Thursday, May 14, 2009 10:26
Lee Bee Wah “conveyed refreshingly clear thinking”
In Quotes • 1,178 views • 35 Comments
The Singapore Table Tennis Association (STTA) and its president, Ms Lee Bee Wah, conveyed refreshingly clear thinking in their courageous decision not to nominate Liu. It is crucial not to recognise the wrong individual or for the wrong reasons.
Lim Pueh Joo (Mdm), letter to ST forum page
35 Comments
TC
What's the total cost of his capture?
I wonder what the Man U fans would do if Alex Ferguson was sacked by its Chairman because he refused to promote lousy youth players into the squad in order to “raise their competitive level.”
But then again our elites always think they know best don’t they? Why should they bother about the fans’ feelings when they have the comfort of hiding inside their ivory towers?
ABC
I bet this Mdm Lim must be 1 of LBW’s grass root leader, u know lah she needs support from her ABC
Roy
Was there any quotes or evidence to support the fact that STTA made the right decision? The fact is, Liu brought an Olympic medal back. Do we know at this moment of anything he had done that could take the shine off his achievements? No!
Disclose the facts or shut up.
Jimmy
Maybe the Govt was upset that Singapore team won. Cos they had to pay the reward. Then LeeJiaWei went to China to have her expensive wedding. Bloody hell, didnt keep her money in Singapore.
blackfeline
NEVER give power to aunties! She’s better off as Lim Pui Joo! That auntie Lee is just one hopeless power crazed charbo who aspires to be the next empress of singapore!
Singaporean
Let’s look at the big picture.
If Singapore is able to win the medal without coach Liu, then he does not deserve it.
However if the team won because of coach Liu team arrangement of players in the 3rd-4th placing and training of the team gets (whether if a male player as a training player), Then he deserve to be mentioned.
If Singapore can get foreign born player to play for Singapore, why not get a Male born player to train with the female player?
james
i think she should step down as president of sTTa to concentrate on her professional works. an appropriate person should be a sport professional, who has many years of experiences and is highly regarded to run the sport body. she has messed up the association that needs a total revamp.
Hi Mdm Lim Peuh Joo,
Thanks for the letter and I hope you continue to enjoy your upgrading programs and impositions on your civil liberties. We need more stalwarts like yourself against as a bulwark against rising sentient thought in this country.
Automatons that will take all our words at face value and regurgitate them as if it were personally held opinion and God given fact.
Thanks for your eternal support.
Best Regards,
Opinion Engineering Executive
Ministry of Public Relations
Ms Vindictive
The only thing she conveyed to me through this whole issue was her pettiness and vindictiveness.
gloria
It’s amazing how LBW can be an MP, let alone heads the table tennis team.
She’s got absolutely no inter-personal skill and her EQ is equivalent to that Frankenstein. Other than terrorising ppl with her threat, which incidentally coincides with the belief of the ruling cabal, I’m really not sure of what she’s capable of.
Winsland House
I totally disagree with Mdm Lim opinion.
I thought Liu was absolutely right to focus on the women’s team since they had the best chance of winning the medal. This is a calculated risk which with the benefit of hindsight, turned out to be absolutely spot on and Singapore won the first medal in 48 years. Would you rather Liu focus on both teams, diversified precious resources and in the end, Singapore end up winning nothing ???
Top coaches around the world is doing the same thing. (e.g. Coaches in EPL, Formula One teams). Are you saying all of them are wrong?? Ridiculous!!!
Also, if I remember correctly, the Coach was offered a 40% increment to renew his contract. He seems to have done well to warrant a new contract and a astounding 40% increment then and now he suddenly got character problem, cannot unite the team, show favourtism etc. Weird!!!
STTA and Miss Lee Bee Hwa is in charge of a competitive sport but they disply a complete lacking of sportsmanship
blackfeline
that charbo Lee Bee Hwa should simply takes on role(s) befitting her character…why not try taking charge of prison, homes for troubled kids….they sure need a warden from hell!
A Tan
Mdm is missing the point.
We shld be told why he was not nominated. STTA has implied that he did things wrongly, and was of not gd character.
We shld be given the “facts” behind these defamatory allegations.
smallvoice585
I think we should not be too harsh on Ms Lee Bee Wah.
The only reasons why she behaves in such an alarming and inexplicable way are that she is inexperienced in sports management and is totally clueless about leadership.
Perhaps, we can forgive this simple woman.
Dr Frankenstein
Going by Mdm Lim logic, Alex Fergeson would have been sacked by Man U long ago with the hairdryer treatment and the famous kicking a boot to Beckham’s head. Luckily for Man U, LBW not the chairman.
Suman
The STTa’s decision not to nominate former coach Lui Guodong is a right decision. Yes, Mr Liu Gudong was able to win us an Olympic medal,but that does not entitle him a nomimation for the Coach of the Year award. Especially so if his integrity and proffessionalism is questionable.
Let’s not degrade the Coach Of The Year awards!
mice is nice
re smallvice585,
////Perhaps, we can forgive this simple woman.////
how many simple women is an MP…? i am a simple man, & not an MP.
she is pro-singaporean lah
“The only reasons why she behaves in such an alarming and inexplicable way are that she is inexperienced in sports management and is totally clueless about leadership.”
no lah. the only reason she behaves as such is because she is more pro-singaporean as far as this case is concerned. unfortunately, it backfired.
smallvice585
Where is LBW’s sporting spirit?
Michael
With all the euphoria over the winning (silver is good enough for now) women’s table tennis team, I am quite bewildered at how Ms LBW was even chosen for the her job?
Who appointed her? Did she go through a panel as she had subjected her ex technical manager and coaches with? Surely those people who had chosen her would realise how she could not be good for team spirit and let her go?
You Win Liao
Well done, Straits Time, If I need a dog, I surely use you.
Being a Chairman/President of any association, one must learn to say “NO COMMENT” to the press. Remember the tongue can easily set off fire, especially one LBW who is an MP/policitian ….. LEARN TO BE QUICK TO PRAISE AND SLOW TO CRITICIZE.
Time and time again LBW has fumble in what she says ……. disappointing…… very disappointing…..
LBW has not learn from the last episode…..has she ….. ?
husky
Liu met his objective set to achieve a medal for S’pore. He has prepared the team for years, training them and getting them ready for the main events, went overseas for competitions, keeping the whole team together right till the moment he has to make the decision to concentrate for the ladies team to win a medal. The bottom line: HE DELIVERED!
AS for LBW comment on coach Liu about his professional, no teamwork & integrity.
It’s LBW who is been unprofessional, dislodging the teamwork and completely no integrity + No EQ. You should reflect yourself before any commenting, also STTA standing firm support the decision, what’s news with our garment boards.
Liar
6) blackfeline on May 14th, 2009 1.15 pm NEVER give power to aunties! She’s better off as Lim Pui Joo! That auntie Lee is just one hopeless power crazed charbo who aspires to be the next empress of singapore!
Hello Mdm Ho first come first, this charbo no manners at all.
tom
LBW though since she is in PM Lee Ang Mo Kio GRC, she can say whatever she likes. Unless PM Lee lost in General Election, she will be still there (GRC or STTA)…….shamelessly bitching around.
Until the coming General Election (unless there are tips from punters, citing certain GRC might lose)…….people like LBW, Botak Siew Kum Hong, etc will still linker around……
In s’pore, the rule is simple………..every organisation regardless Temasek Holdings, sports (S-League, table tennis, etc)…….there is always PAP(s) around. It is no secret. They will be there regardless whether having the relevant experience or not. If they screw up, someone (PAP) will back them up.
You scrub my back, I scrub yours.
yinyin
Can I bring you all back to last year Aug? I freakingly DUN understand why LBW get all the media attention when we won the medal? Remember all the photo in newspaper she took with Feng, Li and Wang? and all the TV interview she got? And the hippo tour?! She is like the main star there! What has she done to deserve it?! Just one month into the job and she brought us this medal? Did she help to train the team? or bring in Feng for us? NOTHING! Maybe Shouting like a mad woman “xin jia po jia you!” at Peking Uni is consider as a GREAT contribution! I think she is just a media/attention grabbing freak!
Have breakfast with players before they set off to world championship late last April also must call reporter to come to take photo?! Ha!
Alistair Fook
That’s what you get for appointing people to posts just becos they’re politicians. How else is this woman qualified for the position?
The Petition is exploding
Wow….the petition has garnered more than 1300 signatures now.
I wonder if our super elites are taking note…… She’s gonna do serious damage to them at the elections man.
mice is nice
it takes a foreigner like Coach Liu to “teach” (set by example) S’poreans what self respect is.
“if i dun respect myself how to expect others to respect me?”
somehow Jackie Chan was right.
nam
LBW, like it or not. LIU DELIVERED and that is the bottom line. Give the man his credit.
ram
What is so refreshing and courageous? By being vindictive?
Even Dr Tan Eng Liang who worked closely with coach Liu before and during the Olympics supports coach Liu and vouch for his professionalism. He asked for STTA to explain coach Liu’s lack of professionalism and integrity.
I know that Lee Bee Wah is a woman but be a man and admit that you were wrong. Than the healing can proceed.
Otherwise all good coaches will avoid Singapore like H1N1 virus.
Simple Historian
In Oct 2008, Zheng QinJin was RE-HIRED as the technical director of Singapore Badminton Association although he was previously CONVICTED of 2 charges for corruption in Singapore.
One is really forgiving, another seems vindictive
I think all aspiring leaders — political or otherwise — should be put through an EQ course. Even our beloved GCT was described as wooden, once upon a time by MM. Poor GCT, he just did not have the gift of the gab like MM.
LBW? She must have studied the style of the great Genghis Khan. But perhaps, I do the memory of the great Genghis a disfavour, despite his habit of lopping off the heads of foes. He went on to conquer the world, didn’t he?

Clearly, Mdm Lim is from the same camp as LBW