Andrew Loh / With special thanks to Martyn See
On 10 June 1987, Mr Tan Wah Piow released a book, which few Singaporeans would have known or know about.
It was called, “Let the people judge – Confessions of the most wanted person in Singapore.”
The publication was a response to the Singapore government’s arrest and detention of a group of 16 Singaporeans about three weeks earlier that same year on 21 May.
In the book, Mr Tan, who was accused of being the mastermind to the 16 in a “Marxist plot” to subvert the social and political system in Singapore and install a communist state, refutes the allegations and evidence presented by the government. He also provides background to some of his activities in the 70s, particularly the period when he was President of the student union at the Singapore University and his arrest and detention in 1975 for “rioting”, a charge he denies to this day.
In 1976, he left Singapore and has been exiled since then. His citizenship was also revoked in 1987 – on 21 May, the day the 16 detainees were arrested. The government had amended the Constitution in 1985 to stipulate that anyone who has been away from Singapore for a continuous period of 10 years is liable to have his citizenship revoked.
The book also contains the three press statements he released on 28 and 29 May 1987 in response to the arrests of the first batch of 16 detainees.
Referring to the government’s charges against him, Mr Tan said, “I have stated in no uncertain terms that I am not involved in any conspiracy to overthrow the government. I have publicly expressed my opposition to any attempt, by anyone, to set up a communist state in Singapore.”
Mr Tan reiterates, several times in the book, that he believes in working towards democratic changes in Singapore – “within the framework of capitalism, through the constitutional process”.
“As to how we bring about the implementation of the political programmes in Singapore, I stated in no uncertain terms in my writings, letters to friends and public speeches in the United Kingdom, that I sought to bring about political change in Singapore solely through the ballot box.”
“My politics are open and above board,” he says and adds that he is willing to be publicly interrogated by [the government’s] officials in “a neutral place, in the presence of independent observers from the media, church, law society and academic institutions.”
Communist?
Turning specifically to the charge that he is a communist, Mr Tan says, “How could there ever be such a plot to establish a communist state when the so-called “mastermind”, that is, my humble self, confessed in no uncertain terms that I oppose the very idea of turning Singapore into a communist state? Why does the Singapore government insist on calling me a communist when I am not one?”
Mr Tan says that the activities he was involved in were not illegal. “The government, however, chooses to present them in a sinister light,” he says. “Why does the government describe my advice to those who wanted to effect change as subversive and Marxist, when, even on the basis of the evidence produced by the government, all that I suggested was that they should participate in the political process through legal institutions such as political parties?”
The activities they were involved in, Mr Tan explains, had to do with “issues of democracy and the rights and dignity of the common people in Singapore since the 1970s.” He explains that he had called for intellectuals to be more critical of the way things are “managed” and to work towards the “democratization of the country”. This is because intellectuals “are in the best position to explore new ideas”.
Dismissing the focus on the ideologies which has influenced him, Mr Tan says the more important issue is whether his views are contrary to the well-being of Singapore’s political development. “I don’t see how they can be inconsistent with the national interest if intellectuals and professionals are influenced in the direction of actively working for the betterment of society.”
“When they can’t beat you, they call you a criminal”
Mr Tan then turns to the other charges the government leveled at him. One of these is the accusation that he was involved in a “rioting” incident in 1975. Mr Tan denies this and alleges that there was a ‘frame-up”.
The incident took place at the Pioneer Industries Employees Union (PIEU) headquarters in the Jurong Industrial Estate. In his book, he recounts the events leading up to his arrest.
He, along with some workers from the American Marine company and students, were supposed to meet with the secretary general of the PIEU for the second time in a week. On the day of the meeting, however, Mr Tan says that the secretary general was nowhere to be found.
“Ten days prior to my arrest, I had severely criticized him at an open-air meeting where he and retrenched American Marine workers and university students were present,” Mr Tan explains.
He alleges that it was “union officers” themselves who smashed up their own premises at the PIEU and says that at the time of the incident, he was instead seen outside the PIEU office by a Straits Times reporter, among others.
Mr Tan was incarcerated for one year for the “rioting” incident.
Evading National Service?
“Circumstances surrounding the call-up were most extraordinary and improper,” Mr Tan says of the conscription order served on him in 1976. “The facts are simple. I was conscripted into the army to serve in the artillery unit on the very hour of my release from the one year sentence.” He says that the students at the university were genuinely worried that the government was using the military service as a continuation of the political persecution against him. “I too was worried for my physical well-being since ‘accidents’ can easily happen in the army,” he says.
It was then that he decided to leave Singapore for London. “When I came to the United Kingdom to seek political asylum, I enjoyed the support of the World Council of Churches, and the British Council of Churches,” says Mr Tan. “Many other organizations and prominent individuals from all over the world supported my case.”
21 May 1987
Mr Tan sees the government’s allegations of a “communist plot” by the activists to “overthrow the government” as a “convenient excuse to crackdown on all who are critical of the ruling party.”
Within days of the “government smear campaign”, as Mr Tan calls it, against him, he issued a press statement to the media, including the Straits Times. He also gave a “long interview” to the Straits Times’ London correspondent. But what appeared in the paper was “no more than five per cent” of his statement, he says.
“Why is the government so eager to brand me as a communist conspirator, and yet so reluctant to publicise my statements that I oppose categorically any attempt by anyone to establish a communist state?”
Questioning why his statements were not given the same prominence and publicity in the local media to allow him to defend himself, especially since he was accused of being the mastermind of the plot, Mr Tan says there can be only one answer. He called the accusations a “fabricated” plot by the government to “suppress the truth”.
Mr Tan still lives in the United Kingdom.
—–
Here is the television interview which Britain’s More4 News programme did with Mr Tan Wah Piow in 2007.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

They were not Marxists. There was no conspiracy. It’s plain as daylight to everyone. I have no doubt that history will judge LKY as a dictator.
I had read the book which I bought from a KL bookshop in 1988. You can buy lots of Singapore “banned” books in Malaysia. But with Internet, it is even easier now.
It makes me feel that the ISD has other agendas, besides the security of SIngapore. Or is it they think
Security of Singapore = Security of PAP as government.
If this is so, which I think it is, then you can understand all the actions they took all this while.
wow..Thank you TOC for this awakening…
To those who also called for Nair to be exiled for causing disorder at police station (no riot mentioned) & defamation, CSJ to be locked up (now don’t know what for, the guy is always locked up) I think this time for being a psycho, and in fact anyone or everyone who is deemed a socialist to be exiled, I hope you wake up from PAP hypnoticism!
Just think of me, and I’d be back…
Don’t be afraid, o~ my love…
I’d be holding you by my side…
And I’d give up the citizenship to just be with you.
Reminds me of this old song. Hahahahaha….
When will LKY face his Judgement Day?
Hope LKYism will follow him to his grave!
unless the whole lot of singaporeans united, or else…. it’s all but empty talk to kick the PAP out and form a new government!!!
what an interesting and refreshing footage!
I am sure our very respectable MSM TV will broadcast this for ALL to see and judge for themselves, if it has not already done so. I mean so interesting leh.
We can easily forgive a child who is afraid of the dark; the real tragedy of life is when men are afraid of the light. Poor thing they have to run oversea for false charge without judicial protection. Justice where are you?
Up till today, I am not convinced that they were marxists. If the
government wish to persuade us that there are strong evidence that they were, this is the time to tell us.
“The government had amended the Constitution in 1985 to stipulate that anyone who has been away from Singapore for a continuous period of 10 years is liable to have his citizenship revoked.”
This is really news to me. I thought a born Singaporean will always remain a Singaporean unless he gives it up.
So they had an hidden agenda behind their amendment to the Constitution ?
To suit their means to deal with exiled Singaporeans ?
They are only a political party in government. What gives them the right to take away the right of every Singaporean ? Can PAP or LKY care to explain please ?
The more I read about all these historical events, the more I feel that this old man is really power crazy. Just like the Burmese generals. Cruel & ruthless.
No more the honorable & respectable person that we have been told all this while.
Exciting days ahead if Singapore were to allow Tan Wah Piow, Francis Seow, etc back to contest the next GE. Not to mentioned the about 5000 Nantah graduates living abroad.
Hope is always there when Government is saying to promote diversity nowadays…
it will be great if some of the old guards could give an interview with TOC -
Toh Chin Chye or whoever that has a backbone and god fearing.
“it will be great if some of the old guards could give an interview with TOC -”
I doubt they will after all they are still getting pension ? They wouldn’t risk losing pension and other benefits. If they want to speak, they should already did. The fact that they didn’t show how much founding “father” of PAP and Sinapore they are. To expose the PAP is as good as exposing and implicating themselves. Frankly they are history and no one will bother remember them unlike demised president Ong, and the that LKY himself want to be remembered popularly as founding father not others.
Indeed those retired parliamentarians do seemed to enjoy their pensions. Once they retired, we do not get to see or hear them anymore, as if whatever is happening in the Country got nothing to do with them anymore. The least that could be expected of them is for them to contribute their experiences in administering the Country with their ‘talents’ and expertise.
Singaporeans do not even see their ex-parliamentarians involve in grass root, charitable, non-gvernmental and voluntary welfare organizations. I doubt they ever put the Country before themselves. Wonder if any of them have migrated or had encouraged their offsprings to leave Singapore for good.
patriot
11) Alan Wong on May 23rd, 2009 5.15 am
“The government had amended the Constitution in 1985 to stipulate that anyone who has been away from Singapore for a continuous period of 10 years is liable to have his citizenship revoked.”
This is really news to me. I thought a born Singaporean will always remain a Singaporean unless he gives it up
”””””””””””””””’
I wonder after the 10 years, when a citizen’s citizenship is invalidated, what happens to his CPF?
As long as our court is independent, all these unjust treatement should not have happened. Unfortunately when it happened, we know why people said kangaroo exists in Singapore and it remains to be true until now. I cannot imagine myself still living in Singapore, someday I will try to find way to get out unless there is truly freedom in Singapore.
I am wondering how will those mps, judges, chief of justice, attorney general and all the righteous citizens feel after knowing the truth. What are they going to do about it after knowing the truth? Is our main stream media going to pretend there’s no injustice and continued to be controlled by people who have perpetuated this incident to keep the mass ignorant?
Someone must write about the Hock Lee Bus riot.
Who was behind it?
Who was the mastermind?
Who benefited from it?.
So many trump-up charges, so typical of the former Soviet.
Which brings us to the next question:
Are the JI for real? Are they really terrorists as alleged.
Did Mas Selamat really plan to do Singapore in?
I have my doubts, plenty of doubts.
If a government can lie, the whole system will be just so fake.
Why can’t we accept someone who sees things from a different perspective?
Why are we so afraid of him and have to cut him off?
Why do we have no love and patience towards him?
Why don’t we learn from him?
Why can’t we sleep?
There will be People will continue to ask and remain unconvinced as long as they feel that there is no clear Evidence that proves beyond reasonable doubt .
Either that or people accept.
Or maybe there is evidence but for some reason not shown or made known to the people ?
I wonder which 1st world countries practise the same laws where people can be detained without a trial ?
Some here says they support such laws. I may or may not support such law but I wont tell you. hee hee. For those who support , I like to know why is it necessary to detain without a trial? why can’t a person be trialed with evidence presented and sentenced properly? Care to enlighten? What is the risk , if any, of such laws ?
Thanks, TOC. I didn’t know Tan Wah Piow had responded to the govt’s allegations – much less that he wrote a book.
A whole generation of S’poreans did not and still do not know about this book, thanks to the nation-building SHITTY TIMES.
History will judge. And Justice, even though it takes some time to arrive, will come.
As Low Thia Khiang once said:
“Ti Oo Mak!”
Heaven Got Eyes!
Those who oppose PAP solid and great Government shall be exiled and get their citizenship exiled.
What more do you expect the Government to provide you with. We have a strong nation, foundation, infrastructure, top class in everything. Don’t let these bunches of jokers to ruin it.
Democracy? … Better not. It will just ruin our beloved country.
Singaporeans many of them would not care less about such issues and plights of those affected.
these can be sensitive topics in the eyes of the beholder.
my question is why risk for these people, TOC? Are they worth it, your risking yourselves.
So pleased to see ‘Let the People Judge’ featured here — complete coincidence that I’ve only just read the book, about a week back. With plenty of names and details referred through the book, it’s not bedtime reading… but compulsory reading!
Politics is about playing the dirtiest tricks.
They instill fears in the people, but they instill confidence at the same time for their own agenda.
At this juncture, just 20% of Singapore working adults quit their citizenships and get all their assets including CPF out of here, bet you Temasek and GIC will end up like Lehman Bros.
Instill fear? is that a joke?
I thot they lead by leadership and not fear?
Why would anyone need to resort to fear if there is real leadership ?
Of course there is no fear. its pure leadership!
I mean what kind of a leader would use fear to control his ‘followers’?
so, no such thing wan lah. pure leadership.
23) Kanga
Q.I wonder which 1st world countries practise the same laws where people can be detained without a trial ?
A. US/GuGuantanamo Bay
United Nations Human Rights Council report stated the United States violated international law, particularly the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights
Looks like many people literally stuffed themselves up….thinking they were doing a service to Singapore by following BLIND govt orders….
I think it’s about time they realise…Love has done more damage to the world then Hate….
I don’t think most do such things out of love, usually it’s fear and for gains. Most Singaporeans i think are like lalangs…..bend where the wind blows….
At least Mr Tan….is well and alive…thanks for trying and doing the right things for Singapore….One day there will be a Grand Ceremony for you too….
Fairness & Justice might be clouded for sometime….but it will never be blind….
30) prettyplace
I think you may have insulted the entire poulation of Singapore minus the pple who posted here.
On waht basis do you arrive at these conclusions that all Singaporeans are so “gong” ?. Do tell, wise one.
The tendency to accept cetain values as the RIGHT way is always very appealing to the young and some not so young.
Eating MacDonald’s is still so cool, even though it is likely to kill you one day.
coke is a cool drink even though it wrecks your stomach, and cowboys are the heroes despite decimating the entire native American Indian race. Rambo is the hero, but ask any Vietnamese who gone thru the war who is the baddie?
History is written by winners. Policies are dictated by the strong.
Every country has its skeleton in its closets.
Some other countries will expoit this for their own ends.
And here we are have a whole bunch of pple who may be inadvertantly contributing to that cause.
25) rachael1176 on May 23rd, 2009 4.28 pm: “Democracy? … Better not. It will just ruin our beloved country.”
What else is the safeguard for this and next generation? It will still be your beloved country but its citizens could be ruined by the authority without check and balance. Operation Spectrum was a wake up call. unfortunately many have chosen to remain asleep.
26) Why? on May 23rd, 2009 4.31 pm: “my question is why risk for these people, TOC? Are they worth it, your risking yourselves.”
Read this poem from Martin Niemoller, titled, “there was nobody left to speak for me”:
First they came for the Jews
and I did not speak out because I was not a Jew.
Then they came for the Communists
and I did not speak out because I was not a Communist.
Then they came for the trade unionists
and I did not speak out because I was not a trade unionist.
Then they came for me
and there was no one left to speak out for me.
Martin Niemoller was a German. At a young age, he admired what Adolf Hitler did to build up Germany. Later, he spoke against the repressive actions taken by Hitler to build his power, and was sent to concentration camp. He wrote the peom while in prison.
to Dark Ages: these pple in power won’t do anything to jeopardize the system. they will rationalize that the system they support is necessary for the “greater good”.
a lot of truths are buried – in the name of “national interests”.
35)
Those who voluntarily put power into the hands of a tyrant or enemy, must not wonder if it be at last turned against themselves. Have there not enough sign that it’s and it has started turning against themselves?
No idea if he is a Communist now, but from my simple knowledge and limited interaction with him when he was a student leader I am inclined to agree that there is a strong likelihood that he was as communist as one can be in Singapore at that time.
I am not linked in any way with the Gahmen nor a keen supporter but Wah Piow’s activities then were definitely slanted too one sided.
40) What the Fish
Agree
Neither am I linked in any way with the Gahmen nor a keen supporter but TWP’s activities then were definitely slanted too one sided.
However, I must say whether if TWP is “Communist” or not is like saying whether a zebra is white with black strips or black with white strips.
In the 70s, the students union were all being going into hamtam -the-gahmen mode by activists like TWP. Poly and Uni students at that age are idealistic, and being able to be part of a big group is thrilling, adding some excitement to the boring lectures. There were talks of block the main roads, etc. All these are so exciting to a student at that age, suddenly freed from the rules of school, like wild gorillas suddenly released from his cage, and enjoying his feedom.
With this new found liberty, the students go overboard. Aping the images on TV in the west, they participated without understanding or even cared at all what the whole thing is about. It is about the thrill.
Student unions are meant for student affairs. They overtstepped thier boundaries.
Let me paint this scenario.
Student unions protest that shops are overcharging.
HDB Merchant Associations protest that car parks are reserved for residents, not for their customers.
HDB Residents protest that color of their blocks are not to their liking.
Cat lovers group protest that dogs have a better life than cats.
Singapore Pilot Assn protest that tall buildings make their landing difficult.
Foreign workers protest that they are paid peanuts.
Peanut importers protest that foreign workers insulted them.
There will be no end to this list.
time has elapsed for more than 3 decades. We can open the can of worms and prove who’s right, who’s wrong, isn’t it? All these fingers pointing only leads to one conclusion: The government is not convinced they can win this debate of facts. I will then believe TWP version of the story, fully knowing that if he said something incorrect, PAP will respond strongly to it, which they didn’t!
And why is LKY so afraid of communists? He has built Sillypore exactly like a communist country. Shit Times is like Pravda. CPF is run like a Ponzi scheme to extract funds from the people to sponsor their lavish lifestyles. Children of the ruling class monopolise all scholarships for the brilliant poor not the mediocre scion of the rich.
RCs, CCs, PA are all machinery used to grip the grassroots and nurture dog-licking cadres. State funds are used to sponsor all activities promoting a homogeneous way of thinking.
Afraid of Reds under the beds? Strange case of the devil afraid of his own shadow. And why is a communist hater welcoming millions of card carrying members of the communist party of China. Most Fake Talents from China have membership in the communist party.