Mas Selamat Kastari, the Jemaah Islamiyah (JI) leader who escaped from Whitley Road Detention Centre last year, has reportedly been arrested in Malaysia.
Mas Selamat gave his guards the slip while he was being taken to the toilet at the detention centre on 27 February 2008.
He was involved in a plot to hijack a plane and crash it into Singapore’s Changi Airport.
Mas Selamat’s escape resulted in the dismissal of the detention centre’s superintendent over security lapses. The superintendent’s deputy was demoted.
The two were the most senior officers in charge of the ground management of the detention centre, and were among six Internal Security Department (ISD) officers charged over the escape.
Mas Selamat was first arrested by the Indonesian police on Bintan island in January 2006.
He was detained for using a fake identity card.
Based on investigations then, Indonesia’s elite anti-terror police then discovered he was the leader of the Singapore Jemaah Islamiyah network, a terrorist organisation.
They then deported him in 2006 to Singapore where he was detained at Whitley Road Detention Centre under the Internal Security Act. – CNA
Source: Channel NewsAsia.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Well done officers here and across the Causeway. I have full confidence in our security forces. So WKS is not boasting when he said he would be caught! Those bloggers who scolded him better apologise.
By the way there is a question of a reward. Who will get it??
Well done Malaysia, please do not send him back to singapore, our police can’t watch over him and our deputy prime minister only good at pointing finger.
AWARE…………….back to normal!
Mas Selamat case ……………solved!
Recession………….Looming?
Retrenchments ……….Looming?
Swine Fever………….Down to Yellow Alert!
at last!
heads are going to roll
Trying to look at the situation objectively as much as I could.
“SINGAPORE, May 8 (Bernama) — Mas Selamat Kastari, the suspected leader of the Jemaah Islamiah militant group, who escaped from a Singapore detention centre here last year has been caught in Malaysia, according to local media reports today.
The fugitive, who had been hunted on a massive scale by the city-state authorities since he slipped out of the Whitley Road detention centre on Feb 27, was captured on April 1 while hiding in Johor, The Straits Times said quoting sources.”
Source: http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsworld.php?id=409604
WKS boasting? or he already knew it?
Anyway, since it’s not his fault when Mas Selamat escape, does the same theory applies that the re-capturing of Mas Selamat got nothing to do with him? In particularly, since Selamat is captured in Malaysia by Malaysia Police. Maybe MHA can explain what is their involvement resulting in the re-capture before we talk about who deserves the credit.
Kudos to security and intelligence forces on both sides. We said he’d be caught and we delivered. News reports suggested that it was intel from our side that led to his capture. Unless we have evidence to the contrary we have no reason to doubt that.
Oneupmanship, credit, boleh here bagus there, all that aside, frankly I couldn’t care less. The bottom line: Get The Job Done.
And it was. Thumbs up.
Mas! Selamat datang! hehe good dat he kena tangkap lah, otherwise he dulan come back Sg as human ka-boom! Give our gahment credit for convincing Msians to catch him. I thinks Sg now have to build crooked causeway bridge liao. BUT…..when more facts come out then we see wheder to whack the gahment again for the escape.
10) smallvice585
“Anyway it is good news that the Islamic terrorists have been caught. We now have to worry about Christian ones.”
That is so funny and yet so true. I think the latter is even more dangerous. At least the Islamic ones announce their intentions openly.
all the potenital illegal immigrants should be happy now that police won’t be searching so thouroughly :p…remembering that so many was caught during the search for Mas Selamat…
@ 27) socrates
WKS will try to claim the reward since he is the overall boss of MHA.
I hope the Malaysian police do a comprehensive interview with Mas Selamat to get his side of the story. Consider if Mas has grounds to seek political asylum.
Perhaps it is better for Mas to be kept in Malaysia and they can bill S’pore for the upkeep. PM Lee should do the right thing by deducting from WKS’s salary.
In case Mas is extradited, we can petition PM Lee to decree WKS take full personal responsibility for Mas Selamat,
and this can be done by constructing a cell specially for Mas in WKS’s home.
Once and for no more dispute as to who is responsible should Mas escape again. PM Lee, are you taking note of this ?………
Mas selemat come back he sure kanna whacked jialat jialat by the sacked superintendent or the demoted vice superintendent. The gurkhas sure kick his butt till he cry.
Well done Wong Kan Seng. You can keep your Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC. Your pay will be raised again. I hope Malaysia won’t surrender Mas to S’pore so that you can have more time to fix the opposition together with your boss
Hmm, considering we carelessly let M.S get away in the first place, I don’t think we should even try to claim even partial glory of having finally caught up with him.
right or not?
WKS and party would now claim credit and say close co-operation between 2 countries, blah blah blah… sure one !
Everyone would forget about the blunder they should be held responsible for. in the first place
When trouble occurs, hang the junior officers (do you still remember some one ask: ” So, do you want me to sack WKS ??”). When good news, quickly claim the credit.
Si bei buay tah han !
IT WAS THE INFO OF THE SINGAPORE CT UNIT THAT TIP OFF THE MALAYSIAN SIDE….DO U THINK THOSE PEOPLE CAN DO IT ON THEIR OWN WITHOUT HELP FROM THE SINGAPORE SIDE!!!!!!
JUST BE GRATEFUL!!!!THAT HE WAS CAUGHT!!!!!
He was caught on 1st April lah! Got the clue? Someone sent out msg on April Fool’s day saying he was caught, and it was taken as Truth….haha!
Seriously, Malaysian Police should get the S1m.
Now double shame on WKS for letting him escape SG.
Sack the DPM Wong Kan Seng and re-org the entire MHA. What a bunch of suckers taking taxpayer money. Imagine they let Mas to run free, and he can sneak across border to Malaysia. So all the efforts at the checkpoints are nothing than putting up show to the people.
Wake up MHA, you need some serious re-org. Your image is going down the drain. A rotting agency led by some incompetent leaders.
WKS cmi….say Mas Selamat most likely in indo….in the end, its in msia
getting caught in msia does not mean getting caught by the msia police.
it may be the 5 secret agents who left their jobs to search for Mas Selemat full-time. stop saying that spore police is useless, dumbo people. if they really are, you will al be living in fear now. at least we do not have corrupted police.
@ nat 72)
” at least we do not have corrupted police.”…….how true…..
but if they take orders from politicians who abuse their power , like that can consider ok or not huh ?
aiyoyo
malaysia truly asia…………………………………………………………………………………………………….
here? red dot with elites (doing what)?
alamak so paiseh.
aiyoyo
Kudos to Malaysia!!!
Malaysia Boleh!!!!
Interested to find out how he escaped? Live telecast??
S$1m to Malaysian Police. Well Done.
Now see how Malaysian police interrogate and get info from him.
Second, see how he is being detained. See their security system
Then compare to Singapore.
ISD said they used the soft method as it will be more sucessful. So no leg chains etc.
See what happen.
Do not play play with the terrorist with high escape IQ.
Let us see.
I think the Malaysian’s methodology is better.
What is sing’s precedent. Operation Cold Storage.
That was before the days of the terrorists of today.
Why WKS so naive. Does he not know what life is all about. The school of hard knocks. MSK is very street smart and has a high IQ.
Test his DNA to confirm his identity!
It really is kind of shameless to claim other people’s credit for yourself and congratulating your people for a job that they should be doing (if they did it at all).
Singapore, you should be kicking yourself instead of saying good job to those who have lost Selamat in the first place.
And I really think we should just keep Mas Selamat where he is now, or just sent him to the US, rather than get him into Singapore and let him escape again… this time through a hole in the door?
erm you people seriously think he got out of detention… you have got to be kinding… this story is all made up.. there is no way he can fit through such a tiny window..
people here just want attention its all lies
Good Job to the Malaysian police – WKS owe you a dinner. Yes do agreed with those up there, pls do not return MSK to S’pore. If he escape again, it will be an international disgrace. If you do not wish to keep him, perhaps pass him to the Indonesian police. Pls consider!