Mas Selamat Kastari, the Jemaah Islamiyah (JI) leader who escaped from Whitley Road Detention Centre last year, has reportedly been arrested in Malaysia.

Mas Selamat gave his guards the slip while he was being taken to the toilet at the detention centre on 27 February 2008.

He was involved in a plot to hijack a plane and crash it into Singapore’s Changi Airport.

Mas Selamat’s escape resulted in the dismissal of the detention centre’s superintendent over security lapses. The superintendent’s deputy was demoted.

The two were the most senior officers in charge of the ground management of the detention centre, and were among six Internal Security Department (ISD) officers charged over the escape.

Mas Selamat was first arrested by the Indonesian police on Bintan island in January 2006.

He was detained for using a fake identity card.

Based on investigations then, Indonesia’s elite anti-terror police then discovered he was the leader of the Singapore Jemaah Islamiyah network, a terrorist organisation.

They then deported him in 2006 to Singapore where he was detained at Whitley Road Detention Centre under the Internal Security Act. – CNA

Source: Channel NewsAsia.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

79 Responses to “Breaking News: Mas Selamat reportedly arrested in Malaysia”

1. smallvice585 8 May 2009

The PhotoBucket “Bandwith Exceeded” Image Ad is very irritating!

2. Abdul Salim HArun 8 May 2009

Well is that for real? if it is, then that’s good… WKS can now relax a bit more…

3. brainwave 8 May 2009

ops #2. Its true, just saw the news flash on tv. Now we can verify the toilet roll storey …

4. Seth 8 May 2009

General Elections 2009?

5. kingrant 8 May 2009

At least he could not escape from the Malaysians. So the Police there are better than ours! Lol.!!! Singapore’s Home Security can learn and adopt Best Practices from Malaysia!

6. Daniel 8 May 2009

Are the clowns speculating or did not they gamble away hundred of billions by speculating ?

7. Daniel 8 May 2009

I thought April Fool Month over. Opp… I forget May Fool day is also April Fool month because we decorate someone with Labour Award amidst losing untold millions and billions !

8. WKS now up for promotion…bonu$$$ lai liao…

9. smallvoice585 8 May 2009

Now, this is going to be really interesting. Mr Selamat can now personally verify how he escaped from Whitley Road Detention Centre and how and when he managed to slip into Malaysia despite all the “stringent” checks at the Causeway and the coastline all those months.

It is going to cause more embarrassment to us.

10. Abdul Salim Harun 8 May 2009

Now let the truth be told…. How he manage to escape… Is there anyone helping him… But i think its best that he stays with the Malaysian police…. He might escape again if brought back here….

11. No credit to WKS 8 May 2009

Good lah, but WKS reputation still no change what. Right or not?

Because he is not in charge of Malaysian Police what. Or Indonesian police what.

Remember highest paid ministers in the world must depend on others for everything what. Like if US economy recover then only we can recover what.

They are only good in one thing. Win 98% seats at every election and reward themselves with million dollar salaries. And nobody can challenge them on this.
    You said good or not?

12. Malaysia Boleh!
    Wah…PAP lao kui,,,

13. Shotgun 8 May 2009

Three cheers for the Malaysian Police!!

Lets verify how he got out of Singapore! I hope DPM Wong will try to explain and not just move on.

14. Congratulations 8 May 2009

Congratulations for the capture… now lets move on… Errggghh How, Where, When, What, Why?

These are questions for Mas Selamat… and I expect that he is allowed to be interviewed so as to quash the mothers of conspiracy theories.

How Did you escape?
    Where did you escape to?
    When did you leave Singapore?
    What mode of transportation did you use?
    Why didn’t you go further up?
    How….
    Where….
    When….
    What….
    Why….
    How………

Until I hear the story from his own mouth, the longstanding conspiracy theories sounds more believable

15. Daniel 8 May 2009

Don’t be so happy too soon. It might out to be another Malaysian who resemble the real Mas Selamat and his name, coincidentially, name Mas Selamat. Or it might turn out to be a rare kangaroo.

Singapore’s high-tech toilet also can escape, and Mas Selamat cannot escape Malaysia’s toilet ? Kidding us, right ? The whole Malaysia is toilet you can pee anywhere because one can hardly find a real toilet in the bewilderness.

Mas Selamat is now a foreign talent in Malaysia, and I’m sure if he is really get caught, he would not be sent to Singapore because he has a lot to teach Malaysia the art of appearing and disappearing without getting caught. He can even teach theM how to escape using cheap toilet paper and how to limp without arousing suspicion. Now, can Mas Selamat make our billions dollars intact again ?

16. Daniel 8 May 2009

Will Malaysia says :
    Mas Selamat or crooked causeway bridge ? Your choice …

17. Daniel 8 May 2009

Don’t you think it is coincidence that he get caught at this time ? Is he contesting for snap election too ?

18. patriot 8 May 2009

Oh Shit !

First, they(fugitives/murderers/looters) managed to escape from our best run country and then they always got apprehended or shot in large not so well run nations.

How so and why so ??????????

patriot

19. I don’t like the way CNA reports things. No mention of source. No real news. just giving meaningless background. “It is understood”… “It is believed” I mean, if the source is a Police or MHA statement, say so. They seem to take us all kids.
    P.S. This is good news, nonetheless

20. Please dun send him back here… We can’t keep him in!!!!

So much for the gov always bashing our good neighbors to make themselves look good…

Hmmmm… the Malaysians can do a good job without the million dollars salary eh.. why dun we sack WKS and his PS and hire the Malaysian counterparts instead (we can give then 20% pay raise to poach them!!)… Lets get cheaper and better FTs do their job not just ours’!

LOL at our gov….

21. see how the ST and other mainstream media quickly make sure Singapore can claim some credit?? LOL

22. aiyoyo 8 May 2009

aiyoyo

why go to m’sia liao? tot the news say he’s still in this country ma?

or is it after hear the health elite that JB cheaper for old age,

so this MAS go to that side?

alamak the checkpoint people doing what huh?

another story/chance for m’sia to LOL at these elites?

next time go JB think need cover face or sunglass? paiseh liao…

aiyoyo

23. Daniel 8 May 2009

“I don’t like the way CNA reports things. No mention of source. No real news. just giving meaningless background.”

That is the point. Do you remember the WSJ that says about two “whistleblowers” who reveal the billion dollar investment loss without mentioning who the source ? And these whistleblowers downplay the loss so much but yet everyone start to quote the make-believe loss as the gospel truth, while hiding the actual loss itself ?
    So the same thing I believe happen here, they are reporting without the source to make use of the web to help spread that Mas Selamat is caught but then it may not be but people will report it as it is anyway. Just take a look at ping.sg and it is easy to figure out the coffer’s half-fcuk intention is effective.

There is no such thing as reportedly, it is either YES or NO unless they have something to hide like the so-called suicide of the Indo student. Notice that up to now, nothing is confirmed whether it is suicide or not, so to play safe for them, and don’t have to accountable and responsible since they did not say it is suicide, just leave it to public’s guess.

24. Daniel 8 May 2009

Don’t be so happy too soon. It might out to be another Malaysian who resemble the real Mas Selamat and his name, coincidentially, name Mas Selamat. Or it might turn out to be a rare kangaroo.

Singapore’s high-tech toilet also can escape, and Mas Selamat cannot escape Malaysia’s toilet ? Kidding us, right ? The whole Malaysia is toilet you can pee anywhere because one can hardly find a real toilet in the bewilderness.

Mas Selamat is now a foreign talent in Malaysia, and I’m sure if he is really get caught, he would not be sent to Singapore because he has a lot to teach Malaysia the art of appearing and disappearing without getting caught. He can even teach theM how to escape using cheap toilet paper and how to limp without arousing suspicion. Now, can Mas Selamat make our billions dollars intact again ?

25. DO NOT Send Back to SG 8 May 2009

Dear Malaysian Police,

Thank you so much for your efficiency in finding and arresting MSK.

You have proved that you are better (more efficient, clever and capable) than the Sg Police.

But please DO NOT send him back to Singapore, otherwise he may escape again.

We strongly urged you to keep him in Malaysian prisons. Thank you.

26. teo soh lung 8 May 2009

Mas Selamat is only an alleged terrorist. He was never convicted. He may be innocent. We have not heard his side of the story. Let’s hope we get the full story of how he escaped, if he is indeed rearrested.

27. Confuse 8 May 2009

I thought we are not aware where he is all the time, whether out of singapore or still within (from the news of some key people), suddenly they said they (singapore) have a role in arresting him again, what am I hearing????
    To be frank, I think it is better to keep him in JB forever, otherwise he will be lost again.

28. This show that Singaporehave a big security issue. Our government said that there is no evidence that he has left Singapore and we will catch him one day. But it is our neighour Malaysia catch him. Time to give the award to Malaysia.

29. is Malaysis gonna get the S$1m reward? (RM2.4m)?? instant millionaire !!!

30. brainwave 8 May 2009

According to latest reports, all toilet paper at the detention centre has been confiscated as the Malaysians authorities have been alerted by Interpol on Mas Selamat”s toilet habits.

31. Can someone tell me? 8 May 2009

Questions I would like to know:

1. How much money did our govt spend to capture him?
    2. Who is going to pay for all the costs incurred?
    2. How he manage to leave the country inspite of the containment efforts of our world class home team?

32. i thought they use water?

33. wooo! 8 May 2009

I bet his toilet will not have any doors now.

34. his-story 8 May 2009

The storyline is like the Japanese invasion of Singapore came from Malaysia & the British guns were all pointing towards the sea. Likewise the thought that he escaped to Indonesia (99%) now he is found and napped in Malaysia…..History repeats itself………….so near and yet so far? Common sense Intelligence?

35. smallvice585 8 May 2009

Thanks to Mas Selamat, all terrorist suspects in Singapore and Malaysia have to relieve their bowels under the supervision of CCTV camera.

36. lokb72 8 May 2009

it is only reported…but no hard eviidence that he is being caught….is this a conspiracy theory or wat??….

37. chris P 8 May 2009

Yes their police is better. LOL
    Think Malaysia is so much larger than Singapore.

38. Homesick 8 May 2009

Mas Selamat perhaps strayed into “Malaysia Truely Asia” when Singapore was having a Boom Time…..perhaps time to re-habilitate him to appreciate Singapore riding on Singapore Flyer!

39. ToTo 8 May 2009

Malaysia “BOLEH”…………..hooray!
    Singapore “BOH CHAP” ?

40. Currahee101 8 May 2009

No more toilet break for him!!!!!!!!

41. tiredsingaporean 8 May 2009

The news reported on FM radio this morning was very brief and short as though it is just a last minute small memo insert, and then followed by other news. I think its just an excuse to let you people know that this terrorist is now being re-captured and assuring singaporeans not to worry no more. Mmmmmm . . . . .election coming “nice story” so short and simple one, think singaporeans are all idiots. Bet you people will hear no more follow up of this case, as its now been closed and move on . . . . .

42. Wynnx 8 May 2009

Quote:”This show that Singaporehave a big security issue. Our government said that there is no evidence that he has left Singapore and we will catch him one day. But it is our neighour Malaysia catch him. Time to give the award to Malaysia.” Unquote

Well, said..didn’t DPM Wong said this just last month? Some time during 15th April?
    Read this link for what he said. I think it is really a throw face thing for MHA and Singapore as a whole. Malaysia boleh!

43. taurus lady 8 May 2009

I agree that Malaysia are the BEST ONES, they finally catch him. A superb job done by the Malaysians, im proud of them, they are definitely the superbs and done a fabulous job, well done Malaysians, you have done it!!!! Malaysia Bole…..well done..continue on the good job

44. I am proud of WKS 8 May 2009

He got it right this time – He is either in Singapore, or he is not in Singapore.

(I thought he was dead)

I hope they keep him in Malaysia or send him to Indonesia as I do not trust the Singapore Ministry under WKS to successfully keep him in Singapore.

Imagine – another runaway, the money and time spent.

Took, Mas – too many misses…

45. Agree with #18 8 May 2009

” the Jemaah Islamiyah (JI) leader ”

with due respect to TOC article,
    I feel that its more appropriate to describe MSK as ” the ALLEGED Jemaah Islamiyah (JI) leader ” based on the irrefutable FACT that he was never trialed.
    By this assumption, I wonder why is he not sentenced if there is solid irrefutable proof that he IS a JI leader? If there is proof should he not be trialed already and sentenced already?

Kudos to Teo #18 for pointing this out.

Innocent until proven.

I also like to voice up that it is sad to learn that it required a foreign authorities to capture MSK which due to a LAPSE in the Singapore system, he managed to escape for so so so so so so long. How to ensure no more such boo boo?

46. who will release info of EXACTLY how he escaped? 8 May 2009

Any idea folks? Maybe the Malaysian authorities already have the answer?
    Will MSK ever get to get a press interview to tell the public what exactly happened?
    I think all of you may already have a guessed answer.

47. gemami 8 May 2009

WKS just got lucky. MSK was running away from the Swine Flu and since Malaysia have no reported cases, he thought is was better to go over there for some fresher air. That’s how he got caught.

48. gemami 8 May 2009

It also goes to show that when you pay a person enough, he won’t be a monkey. But when you pay him too much, he becomes a dummy.

49. tiredsingaporean 8 May 2009

17) Daniel on May 8th, 2009 7.28 am “I don’t like the way CNA reports things. No mention of source. No real news. just giving meaningless background.”

That’s exactly how I feel, its just a piece of lousy news, just like a piece of hand written memo telling your colleague that you will be coming in late this morning. . . . stop! nothing else.

50. Jasper 8 May 2009

How much was spent on Mas Selamat Advertising blitz? poster picture more famous that can break the guiness book of records eh?