Sunday, May 3, 2009 10:45

Chaos – “Shut up and sit down” (video)

In Choo Zheng Xi, Damien Chng, Main Stories, Terence Lee • 9,007 views • 117 Comments

The agitated crowd

By Terence Lee and Choo Zheng Xi / Pictures by Kenneth Tan and Damien Chng

“SHUT up and sit down!”

That was  ex-Honorary Treasurer Sally Ang’s (picture left, in red) retort to the heckling and disruptions of Ms Josie Lau’s address at the EGM. However, instead of silencing the crowd, more howls of protest followed, including cries to remove Ms Ang from the stage.

Angry arms flayed, voices bayed for blood, some from the Aware Old Guard came up to the front, and with both hands on the legal counsel’s table, beckoned him to remove the Executive Committee for speaking “vulgarities.” Another member, also at the table, shouted, “What vulgarities?”

Resembling more of a rowdy football crowd, the noise had struck some raw nerves among the Executive Committee. “People with unruly behaviour will be escorted out of this hall,” said Honorary Secratary Jenica Chua earlier, perturbed by the disruptions to Ms Josie Lau’s speech.

She then repeated the same warning, this time ordering the auxiliary police to escort disruptors out. They included people taking flash photography and video recordings. However, in the face of such chaos, even the security personnel were powerless.

Such was the fury and passion displayed throughout the EGM.

Earlier on, at the beginning of the meeting, Ms  Lau attempted to eject Nominated Member of Parliament (NMP) Mr Siew Kum Hong (right) from his seat amongst ordinary voting members. He was seated amongst the previous  Aware presidents, acting as their legal advisor.

Men, who are associate members and not granted voting rights, were allotted separate seats from voting members. Mr Siew asserted his right to be with the old Aware Committee, and Ms Lau backed down from her position to loud jeering.

Chaos then broke out when Ms Lau attempted to open the meeting with a President’s address, but had problems getting through her first sentence because of the audience’s vocal insistence that she proceed with the vote of no confidence.

Not deterred, Aware members also protested over the fact that the mikes on the floor were not switched on. “On the mike!” they shouted repeatedly. An Aware member was even seen trying to bring a loud hailer to the front, although it was never used.

“What are you afraid of?” a lady hollered, to which Ms Lau replied, “What are you afraid of? Let me finish my business.”

Even the small section of men sitting at the side refused to be left out — they booed and shouted at Ms Josie Lau and team, who were desperately trying to maintain order. Eventually, Ms Lau made a compromise: the floor mikes would be switched on.

It took a total of 35 minutes for her to start the address. But even then, the speech was punctuated with jeers.

The supporters of Ms Lau’s team were a distinct minority. They replied to the heckling with dignified silence, occasionally clapping approvingly whenever the Executive Committee said something. But even as they complained about the “unruly” behaviour of the crowd, even they would fall victim to unbridled anger.

A young lady was particularly perturbed when the Old Guard later on requested that the ballot boxes be withheld for inspection. She had already dropped her ballot in — and was mad that they were allegedly trying to “tamper” with votes. Ms Braema Mathi went over to reason with her, but her anger would not subside.

Later on, as members of Aware addressed the crowd, she made an attempt to go for the mike, but was stopped by other members who were apparently pro-Old Guard. She got into a temper, and a shouting match ensued.

Nevertheless, the other supporters of Ms Lau’s team preferred  to protest with folded arms, pursed lips, and utterances amongst themselves.

The excitement died down somewhat when it became apparent that the torrent of criticism against The Executive Committee would not subside. In fact, some of Ms Lau’s supporters left towards the end of the meeting, leaving vacant seats. And all these while, Ms Thio Su Mien sat quietly at the front directly in front of the Executive Committee, only speaking when asked to.

Gradually, what ever opposition that was left seemed to have totally evaporated. When the Executive Committee was asked to consider tendering their resignation — they took longer than expected, leading the Old Guard to think they had left the building.

They only returned twenty minutes later, when half the new Committee was already nominated, and much to the surprise of everyone. Nonetheless, there would be no more conflict, only resigned defeat, and picture-perfect smiles to go along with it.

It was clear even before the meeting that there would be huge divisions and dramatic conflict — the distinction between both factions were loud and clear.

Controversy arose when some red shirts allegedly tried bring some Aware members up to the top floor, bypassing the queue. This was met with unhappiness by other members and was dealt with swiftly.

Even in the hall right before the meeting, the Executive Committee mostly kept to themselves at the front row, guarded by two auxiliary policemen. In contrast, the past presidents were seen walking around talking to people and shaking hands.

Ex-Aware president Braema Mathi was seen walking to them exchanging formalities and beaming a smile. Neither party gave an indication of the thunderous scorn that was to follow.

—–

1. TOC Exclusive video coverage of Aware EOGM – Part One
  2. Iranian police shut down memorial
  3. The day we went offline (video)
  4. MDA head honchos rap on video to get Singapore “creative and connected”
  5. Activists call for halt to war in Sri Lanka (Updated with video)

117 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Christian
May 3, 2009 11:19

I do not get what they mean by it being unruly. This is democracy! People are free to express their viewpoints. And if you do not believe this then people must surely be indoctrinated by the system that we have here where everyone just listens and never express their thoughts.

Even in the developed countries where Singapore looks up to – governmental proceedings are never silent. Eg – Britain’s parliamentary proceedings are one – the MPs will tell off the speakers when they disagree – watch the following

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wl5ndNQve3I&feature=related

Instead, I would like to commend everyone involved in the EGM because it was remarkably mature. There was no fighting or rioting, as many incidents where emotions run raw tend to do. The opinions were well thought out and speakers did not degenerate into shouting matches (for the most part), and all sides were able to present their viewpoints in safety.

This is indeed a very rare example of Singapore’s mature citizens who know how to utilise a public venue to speak their minds without any rioting, as we have been let to believe for so many years.

agger
May 3, 2009 11:30

Its great that you’re displaying both sides of the story. But when people are “baying for blood” they are really advocating for violence.

Even though I wasn’t there I doubt anyone wanted to kill anyone there. So please don’t go over the top.

Still enjoyed the thrilling report though.

Jackson Tan
May 3, 2009 11:48

Even though I dislike the ways of the new exco and support their removal, I think I am, at the same time, rather disgusted at how some of the supporters of the Old Guards behaved.

While booing and jeering over issues such as the attempt at removing Siew Kum Hong is justified (in some sense, it is a voice of displeasure against those in power), I think the interruptions of the speeches crossed the line. The barring of a supporter of the New Guard to voice her views seems pretty draconian to me (unless I have misunderstood the situation).

No way am I saying or implying that the consequent results of the EGM is undesirable. I was merely hoping that it would be a more pleasant process, and to that, I am disappointed.

Eveline
May 3, 2009 12:33

I would loved to have listened to Josie Lau’s speech in peace too. I don’t know why those people were heckling. I already knew how I was going to vote but I wish the members would accord some respect to Josie Lau. There were members who support the old guards but still wanted to give a hearing to Josie.

mango
May 3, 2009 12:46

I agree with Jackson Chan, I was about to walk away when I heard and saw those old guard’s supportor’s behavious of interruting even
right at the begining. I wanted to be there to hear and see for myself 1st hand. I support
Josie’s exit but I went away not sure I want this new group’s example.

Hahaha
May 3, 2009 12:51

Actually some pro-Josie supporters took to the mic. Unfortunately, IMHO, they did not speak much of substance. E.g. There was a man who declared women as “irrational” unlike men. Yet, he and some others were allowed to finish their speech (audible to me sitting at the back), amidst audible boos.

chris
May 3, 2009 12:54

I used to think that karma is just a fantasy. Now I truly believe in it. Josie and her team got what they deserved.

Hahaha
May 3, 2009 13:11

I was there. IMHO, the TOC report is very kind to Josie’s team.

Even before the start of the EOGM, the difference in management of Josie’s team and the original-AWARE was obvious. Volunteers in white, supporting the original-AWARE team, went down the long queue passing free water, distributing information about AWARE’s history and answering questions if any.

Josie attempted to separate the original-AWARE from their legal counsel Mr Siew was the start of the crowd’s jeering. Then Josie showed her inexperience when she did not give an indication of the length (time) of her speech at the start. I would have given her up to 20min of listening ear.

TSM was pretty much jeered into interrupting her speeches. IMHO, it is a pity because she was so into self-aggrandisation (I was beginning to think she would take up all 3 min of her speech putting up her credentials) that she made for good comic relief.

Walau
May 3, 2009 13:13

Walau the mob… I think Josie & gang were not prepared for the onslaught and they were obviously not going to address the fundamental issues during the EGM. On hindsight, they should have appointed a moderator and invited reps from the ‘Old Guard’ to make their case for the ‘no confidence’ motion. Then perhaps the crowd will not be so agitated. And they could still walk away with dignity as fair and honest players.

I’m just wondering how they and their 700++ supporters are feeling right now…bitter? besieged? excluded? Will they continue to engage and participate in social issues? Will there be even be space for them to do so? I hope the current AWARE will take into account Josie’s concerns albeit with more grace and sensitivity than the Feminator’s hostile takeover stunt. And also what does it say about our ‘OB’ markers…that the gahmen has been correct all these while?

Ahgong
May 3, 2009 13:26

Nothing surprising. When josie’s team hijacked the commitee and the way they handled the old guard, sacked and changed the lock. What do you expected from the old guard? “konijiwa, have a tea ” ? ….JUst make me wondered the IQ and EQ of their mentor. hahaha

Peiyu
May 3, 2009 13:28

I had wanted to let Josie Lau finish her speech too even though it had the potential of being long-winded and pointless, just so we can proceed with the voting. But their attempts to control the “unruly crowd” were so pathetic it only highlighted their inability to lead.

I still don’t understand the need to have three separate votes when the distinction between new/old guard was so obvious. Maybe if they had decided to go with the old guard’s motion that one is sufficient, it would have taken only an hour to finalise results. Josie did try and explain, but I was not even listening at that point in time.

I was sitting at the back as well, and everyone around me were cringing when that man who said women harass him was on :O Pointless stuff there.

I love that men and women of Christian and Islam faiths came out to say how they would want to have their children go through AWARE’s CSE because they believe in the need for informed information. I love voices in the crowd with personal stories.

The people in the We-Are-Aware shirts outside were the best: organised and witty. In particular, one of them apologised on behalf of the organisers for the long wait while we were in the queue outside hall 401/402, beginning with “I just came out…” [of hall 403], drawing laughter.

sarek_home
May 3, 2009 13:39

4) Eveline on May 3rd, 2009 12.33 pm

I would loved to have listened to Josie Lau’s speech in peace too. I don’t know why those people were heckling.

Because those people were very upset in the way Josie and her team got into AWARE. The saw that she and her team did not deserve the position to chair the EGM. They had to take control of the whole meeting to retake AWARE and give Josie and her team no ground to move.

It was not an exercise of democratic process in general sense. It was an exercise of democracy is the most basic and raw form – People’s Power to right what is wrong.

Josie and team closed the door of communication a year ago when they decided not to come out to raise the issue in public until they got into power. So they were not accorded the chance to communicate in the EGM.

Josie and team chosen to be the “Judge, Jury, and Executioner” a year ago, the people do the same now at the EGM.

Doublespeak
May 3, 2009 13:50

Agree with Ah gong. People were boiling over with emotions from the underhanded tactics by Josie and gang.

And then hearing “Shut up and Sit Down”? Do you see what I see? Disrespect for the audience, treating them like children. Of course they be unhappy.

To be honest, I was surprised at how charged and passionate these people were. I imagined it to be a quite proceeding.

But so much the better. You cannot have revolution without passion!

JL
May 3, 2009 15:31

I agree with ahgong. josie’s team is bringing shame to Singapore with all the ugly gestures n causing a stir among our religions. when they don’t respect ppl, how to be respected? didn’t they learn to respect in school?

The Watchman
May 3, 2009 15:39

The behavior of the crowd was disgraceful and disgusting. That was the behavior of a mob. That was not democracy. Democracy means everyone is given a chance to speak up his or her view WITHOUT interruption but there was so much interruption from the mob, from the Constance Singam’s faction. It was a mob. It was a public disobedience. It looked planned and orchestrated . There was a mastermind.Who was the mastermind?
I have not seen women behaving like this before and AWARE looks like it is now run by a mob of women with Dana as the new mob leader.
Indeed hell knows no fury like a woman’s wrath.
We are now on the slippery slope to sexual liberalism. Sexual activists are watching.
Maybe Annabelle Chong should be invited to sit in the EXCO too and advise on the CSE. She is so qualifiied and she can be in charge of the curriculum. Not enough AWARE can invite Miss Sasha Grey to hold clinics and show the kids a thing or two about sexual expression and gratification. Adult sexual classes too as now AWARE has opened to men membership albeit associate status without voting rights. Who cares about voting rights? Let the women run the program as they are more creative. They know what they want and they do it well.
All the best to the new AWARE.

mice is nice
May 3, 2009 15:59

after leaving Aware so much poorer, they are of course smiling.

the morally right thing to do is pay back most of what’s spent.

Chuihua
May 3, 2009 16:14

I think there was a mastermind, though they kept insisting there weren’t. People in the red T-shirts come in buses, and have their stickers put on and didn’t have to queue for two hours! They walked in, sat for a while, cast their vote and left, without even engaging in discourse, or showing any signs of wanting to hear what the others are so unhappy about Josie Lau’s team. There must be a mastermind where the buses come from.

blackfeline
May 3, 2009 16:18

emotion is not irrational screamed one of the charbos supporting matriach singam’s team… Well we hope to see such zeal when they addressed stupid policies set by our government! Otherwise shut up and sit down!

mice is nice
May 3, 2009 16:22

now that Josie & fiends are vote out of Aware’s Exco, something should be done tobar them for some years from that position. they have shown how much harm they can inflict to an NGO, its reputation which can be so easily be tarnished but took a long time to build.

The Watchman
May 3, 2009 17:05

From 200 to 3000 members you must thank Josie for the surge in membership without whom interest in the AWARE was so pathetic.
Hope Singam and her proxy Dana would not screw up the organisation again and improve on the number. Please don’t increase the number by recruiting men and turn it into a man’s club.
Women’s concerns should at the heart of the AWARE program and don’t kaypoh by straying. You have no business in championing the gays, they have their own club already.

squidsquid
May 3, 2009 17:18

others fight to live and these pple live to fight……really sad case…….

mice is nice
May 3, 2009 17:31

heh, Josie & fiends squandered the membership fees. they are the 1s who came in & screw things up.

well, can’t deny screw upped nutcases their voices also lah…

tejay
May 3, 2009 17:36

thank you Terrance. You manage to capture this one.
Good Job!

observ
May 3, 2009 17:38

Josie and her team were really dignified. Amazing that they managed to be collected and professional in the midst of a mob.

The old guards and their supporters behaved horribly. Disgraceful.

SHUT UP AND SIT DOWN
May 3, 2009 17:42

hahahah so dignified that the stupid madwoman sally ang shouted SHUT UP AND SIT DOWN!

Shame on you Sally you are completely unbefitting of an aware ex co member i’m so glad you got KICKED OUT.

LOL

just deserts.

Chuihua
May 3, 2009 17:53

Surge in membership because people joined in to vote them out! Count the vote! At least the old Aware doesn’t have to organise ppl by buses!

James Tan
May 3, 2009 18:04

IQ of Feminist Mentor has penetrated heaven. Next, she is going to be our Minister Mentor and replace the current head of NCCS.

eh
May 3, 2009 18:29

Watchman is not WatchWOMAN so don’t kaypoh by straying. You have no business in championing the anti women, they have their own team already.

Much ado
May 3, 2009 19:08

@Watchmen

Have you given a single bit of contribution to helping women in aware? Have you contributed any help in their research? No? Then who are you to even suggest what they should or shouldn’t do?

The Watchman
May 3, 2009 19:31

Dana will have a hard time reviewing the CSE. She has no experience in this area. She needs an expert on sexual matters. On second thought she might have.
Remember a home grown expert in this field? Remember , the record she achieved many years ago? Maybe AWARE can recall her and use her expertise to help design a user freindly CSE. Incidentally her name is ANNABELLE CHONG.
If AWARE needs a real experienced trainer cum demonstrator Miss Sasha Grey of the movie “Girlfriend Expereince” fame can partner Miss Annabelle Chong. They will make a great team . The CSE program will definitely take the schools by storm and it will be a runaway success. The school kids will be groomed and educated into a well informed streetwise adults. Kudos to the parents who lent their great support to the new AWARE.

blackfeline
May 3, 2009 19:37

Why should helping women be confined to AWARE alone? There are many unsung groups who are doing much better job than those bunch of siily fruitcakes! And they are in a privileged position…so don’t throw the gaunlet at US! And who the heck r u to stop us from giving our views?

Re-cover the expenses
May 3, 2009 19:51

What goes around,,,comes around. Shame on Josie and gang to have wasted resources that would have gone to better use. Maureen frequent referrals to the “legal cousel” is shameful especially so when the legal counsel was clear in the direction of advise. Catching the last straws, Maureen ?

For the members’ interest, Josie and gang must be made to pay ALL the expenses exceeding what is prescribed in Aware’s constituition. Ensure they pay out of their pockets for infringing the rules and take legal action if they do not pay up. Many lawyers are more than happy to do a pro-bono for this claim.

Finally, well done to the overwhemling members and supporters. You have made a difference to maintain AWARE to be a harmonius and secular organisation. The new energy should make AWARE to be more pro-active in its activities.

CanCan
May 3, 2009 20:02

Where is the video of the comical Thio Su Mien’s speech?ORDER, ORDER!!!!
I want to see!!Please, TOC, upload, thanks a million:D:D:D:D

cj21
May 3, 2009 20:13

Whoever won is inmaterial because the image of Singapore suffers as a result of the manner in which the old and new guards behaved on and off the media. This circus is the reason why the government needs to maintain law and order by being so strict with so much laws and regulation. Maybe Jackie Chan was right to say that we do not respect ourselves. PLEASE THINK OF THE POOR WOMEN THAT NEED YOUR HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!AWARE PLEASE BE REMINDED OF THE NEED TO UPHOLD THE IMAGE OF SNGAPORE WOMEN.

GnarlyBeast
May 3, 2009 20:15

The Watchman: I suppose you don’t realize that people like Annabel Chong usually come from sexually repressed/conservative environments. You know what they say about Catholic girls.

observer
May 3, 2009 21:15

All you detractors of the old guard talk so much online, keyboard warriors all. Where were you at the EGM?

Watchman, where were you? There was no secret plan at the EGM to boot out the undeserving Josie Lau & Co. It was wide open, well-publicised, and anyone was free to participate.

So, where were you?

On that note, where did all of the redshirts disappear to after they cast their losing vote? They weren’t even interested in hearing our grievances!

Ang Kong Kia
May 3, 2009 21:42

Remind me of the Taiwanese parliament …

Mrs Lim
May 3, 2009 21:44

The Watchman,

C’mon Watchman, don’t be such a soreloser….Dana might not be experienced enough to review the CSE, but at least, she was voted by the majority who’s willing to let her do the job. Unless you think you youself are so capable in reviewing CSE?

Talking about democracy, is democracy supposed to be an uninterrupted democracy? U really sure? I live in France which is known for being a democractic country, have you seen how the french politicians debate? And not to say the tens of thousands of French civilians demonstrating on the streets at least once every year? Talking about uninterrupted democracy!

Scherzerade
May 3, 2009 21:52

Odd how people who profess concern about the CSE corrupting school kids seem to be obssessed with sex. Proposing the engagement of Annabel Chong & Sasha Grey not once but twice, just in case the first time round it was missed. Seems very knowledgeable about the subject , too. Maybe he should volunteer his services for the filth he’s suggesting should be taught for the sex-edification of schoolkids. But please come out from the closet and do it under your own banner.

David
May 3, 2009 21:58

Can you imagine if a grieved woman go into AWARE for counselling, and while she starts pouring her grievances and the new exco became so impatient that they ordered her to SHUT UP AND SIT DOWN!!!. Luckily it was never to late to know what has happened at the EOGM to save future similar incident happen inside AWARE. The result is a resounding win…in fact 761 votes do not even exist or considered valid since they are mostly from the same church.

Re-cover the expenses
May 3, 2009 22:00

To Observer #36

Do not assume that we were not there. We were in numbers.

Yes, it could have been more in numbers to teach hardcore Josie and gang not to ever mess around again.

monster
May 3, 2009 22:07

i heard most of red shirts left after voting. come here just to vote like robot?

monster too
May 3, 2009 22:17

fake smiles on josie et al… FEEL LIKE VOMITING

The Watchman
May 3, 2009 22:28

37) Mrs Lim on May 3rd, 2009 9.44 pm
I didn’t say Dana was inexpereinced. I said that if she needed help she could call upon Annabel Chong for help with the CSE. I am sure while living in France you would have met her. She was last there promoting her a very similar course like CSE. You should have asked her to help AWARE to design a user freindly course.
And Sasha Grey is also available after completing her first movie. She is a renowed trainer and coach. Her expertise is surely useful to AWARE.

Needawatchdog
May 3, 2009 22:45

Yeah..josie lau and TSM also need someone like The Watchman to make sure that The Nation do not cross the line which their God drew. If according to the christian beliefs of Adam and Eve, who sinned after they fall into temptation of The Satan, then being a christian is indeed sinful. So being The Watchman, being hetrosexual, straight is indeed abnormal, unnatural and sinful because Adam and Eve are sinful. What say you if my religion say so about christianity?WIll you be happy to accept it?How does it feel being a christian who discriminate against anybody/anything which is against their bible teaching when they themselves would be discriminated and judged as Sinful Christian Adam and Eve?

Elfred
May 3, 2009 22:57

Hahahahahahahahahahaha… Shut up and sit down!
Interesting girls we got~
By the way, here’s a youngpap forum by a youngpap:
http://youngpap.50.forumer.com/

Here, you people don’t need to shut up, but you should sit down, or how to type? Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha…

hghgh
May 3, 2009 23:04

peoples’ power like what is in phillipines

eh
May 3, 2009 23:17

(44)
Watchman has an obvious obsession with sex…. this is so unnatural… why does he keep talking about sex…. I don’t understand…. wat if young children read his posts?

eh
May 3, 2009 23:29

(47)
hghgh- no cars burnt, no shops broken, no one bleeding.. where got people power

Dave K
May 3, 2009 23:35

I really cannot tahan this Thio SM. Why is she telling us she is on page 73 for?? What has it got to do with AWARE’s problems now? She is so self-centred, individualistic and egoistic. What respect she wants? She did all these disgusting things. What leadership and mentoring is this? Why do I want to know about page 73? Are you addressing any problems by mentioning page 73? You want respect is it? You have to earn it lah! Try harder can?

tj
May 3, 2009 23:45

@ Scherzerade #39

yalah. i wonder about that also. who’s Sasha Grey anyway?

someone else here has also related his/her shock and horror upon realising that “if you can take the shit, i can take the pain” on a t-shirt refers to anal sex. honestly i thought it referred to corporate culture. LOL

eidetical
May 3, 2009 23:56

Thanks for the report, good coverage and all. However, do watch out for some of the grammar errors – ‘apparantly’, ‘what ever’, ‘all these while’…

All about Aware : The Online Citizen - a community of singaporeans
May 3, 2009 23:57

[...] Chaos – “Shut up and sit down” (video) [...]

mirax
May 4, 2009 0:03

I am glad that TOC’s moderation is letting all the creeps speak – particularly watchman. An openminded observer can then see where the filth and sexual obsession bordering on perversion really resides- the so called concerned parents and champions of ‘morality’. Two of the guys who rambled from the floor at the EGM – Josie implored the audience to let the ‘gentlemen’ speak – had similar ‘creep and oldman sex pervert quotient’ . <>

eh
May 4, 2009 0:11

54) mirax

i so so agree with u. it is amazing that TOC allows such ppl to talk even when it’s obvious rambling. and WATCHMAN is very disturbing… for someone who keeps shouting about values, he has really tattooed names of sex icons in his brain and quote them nonstop.. this is so bizarre.. are all josie’s male supporters like that? no wonder they not very keen on a male chapter.. imagine having to deal with dementia all the time.

zephyr
May 4, 2009 0:25

I’m sorry but I don’t quite understand what the report means by “she made an attempt to go for the mike”. Did she join the line of people waiting to get a chance to speak (on the mike) or did she just go for it?

mirax
May 4, 2009 0:36

I received a lot of instruction from the old guard to remain patient, dignified etc and the queuing experience was so friendly that the initial vehemence of the crowd caught me by surprise. BUT there was a lot of reason for that : the switching off of the microphone, the bully attempt on Mr Siew, the refusal to allow the basic points of order – as usual, Josie’s house rules, agenda presentation, and ‘chairmanship’ was self-serving. An EGM is be definition, not the usual meetinga and one that had so much drama played out over the last month, required sensitive handling. It was just not within the ‘women’ sitting at the exco table to even modulate their voice tones, let alone understand how to pacify the crowd. this crowd was an intelligent one : whenever an old guard spoke, they quietened down, they did not harass ‘opposition’ speakers from the floor except for the bloody hilarious FM, and when unknown persons – with sincerity and peaceableness spoke, there was pin drop silence. of course these voices revealed themselves to be pro- old exco but we didn’t always know that and we were ALWAYS capable of quieting down in an instant. WE WERE NOT A MOB!

Within the crowd there was much laughter and sharing. We made friends with strangers, cracked jokes, shared our snacks and water. We responded as individuals to the speeches. sometimes i stood up and cheered like a mad woman when the rest of the row sat and at other times I slouched in my seat, pleased but exhausted. Most of the time we stood to cheer the women who spoke out our deepest feelings and ideals, so I reckon we were a pretty affirming crowd. lots of hugs, .. and that most of us were not raging lesbians, you know. Have you noticed how cold Josie and her gang are? Charlotte’s demeanour sends chills down my spine. Icy.

mirax
May 4, 2009 0:42

It struck me that COOS’ sexual ‘ethos’ must be a natural magnet for sex perverts and other frustrated people. A taxi-driver I spoke to said “all the ‘converted gays there means there must have largest collection of gay folks in entire singapore, lor! all so unhappy and not having fun, meh!”

JL
May 4, 2009 0:49

#15 & #30 the watchman,

wow, you actually remembered annabella chong :). nobody remember much of her, and you actually kept track of her whereabout…hmmm…wonder what you actually watch…talk about being repressed.

i think that’s quite a unique idea you have. why dont you write to AWARE? i mean what’s the point of writing this online as the decision makers are not here.

we have been reading your postings, we understand you, but not the bigger world out there.

watchman, if you are really serious, make it big, write to ST with your full name and IC#, let the entire nation knows.

eh
May 4, 2009 1:01

(58)
JL, u r so right.. Watchman is so keen to market them. i wonder what his obsession is.. hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

JL
May 4, 2009 1:02

#20 the watchman,

“From 200 to 3000 members you must thank Josie for the surge in membership without whom interest in the AWARE was so pathetic”

this is the part i really dont understand.

it was eventually this group of sudden surged members that kicked josie & gang out. this is not even a guess, this is a fact.

so obviously these people joined to kick them out right? i mean if they liked her & gang, wanted them to stay, they wouldnt had booted them out.

if you must so remotely link the increase of membership to josie, well then YES! it was because of their intense despise of her & gang.

this is really strange, you actually bashed your favourite team in such indirect way. it’s so unlike you.

JL
May 4, 2009 1:10

#59 eh,

he cannot forget annabelle chong ever since the 1st time he saw her work. you know how people say you never really forget your 1st love.

that’s why the 1st suitable person he could think of to conduct the CSE program is her.

eh, we must respect his recommendation. this is a free society, we should not discriminate.

eh
May 4, 2009 1:11

Watchman, consider changing your name to Watchwoman. Or Watch Annabelle Chong. Or Watch Whoever Grey.

JL
May 4, 2009 1:20

#48 eh,

that’s why his posts are so entertaining to read. because you know normal brains like ours cannot churn out such stuffs, only GREAT mind like his has such ability.

such GREATNESS does not happen all the time, only when the yin & the yang cannot balance then we see this. but i am sure with the re-appearance of annabelle chong, things might just change…

we hear you watchman. we know what you REALLY want.

eh
May 4, 2009 1:33

wahahahahahaha.. i hope all the filthy spewing has ended. cannot take it.. no idea what watchman has in mind, really unfathomable.

watchmanwantstogetpoked
May 4, 2009 4:29

“30) The Watchman on May 3rd, 2009 7.31 pm

Dana will have a hard time reviewing the CSE. She has no experience in this area.

44) The Watchman on May 3rd, 2009 10.28 pm

I didn’t say Dana was inexpereinced.”

wow. you must be josie lau… incoherence comes naturally

sarek_home
May 4, 2009 8:48

57) mirax on May 4th, 2009 12.36 am

I received a lot of instruction from the old guard to remain patient, dignified etc and the queuing experience was so friendly that the initial vehemence of the crowd caught me by surprise.

My take is that the EGM is an act of People’s Power no different from what we saw in our neighbouring countries. I believe the intention of all the actions taken was to force and ensure the No-Confidence vote was the first and immediate item of the agenda to settle the whole thing.

I believe the Old Guard would have respected the results if they were against them. So, I think the whole act was understandable and acceptable.

smallvice585
May 4, 2009 8:53

Hi Mirax #58,

I believe Senior Pastor Derek Hong himself said in a 2007 Sermon that he visits gay chat channels. ROFL.

sarek_home
May 4, 2009 8:58

36) observer on May 3rd, 2009 9.15 pm
On that note, where did all of the redshirts disappear to after they cast their losing vote? They weren’t even interested in hearing our grievances!

Heard some of them said they were there to make a moral stand. They made the stand, they lost, and they gone home.

The Watchman
May 4, 2009 9:50

Dana Lam and her EXCO members were illegally and unconstitutionally elected. The constitution does not provide for mob election immediately after a EOGM . Worse, the election was carried out before the existing EXCO announced their formal resignation.
The ‘election’ was ultra vires. It must be challenged

WhataJoke
May 4, 2009 10:51

The Watchman is a berserk blind fan of josie lau, exco and thio su mien. If Dana Lam her new exco were elected illegally, then what makes josie lau and her useless exco?illegal immigrants?Hahaha…the whole flock of them migrated illegally from Church Of Our Savour to AWARE and claimed not to know each other, so is this a Guess-The-Exco-Background contest or they are having a lying contest to see who gets to lie more?

NATO, if you think that your “holy” idols deserves another round of humiliation, you should be challenging dana lam by now already, why are you still whining like a crybaby here?

eh
May 4, 2009 12:01

(69)

Watchman, i’m so glad you stopped advocating for your favourite idols, Chong and Grey. This is a remarkable improvement. Congrats.

But you must really learn how not to be repetitious like Josie and gang. Why are you putting the same message everywhere again?

smallvice585
May 4, 2009 12:12

Hi The Watchman #69,

The motion for removal of Josie & Company was passed prior to Re-election of the Old Guards. However, Josie & Company seemed completely oblivion of the removal motion and announced their resignation anyway.

Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang)
May 4, 2009 12:15

#70,
Because, ‘eh’, that’s indoctrination. Repeat a lie enough times, it will become true.

Now repeat after me – “Iraq was behind 9/11, Iraq was behind 9/11…”

Mugen
May 4, 2009 12:32

Looks to me like another mini yellow/ red shirt mob rally in Bangkok…… A lot of flamming.

Curious
May 4, 2009 12:52

69) The Watchman on May 4th, 2009 9.50 am

1″Dana Lam and her EXCO members were illegally and unconstitutionally elected. The constitution does not provide for mob election immediately after a EOGM . Worse, the election was carried out before the existing EXCO announced their formal resignation. The ‘election’ was ultra vires. It must be challenged”

I agree there are irregularities. Also in any election at least a 14 day written notice must be given so that other members are informed. That was not democracy at work.

It was mob rule, death threats and the storming of the “Bastille” and power grabbing with undue influence and under duress, since article 9 of the Aware’s constitution does not make the EOGM vote binding.

If I were the Chairman of the meeting I would have adjourned it since the mob was unruly and so hostile that a civilized meeting could not take place.

If Josie and her team had adjourned the meeting and walked out the great unwashed in the hall could do nothing at all. It would be illegal for them to convene another meeting.

I hope someone could challenge the legality of the “kangaroo court” election or call for another EOGM to teach the old guards that they cannot just grab power by death threats and mob rule in a civilized society.

The Watchman
May 4, 2009 13:29

eh, eh, what is that? a fly? oh, Zefly back with eh.
I am writing to the new AWARE to recruit these home grown sex experts to help with AWARE’s CSE program. Annabel Chong’s credentials are MSc in sex pyschology, a former student of Wah Chong, had many movie under her belt or below and had written many papers on sex.
Sash Grey is a great actress , young, vibrant and analgetic and trainer who will be able and eagerly demonstrate the many technigues of nuetral sex. Both of you should enroll your kids for this enrichment classes at the AWARE or in schools.
Repetition makes your kids better. Of course parents can join in to keep an eye or both on your kids and the trainer.
All the best to Zefly and ????eh.

Happy
May 4, 2009 14:07

Actually, I don’t know why they had to receive death threats. Give them enough rope and they’ll hang themselves, as we all saw.

Mate
May 4, 2009 15:48

Josie Lau and her teams initially denied that it was a planned coup and did not disclose they actually knew each others from the same church. Pastor Hong also denied initially using pulpit for backing the new exco. Subsequently, all of us learned the truth from ST. It appears that these people may be lying and they still dare to claim themselve being a Christian and defending their values. So I guess for Josie and her team, lying is possibly part of their value.

BuahTahan
May 4, 2009 16:10

The Watchman: “It was a public disobedience.”

What public disobedience? The EOGM was a private members-only affair conducted behind closed doors.

observer
May 4, 2009 16:12

Watchman, I am a lawyer, and I am telling you: you have no idea what you’re talking about viz the Constitution and ultra vires acts.

For a start, you don’t even HAVE the AWARE constitution. You’ve never even seen it. Now come on, put your money where your mouth is, and find me an Article in the constitution that supports your position, eh?

observer
May 4, 2009 16:18

heh heh. Curious and the Watchman are hilarious.

Come on, then. Don’t just action action on the internet, you two keyboard warriors. Do something for what you believe in..

Rally the troops! Defy the NCCS, and all other religious heads of Singapore, defy public opinion and stage a counter-coup again with your COOS supporters!

You don’t dare do so cos you’ll be laughed out of Singapore by all right-minded Singaporeans.

eh
May 4, 2009 16:23

(78) Watchman finally understands a forum is abt dialogue and it is not a church bulletin board. congrats again. note how gracious i am.

i am glad u came open with ur admiration and secret worship of Chong and Grey. but i am a little concerned here – why do you call urself Watch -’MAN’ – is that a hint of ur favourite activity?

eh
May 4, 2009 16:26

(77)

Curious, i guess wat u r saying is that the best way to grab power is to organise it through a church with a hell and brimstone fiery pastor at the helm, headed by a mental feminist mentor. how civilised.

Curious
May 4, 2009 17:13

82) observer on May 4th, 2009 4.12 pm

1″Watchmen ,I am a lawyer, and I am telling you: you have no idea what you’re talking about viz the Constitution and ultra vires acts.

I am always impressed when someone says he/she is a lawyer in this thread. There are about as est 5,000 lawyers in Singapore and if anyone is not a senior counsel or a silk as they say in the UK, can anyone claim to be in the top of the profession?

2″For a start, you don’t even HAVE the AWARE constitution.

In legal speak does that imply that you have a copy? Are you an Aware member?

3″Now come on, put your money where your mouth is, and find me an Article in the constitution that supports your position, eh?”

If you have a copy of Aware’s constitution then please put your money where your mouth is and post article 9 and lets see what it says.

83) observer on May 4th, 2009 4.18 pm

1″heh heh. Curious and the Watchman are hilarious.

And are you then the apple of your mother’s eyes?

2″Come on, then. Don’t just action action on the internet, you two keyboard warriors. Do something for what you believe in.. ”

Quit taunting and post article 9 and let see what is at issue and also post the article on “Election of officials” and “Notice”. An action always starts with a simple query, like a journey of a thousand miles which always starts with the first step.

Curious
May 4, 2009 17:22

85) eh on May 4th, 2009 4.26 pm

1″Curious, i guess wat u r saying is that the best way to grab power is to organise it through a church with a hell and brimstone fiery pastor at the helm, headed by a mental feminist mentor. how civilised.”

The democratic way is through the ballot, like what happened at the Aware’s AGM in March in which the old guard lost, and not through mob rule, death threats and storming of the “Bastille”.

You should add a consonant to your moniker and make us laugh at your ignorance, like heh heh!

HT
May 4, 2009 17:40

84) observer on May 4th, 2009 4.18 pm

Absolutely.

Curious / Watchman, we are all waiting for your lawsuit to be filed. True, it will be a nuisance to AWARE, to contest your claim. BTW you should note how many lawyers volunteered their services pro bono to the current leaders of AWARE. During this difficult economic period, your lawyers would welcome your fees (especially that upfront fee of probably about $25,000 to begin with – heh heh maybe FM will give u a discount). The the media would welcome the news – more juice. The internet would go crazy – more conspiracy theories, more death threats from militant jihadist gays (haw haw!) The public would welcome the comedy. Come to think of it, the govt might welcome you too….

James
May 4, 2009 18:30

#78 Watchman

This is the strangest and most grotesque (self-generated) fantasy I’ve ever had the misfortune to read about. Projection dressed up as satire, perhaps. I’ll be keeping my children well away from people like you.

kerondagan
May 4, 2009 18:35

Josie and co have disgraced their own religion.

Constance and co. have proven themselves to have the zest, spirit and determination to fight back for the good of our mutli-religious Singapore.

The Watchman
May 4, 2009 20:05

82) observer on May 4th, 2009 4.12 pm ,
you are lawyer? if you are lawyer i am a senior counsel. Show me your practising license… Right , if I show you the article that says about the election of exco member you will be or rather I will be putting my foot in your mouth.
Come on, you don’t behave like a lawyer nor you have knowledge of the civil society constitution .Maybe a mob lawyer doesn’t know ,otherwise he wouldn’t be part of a mob.
Let me counsel you, intern. What did the counsel from Tan & Rajah say? There was NO NEED to step down nor to resign immediately after a vote of no confidence.
The rest you read in article 9 of the constitution.
Heed my advice , law graduate…
The above is also for James, HT, ehehhhhh and Buah Tahan long long.

tanjong katong
May 4, 2009 21:03

the public fury is overwhelming!

HT
May 4, 2009 22:43

92) The Watchman on May 4th, 2009 8.05 pm

You forgot to add that counsel also said that it was courtesy, convention and common sense to resign when the vote of no confidence is passed. Selective amnesia, I suppose.

Anyway, rant all you want, blah blah – Josie and her pussycats are out and that’s that. Come on, really, if you think that the election of officials was ultra vires (wah, using big words – so clever) SUE! Everyone is waiting for you to do it. LOL.

You saw the preparation that went into the EGM. Don’t you think that this would have been anticipated and planned for as well? Of course apart from your silly posts here, it is unlikely you will do anything about it – correction – that you can do anything about it.

Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang)
May 4, 2009 22:45

http://dogemperor.newsvine.com/_news/2009/04/24/2729992-a-steeplejacking-of-a-womens-ngo-in-singapore-a-rare-glimpse-at-how-joels-army-groups-work-in-practice

Brainwave, THIS IS TRULY ALARMING although I dunno if it could be verified. Everyone should go and read it and decide for themselves.

shut up and sit down sounds so barbaric!
May 5, 2009 0:24

so disappointing with that adult. why she speak so vulgar? gives women a bad reputation. did she get elected?

rAY
May 5, 2009 0:31

I am amazed at how the meeting proceeded. It appeared that the old guard and team are ready to create mess and to remove the new exco. Personally, I think this reflects badly on the old guard. They shld attempt to let the meeting proceed smoothly and not act likehooligans. Democracy is not be manifested in this way. Sigh….is this what it shld be at the next AGM? DO we expect people to just have their way, say what they want ?? at any time they like? Imagine what SIngapore will be like in the parliament? democracy without decorum nor respect? I see it as also not having respect for themselves – those who created the ‘noise’.

JL
May 5, 2009 0:41

#83 observer,

agree.

that’s why i always humour watchman for most of his postings, agreeing with his points. it’s funny to watch him lah.

for people like FM, josie and gang, who at least had some actions, we throw them out. for people like curious and watchman, who have zero action, just play along lor.

you can take it as a past time or a community service for the siao ones. just dont have to be serious with him.

in fact, that’s my message to all of you out there, every time when i saw some really intelligent logical netizens got upset with those two, i always wondered : walau, what for? siao one you all also so angry, waste time lah, just ignore them.

Stormrider
May 5, 2009 4:46

Some people here obviously cannot take in noise and rowdiness.

I grew up in the the 70s and yes noise was something that accompanied us over decades.

Kids nowadays are just shoved into air-conditioned rooms that are quiet and still. Everything must be ‘in order’. LOL

Watchman: remember Hong Lim Park? It was moulded on the concept of The Hyde Park, where people gather, esp. on weekends and start babbling on issues that concern them, from social to politics to civil to local/ foreign affairs to sexualities to religions. And yes, they talked on the top of their voice.

You know our parliament style, where ministers are made to sit facing each other, unlike countries like Japan or Taiwan where everyone was made to sit side by side facing only the House Speaker? It was again built on the concept of the Britain’s parliament, where when one minister took the platform and make his/ her point, all others are allowed to either support with an ‘aye’ or a ‘nay’, loudly.

THIS is what democracy is all about. No, it is not about fist-fighting, like what the Taiwanese like to carry out, or the Japanese where they sang official apologies and statements and kept bowing. Democracy brought the liveliness out of a person, lifted his spirit, strenghtened his courage, and increased his energy level. It empowers one to understand that under that circumstance, within that environment and in that condition, he/ she is allowed to speak freely, agree passionately and object loudly.

No wonder is the wife of late David Marshall also present at the EGM. David Marshall, the epitome of democratic speech, actions and ideologies. Couldn’t have made him happier to see how the entire EGM was carried out.

PJ
May 5, 2009 11:42

#The Watchman

The Watchman appears to be unAware of the proceedings at the EOGM. The motion to remove the Josie-Exco and to re-elect a new Exco was passed with overwhelming majority against 2 objections by a show of hands. At that time, Josie & team were nowhere to be found. It was only after that, 15 mins after the removal motion was passed, in the midst of re-election, that Josie’s team returned to the stage to announce their resignation. By then, Josie’s team were already no longer Exco. Legal counsel was there all this while. So what are you wrangling about, Watchman?

Curious
May 5, 2009 12:16

99) JL on May 5th, 2009 12.41 am

1″for people like FM, josie and gang, who at least had some actions, we throw them out. ”

Yes, you certainly did by mob rule, death threats and storming of the “Bastille” tactics. But is that good for civil society? Maybe by your standards it is.

Gandhi once said that you can judge a country by the way the people treat their animals.

I think he will also agree that you can judge a country by how its civil society holds public meetings and why mob rule and death threats have no place in a civilized society.

2″or people like curious and watchman, who have zero action, just play along lor.”

What do you think we are writing to this forum for if we take zero action? How do you know if people are not examining whether the election was legally held?

3″siao one you all also so angry, waste time lah, just ignore them.”

Then go back to your dark backroom and don’t engage in this forum.

Unwatchmen
May 5, 2009 13:17

The Watchmen is still whining away on the day of the EGM when the rest of the AWARE members, including me was already at suntec queuing and registering to get in. I don’t get this, Watchman, if you are so unhappy with whatever and whoever, you shouldn’t be moving your lips at all and should just get your back off to vote for your idols. But i guess your extra vote is not gonna make a difference to the end result because quite a number of the voters are women whom good old times AWARE helped before and they are doing their part to vote josie lau and her exco out. You are not even there to witness anything at all and the unruliness from the old guard is not what you have made out to be, so Shut Up and Get Off your Keyboard, do something in action and by person instead of using your fingers and lips to whine.

Scherzerade
May 5, 2009 13:30

Methinks The Watchman, Curious et al are suffering from SLS – Sore Loser Syndrome.

#99) according to the New Paper (3 May) FM & the Gang of 7 had retired to the rubbish dump to deliberate their decision. Maybe they were so happy to be home, they forgot about the EGM.

WeiHan
May 5, 2009 14:35

During the Aware EGM, the voting results were announced at about 8:10 pm. Josie Lau and team did not resign immediately, but went missing for an hour to decide. What happened during that hour? This video provides the answer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lHKZdFwcjDo

fairplay
May 5, 2009 14:44

103) WeiHan on May 5th, 2009 2.35 pm
Dear WeiHan
Excellent video. I encourage everyone to watch this!
Thanks.

Curious
May 5, 2009 16:12

103) WeiHan on May 5th, 2009 2.35 pm

1″During the Aware EGM, the voting results were announced at about 8:10 pm. Josie Lau and team did not resign immediately, but went missing for an hour to decide. What happened during that hour? This video provides the answer. ”

Hey WeiHan, when I am ready to do a movie called “Bare-backing Mountain” you will certainly be the one to be considered as the Director.

observer
May 5, 2009 16:30

Heh heh. I’ll humour you again, Watchman, just to return the favour for the many moments of humour you have provided me.

Art 9 of the Constitution merely states that the management of the Society is vested in the general meeting, presided over by the Prez. The general meeting, as you would no doubt be aware, is comprised of the members (i.e. the 3000 folks who were present.) The rest of the Art is on the necessary quorum for the making of resolutions, which was more than satisfied, and is hence not material for your purposes.

Article 12 notes that members who wish to place items on the agenda may do so with 10 days notice to the Secretary. While the resolution to remove Josie’s exco was likely not communicated to the Secretary (we don’t know if it was), there are no words in the Article indicating a mandatory nature (“shall” etc), or whether breach of the Article voids the resolution. In my reading of the AWARE M&A , there is nothing implied that voids such a resolution either.

But there is no need to rely on Art 12 because it was always open to Josie’s legal counsel, who was present at all times, to object to any purported impropriety. By not doing so, he must be taken to have elected to accept the proceedings (thereby “curing” it, in non-legal parlance). Alternatively, it was also always open to Josie’s exco when they returned to the EGM to dispute the technicalities of Art 12. But they did not, and waived that avenue when they tendered their resignation. Josie’s resignation is the key event here. Legal counsel was clearly aware of the sentiment of the general meeting (as evidenced by the overwhelming support at General Meeting in favour of electing a new team), and it would not have changed a thing if the new election was held before or after Josie’s resignation.

In any case, attention should be drawn to Art 17 on the duties and powers of the exco –”the exco may not act contrary to the expressed wishes of the general meeting without prior reference to it, and always remains subordinate to the general meeting”. This suggests that there is no case for Josie to dispute the timing of notice when its crystal clear what the express wishes of the general meeting are.

While its doubtful that Josie’s exco is estopped from insisting on its strict legal right on general equitable grounds, this is a moot point since its a reality that Josie will not be issuing a challenge. (And i guess, neither will you).

Now, that was my pro bono advice.

I am waiting with bated breath for your application to mount a challenge on the purported “ultra vires” election. Somehow, though, I doubt you will get up off your keyboard and do anything about it, despite all your talk.

benkwok
May 5, 2009 21:37

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YAT4Oiwp-yw

haha this one even funnier weihan! one day before the EGM, now what wld WWHD?

Curious
May 5, 2009 22:22

108) observer on May 5th, 2009 4.30 pm

1″Art 9 of the Constitution merely states that the management of the Society is vested in the general meeting, presided over by the Prez. ”

Really? What does the rest of Article 9 say then? Why are you reluctant to post the whole Article9 so that other lawyers can give their opinions too?

2″The rest of the Art is on the necessary quorum for the making of resolutions, which was more than satisfied, and is hence not material for your purposes.”

Never mind. Just post the complete Article9 and then we can discuss further.

Since TOC reported that ” Legal counsel for the new exco is speaking now. He says the constitution does not “expressly” give grounds for the eogm to remove the exco. He also said a vote of no confidence is not legally binding. The meeting continues” it is very important that you post the complete Article 9 for all to see.

And please advise, Mr Lawyer , if an Election of Officers in Aware can be legally held iaw its constitution when the exco had yet to resign, if there were no notice given and if the Election of Officers was not part of the EOGM’s Agenda?

Also according to the ROS,”In carrying out their activities, societies not only have to abide by the rules of their own respective constitutions, but also the prevailing laws in Singapore.”

Did Aware conduct the Election of Officers iaw the rules of its constitution? Any pro bono advice, learned counsel?

observer
May 6, 2009 0:49

Art 9 is in full here, I probably shouldn’t cross-post and clutter the page.

http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/aware-lessons-from-a-fiasco/comment-page-5/#comment-70607

Daniel
May 6, 2009 1:40

“Imagine what SIngapore will be like in the parliament?”

Why use the world-famous orchestrated circus as a example ? At least I didn’t see any wayang during the AWARE meeting, and everyone free to speak, but I see tons of wayangs and expensive kangaroos singing the same musical tune in the circus, and they can even hip-hop. You see, at least there is solution and result in AWARE , but in our circus, there is no solution and action unless it benefit the kangaroos.

ukiyoe
May 6, 2009 11:18

“The Watchman” seems ill-informed about many matters, making many general assumptions, leaps in logic and generalisations. Please research your information thoroughly before coming up with poorly-informed conclusions. Worst still you are busy contradicting yourself.

Your attempt at sarcasm, if there was any, also pretty much fails due to your incoherence.

This kind of attitude is a real turn-off. People who don’t even know what is going on, and pass value judgments based on misinformation. I’ve seen so many of these types commenting on other articles. If you want to make your voice heard, at least make sure its credible first. Don’t make a fool of yourself.

It’s people like these that justify the government’s strict OB markers. Sigh, maybe true democracy is really not for everyone.

So much for moral vigilantes.

Scherzerade
May 6, 2009 13:55

#107 Observer

what a waste of breath and space trying to explain the intricacies of the law to people who have no concept of the basic rules of engagement in a civil society, let alone the rudiments of the law! At least, Josie & her Gang finally saw the light and accepted defeat by resigning (graciously or otherwise).

Those of her supporters who cannot or will not follow her example and are spoiling for a fight should take the matter to the courts or the Registrar of Societies if they REALLY feel that the AWARE constitution has been breached, and the New Exco is illegal. Not repeat the same allegations in cyberspace ad nauseum – so unproductive.

Similarly, those who are still harping on the CSE should resort to the proper avenues if they feel it is not appropriate – one of the first is, pull your own kids out of it if you think it will ‘corrupt’ them or turn them into lesbians, gays, etc In other words, vote with your feet – that’s the most effective method, rather than clutter this space with spurious accusations and innuendoes. Likelihood is, your kids aren’t even affected, since not all schools have the programme. And who are you to judge for those parents who want their kids in the programme?

If FM & her Gang of 7 felt so strongly about the CSE , why didn’t they voice their objections at the EGM? In fact, no-one in the FM camp (or any of their supporters) repeated their allegations when one of the CSE trainers clarified (at the EGM) that the parts on homosexuality, etc occupied only 1.5 mins of a 3 hour programme. Did FM seriously believe in her allegatons, or was it just a cynical attempt to grab attention? If so, she’s certainly suceeded, since there is complete silence now from her camp, but the cats’ paws are repeating the same old lines ad infinitum. SUBSTANTIATE your claims or accept defeat graciously.

Curious
May 6, 2009 21:14

112) Scherzerade on May 6th, 2009 1.55 pm

1″what a waste of breath and space trying to explain the intricacies of the law to people who have no concept of the basic rules of engagement in a civil society, let alone the rudiments of the law! ”

So it is lawful to engage in mob rule, death threats, lynching party and storming of the Bastille when it comes to the public meeting of a civil society? Where did you learn the rudiments of law? In the jungle?

HT
May 6, 2009 21:46

#114) Curious on May 6th, 2009 9.14 pm

Aiyoh Curious, surely even one such as you must admit that what happened at the EGM was lawful, isn’t it? A little high spirited perhaps but that’s what happens when people play rough. After all, if its so unlawful, surely public spirited people like you would have called the police? Reported to the police? Or filed lawsuits or report the matter to the Registrar of Societies?

No? none of the above? So, okay settled then, it’s lawful. Come on, move on.

Curious
May 7, 2009 0:54

116) HT on May 6th, 2009 9.46 pm

1 “Aiyoh”

That’s what Aware must be shouting now that the silly game is out in the open.

2″Curious, surely even one such as you must admit that what happened at the EGM was lawful, isn’t it?

It would been if there were no mob rule, duress, undue influence, death threats and storming of the Bastille. What happened revealed the dark side of some women in Singapore. Hooliganism in public meetings has no place in a civilized society like Singapore. Also electing new officers when the exco had not even resign cannot be legal in any society.

2″A little high spirited perhaps but that’s what happens when people play rough.

That must be the understatement of the year. The only people who played rough were the hooligans on 2nd May, a day of infamy for civil society.

3″After all, if its so unlawful, surely public spirited people like you would have called the police? Reported to the police? Or filed lawsuits or report the matter to the Registrar of Societies?”

The impossible the mainstream values have tackled immediately and they have succeeded to convince the MOE to throw out the nefarious CSE, but miracles takes just a little longer.

People are questioning how could the election be legal if it was held prior to the resignation of the exco?

4″No? none of the above? So, okay settled then, it’s lawful. Come on, move on’

Must be the sour grapes working on you right now. The battle was lost on 2nd May but the war has just begun and the score is mainstream values 1 GLBT 0.

Scherzerade
May 7, 2009 10:17

113) Curious on May 6th, 2009 9.14 pm

(sigh) – just illustrates my point – no concept about rules of engagement in a civil society and sheer waste of breath. Also, not only poor command of the English language but showing signs of losing his/her mind. Sore Losers Syndrome clearly in evidence …. sad, sad, sad …

HT
May 7, 2009 11:50

116) Scherzerade on May 7th, 2009 10.17 am

113) Curious on May 6th, 2009 9.14 pm

Have some sympathy for our poor little Furious Curious – he/she (it?) has been posting desperately on so many threads trying to turn black into white. Must be tiring for him and with only sour grapes for nutrition, all can see that his mind is gone.

No matter. The election at the EGM was won, the FM got spanked and Curious despite his hyperbole knows better than to enrich the lawyers by starting a hopeless legal case so all is well.

And if nutcases want to pick a fight with the govt and the MOE and the LGBT community, good for them. We’ll wait and see what happens.

Scherzerade
May 7, 2009 12:47

115) Curious on May 7th, 2009 12.54 am

‘… but miracles takes just a little longer’

117) HT on May 7th, 2009 11.50 am

‘The election at the EGM was won, the FM got spanked and ..’

Poor, poor Curious , so reluctant to disilusion him, but -

The FM proposed, God disposed – at the EGM, 2 May 2009. Amen.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook