Have you been rudely treated at a Meet The People Session? Please write in to us. We’ll be happy to hear your views. Email us at : theonlinecitizen@gmail.com .

The following is a letter by LAWRENCE LOH KIAH MUAN published in the online version of the Today newspaper, 13 May 2009, “MP had no empathy”.

It started with Member of Parliament (MP) Seng Han Thong being set on fire. Then came MP Denise Phua who was threatened by a rag-and-bone man. Recently, MP Cynthia Phua was subjected to a display of violence by a constituent.

Although these incidents are disturbing and a cause for concern, I wonder whether the constituents are solely to be blamed.

Allow me to relate my personal experience.

In February 2001, my older son died in a naval accident whilst serving National Service. In that year, my younger son was due for enlistment. A friend, a very active grassroots member, suggested that I approach my MP, for help in exploring the possibility of getting an exemption for my younger son. I was reluctant but he went ahead to fix an appointment for me at the Meet-The-People Session (MPS). I subsequently relented and he accompanied me there. It was in March 2001. That was my first appearance at a MPS, and it was to be my last.

I waited until midnight before I could meet the MP. Prior to this, he was given the case paper which detailed the objective of the meeting and the circumstances of my case.

When I entered the room, his first remark was “Yes, what can I do for you?”. There was no attempt at offering a word of sympathy or condolence. I then related my situation and said that both my wife and I were very traumatised.

His next remark “What traumatic, after two months, you won’t be traumatic?”. With that, I decided to end the meeting. And with that, my respect for him hit ground zero. I was too stunned and grief-stricken to react. Someone who was less-controlled and less-measured than me could have flown into a rage and become violent.

MPs are elected or appointed to serve the constituents. People who attend the MPS are those who have real problems and need help. In a lot of instances, they are stressed, distressed and troubled. What they need is a caring soul, a helping hand, a gentle voice, and words of hope and encouragement. To dispense these, MPs need good interpersonal skills and a high EQ. Arrogance, a patronizing, chiding and belittling attitude, aloofness and lack of empathy will only trigger acts of rashness and violence. Many of our politicians have a high IQ, some are scholars. However, a high IQ is not the only attribute needed in a political career. A high EQ is equally, if not more critical, especially when it comes to dealing with the constituents.

In my case, I would have felt good if my MP could have been a warm and caring person. If he could have been empathetic, consoling and helpful. All these qualities can only come from the heart, not from the mind.

How many of our MPs can stand up and be counted for this?

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

96 Responses to “MP had no empathy”

1. Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang) 16 May 2009

MPs must remember whether they are rightfully elected or parachuted in, that they are there to serve the people. Their position is NOT an entitlement or a reward for all the mugging they did in school. It’s a responsibility, and a heavy one.

2. Singaporean 16 May 2009

Well, at least you get to see your MP. I have no such luck and have to contend with seeing his assistant’s assistant who proceeded to draft a letter full of grammatical errors and spelling errors which I help to correct. At the end of it, the outcome is still the same and the MP I did not see went on to become a full minister.

3. very hsien 16 May 2009

MPs have been getting a good life for too long. They should be full time and not part time MPs. They should allocate more times for the meet the people sessions.

I know one very old MP in Tanjong Pagar who has not conducted MPS for years. He always has someone else to stand in for him. No wonder other MPs follow his bad example.

4. Doublespeak 16 May 2009

They shouldn’t call it meet the people session, should change it to

“Meet the Emperor/Empress session”. Low lifes please queue up. Thank you

5. Singaporean2 16 May 2009

Is MPS compulsory?

6. piggyback 16 May 2009

“MP are rightfully elected”???? Please lah, many MPs are going through the backdoor, piggyback into the parliment. No one elected them in the 1st place.

7. MP also hsien lah 16 May 2009

Actually hor, many of these MPs are very reluctant MPs. They must have been “persuaded don’t know how many times” before they agreed to be PAP candidate.

Some of these MPs seriously lack EQ. But what to do, if PAP don’t select them, they will have no new candidates and no political “renewal”. Because many have turned down PAP, no matter how strong PAP persuaded them.

So the MPS has become a chore to them. When it is a chore and tedious, your mood is also no good, no tact etc.

But anyway as long as the opposition can give 50% walkovers and the people 66% mandate at elections then everything is fine, whatever their attitude during MPS. And collect their $200K+ annual allowance for a part time work!

8. David 16 May 2009

Our MPs got high IQ? This is the greatest joke I have ever heard here. Look at their fake qualifications, many Singaporeans are equally capable than them. A leader is elected because he is compassionate, and that is how the older leaders were elected. Unfortunately, as years gone by, greed has change a person drastically resulting in lack of EQ. This was constantly displayed by our MPs statements in parliament. The nonchalant attitude and even talked down on peasants as lesser mortals. By default, they should not be allowed another term again, Singapore cannot afford to sink further after the last election. I am trusting alternative parties more than the current pap now, greed has written all over their faces and I detest their cockiness over the years.

9. It may be a postdated issue, but I think given the reach of the internet today, no harm reopening the episode. I expect a response from the policy makers for an investigation, and full replies published. No apologies needed from the MP if what the article mentioned is found to be true. He/ She just needs to step down.

10. Xiong 16 May 2009

sadly….

11. I agree on MPs being too jaded or too full of themselves. How many are really there to serve the people? Rather they act like beacons of self righteousness. People approached them on issues that are really heart felt and they respond with indifference, judgement and contempt.
    I once went with my friend to see his MP about his drink driving offence, he sent a drunk friend home, after a wedding dinner, and was caught. The purpose was just for the MP to write a letter to help appeal. The MP assistant said, drink driving is a serious offence. Yes, granted, but seriously, my friend who was arrested, handcuffed to the police station didnt already know that? Spent the night there, and was bailed out by his mother, she didnt already give him a hard time? He was a sole bread winner for the family, and he made a mistake. Who doesnt? MPs dont?
    People approached MPs for help for real issues in their lifes, even if they cant, dont want to, the last thing they should do is judge, condemn and disrespect.

12. MicMac 16 May 2009

Who is the MP ? I am so tired of Singaporeans “speaking up” without the guts to include full details. How can I know if this is not another made up story ?
    Name the MP !

13. LEE_pui_pui 16 May 2009

Yeah, I personally know of the laocharbo MP (one who almost kenna hit by chair) who also happens to work in one of the supermarket monopoly. Her parliament speech are all written by her kar-kia. She’s got no substance, except her ability to shout and terrorise ppl. But somehow she always managed to put on a superficial fake “pitiful” look whenever she appears on tv, thus giving false impression of her approachability. Thus I am not surprised at all that ppl want to hit her with chair or anything they can grab hold of.

14. Yes name the f******* MP and all of us in this forum will nail him. We cannot allow such PAP attitude go so easily. The STTA saga is already enough to show how arrogant LBW and her PAP collegues were. Just vote them out. And let Vivian track down all the internet ‘infdels’ and charge us and see how effective he can be being as the Minister. Bloody hopeless!

15. I think to be FAIR to both Citizens & genuinely helpful MPs,
    I suggest interviews be video recorded to safeguard both parties.
    This way, at least interviewer & interviewee will be MINDFUL of their conduct towards one another.

Alternatyively mean time, one can always meet the MP or whoever stands in for the MP with a mini MP3 audio recorder.

16. Lightning Strikes Again 16 May 2009

It took me more than a year not to feel the grief of losing my father and it has been ten years now and I still miss him dearly. This MP is totally unfit to be a people’s representative to say such insensitive words.

17. aiyoyo 16 May 2009

aiyoyo

why is the MP in 1st place?

what’s their duty for commoners?

what’s their track record for helping commoners?

how much are they paid/taking monthly?

aiyoyo

18. I know Lawrence Loh personally. A senior executive in a publicly listed company, he speaks the truth. I know him as a very good man. So, it is a definitely very sad story.

19. pen is mightier 16 May 2009

Maybe MSM should sent undercover reporters “pretending” to be “peasants” seeking help in the “meet-the-peasants” to see if what is alleged incident is true…afterall they did this to hotels and retail to see if their service is up to par.
    Yes I would expect the MSM to run an article soon to dispute what LAWRENCE LOH KIAH MUAN said in his letter…damage control…either that this whole incident will be totally ignored.

20. Ang Kong Kia 16 May 2009

Mr Loh, as you had stated, your turn to meet the MP (what constituency huh?) was midnight after hours of waiting.

Put yourself in his shoes: if you have been sitting in the room let say since 7pm listening to residents who are asking for finance assistance, parking fines waiver, noisy neighbours, waiver of late payment penalty by town council or other unreasonable demands … etc etc and explaining to them what can be done, what could not be granted etc, what would be your state of body and mind by the time you reach midnight.

Your case paper may have been given to him just right before the meeting, or worse, he did not have time to read the paper given the piles of cases in front of him. Unless he is a saint, he would not have time to tune his mind to zero in to your situation and … like what you were expecting, some kind of sympathy.

Furthermore, he may be one of those MPs who reluctanly joined in and have no heart to serve the people. The reaction to you were not surprising.

21. TrueBlood Singapore 16 May 2009

Is Useless for you to See MPs, they only got Meal Coupon and their Useless Grassroot with limited power!

If out of Job – Go e2I
    If can’t pay HDB – HDB, CPF Board
    If can’t pat Road Tax – LTA

I don’t see they worth $14,000 by doing Part time! They are seldom elected by their own people and induced into thru GRC by Study Hard!

22. andylau 16 May 2009

My family went to meet a certain mp during a meet the mp night. We were hoping to ask for advise on seeking leniency on a small legal case. He put on a stood up and indifferent look throughout the session, which my dad called a zombie face. We didnt expect much from that guy anyway but wtf this as*hole not only didn’t help but even further rub salt to the wound by influencing with his authority to impose further fine to our case. We only found out from another legal representative later on. This fellow must be trying to get promotion by impressing LKY with his futile act. We had completely lost faith in whatsoever rubbish call MP session. To conclude, do beware of what u say to these dogs, they will bite u when u r least prepared.

23. Time is money. Every minute of your time with the MP is precious (to them). Besides the MPs have to go through reports of multiple companies that they hold directorships. Solving people’s problems is not quite the priority in their busy lives, no direct monetary gains. So, let’s be realistic and do not burden our A team too much, they have to manage this 1st world country with billions in the kitty and try very hard not to lose billions of it too (like cutting loss on BOA). Solve your own problem and get out of their elite f**king face. that is if you want some face.

24. richard 16 May 2009

Unfortunately I have to agree with “die die must say” that it is true the MP wouldn’t know what Mr Loh’s problem is so Mr Loh probably is not (so much) offended by this question “Yes, what can I do for you?” Mr Loh, like me, is very angry with the MP’s follow-up remarks.

Fortunately Mr Loh has a supporter in me that this MP needs to be shaken up for the low EQ he has. I hope “die die must say” will empathise with Mr Loh’s situation, otherwise, this “culture of complaint” cannot be stopped with people having low EQ roaming around in Singapore. Can anyone who has never complaint before please stand up?

25. blackfeline 16 May 2009

not just any MP..most of e incumbent government’s MP..I had my brushed with rude,patronizing so called leaders at e sessions..including one idiot who will cry at a drop of a pin..e clue is clear enuff..fortunately I don’t believe in courtesy when dealing with such craps..b brave n tell them in e face u do not appreciate their arrogance..c their jaw drop! Trust me..remove fear n speak up! Take ownership of your basic human right! No one has e rite 2 intimidate anyone! You want 2 deal with such people ..no need record degree just b bold! We have being 2 nice for far too long! Time to wake up!

26. blackfeline 16 May 2009

correction..brush n rocket degree ..tq

27. That why PAP is aka WAYANG PARTY.

Especially during functions involving PAP, the residential council (RC) will activate its memebers (meals & transport provided) to the function locations to make it “look crowded”.

Meet The People Session has LOST its meaning. Wait for hours & see the MP less than a minute. Prior to that, the MP’s dogs will take your IC and question you. They will try to brain wash you if you are asking for financial assistance.

The MPs are alike….junior or senior.

PM Lee has LOST it ploy to have genuine MPs unlike his father.

28. blackfeline 16 May 2009

his father? He lose e plot long ago! The current breed of arrogant MPs is a legacy of all his doings! Rude parents breed rule children! What do u spect?

29. ArtReach 16 May 2009

Reading your story, my first reaction is the MP you met was not fit to serve the people.

It is a pity that you waited 8 years to tell us the bad experience. A letter with details to the prime minister or the newspapers would be most desirable and there would be more impact. An opportunity for the PAP Govt or the mass to do something had indeed missed.

Whether he is still around or not, name him. If he could be so indifferent towards you, he would and will behave in the same manner towards other people and I am sure there will be more people standing up for you.

You have your reason not to name the MP, unfortunately, not hearing the other side of the story, I will refrain from making judgement.

30. Thinktok 16 May 2009

I do sympathise with Mr Loh and there is no doubt in my mind he is telling the truth. The MP must be very tired and thought that every problems are nearly the same: fines, jobs, bills, deferment etc.

We must also accept that that not all MPs are up to the mark. Surely the ruling party would wish for MPs or senior civil servants with more EQs such as the recent cooking case.

I lived in the East Coast, and there is one MP who loves to sing and fraternise with people. He ordered me around without regards to the case in question and my status. I politely told him off and he never disturbed me again.

My attitude is help them to help us.

Regards

31. brainwave 16 May 2009

Dear fellow tocs,

I empathize with Lawrence. That MP that he saw can’t even be bothered to offer a alternative solution or even take this special situation to parliament to debate or encourage that should a family loss of a son in the cause of National Service, the other son should be considered for a exemption or at least a “non-combatant” role.

Believe me, if he really cares, he could just email the Minister of Defence and ensure that second son get a “non-combatant role” till the issue of whether second son could be exempted from NS could be debated in Parliament.

I believe that US has a somewhat similar law (Saving Private Ryan).

Can we take Lawrence’s case and have it further represented by a petition or something? I don’t know how to do this, but I am sure somebody could advice.

Let TOC give Lawrence a bigger voice.

Bob Wong

32. brainwave 16 May 2009

Sorry, I just realized incident was in 2001… still I think it could help
    another family in future or at least let the Meet the People MPs know that we are watching them.

33. Why wayang if not interested? 16 May 2009

Its clear that the MPS is but a wayang show only by our elites. Our part time MPs just go through the motion and after that collect their fat cat allowances at the end of the month.

34. toiletmatter 16 May 2009

lots of talking here but who will truly act?

35. i have no faith at all to the MPs. so many things happened lately and accumulating these few years from among the government departments and MPs, it is very sad and i begin to lose interest and having no faith with the present ruling party.

unless thing change and change fast otherwise what have been achieved is going down to the drain before you realised it.

36. Gilbert 16 May 2009

I believe that MPs have a tough job especially now.

They have to deal with all kinds of problems – financial assistance, jobs, flat issue, domestic fight and others that they became a general duty officer.

What has looking for jobs to do with your MP? Come on, maybe people should be guided to go to the right agencies to settle their issues. It also creates false hopes for people seeing their MPs as if he is someone in deity who can do wonders.

By having MPS sessions, people will come down to see their MPs for all kinds of issues right down to a fine ticket that it makes the sessions ridiculous.

I believe that MPS should be scraped and that MPs do more door to door sessions. People should be given the right information to go to relevant agencies to sort out their isssues. Right now, MPs are like doing the jobs of many govt agencies here acting as their middle men. This should not be the case and I think it cheapens what MPs can do effectively like bringing up important issues in PArliament for the people on the ground.

It is no wonder that PArliament sessions are so poorly attended as MPs all sleep at 2am especially after an MPS session.

37. liesbuster 16 May 2009

“His next remark “What traumatic, after two months, you won’t be traumatic?”.

Judging from his remark, I won’t be surprised even if he had said:
    “Why so traumatic? Thank goodness you only lost one son and not two!”

38. winstoncheng 16 May 2009

Lawrence,

To be fair to PAP, to be fair to the good MPs, I think you should name the MPs.

I think if someone complained about bad service that your company give, you definitely would want to know who this person is. It would not be fair to have this culprit drag the entire company’s reputation down.

39. And now our Gahmen wants to benchmark military personnel to civil service pay.. with taxpayers money (that Ho Jinx just lost $2.6b and had Goodyear take the crap)… Civil services?? hmm… I wonder how many of those laid back warrant officers can actually do a private sector role.

I wait in anticipation to see how they will peg them.. maybe to the top6 engineer/administrators/project coordinator’s salary.

40. jadedsingaporean 16 May 2009

Indeed! “Be Thankful you still have one son!”

Lesser mortals should not complain so much. You want the higher mortals to strike you with lightning?

41. Zheng Xi 16 May 2009

Hi all,

Thank you for your comments. We’re currently trying to contact Lawrence, and would appreciate any information on how we can reach him.

Zheng Xi

42. Better MPs Next Time 16 May 2009

Part of an MP role is to be the people’s consellor and support . Not everyone has the qualities needed to do well all the time. The MP is also a human being with his or her own job, albeit being paid a tidy sum for the MP role.

The PAP’s selection process is not always perfect otherwise you will not have people in the likes of Lee Bee Wah around – her EQ is forgivable, but her latest comments on integrity and professionalism bring out her IQ to be suspect, despite the wise counsel she must have had from cabinent ministers; it seems that she does know how to learn from past episodes, and this is the worry for citizens – to have low IQ MPs in her likes.

With the current recession and job scaricity, MPs and NMP will have to do their best to shape up and prove themselves worthy of their appointment and pay.

The recent clamoring of some candidates to be appointed NMP could be the clear sign that monetary reward is a factor on their minds – they would think it easy work and good publicity for their future careers and businesses – hence the unprecedented lobbies even unshamelessly for themselves.

It is really hoped that the PAP will have a better system to select their MPs the next time around.

43. doctorwho 16 May 2009

People wake up, we have rights, MP is nobody without its supporters (thats citizen like us). Make your vote count in the coming election and spread the words to your friends and family. Talk in the MRT loudly about their bad deeds, no worry i do that all the time.

44. ilovejoochiat 16 May 2009

To 12 micmac,
    not sure leh where the MP is but see if u like my nick lah. ha ha, then u may i love joo chiat. my greay anut used to live there.

45. “We the people are the rightful masters of both Congress and the courts, not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow the men who pervert the Constitution.” ~ A.Lincoln

46. JUST4FUN 16 May 2009

LET the VOTERs , decided which party are the BEST to serve them.

Singaporeans always talk and talk, and never do the right thing for themselves.

For many years of ONE great party, many still do not realise the truth of voting for
    their own sakes……

Just show them, U are the masters and not them…….

47. Well said, SZ.

All governments ultimately govern only with the consent of the governed. It will be no good bitching about arrogance or indifference of your elected representatives after the event if, when you are given the choice of a credible and competent alternative, you continue to vote for the same people you are complaining about.

48. Don’t just talk and no action taken during GE. All of you ask for it. Do you know PAP is (PAY AND PAY) till the country broke!!!! Pray hard that they have common sense.

49. andylau 16 May 2009

We already need to form a stampede with substantial size, something like a 30% deciding power, all with iron determination, for this will justify the reason for voicing out all that pesky grumbling and squabbling on this forum once & for all.

50. ArtReach 16 May 2009

When next election comes, majority of the people will go back to fundamentals and again vote for the PAP. Some people may not like to see it but without credible alternative parties, we just have to live with the same Government. The PAP Government is good at self-renewal, I have to admit.