Friday, May 29, 2009 12:13

No need to vote tactically, says Vivian Balakrishnan

In Quotes • 781 views • 31 Comments

What we are trying to tell our people is that in future, you don’t need to vote tactically. We will guarantee a diversity of views in this House, but focus on choosing candidates who can form a government, focus on choosing someone who will run your town council, look after your homes … keep it safe, keep it clean, keep its values up …Everything else is secondary.

Vivian Balakrishnan

1. Vivian Balakrishnan on protecting homeless children
  2. Vivian Balakrishnan attends JBJ’s wake
  3. PAP makes no apologies for defamation suits, says Vivian Balakrishnan
  4. Foreigners here to stay, reach out to them, says Vivian
  5. Students’ and bloggers’ reaction to Vivian Balakrishnan’s RI Lecture

31 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Disband GRC
May 29, 2009 12:20

If Vivian believe in the NCMP scheme, then the GRC strucutre should be removed. If minority candidates cannot get in by votes, they can come in by NCMP system.

As a minority, he says he feels uncomfortable in the voting process. I feel sad for him – after how the people voted for JB Jeyaratnam in Anson.

Does Vivian need a coat tail to come into parliament? He has little confidence in himself as a Minister.

And in USA, Obama was elected by the population. You need charisma, not GRC.

Not Born Yesterday
May 29, 2009 12:25

In other words – vote for PAP…
A good attempt to score points.

in the shadow
May 29, 2009 12:42

I don’t think the point is that “it’s now fair and square for all”. The point is: now that there is more opportunities for political diversity, base your vote on merits.

Did you not get the point, or do you disagree with him? This is not clear from your responses.

free as a bird
May 29, 2009 13:05

To parliament backdoor entrants like Vivian,
I have to ask him what is the point of guaranteeing citizens a diversity of views with the fanciful NCMP / NMP scheme when none can vote ? The outcome is still decided by the PAP with the numerical advantage in votes.
So where is the benefit to ordinary citizens with such a lame scheme ?

What BullShit focus on choosing candidates is Vivian talking about ?
Isn’t it a fact most of the 82 PAP MPs are stooges, incapable of speaking up, restricted from voting freely ? In essence, PAP select stooges and put in place house rules to ensure stooges remain stooges. Take a hike Vivian, go back to focusing on eyeballs.

Isn’t it better we citizens vote the PAP out, have a new govt, introduce a similar NCMP / NMP scheme and invite double the numbers proposed by the PAP and of course without voting privileges and half the pay lah !

radlife66
May 29, 2009 13:58

1) We (PAP) have a new game plan now.

2) Continue keeping a tight rein over the MSM. Sites like TOC, blogs are at present quite insignificant. As long as the majority of Singaporeans don’t get to know such “alternative” views, we (PAP) have them hook and sinker.

3) Keep our (PAP) fingers cross that US will rebound or China starts something new and the world economy starts to pick up. If not, keep pumping money into upgrading/retraining/reskilling and keep the unemployed fed and clothed from now till after the election.

Game plan + control media + feed the discontend (until after election) = win for PAP.

mike
May 29, 2009 14:11

as far politic is concerned in near future, if the ruling party government for so many years now creating such a high living standard that i have to struggle all the time with such peanant wages just cos i m belong to less mortal group of society. in short, it damn so hard to put just 3 meals on the table should your job is at risk every now and then with everlasting escalating high price here.

in the other word, when you are damn hungry, do you think tactically as well?? Mr. Vivian, do you have an really honest reply for that?

smallvice585
May 29, 2009 14:13

Vivian Balakrishnan has finally revealed PAP’s cards – You must vote us no matter what. When the economy is good, PAP portrays itself as a competent government who guarantees peace and prosperity for the people. When the economy is bad, PAP portrays itself as a benevolent entity who will give room to alternative political voices. Tell me how does this “liberalisation” of Parliament increases the political capital of Opposition Parties? Truth is there will be more Opposition voices, not Opposition, in Parliament.

Smart Alec
May 29, 2009 14:27

Cannot even resolve a small STTA issue – now talking about no brainer no need tactical voting! Good riddance with LBW

SZ
May 29, 2009 15:07

Yet another fiasco that is making me sick….the audacity to say such stuff….

” focus on choosing someone who will run your town council, look after your homes … keep it safe, keep it clean, keep its values up …Everything else is secondary.”

So the happiness and welfare of citizens are secondary? it is sickening the things these people will resort to in order to stay in power…

however, these MIW may be slowly awakening to reality le

mice is nice
May 29, 2009 15:23

eh, which MP look after my (local) job? which MP keep living costs down?

talk about Town Councils, why are TCs hording $$$? they should not be investing the monies, they are not money managers.

ram
May 29, 2009 15:30

Quote “focus on choosing candidates who can form a government, focus on choosing someone who will run your town council, look after your homes …”

What happens to candidate who cannot even run STTA let alone government, town council? All our previously top 10 players are now double digit ranked.

Please walk the talk.

Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang)
May 29, 2009 15:51

Wrong, Vivian, wrong wrong wrong. You just made a mockery of the whole democratic process and devalued dissent into simply allowing different voices to be heard, but not acted upon.

Samsengkia
May 29, 2009 16:46

Vivian meant to says “….keep it safe, keep it clean, keep MP pays at it astronomical level,…everything else is secondary.”

AC
May 29, 2009 16:56

It is sad to see how far Vivian has fallen after being co-opted into the system.

There was a younger Vivian then who stood up for certain issues – not sure that Vivian would have recognized his older self as he stands now.

aiyoyo
May 29, 2009 17:16

aiyoyo

bla bla bla again, what’s been done to recover economy?

commoners’ lifestyle?

aiyoyo

singaporean
May 29, 2009 18:37

vivan dont tell us what to do

Devan
May 29, 2009 20:22

The sentiment on the ground must be so bad that the PAP is resorting to “fool the people” tactics again. What VIvian is saying is that the PAP is the only party that is able to govern and that having NCMPs will be sufficient to have some diverse views in parliament. What use are these NCMPs when they cannot vote on important issues. What is the point of having diverse views if they cannot oppose ideas that the PAP puts forward and pushes through with their majority. Issues like changes to our CPF, riduculous pay rises for ministers etc. What good would it serve us to have some NCMPs oppose issues when they cannot block them or make the PAP accountable. Vivian must think Singaporeans are brainless morons that can be fooled by him and his party of morally corrupt politicians.

If the PAP succeeds in pushing these changes through, then Singapore will indeed start it’s path down a very slippery slope to a virtual dictatorship by the PAP.

Devan
May 29, 2009 20:25

AC,

I hear every once in a while about how a “younger Vivian” stood up for certain issues.

Would you care to enlighten us as to what these were? Not flaming you, just curious.

Daniel
May 29, 2009 20:42

Vivian Balakrishnan has just given the citizen the most polite form of “JUST SHUT UP”.

Daniel
May 29, 2009 20:50

“then Singapore will indeed start it’s path down a very slippery slope to a virtual dictatorship by the PAP.”
If Singapore is not currently run by dictatorship then I don’t know what is dictatorship. OUr dictatorship system is very unique with gahmen giving the unconvincing reasons to cushion the impact of policies when the policies are already decided. Maybe this is something they call benevolent dictatorship, very benevolent to give you craps to make you feel better.

Elites' skins are thicker than elephant skins
May 29, 2009 20:59

Wow….their Town Councils have lost so much money on the minibonds and this guy still dares to bring up running of town council…..has he taken a look at how the opposition runs the ship in their wards?

No wonder some people say our elites’ skins are super thick. Sheesh!

red_dot
May 29, 2009 21:23

Let the people decide
Stop telling the people what to do
Enough is enough.

kangeroo
May 29, 2009 21:30

Tactically, for such a small country with only 4.5M ppl, we shouldn’t be having so many politicians. Tactically, it is a burden on the country to have to support 1MM, 2SMs, 1PM and so many minister of states who all draw MILLIONS of DOLLARS of salaries.

Prata Scholar
May 29, 2009 21:51

I can’t believe the people pay him $$$$$$$$ to talk about bar top dancing and make democracy a joke.
Please go back to your medical profession, politics or country governance is not for you.

Yamasam
May 29, 2009 22:16

I agree with #1 Disband GRC on May 29th, 2009 12.20 pm

Since the govt believe in the NCMP/NMP scheme, we can scrap GRC and go back to entirely SMC. If less than the desired number of minority candidates are voted into parliament, we can make up the number with NCMP/NMP. With this, the objectives of having minoirty representation can still be met and the basis for GRC is no longer valid.

prettyplace
May 29, 2009 22:56

Vivian, Vivian…how did you get caught up into all this…..i thought you knew too well about sights to have an insight….

Things are bound to go down at least for the next 3 to 5 years…USA is not gonna come and help….NO WAY….the Democrats know our govt too well…..

The rest of the countries around us are going to pick up…even before us….and we are going to be so stuck….altough there are ways out…these guys won’t be able to think about them….

The bait they used to hook Singaporeans to vote for the PAP…for so long…..is going to be the reason for their downfall……Life is indeed brilliant…..the full circle, Son…
——————————————————————————————————-

Anyway…today MOM minister gave a decent breakdown on SPURS & re-empolyment….i hope a better breakdown from the ST will be helpful

— about the wage differences of these people who are re-employed…..
—the sectors employing them…

(I know employers are asking for locals…(well done))

What better prospects would these people have in their current employment…
Future wage increases….

just to think of a few….Please Explain

babyboy
May 29, 2009 22:58

One day you say this… another you say that. Don’t kid me Mr Vivian.

SotongBall
May 29, 2009 23:17

Does this new system ensure that a Bill like the recent unreasonable popular POA will be voted out? It does not. Does the new system ensures that those public servants who fail in their duties are held accountable and not get May Day awards? It does not.

I hope Singaporeans do not think that they can get the best of both worlds with PAP running the show and Oppostions who have no voting rights acting as your voice in Parliament. You can scream all you want but no one will hear you.

singaporean
May 30, 2009 0:13

Mr. Vivian Balakrishnan, please don’t tell me how to vote. My vote is my right alone and my choice alone.

I will decide for myself how I will vote, thank you.

tiredsingaporean
May 30, 2009 0:52

How I wish all head of states from the entire planet “earth” are also reading these and hopefully to see some leaders would voice up for the sake of the helpless trapped singaporeans.

mice is nice
May 30, 2009 0:53

i have no idea what voting tactically means, its a very new concept to me.

is there an FAQ on the terms, like not using crayons to colour the boxes if 1 decides on a “rainbow coalition”? lol…

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook