Saturday, May 16, 2009 0:03

MP had no empathy

In Main Stories • 3,909 views • 96 Comments

Have you been rudely treated at a Meet The People Session? Please write in to us. We’ll be happy to hear your views. Email us at : theonlinecitizen@gmail.com .

The following is a letter by LAWRENCE LOH KIAH MUAN published in the online version of the Today newspaper, 13 May 2009, “MP had no empathy”.

It started with Member of Parliament (MP) Seng Han Thong being set on fire. Then came MP Denise Phua who was threatened by a rag-and-bone man. Recently, MP Cynthia Phua was subjected to a display of violence by a constituent.

Although these incidents are disturbing and a cause for concern, I wonder whether the constituents are solely to be blamed.

Allow me to relate my personal experience.

In February 2001, my older son died in a naval accident whilst serving National Service. In that year, my younger son was due for enlistment. A friend, a very active grassroots member, suggested that I approach my MP, for help in exploring the possibility of getting an exemption for my younger son. I was reluctant but he went ahead to fix an appointment for me at the Meet-The-People Session (MPS). I subsequently relented and he accompanied me there. It was in March 2001. That was my first appearance at a MPS, and it was to be my last.

I waited until midnight before I could meet the MP. Prior to this, he was given the case paper which detailed the objective of the meeting and the circumstances of my case.

When I entered the room, his first remark was “Yes, what can I do for you?”. There was no attempt at offering a word of sympathy or condolence. I then related my situation and said that both my wife and I were very traumatised.

His next remark “What traumatic, after two months, you won’t be traumatic?”. With that, I decided to end the meeting. And with that, my respect for him hit ground zero. I was too stunned and grief-stricken to react. Someone who was less-controlled and less-measured than me could have flown into a rage and become violent.

MPs are elected or appointed to serve the constituents. People who attend the MPS are those who have real problems and need help. In a lot of instances, they are stressed, distressed and troubled. What they need is a caring soul, a helping hand, a gentle voice, and words of hope and encouragement. To dispense these, MPs need good interpersonal skills and a high EQ. Arrogance, a patronizing, chiding and belittling attitude, aloofness and lack of empathy will only trigger acts of rashness and violence. Many of our politicians have a high IQ, some are scholars. However, a high IQ is not the only attribute needed in a political career. A high EQ is equally, if not more critical, especially when it comes to dealing with the constituents.

In my case, I would have felt good if my MP could have been a warm and caring person. If he could have been empathetic, consoling and helpful. All these qualities can only come from the heart, not from the mind.

How many of our MPs can stand up and be counted for this?

1. Empathy, where?
  2. Farewell, great JBJ

96 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang)
May 16, 2009 0:18

MPs must remember whether they are rightfully elected or parachuted in, that they are there to serve the people. Their position is NOT an entitlement or a reward for all the mugging they did in school. It’s a responsibility, and a heavy one.

Singaporean
May 16, 2009 0:25

Well, at least you get to see your MP. I have no such luck and have to contend with seeing his assistant’s assistant who proceeded to draft a letter full of grammatical errors and spelling errors which I help to correct. At the end of it, the outcome is still the same and the MP I did not see went on to become a full minister.

very hsien
May 16, 2009 0:35

MPs have been getting a good life for too long. They should be full time and not part time MPs. They should allocate more times for the meet the people sessions.

I know one very old MP in Tanjong Pagar who has not conducted MPS for years. He always has someone else to stand in for him. No wonder other MPs follow his bad example.

Doublespeak
May 16, 2009 0:40

They shouldn’t call it meet the people session, should change it to

“Meet the Emperor/Empress session”. Low lifes please queue up. Thank you

Singaporean2
May 16, 2009 0:56

Is MPS compulsory?

piggyback
May 16, 2009 1:05

“MP are rightfully elected”???? Please lah, many MPs are going through the backdoor, piggyback into the parliment. No one elected them in the 1st place.

MP also hsien lah
May 16, 2009 1:06

Actually hor, many of these MPs are very reluctant MPs. They must have been “persuaded don’t know how many times” before they agreed to be PAP candidate.

Some of these MPs seriously lack EQ. But what to do, if PAP don’t select them, they will have no new candidates and no political “renewal”. Because many have turned down PAP, no matter how strong PAP persuaded them.

So the MPS has become a chore to them. When it is a chore and tedious, your mood is also no good, no tact etc.

But anyway as long as the opposition can give 50% walkovers and the people 66% mandate at elections then everything is fine, whatever their attitude during MPS. And collect their $200K+ annual allowance for a part time work!

David
May 16, 2009 1:08

Our MPs got high IQ? This is the greatest joke I have ever heard here. Look at their fake qualifications, many Singaporeans are equally capable than them. A leader is elected because he is compassionate, and that is how the older leaders were elected. Unfortunately, as years gone by, greed has change a person drastically resulting in lack of EQ. This was constantly displayed by our MPs statements in parliament. The nonchalant attitude and even talked down on peasants as lesser mortals. By default, they should not be allowed another term again, Singapore cannot afford to sink further after the last election. I am trusting alternative parties more than the current pap now, greed has written all over their faces and I detest their cockiness over the years.

kf
May 16, 2009 1:19

It may be a postdated issue, but I think given the reach of the internet today, no harm reopening the episode. I expect a response from the policy makers for an investigation, and full replies published. No apologies needed from the MP if what the article mentioned is found to be true. He/ She just needs to step down.

Xiong
May 16, 2009 1:21

sadly….

Bertrand Lim
May 16, 2009 1:39

I agree on MPs being too jaded or too full of themselves. How many are really there to serve the people? Rather they act like beacons of self righteousness. People approached them on issues that are really heart felt and they respond with indifference, judgement and contempt.
I once went with my friend to see his MP about his drink driving offence, he sent a drunk friend home, after a wedding dinner, and was caught. The purpose was just for the MP to write a letter to help appeal. The MP assistant said, drink driving is a serious offence. Yes, granted, but seriously, my friend who was arrested, handcuffed to the police station didnt already know that? Spent the night there, and was bailed out by his mother, she didnt already give him a hard time? He was a sole bread winner for the family, and he made a mistake. Who doesnt? MPs dont?
People approached MPs for help for real issues in their lifes, even if they cant, dont want to, the last thing they should do is judge, condemn and disrespect.

MicMac
May 16, 2009 2:11

Who is the MP ? I am so tired of Singaporeans “speaking up” without the guts to include full details. How can I know if this is not another made up story ?
Name the MP !

LEE_pui_pui
May 16, 2009 2:44

Yeah, I personally know of the laocharbo MP (one who almost kenna hit by chair) who also happens to work in one of the supermarket monopoly. Her parliament speech are all written by her kar-kia. She’s got no substance, except her ability to shout and terrorise ppl. But somehow she always managed to put on a superficial fake “pitiful” look whenever she appears on tv, thus giving false impression of her approachability. Thus I am not surprised at all that ppl want to hit her with chair or anything they can grab hold of.

Aki
May 16, 2009 4:16

Yes name the f******* MP and all of us in this forum will nail him. We cannot allow such PAP attitude go so easily. The STTA saga is already enough to show how arrogant LBW and her PAP collegues were. Just vote them out. And let Vivian track down all the internet ‘infdels’ and charge us and see how effective he can be being as the Minister. Bloody hopeless!

CJ
May 16, 2009 6:40

I think to be FAIR to both Citizens & genuinely helpful MPs,
I suggest interviews be video recorded to safeguard both parties.
This way, at least interviewer & interviewee will be MINDFUL of their conduct towards one another.

Alternatyively mean time, one can always meet the MP or whoever stands in for the MP with a mini MP3 audio recorder.

Lightning Strikes Again
May 16, 2009 6:43

It took me more than a year not to feel the grief of losing my father and it has been ten years now and I still miss him dearly. This MP is totally unfit to be a people’s representative to say such insensitive words.

aiyoyo
May 16, 2009 7:01

aiyoyo

why is the MP in 1st place?

what’s their duty for commoners?

what’s their track record for helping commoners?

how much are they paid/taking monthly?

aiyoyo

kea
May 16, 2009 7:42

I know Lawrence Loh personally. A senior executive in a publicly listed company, he speaks the truth. I know him as a very good man. So, it is a definitely very sad story.

pen is mightier
May 16, 2009 8:06

Maybe MSM should sent undercover reporters “pretending” to be “peasants” seeking help in the “meet-the-peasants” to see if what is alleged incident is true…afterall they did this to hotels and retail to see if their service is up to par.
Yes I would expect the MSM to run an article soon to dispute what LAWRENCE LOH KIAH MUAN said in his letter…damage control…either that this whole incident will be totally ignored.

Ang Kong Kia
May 16, 2009 8:07

Mr Loh, as you had stated, your turn to meet the MP (what constituency huh?) was midnight after hours of waiting.

Put yourself in his shoes: if you have been sitting in the room let say since 7pm listening to residents who are asking for finance assistance, parking fines waiver, noisy neighbours, waiver of late payment penalty by town council or other unreasonable demands … etc etc and explaining to them what can be done, what could not be granted etc, what would be your state of body and mind by the time you reach midnight.

Your case paper may have been given to him just right before the meeting, or worse, he did not have time to read the paper given the piles of cases in front of him. Unless he is a saint, he would not have time to tune his mind to zero in to your situation and … like what you were expecting, some kind of sympathy.

Furthermore, he may be one of those MPs who reluctanly joined in and have no heart to serve the people. The reaction to you were not surprising.

TrueBlood Singapore
May 16, 2009 8:19

Is Useless for you to See MPs, they only got Meal Coupon and their Useless Grassroot with limited power!

If out of Job – Go e2I
If can’t pay HDB – HDB, CPF Board
If can’t pat Road Tax – LTA

I don’t see they worth $14,000 by doing Part time! They are seldom elected by their own people and induced into thru GRC by Study Hard!

andylau
May 16, 2009 8:26

My family went to meet a certain mp during a meet the mp night. We were hoping to ask for advise on seeking leniency on a small legal case. He put on a stood up and indifferent look throughout the session, which my dad called a zombie face. We didnt expect much from that guy anyway but wtf this as*hole not only didn’t help but even further rub salt to the wound by influencing with his authority to impose further fine to our case. We only found out from another legal representative later on. This fellow must be trying to get promotion by impressing LKY with his futile act. We had completely lost faith in whatsoever rubbish call MP session. To conclude, do beware of what u say to these dogs, they will bite u when u r least prepared.

Eve
May 16, 2009 9:27

Time is money. Every minute of your time with the MP is precious (to them). Besides the MPs have to go through reports of multiple companies that they hold directorships. Solving people’s problems is not quite the priority in their busy lives, no direct monetary gains. So, let’s be realistic and do not burden our A team too much, they have to manage this 1st world country with billions in the kitty and try very hard not to lose billions of it too (like cutting loss on BOA). Solve your own problem and get out of their elite f**king face. that is if you want some face.

richard
May 16, 2009 9:29

Unfortunately I have to agree with “die die must say” that it is true the MP wouldn’t know what Mr Loh’s problem is so Mr Loh probably is not (so much) offended by this question “Yes, what can I do for you?” Mr Loh, like me, is very angry with the MP’s follow-up remarks.

Fortunately Mr Loh has a supporter in me that this MP needs to be shaken up for the low EQ he has. I hope “die die must say” will empathise with Mr Loh’s situation, otherwise, this “culture of complaint” cannot be stopped with people having low EQ roaming around in Singapore. Can anyone who has never complaint before please stand up?

blackfeline
May 16, 2009 10:39

not just any MP..most of e incumbent government’s MP..I had my brushed with rude,patronizing so called leaders at e sessions..including one idiot who will cry at a drop of a pin..e clue is clear enuff..fortunately I don’t believe in courtesy when dealing with such craps..b brave n tell them in e face u do not appreciate their arrogance..c their jaw drop! Trust me..remove fear n speak up! Take ownership of your basic human right! No one has e rite 2 intimidate anyone! You want 2 deal with such people ..no need record degree just b bold! We have being 2 nice for far too long! Time to wake up!

blackfeline
May 16, 2009 10:46

correction..brush n rocket degree ..tq

tom
May 16, 2009 11:04

That why PAP is aka WAYANG PARTY.

Especially during functions involving PAP, the residential council (RC) will activate its memebers (meals & transport provided) to the function locations to make it “look crowded”.

Meet The People Session has LOST its meaning. Wait for hours & see the MP less than a minute. Prior to that, the MP’s dogs will take your IC and question you. They will try to brain wash you if you are asking for financial assistance.

The MPs are alike….junior or senior.

PM Lee has LOST it ploy to have genuine MPs unlike his father.

blackfeline
May 16, 2009 11:17

his father? He lose e plot long ago! The current breed of arrogant MPs is a legacy of all his doings! Rude parents breed rule children! What do u spect?

ArtReach
May 16, 2009 11:23

Reading your story, my first reaction is the MP you met was not fit to serve the people.

It is a pity that you waited 8 years to tell us the bad experience. A letter with details to the prime minister or the newspapers would be most desirable and there would be more impact. An opportunity for the PAP Govt or the mass to do something had indeed missed.

Whether he is still around or not, name him. If he could be so indifferent towards you, he would and will behave in the same manner towards other people and I am sure there will be more people standing up for you.

You have your reason not to name the MP, unfortunately, not hearing the other side of the story, I will refrain from making judgement.

Thinktok
May 16, 2009 11:32

I do sympathise with Mr Loh and there is no doubt in my mind he is telling the truth. The MP must be very tired and thought that every problems are nearly the same: fines, jobs, bills, deferment etc.

We must also accept that that not all MPs are up to the mark. Surely the ruling party would wish for MPs or senior civil servants with more EQs such as the recent cooking case.

I lived in the East Coast, and there is one MP who loves to sing and fraternise with people. He ordered me around without regards to the case in question and my status. I politely told him off and he never disturbed me again.

My attitude is help them to help us.

Regards

brainwave
May 16, 2009 11:38

Dear fellow tocs,

I empathize with Lawrence. That MP that he saw can’t even be bothered to offer a alternative solution or even take this special situation to parliament to debate or encourage that should a family loss of a son in the cause of National Service, the other son should be considered for a exemption or at least a “non-combatant” role.

Believe me, if he really cares, he could just email the Minister of Defence and ensure that second son get a “non-combatant role” till the issue of whether second son could be exempted from NS could be debated in Parliament.

I believe that US has a somewhat similar law (Saving Private Ryan).

Can we take Lawrence’s case and have it further represented by a petition or something? I don’t know how to do this, but I am sure somebody could advice.

Let TOC give Lawrence a bigger voice.

Bob Wong

brainwave
May 16, 2009 11:42

Sorry, I just realized incident was in 2001… still I think it could help
another family in future or at least let the Meet the People MPs know that we are watching them.

Why wayang if not interested?
May 16, 2009 11:46

Its clear that the MPS is but a wayang show only by our elites. Our part time MPs just go through the motion and after that collect their fat cat allowances at the end of the month.

toiletmatter
May 16, 2009 11:57

lots of talking here but who will truly act?

mike
May 16, 2009 12:01

i have no faith at all to the MPs. so many things happened lately and accumulating these few years from among the government departments and MPs, it is very sad and i begin to lose interest and having no faith with the present ruling party.

unless thing change and change fast otherwise what have been achieved is going down to the drain before you realised it.

Gilbert
May 16, 2009 12:06

I believe that MPs have a tough job especially now.

They have to deal with all kinds of problems – financial assistance, jobs, flat issue, domestic fight and others that they became a general duty officer.

What has looking for jobs to do with your MP? Come on, maybe people should be guided to go to the right agencies to settle their issues. It also creates false hopes for people seeing their MPs as if he is someone in deity who can do wonders.

By having MPS sessions, people will come down to see their MPs for all kinds of issues right down to a fine ticket that it makes the sessions ridiculous.

I believe that MPS should be scraped and that MPs do more door to door sessions. People should be given the right information to go to relevant agencies to sort out their isssues. Right now, MPs are like doing the jobs of many govt agencies here acting as their middle men. This should not be the case and I think it cheapens what MPs can do effectively like bringing up important issues in PArliament for the people on the ground.

It is no wonder that PArliament sessions are so poorly attended as MPs all sleep at 2am especially after an MPS session.

liesbuster
May 16, 2009 12:30

“His next remark “What traumatic, after two months, you won’t be traumatic?”.

Judging from his remark, I won’t be surprised even if he had said:
“Why so traumatic? Thank goodness you only lost one son and not two!”

winstoncheng
May 16, 2009 12:35

Lawrence,

To be fair to PAP, to be fair to the good MPs, I think you should name the MPs.

I think if someone complained about bad service that your company give, you definitely would want to know who this person is. It would not be fair to have this culprit drag the entire company’s reputation down.

WeC
May 16, 2009 12:41

And now our Gahmen wants to benchmark military personnel to civil service pay.. with taxpayers money (that Ho Jinx just lost $2.6b and had Goodyear take the crap)… Civil services?? hmm… I wonder how many of those laid back warrant officers can actually do a private sector role.

I wait in anticipation to see how they will peg them.. maybe to the top6 engineer/administrators/project coordinator’s salary.

jadedsingaporean
May 16, 2009 12:43

Indeed! “Be Thankful you still have one son!”

Lesser mortals should not complain so much. You want the higher mortals to strike you with lightning?

Zheng Xi
May 16, 2009 12:51

Hi all,

Thank you for your comments. We’re currently trying to contact Lawrence, and would appreciate any information on how we can reach him.

Zheng Xi

Better MPs Next Time
May 16, 2009 13:39

Part of an MP role is to be the people’s consellor and support . Not everyone has the qualities needed to do well all the time. The MP is also a human being with his or her own job, albeit being paid a tidy sum for the MP role.

The PAP’s selection process is not always perfect otherwise you will not have people in the likes of Lee Bee Wah around – her EQ is forgivable, but her latest comments on integrity and professionalism bring out her IQ to be suspect, despite the wise counsel she must have had from cabinent ministers; it seems that she does know how to learn from past episodes, and this is the worry for citizens – to have low IQ MPs in her likes.

With the current recession and job scaricity, MPs and NMP will have to do their best to shape up and prove themselves worthy of their appointment and pay.

The recent clamoring of some candidates to be appointed NMP could be the clear sign that monetary reward is a factor on their minds – they would think it easy work and good publicity for their future careers and businesses – hence the unprecedented lobbies even unshamelessly for themselves.

It is really hoped that the PAP will have a better system to select their MPs the next time around.

doctorwho
May 16, 2009 13:56

People wake up, we have rights, MP is nobody without its supporters (thats citizen like us). Make your vote count in the coming election and spread the words to your friends and family. Talk in the MRT loudly about their bad deeds, no worry i do that all the time.

ilovejoochiat
May 16, 2009 14:27

To 12 micmac,
not sure leh where the MP is but see if u like my nick lah. ha ha, then u may i love joo chiat. my greay anut used to live there.

SZ
May 16, 2009 14:30

“We the people are the rightful masters of both Congress and the courts, not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow the men who pervert the Constitution.” ~ A.Lincoln

JUST4FUN
May 16, 2009 15:34

LET the VOTERs , decided which party are the BEST to serve them.

Singaporeans always talk and talk, and never do the right thing for themselves.

For many years of ONE great party, many still do not realise the truth of voting for
their own sakes……

Just show them, U are the masters and not them…….

Kenneth Jeyaretnam
May 16, 2009 15:34

Well said, SZ.

All governments ultimately govern only with the consent of the governed. It will be no good bitching about arrogance or indifference of your elected representatives after the event if, when you are given the choice of a credible and competent alternative, you continue to vote for the same people you are complaining about.

Yang
May 16, 2009 15:44

Don’t just talk and no action taken during GE. All of you ask for it. Do you know PAP is (PAY AND PAY) till the country broke!!!! Pray hard that they have common sense.

andylau
May 16, 2009 16:27

We already need to form a stampede with substantial size, something like a 30% deciding power, all with iron determination, for this will justify the reason for voicing out all that pesky grumbling and squabbling on this forum once & for all.

ArtReach
May 16, 2009 17:29

When next election comes, majority of the people will go back to fundamentals and again vote for the PAP. Some people may not like to see it but without credible alternative parties, we just have to live with the same Government. The PAP Government is good at self-renewal, I have to admit.

TrueBlood Singapore
May 16, 2009 18:08

Most of our MPs are elected by LKY, not the people in their area. So why concern abt the people!

If LKY go to heaven! What will happened then?

liesbuster
May 16, 2009 18:21

If LKY go to heaven, heaven will cease to be heaven.

isa
May 16, 2009 18:25

Shame on the MP.
Shame on the people who voted him in.

Angelina
May 16, 2009 18:31

Does Spore has a credible & fair or open system for opposition to even speak a word of truth? Look at the number of oppos sued to bankrupcy or thrown in prison. Do people think that after going through all the education esp if the family had to make big sacrifices, any scholar or talent will stand in opposition to PAP? Not only that, the million dollar carrot is always dangled for these scholars. So the correct statement should be Spore has credible oppositions bought over by PAP! Ludicrous but true?

Even the electorate is not spared. There had even been posters stating that they voted PAP for the sake of securing a HDB flat. The politics is so dirty, not even the strongest detergent can work. So its not about lack of credible oppostion or people not voting wisely is it?

fairplay
May 16, 2009 20:42

Thanks Lawrence, thanks TOC, thanks the internet. If not for blogs like this the woes of the citizens will never be heard. The MP’s are still living in their ivory towers. If the MP is reading this, will he care to comment.

prettyplace
May 16, 2009 20:57

My condolences and sympathies to you Mr Low and to your family.

It must have been the ship accident or the SOF officer drowning. A friend of mine was involved in the incident if it was the latter.

You should have highlighted this incident earlier and Singaporens would know more about our MP’s personalities.

This is what we will get if we keep forgetting the past and look forward to their handouts during elections. 2 months and we will forget all trauma.

So Mr Loh who was this 2MONTHS MP.

Edwin
May 16, 2009 23:34

Yes, I do agree sometimes MPs here are just plain poker face and has no much expression of feeling.

I recalled many years ago,11 years to be exact, I was doing my higher diploma correspondence course with a private institution here. A NS letter came and I was to be drafted into BMT.

I wrote to my school for help and got a letter of proof that I am their student. I ONLY NEEDED A 6months delay but was refused by SAF. The reason? the replied me saying..well not all cases a real, we have encountered people asking school to write in FAKE letters… I was dumb folded! What is SAF Intelligence branch for?

So I went to my MP for help! That was in Aljunied GRC, he has since retired. Yes he did help me to get my deferment, but during that session the grassroot leaders was there to screen every single case, this grassroot leader heard my case and said..”simple case leh, you could have talk to MINDEF yourself” Hello! If Mindef can grant me a deferment do I still need to see my MP?

During the meeting with my MP, he was quiet all the while, never utter a single word. I greeted my MP, evening Sir, (no respond from him..stuck up?) He flipped thru my file (I was explaining the reason of me being there..yet no respond from him.. machiam he is dumb!).

He closed my file and said “OK” pass the file to his assistant.. and it was his assistant that say to me “Ok, you can go now, we will write a letter to MINDEF to appeal for you, wait for our letter”

SAD SAD SAD..is my MP a mute?

Nevertheless, my appeal got thru.. and i needed to report back to MINDEF to get the official letter of deferment. Guess what the deferment said to me? “You should have come to us for a deferment first and go straight to MP for help, it make things difficult for us” – the same sentence was stated in the letter from Per m Sec for MINDEF

so i am not surprised our MPs got abused by frustrating public

Edwin
May 16, 2009 23:40

TO,
TrueBlood Singapore

I agree with you, sometimes we need to self help abit, my recent brush with LTA, they sent a compound fine of $70 for crossing ERP without sufficient funds..and how do i know it cost $5 to use CTE from PIE? I seldom use that route..anyway is my fault..

Did not receive any letter..and it ended up court case.. which can amount to $200.

Well.. smart enough not to see any MP and be stupid to queue for so long. I went to LTA and act a little cute like the kitty in Shrek to the LTA Officer and have my court fine of $200 reduced to $70

James
May 17, 2009 4:43

Saw a couple of snide comments and just wanted to provide some balance.

I have been a volunteer at the MPS of this full Minister for a few months now, and here are some of my experiences.

In this particular constituent, other than the Minister himself, the rest of his “assistants” are volunteers who don’t get paid, taking their time out from their daily professions every Monday to come to MPS to help out. I regularly see retirees, nurses, schoolteachers, lawyers and other professionals who see the meaning of service to the community and choose to spend their time to help residents less fortunate, and have been personally inspired by them. So I do not know where some of the “dogs” some people referred to come from.

Though my experience is very limited, I have also seen a fair share of cases where residents have behaved less than admirably. Shirt-pulling and arm-tugging characterises some of less hopeful residents coming to get financial aid every other week by spinning a different circumstance. Some of the more experienced volunteers also told of stories like an elderly man coming in to ask for money, while being spotted a few weeks later with a daughter sporting a luxury car.

I think we should recognise that sometimes it can be difficult for the MPs to discern who are the people who really need help and would help themselves, making them seem less empathetic. That of course is still no excuse for a clear lack of EQ on their part, but sometimes when residents do things that just doesn’t seem right, it is hard not to be judgemental, even for us as volunteers.

Personally, my experience at MPS has taught me to be more sensitive and less cynical. I openly admit to disagreeing with the ruling party’s policies most of the time, yet I can’t help but see a picture of hope when I see so many young people making the choice to help at MPS every week, as well as ’success stories’, where previously unemployed people have secured jobs and have become fully self-reliant after receiving some help from the MP to tide them over a difficult period.

Hope this brings more perspectives.

MicMac
May 17, 2009 5:26

Again I ask,

Who is the MP ? I am so tired of Singaporeans “speaking up” without the guts to include full details. How can I know if this is not another made up story ?
Name the MP ! and it would help it you don’t wait 8 years to complain.
At the end, nobody held a gun to your head and forced you to vote him into the parliament. Don’t complain about the government creating “climate of fear” when the truth is that you have simply emasculated yourself to the point that you can’t even put a simple tick on the ballot paper. Time is better spent slapping yourself than bitching about the person you voted in.

aloha
May 17, 2009 8:23

The PAP MPs are very successful outside, they have a busy career and pressured by their job. When they go to the meet the people sessions, they are already drained by the work and pressure.

So maybe he was in a foul mood and you caught him at the wrong time. If you are in his shoes, you may also say insensitive things. But again, they are so highly paid, you want the best from him. A MP that says such, they are not people’s MP, they are merely the stooges of the regime.

Civil servants are very easy to handle ie “no room for mistake”. Whether HDB, LTA etc, as long as you are in the right, you fear nothing. You make it clear, you will complain to his manager or boss, he would back down. But you must have the facts.

In this case, the MP was very insensitive and you could have warned him that you will escalate to the minister of the GRC or go direct to the Prime Minister’s office. LHL or Lao Lee will not condone this kind of petty mistake and give him a good lecture and possibly by the next election, he would be replaced with a new face.

aloha
May 17, 2009 8:38

I agree with Kenneth Jeyaretnam that All governments ultimately govern only with the consent of the governed.

Singaporeans love to bitch and moan. I know thousand of Singapores dont like the government because of this and that. But when coming to the ballot boxes, they voted for them for the following reasons.

1. Fear of being victimised – not sure what….? maybe job, application of HDB etc. If you lose your job, they are going to give $ to tide over?
2. HDB cannot get upgrading – arent we paying for it???
3. Pay-outs – For that few hundred dollars, we are paying through GST and escalating prices of commodities such as HDB (now almost $700k), transports, communications, ERPs…..

Honestly, I believe average Singaporeans are being marginalised with all these policies and the government is recruiting rich foreigners ie Indonesians, Thai, PRCs, Indians from the region to fill in the gap.

Keep moaning and hopeful that they would give you better policies.

TrueBlood Singapore
May 17, 2009 9:55

Stupid Fearful Singaporean didn’t realised that the HDB will lost it value when Lao Lee go to heaven!(Soon!!) The HDB is tie to Economic Growth!
You got nothing you got nothing to lose!

All investors are looking what happen when Lao Lee go to Heaven and they also fear to lose their investments!

MPs only had to answer to Lao Lee not his people for their pay, so why bother?

That is the attitude of MPs now!

very hsien
May 17, 2009 10:48

are you sure lao lee will go to heaven? he will be very lonely there.

ZL
May 17, 2009 11:04

Most of the mobile phone got recording function right? Use it during the MPS and put it online if these MPs are rude.

Donaldson Tan
May 17, 2009 11:28

The current remuneration package of a MP is more than decent. Seriously, what is stopping politicians from performing a full-time role as a MP to better serve the public and his constituency?

Jussick
May 17, 2009 14:38

I fully agree with you,Donaldson. What about the perks that come with MP status? Any remuneration other than the MP package is considered corruption!

mice is nice
May 17, 2009 15:25

part timers pay should be capped at $20/ hr….

how come i dun see such jobs in adverts? good money ler… burn weekend i also dun mind!! ^.^

Stevenado
May 17, 2009 17:11

something is very wrong with PAP……..these incidents don’t happen before…now…fire , chair…threat……..if the MP is ok or like the good old days MP, then the ka kia around him are ok….if not they act like ……lost words to say…

TrueBlood Singaporean
May 17, 2009 17:25

Why should the Singapore Government Pay $14,000 for MPs to do part time and employed those Volunter Grass Roots Leader without Pays!

You pay peanuts and get Monkeys and worst they are not pay nothing. Some of them join the Grass Roots for the wrong reasons like Zoe Tays for her son to go top school and be ministers someday!

MPs are supposed to represent their people but all these ppl when introduce into GRC o

Edward
May 17, 2009 17:45

#38) winstoncheng
‘Lawrence,
To be fair to PAP, to be fair to the good MPs, I think you should name the MPs.’

#60) MicMac
‘ Again I ask,
‘Who is the MP ? I am so tired of Singaporeans “speaking up” without the guts to include full details. How can I know if this is not another made up story ?’
…………………………………………………………….

Be compassionate. Lawrence had enough already. Do you want IRAS and other government depts to dig up all his past earnings, bank deposits and business dealings to find faults with him. Chee S J was sacked because of a few dollars. What happened to Maltida Chua? Would she be caught if she was not involved in the NKF saga? There are many instances of citizens being punished for other unrelated offences after they were found guilty of the main offence.

I am not saying he has something to hide. If the PAP wants to find dirt, it will be found. LHL mentioned at a rally during the 2006 GE that fixing opponents is a PAP tactic to control opposition party members.

rex
May 17, 2009 21:20

PAP MP only talk to you nicely only coming close to election. The rest of the 3.5 year, only god know what the hell they are doing. Good example this Lee MP causing huge saga in Sinagpore, not doing her job, but putting her effort talking bad thing about a person that bring glory in 48 years. JObless rate is high, go and help those people instead, and possible shut up

Law
May 18, 2009 0:35

Didn’t you all vote them in with your eyes “wide open”?

Another story of MP losing touch with the ground. How many stories are we going to hear again?

Our education system is such that we are graded by our academic results. Who cares if your EQ is excellent or you scored an “A” star for empathy?

You gave them the right to pay themselves sky high salaries and you expect world class service? Sorry..but MPs are exempted.

Having earn so much that they are probably in a comfort zone that they forgot their pay come from us.

Law
May 18, 2009 0:46

Btw i forgot to add in.

Do we have any channels to feed back on the quality of service provided by MPs during Meet-the-people session? Something like a feed back form.

Maybe the government should come up with an online service for us to grade our own MPs. However, details like personal particulars and meeting accounts had to be included to sustain these feed backs.

Time for People's Actions.
May 18, 2009 2:26

I also agree with the writer of the letter, Lawrence Loh.

I had encountered a similar experience like his in 2002 with the MP in my constituency, which gave me the impression that what we are having are not real true-blooded politicians but pseudo politicians, jumping on the easy bandwagon for personal gains, fame, status and power.

After that encounter, I swore to myself that I will never ever turn to a PAP MP for any assistance for the rest of my life.

Despite that and other similar bad experiences with gov officials, I had refrained from govt bashing for as long as I can remember.

But now, I think it is about time that we stand up to do something to correct the serious imbalance of power between gov and citizens, before things get out of hand – one good example is the recent introduction of new laws to tighten the noose round our necks until we cannot breathe.

The People’s Action Party is only afraid of the People’s Actions, not mere words. The most critical of all actions is our action at the ballot box in the coming General Elections!

Justin
May 18, 2009 7:01

Feedback for who to see? Who is the MP’s boss? Do you think the PM, SM, MM bother how an MP is rated? Just look at Seng H T (MP torched), instead of ordering an investigation, ST reported how the pepertrator will be punished. There has never been an investigation ordered from above. What makes you think they are interested in knowing how well the MP served you?

pmg
May 18, 2009 11:26

You really have to see who the MP is. From what I know MPs are selected for different reasons. Some because they are your “scholar” types who really can be low on EQ, and some are the “grassroots” type. I’ve been to the one at my place, and the MP there is really really nice. He takes time to talk to everyone, so people grumble that they wait so long to see him. I guess you can’t please everyone. Try to be efficient and people say you don’t care, try to be understanding and people say you waste their time.

fairplay
May 18, 2009 13:11

41) Zheng Xi on May 16th, 2009 12.51 pm

Dear Zheng Xi
Have you been able to locate Mr Lawrence Loh? Really like to hear more from him.

Still Sore
May 18, 2009 14:24

To serve the residents well, MPs must serve from the heart and not just put on a ‘caring face’ during walkabouts or house visits. Just want to relate an incident which happened when I was still a child, at least 35 years ago. Told to me by my mother when I was in Upper Primary School.

My late father went to see the MP (ex-Labour MP who passed away last year ), to ask him for assistance in securing a hawker licence (to sell watches) in Change Alley, North Bridge Road. My dad had to endure the many summons issued by the Enviornment Ministry for illegal hawkering(up to 3 a month) and pay the fines. He was a sole-breadwinner and has 4 kids school going kids to support at that time. He was trying his very best to make ends meet and more often had difficuilty supporting the family. This MP was very arrogrant, he was a Chinese educated MP and properly had just Secondary education. He was able to pen a decent letter and clearing he was struggling to write an appeal letter. He crushed uncompleted letter into the waste paper bin and told my parents(my mother was with my dad there) that he could even write 10 appeal letters if he wanted to. My parents went off very disappointed and lost faith in this MP and the whole political system. My dad had no other choices but to continue selling cheap watches at these places so that we could survive. Some months he had negative income, (after paying the fines) and coupled with his weaking health conditions, he struggled through life in his last years and finally he suffered a massive stroke at work one Sat morning in 1974 and was in a coma for 3 months before passing away without regaining from the deep coma.

My slibings are equally sore about this incident up to today and no doubt there are caring and sincere MPs out there, the duty to serve must come from the heart and don’t just behave like an elite and a snob.

Weed out those that cannot serve and all hypocrates.

loop
May 18, 2009 15:16

Like Miss Universe Rachael Kum? Last minute slot in to win? No track record or whatsoever? Done any humanitarian causes before?

Angelina
May 18, 2009 20:27

Yes, there are good MPs and many good people in Singapore who want to make life better for others but without a system of checks and balances, the system is allows for bad MPs to continue flourishing. This article and forum is about allowing the bad ones to get away with it and on top of it, get recognition and promotion by the ruling party. Its not about whether they are all bad. With this system, Singaporeans have to depend on their luck to get a good MP. Yes, who in the Govt will be interested in your feedback anyway?

KopitiamApek
May 18, 2009 21:26

A King once ventured out of his castle for the first time in his entire Kingish life. He saw a man begging for food. Puzzled at such a strange sight, his asked his minister without portfolio (but with fat pay) ” What on earth is he doing? ” Oh, your Kingness” replied his MWP, “this man is starving and is begging for food” “Why is he begging for food’” Asked the King. “Oh, your Kingness” replied his MWP, “because he has no ice to eat”. “How silly indeed” answered the King. “If he has no rice, he can always eat porridge”

KopitiamApek
May 18, 2009 21:47

Ref # 79:

Still sore wrote:”My late father went to see the MP (ex-Labour MP who passed away last year ), to ask him for assistance in securing a hawker licence (to sell watches) in Change Alley, North Bridge Road. My dad had to endure the many summons issued by the Enviornment Ministry for illegal hawkering(up to 3 a month) and pay the fines. He was a sole-breadwinner and has 4 kids school going kids to support at that time.”

Change Alley is in Colier Quay, not in North Bridge Road
Ask any “teh gu” or “car park attendance aunties” if their job is pleasant, I think they will tell you no. But they do perform a essential role, right?
The right for an illegal hawker to make a living vs the right for the legitimate shopowners to make a living. Who is right? Legally , emotionally or morally , one may conclude differently.
But a unrestrained freewheeling environment cannot be sustainable. So there has got to be some rule of the law.

Do you pity the guy peddling tissue paper everyday at your Kopitiam and buy from him everyday? Or sit and wonder why this able bodied man/woman doesn’t try to get a job?

Everybody is right from their point of view.

KopitiamApek
May 18, 2009 21:56

Why do people become graasroot volunteers?

1. Get their kids in a school nearby.
2. Own a shop in the same GRC
3. Is a civil servant.
4. Don’t have a life
5. All of the above
6. None of the above

KopitiamApek
May 18, 2009 22:03

Ref # 47

Kenneth,

A uniquely Singaporean triat.
Buffet syndrome.
Free text books, all rush
Free sample, all rush
Free gift, all rush
Compliant is free. All rush.

KopitiamApek
May 18, 2009 22:17

Ref #62 by Aloha

Interesting facts about HDB upgrading

1. Why no more space adding items now? Because they found that it is actually cheaper to tear down the whole block and rebuilt than to add those things.

2. Why certain precincts (although not every case) go SERS en bloc and not upgraded? Because tests (done discreetly) showed that the quality of construction (built in the ’70s) is so bad that it is actually structurally unsafe.

3. What is upgrading really? A really ingenious repackaging of cyclical maintenance into a big lump (water tanks, water pumps, water pipes, power cable, light fixtures, all have a lifespan ranging from 10 to 20 years, they used to be changed ac hoc, now it is a big show.

4. What is Lift Upgrading really. See 3

ACACIA
May 18, 2009 23:41

If you notices friends upgrading have come to a stand still or not started at all in many areas. All been had, or has the country run out of money?
That is why I only voted the PAP once and after that it was the opposition all the time, if I had the chance!

KopitiamApek
May 19, 2009 0:05

Ref #87

Look at the big picture.
Upgrading is still going on.

When you are interested in a particular model of car, you suddenly see it everywhere.
We see what we want to see. We also do not see what we do not wish to see.

No, it’s not running out of money. Are you hoping for that? Be careful what you wish for.

You must vote for whomever you voted for a bigger reason than just for upgrading.
Seperate the 2 things please.

Rurehe
May 19, 2009 0:19

Some MPs are not rude but they polish their skill in being evasive, give slick reasons for saying no or get their side kicks to be tough to you when they are screening you before you see the MP.

These are their tricks of their trade and they depend on varying the repertoire to see that they are effective.

However, for the really naive and innocent who said that they have great faith in the MP they are sweet to them as they are the Great supporters of pap and so they send them to graciously meet the MP. Another part of their bag of tricks.

If you say you are really poor and they are convinced about it they will give you some NTUC Fairprice vouchers and the MP will in all his graciousness hand it to you. yOU SHOULD SEE THE GREAT GRATITUDE look in the faces of the recipient and that is what the pap want. The recipient is sure to vote for PAPPY in the next election. Pappy no stupid.

I saw all these tricks during MPS.

So, the MPs survive and make their money.

They have a bag of tricks and this extend beyond MPS.

AhSoh
May 19, 2009 5:34

Gahmen money is not PAP money, handout (in the form of vouchers) by MP is not handout by PAP. There should be a system centrally to handout vouchers to derserving people who meet certain criteria, not people selectively picked by the MP during MPS. Can TOC pls write articles to stress on this. I don’t think our young people in Spore know such thing. They just kwai kwai tah cheh until gong gong

depresso
May 20, 2009 13:19

My condolences to you and your family, Mr. Lawrence Loh.

Three NGOs form coalition called Solidarity for Migrant Workers : Civic Advocator * Shout and be heard in Singapore
May 25, 2009 17:28

[...] recession or that their plight are looked after well.  After all, can they really count on our Members of Parliament and public servants?  As our leaders and ’servants’ continue to lose empathy, we need [...]

mice is nice
May 25, 2009 17:34

locals are already 2nd class, cant other nations champion the cause of their own countrymen?

they can protest & sit-in with little consequences, i doubt locals will be treated likewise.

mice is nice
May 25, 2009 17:41

local concerns are already being sidetracked, like 2nd class citizens.

besides, foreign workers who stage protests sit-ins have little to fear. i cant say the same for locals who may face the full brunt of the law.

it’s not we aren’t used to protesting and staging sit-ins. the risks are just too huge to ignore, while foreign workers have little to loose.

close2eyes
Jun 1, 2009 15:30

Can’t deny the fact that I felt really good reading all the comments. At least it provides us an extra funnel to let go our steams. But then again, I am now feeling very discouraged & begin to think twice about seeing my MP (as if I’ve not tried before).

Its not about how long is the waiting time nor how late the MP needs to stay back & listen – I believe everyone who approach the MP has a genuine case or else it wld hv been named “Drink Coffee with the MP” right? If they are sincere too then there wldn’t be so many complains.

If I am willing to speak, will my MP bother to listen? Be it financial assistance or waiver of traffic offense or botherline cases, truth is, we are there because we genuinely need help. If the MP had to stay till mid-night so do we! Its not fun to look forward to a MPS & after all that trouble go home in disappointment. Do they really care? Are they listening? I know their eyes & ears are open big big but that doesn’t mean listening. Or is it as good as going to the temple & pray to the “tuapekgong”? Because you can say what u want to the “tuapekgong” but you don’t know if he got listen or not!

My personal experience is, I tried my best explaining how bad the situation was but he just sat there like a “tuapekgong” with 2 bodyguard aka time-keeper, I guess. And the outcome? I ended up calling the SOS hotline instead. I know SOS can’t offer much help because their role is to offer a sincerely listening ears & they did. My session with SOS extended my life instead of banging against the wall during the MPS….if only he was empathetic, consoling and helpful!

tommy
Oct 3, 2009 20:33

Can MP help parents in law from china of singaporean apply long term social visit pass?

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook