Gerald Giam

Malaysia cleans up the mess. Singapore takes the credit – shamelessly.

“DEPUTY Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng commended the Internal Security Department (ISD) officers for going all out to track down the escaped terror leader Mas Selamat, who was eventually caught in Malaysia on April 1.”

- Straits Times, 8 May 2009

Firstly let me state that I am glad that Mas Selamat has been captured. I thank the Malaysian police for their excellent work in capturing the fugitive. Malaysian Home Minister Hishamuddin said that they arrested him under the ISD because he was plotting something, which means they not only caught the JI leader who escaped from under Singapore’s nose, but possibly managed to thwart a planned terrorist attack.

I am, however, appalled that the Singapore mainstream media and Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng would go to the extent of congratulating themselves and taking credit for Mas Selamat’s arrest by the Malaysians. Instead of acting with a bit of humility and contrition, the Singapore Government has attempted to turn the tables on their “setback” and praise itself for the re-arrest of the alleged terrorist mastermind.

It should be pointed out that this is actually the second time that a neighbouring country has helped us nab the same man. Mas Selamat had escaped the first time in 2001 just before the first wave of JI arrests.

I’m sure MHA felt that this would be a PR coup for them, and that Singaporeans will queue up to congratulate the good work of the government if it blew its trumpet enough. Of course, reading the mainstream media, one would be forgiven for thinking this was the case.

“Minister’s hail arrest” – Straits Times

“ISD provides crucial lead” – Straits Times

“Singaporeans cheered by news of Mas Selamat’s arrest” – TODAY/CAN

“With Singapore downgrading from Orange to Yellow Alert for the flu virus, I think this comes as great news.” – a teacher quoted by TODAY

“Sources said that it was the Singapore ISD that gave the Malaysians the lead on Mas Selamat’s trail. If so, the department, which has come under the heaviest fire, has redeemed itself.” – Straits Times

I really wonder what Singaporeans really think?

Personally, I think this would be a most appropriate time for the Minister to apologise for all the worry, inconvenience and trouble caused to both Singaporeans and his counterparts in Malaysia and Indonesia for ISD’s slip up. It is not the time for praising the ISD for doing their job.

I am also surprised that Singapore decided to go public with the news of the arrest even before the Malaysians did. Obviously the Malaysians had a reason to keep the arrest under wraps for almost 1 1/2 months. I’m not sure if they were prepared to go public yet. If they were, I’m sure given the extreme political fire the BN government is under (Perak crisis, by-elections results, Altantuya case, etc) they would have badly wanted to boast about this capture to their own people.

I would have thought the gracious and diplomatic thing to do would be to let the Malaysian government announce the arrest and take some credit for it. At a minimum, it should have been announced jointly, rather than having Malaysians hear about it from the Straits Times.

You see, this is why Malaysians get so irritated with us all the time. Then we wonder why, and just retort that they are jealous of us. Yeah, I guess the Malaysians are “jealous” we have such an effective secret police, who are able to get others to clean up after the mess they created.

———

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

86 Responses to “Mas Selamat captured – all thanks to the ISD!”

1. la nausée 8 May 2009

“I am also surprised that Singapore decided to go public with the news of the arrest even before the Malaysians did.

Apparently there’s talk that the ‘leak’ of MSK’s arrest to ST/CNA (which are, after all, state-controlled) was aimed at putting pressure on the Malaysians to release MSK to the Singapore authorities. Interestingly, this would also provide an alternative explanation for why the Singapore government is taking credit. “Hey, we provided the tip-off leading to his arrest, so we have dibs on him!” For now, however, Malaysia seems intent on keeping him in its custody.

2. Shamed Citizen 8 May 2009

What is SHAME?

I think the word SHAME has lost its meaning to the greedy, money-minded and power-crazy lot. So fast to claim credit but so slow in owning up for failures and to take responsibility.

Simply don’t how to be humble. What they know is only arrogance and shameful boasting endlessly.

They don’t feel shameful but I do, as a citizen of this country.

3. Joel NC 8 May 2009

This is an unbelievably skewed article. The subtitle itself is a travesty of objective commentary. For the information of the writer, DPM Wong is on the record as hailing the Malaysian Security Branch’s work. DPM Wong’s full interview can be viewed here – http://www.channelnewsasia.com/video/index.php

4. Lynne Tan 8 May 2009

I am surprised he was hiding so near by. It took very long to capture him thanks to Malaysia.

Malaysia Boleh!
    Malaysia I luv u!

5. brainwave 8 May 2009

I want to vomit !!!!

First he escape with toilet paper.

Then we would find him quickly!

Then it is impossible for him to leave the country as we have beefed up security at the immigration and checkpoints. !!

Then “He is still in Singapore!!”

Finally giving Singapore ISD credit for finding him in Malaysia! !!

As a Singapore citizen, I would bow my head in shame when I go Malaysia.

6. Yogi Bear 8 May 2009

What can Singapore do if Malaysia decides to keep MSK? After all, Indonesia has indicated doing precisely that if it ever catches MSK (for the second time).

How MSK escaped to Johor is also not very flattering. Apparently the massive manhunt was NOT even in the correct ball park; MSK swam across with the aid of a crude floatation device soon after the escape. I thought the entire border was locked down. So what is the excuse now? Coastal patrol were not alerted in time? Night vision devices (NVD) were not working, sent for servicing?

MSK not only breached the security (or the lack of) of WDC but also the border security. He should really be engaged as a consultant to fix the security lapses across the ENTIRE HOME TEAM.

7. Daniel 8 May 2009

Even Mas Selamat is not spared from economy crisis as he is now been caught, he lost his job as a terrorist. But then he is lucky, he still have government to take care of him, giving him free accomodation and 3 meals a day with 24 hours protection, what’s more can he ask for ?

By the way, what brand of toilet paper he use for escape ? Look so durable and strong that I might consider switching to this brand.

8. too cocky 8 May 2009

The Malaysian Authorities have their reasons to withhold info on the capture of Mas Selamat as they need to conduct their own investigations into possible links.

For the moment it appears they are in no hurry to hand over Mas. Can’t fault them
    though because Mas escaped twice under S’pore’s custody.

Perhaps the Malaysian Authorities should keep Mas Selamat for a couple of years, just to show our cocky govt the meaning of reliability…….lol

9. Daniel 8 May 2009

Like some local who visit other Asian countries, Mas Selamat may consider himself lucky to be back in Singapore, at least he won’t fear getting dengue or swine’s flu in other countries.

10. Spirit-centred 8 May 2009

They have decided to remove the Mas Selamat fear after the 5 explosions at Marina Barrage area , so they make the annoucement today.

11. David 9 May 2009

Nothing surprising. If we have billion dollars loser getting her golden award on Labour day, and Lim Swee Say wanted us to thank him for keeping unemployment rate at 4.8%, Teo Ho Pin wanted us to thank him for losing only a few million dollars of Town Council Fund, LBW trying hard to fight for credit in Singapore first silver olympic medal and the self-serving elite thanked themselves by rewarding themselves the highest salary in the global political world. What other self-praise are they not capable of giving? Did Singaporean get any praises todate? No!!! we were blamed for being complacent when Mas escaped, we were blamed for being ungracious when someone got food posioned, we were blamed for being costly when employers are out to exploit, we were blamed for being jobless when our govt has no solution to the crisis, we were blamed for the cause of foreigners problems here,….and on Labour day, we were all simply neglected and the best achievements were given to undeserving elite. So much appreciation for being a Singaporean.

12. Must ask Mas Selamat himself who captures him lor…

13. randommindlessness 9 May 2009

No la, ST should blame Video Games! MSK played too much Metal Gear Solid and Tenchu, that’s why he was able to get to Malaysia unnoticed.

14. Daniel 9 May 2009

Did Mas Selamat stay too long in the toilet that end up him been caught ?

15. justinot_timberlake 9 May 2009

Now WKS and his cronies can up their salary and ride on this arrest by the Msian to justify their MILLION dollar salaries !!

16. Abdul Salim Harun 9 May 2009

I think its best that the Malaysian authorities keep him instead. As he was caught in MAlaysia “trying to plan something”, he should be detained under the Malaysian side. No need to bring back to Singapore as he may escape again… To the Malaysian authorities, a heartiest congratulation for capturing Mas Selamat! You guys have done an excellent job! MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!

17. My view 9 May 2009

Really hope Msia keep him instead of sending him back to sg, so as to embarrass sg and our government.

18. Another problem 9 May 2009

But there may be a problem. What if the Malaysians use Mas as a bargaining chip? Like if you want Mas back, then …………..

Like that how?

Great link.

To be objective, WKS ought to praise the Malaysians authorities and ISD, at the same time reflect and apologize for MSK escape a year ago.

hongjun

20. We are the BOSS 9 May 2009

Please lah…. why so much complaints???
    It is not easy to catch this guys you know. WKS has contributed his own whole year in 2008~2009 to finally nail this limping guys down.
    If I’m LSL, I would reward him 2 Year fat bonus for his “hard” work!!!
    In fact, the whole ISD staffs should get 2 years bonus too….
    Or, Ho Chin (our MAYDAY award winner) might get 3 years bonus for setting the right model for our elites to employ the right intelligencer to provide these crucial leads for the capture.
    For all of you who praised Mas Selamat, you will get his signature on the toilet paper his used….
    HAHA….

21. Daniel 9 May 2009

Poor SELAMAT now that he has to SHIITT without toilet paper.

22. There they go again; our neighbouring country is capable of capturing MSK wherein there is a large expanse of jungles to hide around in, and THEY are clamouring for MSK’s return to their buttery-fingers.

I wonder; since MSK was able to swim across to Malaysia with basically an improvised floatation device, how efficient is our border security???

Oh me… oh my… I am blushing in SHAME!

23. #3 – Good link. Puts some context into the matter.

I think the MSM is guilty of mis-using the term “joint operation” when describing the arrest operation. The red flag is basically the news that the PM was informed by WKS who was informed *not* by ISD but by the Malaysian authorities. If this is the truth (should be, since it comes out from WKS’s mouth on video), the it implies:

1) The “joint operation” involved tight cooperation between the two countries where both police forces worked together as part of the same ground-forces team sent to capture Mas Selamat. In spite of this, somehow our ISD units could not report directly to WKS about the arrest.

or 2) There was no “joint operation”. We gave the Malaysian authorities the leads, they followed up. Then they told us the good news.

Given what WKS said in the video, 2) seems most probable.

I’m taking the “swimming across the straits” thing with a pinch of salt. WKS himself said he’s not sure. It is very probably, if true, that he did this under the cover of night. No matter how good our coast guard is, it is unlikely they can catch that unless they are actively scanning the coastline at night with night-vision devices or other forms of electronic detection mechanisms.

24. aiyoyo 9 May 2009

aiyoyo

if the news info is true m’sia catch MAS, elites congratulate the team,

then it seems elites not only good at talk/write,

also good at director (like Jackie Chan do in movie)

alamak think must go TCS liao for man on the street….

aiyoyo

25. Sobri 9 May 2009

With the capture of Mat Selamat by the Malaysian police……….shouldn’t the reward be given to them?

If not to indivduals, at least to the police welfare fund.

26. I Can Honestly Say . . . 9 May 2009

since the escape of MSK, our dear WKS is up by a million bucks.

Are you?

I’m down by a job since!

27. patriot 9 May 2009

Mas Selamat is no big deal, he is after all just a terrorist suspect armed with only a ‘plan’. He was not even reported to be inpossession of a dummy or empty bullet.

patriot

28. flyingdagger 9 May 2009

Did WKS reveal WHEN Mas Selamat managed to sneak out of the country?

within the first 4 hours of his escape?
    within the first few weeks?
    after half a year?

29. lokb72 9 May 2009

all thanks to malaysia for capturing MSK, i just think that ISD is shameless to have taken credit for his capture. Don’t u guys think so? What have they done? It’s not them who captured MSK. Once again, kudos to the Malaysian for doing a great job. I must reckon them to keep him rather than returning him to ISD, which could lead to another escape. If that really happens then im not surprise. It just shows how lack of competency the elites are and that the home team is just a ‘wayang’ front put up by the elites. MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!!

30. aiyoyo 9 May 2009

aiyoyo

think back, a MAS escape, how much $ spent by elites? what’s end result?

did elites catch MAS? what’s the morale of this sad story?

root cause for MAS escape to m’sia truly asia…?

劳民伤财?

aiyoyo

31. jazzyjohn 9 May 2009

Kudos to Malaysia – for having lesser pay yet doing a better job. Singapore thank you! and please, ignore our shameless people who is claiming it’s their work that he is captured. We are not blind!

32. Today today 9 May 2009

I think this statement in today TODAY paper says it all. Page 2.
    Mr. Hishammuddin said, “Our ties with Indonesia are very strong and without Indonesia’s co-operation,I do not think we would have been able to make the arrest after his escape from Singapore.”
    Nothing about any tip-off from Singapore whatsoever.
    Malaysia Boleh!

33. Retiree 9 May 2009

Finally some closure.

But establishment’s callousness to take credit from and at others expenses perhaps to justify their appointment and high salaries and they being NOT the bset fro the job continue to be the sickening daily routine from LEE BEE WAH to Mas Selamt!
    Shame Shame Shame

34. facepalm 9 May 2009

Salute to BolehLand! MSB professional man! Not shy for Singapore to give only starting leads on the Mas Selamat’s location and then say like Singapore catch him like that. Both worked together but unfair to make it seem that Singapore did all the work alone.

35. Pork and Pork 9 May 2009

1. How does the Lead come about?
    2. Were there people sent over there to recce for info, hunt for MSK?
    If yes, given the lead, with resources over there, could they not capture ?

3. Or was the lead developed from info supplied elsewhere such that it forms the lead ? So, is this considered the lead of the lead?

These are commonsense questions. Hope not censored.

36. Insider 9 May 2009

“Dr Jacob Ramsay of the Control Risks Group agreed that the escape route seemed well-planned. ‘Just the fact that he avoided capture after escaping from Whitley Road Detention Centre would suggest that it was all pre-planned and a very good strategy to evade arrest, and with ties in Malaysia to help him out,’ he said.” (http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_374441.html)

This suggests some very sinister going-ons.

For someone in the most secured place in Singapore can continue to make plans and have contacts with the outside world can only give rise to all sort of speculations, such as perhaps there was an insider within the detention centre if not in ISD itself?!

I think there is more than mere “complacency” here.

I think treachery might be more appropriate.

I can only conclude that LKY is senile to publicly conclude that it was merely complacency.

At the least he ought to see that it was arrogance, pride in the “system” and a sense of being always right and correct that was the root cause – for pride goes before a fall – and not complacency.

37. blackteeshirt 9 May 2009

ISD has probably ordered adult diapers and are waiting for mas selamat to return back to whitely. heads will just keep rolling

if mas selamat could swim across the crossway and straits times has written that areas in admiralty and sungei buloh are ‘hotspots’ for illegal immigrants, why didnt the police, the army up their guard in those areas? DUH

we will never know who leaked what. but i know malaysia will continue to enjoy mocking us. then again, if not for mas selamat’s escape, could they have captured the other 2 malaysian terrorists?

happy vesak day

38. Peter Tan 9 May 2009

This shows that the PAP’s argument that high salary is necessary to maintain high perofrmance is empty talk.

The head and members of Singapoe ISD is paid probably many many times that of head and members of Malaysia Special Branch (MSB).

In the end, the one that shines and peforms is MSB!

39. wong kow sai 9 May 2009

Over the last whole year each time I cross at the causeway I have to open up my car boot to let the security check if Mat Selamat is hiding inside. Each time I tell myself what the fu*k I hide Mat Selamat inside my car boot, if I have him I would gradly hand over and collect the one million dollars reward.

What kind of secuirty after all, Mat had swam across long time and all this while they think Mat is inside someone’s car boot when he having tea tarik and roti chanai up in Skudai. Wasted my whole year effort of opeing car boot.

40. What a shame, WKS.

Thanks to MSK wakes ISD up! I foresee Malaysia will refuse to return MSK to Singapore’s custody due to lacking anti-terrorism capability concern.

41. chao babi 9 May 2009

for the benefit of doubt, ISD may have worked hard but still the malaysians have worked harder.

kudos to them, all singaporean can now sleep soundly at night

42. X.X!!! 9 May 2009

#15 @justinot_timberlake

yep man. you are so damned right.

Its seriously disgusting that WKS can take credit for what Msia had done. Cmon la.. what the heck is wrong with his inflated head? Too much $$ inside? I think so.

43. Erudio 9 May 2009

Tis was wat the cocky failure called Wong Kan Seng had to say in ST 9 May 09 :

[Replying to a question about the role of the Singapore public, he said a lot of information was provided but none proved credible, and it was ISD's own information that led to the breakthrough.]

As far as the gov is concerned, the public played no useful part. Be thankful peasants !!!

44. GoodWork 9 May 2009

I do not doubt that we did provide the Malaysian the critical info leading to MSK arrest. I am confident that our poodles are better than theirs. What I am worry is how come he can escape (swim across the straits) when the security and alert levels were very high then. He is with an improvised float, not that he swam underwater. Coast guards better do some soul searching.

45. Daniel 9 May 2009

Erudio,
    cannot blame WKS since the republic did not provide the most crucial information that leads to arrest of Selamat.
    As what info is so important, your guess is as good as mine.
    “He is either in Singapore or out of Singapore”
    “He is either in Singapore, Malaysia or Indonesia”

Nowhere did I hear the republic mention the above two informations that are so important. Thus credit must be due to the gahmen. Because of these info, I expect the gahmen to receive Mas Selamat Award.

46. 40) Erudio “As far as the gov is concerned, the public played no useful part. Be thankful peasants !!!”

Despite looking like any other capitalist economy, Singapore remains largely socialist in its governance.

This rigid structure has created a culture where people holds the government (bosses, supervisors, etc) responsible for all the good and bad (“If you think you made the right choice, then you are responsible for your oversight too”). It also makes people feel frustrated for following wrong decisions that they did not make themselves.

If change has to come, it has to come both ways. The top has to relinquish its power, and the rank and file needs to expect less from the top and take up more responsibility.

47. do you see sph or spin 9 May 2009

SPH new logo has hidden agenda due to its overlapping letters. If you de-construct the logo the letter ‘h’ could be seen as letter ‘i’ and letter ‘n’. As a result you will get s.p.i.n. haha.

48. ArtReach 9 May 2009

Haha. An article written to invite bashing of the Singapore Govt. Gerald wants to know what Singaporeans really think. I don’t know about others but this Singaporean think it is a job well done by Malaysia, ISD provided useful information, ISD staff are not doing nothing. I read the main media reports. I don’t see WKS and ISD taking credits from Malaysia as Gerald made it out to be.

Gerald has the responses he wanted. This is to be expected. However, it does make it fun to read the comments.

49. Maybe, what Jackie Chan said was correct – when he uttered that singaporeans have no self respect – our top people can unabashedly claims credit for the arrest MSK by claiming to give tips to the boleh Malaysian authority .

How to justify such claims when the ISD does not even know his whereabout or how he escaped – and now even Mr Hisamuddin mentioned the strong Indonesian tie that helped them to nab MSK.- he did not even mention Singapore hor.

Malaysia certainly wants a quid pro quo for the return of MSK – better to keep him in JB to save further embarrasement of him escaping again and high tensioning everyone again…….

Malaysian elites are paid in much lower and weaker ringgits as compared to the stratospheric S$ pays to them – remembers when someone ardently justified that you get peanuts when you pay peanuts hor – but what we have got now leh……

50. After a few days he escaped, i think majority of us received sms, on joke which goes something like this “SELAMAT DATANG KE MALAYSIA” (which translate to Welcome to Singapore, or interpreted as SELAMAT (MAS) went to Malaysia).. Well, that was really funny then…. Hmm, so he really went to Malaysia ha…hehe..

Well, i’m glad he’s capture, regardless if he was caught by our neighboring counterparts. Thank You, Malaysia…