industries – to bring about more diverse views in Parliament, the PM said.

The NMP scheme, started in 1990, will now be made a permanent feature of the system. One new sector – the people sector – will be invited to nominate candidates for the scheme.

Mr Lee said this candidate could include environmentalists, young activists, new citizens and community and grassroots leaders.

Another change will see on average smaller Group Representation Constituencies, which can be as big as six members.

At the same time, the number of single-member constituencies will be increased from nine to at least 12.

—-

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

100 Responses to “Breaking News: 9 opposition MPs, including NCMPs, to be allowed”

1. Donaldson Tan 27 May 2009

What about Government Parliamentary Committees (GPC)? GPCs should be replaced with a Constitution-qualified parliamentary committees to allow non-PAP MPs to participate in the policy formulation process for the future direction this country should take.

2. Donaldson Tan 27 May 2009

PAP is well-known to give one, take back two. What did PAP take back? Did PAP raise the General Election Candidate Deposit from the existing S$13,000 to twice the sum? Did PAP raise the minimum vote margin required for the unelected GE Candidate to reclaim his margin? I am also quite curious whether if Tanjong Pagar GRC was divided into SMCs as this would mean whether LKY will actually contest in GE 2011.

3. this is a really ingenious strategy, i think they are sensing that people want oppositions in parliament. and they are making way to allow that but would prefer them to just talk and not vote.

they know that the ground is getting very sour./angry over non representation, so now they decide to appease the ground. what they are saying is you dont vote opposition, let them lose BUT they would still get a seat in parliament.

in this way, they feel many people would want PAP to remain in power but also want opposition voice to swing big time to them.

Hats off to them!

4. X.X!!! 27 May 2009

only 18?? as PM lee said 1/5 which is 20% =.=!! and what about the other 80%? shouldnt it at least be 50/50, or a fairer ratio?

5. X.X!!! 27 May 2009

correction to the above msg….

i meant to say 3:2 for PAP : opposition. i mean the prev GE was 66.6% for PAP right? so shouldnt it be in accordance?

6. free as a bird 27 May 2009

Allowing more MPs and NMPs is nice on paper. How many besides Siew can really deliver ? Talking is one thing but I will be convinced only if these MPs and NMPs can vote on issues. Same thing should apply for PAP MPs. Whip must be lifted to allow PAP MPs to vote freely.

Since PM Lee is moving slowly on the right track to increase non PAP representation in parliament, we citizens should help him move faster by voting in more opposition members. It is ok even if a new govt is formed and the PAP becomes the opposition. We citizens will urge the new govt to be just as generous to PAP members. This is what nation building should have been in the very first place and not 50 years later.

7. iliveinuk@uk.com 27 May 2009

Wow i am amazed at the sweeping changes made for parliament.

I sincerely applaud this move and would be hoping to see high profile NMPs such as TLA and SKH return.

I am impressed by PAP’s willingness to open up and evolve. It is truly remarkable from liberalising new media to Hong Lim park protests and now even in parliament.

I am excited for Singapore’s future!

8. It cuts both way for PAP.

On one hand , they might be thinking that this changes will allow people to vote for PAP safely and still get non-voting representation in the form of Opposition Party members as NCMP.

However, it could also be exploited by the Opposition if the opposition want to. They could also craft their strategy to allow people to vote the opposition in as real representation while telling people that the PAP members will still be able to represent them as NCMP.

Anyway, I have my doubts on the opposition. After so many years, they have still not gotten their act together. Imagine, it’s been decades and they still have not united and form a shadow government. I would say opposition is still in its infancy and very immature in organisational and execution expertise.

Opposition , please go and take a look at how Australia runs their shadow government.

9. Nice on paper but does it really serve the people of Singapore? For perinial optimist it is a right step forward but for most it will be lots of wayang but still no substance :( Very Sad

10. goondu 27 May 2009

Something wrong !!!!!!!!
    TH and GIC must lose until unrecognisable !!!!!!
    Pappy will not be so good.Really a big storm coming !!!!

11. ahkong 27 May 2009

PAP still retain their power grip since 9 Opp Members cannot vote. Ultimately PAP wants the power as well as diversity as well as please the population. WIll it work? No Singaporean are smarter than that.

12. KopitiamApek 27 May 2009

Isa #7

Look at the daily dose of comments in this site. All gahmen bashing, no great ideas, that’s why we get such opposition. Except a few good ones, most behave like all those who put in gahmen-bashing comments on this site. Who do not know how to criticise and complain.

Perhaps some of these comment givers should put their money where their mouth is and form a political party since in their view the gahmen is doing such a crappy job. But sadly, they willl end up complainers in parliament, which some will wonder if it does anye good.

13. X.X!!! 27 May 2009

i smell some wayang here. =.=! PAP’s taking a risk, which i would say, is a minor one. 9 seats for opp? now lets see…. who STILL takes the OVERWHELMING majority….?

14. is this what gck meant by levelling the playing field?

15. Daniel 27 May 2009

Why do we still need views when we need action ? We need people who give view to have voting power. It’s time to walk the talk not just talk and talk. Siew as NMP has raised many issues and view but can anyone tell me since when is the last time that his view has been taken seriously by the government ? If Siew’s example is another thing to go by, it shows that view is nothing without power to change thing. Siew show that he is impressive but it never change the fact he is ineffective in making change because he don’t have voting power.

So what’s wayang about this thing call MPs are that majority of these MPs are there to vote for the establishment and to entrench their power, nothing else. It doesn’t matter of this thing call view from opp party and NMP if in the end, the voting win by majority of MPs in parliament, so why is it any difference from the past ? We see it clearly from the recent two females who can’t even give a proper line of argument but obviously it is there just to support their party.

Most importantly, MP must never go through backdoor because these MPs prove themselve to be loyal to their party to point of ridiculous and artifical in making argument, and clearly that they are there to boost by voting whatever their master support. MPs must be elected by the people, plain and fair.

Abolish GRC, because contestant must prove their worth.

16. aiyoyo 27 May 2009

aiyoyo

very luan leh… how many elites vs non-elites?how to compare?

at least need 1 to 1 ma, then can see if elites can tong or not ma.

also y suddenly make this news now leh?

will there be more bla bla bla elites appear? (talk a lot, cant see result type)

sad story again..

aiyoyo

17. Have more single seat constituencies and forget about NMP’s. Who actually supports them if they cant vote and do they really have influence. Lets not fool ourselves.

18. Daniel 27 May 2009

Does putting more diverse voices in parliament change anything if the quality of majority of MPs who has voting power is anything but pathetic since they are clearly there to entrench whatever the government decide ? Citizens must have the voting right to dispose these MPs who gerrymandering and is a liability.

19. tiredsingaporean 27 May 2009

wow! but don’t be surprise to see so many young unknown guns emerging as new candidates from God knows where (smart if you guys knows what’s going on underneath and will take place soon) but don’t take my words for it, just watch how the whole thing takes shape. Don’t forget, the MIW cannot afford to loose, at all cost.

20. Daniel 27 May 2009

“is this what gck meant by levelling the playing field?”
    If this is so, obviously someone has just failed his math or growing senile.

21. Recipe for Levelling the playing field

1 part independent and responsible media
    1 part independent election commission (Not under any ministry but standalone)
    1 part ISA free (substitute with Anti Terror Law) environment
    1 part SMC
    1 part No GRC (substitute limited GRC)
    1 part independent judiciary (Not under any ministry but a standalone entity)

Any any other ingredient that increases accountability and transparency

22. tiredsingaporean 27 May 2009

Politics are just like a game of chess! . . . . . . “checkmate” and its too late!

23. Parliament should only have one door. 27 May 2009

Singapore should never go down this undemocratic route. If oppositions don’t win in an election, they should not never be in parliament, NEVER, NEVER.

The PAP should do the right thing for Singapore by dismantling the GRC system introduced by Goh CT. Let the PAP MP’s earn get to parliament on their own merit. If Singaporeans vote for a 100% PAP government through a fair election, should not the wishes of the S’poreans be respected?

The true thing for PM Lee to do is to get rid of the GRC system. Chances are that the most number of opposition parties member get voted in on a single seat constituency would not be more than 5.

24. I’m really sorry, but this just loses the essence of what a democracy is about. First, you have a ruling party that has no qualms messing about the rules to make sure it wins. Now, you even have opposition that can get in without actually being voted in.

I feel opposition members being offer NCMP spots have to think long and hard whether they should take it up. By taking up these seats, they can be implicitly telling the public it’s okay not to vote for them even if they become very good, cause they’ll still get into parliament anyway.

on a sidenote, to isa at #7. I am based in Australia and I am surprised you actually used Australia’s shadow cabinet as an example for the opposition. Sure, they have a larger political presence than the opposition in Singapore. However, theirs seem a strategy of nothing more than political one upsmanship. Not to mention the constant backbiting and infighting. While I do desire to see a quality opposition rise in Singapore, I am not neccessarily of the opinion that the one I see in Australia is one that I want to see replicated in Singapore. To be very honest, the policy debates down under seem more of political and personal potshots rather than a concrete attempt to discuss policy (not that the PAP does not do it, in fact, they do it all the time as well!).

25. David 27 May 2009

to 2# IMS

Spot one, exactly my sentiment too!!! Don’t fall into their trap, They put nine oppositions as NCMP in parliament simply for show, no voting power and our media usually filtered out the oppositions speeches in parliament. This coming election should be about giving the opposition power to vote out any anti-singaporean policies. We don’t want them to simply get “appointed” by pap and yet cannot effect changes we want to see. We have heard oppositions talking a lot but end of the day, it is the pap that rule the parliament with voting rights, we do not want this to happen again. What I saw in this change of stance is a trap because PAP has confirmed losing their popularity, they are frightened of being voted out of power so they want to allow more opposition dummies on the pretense that there will be two-party systems. Shit!

26. Donaldson Tan 27 May 2009

Hi iliveinuk@uk.com,

The apple doesn’t fall off from the tree. I don’t look forward to the re-appointment of Thio Li-Ann as NMP. Some academics are already questioning the logical soundness of her latest book “Mind the Gap: Contending for Righteousness in an Age of Lawlessness” in which she tries to reclaim the role of Christianity in defining modern secularism.

27. David 27 May 2009

To 6# iliveinuk@uk.com

Don’t be too hopeful, main stream media can selectively choose the broadcast speeches in parliament. They will paint a good light on pap members in parliament and put a bad spot light on oppositions. End of the day, good opposition speeches will be filtered out from the public and made it appear as if pap mps are the intelligent one. Don’t be fooled. The game here is not about the number of non-voting oppositions in parliament, it is about toppling the pap and put back a proper systems beneficial to everyone.

28. Harry 27 May 2009

This is terrible. The PAP government is changing goal post just when Singaporeans are about to score against them. As usual they are cheating again.

29. Donaldson Tan 27 May 2009

Don’t read this news as if it means there will actually be 9 Opposition parliaments in future. The current NCMP scheme allows up to 6 Opposition politician but there is only 1 NCMP in Parliament.

30. Lai CF 27 May 2009

I don’t think so.

if no opposition candidates contest GE2011, how will they get 9 no. NCMP?

Ostracise GE2011 to prepare for GE2016.

31. Yamasam 27 May 2009

The PAP govt finally realised that the desire for more opposition voices in parliament has reached a tipping point where the possibility of losing a GRC (or more) is too real to ignore. If this happen, 1 or more ministers will be voted out.

By changing the law now, they are betting that with this system in place to allow more opposition members in parliament, the risk of losing a GRC would be reduced. The believe is that the electorate will continue to vote for the PAP to enjoy the carrots dangled and at the same time able to get more oppositions into the parliament.

While there will an increase in the number of voices to air alternate views, unfortunately, NCMPs and NMPs are not able to vote on every bill tabled, such as budgets and constitutional changes. This change will only increase the “voice” without a corresponding increase in the “bite”.

The PAP will preserve the 2/3 majority for the foreseeable future, so that they can make constitutional changes at will.

32. red_dot 27 May 2009

The People Decides
    Not Dictated!

33. fishy 27 May 2009

Why is LHL “suddenly so generous” is opening up “post” for opposition parties??? Something must be brewing and fishy is going now. This is so unlike of PAP doing.

34. This election is going to be bigger challenge, they know. after dishing our so many unpopular and monetary policies ie ERPs, HDB Premium, Transportation, Public Uitilities, Ministers’ Pay etc, GLC screws up (Leyman Bros etc), Temasek/GIC screw ups, Town councils gambling away public funds etc; Singaporeans are angry.

Singapore’s economy is first to go into recession and mounting job losses and escalating cost of living, a lot of average people are being marginalised. So the prediction is more and more people are looking to vent their anger and disappointments in the coming election.

I think 2 GRCs are in danger of a narrow show down, and also the emergence of public figures joining oppositions. So by telling people who are kiasu and kiasi that they have opposition voices but still have PAP in power, they want to swing these votes over. The percentage of this people cannnot be understimated.

Mr Lee is taking big gamble here, he thinks this group of people will swing in his favour. They would not downsize GRCs, that is even a bigger gamble to them. So Mr Lee is saying he can withstand people disagreeing in parliament as long as they have no voting right and his 82 MPs can rebutt or neutralise the 9 Opposite NCMPs easily, keeping in mind the media can still do its work to filter out their contributions.

When going to election, people should ignore the handouts and upgrading but focus on “how is my life and living? and if the government has given us bettter life and living?”

I want to really see 1 GRC to go to opposition and a group to take on AMK GRC. And hopefully a freak result, AMK GRC goes to opposition, this would cause a big change in the political dynasty of Singapore.

35. GhostBusters 27 May 2009

Something strange is happening in the constituencies………
    GhostBusters……..

36. Harry 27 May 2009

Singaporeans are sick of the PAP politicians thrashing them all the time.

37. blackfeline 27 May 2009

i dont buy his crap !

38. Small Time Businessman 27 May 2009

abolish GRC, abolish GRC, abolish GRC

39. woodpecker 27 May 2009

Bottom line : whatever changes proposed will NOT result in the final vote to pass or veto any tabled motion.

All it may result in is more discussion in parliament, much of it may not even be given much airing by the gahmen controlled media anyway.

If the pappies decides to table a very unfair or unjust bill, even after all the discussion in parliament, the pappy MPs are still likely to vote along party lines. And that will still mean NO real change for us.

Only more opposition MPs voted into parliament can stop the 84 pappy MPs from doing whatever they like to this country. Perhaps one day, Temasek Holdings will finally need to account to the people for all the huge losses over the years.

Dont fall for pinky loong’s poor attempt at damage control.

40. This only shows PAP’s confidence has shaken, due to their bad policies, high unemployment rate and the red from GIC and Temasek.

41. Nicholas Lazarus 27 May 2009

I see this as a gift to the desires of the Singapore people. Since more want alternative voices to be heard, the PAP Government is giving them their wish.

I think the opposition should be happy too- they are guaranteed to get 9 seats. This is triple the members they have now.

42. WHOknowNEXT 27 May 2009

THERE are only just there to display some opposition numbers, but the true power is
    with elected party.

Why singaporean are interested those who can made decision and pass the law
    that singaporean are comfortable.

They are another gimmer…..there are lossing the voters,,,,,,,,there are another
    party that have opportunity…….

43. toiletmatter 27 May 2009

it better be a fantastic nine that will make an impact

44. Dreamer 28 May 2009

Red Herring Alert!!!

Until today, perhaps, the Opposition parties are all psyched up to field their best candidates to contest in GRCs as a TEAM. And PAP knows that… so what to do?

Distract!!!

Create 3 more SMCs… wah!!! opportunity!! or is it?

Lets look at the distribution of near success from strong GRC teams against strong SMC candidates.

The ranking goes –
    1st – Aljunied GRC 5 member Team
    2nd – Steve Chia (former NCMP)
    3rd – East Coast GRC 6 member Team.

By the logic of Non Constituency, there is no purpose of breaking down the distribution. All in Aljunied should be in + Steve Chia + 1 from East Coast GRC.

I don’t see the logic of LHS breakdown of the potential 7 NCMPs from the last elections as:-

2 from Aljunied GRC (WP, Ms Sylvia Lim + 1)
    1 from Chua Chu Kang (SDA, Mr Steve Chia)
    2 from East Coast GRC (WP)
    1 from Joo Chiat (WP, Dr Tan Bin Seng)
    1 from Nee Soon Central (WP, Mr Lian Chin Way)

The reality is that SMCs have always been around but hardly changed hands. It is in the GRCs that Opposition has had near successes for several GEs.

We should be distracted by the distractions on offer. Hougang and Potong Pasir should be fielded with incumbent or well received deputies. The rest of SMCs should be taken as testing ground and launchpads to introduce Prodigies where if unsuccessful, should be fielded in a GRC team in subsequent elections. The best bet is to capture one or two GRCs. Opposition should continue to field the best team in GRCs and put in more efforts to break the barrier. If a GRC is won, we’ll get constituent Opp MPs if not and the margin is close, we’ll see a team of credible MPs that has the mandate of almost half the GRC population.

Track record has shown that the near wins were at GRCs… Please dear Sec Gens of the various opp parties, field the best team from your party or form alliances to field the best teams.

45. I think elections may be coming next year Jan or Mar!

46. Chua Mui Mui of Hohlarnd 28 May 2009

I see the SMC increase as a way to mitigate the risks of …….

47. smoke the clueless 28 May 2009

There may be a strategy to offer illusory voice to the people.

They know that the ground is very sour now, so they come up with such a non-starter scheme to give people their ‘voice’ in parliament.

The citizens must be clear on this : Having their voice heard in parliament and the final result of the vote on a bill being on their side are 2 different issues.

Just because your points may be valid and good does not mean that it will supercede political will of the ruling party.

Clear example in point: CPF Life. Most people hate it and want out of it. The bill still gets passed after creating ‘so-called’ committees to push it through.

To me, this whole exercise just creates alot of hot air in parliament. A lot more time will be wasted in parliament and this will give the ruling party even more room to curtail the amount of time each opposition member can speak. Even after all is said and argued, the ruling party can still go ahead and push through whatever they want simply because these chaps who have no voting power makes little or no difference to them.

So now we have 2 classes of people in parliament? The mortals (NCMPs & losing opposition MPs) and the immortals (who get to push through whatever they want, despite what is said by the mortals)

48. PM Lee is preparing……just in case the old man kick the bucket & PM Lee still can be PM earning tonnes of money.

WHO is in control of Singapore’s political system? PAP.
    They can change as and when they want.

PM Lee once said “to have more opposition means he has to spend time getting rid of them”….how can he be so “generious”?

Half a Year is gone & economy is not improving anytime soon. The nation is Not please with PM Lee this current batch of useless MPs.

1) Raymond Lim (Transport Minister)….ERP King
    2) Khaw Boon Wah…..send your elderly mum & dad to JB homes
    3) Wong Kan Seng……Mas Selamat ongoing drama & no resignation
    4) Lee Bee Wah…….after 48 years, getting silver medal comes with accusation…..
    5) Siew Kum Hong……is he AWARE
    6) Seng Han Tong….almost got cook

How to win election?? You tell me.

General election is coming soon (not to delay too long, as old man is getting old)…..PAP has not much choice.

9 opposition MPs, including NCMPs, to be allowed……is just to please the ground (if the admendment is passed) as long as PAP still has final say.

49. Dreamer 28 May 2009

#46, chances are the elections could come sooner in a the next couple of months. The resentment of late is lower with ‘Mas Selamat’s recapture THANKS to ISD’s intelligence’, the ‘successful’ talk with M’sia to reloon at the bridge issue, the opening of circle line, Singapore’s experience in fighting SARS as a boasting right in addressing the swine flu outbreak, changes in electoral system…

the shorter appearance frequency of ‘pleasing to the ears’ news in a bad time might work just as well as ‘feel good’ economic incentives in good times.

Shances are, it’ll be a snap elections this June school Holidays.

50. smallvoice585 28 May 2009

These changes are very bad.

First, we have PAP slackers elected into Parliament by hiding in GRCs. Secondly, we have Opposition slackers given a places as NCMPs. Then, we have non-politicians selected to articulate their pet topics in the House as NMPs. Now, we are going to have more losers as non-voting NCMPs.

I think voters like us are increasingly being by-passed in the political process. The legitimacy of MPs lies in the votes that we have given them in a General Election. We should not have artificial devices to level the playing field or increase diverse or alternative voices, whatever their merits.

I sincerely appeal to our Prime Minister to reconsider or else the disconnect between the people and our parliamentarians will widen.