Gerald Giam, Main Stories, Top Story - Written on Friday, May 8, 2009 22:30 - 86 Comments
Mas Selamat captured – all thanks to the ISD!
Gerald Giam
Malaysia cleans up the mess. Singapore takes the credit – shamelessly.
“DEPUTY Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng commended the Internal Security Department (ISD) officers for going all out to track down the escaped terror leader Mas Selamat, who was eventually caught in Malaysia on April 1.”
- Straits Times, 8 May 2009

Firstly let me state that I am glad that Mas Selamat has been captured. I thank the Malaysian police for their excellent work in capturing the fugitive. Malaysian Home Minister Hishamuddin said that they arrested him under the ISD because he was plotting something, which means they not only caught the JI leader who escaped from under Singapore’s nose, but possibly managed to thwart a planned terrorist attack.
I am, however, appalled that the Singapore mainstream media and Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng would go to the extent of congratulating themselves and taking credit for Mas Selamat’s arrest by the Malaysians. Instead of acting with a bit of humility and contrition, the Singapore Government has attempted to turn the tables on their “setback” and praise itself for the re-arrest of the alleged terrorist mastermind.
It should be pointed out that this is actually the second time that a neighbouring country has helped us nab the same man. Mas Selamat had escaped the first time in 2001 just before the first wave of JI arrests.
I’m sure MHA felt that this would be a PR coup for them, and that Singaporeans will queue up to congratulate the good work of the government if it blew its trumpet enough. Of course, reading the mainstream media, one would be forgiven for thinking this was the case.
“Minister’s hail arrest” – Straits Times
“ISD provides crucial lead” – Straits Times
“Singaporeans cheered by news of Mas Selamat’s arrest” – TODAY/CAN
“With Singapore downgrading from Orange to Yellow Alert for the flu virus, I think this comes as great news.” – a teacher quoted by TODAY
“Sources said that it was the Singapore ISD that gave the Malaysians the lead on Mas Selamat’s trail. If so, the department, which has come under the heaviest fire, has redeemed itself.” – Straits Times
I really wonder what Singaporeans really think?
Personally, I think this would be a most appropriate time for the Minister to apologise for all the worry, inconvenience and trouble caused to both Singaporeans and his counterparts in Malaysia and Indonesia for ISD’s slip up. It is not the time for praising the ISD for doing their job.
I am also surprised that Singapore decided to go public with the news of the arrest even before the Malaysians did. Obviously the Malaysians had a reason to keep the arrest under wraps for almost 1 1/2 months. I’m not sure if they were prepared to go public yet. If they were, I’m sure given the extreme political fire the BN government is under (Perak crisis, by-elections results, Altantuya case, etc) they would have badly wanted to boast about this capture to their own people.
I would have thought the gracious and diplomatic thing to do would be to let the Malaysian government announce the arrest and take some credit for it. At a minimum, it should have been announced jointly, rather than having Malaysians hear about it from the Straits Times.
You see, this is why Malaysians get so irritated with us all the time. Then we wonder why, and just retort that they are jealous of us. Yeah, I guess the Malaysians are “jealous” we have such an effective secret police, who are able to get others to clean up after the mess they created.
———
86 Comments
What is SHAME?
I think the word SHAME has lost its meaning to the greedy, money-minded and power-crazy lot. So fast to claim credit but so slow in owning up for failures and to take responsibility.
Simply don’t how to be humble. What they know is only arrogance and shameful boasting endlessly.
They don’t feel shameful but I do, as a citizen of this country.
This is an unbelievably skewed article. The subtitle itself is a travesty of objective commentary. For the information of the writer, DPM Wong is on the record as hailing the Malaysian Security Branch’s work. DPM Wong’s full interview can be viewed here – http://www.channelnewsasia.com/video/index.php
I am surprised he was hiding so near by. It took very long to capture him thanks to Malaysia.
Malaysia Boleh!
Malaysia I luv u!
I want to vomit !!!!
First he escape with toilet paper.
Then we would find him quickly!
Then it is impossible for him to leave the country as we have beefed up security at the immigration and checkpoints. !!
Then “He is still in Singapore!!”
Finally giving Singapore ISD credit for finding him in Malaysia! !!
As a Singapore citizen, I would bow my head in shame when I go Malaysia.
What can Singapore do if Malaysia decides to keep MSK? After all, Indonesia has indicated doing precisely that if it ever catches MSK (for the second time).
How MSK escaped to Johor is also not very flattering. Apparently the massive manhunt was NOT even in the correct ball park; MSK swam across with the aid of a crude floatation device soon after the escape. I thought the entire border was locked down. So what is the excuse now? Coastal patrol were not alerted in time? Night vision devices (NVD) were not working, sent for servicing?
MSK not only breached the security (or the lack of) of WDC but also the border security. He should really be engaged as a consultant to fix the security lapses across the ENTIRE HOME TEAM.
Even Mas Selamat is not spared from economy crisis as he is now been caught, he lost his job as a terrorist. But then he is lucky, he still have government to take care of him, giving him free accomodation and 3 meals a day with 24 hours protection, what’s more can he ask for ?
By the way, what brand of toilet paper he use for escape ? Look so durable and strong that I might consider switching to this brand.
The Malaysian Authorities have their reasons to withhold info on the capture of Mas Selamat as they need to conduct their own investigations into possible links.
For the moment it appears they are in no hurry to hand over Mas. Can’t fault them
though because Mas escaped twice under S’pore’s custody.
Perhaps the Malaysian Authorities should keep Mas Selamat for a couple of years, just to show our cocky govt the meaning of reliability…….lol
Like some local who visit other Asian countries, Mas Selamat may consider himself lucky to be back in Singapore, at least he won’t fear getting dengue or swine’s flu in other countries.
They have decided to remove the Mas Selamat fear after the 5 explosions at Marina Barrage area , so they make the annoucement today.
Nothing surprising. If we have billion dollars loser getting her golden award on Labour day, and Lim Swee Say wanted us to thank him for keeping unemployment rate at 4.8%, Teo Ho Pin wanted us to thank him for losing only a few million dollars of Town Council Fund, LBW trying hard to fight for credit in Singapore first silver olympic medal and the self-serving elite thanked themselves by rewarding themselves the highest salary in the global political world. What other self-praise are they not capable of giving? Did Singaporean get any praises todate? No!!! we were blamed for being complacent when Mas escaped, we were blamed for being ungracious when someone got food posioned, we were blamed for being costly when employers are out to exploit, we were blamed for being jobless when our govt has no solution to the crisis, we were blamed for the cause of foreigners problems here,….and on Labour day, we were all simply neglected and the best achievements were given to undeserving elite. So much appreciation for being a Singaporean.
Must ask Mas Selamat himself who captures him lor…
No la, ST should blame Video Games! MSK played too much Metal Gear Solid and Tenchu, that’s why he was able to get to Malaysia unnoticed.
Did Mas Selamat stay too long in the toilet that end up him been caught ?
Now WKS and his cronies can up their salary and ride on this arrest by the Msian to justify their MILLION dollar salaries !!
I think its best that the Malaysian authorities keep him instead. As he was caught in MAlaysia “trying to plan something”, he should be detained under the Malaysian side. No need to bring back to Singapore as he may escape again… To the Malaysian authorities, a heartiest congratulation for capturing Mas Selamat! You guys have done an excellent job! MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!
Really hope Msia keep him instead of sending him back to sg, so as to embarrass sg and our government.
But there may be a problem. What if the Malaysians use Mas as a bargaining chip? Like if you want Mas back, then …………..
Like that how?
Great link.
To be objective, WKS ought to praise the Malaysians authorities and ISD, at the same time reflect and apologize for MSK escape a year ago.
hongjun
Please lah…. why so much complaints???
It is not easy to catch this guys you know. WKS has contributed his own whole year in 2008~2009 to finally nail this limping guys down.
If I’m LSL, I would reward him 2 Year fat bonus for his “hard” work!!!
In fact, the whole ISD staffs should get 2 years bonus too….
Or, Ho Chin (our MAYDAY award winner) might get 3 years bonus for setting the right model for our elites to employ the right intelligencer to provide these crucial leads for the capture.
For all of you who praised Mas Selamat, you will get his signature on the toilet paper his used….
HAHA….
Poor SELAMAT now that he has to SHIITT without toilet paper.
There they go again; our neighbouring country is capable of capturing MSK wherein there is a large expanse of jungles to hide around in, and THEY are clamouring for MSK’s return to their buttery-fingers.
I wonder; since MSK was able to swim across to Malaysia with basically an improvised floatation device, how efficient is our border security???
Oh me… oh my… I am blushing in SHAME!
#3 – Good link. Puts some context into the matter.
I think the MSM is guilty of mis-using the term “joint operation” when describing the arrest operation. The red flag is basically the news that the PM was informed by WKS who was informed *not* by ISD but by the Malaysian authorities. If this is the truth (should be, since it comes out from WKS’s mouth on video), the it implies:
1) The “joint operation” involved tight cooperation between the two countries where both police forces worked together as part of the same ground-forces team sent to capture Mas Selamat. In spite of this, somehow our ISD units could not report directly to WKS about the arrest.
or 2) There was no “joint operation”. We gave the Malaysian authorities the leads, they followed up. Then they told us the good news.
Given what WKS said in the video, 2) seems most probable.
I’m taking the “swimming across the straits” thing with a pinch of salt. WKS himself said he’s not sure. It is very probably, if true, that he did this under the cover of night. No matter how good our coast guard is, it is unlikely they can catch that unless they are actively scanning the coastline at night with night-vision devices or other forms of electronic detection mechanisms.
aiyoyo
if the news info is true m’sia catch MAS, elites congratulate the team,
then it seems elites not only good at talk/write,
also good at director (like Jackie Chan do in movie)
alamak think must go TCS liao for man on the street….
aiyoyo
With the capture of Mat Selamat by the Malaysian police……….shouldn’t the reward be given to them?
If not to indivduals, at least to the police welfare fund.
since the escape of MSK, our dear WKS is up by a million bucks.
Are you?
I’m down by a job since!
Mas Selamat is no big deal, he is after all just a terrorist suspect armed with only a ‘plan’. He was not even reported to be inpossession of a dummy or empty bullet.
patriot
Did WKS reveal WHEN Mas Selamat managed to sneak out of the country?
within the first 4 hours of his escape?
within the first few weeks?
after half a year?
all thanks to malaysia for capturing MSK, i just think that ISD is shameless to have taken credit for his capture. Don’t u guys think so? What have they done? It’s not them who captured MSK. Once again, kudos to the Malaysian for doing a great job. I must reckon them to keep him rather than returning him to ISD, which could lead to another escape. If that really happens then im not surprise. It just shows how lack of competency the elites are and that the home team is just a ‘wayang’ front put up by the elites. MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!!
aiyoyo
think back, a MAS escape, how much $ spent by elites? what’s end result?
did elites catch MAS? what’s the morale of this sad story?
root cause for MAS escape to m’sia truly asia…?
劳民伤财?
aiyoyo
Kudos to Malaysia – for having lesser pay yet doing a better job. Singapore thank you! and please, ignore our shameless people who is claiming it’s their work that he is captured. We are not blind!
I think this statement in today TODAY paper says it all. Page 2.
Mr. Hishammuddin said, “Our ties with Indonesia are very strong and without Indonesia’s co-operation,I do not think we would have been able to make the arrest after his escape from Singapore.”
Nothing about any tip-off from Singapore whatsoever.
Malaysia Boleh!
Finally some closure.
But establishment’s callousness to take credit from and at others expenses perhaps to justify their appointment and high salaries and they being NOT the bset fro the job continue to be the sickening daily routine from LEE BEE WAH to Mas Selamt!
Shame Shame Shame
Salute to BolehLand! MSB professional man! Not shy for Singapore to give only starting leads on the Mas Selamat’s location and then say like Singapore catch him like that. Both worked together but unfair to make it seem that Singapore did all the work alone.
1. How does the Lead come about?
2. Were there people sent over there to recce for info, hunt for MSK?
If yes, given the lead, with resources over there, could they not capture ?
3. Or was the lead developed from info supplied elsewhere such that it forms the lead ? So, is this considered the lead of the lead?
These are commonsense questions. Hope not censored.
“Dr Jacob Ramsay of the Control Risks Group agreed that the escape route seemed well-planned. ‘Just the fact that he avoided capture after escaping from Whitley Road Detention Centre would suggest that it was all pre-planned and a very good strategy to evade arrest, and with ties in Malaysia to help him out,’ he said.” (http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_374441.html)
This suggests some very sinister going-ons.
For someone in the most secured place in Singapore can continue to make plans and have contacts with the outside world can only give rise to all sort of speculations, such as perhaps there was an insider within the detention centre if not in ISD itself?!
I think there is more than mere “complacency” here.
I think treachery might be more appropriate.
I can only conclude that LKY is senile to publicly conclude that it was merely complacency.
At the least he ought to see that it was arrogance, pride in the “system” and a sense of being always right and correct that was the root cause – for pride goes before a fall – and not complacency.
ISD has probably ordered adult diapers and are waiting for mas selamat to return back to whitely. heads will just keep rolling
if mas selamat could swim across the crossway and straits times has written that areas in admiralty and sungei buloh are ‘hotspots’ for illegal immigrants, why didnt the police, the army up their guard in those areas? DUH
we will never know who leaked what. but i know malaysia will continue to enjoy mocking us. then again, if not for mas selamat’s escape, could they have captured the other 2 malaysian terrorists?
happy vesak day
This shows that the PAP’s argument that high salary is necessary to maintain high perofrmance is empty talk.
The head and members of Singapoe ISD is paid probably many many times that of head and members of Malaysia Special Branch (MSB).
In the end, the one that shines and peforms is MSB!
Over the last whole year each time I cross at the causeway I have to open up my car boot to let the security check if Mat Selamat is hiding inside. Each time I tell myself what the fu*k I hide Mat Selamat inside my car boot, if I have him I would gradly hand over and collect the one million dollars reward.
What kind of secuirty after all, Mat had swam across long time and all this while they think Mat is inside someone’s car boot when he having tea tarik and roti chanai up in Skudai. Wasted my whole year effort of opeing car boot.
What a shame, WKS.
Thanks to MSK wakes ISD up! I foresee Malaysia will refuse to return MSK to Singapore’s custody due to lacking anti-terrorism capability concern.
for the benefit of doubt, ISD may have worked hard but still the malaysians have worked harder.
kudos to them, all singaporean can now sleep soundly at night
Topics about Malaysia » Archive » Mas Selamat captured - all thanks to the ISD!
[...] Info Lowongan Kerja Terbaru 2009 placed an interesting blog post on Mas Selamat captured – all thanks to the ISD!Here’s a brief overviewMalaysia cleans up the mess – S’pore takes the credit. Gerald Giam. [...]
#15 @justinot_timberlake
yep man. you are so damned right.
Its seriously disgusting that WKS can take credit for what Msia had done. Cmon la.. what the heck is wrong with his inflated head? Too much $$ inside? I think so.
Tis was wat the cocky failure called Wong Kan Seng had to say in ST 9 May 09 :
[Replying to a question about the role of the Singapore public, he said a lot of information was provided but none proved credible, and it was ISD's own information that led to the breakthrough.]
As far as the gov is concerned, the public played no useful part. Be thankful peasants !!!
I do not doubt that we did provide the Malaysian the critical info leading to MSK arrest. I am confident that our poodles are better than theirs. What I am worry is how come he can escape (swim across the straits) when the security and alert levels were very high then. He is with an improvised float, not that he swam underwater. Coast guards better do some soul searching.
Erudio,
cannot blame WKS since the republic did not provide the most crucial information that leads to arrest of Selamat.
As what info is so important, your guess is as good as mine.
“He is either in Singapore or out of Singapore”
“He is either in Singapore, Malaysia or Indonesia”
Nowhere did I hear the republic mention the above two informations that are so important. Thus credit must be due to the gahmen. Because of these info, I expect the gahmen to receive Mas Selamat Award.
40) Erudio “As far as the gov is concerned, the public played no useful part. Be thankful peasants !!!”
Despite looking like any other capitalist economy, Singapore remains largely socialist in its governance.
This rigid structure has created a culture where people holds the government (bosses, supervisors, etc) responsible for all the good and bad (“If you think you made the right choice, then you are responsible for your oversight too”). It also makes people feel frustrated for following wrong decisions that they did not make themselves.
If change has to come, it has to come both ways. The top has to relinquish its power, and the rank and file needs to expect less from the top and take up more responsibility.
SPH new logo has hidden agenda due to its overlapping letters. If you de-construct the logo the letter ‘h’ could be seen as letter ‘i’ and letter ‘n’. As a result you will get s.p.i.n. haha.
Haha. An article written to invite bashing of the Singapore Govt. Gerald wants to know what Singaporeans really think. I don’t know about others but this Singaporean think it is a job well done by Malaysia, ISD provided useful information, ISD staff are not doing nothing. I read the main media reports. I don’t see WKS and ISD taking credits from Malaysia as Gerald made it out to be.
Gerald has the responses he wanted. This is to be expected. However, it does make it fun to read the comments.
Maybe, what Jackie Chan said was correct – when he uttered that singaporeans have no self respect – our top people can unabashedly claims credit for the arrest MSK by claiming to give tips to the boleh Malaysian authority .
How to justify such claims when the ISD does not even know his whereabout or how he escaped – and now even Mr Hisamuddin mentioned the strong Indonesian tie that helped them to nab MSK.- he did not even mention Singapore hor.
Malaysia certainly wants a quid pro quo for the return of MSK – better to keep him in JB to save further embarrasement of him escaping again and high tensioning everyone again…….
Malaysian elites are paid in much lower and weaker ringgits as compared to the stratospheric S$ pays to them – remembers when someone ardently justified that you get peanuts when you pay peanuts hor – but what we have got now leh……
After a few days he escaped, i think majority of us received sms, on joke which goes something like this “SELAMAT DATANG KE MALAYSIA” (which translate to Welcome to Singapore, or interpreted as SELAMAT (MAS) went to Malaysia).. Well, that was really funny then…. Hmm, so he really went to Malaysia ha…hehe..
Well, i’m glad he’s capture, regardless if he was caught by our neighboring counterparts. Thank You, Malaysia…
Expect our government to put up a big sign “Selamat Datang” on our causeway when MSK, inside our convoy with ISD, SOC and gurkhas, drive through! We should put MSK in Tekong to teach our NS guys the art of survival. Am sure the island is far better than the Malaysia prison he is in. Whitley Road Detention Centre is too comfortable and he may plan another escape!
If the information was purely obtained from ISD, then I wonder how they got that information. Did it appear as writing on the wall (ghost writers?), did it appear suddenly somehow as to preclude any form of human intervention to the point that the information was and can only be concluded to have origins in the ISD office and staff?
Strange but true.
“While Malaysia appears to be under no hurry to turn Mas Selamat over to Singapore, Minister Hishammuddin denied that the story was leaked by Singapore in order to put pressure on the Malaysian authorities to do so. If they were, Malaysia will stop cooperating with its southern neighbour.”
I think Gerald you were too premature is claiming we try to steal their thunder. Please do more research before writig your stories
“KUALA LUMPUR: Fugitive suspected Singaporean terrorist Mas Selamat Kastari has been arrested by Malaysian police.
It is learnt the fugitive, who escaped from a Singapore maximum security detention centre on Feb 27, 2008 was arrested in Johor together with two others by Special Branch officers following intelligence sharing between the police forces of Indonesia and Singapore.
”
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/sharing-of-information-between-3-countries-led-to-mas-selamats-arrest-star-online/
I will whack governmetn any day but TOC is becoming like eugene yeo and gang. Attack over every small wording when clearly as captured in your own blog you know 3 countries were involved
Many of you miss the point. For a guy like MSK to escape from detention then blend in to local surroundings and evade the dragnet of law enforcement island wide as well as Malaysian and Indonesian Authorities on the other side of Singapore’s Border’s he surely did have help and assistance, or that he already had a escape plan laid out long before 2006 arrest.
The delay in releasing to the media or public was to continue with their followup operations to arrest all those who did help him in one way or another. If one looks backs to reports in March and April, there was a few Malaysian human smugglers using speed boats to cross into Singapore’s borders. Its surely related in some way or another that MSK was working with human smugglers thats why he did have to flee far from Singapore and remained in Skudai, Johor.
It would have been easier for him to flee to Indonesia from Malaysia and hide in many remote places and islands but with the human smugglers with already a network and financed operations from illegals who avail their services to enter or exit Singapore’s borders was a opportunity for him to get back to his scheming ways again. This group of human smugglers are not in any way classified as JI or Islamic fundamentalist. This was a good camouflage for MSK to remain especially near to Singapore’s border and plan another hit on Singapore or Singaporeans.
When Mas Selamat escaped from the detention centre it is most likely that he went to his kinsmen or relatives and that is an area that one should focus on in an investigation into how he managed to hide for so long.
Then in Malaysia it is also a case a case of kinsmen and if it is not, then same ethnic ties. Or looking for his same ethnic friends.
Now, with his arrest and interrogation and surely one can find out how and whether he used his kinsmen in sing to evade police detection.
By means of such tracings one can have a picture of his brilliant evasion and determine what had gone wrong and the role of kinship in abetting his hiding – blood is thicker than water.
Then if kinship ties are so strong then one might think of putting a cessation to family visits and keeping the members of his close kinsmen under surveillance.
This is not what the military in the world world call a debriefing or what lesson can we learn fro such a case but it is also to revamp the whole security of detention of terrorists.
Can we learn from other countries on how they prevent terrorists from escaping.
Obviously, the sing people are a naive lot and Mas was smart enough to see the toilet window as his golden opportunity, an indication that his escape IQ is very high.
1) Singapore’s ISD found out about these SG terroist in 2001 after the Americans found some tapes in Afganistan during their WAR ON TERROR.
2) Then ISD captures some of them and let some slip, one of them is Mas Selamat.
3) Indonesia captures him and lets him slip then recaptures him and hands him over to ISD…
4) They let him escape again.
5) Malaysia captures him. This time they wil keep him there. No Bargain, Not This Time.
ISD is more keen on following what Singaporeans do, especially those who are opposing the establishments. But I guess now things will be changing. I think there will be pressure from all around to work better.
But this is a good laugh….Singapore ISD trying to take credit.
The MSB in Malaysia is a superb orgainisation, not just for these arrest. They have done plenty before and they clearly know what’s going on in their counrty.
I have heard so much about them, that you know these guys are very honourable and would never even get public credit for what they do.
As we all know how dangerous Malaysia can be…imagine working and gathering info….they are the real heroes.
Lets salute them and Thank Them. Remeber when you go over to Malaysia the next time. Be Nice.
Just a thought – Perhaps they’re not tussling over MSK but the $1 million reward. Possible?
The whole of Malaysians ISD, Ministers must be laughing their pants off when Mas Selamat revealed how he escaped from S’pore.
How s’pore forces + ministers + gurkhas + public + “terrorist experts” cannot even catch a limping man.
If Mas Selamat swam across to Johor, it showed s’pore immigration officers, marine polices & s’pore navy are sleeping.
Malaysian current Home affair minister Hishammuddin bin Tun Hussein (Age: 48) has showed & proven he is must more capable than Wong K S (Age: 63).
The arrest incident Won’t justified Wong K S & his gangs.
Ah Wong…..time for you to resign & catch spider at home
What is our country capable of is very questionable. Well, is it capable of claiming credits, capable of brushing everything away thinking that people will not remember it, or capable of getting first hand info and snatch the lime light of others.
I fully agree that they should stand out and admit the fact that our country did not managed to keep a dangerous prisoner well and also capturing him back. Our government really need to think hard on whether those elites live up to their standards in holding their job or a next better party should take over the position.
Why 勉强 and caused no 幸福 to us civilians and the nation???
Now i really wonder if the Malaysia Government are laughing at us on this??
49) ArtReach –
I wrote this article not to bash the Singapore Govt, but to nip the sickening self-congratulatory statements and reporting in the bud. If you re-read Friday’s ST, you’ll notice that about 3 out of 4 of the headlines are about how ISD helped nab MSK. Yes they mentioned the Malaysians’ role (they can’t escape from that), but were more intent on praising ISD for simply doing their job. That to me is unacceptable political spin.
I don’t deny that some ISD officers may have sniffed something and conveyed them to the Malaysian police, but that doesn’t mean that the organisation has “redeemed themselves”! You redeem yourself by saying sorry and asking for forgiveness, not by congratulating yourself for helping others to clean up your own mess.
In any case, I respect (and agree with) your opinion that ISD provided useful info, but I’ll quote a comment that a friend sent to me:
“I’m normally very pro-govt but even I think that the wayanging about ISD on the front pages is a little inappropriate”.
54) legoman –
What do you expect Hisham to say? That he was indeed under pressure to confirm the arrest because of Singapore? In fact, I think his second statement (“If they were, Malaysia will stop cooperating with its southern neighbour”) sounds like a final warning to us to stop pressuring them to return MSK.
I don’t blindly whack the govt. But this reaction from WKS and ST is unacceptable. The level of hubris is revolting.
Dear all, there are just too much complains by fortunate Singaporeans. I don’t see any reasons for complains on the re-capture of Mas Selamat.
Think twice when you think of bashing the government again when you look at the lives of the citizens in your neighbouring countries. We have jobs here, no constant wars, no riots, no genocide and less poverty than countries around us. This island to me is still a miracle build up by Mr Lee Kuan Yew over forty plus years. There are simply no jobs for people in our neighbouring countries and they were always forced to go into the sex industry, male and female. Its not they enjoyed it but there is really no choice. However, people with money would always like to exploit them with their money.
I have to pay about 1%plus this year for my income tax and when compared to the developed countries, I feel happy just paying that small percent. Fyi, the Great Britain plans to impose 50% income tax on their wealthy citizens. The US despite their high tax rate, are thinking of ways to fix their tax loopholes. For example, Mr Obama and the Treasury are thinking of taxing on overseas income earned by American companies. Their housing policies are a complete disaster. Many owe more loans on their homes than what their homes currently worth. Government interfering with the markets. The 19 banks stress-test are more for propaganda in my view as the results are not transparent and lack significant details. All these are forms of Socialism.
I just find theres too much government bashing going on here in this website. This shows the ignorance of some Singaporeans, hopefully small minority. Please reflect.
Alamat Mas Selamat ESCAPE TWICE NOT ONCE!
He escape from the detention camp which was supposed to be
highly secured and he swam across the water from Singapore to
Johore where marine police are suppose to be in active patrol
against illegal immigrants and smugglers!
I just don’t believe it all the talks about security!
Our government should stop doing this sort of credit claiming, it does not help the case. Firstly, Malaysia wont appreciate. They do the hard work and we claim credit, this sort of politicking is unwarranted. I see government agencies doing all these credit claiming quite often, and when mistakes happen, they just brush aside or ask us to move on. Claim credit very swift but to admit mistake,almost rarely or never.
Like they say, self praise is no praise.
“It should be pointed out that this is actually the second time that a neighbouring country has helped us nab the same man. Mas Selamat had escaped the first time in 2001 just before the first wave of JI arrests.”
I think this sentence is a bit harsh. Since he was in a soveriegn country that our security forces cant operate in (unlike the USA, we dont have a CIA in Singapore), it is not surprising the work of the local police were needed to capture him.
Overrall I agree with your general sentiment that MHA was too quick to claim SOME credit in his capture. But I think we should not forget to say a quick silent thanks that our family may be a little safer because of MSK’s arrest.
Stay safe everyone!
“Our government should stop doing this sort of credit claiming”
It is part of the vicious cycle: the more the gahman avoid to admit their mistakes, the more people enjoy poking at their mistakes, and the more they gahman want to avoid…
But serisouly I think people dislike them not admitting to mistake than claiming credit.
MSK is recaptured!! Whats up with all the doom and gloom.
Sometimes i get the feeling that some people secretly wish he flies a plane into the Changi Airport control tower just so they can cry mother cry father and blame the government and ISD.
To Gerald – It was the MSM and this correspondent lopez that caused the leak of information. So if anything, the MSM spins one extreme so you can spin the other. Life is not so simple my friend.
For the press to publish the fact that ISD had given the critical info that led to the arrest does not make that credit grabber. We did thank the Malaysian counterparts who worked on the lead and capture him. We need the Malaysian police cos we cannot simple send our officers over and get him ourselves right? It is their jurisdiction and we have to respect that.
I am not siding anyone but just feel that due credit should be accorded. There is absolutely no reason for ISD to claim credit as they know they are only making good an earlier mistake. To me, they have just redeemed themselves, that’s about all.
63) Gerald
WKS actually didn’t say much. It is actually The Straits Times who said ISD has redeemded itself.
I don’t see anything wrong for WKS to tell us that ISD has provided the lead and that ISD officers has gone all out to track down the escaped terror leader. In fact, I would be very surprised and upset if they have not done so.
If people get the impression that ISD has taken credit while Malaysia did the job for us, it is the Straits Times who created the impression. Take issue with the Strait Times reporters.
I read the content and what exactly the people concerned said and not what other people have re-phase it for them.
I expected WKS to quit to take personal responsibility for Mas Selamat’s escape. He didn’t, I was disappointed but I will not fault him this time for praising ISD. I don’t know much about what ISD officers and staff are doing but this I know- they work quietly to protect us from terror threats.
Actually, Gerald made a leap of faith in thinking that Singapore played Malaysia out. Who knows? Maybe Malaysia is returning the favour this round to some other previous back-scratching. The former diplomat should not have ruled out this possibility.
I think the general sentiment is – Good that we’ve got him. Be Really Thankful that we have a good police force in Malaysia and that they are really supportive of the situation. Its about time the governing party show us that they’re worth the money we’re paying them. If there is a blunder, its good that they’ve done some damage control, although we’re wondering – all the tax payer’s money going to something which could have been prevented. And – there is no accountability as yet – the firing of some lower ranking officers won’t suffice for a major blunder.
Also the successful escapes begs the question of the lack of security along the coastline.
Mas Selamat’s Capture: Some Face Gained, Some Face Lost « The Sun Shines on Singapore
[...] reveal embarrassing information about the Singapore escape if they are backed into a corner. Hence, Gerald Giam was a bit unfair by speculating that Singapore forcefully took the credit for the capture. [...]
Goog work done by msia..current ISD officers should be replaced with better officers so that singaporean will again put sum trust on the Dept..ISD officers really let down our govt..Cos of u guys c how much insult our govt had to face..Transfer current ISD officers mayb as condo security and place new and better officers.. Our govt has do do it soon and give us a better singapore to live in..
Pls guys dont comment bad remarks on our govt cos of the careless ISD officers..Have some faith on our govt..Mr WKS had done so much for us all tis while, pls dont forget that..Have sum respect on him.
ISD down down..ISD down down
Minister WKS is a shame to Singapore !!
1. breach of security at the Whitley Detection Centre
our ISD guys has failed to detect & capture him immediately within the ISD vincinity
2. breach of security in Singapore
our police has failed to capture him in Singapore
3. breach of security at our border
our coastal police has failed to capture him on sea
All under the leadership of WKS !!!
We the citizens still do and always will have trust on Mr WSK for all the great job done to protect us and our country..We will never condam him cos of sum lazy officers..We still remember all the hard work he put all tis yrs n just a mistake done by ISD we cant forget his past hard work..
We will always stand by him no matter wat others comment..Proud to have him as our leader now and always..
Great work all tis yrs…. BRAVO
dear netizens, we should be fair to the police and ISD.
it is our political leaders fault for the comedy of errors leading to Mas limping out
of prison and also out of S’pore.
looking back in time, we can see far greater emphasis being placed on fixing political opponents i.e. tracking, containing and detaining the latter, who are basically outspoken but with no intention of harming the general public.
this may have affected the mindset and performance of our police and ISD when they switch their attention to crafty men like Mas.
about time SPF and ISD focus on criminals and terrorists, stay out of PAP’s politicking, then I believe both will do their jobs better.
can PM Lee and WKS do this ? …..lol
64) Ghim Moh resident -
You have completely missed the point as much as those anti-government bashers here.
I wonder how long it will take for the naive Singaporeans to stop parroting what the government has been preaching on how “fortunate” Singaporeans are because they still have jobs, they are more well to do as compared to people of other neighbouring countries, there are no constant wars, no riots, no genocide, etc. Why are we not comparing ourselves with countries like Sweden and Switzerland?
As you are feeling “happy” because you are only paying 1% of income tax, you are probably one of those who doesn’t think paying for hundreds of thousands to own an “affordable public housing” which we call “home” is expensive, even though this will ultimately not be yours, or even your descendants, because the title deed is only valid for 99 years. Money doesn’t go out of our pockets into pockets of the state fund through income tax ONLY.
I rest my case.
WKS should “shut up and sit down”
Quick to take credit…even quicker when it comes to shifting blame… lol…
I am very embarrassed by this!
TAKEN FROM BERNAMA: “Although we did exchange intelligence, the operation to trace and capture Mas Selamat was carried out fully by the Malaysian police.
“Foreign agencies cannot carry out any intelligence operation in the country,” he said.”
———————–
So the source revealed what we all suspected. Singapore provide intell, Malaysian followup on it – lets move on :)
the entire moral of the story is that anyone can suga suga come in & go out, no need custom queue or show passport, just transport in a float enough.
79) depresso on May 10th, 2009 11.45 pm
64) Ghim Moh resident -
I seconded your view depresso. As compared to Animal Farm, I find that we have a lot of “Boxer” class citizen in Singapore, who are contented with what they have at the moment, ignorant of those who are suffering as it got nothing to do with them. If mishaps really strike them, then they starts to wake from their la la land and regret, but it will be too late…
I also find that they are quick to quote on the problems face by poorer neighboring countries, and choose to ignore others which are better than us. These people seem to be living in their own shell. They are most likely selfish in their thinking, and always hoping that disaster should only betroth upon everyone except them. After that, they can start to rave about how fortunate and blessed they are as compared to those around them.
Come to think of it, I could not blame them actually, as this is the mindset and concept that Singaporean are being brainwash with. Our governments are always using the same method to do comparison… selecting those less well-off countries when we want to compare standard of living, selecting those first-world countries when comparing income taxes, and again choose to ignore the fact that there are a bunch of other hidden taxes in our daily spending.
Another example is on our wages which is always compared to neighboring countries as better, but choose to ignore the fact that our living expenses are higher, and there are also other countries with better wages.
How come our inflation is less than double digit, when my bowl of wanton noodle increases from $2.50 to $3, which is a 20% increase? Basically the same concept at work here, allocating a smaller % on necessities while a bigger portion of the calculation is assign to other products that does not inflate that much within that period.
It makes me wonder if we are like what the 90.5 radio advertisement has said, “HEAR ONLY THE NICE THINGS”? It also makes me wonder if Singaporean are so into their comfort zone that only a rude jolt is able to bring them out of their dream world into the real one.
Whooaaaa…
Why don’t we get MSK back so he can teach our NDU, STAR and Commando/Army SOF water survival and E & E? Perhaps we can also name buildings in Home Team Academy MSK Hall or even WKS Hall. Some angry NS Guardsman I know even suggest the term costal hook to be renamed MSK Hook.
Another raise of pay for our…………… *sigh*
Aiyoohhhh..
there are no bad cops, just bad leader (WKS) la!
Leave a Reply
Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments
It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan
More In Uncategorized
- Rebutting Law Minister K Shanmugam
- Challenge of communication
- TOC & Talk Politics hold successful Year in Review forum
- “Live” from Post Museum – TOC’s Year End Review
- The Fajar Generation
Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments
It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan
More In Uncategorized
- Rebutting Law Minister K Shanmugam
- Challenge of communication
- TOC & Talk Politics hold successful Year in Review forum
- “Live” from Post Museum – TOC’s Year End Review
- The Fajar Generation

“I am also surprised that Singapore decided to go public with the news of the arrest even before the Malaysians did.
Apparently there’s talk that the ‘leak’ of MSK’s arrest to ST/CNA (which are, after all, state-controlled) was aimed at putting pressure on the Malaysians to release MSK to the Singapore authorities. Interestingly, this would also provide an alternative explanation for why the Singapore government is taking credit. “Hey, we provided the tip-off leading to his arrest, so we have dibs on him!” For now, however, Malaysia seems intent on keeping him in its custody.