Wednesday, May 27, 2009 14:19
Fallacies of the boon of PAP dominance
In Khairu zaini, Main Stories, Top Story • 1,847 views • 43 Comments
Breaking News: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong announces changes to electoral rules. Parliament to have at least nine opposition MPs, including NCMPs.
Breaking News: Mas Selamat Kastari, suspected terrorist caught by Malaysia, has been put on a two-year detention under Malaysia’s security law. Any extradition proceedings with Singapore will only be discussed after those two years.
Khairulanwar Zaini with contributions by Current Affairs Desk
Amidst the call to ‘evolve’ the political framework, arguments from two PAP backbenchers indicate that the much-vaunted changes may be restricted to mere platitudes.
Following Low Thia Kiang’s speech on Monday about the necessity of “more effective opposition” to check an incumbent party that may become corrupt, Indranee Rajah asserted that the argument is “unsound.”
Sadly, her arguments are riddled with logical inconsistencies.
She was reported to have said: “The premise of Mr Low’s suggestion is flawed. He’s really saying just in case PAP becomes corrupt in the future, then people had better vote for the opposition now.”
“But if you apply the same logic, then the argument can also be made that if you vote in the opposition, then they may become corrupt in the future, so in order to avoid that, you might as well vote for PAP now.”
This is a flagrant ignorance of the contextual reality of opposition politics. Her castigation of Low’s reasoning may be fair if the Workers’ Party (or the opposition at large) were capable of challenging the PAP’s electoral primacy.
That however is not the case – as Low himself posits, he wants only for a “more effective opposition presence (that) can provide checks and balances on the ruling party.”
Her statement that the argument is double-edged since the opposition can become “corrupt” is frivolous. The opposition in its current paltry state does not even harbour a minimal chance of being a government-in-waiting.
The far-fetched notion that a fledging opposition – whose legislative influence will still remain under considerable constraint relative to the ruling party’s – will be able to “abuse its power, trample on people’s rights” makes a mockery of her statement, while it does not diminish the true danger which Low Thia Kiang alluded to: that the PAP, with its overweening dominance, may grow corrupt and rule illiberally, and that this danger can be better checked with a “more effective opposition presence.”
Josephine Teo’s remarks are telling of the ruling party’s implicit agenda to ensure that any changes to the political system entail a continued predisposition to PAP’s hegemony. Other than being guilty of conflating the interests of the party and the state, Teo presented Parliament with a false dichotomy in asking whether it was “better for Singapore to support an opposition … in the hope that it could govern well when it overthrows a corrupt PAP … (or) to make sure that the PAP … has the strongest team to serve Singaporeans?”
Logical fallacies aside, the backbenchers take for granted that the PAP dominance in Parliament is a boon.
The central thrust of most of the arguments seems to lie in the need to “preserve a corruption-free political system, and to maintain a political culture that does not tolerate corruption.” The PAP MPs, in their propensity to believe that their Parliamentary ascendancy is good for the country, are hence more inclined to institute a system of internal self-regulation rather than be subjected to independent regulation by an opposition force.
With this perspective clearly entrenched, the prospect for a more liberal democracy in Singapore is lackluster – because clearly the idea of an evolved political system for the PAP is one where the incumbent ruling party can be made better, in the slipshod assumption that the country will then be better off as a result.
———
- Yet another set of SERS flats – refurbished & to be rented out – in Boon Lay
- TOC Blog Feature: 10 reasons why I cannot vote for the PAP in the next election
- Revisit the policy & practice
- TOC Analysis: PM’s gambit is manufactured dissent par excellence
- “Democracy need not involve the presence of an opposition,” says PAP member
43 Comments
blackfeline
Jackson
I think Teo doesn’t understand politics. She thinks politics is like going to shopping centre, if a shop sells expensively, then don’t shop. What if all are selling expensive? Obviously the system is at fault.
Small Time Businessman
Based on what these 2 brain dead women said, maybe Singapore should just turn communist. Then the chance of having opposition parties in the Govt will not happen at all.
Daniel
“what 3 principles blah blah blah it’s all poppycock!”
Yes, Now we know that these 3 principles are just smokescreen to distract from what going on with the honest mistakes of government.
Unless Woody can walk the talk and talk the walk by sincerely showing that there is fairness by abolishment of GRC, ISA, detention without trial, and enforce higher standard of arguments by his clowns, everything he said is just hogwash. Couldn’t we get much better and cheaper clowns from Russia instead ? Why use study-smart highly expensive clown who can’t even argue smart ? Pay them so much to insult our intelligence.
Ak
are they backdoor’s MPs? anyone
what 3 principles blah blah blah it’s all poppycock! And to have 2 silly charbos doing party’s singalong as rebuttal is a big joke!
Daniel
“And to have 2 silly charbos doing party’s singalong as rebuttal is a big joke!”
looks like hip-hopping going out of fashion for government. Now they have to resort to telling insulting joke to entertain the citizens.
kangeroo
These defenseive remarks from the 2 headless chickens are typical of the reponse one could garner from the ruling regime when faced with contesting opinions. And why are we paying top dollars for essentially 2 pea brain ladies who need to succumb to twisted logic in order to support their party?
mice is nice
3 principles? look what happened in “I-Robot” the movie?
wow, look at the 2 fembots go.
Sorry, I’m confused. The article started by quoting Indranee Rajah, and then suddenly inexplicably mentioned Josephine Teo’s remarks without saying what those remarks were. Could the article please be edited for some clarity? The use of generic pronouns after the first mention of Rajah, suddenly followed by the mention of Teo, are rather confusing.
bob
But in fairness, their comments are made in the context of a shockingly bad opposition. Come on, even if we had SMCs, who would you vote for, hand on heart?
If Low wants better opposition he simply has to go recruit better people, simple as that. The PAP has gone out of their way to deny him those better people – like most political parties would. that should be hte real debate.
ABC
They hv nothing better to say, so inorder to catch their boss’s attention, they start to talk nonsense, really stupid…my adv to them go home and make babies to support their boss’s campaign.
IMS
A lot of misdeeds were never publicised and that does not mean, Singapore is free from corruption or abuse.
PAP MPs sleeping, sticking chewing gum on bench in parliament house. And PAP MP taking $500k interest FREE loan from Temasek? And PAPs MP never question much about the losses at Temasek/GIC? we also saw PAP shadow boxing on electricity/hdb/transport hefty hikes, led to nothing.
We depend on PAP MPs to check on PAP? really? does this work? ISA can decide on anything, it is above the law. So what does this mean?
We have seen the performances of PAP MPs and they pale in comparision to Siew Kum Hong’s contribution. Can we rely on PAP MPs to check and balance their own paymaster?
blackfeline
#9 fembots? more like Stepford wives! The master should be very happy with this pair of silly cheerleaders!
Brenshaw
My fren told me JT used to work in EDB.
My impression of the other lady in the picture is she frequently seen wearing bright fashion.
To A democracy with an equally strong Opposition will be bad is unwise as this is like saying something that has not happened.
so many democracies in the world cannot be wrong.
A democracy is a democracy. Else is it still a democracy? Pls enlighten.
mice is nice
hi Blackfeline,
yah lor, so many PAP MPs all sound so alike, why need so many unless want to form a choir? can make do with less, can save taxpayers’ money.
choir 80 strong, sing one tune?
duyde
yeah no need to be corrupt. Just rape the population legally!
TrueBlood Singaporean
Let Vote Josephine Teo out next Elections!
Her Logic is Anti-Competitive! Imagine she go Shopping and only One main shopping center in Singapore. She propose not to open other Shopping Centers and Support the Main Shopping Center!
Very Stupid! Right! Educated Idiot!
socrates
What do you think of the idea a GRC should have at least one member from another party? Yes? No?
TrueBlood Singaporean
Abolished all GRC, made PM Emperor and the Dynasty called Lee & Lee
ah tee
Then there is always legalised corruption …. What is the difference?
who is unsound. your own boss ?
“Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong announces changes to electoral rules. Parliament to have at least nine opposition MPs, including NCMPs.”
The tide is just moving against them. No matter what, a truly elected opposition will be good to act as a balance. May I ask our dear lady mp why her boss here is announcing to have more opposition mps, including NCMPs when she herself is arguing another mp’s calling for it ‘unsound’.
Recently, SM Goh was blah, blah blah trumpeting his 3 princip[les of change and now we have 2 of his seemingly discontented and disconnected agitated bird brainers chirping loud at the slightest mention of check on their party accountability – these display of their flagrant entrenched infallibility are simply unbelievable and uncalled for.
Daniel Lim
Hi Bob #11,
Thank goodness that PAP recruited all the smart folks ahead of WP. Otherwise, WP with these smart people recruited may go down faster…than u can imagine. LOL
i like better people
“11) bob on May 27th, 2009 4.14 pm
If Low wants better opposition he simply has to go recruit better people, simple as that. The PAP has gone out of their way to deny him those better people – like most political parties would. that should be hte real debate.”
We are talking about politics and human nature even assuming they are better people. And do you know why they need high pay while trying to be dominant / denying opposition ‘better people’ like what you have said. It is all about human interest and because of this we need opposition to balance this interest.
You need interest to be circulated and not concentrated within one group so that the benefits of managing important national resources get circulated and shared as wide as possible among different differing groups. A real democratic process will ensure this.
The high compensation that your dear mini-starial friends are getting for one five-year term can last them many generations over unless they are spendtrift themselves while lesser mortals have to compete in our very encouragingly stressful society for much much less.
“Come on, even if we had SMCs, who would you vote for, hand on heart?”
Like in any game strategy, sometimes you need to sacrifice a little in one area to win big in some other bigger area. In short and to be a little blunt, you may have to vote in a monkey so that the other human beings will behave. Not true ? Why not try in out and see how they will sit up straight with attention.
aiyoyo
aiyoyo
those bla bla bla elites
got go thru GE??
alamak talk so much not sure how it helps economy + commoners??
aiyoyo
thedoc
lolwut?
This is failure of logic, reasoning and objectivity. So, for example, if the opposition were to turn corrupt (by whose standards anyway, since we already have million dollar paid loose cannons around), would they even pose a threat big enough to oust the current ruling party?
Advice to those 2 women, stfu and go back to making babies like how your PM wants you to instead of opening your mouth and making you look like an even bigger idiot than you already portray yourself as and please, drop that stupid looking hairstyle. Get David Gan to give you a hair cut if you can’t find any with your million dollar pay check.
Singaporeans neither support the PAP nor the opposition. It’s really about giving the people what they want to buy them over. If the opposition were to follow the footstep of the PAP tomorrow, do you honestly think that the people would support them? It’s not the 3 letters which make the party, it’s the people which make the party.
I leave you with some words, morepewpewlessqq!
No love,
doc.
Joel Low
If you see their rebuttal carefully, it is a well prepared speech but does not answer completely the questions and comments raised by MP LOW…. They just want to ans have to finished what they were told to say… once done they can justified their existence in PAP. I think we can find better rebuttal here in TOC. Makes me think …. how much we pay these MPs per month?
Hindsight
History has shown repeatly
Hindsight
History has shown repeatedly similar thoughts like Josephine Teo had brought about the decay, decline and fall of many great empires and societies in the past. Such arrogance shut up all new ideas and views that are contrary to the views and perogatives of the ruling class and had caused societies to decay, degenerate, decline and failed miserably. Latest example, the proud Ching Dynasty thought that they have everything and anything the world have and refused to have anything to do with other countries. Such arrogance resulted in the decay, decline and fall of the Ching Dynasty. Worst of all, the people of China suffered miserably and China became a very backward country compared to the other countries.
David
I feel extremely worried when people rejected Check & balances on the current govt. Such rejections proved that they have more worms to hide and cannot be made public. No wonder singaporeans are poor, let’s push ourselves further to dig out those tough worms,
anon
i think low tk is good tempered.
since the pap mp says as long as elected means the best, i will tell her to shut up & sit down :-)
she was never elected since day 1, always being under lky grc walkover.
Small Time Businessman
to bob:
“Come on, even if we had SMCs, who would you vote for, hand on heart?”
Dunno. Let’s abolish GRC system, and see outcome.
mice is nice
who would have any issues if the promised Swiss standard of living is reality for ALL S’poreans. if i am living that standard of life now, i’ll gladly let them dominate all they want. lol…
toiletmatter
Josephine Teo’s remarks are telling of the ruling party’s implicit agenda to ensure that any changes to the political system entail a continued predisposition to PAP’s hegemony. Other than being guilty of conflating the interests of the party and the state, Teo presented Parliament with a false dichotomy in asking whether it was “better for Singapore to support an opposition … in the hope that it could govern well when it overthrows a corrupt PAP … (or) to make sure that the PAP … has the strongest team to serve Singaporeans
obviously, these are self condemning words instructed by the higher ups to be conveyed by the lower downs.
white raven
Did all these smart aleck PAP MPs do their jobs well and sink their teeth in to bite hard when there was a need to demand accountability and transparency from the govt over Temasek’s and GIC losses? Did we see sincere checking and intensive scrutiny of Town Councils’ losses, the great MSK escape? 82 PAP MPs in parliament with not a few asleep, all compliant and at the Master’s beck and call, to be attack dogs when the nod is given, not to attack the govt but to attack the Opposition! As though by an orchestrated chorus of noises, they will drown out the two lonely but valiant and genuine people’s representatives.
Daniel
“82 PAP MPs in parliament with not a few asleep, all compliant and at the Master’s beck and call, to be attack dogs when the nod is given, not to attack the govt but to attack the Opposition! As though by an orchestrated chorus of noises, they will drown out the two lonely but valiant and genuine people’s representatives.”
Agree. That is why the latest change in NCMP is ineffective because these dogs are still around taking turn to bark and bit those disagree with their master. What is worse is that the number of NCMP are increased as more meals for these dogs. I’m sure very soon NCMP will get to taste the rabid of some of these running dogs.
Daniel
“Dunno. Let’s abolish GRC system, and see outcome.’
Yes, it is time that Gang-ster stop Raping the Citizen of voting right. Those hiding behind master’s back getting free lunch , privilege and backdoor to trample the citizens.
dying freedom
25) i like better people on May 27th, 2009 6.59 pm
Totally agreed with you. And there is no such thing as “better people”!
Spirit-centred
Besides providing outside checks and balance on the ruling party, the opposition party has a very important role to ensure the continuation of the government in the event that the ruling party in government are wiped out due to unforseen circumstances such as pandemic (not supposed to be a curse but a likely scenario) then whoever survive should shoulder the responsibility of government. Singaporean must have this preparedness, as you all know all good things do not last forever, we must step by step voted in maybe 10 to 20 capable opposition members to be trained in the running of Town Councils and in Parliaments and once they got these experiences then send more in to form the next government so that they can be trained to be ministers to run the country. Once these are achieved, we can safely say that we have a backup government for the future of our country. In the event that any party fall-short of our expectations then we will elected the party that is available. This definitely ensure our continued survival as a nation.
By just having a dominant ruling party and a very weak opposition/alternative parties is a national crisis in the making, please lets us all reflect on this matter seriously.
mice is nice
sometimes, MPs from PAP forget that they are not there to warm seats up, they are there to do serious work.
can they focus on work instead of thumbing the few who does not sing PAP’s tune mindlessly.
they should look in the mirror & ask what have they contributed to S’pore.
MollyCoddled MP
What can you expect from the mouths of mollycoddled MPs?
unabel
From 1965, the PAP prefers that when ten persons sit down for meals, only one person gives the order-taking. If it is chicken-rice, then all eat chicken-rice as the order is
taken within a few seconds. Gradually now, three persons are given the privilege to place orders, which will take more than 10seconds of order-taking as one, or two or even three others, will order/change for a different meal.
The pro is – speed, the food is served quickly. The con is – you ain’t got a choice.
My take has always been, the Chinese Sporeans are more “obedient”. If Spore’s population had been at least 50% non-Chinese, the PAP could not have just “shove food, albeit nice, down peoples’ throats”

what 3 principles blah blah blah it’s all poppycock! And to have 2 silly charbos doing party’s singalong as rebuttal is a big joke!