See Leong Kit
[ My letter which was rejected for publication by ST Forum Editor Yap Koon Hong --- who somehow could devote considerable prominent space in its Print Edition for a letter on the airy-fairy topic of "Durian warning and happy pickings at park"! ]
I refer to your editorial, “Laid low again by a microbe” (Apr 28) and Mr Lucas Png’s timely letter, “Small precautions make a big difference” (May 2).
A pandemic on top of the global recession could decimate our already ailing economy and lead to even more jobless Singaporeans.
However, before asking Singaporeans to do their part, our Government must first educate them on how to tackle disease threats, such as the current Swine Flu worldwide outbreak.
We must never be complacent, especially with respiratory diseases such as Human Flu, SARS, Bird Flu, Swine Flu and Tuberculosis. A normal person can survive without food or water for some time. But if he cannot breathe due to infected lungs, he will just die!
Besides the widely-known personal hygiene habits of washing hands and not coughing openly, there is also the little-known “sharing food” eating habit of dipping chopsticks and spoons into common dishes, as mentioned by Mr Png.
A 1994 Ministry of Health (MOH) publication had confirmed that through sharing food, “we are likely to share saliva as well, with any bacteria or viruses in it”.
Indeed, as a body fluid, saliva can transmit many micro-organisms. To name just a few — viruses that cause HFMD, Human Flu, SARS, Bird Flu, Swine Flu, liver cancer (Hepatitis B), nose cancer (Epstein-Barr) and bacteria that cause Tuberculosis, Meningitis, stomach cancer (Helicobacter Pylori).
Few Singaporeans know that adults can also contract Hand, Foot and Mouth Disease through either close contact or sharing food, and then passing on this viral infection to their own children in the same manner.
Health risks aside, stop and think — How can you possibly “enjoy” your food when it is “spiced” with the saliva of other people?
The MOH publication also had this simple recommendation which costs nothing to implement — the use of serving spoons, separate soup bowls and sauce dishes, both at home and in public eating places, such as hawker centres and restaurants.
Regrettably, this important public health advice was never widely publicised. Thus, many Singaporeans remain unaware of the associated health risks.
A 2004 Straits Times report quoted this from Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan: “There is nothing wrong with communal eating. But I think we can make it hygienic just by using serving spoons.”
For years, Chinese restaurants in Australia have been providing serving spoons as a routine hygienic practice. Not so with most restaurants here, where it is a constant hassle asking sulky staff to provide serving spoons for each common dish.
These follow-up actions are now urgently needed:
- Health Promotion Board should mount an effective campaign to educate Singaporeans on “Eat The Hygienic Way” (using serving spoons) to complement its on-going efforts on ”Eat The Healthy Way” (more fruits and vegetables).
- National Environment Agency, using its licensing clout, to issue a compulsory directive for hawkers and restaurants to provide serving spoons automatically.
——

M ay I know how easy is it to get swine flu, if a carrier sneeze in a bus or train or lift or shopping mall on a saturday peak hour?
very congested leh.
Exactly my sentiments! People here are so set in this bad habit. They may wash their hands a thousand times but don’t seem to realise that scooping food from the same dish that everyone has dugged into is the quickest way for virus to invade their bodies. I tried to educate my colleagues to use a common serving spoon but they told me ..”never mind, die, we die together…no need to to be so kiasu!”…I give up. Same with my relatives…even if there is “serving spoon” in a dish, they still dig their own chopsticks into the dish ! We definitely need more publicity on this!
For 1) Human DENSITY:
(a) the viruses that cause respiratory diseases (eg normal Human Flu, SARS, Bird Flu, Swine Flu, Tuberculosis…) can be spread by:
— air-borne droplets (through coughing/sneezing)
— and also by saliva (hence, through “sharing food”)
(b) In our over-crowded (and often poorly-ventilated) public transport [ buses, MRT trains ], there is HIGH RISK for the passengers.
[ In fact, several years ago (even before the current Swine Flu Threat), I had sent a direct email to Transport Minister Raymond Lim and Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan to look into this uregent/pressing Public Health matter (as many S'poreans rely on public transport).
BOTH did not EVEN BOTHER to send me a reply --- probably too busy counting every cent of their respective S$2 million Annual Basic Pay !!!
As some netizens say, PAP mentality = YOU DIE YOUR BUSINESS. ]
Hi #3 David,
thanks for the info.
I always feel that singapore’s MRT is always so congested and people pack like sardines each working day during peak hours. I guess this is a real Vulnerability.
Not just MRT, every now and then the PC Show, Motorshow, other Computer shows all attract crowds that pack like sardines.
I do not think there is more easy way to be infected. I cannot imagine the situation when 6 million people resides here. Foreigners come from all over.
The question to ask is does the authorities have any solution knowing what is long known?
news today says widening Orchard MRT. But who is gonna pay and pay for widening all the other congested stations? Free ah? Bugis MRT super congested.
So, I have said it. I have raised the alarm bells. I have given all the early warning signs.
Lets cross our fingers and hope nothing happens.
Selamat malam.
regards
Abang
The best is to avoid travelling esp.to those affected countries unless necessary but many had prove to be not Kia See as far as travelling and holiday is concern.
Dun worry too much .Life is stressful enough
It is indeed a simple but forgotten way.
DavidSeeLeongKit on May 22nd, 2009 6.54 pm
Dear David
I have read some of your previous articles. Basing on the contents of your writing, I guess you will ever get a reply from the gahmen.
regards
Hi 3) DavidSeeLeongKit & 4) Human Density,
You have pointed out some vert relevant points about the transmission of diseases, not limited only to viruses but also many other contagious diseases, example tuberculosis – which many do not realise that infection is just as easy as sitting next to a sufferer who coughs – and the modes of transmission. Alas, we are a city, and the situation is the same with every other city in the world where dense crowds gather at transit or transitional points.
How then do we keep the spread of viruses and diseases in check? No matter how well we can control and limit the passengers on trains and buses, the danger of transmission is still there. We may think that lesser crowd means lesser cahnces of contracting viruses and bacteris but the truth is that bacteria normally stays alive for hours after one has placed his dirty hands on a common areas, like handrails and hand-grabs on trains and buses. The next crowd that comes along is just as susceptible to catching the virus as the one that had just left.
Taking this as the backdrop, it is therefore of paramount importance that every individual be made aware that personal hygiene is the best protection – both for oneself, and for the other. That’s why the need to inculcate good hygiene habits, that are not difficult to learn and adopt and made into the part-and-parcel of a daily living routine. When we protect ourselves by these habits, making sure that if the germs are with us, it never leaves us for another – then we are well on our way to eliminating the transmission mode of viruses, bacteria and diseases. Health experts will tell you that this IS the only and surest way to deal with transmissions – for now – and until we have cures and antidotes to fight all kinds of germs.
> For 2) giveup:
NEVER GIVE UP!
Many other Concerned S’poreans (incl myself) also faced similar dilemma as yours.
Do you know I am 61 years old now and first wrote on The Sharing Food Issue in ST Forum in 1990 (ie 18 years ago)?
Although my letter was published then, our highly-paid but lazy Bird-Brained Bureaucrats in MOH/NEA did not treat the matter seriously — which they don’t even do so now, despite our 2003 SARS Epidemic and current Swine Flu Disease Threat.
> For 5) agongkia:
Agree with you that we cannot be KIASU about many things in life.
HOWEVER, as Phua Chu Kang would say: “Don’t play, play with the precious HEALTH/LIVES of yourself and your loved ones*”
(*parents/children/brothers,sisters/nephews,nieces)
> For 7) fairplay:
YOU know, I know, WE know and HEAVEN know about such arrogant PAP political tactics:
– “toying around” in Parliament with rightful questions raised by Opposition MPs (who are duly ELECTED by the people).
– constantly insulting the intelligence of S’poreans by treating the people like 3-year old kids i.e. showing DISRESPECT for the very PEOPLE who are paying for their million-dollar salaries.
– treating the People’s well-meaning feedback/suggestions with either DEAD SILENCE or exasperating NON-ANSWER/HALF-ANSWER replies.
> 8) gemami & 4) Human Density:
Next Big Headache for Singapore, after Swine Flu:
Tuberculosis making come-back world-wide (incl S’pore) — due to emergence of drug-resistant strains.
Now, not just one but three types of TB to deal with:
— Normal TB
— Multi Drug-Resitant TB (MDR-TB) [ very difficult to treat ]
— Extensively Drug-Resistant TB (XDR-TB) [ extremely difficult to treat ]
TB now afflicting more young S’poreans ( ie no longer a disease of the elderly) as in these reported victims:
— 21-year old NSman [risk to fellow soldiers in crowded army camp]
— 30-year old teacher [risk to students and fellow teachers]
— 40-year old Managing Director [risk to office colleagues and customers]
Just like Swine Flu, TB (a highly contagious disease) is spread through:
— coughing/sneezing (air-borne droplets)
— saliva (hence, through “sharing food” eating habit)
This issue of sharing food is a social habit and is very hard to change. I’d think that, unless some sort of drastic disaster hits Singapore, any programmes that aim to change this habit is hardly going to be effective on the short run.
I’m not saying that HPB should not advocate the use of a sharing spoon. But I think, to do so as a measure against the swine flu will hardly be worth the effort. If such a programme is to be implemented, it should be targetted at long-term results.
#9)David
Agree with that “Dun pray pray”but just to add that my love ones consist of not only those who are related to me but Everyone .
The fact that there are certain issue that certain people have their limit and are not capable of handling and thus,do not expect too much from them. Give them a break..
Many of us are taught personal hygiene since childhood by our family .But these practices are up to individual .I heard someone ,maybe one of you here may even bring along your personal chopstick while attending Chinese dinner.I don’t do that .
I am more concern on those who insist on going holidays to countries that have such cases and imported them here .Remember that SARS ?But again we got no right to tell them not to travel .
Eating is a pleasure to me.Eat confidently.Dun let those nonsense affect our daily lives…Its an enjoyment to eat ..Dun worry.
Look at that durian…..Everyone ,lets use our paw to grab one,erm…..the taste is different….and tanteckee,eat with finger taste better……just eat …..no need to depend on others to teach us how to eat…..we had enough……
For 10) Jackson Tan:
I’m fully aware that “sharing food” is a traditional/ingrained/die-hard eating habit of “food-loving” S’poreans — that’s why most are not “consciously aware” of the associated health risks.
I did not say Eat the Hygienic Way (with serving spoons) is only for tackling Swine Flu — I also mentioned in my letter above various other saliva-borne infectious diseases like HFMD, Tuberculosis, normal Human Flu, Bird Flu [quite deadly] and SARS [possible return/has not disappeared totally].
Hence, I am thinking of the “long-term” as you put it.
But we must make a start NOW.
If only the HPB can educate current S’poreans on WHY they should Eat the Hygienic Way (with serving spoons), these people can then set the good example to their own children to follow (who could then pass on the hygienic eating habit to their future grandchildren)
EVEN China (where this eating habit is not easy to change) ,ahead of their 2008 Olympics, had issued a directive to its many restaurants to provide serving spoons automatically (ie without being constantly asked to by customers).
I doubt it’ll make much of a difference. If you’re eating with a swine flu carrier, you’ll be breathing much the same air he is as well, serving spoon or not.
Hi DavidSeeLeongKit,
Thanks for the added info regards TB and you’re absolutely spot on that it is so highly contagious yet no one seem to realise this. Apart from TB, there are other diseases that are just as contagious, like the various strains of Hepatitis.
The point I was trying to make is that we can never stop the spread of such germs unless every single living person realises that the battle is for every single one of us. If we cannot even take the simple measures to protect our own self, I dread to think of the harm we are causing our fellow human beings by our negligence.
It is no Herculean task to wash hands, to wipe them with hand sanitisers, to gough into our sleeves instead of the palms of our hands, or to use a tissue or handkerchief. These are basic good hygiene habits we learnt from young but somehow conveniently dropped them as we grow.
There is a good website targeted at kids and I think it might be good for adults as well – http://germywormy.com/
For 15) gemami :
(a) Hepatitis B infection can lead to hardening(cirrhosis) of the liver and liver cancer.
The Hep B virus can be spread by saliva [hence through "sharing food" eating habit]. And it can be passed on from an infected mother to her unborn child.
The world’s Hep B carriers totalled some 300 million.
Of these, a whopping 80% (or 240 million) are Asians [and mostly Chinese].
Researchers have attributed one cause to the “sharing food” eating habit of dipping chopsticks and spoons into common dishes.
[ Note: Hepatitis B carriers can look and feel well --- so if you "share food" with them at say a wedding dinner, you can pick up the infection.]
(b) You may be interested to read my posting “PROOF that Straits Times = SHIT TIMES” at:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Sg_Review/message/5712
Dear DavidSeeLeongKit,
Thanks for the link. Fantastic job you’re doing. Hope there are more Singaporeans like you. Please give me some time to digest your writings. Rather busy these days because of the first H1N1 case we are seeing at the hospital here.