Friday, May 15, 2009 9:36
Do the honourable thing, Lee Bee Wah and STTA!
In Quotes • 1,390 views • 45 Comments
I hope the STTA will do the honourable thing and provide a full public disclosure. Let justice prevail in Singapore table tennis.
Patrick Fairley Scully, letter to ST forum page
45 Comments
blackfeline
ABC
Hey, LBW time to resign from the STTA and your current post as MP, you hv given LHL the headache.
Will the petition work?
More than 1700 signatures and the petition is still going strong.
Anybody knows which hole is she hiding in now by the way?
Dr Frankenstein
Let Justice Prevail? What a strange concept in Singapore. Only rule in Singapore is might is right
jac
Deng Xiao Ping once said `It doesnt matter whether the cat is white or black so long as it catches the rat.’ So to deny the coach the chance of winning the award is in my opinion, not being very clever. Im sure there is a political price to pay for this shortsightness.
poeticmi
Well, “honest mistake” can be forgiven if it involve the TOP GUNS. Look at the MAS SELAMAT case.
If it involve the lesser people, it cannot be forgiven. You must pay for your actions. This means, GET FIRED, GET WHACKED IN PUBLIC, etc.
Anonymous
It is totally illogical that a coach who had contributed to the national team to secure the first Olympic Silver medal in 48 years is not recognised and nominated by STTA for the National Best Coach Award.
If this is not pettiness, I don’t know what it is. There is this Chinese saying, “When you drink water, you remember about the water source”. STTA has got the status today as an Olympic recipeient assocation, it has to remember who brought about this success – the players and the coach. The players got their award but the coach is short changed. This is an utterly disgraceful act.
Retiree
I am sure the lady has things on her mind – her english may be a bit poor in the public arena, so it is good that ex-coach Liu come to town and give her the opportunity to say what she really means perhaps in hokkien as she did spoken eloquently before in Parliament;and now so with many people including top politicians advising her, how can she do wrong again ?
Singaporeans should be glad to have such a “FT” serving its citizens. Just hope that the lady will still be around as a PAP candidate to participate in the next general elections.
As for the STTA work, it is never easy to maintain the performance records taking over from Choo Wee Kiang even though he has done the foundation to secure the services of some of the best 2nd stringers from China. Locals players may take another 20 years to enter any into any Ox finals, that is if there is any really sustained interest. So LBW really has an uphill task. Can she do it ? She wants the STTA supremo title ? Is she the best person chosen ? More interesting , how and why is she, a person with no sports background given the presidency ? Is it because she is an MP? While there may be no forthcoming answers to the above fundamental questions, the future of TT in Singapore is not going to be bright with all the baggages. So LBW – either you resign now or prove your case against ex-coach Liu, and move on to do your work for your adopted country as you have been tasked.
mamamia11
LBW, do not shun away as from Today paper, it reported that she could not be contacted during press time. Do not be too arrogant to do what you think it is right. This is only what you think. Think of the bigger picture. Coach has done a lot to maintain and excel the players. I think you should reflect on yourself before making comments that are unwarranted. I suggest you resign and disappear from the Table Tennis scene. I doubt your MP image will be good.
Davidgong
Look ,this aunty has already chicken out.
Seemed liked she has followed the Aware case of “Shut up,sit down and sleep.”
Fantastic aunty from the Ang Mo Kio GRC.
aiyoyo
aiyoyo
cant understand the logic
a elite (so high pay liao) ‘talk so much’ with FT (high pay also), for what?
got time, spend time think how to resolve economy issues la.
instead do all these things to get headlines…
better still, if the elite can coach the players lagi best..
aiyoyo
Richard Tan
I think, we will see if LBW is correct or not, when Indonsia start winning the Table Tennis competition with SIngapore, we will know is Liu is a good coach or not and does he deserve the award or not.
If that time show that LBW is wrong, I suggest she should take the responsibilities to step down from STTA President and Singapore MP, and also apologise to all Singaporeans and Liu.
Peter Tan
Ms LBW should be interviewed by the media in HOKKIEN only. She seems to have a great problem expressing herself/ saying the right things in English.
casual tt player
@ Peter Tan ,
agree with your observation and suggestion.
Lee B W can be more explicit in hokkien and that will give Liu ex coach the true measure of what she thinks of him. Recall her comments in parliament ?
JUST4FUN
LBW should resign and post MP also. SINGAPOREANs need a clever and smart person to run the show. She have done singaporean shame.
After paying so much money to the FTs, she wanted to kick the butt, and do hurt to the country. Just because U are in the PAPaya party and do what U want.
MR LIU should go the speaker courner to speak up……GET his right and respect back……….
Yang
Enough is enough. STTA, please do something more constructive then going back to the same personal problem. We really hope to see the issue to be resolve in win win suitation for both side. Many more things need to look into then all this waste of time issue.
Lightning Strikes Again
The political damage to LBW is so huge that she is now a liability to the party. In order for her not to drag down the chances of the party in the AMK GRC, please put her in the Bishan-TPY GRC with terrorist capturing hero WKS during the next GE.
mice is nice
Coach Liu is not S’porean, that’s why he dare to speak up? at a time where China’s national pride is on the rise (with S’pore forging closer political & economic ties), i wonder what kind of future penalties will S’pore be paying (& paying?).
they can trash any of our sports team anytime, that’s for sure.
http://www.petitiononline.com/lbh/petition.html
Dear All
If you mean what you say, stand by it through the online petition. The PAP government has told us to be pro-active to resolve problems. Let’s hope they don’t give us shit like “let’ s move on” now.
LEE_pui_pui
Well in any organisation you will need a CLOWN to provide both amusement and stupidity for ppl to talk about and help divert from the real problems that the cabal is facing.
In this instance, LBW is the unchallenged clown, albeit exposing all her deficiencies such as her glaring inability to have the most primary EQ to handle situations. And how she managed to be an MP will be as mysterious as how the swine flu sneaked into the human chain.
Gigi
LBW may not have done the job well, but she certainly tried to do it well. At most we can say that she wasn’t competent.
But Liu is no saint himself. The way he has manipulated public opinion (as evidenced by the response on this page so far) shows that he is particularly skilled in playing politics. I wouldn’t trust such as a person with anything !
As for SNOC, some parties there obviously have a hidden agenda against LBW; otherwise why would they be so biased in their support for Liu, who is a foreigner not even living in Singapore anymore ? If the public thinks that SNOC is doing it out of a sense of “justice”, then the public is certainly very naive and impressionable. Just look the composition of SNOC (I wont name names), they are seasoned and hard-nosed veterans who seldom do things without an agenda. Otherwise why else would they not have given the award to other eminently deserving candidates (such as Tao Li’s coach), just because Liu wasn’t nominated ?
ram
CNA reported that LBW did not attend the two hour meeting with coach Liu at Shangrila Hotel. She chose a luxury hotel hoping to pacify coach Liu.
She was the one who made the remarks but have no guts to face coach Liu. Instead she sent two STTA members who most probably cannot make decisions and can only convey contents of meetings to meet coach Liu. What do you expect from the meeting? Nothing because headless chicken cannot face dragon from China.
Truth always prevails
rvian
=> 21) Gigi on May 15th, 2009 9.12 pm
i think you missed the point. nobody is saying that LGD is a saint. everyone of us has flaws, and that include LBW n LGD. i cannot see how the coach can manipulate the public opinion. frankly, i suspect most of us has somehow forgotten about him when he left singapore.
the point of contention here is not about him not being nominated for the award. it is how LBW publicly made remarks about his character n integrity. i will not repeat what she said here, if u are serious, u go find out yourself.
the man has left singapore, he continues with his life and we all continue with ours. like one of the posters here said, if stta left him out of the nomination for the award, so be it. don’t say nasty things to justify the decision. if stta insist on their decision not to nominate, everyone can only be LL, even the Minister himself.
on the agenda u mentioned, your guess is as good as mine. i personally feel that if a coach who is responsible for the team that brought the medal could not be nominated, the other coaches will also feel awkward to stand on stage to receive this honour, which incidentally has been made a mockery due to this public outburst. how more honourable can it be now?
“the seasoned and hard-nose veterans” spoke up. it was meant to be save future emabarassment, which is what is happening now. the chinese saying goes that “姜还是老的辣”. it was a pity LBW n gang did not take up the advice. so now what? “不听老人言,吃亏在眼前”.
you may be somebody associated with LBW by the way you spoke up for her, and i respect you for doing that. i only feel that one has to be responsible for one’s doing. have we heard of LGD saying bad things about her so far? not that i know of. he is still as diplomatic as he can be.
this issue has been widely reported in MSM and online journals like this one. i m sure LBW has access to what is being reported and MUST be aware that the coach has flown in to our country to seek clarification from her. and look at what she has done? she has no guts to face LGD. she is an MP, a leader from my own country. can she not come out and defend what she has said and make her stand clear? kiddy play? punch people below the belt and then go hide somewhere hoping that what she had done will be forgotten? i dread to think that an MP from my own country has to do that.
lastly, the public opinion in this page is enough evidence that she has done something out of line. this opinion cannot be manipulated so easily, unless you feel that people in this forum are morons. if public opinion here can be so easily manipulated, the exco of Josie Lau will not be removed from office on May 02.
as a singaporean, i m embarassed by the behaviour of LBW. i can only hope that not many MP’s share the same traits as her, otherwise, we will all be in jeopardy. i am beginning to treasure my single vote come election more than before. my only wish is that i will be able to exercise this vote.
small engineer
And some really, really old politician say we have to pay MPs & ministers 1st world salaries because our political team is the best there is in Singapore!!!!
ffrdffd
if i am the bad person, when lighting strike i will be very scare.
i will hide in my civil defence shelter.
TrueBlood Singapore
She is a trained Engineer! Not a trained to be diplomatic!
Be careful what you talk to public and if she right and gotm guts, shouldn’t hide and fight headon.
If you insult Singaporeans for Choosy, unclean is OK but for PRCs, they got guts to fight till the end. I respect then!
Gigi
Rvian,
I am in no way associated with LBW; in fact i dont even like her. I am just saying that we can fault her for being incompetent, but not for being evil. I would prefer incompetency to evilness any day.
As for the other coaches, I dont see why they would feel awkard winning the award, if they had been given the award. They were all nominated on merit, no less deserving. The table tennis team winiing a medal should not necessarily entitle Liu to the award. We cannot say that medal is everything. Let me give an example. If a coach who helped Singapore win a gold medal in the Olympic Games was arrested for rape a few days after the final and subsequently convicted, would SNOC still give him the award ? Of course this is just an example, but it proves that winning a medal cannot be the sole criterion in deciding whether to give an award.
Good Riddens
LBW as most citizens ( last year) rightly so wanted her to go- perhaps then the PAP political machinery wanted to give her a chance as she is very new to STTA. Now as PAP start to count their losses, and further baggages with her around the general elections…. the opportunity to get rid of herself is finally created by herself….not only is her EQ is confirmed as low, now her IQ and SQ is brought out in the open as suspect…..
Hence the subtle support for Liu to be here to let the system put the last nail on LBW’s coffin of STTA so to speak. – A win -win situation, so they say…
Ex-coach Liu has exhibited exemplary behavior since touching down early Thursday morning – alone, he cut a very sad and being bullied figure , and such a poor thing – For all that he had done to get Singapore on the medal rostrum of the world’s top sporting stage, he is treated like shit by a person no lesser than a PAP MP and a so call professional – LBW, also a professed buddhist, who instead of being compassionate, uses her position to inflict the greatest mental cruelty to a fellow human being who like her is a “FT” serving Singapore well.
Singaporeans know now that they do not deserve Ex-coach Liu but for LBW – good riddens, and she only deserves herself and the longer she hangs around the more damage she will do to the STTA, not to mention the GRC of PM.
rvian
Gigi,
My point on other coaches feeling awkward is a lousy point maybe.
Lets assume LGD is not deserving for the award, and lets also assume that stta did the right thing not to nominate him. The fact here is LBW came out in the open, in MSM to attack him verbally. What is your view of LBW’s allegation that LGD has character n integrity problem?
Gigi
Rvian,
My view is that it was bad judgment on her part. Either she should not have said it, or she should have said it together with supporting evidence, which I believe she has.
She is simply not ruthless enough. By allowing her enemy to live, she was merely making life difficult for herself. The contract which STTA offered to Liu was such an example. STTA probably didnt want to offer Liu the contract, but did so just to appease the public.
Gigi
Good Riddens,
I would suggest you dont take things at face value. Nobody would fly so far to have a meeting, and in the process meet the press so many times, without a hidden agenda.
The image of vulnerability is one which many people use to achieve their goals in different spheres of our lives. Do not fall for it.
mice is nice
Gigi,
a personal attack without any supporting evidence is wrong. its not about LGD having any hidden agenda. furthermore, LBW as an MP should have been more tactful when putting down a person. whether you believe she has any supporting evidence is not the point (its not about believe), either come out to clear the air or apologise for the outburst, dun lie low in hope people will just forget this incident.
////By allowing her enemy to live, she was merely making life difficult for herself.////
are you LBW? how did you arrive at the conclusion LGD is an enemy? about making her life difficult, she can only blame her own lack of tact.
Gigi
Mice,
I do agree that LBW is tackless, and probably incompetent, especially with regard to the PR aspect of her job.
Personally I am more tolerant of an honest official who commits a PR blunder than of one who is scheming but with great PR skills.
Joel Low
I remembered I was working in a church in Singapore. The senior pastor there was a known “no-nonsense” type of pastor and everyone knows he hate sins. After 3 years of working there, I could not take it. I resigned and even left the church. News spread that I was asked to resigned because I have stolen from the church. Good friends from the church came to see me trying to “SAVE” me from my sins.
I proved to them that I actually resign on my own, and the reasons is I could not take the lies and manipulations from the same pastor who claim he hate sins. After 3 years I know so many secrets of the church’s members because the pastor likes to gossip about it in the office and laugh over it. The only I stole from the church is the designs that I did for the church. I was mearly keeping a copy for my portfolio. Many of them after knowing the truth began to leave the church.
YOU SEE …. many times we thought we know the truth and make statements based on the little facts that we were told. We may not know the whole story and what actually transpired. We are always quick to judge and speak before we think or examined the so-call facts that have been presented to us.
LBW may be the most tactless MP I have ever known about in Singapore. Usually, the MPs of PAP are very well spoken and their comments are very well prepared and carefully crafted to please everybody. However, I agreed with :
33) Gigi on May 18th, 2009 11.12 am
“”"”"Personally I am more tolerant of an honest official who commits a PR blunder than of one who is scheming but with great PR skills.”"”"
If you look at LBW and her speeches in parliament and her comments in the public …… she may not have the tactfulness of speaking at the right tine the right words, but she does speaks her mind and the truth.
We do not know why she make a statement that LGT is unprofessional and not respected, but I doubt that she lied. People are not happy because they did not hear what they want to hear… that’s all. But if she did not lied than something might have transpired to make her and the STTA to make such a decision. Even the STTA supports her decision.
It i hard fot me to tell who is more right as I do not go to STTA to train with the players and LGT. BUT so do those who criticized LBW and petitioned her to be sacked. Why jump to conclusion when we do not know the truth YET…. OF all we know, STTA is not releasing the whole truth to protect LGT and give him a chance to still find a job!!!!
LGT should just settles it before all the cat is let out of the basket, then he might never be ale to find a coaching job anymore.
mentee
“Lee Bee Wah speaks with her mind and the truth”?
Joel Low, you must be an idiot.
A person who bansai here and there in parliament and in high-profile organization speaks without thinking, that is more like it.
And why she speaks without thinking? That’s becos she’s a super egoistic one.
Recurring Bad Dreams
The cat is out of the bag already – LBW’s bag , STTA’s draft and LGD’s going home to come back again ?
Gigi
Liu now seems more concerned about why he wasnt nominated for the award, rather than concerned about LBW’s attack on his character.
He really has no right to know why he wasnt nominated. If the employer doesnt give an employee the “Best Employee” award, does the employee have the right to know why ?
It’s obvious that Liu is after the money that comes along with the Best Coach award. He is now trying to squeeze some monetary compensation out of STTA.
Joel Low
35) mentee on May 18th, 2009 1.43 pm
Yeap… mentee especially you … please clean you gap after finishing your business….
Joel Low
Although LGT has trained the women’s team who got the silver in the Olympics. I still think he is not a trustworthy person. We knew about the issues with the man’s team, how LGT has put them in a lesser priority because they have a lesser chance of winning anything. The responds from the team members were also against him.
Knowing that he (LGT) had made a mistake in the men’s team, he did not apologize at all but still defended himself and even accused STTA for dampening the celebrations for his and the team achievement.
His actions and response speaks very much about his characters. He just want to use Singapore as a launching pad for his career. He is not loyal to Singapore at all. I am sure Indonesia is paying him more …. Isn’t it stupid to give him a best coach award where he is now training another country to beat us….. THINK …
It is easy to say “they never ask me to stay” when his motivation is only himself.
mice is nice
Gigi,
i do not know all the details of what actually is the cause of bad blood between LBW & LGD, but she should come out publicly to explain herself.
if it really is a PR blunder do likewise, come out to explain. if need, apologise for any blunder.
everybody makes mistakes, but not everybody will own up…
KopitiamApek
///Those who supported blog site wayangparty.com’s petition asking Ms Lee to step down went to Hong Lim Park///
///5,600 online signatures but ………………..how many at Hong Lim Park again? Hahahahahaha////
http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_387128.html
NATO in action again.
Joel Low
41) KopitiamApek on June 7th, 2009 12.13 pm
HA HA HA ….. That speak how many people are still afraid to stand up for what they believe physically.
I personally felt that we need more people like LBW in the PAP. That will make them look really “NICE”. Got it? … He He He
Personally, I do not trust LGT at all. He is all out to promote his own career and grab more money. A coach of the year award will do a lot of good in raising his worth… He said he likes Singapore and treated here like his own country…. what a load of bull shit …. Where is he now? Training Indonesia …..
His response is STTA never ask him to stay. Why did he decide to go in the first place since he treat Singapore like his own country? ….. He was not dismissed, in fact he was offer another contract to continue, but he decided not to continue the contract …. as he revealed to the media. So he expects LBW, STTA, LHL, maybe LKY also to come and knelt down and beg him to stay is it?
STTA should just let everything be exposed, I am sure there are a lot of dust under the carpet, if not why is LGT not suing yet? Let him suffered at his own foolishness la.
ANOTHER DISTRACTION created by the media to take off our eyes on the real issues of the nation. This time it failed miserably.
ah soh
“If a coach who helped Singapore win a gold medal in the Olympic Games was arrested for rape a few days after the final and subsequently convicted, would SNOC still give him the award ? Of course this is just an example, but it proves that winning a medal cannot be the sole criterion in deciding whether to give an award”
“She is simply not ruthless enough. By allowing her enemy to live, she was merely making life difficult for herself”.
When I read the above, a terrible chill shot my nerve. The Example was definitely irrelevant, irreverent and uncalled for.
The Second Quote is just simply frightening !
KopitiamApek
42) Joel Low
//////HA HA HA ….. That speak how many people are still afraid to stand up for what they believe physically.//////////
Anonymity is so safe.
ah soh
“Let me give an example. If a coach who helped Singapore win a gold medal in the Olympic Games was arrested for rape a few days after the final and subsequently convicted, would SNOC still give him the award ? Of course this is just an example, but it proves that winning a medal cannot be the sole criterion in deciding whether to give an award”.
“She is simply not ruthless enough. By allowing her enemy to live, she was merely making life difficult for herself”.
The Example was irrelevant, irreverent and uncalled for.
The Second Quote sent a terrible chill down my spine. Did the Poster suggest that the Enemy be silenced ?

well..some bloody auntie with a big mouth started the fire..get her to clean up the mess! Just how stupid can one b..hitting below e belt to xplain HER decision! I really doubt her credibility n capability!