Main Stories - Written on Friday, May 8, 2009 10:51 - 103 Comments
Mas Selamat’s capture: Why only inform us now?
Breaking News: DPM Wong Kan Seng says Mas Selamat used an improvised flotation device to escape from the north shore of S’pore to Johor. ‘The Malaysian authorities want to interview him and in good time he will be returned to Singapore,’ Mr Wong said. The Singapore government did not inform the public earlier of the capture because of the need for secrecy, said Mr Wong on Friday at a press conference.
Read also: Singapore terrorism suspect held (BBC).
IT TOOK 398 days for Mas Selamat to be caught on 1st April, but another 36 days for the public to be informed. What happened in between?
The Straits Times editors must be rubbing their hands in glee right now: they got the scoop of the year. Mas Selamat, the fugitive on the run, was found to be under interrogation by the Malaysian authorities. This was certainly no April Fool’s joke.
But while the ISD can finally pat themselves on the back for a job well done, it seems rather odd that they would want to hide their prize from public view, instead of displaying it proudly on the top shelf.
This could only mean two possibilities.
Firstly, the ISD did not know that Mas Selamat was caught until much later. Perhaps the Malaysian authorities chose to withhold the knowledge from the ISD until more information could be extracted from the fugitive. However, if such is the case, does this not amount to a lack of communication and cooperation on both sides?
Also, it is not known who knew about the capture first: the ISD or the Straits Times. Based on the freshest news reports, it appears that the ISD has been silent on this matter up till now.
But is this scenario likely? Perhaps not. It would be absurd for an organisation such as the ISD to not be informed about his capture. But then again, you never know.Secondly, the ISD knew about the fugitive’s capture, but chose to withhold the news from the public eye. Perhaps they believed that more information must be extracted first before it could be made known to Singaporeans. It used to be that the public was anxiously waiting for his capture in the days after his escape.
But as they waited, it soon became apparent that he was never going to be caught quickly. And soon the terrorist escaped not just Singapore, but from the minds of the public as well.
Perhaps that was the reason why the ISD saw no reason to inform the public as fast as they could. But surely such news should never be withheld, especially if it is about a man who could threaten the security and lives of Singaporeans with his very presence?
If this is true, then the Ministry of Home Affairs has not learned from the lessons of the past: the need for better communication and accountability with the public. It was the same scenario many months ago. The MHA was not forthcoming about information regarding the terrorist’s escape, and media practitioners and the public were left frustrated. But then, they had an excuse. Investigations were still ongoing, and the details had to be ascertained.
Now, there is no reason to withhold information. It does not take a lot of effort to say: Mas Selamat is captured, and is in the hands of the Malaysian authorities. It does not take a lot of time to verify if the captured prey really is the fugitive, even if he has gone through plastic surgery (should he chose to go to that extreme).
While this apparent oversight should not sully the news that Singapore’s Most Wanted Man is indeed caught, the MHA should pay heed to release details of his capture as quickly as possible, especially over the next few days.
Read also: Singapore’s Mas Selamat captured in Johor by The Malaysian Insider.
—-
103 Comments
More arrows flying towards ISD and Home Team …we must understand why they are silent.
Propably fighting under the shade – for those who watched 300. :)
Why now the news?………….Playing TAI CHI?
Random speculation: perhaps the Singapore government was, and is, in the midst of negotiating his extradition back to Singapore… only then would it want to announce the ‘triumphant’ re-capture. The news having broken before then, the only way MHA can congratulate itself is that its tip-off, together with ‘close cooperation’ with Malaysian authorities, led to his capture.
Mas was caught in Indonesia and Malaysia. It shows that our neighbours police are much competent. Singapore police is sub standard, we have to admit it, though we are in the so-called first world league. Imagine for the past 1 year the Immigration at Woodsland checked every car boot, take thumb print and caused us much inconvenience and in the end, Mas escaped to Malaysia unnoticed. Singapore is incompetent, we have to admit it.
I agree MHA should follow up quickly with more information.
But I can imagine it was a tough dilemma for MHA/ISD, since he was captured in Malaysia in a (supposedly) joint operation. There would have been sensitive diplomatic issues – and security good reasons to keep the news from people who are associated with him. I believe in transparency, whenever possible, but there are times when secrecy is necessary.
Good news in any case.
Terence,
There is more to intelligence work than PR communication.
When you lose someone, you alert as soon as possible so that all Singaporeans can be on the look out and to assist in recapture.
When you recapture, you keep quiet and make use of new intelligence to catch the rest of the network. No it doesnt take alot of time to inform us that he is arrested but it destroys any potential opportunites that can arise from his quiet interrogation.
You can’t blame Singapore for releasing news 1 month later. The Malaysian caught him in their turf and will definitely interrogate him. So after he is of no use, then will be eventually sent back to us.
how did Mas Selamat escape… OUT OF SG??
can Immigration checkpoint ppl be SACKED?
They were biding their time
Basic Public Relations 101 – embargo the Breaking Good News until the time where it’s useful, i.e. When the govt is facing criticism over not vetting the AWARE school content
now nobody will talk about MOE anymore – nothing in the Forum or TV or Print News at all today.
the govt has very intelligent PR professionals – i’ll give them that
2) LOL fighting under the shade i really like that
competent neighbor authorities
Time and Again,
our neighbours, non-1st world, have proven they Boleh!
I dunno abt “intelligent PR professionals” :)
Using the news of his recapture to distract form the Aware issue is a little too imaginative. Aware is small fry.
Note how Boleh our neighbour is when it doesnt involve their big politicians in office. When it comes to Altantuya and Anwar, its always “Tidak Boleh”. ["Pu Ker Nern"] .
OK now that they help with Mat Selamat, we may just agree to the crooked bridge. Reward, se.
Perhaps because Najib just took over premiership, and he needs certain sector of the population supports by not wanting Mas Selmat issue to affect certain extremist supporters.
Than again, it goes to prove malaysia police force is quite efficient as compare to us regardless of how media praises our ISD. Frankly, if MAS selmat is send back to Singapore again, I am actually quite worried because of our home leader infamous quote “what to do it has happened”.
Since our leader loves to address every issue with “economic sense”, greater than the safety and grievances of Singaporeans and always reminded us how stressed our poodles were, I would rather Mas Selmat be kept away from Singapore for the peace of our mind. I have heard too much self praises from pap, but I do know of their lapses. Thus, a strong NO for mas selamat to be send here.
So, is he limping or not?
I feel I have to double check on information from SPF already.
All good things must come to an end.
Last year was so bland, if not for MSK case.
Now that MSK is caught, there is no more jokes in the internet.
I hope I am wrong.
You obviously not ISD trained, Terence.
Or if you are, you are trying to hide it?
Intell 101
When you capture someone, you keep quiet and make use of new intelligence to catch the rest of the network. By telling us he arrested it destroys any potential opportunites that can arise from his quiet interrogation.
Hell’s bells. This annc could be another of WKS’s ballsup.
This govmin (and WKS in particular) have proven themselves rather incompetent over the last few yrs. Mat’s escape and continuing avoidance of capture, investments in UBS, Citi, ML, Shin, ABC and Barclays, “Golden period” juz before things turn nasty, GST rise etc etc
Maybe this is juz another example?
Will such “strong” armour shield ALL around the island, how did ah mas manage to escape to Malaysia? Thought WKS oready toughened up the whole island with strict checkpts, guys still remember the traffic jams that occur in tuas and woodlands?
Will my beloved ST and mediacorp ask question how ah mas manage to fly to msia after all those stringent measures have been taken up?
chinese saying”cha1 chi4 nan2 fei1″, so how did mas get across?
did ah wong do his work properly or not? can TOC do a write up or anything on ah wong kah seng’s hard work. that is one mulit million dollar job, ok!
Terence, you must watch more 24 lah! Your article is just shallow ranting and little thought went inside it. Cheh.
They arrested earlier in April but probably didn’t tell public because so that they can observe his friends who helped him secretly. If make news public, the abettors will all run away before the noose is tighten! Watch 24!
Wong Kan Seng must be feeling like a peacock now!
:D
Thank you, Malaysia.
Thank you, Malaysian Police Force.
Thank you, Malaysian.
Job Well Done.
Sori for the inconvenience caused by s’pore govt (especially useless Wong K S and his gangs).
The Straits Times claimed it is s’pore police provide information to arrest him in Malaysia & Indonesia to get credit which lead to this arrest. As if Malaysia or Indonesia has no clue how to catch a terrorist.
If Wong K S hope to get credit or hope more votes in the coming General Election through this incident, he is dreaming. He should be sack or resign long ago.
Selamat Malaysia.
He should be put in permanent diapers from now on. Perhaps we can send him to our “Feminist Mentor” to be “cured”?
Was Mr. Wong Kan Seng aware of Mat Selamat Kastari’s capture about a month ago when he made the speech in ISD Service Promotion Ceremony on April 15, when he said, “we will recapture him”? If he did know it then, it is very misleading.
Link: http://www.mha.gov.sg/news_details.aspx?nid=MTQwNg%3d%3d-SOITePml5jQ%3d
THE MALAYSIANS ARE ONLY GOOD AT LEAKING THE INFORMATION TO STRAIGHT TIMES
Since the Malaysian police force has proven to be more effcient, it’s better to let him stay in Malaysia. If brought back to Singapore, he will escape again. Please, Negara Malaysia, do us a favour and keep him there. We don’t want another stressful and embarassing episode.
To #7) Najib,
Good point, but when they cannot even catch one limping fugitive, what makes you think they can catch a network of them?
I think ISD knows abt this lah. In fact, I think he is actually back in SG before the news is released. Reason for doing so? To prevent his friends from making a hijack attempt to free him if the friends knew of the capture.
EVERYONE! so now must not look down on Msia and say Msia Boleh! they ARE ACTUALLY BETTER THAN THE SG ISD!!!! ahahahahahahahha… makes me laugh soo much!
Great job Msia!
(its considered really amazing, cuz if you take into account the size of Msia compared to SG)
Congrats :D !
and 1 more thing! I CANT BELIEVE MAS SELAMAT ACTUALLY escaped out of a toilet and hopped over a fence to freedom, and oh ya, even managed to bypass customs :D!!!
So how did he flee the country?
Now that he has been caught in another country, it means the dragnet to prevent him from leaving the country was not effective.
I wonder if an investigation will be raised for how he mange to flee the country?
1st World and we can’t even hold our prisoners. Our neighbouring police force without the kind of expenditure and sophication seems to be faring a much better job. Pay them millions of dollars and yet doing a sh*t job………..Time to outsource the entire team of governance and save billions in the long run.
The terrorist is caught in Malaysia, a country many times bigger than Spore which is just an island n he also caught in Indonesia, a sprawling country of many island.
I am sure that our Incompetent DPM Mr Wong will come up with some crap execuse to explain the whole sage.
Maybe MHA is so shameful to even dare to publicly announce Mas’ capture, and that’s why ST has to do the job for them.
Looking at the incident, I must applaud for our Malaysia brother who prove themself worth more than the ISD in singapore. Just imagine Malaysia is 100 times bigger than Singapore, with 100 times lesser police forces, and yet they are more efficient than us in capturing Mas Selamat.
Shame on you Mr Wong, and your Incompetent MHA.
I smell a conspiracy, Mas Selamat was about to send to Guantanamo Bay, but closed by Obama order, so they dump MSK in Johor. Lol.
Seriously a quite corrupted police force in Malaysia is better than uncorrupted police force of SG…..
Shame to WKS
Bonus Question: How the hell does MSK managed to escape from SG? Despite being coast guard, immigration officers all around the island?!
Saw many comments on how boleh is M’sia due to the capture of MSK. But do note that they too have loads of problems themselves unlike Sg being much safer. Maybe this could be the reason why we are unable to react to such a situation. To err its human. But not to admit the mistake its damn COWARD. Being incompetent is one thing, but not taking up the responsibilty after what had happened gives me doubt on the quality of our so-called DPM. Sad Sad.
I do have a logic that explains why M’sia police force could catch him. Fatigue. MSK is obviously a human. He could run outta Sg thru whatever way. Since he’s on the run, he could not get appropriate rest, therefore by the time he reach M’sia, no str to resist already.
you know, maybe all those who are criticizing, be it malaysia or singapore, should do the job for the police/goverment/whoever instead. think about that.
If Mas Selamat is indeed a terrorist , he should have strike long ago. You means he is enjoying holiday for 1 year++ without doing anything ? Mas Selamat is so capable of improvising devices and disappearing without explanation and if he is so dangerous, he should have the ability to create terror due to his adaptability strenght and self-capability. So how can someone brand him dangerous when he is not even doing anything in Malaysia and Singapore other than playing hide and seek for past one year. He is not even a monkey and kangaroo that capable of causing billions of loss in economy.
“You can’t blame Singapore for releasing news 1 month later. The Malaysian caught him in their turf and will definitely interrogate him.”
Yes, beware of Malaysia from now onwards since Mas Selamat might reveal them the secret of escaping through toilet roll, limping the way to freedom and how to have three meals without government’s pathetic monetary assistance and without hawker center, food court and restaurant.
imho, M’sia did not inform S’pore because they were worried that incompetent we might lose the info just like we lost MSK!
1year’s time and he’s still in JB for what? If I were him I would have ran to Artic or Antarctica. Even if true, why need 1year to track him down in JB? JB very big meh?
True. How do MS escape from Singapore to other country despite the high alerts across the immigration checkpoints?
But then if the press release such information, I think people would try it. At least, I probably will.
Malaysia caught Mas Selamat ? Hmmm…. so if Malaysia is not corrupted then Mas Selamat is ? Did Mas Selamat accept carrot ?
Maybe they let him buy some DVD so that he would not run again?
28) X.X!!!
Absolutely! MALAYSIA BOLEH!
er… can migrate there or not ah?
When MSK escaped, the MHA did not know what to say and therefore did not say it.
After that, they have one year to prepare, should they re-capture MSK, on what to say, when to say it and how to say it – but then again, they did not say it.
The capture of Mas Selamat will upturn the downturn……….so expect the share markets to weather the storm! No V shape recover only waiting for a fat U shape recovery,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,The bloody swine flu is the cause for concern now!
Will the authorities pay their Malaysia ISD ,,,,a REWARD?
Now safe to send the old folks to JB Homes for the aged as Mas Selamat is no longer staying there
What has happened to the $1 million reward? Conveniently forgotten?
Nothing mentioned in the Straits Times at all?
Only know how to claim credit where other people have done the job for us?
The Malaysian Police should demand from WKS the reward as advertised as well as the operating expenses incurred for the tracking and capture of MSK.
When, what, where, and how information is being released to the public is handled very seriously by governments the world over.
For example, releasing of certain information at certain times helps to draw the public attention from prevailing issues and away in order to stop and put a brake on activities that may otherwise become uncontrollable.
Now that Mas Selamat is back, should not waste his rare talent. Should not the government prepare him as magician for magic performance show in Youth Olympic Show ? Beware, Lu Che, here’s come Mas Selamat, Singapore’s best magician that can disappear in the great fortress, and all he need is just toilet roll, no gimmicks.
“What has happened to the $1 million reward?”
Can we check Mas Selamat’s bank account ?
It’s a well known fact that no fugitive can escape the long arms of Singapore law.
U can ran, but not for long. Good work!
I think Mas Selamat loses a lot of freebies from the Singapore govt by becoming a terrorist. He can’t get the GST rebate, S&C rebate, Singapore shares, bonus…,
help from NTUC voucher, help from Mendaki, pre-election sweetener, housing grant, retrenchment help from Ntuc, help from MP provided you don’t throw a chair or burn the MP etc….. many more benefits being a Singaporean, that is why many China man like to settle here.
Mas Selamat get nothing but achieve world-wide celebrity status as a genius escapee something that only old clown with billion dollars loss can match. Let’s give credit where due LOL.
51) tew ah seow on May 8th, 2009 5.34 pm I think Mas Selamat loses a lot of freebies from the Singapore govt by becoming a terrorist. He can’t get the GST rebate, S&C rebate, Singapore shares, bonus…,
help from NTUC voucher, help from Mendaki, pre-election sweetener, housing grant, retrenchment help from Ntuc, help from MP provided you don’t throw a chair or burn the MP etc….. many more benefits being a Singaporean, that is why many China man like to settle here.
LOL!
We were wondering why the Singapore side of the causeway was smoother over the past few weeks.
Thank you Malaysian Police.
Let us hope that there will be no more jams on Singapore’s side of the causeway.
I must first clarify my position. I am neither a PAP supporter nor a supporter of any opposition party.
Glad that Mas Selamat (MS) is found and caught. We should give credit to all, directly or indirectly involved, in the re-arrest operation.
When someone of such a high profile escaped from a detention centre, he must already had had an escape plan. In fact, MS used an improvised flotation device to escape from the north shore of S’pore to Johor. The efforts by the Singapore government to re-capture MS can be seen by more stringent checks along the Singapore borders. I do not believe in 100% no-failure guard against his escape.
The fact that MS is re-captured by the Malaysians does not mean the Singaporeans are incompetent. Once a fugitive is in a foreign land, to re-capture him by the local authorities will be harder. It is analogous to like one is harder to get found out if he is not hiding in your house.
DPM Wong Kan Seng speech in ISD Service Promotion Ceremony on April 15 clearly shows WKS is unaware of MS capture. The Johorians silence on the capture is understandable. MS is a key JI leader and is important to the Malaysians themselves for their own intelligence gathering.
We, as Singaporeans, should rejoice for MS capture and not pointing fingers on whose heads must roll. I feel 99% of all TOC articles are biased against the PAP.
hongjun
Its all out to show the extent of the incompetence of Wong Kan Seng and its Ministry of Home Affairs.
I just cannot belive that with that kind of poor performance, they are still in the power. Sad to have these kind of people as our leader.
to #55
These are people voices, which you won’t be able to hear in any MSM, and in most situation reflects the real situation of how normal people views the incident as should be. No cover up, no beautiful painting whatsoever. Just pure and honest opinions from singaporea.
>…this time, I doubt they will release Mat to Singapore.
No worry lah…like what Khaw said, it’s very convience for Wong to visit him in JB similarly to sinkees visting their parents in nursing homes
“>…this time, I doubt they will release Mat to Singapore.”
Who in the right frame of mind will release such a foreign talent unless all the tricks of the talent are revealed. Anyway, singapore doesn’t appreciate local talent and that’s why even Mas Selamat has to leave Singapore hurrily LOL.
“55) hongjun on May 8th, 2009 5.56 pm
I feel 99% of all TOC articles are biased against the PAP.”
So how do you feel msm articles ? which side are msm articles favourable 99% or 100% against most of the time ?
“The fact that MS is re-captured by the Malaysians does not mean the Singaporeans are incompetent. Once a fugitive is in a foreign land, to re-capture him by the local authorities will be harder. It is analogous to like one is harder to get found out if he is not hiding in your house.”
why talk about capture outside the house ? why not zeroing in on how the hell he managed to escape from such a small small house into a very BIG BIG house where he got caught. you speak as though MS is like your obedient son who comes in and out from a house to get a packet of mee rebus as and when he like it.
cmon guys. Msia deserves the credit for this alright. By just comparing the size of Msia to SG, its way much harder to catch MS there. And the proof that they did it, its amazing :D !
(Msia ISD 100x better than WKS and his wayang!) :D
Aiyoh, why so much luo suo……WKS explained already.
1) ISD give M’sia the tip to catch him
2) He escape using improvised floation device (I wonder what that is?)
3) Singapore is small country with large PORUS coast line
4) He already knows MSK kena caught on 1 April (April Fool’s Day) but cannot tell u coz this is sensitive information.
So it is all clear right! So let’s move on ok?
“50) sporean on May 8th, 2009 5.20 pm It’s a well known fact that no fugitive can escape the long arms of Singapore law.
U can ran, but not for long. Good work!”
why not put it this way, if you are sporean and as long as you break the law here, you can’t escape the long arms of the world.
Yes. The escape was wrong and Singapore is definitely in the wrong. The escape from a toilet has indeed baffled and stunned me, especially when MSK walked with a limp.
But, why keep looking back and bring up the past? My point is when credit is due, we should just give it and rejoice.
“My point is when credit is due, we should just give it and rejoice.”
You are dead right that credit should be given when due. while the heads of real lesser mortals did roll when MS escaped. now, to whom we should give the credit this time.
remember, it cannot be a case that it is always bright sunny day 24/7 for some while the blunt knocks, if there are any, are absorbed by others whenever the rain comes. need not apply only in the case of MS.
“But, why keep looking back and bring up the past?”
the past will always come back to haunt you when the ghosts keep on coming back for proper closure. same here, need not apply only in the case of MS.
According to malaysia, there is sensitive information regarding intelligence of 3 countries. Simply put, it needs time to sort it out, whatever it means.
As long as he’s caught, I don’t think it matters why it took so long.
Maybe they were fishing for another suspect along with him.
@ hongjun,
The public may give a “little” credit IF Mas was caught in S’pore.
BUT it was the Malaysians who did S’pore a huge favour,
not forgetting the Indonesians as well in Mas Selamat’s first escape.
Try to understand this and also the fact Mas found a way to slip out of S’pore.
Says a lot about our security system doesn’t it ?
When you help yourself to ridiculous remuneration, you ought to take the critisms
as well, right ? The problem with our PAP leaders is their failure to understand
that Big pay comes with Big responsibilities and Big time leadership also lah !
Some questions, thots and speculations:
1. MSK swam across the Straits of Johore. How and how long did he reached the northern SG shores from the detention centre? Was there another missed opportunity for quick recapture in this period?
2. MSK had a relative in Skudai. ISD developed this lead and passed that on to MSB. We may never know how much ISD was involved from this point onwards, unless someone write a book about it. The greater credit should go to the agencies for the plans to exploit this. Maybe the million dollars were used here.
3. The Malaysians said Indon agencies were involved too. Maybe MSK travelled to Indon too in these time he was free.
4. WKS speech at ISD promo ceremony doesn’t say anything abt what he knows abt MSK’s capture. But it seems that ISD do not have full access to MSK. He is still MSB’s property. MSK’s extradiction is also uncertain, if at all.
5. MSK may have been captured in secrect so as to continue the illusion to some people that he is still free. These some people are possibly targets of the overall surveillance and operational plans. Maybe they were captured too, and in secret also.
6. Finally I really wish a movie will be made of the Escape and Capture of MSK.
# 64
You know why you are baffled and stunned about the Limping Mas Selamat escape from that toilet window?…….Notice him wearing some sort of bracelet maybe from OWELL………..good for limping , pains etc.
mr hongjun
this is not the first time they screw up, you cant say its all bias without evidences.
1. huang na murderer walked back to Malaysian home bypassing singapore immigration without passported.
2. richard nkf chairman took a flight out to Hongkong before trial, sold most of his singapore assets.
3. a citizen went to vietnam without passport
the problem with singapore government is they multi-task these critical resource and in the end, they cannot focus on the job. look at the neighbourhood police post, it seems never open. when it is open, there is only 1 or 2 police inside.
when things go wrong, they never admit its their mistake, they will say, the toilet grill is not there blah blah. when public pushes for responsibility, they fire some low ranking staffs. people up the chain should shoulder all these problems and review their policies instead of cooking so many excuses. if these staffs are overworked, then maybe they should hire more.
we are not happy because they always never admit their mistakes and ask us to MOVE ON.
Just look at how LBW treated Coach Liu after Olympics and now? All those reports and interviews about reconciliation are all FAKE.
We are angry about hypocrisy too. So much hypocrisy in politics.
When Mas Selamat went missing the Stock Market was having a bad performance so hopefully his arrest announcement will spook the market
Where is ex lawyer David RASIF……………akan datang!
Just wanted to say, if you’re in the intel business, you don’t publicize your success. To them one event prevented is better than taking curtain calls. Also Malaysia may be better at interrogation than Singapore. As to how or why let’s just keep it at that. The key thing being one less terrorist on the street. It doesn’t matter who catches him. The fact is no one wants him in their backyard. You think the Malaysians want him running around their backyard?
Yes. I do agree with the case on the selection of Coach of the Year. Lee Bee Wah should not because of past unhappiness with Coach Liu and just don’t even consider nominating Liu. We are looking for Coach of the Year and not Personality of the Year.
Many times, I also compare the Obama Administration with the Singapore government and often, I find Obama’s is many times proactive and pro-citizens. I do not deny that.
For this current case, I still feel credit should be given, and of course, to the many ISD personnel and the Malaysian counterparts. I don’t include WKS in the credit list.
hongjun
#73 noname
I totally agree with you. Sometimes, those Intel guys don’t even know what the heck they are working on! Only the super high up people cleared for Top Secret will know the picture (or part of it).
hongjun
If we are under Terrorist Threats & Plots, then probably we should re-introduce VC – Vigilante Corp in every GRC or constituents………wake up call!
Maybe their Bahasa Melayu iinterrogation is understood by MSK compared to Chang Hua Yi here???
Didnt WKS say MS is STILL IN SINKAPO. Didn’t he said MS canok escape coz he dont haf a pasport.
Is there another lacks at Sg Custom/ICA??
Wonder what are the additional charges that MSK will face …..maybe
1. AWOL.?
2. No Valid Travel Documents ?
3. Overstaying in Malaysia?
The whole of Malaysians ISD, Ministers Must be laughing off when Mas Selamat revealed how he escaped from S’pore.
How s’pore forces + ministers + gurkhas + public + “terrorist experts” cannot even catch a limping man.
If Mas Selamat swam across to Johor, it showed s’pore immigration officers, marine polices & s’pore navy are sleeping.
Malaysian current Home affair minister Hishammuddin bin Tun Hussein (Age: 48) has showed & proven he is must more capable than Wong K S (Age: 63).
Ah Wong…..time for you to resign & catch spider at home.
During the past year, I have visited Malaysia on a few occasions by road. Each time, it was announced to all visitors that Mas Selamat has arrived in Malaysia. I saw a sign SELAMAT DATANG (Selamat has come) at all the immigration counters.
I posted this in my blog, http://www.tankinlian.blogspot.com
This is just a joke. For those who are not familiar with Malay, Datang means come, and Selemat Datang means Welcome.
Maybe they are laughing because they are big and we are small “pulau” cannot even jaga but want to act big and welcome foreign talents!
Oops….I mean #77
Who said no more jokes on Mas Selamat.??… these jokes have been circulating in the net….
One year ago…….
Propective Informer: Wong, did you know that Mas Selamat is in Johor?
WKS: Zhun boh? I thought my people said that he’s still in Singapore?
Prospective Informer: Huh?? You don’t know meh? Everybody knows, and you don’t know meh? Check this.. you see this everywhere in Johor… “Selamat Datang Johor!!” (Selamat VisitsJohor!!)
Six months ago….
Reporter: Do you believe Mas Selamat is still here?
LHL: We have no reason to believe that he has left.
End of 2008
Reporter: Where do you think Mas Selamat is?
WKS: He is either in Singapore or out of Singapore
One day in April 2009
LHL: No more shit about Mas Selamat and the Johor jungle! Make sure he doesn’t escape!!
WKS: Don’t worry boss, there’s no toilet in the Johor Jungle
Question: How come, the Malaysian police can capture Mas Selamat in the jungle?
Answer: Mas Selamat is toilet-trained but not jungle-trained.
The Malaysians should have made more political capital out of this. They shld have asked the new PM Najib to hand them over, and with the photo op, the New ST could caption something like, ” Now, make sure you don’t lose him this time!!!”
Our checkpoints,our RSN and Marine Police were all unable to prevent him from getting out of SIN! How proud we shd be!
I wonder if he is still limping?
Agree with #80 “security experts” doesn’t really mean real experts…
We all should have thought of that. No Sporean will dislike JB, is a wonderful place, full of jungles and tasty fruits like durain, many places to shop and buy DVD, will not go hungry, somemore near enough for relative to visit during weekend. MSK must have evaluated these good points and feel safer in johor than some far ulu places. His only dissapointment should be missout on the durian season which is about to start, but he should be contented with the mango period. Did he put on weight ?
I get the same feeling of frustration and anger when
Josie Lau, SM Thio and WKS talks.
Is it just me or can somebody explain to why I feel like that?
The credit should go mainly to the Malaysian govt for helping to arrest the terrorist n putting under their custody. Sporean as a token of appreciation for the help by the Malaysian govt should often go to Jb to buy grocery n best buy a house in the Iskandar project.
I would think it would be foolish of ISD to immediately announce MS’s capture. It makes good sense to hold him quietly while investigating all other connections and contacts of MS’s network. ISD must also leave some of the casual contacts intact and unawares that they are in ISD files so that ISD can tap from these contacts in future in case they need to warm up the trail again. Usually these contacts are peripheral and may not even know that they were that close to MS. So there’s really no hurry to announce to the world the capture of MS. If anything, I think the announcement now may have something to do with political developments coming in June. Keep your ears open.
On the Way to Atonement « Chemical Generation Singapore
[...] common initial myopic reaction was why the government made public the arrest only now. Some people didn’t guess that one [...]
This may be a related thing: http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_364295.html
aiyoyo
this MAS will join the elites? since he smarter than the elites here.
by the way, is it because the info/news about MAS caught (came here by
improvised flotation device), so that’s why reach us so late?
is internet not used by elites, dont know?
or is it still using 飞鸽传书?
sad story.
aiyoyo
Hi!
I feel that the delay was probably caused by some negotiation going on between Malaysia and Singapore. Perhaps Singapore paid Malaysia millions to be able to have him back here at Whitley, just for the face.
My family and I speculate that he was accidentally killed, and they’ve found a scapegoat for him, in other words, they haven’t really captured him. Then again, this is a far-fetched thought. ;D
I do agree with you; I feel that the most likely reason for the delay was to be able to get as much out of him as possible without being pressurised by the public. Makes sense to me.
All in all, though, his capture doesn’t bother me. Even if he were to bomb Singapore, I wouldn’t mind.
The Sun’s gonna explode in a few (billion) years anyway.
Cheers,
Jayashri
Obviously the JB police would want to hold and interrogate MSK and find out about the JI network that helped him in JB before announcing to the whole world they caught him. If Singapore caught a wanted terrorist hiding in say Jurong, we wouldn’t pass him to anyone until we find out all the people who helped him in Singapore.
” … on Thursday, Mr Wong, who is also the Home Affairs Minister, received a phone call informing him that The Straits Times had asked the Internal Security Department to confirm their scoop which came from its Kuala Lumpur correspondent Leslie Lopez, that Mas Selamat has been arrested by the Malaysians. As the story had leaked, we had no choice but to confirm it. …” (http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_374549.html)
Ha! What a joke!
My theory is this.
SG badly needed to release the good news. But MY bargaining for some piece if not all of the $1m, or something else.
(It seems that SG was not informed of the arrest on 1 Apr but only informed some days later, and so it was an entirely local MY operation.)
SG of course not willing to be held hostage, so SG gets someone to leak the capture that eventually gets to this ST freelancer in KL, one Leslie Lopez. And as the leak happened in KL, not SG, so no one gets slam with ISA. Its KL problem.
And if ST dont publish it, almost certainly some others like Reuters, AP, AWSJ, etc, would, and so MY have to relent and agree to reveal the capture. So now SG can rejoice and make congratulatory noises.
But MY still has the person, which may or may not matter to SG.
Its always have been a dirty game, and everyone plays it.
Since when did ST get scoops? All their scoops are from the gahmen lah.
My theory is that MY did get tips from SG on where MSK migh be. Who would believe that MY police so free help SG capture a wanted criminal. They have their own problems to worry about and MSK was targetting SG, not MY so he wont be that high a priorit compared to MY’s own most wanted list.
So SG give them tips and since we cannot operate in MY, we had to let MY run the show. When the tips turn out to be accurate MSK was caught MY dont want to release him but want to hold him indefinitely to expose the local MY network.
But WKS wait one month tulan cannot take it anymore organise this leak. Now MY lan lan have to confirm they caught MSK now must give publicly a date to return him to SG.
It shows either the PM or DPM is lying.
[quote]
DPM Wong Kan Seng speech in [color=red] ISD Service Promotion Ceremony on April 15 clearly shows WKS is unaware of MS capture.[/color] The Johorians silence on the capture is understandable.
[/quote]
———————————————–
[quote]
Mas Selamat’s re—arrest not the end of Singapore’s problem
Channel NewsAsia – Sunday, May 10
SINGAPORE: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has said Singapore’s security challenge is to keep up its guard without getting fatigued or complacent.
In his first remarks on the capture of Mas Selamat Kastari, Mr Lee said Singapore must not think that the re—arrest of the Jemaah Islamiyah (JI) leader is the end of its problem.
He said the terrorism situation in Southeast Asia is under control, but the threat is far from over. He added that the price of security is eternal vigilance.
In a statement to the media on Saturday, the Prime Minister also said information
about the [color=red] capture of Mas Selamat on 1 April was not made public earlier, because of a prior agreement with the Malaysian authorities.[/color]
Mr Lee said he was told about the arrest by his Malaysian counterpart Najib Razak [color=red] on 11 April during an impromptu four—eye lunch in Thailand’s Pattaya after the ASEAN meeting was called off due to demonstrations.
He thanked Datuk Seri Najib for Malaysia’s generous support and help and told him Singapore’s Deputy Prime Minister and Home Minister Wong Kan Seng had earlier told him of the arrest.[/color]
Mr Lee said he was happy and relieved that Mas Selamat had been found and arrested before he could do any harm.
But Malaysia had asked Singapore to keep this information quiet for the time being, so Singapore respected this and held the information very tightly in order not to jeopardise the operation.
But on May 7 afternoon during a weekly pre—Cabinet meeting lunch, Mr Wong received a phone call informing him that the Internal Security Department (ISD) had received a request from the The Straits Times to confirm a scoop that Mas Selamat had been arrested by the Malaysian authorities.
As the news had leaked, the Singapore government had no choice but to confirm the story.
[/quote]
Forget all the speculation and JB nonsense. It’s all a smokescreen, possibly for Malaysia as well.
The real reason is probably this: Guantanamo Bay is being closed down now. All prisoners are being sent back to their country of origin, and both Malaysia & Sg are together in this whole charade, bullcrapping about “capturing” Mas Selamat and the others. All have probably been returned, and it’s now up to the 2 countries to keep the detainees’ mouths shut about Guantanamo Bay.
Simple as that. The dude was never on the run. He was given over to Guantanamo Bay.
There are lots of security lapses, breaches, loopholes, etc still available right here in Singapore. Some “security experts” brushed it off saying it can’t happen here.. Tsk, tsk… so much for their ignorance… If there are no lapses, breaches, loopholes, etc then the crooks would be out of job and the terrorists would be dumb-founded and all will quit in unity…
improvised flotation device ???? Maybe MAS can consider OWn patent for its future business living,,,not bad too…at least he(himself)used it to swim across..
SG gov has created a monster out of Mas Selamat which they now cannot handle.What has Mas Selamat done to Singapore, has he been convicted in court for any offence….this hooha and more about him being capable of creating trouble for Singapore has not been proven….they might as well say he caused the monetary crisis that has criple the economy….you believe? A dangerous man was caught when asleep in short and t-shirt in a kampong…..is this a terrorist? what weapons does he carry with him…He don’t have a body guard for being the most dangerous terrorist….Ah long also have bodyguard….He is more like a scare mascot to make singaporean cowed into a fence like a swine.
well mas selamat is caught and i think we should give him a second chance well he might be a terrorist but but he is still a human and akive we should probably just interrogate him and if he does that we should take serious action against him
Leave a Reply
Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments
It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan
More In Uncategorized
- Rebutting Law Minister K Shanmugam
- Challenge of communication
- TOC & Talk Politics hold successful Year in Review forum
- “Live” from Post Museum – TOC’s Year End Review
- The Fajar Generation
Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments
It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan
More In Uncategorized
- Rebutting Law Minister K Shanmugam
- Challenge of communication
- TOC & Talk Politics hold successful Year in Review forum
- “Live” from Post Museum – TOC’s Year End Review
- The Fajar Generation

He was caught with 3 others in Johor outskirts.
However, it is claimed that the lead came from ISD, but these things are sensitive, therefore, not much info would be released.
Nevertheless, job well done by our neighbours again. But this time, I doubt they will release Mat to Singapore.
They might just like him so much, they’ll keep him there in Malaysia forever, or at least for a very long time.
And this will be a serious blow to Singapore and the ISD. Perhaps…perhaps..thats the reason for the not so excited party.
On the whole, people should be happy, that these guys are caught and locked away safely.