Tan Kin Lian / Columnist
A Business Times report carried a survey made by a private research firm. It showed the job satisfaction rate of Singapore workers to be the second lowest in the world (the worst is Japan).
Although the survey is made among workers in the finance industry, I believe that it does reflect the views of workers in general. I carried out a survey in my blog to find out more. (See here)
My survey
I asked the question, does the findings in the Business Times report reflect the actual situation in Singapore?
43.6% said that the actual situation in Singapore is worse than reported, while 5.5% said that it is quite satisfactory (i.e. better than reported). 38.2% said that the report reflects the actual situation correctly.
What are their reasons for the low rate of job satisfaction?
The top factors are lack of appreciation by the employer (78.2%), the government is not caring (72.7%) and poor work life balance (72.7%). This is followed by long working hours (61.8%), wide wage gaps (60.0%) and unfairness in the workplace (60.0%).
Specific comments made by the respondents include the following:
a) Singaporeans usually flock to jobs with the highest pay, rather than work that interest them.
b) Too many foreign workers are competing for jobs and driving down the wages, giving no job security for Singaporeans.
c) Some employers take advantage of the downturn to exploit workers with unfair terms in the employment contract.
d) Those in middle or low income have to work days and nights just enough to pay our monthly bills to the government.
Advanced countries
A vast majority (77.8%) said that the job environment in Singapore is worse that other advanced countries. 18.5% said that it is about the same, but only 3.7% said that it is better.
Some specific comments are:
a) Bad behaviour of employers who are given priority by the government
b) Some countries have minimum wage to allow citizens to maintain a certain standard of living. When times are bad, they can fall back on unemployment benefits. It is difficult for foreigners to apply for the same job that can be done by locals.
c) There is better work life balance, 5 day week, strong social support and better protection by the unions.
Countries in the region
To my surprise, 44.4% of respondents said that the work environment in Singapore is worse than other countries in the region, while 25.9% said that it is better. 29.5% said that it is about the same.
Some specific comments are:
a) It’s cheaper to live in places like Thailand and the work environment is much more relaxed. b) Life in other region might be tough, but not so stressful.
c) In the other countries, the rental of the workplace is cheaper. The employer can provide better facilities for workers. The workers are happier as the work pace is more relaxing and the income earned is enough to comfortably cover their monthly expenses.
Improve the work environment
Here are their suggestions to improve the work environment:
a) The Government should put in more rigorous rules to make it more difficult to hire foreign workers.
b) There should be better work life balance.
c) The Ministry of Manpower should set up a department to assist exploited workers.
d) I do not mind lower pay, but less work and more meaningful work and be treated with more respect.
e) The government has to implement a minimum wage, so that our Singapore workers can at least have enough money to foot their monthly bills and buy food.
Here are some strong negative comments:
a) Who will listen to your suggestion? Here, money making come first, the rest is secondary.
b) I have try to get out of this country.
My observations
The Singapore Government believes in the free market. It even allows an influx of foreign workers to come into the country to compete for the jobs that can be done by Singaporeans. This leads to lower wages. There is no minimum wage in Singapore.
To survive and meet the high cost of living in Singapore, many workers have to work long hours to earn enough to pay the monthly expenses. Some office workers put in long hours without additional pay, just to increase the productivity and to secure their jobs. If they work less, they stand the risk of losing their jobs to other people, including the foreign workers.
The long working hours lead to stress and a poor work life balance. These negative factors are mentioned by most of the participants.
There are inadequate measures to protect the living standards of the workers – i.e. no minimum wage and the freedom for employers to set the employment terms. The trade unions in Singapore are perceived to be cooperative and pro-employer and are not looking after the interests of the workers.
In the advanced countries, the trade unions take a more pro-active stance to fight for better pay, working conditions and a better standard of life for the workers. The unemployed workers are given an allowed unemployment benefit for a certain period. These countries appear to be able to doing well, even though they appear to be burdened by the high cost of the social benefits. They may not achieve high economic growth, but the economic results are shared more fairly by the population.
It is time for Singapore to review our current situation and see if it is possible to strike a better balance between the profitability of businesses and fair working conditions. This will lead to a better score in job satisfaction among the international ratings.
———–
Come and support the event at Speakers’ Corner this Saturday, 9 May, 5pm: “Protect the Singaporean worker“.

If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

While there is always small percentage of rich singaporeans at all times like even in recession, majority are not filthy rich. But the Cost of Living has gone skywards and its fair to expect even more costly future.
Many are earning 3k-5k a month, double income families, few kids, if any.
This model of super easy access to the cheapest or cheaper labor to hope that MNCs will remain here is being super good to employers. But singaporeans BUY expensive flats here. Cars are so expensve compared to elsewhere. Even in this mother of all financial crisis, cost of foods like Rice and hawker center foods, daily necessities , HAVE THE PRICE GONE DOWN? Some of my friend even dare to say it has actually gone UP!
Salaries. What happened to it? News say singaporeans are even willing to accept DRASTIC pay cuts. Some can even accept 42% cut!
This increases their chance of employment as these citizens can now be more cost competitive with FTs.
But, what if you are old?
How long Can this Last ? Can a citizen survive on such pay for the long run? Can they have sufficient to meet the minimum sum after paying the flat?
Remember, each day, we grow OLDER, never younger. At the Same Time, FTs of the world are producing endless supply of SAME Young foreign workers ready to take on jobs here at Great Exchange Rate. Endless batches will come here.
While no one owes us a living, we as citizens should be taken care of one way or another.
Can the Cost of living be lowered when to secure jobs and compete with younger FTs, many would resort to drastic pay cuts?
How long more can this model continue?
Pork and Pork (can pork no more)
retirement will be a very distant dream for most if things go downhill further. citizens into their golden years who wish to remain in the workforce after retirement should do so out of free will, not because of the lack of retirement funds.
there is a big difference from enjoying a leisurely pace of life after retirement to a lifelong work (slog?). working way past age 65 with paltry pay & sometimes physically demanding job reeks of exploitation, its no where near meaningful.
I feel the same.
I see many old citizens aged 60 and above working as toilet cleaners, coffee shop cleaners, collectors of tin cans and carton boxes.
I like to use this opportunity to CLARIFY for naive singaporeans about working past retirement age.
1. Many singaporeans were told the good things about working after retirement.
eg. mentally active prevents alzheimers , depression , senile etc.
Is this true? Maybe. Lets say it is. I think it is true. BUT!!!!! BUT!
There are many ways to keep the brain active and stay happy and healthy!
a. why does a retiree have to work as , among all jobs, a fast food helper cleaning tables and clearing rubbish? At age past 65?
b. ask them, given the choice would they want to do something else? Lets say the choice is he has sufficient retirement money such that he need not Work FOR Bread and Butter and Salary for survival?
c. Ways to achieve the same anti-aging :
c1. Be active in social work events to help the less fortunate.
c2. Join tour groups to see the world
c3. Do something that you are passionate about (not clearing french fries or washing plates lah)
c4. Voice up at Hong Lim park for singaporeans.
c5. Help Analyse social issues and provide solutions based on their life experience. This will make the brain very active and sharp. Routine work at fast food restaurants stiffle the brain in its own ways. This is not good for brain.
c6. Join alternative parties to help them as they are short of a few good men.
c7. many others.
In short, naive people will just accept that elderlies working in fast food restaurants is good for them when in fact these elders have no choice – they are not enjoying their golden years as much as they should but instead they are clearing golden fries from tables.
Naive people please fly a kite.
i would like to add that unfair employment terms are the norm whatever the age group, the ugly truth staring back at us now is how the old (past age 65) are having things really bad. but the young from age 21 above are not having it any better, of the little real salary (if any) increase through these years of high inflation on the cost of living.
the younger generation may very well be worse of than this current generation of folks working past retirement age for the already paltry pay….
Has the labour union any comments on the Business Times report.Maybe our infamous Lim Swee Say has.
How about trying this out: for the next 2 years, double the income tax and devote this ONLY TO SENIOR CITIZENS (age 65 years and above)?
There are around 400,000 senior citizens. Personal income tax receipt for FY2008 is around $6,000,000,000, so doubling taxes will raise about $15,000 per year, or $1,250/mth, for each senior citizen as a form of cash payment.
Maybe we can have a vote in TOC and send a petition to the govt. Since it will come as cash, there is not much admin the govt need to do, so they don’t have any excuse not to do it.
I have created a survey on taxation and social benefits. Please participate in it. I will use the survey results for a future article.
http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=0Dic7wNm0ESudiwhPAGRcw_3d_3d
hi Tan Kin Lian,
i find some questions with rather limiting options 6) & 8).
in light of the current economic situation, since the nation reserves are spent to minimise job losses. why need to increase tax? more like how the money is spent…
maybe an option for a worded reply would be more accurate an answer?
> 60) mice is nice: why need to increase tax?
This is how welfare state system works: everyone pays more taxes for more welfare which is made equal to all people.
Before we can get this system to work, everyone must have a clear understanding of this principle.
Hi #60
There is a free format question at the end of the survey. You can use this question to give your comments.
This topic has become an issue of the welfare state system.
That is, job satisfaction would increase if we have a better social safety net so that workers in Singapore do not need to work hard due to lower costs of living to have a better and happier life.
Is this true?
What is happiness? What is job satisfaction? Is happiness tied to being liberated, i.e freedom to do what you want? Or is it tied to the monetary rewards from an employment that had become dehumanised due to the capitalistic system?
agree with Poeticmi that some posts dwell too much into welfare issues for jobless, its not about jobless satisfaction.
the term job satisfaction is becoming a distant dream when a job (more & more of such) even cannot ensure 1′s survival into retirement age.
Hi #58 fj,
You brought up an issue that is worth further thought: The current personal income tax revenue, if used for supporting senior citizens only, provide each with $15,000 annually.
Let’s say each taxpayer supports 1 senior citizen on average. What proportion of taxpayers pay more than $15,000 annually? A net annual income of $140,000 pays this amount of tax (at the 14% bracket)
Does it mean that a small group of taxpayers (who are in the top-2 highest tax bracket) pay for almost all of the personal income tax? Does it mean that we are vulnerable to these people leaving the country?
///and these PRC PRs can be trusted to multiply like pigs and dogs which they couldnt do back in China.///
A little constraint with the use of words here would be helpful.
More and more people are been compared to other species, something is seriously wrong with humans or is human just like any other animal ?
48) kkk on :/// These surplus can be considered as another form of indirect taxation. These agencies are able to earn high surplus in near monopolistic situations (e.g. JTC, PSA, Changi Airport
i won’t consider it indirect taxation — if they were to be owned privately, the taxes will fall under corporate tax.///
I am inclined to agree to the author on this point. Perhaps not so much for JTC, PSA, Changi Airport, but for agencies like HDB,PUB, Singapore Power and its like that touches every Singaporean, the taxes toward these agencies are ultimately paid by the end users.
33) RighteousSinga
///Unfortunately, as I read through blogo-sphere, many people give solutions while conveniently omitting the price tag////
Yes, That is the impression I get too.
36) Tan Kin Lian
///There is no need to raise taxes to provide better benefits. We only need to discontinue adding to the foreign reserves.///
Mr Tan, you have found an ingenious solution.
Yes. We seemed to have became a nation of overzealous squirrels feverishly saving disproportionate amount for the proverbal “raining day” to the extend of somewhat malnourishing ourselves during the sunny days. If continued for extended period (if 50 years is not extended enough) we may die of malnutrition before we see the rain.
CCR- “I wanna know have you ever seen the rain, coming down on a sunny day”
///Although the survey is made among workers in the finance industry, I believe that it does reflect the views of workers in general. ///
The financial industry is in dire straits, would that have affected the outcome of the survey.
Job satisfaction:
This is a very subjective thing. When we move up the heirachy of needs, we look upon intangibles as such.
What we love doing may not give us the money for the lifestyle we desire.
So we go do some job that we do not love as much doing that gives us the money for the lifestyle we desire.
Unless you are a successful painter, a rock star, or a soccer star, in reality, the 2nd case is true.
So we must find satisfaction outside our job. In our family, our social circle and leisure activities outside job to fulfill that vaccuum.
But if one hang around the office until there is no daylight day after day, (unless one loves the job so much, then it is fine) out of fear that he will lose the job, then that person is going to be very dissastified, whichever job he may be in, no matter how many jobs he hopped. Because of his underlying fear of losing the job, which may be unfounded. So in a way, he created his own misery.
But a more positive person may choose to be so dung good at what he does that he is valued at work, and when he walk out at 6 pm with head high, nobody can say nothing.
Among the ideas kick up in the post are:
Raising taxes
Mandatory retrenchment allowances
Minimum wages
If these are forced on to the employers by law, employees’ take home pay may be correspondingly reduced when the employers factor all these additional cost when hiring.
If these are to be state funded, the taxes may be increased.
the problem is job satisfaction & protection in the form of employment rights should not be mentioned in the same thread.
is like debating about hawker food being healthy & being tasty in one sentence.
74) mice is nice
/// the problem is job satisfaction & protection in the form of employment rights should not be mentioned in the same thread. ///
You got a point there.
Any form of employment rights will to some extend erode the motivation for work, and result in some one else paying for it. Basic right must be institutionalised, wether it is sufficient now is always debatable. From a employer point of view, he wants the best ROI for anyone he employs, from the employye point of view, he too wants the best “ROI” for his time put in his job, when both needs are congruent enogh, the job fit will happen. So you see Blangadeshi workers willingly cleaning our estates at the pay which gave them a deal they cannot get back home, but you will never seee an angmo cleaning our etsate because he has got a better deal back home, no right, no wrong, all relative.
///is like debating about hawker food being healthy & being tasty in one sentence.///
That’s whey D graded hawkers’ food are Delicious because they are busy cooking up great dishes, leaving no time to clean; whereas the taste of the A graded hawkers are Atrocious because they spent all the time cleaning and not honing their cooking skills.
Job satisfaction comes from employers that do not exploit their workers by assigning them projects within their(employee) scope of duties, giving employees sufficient timeframe to complete their assignments and hence provide adequate time of rests. Providing employees with reasonable salaries and welfares in the forms of medical coverages and incentives.
In Singapore, exploitations by employers are rampant in the names of competitions, job scopes are enlarge infinitely, works are assign in project form instead of time based. Starting salaries are reduced, annual increments and bonuses shrink and incentives are hard to come by. From the write-ups in the cybersphere and whinnings of most workers, it seems job satisfaction is as remote as to find happiness in everyday livings. And happiness in living is intertwined with job satisfaction making our life as a citizen even more complex.
Dare I say a satisfied employee is likely to form a happy family and happy families are likely to form a happy society and the reverse is just as real. An unhappy individual(employee) is not likely to form a family and if he or she forms one, it is certainly going to be affected by the unhappy employment and the marriage and family will be troubled as a consequence. Many troubled citizens will then translate into a fragile society.
In every country, the Government and Labour Movement/Organization play vital and pivotal roles in the wellbeing of the Nation. Mismanagement and abuse of workers will cause much dispute and discontent to the citizenry that will naturally mire any society.
76) ah soh
///From the write-ups in the cybersphere and whinnings of most workers///
Cyberspace may not be representative of the entire workforce, probably only representative of the IT savvy workforce who wants to participate in cyberspce discussion.
I think your para 2 is a slanting on the side of generalisation.
The thing that are constant in your life is you, followed by your family and then your work. When you are happy, you create a happy family, and that is carried to your workplace.
With the first 2 is strong, you will change your job if you get nasty employers and will seek one that suits you.
But when you run your life the reverse way, then it harder to be ever happy.
Just my way of looking at things.
76) ah soh
/// every country, the Government and Labour Movement/Organization play vital and pivotal roles in the wellbeing of the Nation. Mismanagement and abuse of workers will cause much dispute and discontent to the citizenry that will naturally mire any society.///
Every country?
I do not think so.
First we take control of what we can control in our life, and it is more than most people think they can, and what we cannot control, we can only hope the gahmen will do it.
But most posts here dwell on waiting for gahmen to do this and do that, and since they complain that gahmen is useless, not doing anything good for the citizens, then their wait will be in vain.
See my point? It is contradiction.
Permanently in the victim mode state of mind. How is that going to help one move forward in life.
My 2 cents worth of though.
Do somebody know, where I can find this research of this private research firm? I didn´t find it in the business times archives.
Thanks