Friday, May 8, 2009 9:46

Protect the Singaporean worker!

In Main Stories • 3,168 views • 84 Comments

A TODAY newspaper report, 8 May 2009

Is the mainstream media and government statistics reflecting the truth about the jobs and unemployment situation in Singapore?

A group of Singaporeans, who are concerned about the unemployment situation and how the Singaporean worker is unprotected, will take to Speakers Corner this Saturday, 9 May. They plan to highlight the problems faced by those who are retrenched and provide suggestions on how they can be better helped.

As mentioned by Mr Leong Sze Hian in a letter to the Today newspaper (see below), unemployment statistics and job vacancies may not reflect accurately the situation on the ground.

Do come and give your support to the speakers this Saturday! (See details below)

—–

Letter from Leong Sze Hian to the Today newspaper on May 3.

I refer to “Job pool shrinks” (Apr 30).

The Employment and Employability Institute (e2i) now has about 18,000 immediate job vacancies and some 9,600 registered job seekers.

I would like to commend the e2i for managing to increase the number of job vacancies from the 12,668 about a month ago, to 18,000 now. This is a remarkable increase of 42 per cent in just one month, not counting the jobs that must already have been taken in the past month, inspite of the worsening downturn.

In the update on the achievements of e2i, about 80 per cent of those who sought its help were not ready to start a new job immediately.

In this regard, I would like to suggest that we try to find out why four out of five unemployed, “were not ready to start on a new job immediately”? After all, there is now about two jobs available to every registered job seeker at e2i.

In this connection, since e2i’s last update on March 3 was that about 40 per cent of the 12,668 jobs available at e2i were offering salaries of more than $2,000, I would like to suggest that a break-down of the current 18,000 jobs available be given in respect of the salaries range.

Doing so may encourage more unemployed Singaporeans to register with e2i.

As the locals unemployment rate has hit a 5-year high of 4.8 per cent, and there were 95,600 unemployed residents at the end of the first quarter according to the Ministry of Manpower, with 12,600 retrenched in the first quarter, I would like to suggest that the e2i try to do more to reach out to the unemployed to register as a job seeker. This is perhaps underscored by the statistic that only about 27,000 (9,600 with e2i and 17,000 with CDCs) are currently registered job seekers with e2i and the CDC Career Link centres, which is only about 28 per cent of the 95,600 total unemployed now.

Whilst on the one hand, the e2i seems to be doing a great job in getting and increasing job vacancies, it does not appear to be doing as well in placing jobs, as only 4,012 workers were placed in jobs in sectors such as construction, tourism and childcare, in the first quarter. This is only about 20 per cent of the 20,000 people whom it helped find jobs last year. On a quarterly adjusted basis, this may mean that it is placing about 20 per cent less jobs this quarter compared to each quarter last year.

According to e2i’s web site, 5679 of the 18,489 vacancies are in the public sector, and 5,800 are in the two integrated resorts (IRs). As the IRs are expected to open at the end of the year, how many of these 5,800 jobs are available now and paying salaries now?

——

1. Time to protect the worker
  2. Where is the “unique Singapore advantage” to protect our workers?
  3. Tighten labour laws to protect older, vulnerable workers
  4. Job satisfaction – inadequate measures to protect workers
  5. Crisis in Myanmar and the responsibility to protect

84 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

I went to E2i - no calls yet
May 5, 2009 11:03

I went to e2i. I went to CDC.
Months already.
Nothing.
I applied to Cheers . Nothing.
Overqualified?
Nothing.

I am the evidence.

David
May 5, 2009 12:19

I think this is not the right time for our govt to lie and keep hiding the real situation behind superficial statistic. They are not forthcoming, transparent when the citizens are in trouble and needing help from the elected. The media are not probing and were seen in the same tune with this govt.

Singing about Singaporean willing to take drastic pay cuts will only make the ministers look better but the worst out of Singaporean. Is this the right time to even boast your performance of keeping unemployment rate at 4.8% against the world average of 7.1%? How many golden awards are waiting to be given out for such “oustanding” performance since Singapore has became a place where hero is borned for making billion losses.

Does Job Credit Scheme really work? Many Singaporeans do not think so, it is no different from saying that GST hike is to help the poor but does it really work? Where are the leader in times of need or are 66% of Singaporean voted expensive ghosts at the last General Election. I can’t help thinking it is true when Singapore is left to deteroriate without a soul stepping out with sound solution.

This is getting very dissappointing and extemely costly to Singaporeans. I hope this is a paintful lesson learned and should not be repeated when we were given the power to decided who to lead us.

Luck
May 5, 2009 13:20

Good try at Speakers’ corner. As long as it is at Speakers’ Corner, it is OK.

As long as the streets are peaceful, it is OK.

As long as the opposition remain as it is or even weaker, it is OK.

Other things not OK, hope we can be lucky that the US economy will recover and we will be the first to rebound (Did MM, SM or PM said that?). Hope we can be lucky in future. We can only HOPE for LUCK, both 4 letter words.

Ravi Philemon
May 5, 2009 13:31

Come and support the event at HLP Speakers’ Corner this Saturday…Our voices mys be heard!

ACACIA
May 5, 2009 14:01

Has any minister ever apologised or said that this is the true situation of any screwed up events , eg Mas Selamat, Nicoll Highway etc. And MSM just echo their statements. What is see is they are just playing poker with the situation, hoping that it will turn very fast and out with their ” I told you so” . I am just wondering what are the 18,000 jobs available, bus captains, cleaners, guards etc. I think so too. If you talk to the business people there are very few job openings for professionals in the private sector. At the end of the day we are usually left to fend for ourselves. Maybe the government should open more land to farming at a subsidized rate. Its a win win situation, get to work and get to eat and cost of living goes down abit.

Chee Hum Albine
May 5, 2009 15:55

Hallo,
where the …. is msk?
Abang, where you pergi ke?
Could our revered ah wong give us a regular updates ?
Last known good answer was he is either here or not here.
I am impressed.

To Ravi from jobless bloke
May 5, 2009 16:03

4) Ravi Philemon on May 5th, 2009 1.31 pm

Hi Sir,
Is the event ‘ON’ this saturday? where can find mo info on this ? what time?
I am jobless now. I am your man for the event , as audience lah.
I can clap and cheer you on.
I am jobless and financially broken but my righteous spirit is not broken.
I have decided to contribute whatever way i possibly can to see some results. At all cost limited to what i can afford.
Being jobless is not just ZERO income. It is in fact:
1. Pay and Pay monthly bills out of ZERO income where I see my savings account diminish as the days go by . about $1000 is deducted each month just for Doing Nothing – electric bills, water, phone, modem, tv license, S & CC bills, and many more overheads.

I applied so many positions , ZERO offers. I wonder if the jobs are REAL or openings meant for the future but started early to show it is recruiting.

As I continue to live in expensive singapore, I pay and pay until I am pork and pork. I mean, I feel like a pig as I do not dare to eat pork which is expensive. So, I eat bread for breakfast and lunch. Dinner is optional.

regards
Pork and Pork

aiyoyo
May 5, 2009 16:23

aiyoyo

really dont know how these report come about?

is it to say wage is extra by 42%?

then what to say about food prices? flats prices? transport prices? etc. etc. etc.

aiyoyo

TrueBlood Singaporean
May 5, 2009 16:47

Is e2i helpful for degree diploma holders?

As what Minister said just when to CDC e2i but after 5 months just fill form and no news.

Anyone got same experience!

blackfeline
May 5, 2009 16:53

for singaporeans by singaporeans…it’s about time! for once…no need to be politically correct…go to hell with the foreign talents!

TrueBlood Singaporean
May 5, 2009 17:05

Is site is not abt anti-foreigner.

It is abt competition S-pass – $1800
E-pass – $2500

But when to CDC no news at all !

mike
May 5, 2009 17:29

during the last sars recession, i was in hell. this time……. i am damn worried whether i can hold this present job longer though it is small company with present situation getting worse.

economy in sg is like rollercoaster for career and business but not the cost of living here which keep going up like rocket. so if you fall in lesser mortal who hardly can survive, just imagine that………. sure lot you out there feel the same way.

theforgottongeneration
May 5, 2009 18:16

7) TrueBlood Singaporean,

Experiences with e2i:
– First enquiry — sent me whole list of job offerings; no sorting, matching, placement opportunities, etc.
– Second enquiry — I talk they “listen”. Only suggestion = IR, IR, IR.
– Third enquiry — very quiet leh.

Trying Sustainable Development Initiative broadcast last week, supposedly 18,000 jobs waiting for grabs.
– First enquiry — bounced around different dept/persons; last “dept” turned out to be Rochor Police station!
– Second++ enquiry — ring, ring.
– Third enquiry — ok, got a seemingly nice guy. Nobody seems want to COMMIT where those 18K jobs are. Seemingly for people with prior experience or same industry, i.e. if times are “good o’ days”, or FT welcome. Seemingly very unoriginal.
– Fourth enquiry — Hopefully a face-to-face discussion granted later this week will dispel some doubts. Will be grateful even only 500 on-the-table, well-meaning, 42% pay-cut, jobs turn in.

TrueBlood Singapore
May 5, 2009 18:37

E2I is not very effective and transparent! Where is the more than 10K place of $2K?

They are just free matching agency bet employer, educators and employees.

To improved the job situation. I think gov sector should take a lead of employing ppls not on contract basis. Where is the loyatly for workers on contract?

They should relook into mom regulation of E pass -$2500
S pass =$1800
Work permit = $500

Already set a standard for the industries, which employer want the local guy if he can get a Unknow university “degree” of $1800.

BODO
May 5, 2009 19:14

I think Singaporeans are working too hard….all work and no play makes us frustrated when you lose your job…..do some reflections as LIFE is not all about working ………………Understand we do not have natural resources but learn from others:

May 5, 2009, 6.35 pm

PARIS – The French spend more time sleeping and eating than their counterparts in economically developed countries but Norwegians get top prize for time spent on leisure, a new study by the OECD said.

The Japanese sleep nearly an hour less every night than the French and also spend more time at work and commuting than indulging in fun, according to Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development survey.

The French also live up to their reputation for long lunches: they devote nearly double the time to meals than do Americans, Britons or Mexicans.

On average, the French get 8.8 hours of sleep each night, enjoying more rest than Americans and Spaniards and a full hour more than South Koreans who rank last on the list with 7.8 hours of sleep.

When it comes to leisure, Norwegians lead the pack, devoting nearly a quarter of their time to enjoyable activities while Mexicans, at the bottom of the list, spend only 16 per cent of their time unwinding.

Norway also embraces gender equality when it comes to leisure, with women and men both devoting about the same amount of time, contrary to Italy, for instance, where men have more than an hour more leisure than women.

Turkey however ranks as the most sociable nation. Turks spend 35 per cent of their leisure time with friends, more than triple the average of 11 per cent.

Watching TV absorbs more than half of all leisure time in Japan, but only a quarter in New Zealand.

The Spaniards are the most physically active, with sports accounting for 13 per cent of their leisure time, the highest in the OECD survey.

The report released on Monday by the Paris-based OECD was compiled with survey data from 18 countries in Europe, the Americas and Asia. — AFP

Rex
May 5, 2009 19:26

Will Tan Kin Lian be present?

Gilbert Goh
May 5, 2009 20:33

Thanks for the support shown here.

Lets hope that your support will show up thsi Saturday. We need a sizeable crowd to lend a credible voice.

I think that CDC and e2i have done their part however limited they have in their resources.

The more serious issue here is the age bias hiring mentality that has crept up on us here and blatantly explioted by the employers openly without any protection from the Labour law. Some of us have in fact accepted that we will stay unemployed for a long period after we reach 40s or worse 50s. Many have truend to migration to beat the employment trap here. This is sad and can be avoidable.

Hope to see all of you in Hong Lim paRK THIS sATURDAY THEN.

Cm Liew
May 5, 2009 21:09

Yes, it’s indeed 18,000 job available.
But.. they didn’t stated what kind of job.

it can be from the very bottom to the very top (?)
so probably 99.999% are lower ranking jobs.

Cleaner, sale assistant, security, supervisor, storeman, kitchen helper, shop assistant etc. etc.

Can these jobs earn enough to pay for your housing loan, PUB bill, Phone bill, Transport bill ? makan bill ? etc ? I doubt so for Singaporean.

GOB BLESSED SINGAPORE !

David
May 5, 2009 21:31

Let’s hope thousands of jobless members can show up, like those in the career fair, and give this govt a show down. If these voices are not loud enough, GkY and LSS will still be caught sleeping on the job. Do not forget these group of ministers are paid millions to help Singaporeans and not just talk the talk to the media like paper tiger,

fmj
May 5, 2009 21:36

What I think is needed is a concerted push like what happened at AWARE for transparency. Otherwise, why would anyone change after close to 50 years of busines as usual?

SL
May 5, 2009 22:36

You guys really are Champions. Hats off!

foreigner
May 5, 2009 22:48

Interesting to see if Unionised members lose their jobs vs. Non-Unionised members with jobs

Gilbert Goh
May 5, 2009 23:09

David

We do hope that there will be a sizeable crowd just like those experienced at the job fair. Then, the authorities may start to take notice of the issiues at hand.

Don’t get me wrong – they have done their best so far in handling the crisis.

More perhaps can be done and as many have spoken here, statistics can be easily manipulated also to provide a nicer view of issues here.

Hope we will see many SIngaporeans out there this Saturday.

David
May 6, 2009 0:14

Gilbert.

We need to differentiate between doing their best with doing the right things.

I can tell my boss that I am willing to work very hard and burn my time for him but end of the day I may not do the things he wanted though apparently I am doing my best. Wayang can be counter productive, and that is what I saw from the govt. You can hear them talked a lot and presumably comes lots of sophisticated idea to confuse the less educated. But where is the result? where are the crucial things they should look into instead? Like you said, age discrimination is one of them. Unwilling to implement minium wage system for Singaorean like what they did to S passes and EP holders. Showing bad example by taking the lead to retrench workers as in DBS and CSM case. Asking IR to employ locals first but that is not what we heard from Aroyo….
Aren’t they contradicting themselves?

Anyway, all these policies seem problematic and become accumlative to the woes we faced in this crisis. Now our leader said we need to depend on luck to get out. I rather try my luck on 4D than to wait for the luck from our govt.

To Mr Gilbert
May 6, 2009 1:26

Dear Gilbert,

I am glad that you and the others will be there .
I will be there just to turn up and be an audience and support you guys, regardless if it rains or shines.

I feel strongly that we must discuss a way that can prove beyond reasonable doubt how accurate are statistics. To achieve this, among others, one of the important aspect i think is how to address any conflict of interest , if any.
The people showing the statistics i would like to assume have concrete information to substantiate the figures. The difficulty is when abc says this is the official figure, which independent auditor is there to really independently audit this statistic?

A listed company, for example, is a CUSTOMER, as in the Revenue Contributor to an ‘independent auditor’. By this relationship, the customer is Also the PAYMASTER , i mean the one who pays the auditors. So, is there conflict of interest in this aspect? Sorry for digressing to auditing and conflict of interest. I just got carried away whenever such issues are discussed.

If anyone did not catch my drift , please let me know.
thanks.

To David
May 6, 2009 1:30

24) David on May 6th, 2009 12.14 am

talking about IR employing foreigners, I like to remind you i heard a news report some time ago that they have went to TW to invite many (if remember correctly, thousands of them) TW’nese to come here to work in IR and train them to do the job. The key words here are TRAIN THEM TO DO THE JOB. I wonder if these are experienced or not?

Singaporean
May 6, 2009 2:55

This situation has been happening for years. Finally Singaporeans are beginning to notice that what is reported is not what is actually happening on the ground. Our ministers have been fed the information that Singaporeans are choosy and resign after a while while the truth is that there is alot of manipulation of facts and figures on the ground. Prices continue to go up in NTUC affiliated organisations still believing in the foreigners induced golden period. Policies by our ministers are not worthy of the millions that they are paid for.
One example is that of the raising and imposition of multi surcharges in taxi fares. A good policy will be one that will optimise the usage of taxis vs the waiting time. To give an extreme example, by raising the taxi fare to a thousand dollars per trip will immediately eliminate any complaints of not finding a taxi, even if it is raining shit! But it will also mean that taxi drivers are idling most of the time without any fares. Only those very rich can get on a cab.
Similarly, nowadays we find many empty cabs waiting and polluting the environment and wasting their time while many potential commuters are spending time waiting at the bus-stops or crowding onto crowded MRT trains. There is no optimisation of taxi resources but they can claim a success as there is no more complaints of not finding a taxi during peak hours, so being paid millions is justified by themselves.
The simple yet effective solution of simply abolishing all the surcharges including the radio call surcharge and encouraging all trips to be made by radio calls would immediately optimise the resources are not considered at all inspite of repeated calls by citizens who provide this suggestion for free.
In short, we have been taken for a ride at our expense and I see this coming speaker corner event as an initial step to wake our govt up from its slumber and telling them that enough is enough and they should get out from their ivory tower to see what is happening on the ground instead of relying on their pen pushing, paper masking and facts twisting scholars and foreign talents to paint them a glossy picture so they can enjoy their million dollars salary in peace and self-patting for an imaginary job well done.

Handyman
May 6, 2009 9:58

Just wanted to add. If “OUR” govt. is about the citizen, no speaker’s corner is needed at all. Govt. concerned about “THEIR” citizens would be reading all comments posted here at theonlinecitizen.com and be thinking about how best to SERVE it’s citizens. READ THE WORD “GOVERNMENT SERVE IT’S CITIZENS”

So………, a speaker’s corner is a govt’s. way to “show” it cares yet no need to bother about what’s being spoken. To them, it’s all crap.

WOG
May 6, 2009 10:01

27) Singaporean on May 6th, 2009 2.55 am

Yes, many hundreds of taxis plying the streets and on a ghost ride mission…….tthe taxi drivers are ex. mgrs, accountants, blue & white collar workers, some failed high flyers including retirees too…………all driving endlessly to nowhere thus causing roads clogs…………perhaps waiting for the IR to be completed……………and what I like about them, is their pathetic stories and frustrations on job loss ……………with this vocation, they are also badle hit!

Gilbert Goh
May 6, 2009 11:17

Ya just asking you guys here to support this event for Singapore’s sake.

Things wont improve unless our voices are being heard.

somethingtodo
May 6, 2009 11:44

[i]30) Gilbert Goh on May 6th, 2009 11.17 am Ya just asking you guys here to support this event for Singapore’s sake.

Things wont improve unless our voices are being heard.[/i]

which part is not bein hurt?

go to parliament and shout perhaps?
where do one get one permit to shout?

Vote of Opposition
May 6, 2009 12:08

I read the jobs avail at the e2I website really alot of jobs! For PMET liked me who is out of job, I am trilled to have jobs in the $2000 range since gov decided majority of Singaporeans will not mind pay cut up to 40% hooray!

I am also trilled to see most of the jobs at e2i are taxi drivers, security, hotel, F&B and the great IR jobs (Must have 2-3 years dealing experiences).

Taxi also great job because left 108 vacancies.

What gov says is: since I had decided that you will be will to take the 40% pay cut, you will not mind taking these jobs. Have to be flexible right?

But was wondering if our ministers willing to take 40% paycut due to current economic situation? No news on this right?

Handyman
May 6, 2009 12:21

Gilbert, that’s the whole point. WE WILL NOT BE HEARD!! Especially at times like now. They will come up with all sort of excuses to appease us and a bloody good time for excuses now.
As said earlier on, they’ll just buy more time till all is calm. It’s not that I don’t support you guys, I just feel that this way is not effective enough. There must be a better way, let’s just pool our minds together to find it.

Cheers!

Dr Frankenstein
May 6, 2009 13:04

That is the whole problem with gahmen. They only have one solution to any problem, $$$. Not enough prison officer, teachers, increase their pay. Too many people lose IC, increase the cost of replacement. Too many cars on CTE, increase ERF. Singapore biz cost too high potong employee CPF. My grandma also can run this country and salary very low also.

Handyman
May 6, 2009 13:20

33) Vote of Opposition on May 6th, 2009 12.08 pm

“But was wondering if our ministers willing to take 40% paycut due to current economic situation?”

YOU ARE VERY WRONG MAN !! What is 40% of $10K?? $4K right? They still have $6K !!
No problem at all, they still can survive anytime. Please don’t challenge them, you’ll only be knocking your own head.

Meanwhile, look at a 40% of $2K, that’s $800. All we are left is $1,200. Take away CPF, utilities, groceries, children’s expenses, transport, etc…etc… WHAT’S LEFT ??!!

Hey Dr. Frankenstein, I like the “My grandma also can” Hahaha….

David
May 6, 2009 13:46

Singaporean voted this govt to serves Singaporean. Unfortunately the leader live on Singaporean to serve the foreigner. If we are not secrewed, who is?

TrueBlood Singaporean
May 6, 2009 17:27

Lot of Singaporean being retrenched in the last Qtr of 08. So assumed that their saving can last till the last Qtr of 09.

So what if they still find a job to support their family and run out cash!

Why don’t anyone still up a web counter to show that E2i is it helpful!

Jackson
May 6, 2009 17:43

If I were to scold someone, I will scold both the government and ourselves.

Scold the govt becoz they did all the unnecessary, brought in too many foreigners and spoil the entire labour market.

Scold ourselves because during the elections, some of us never cherish the votes we had, and ultimately sent the wrong party into parliament.

TrueBlood Singaporean
May 6, 2009 17:53

Singaporean are like frogs in the warm water and always look for order from top.

When the top got no solutions but wait for Obama, they don’t know what to do!

Very very soon they will be cook without they themselves knowings and the result will be out very soon before the next election.

Vote of Opposition
May 6, 2009 19:21

David,

Correction, we did not vote the PAP gehman to power, they walk over to power via the GRC system. So is our beloved president who is the world’s most highly paid president.

Nelson Mandela will not be able to be qualified for president election if he born in Singapore. Because he went jail and did not have experience on super rich corporation….

Babyboomer62
May 6, 2009 20:12

Family Planning ………..STOP AT 2 slogans some 30 – 35 yrs. ago has now backfired so we are paying a high price now that resulted in the influx of foreigners…….likewise China’s 1 child Family will also backfire in 20 – 30 yrs time as more because of gemale gender shortage all because of Government Intereference .

TrueBlood Singaporean
May 6, 2009 21:04

If you Gov are so loyal to the concept of Market Forces.

They should also open themselves to competitions and not like those MNC boss always protect their ricebowls while disregarding the RiceBowl of normal Singaporeans.

Let us see what happen in the next critical elections.

David
May 7, 2009 2:18

The best way to force foreigners and PR out of this land is to rely on recruitment agency and HR practitioners. I heard from jobless friends that some HR agencies are particular sensitive of giving foreigners or newly converted citizen the chance of jobs in the market. This is a good sign and pro Singaporean stand which defy our govt trick.

They fully recognised men role in NS to protect this country, and local women roles in having their child as Singaporean unlike foreigners or PR who prefer their child to be citizen of their own homeland even though they were borned here. Loyalty to Singapore must be fully understood and differentiated here to decide who should get priority to any job in this difficult time. I salute to all these recruiters, HR pratitioners and employers who recognised the pain of our true borned Singaporean (not new citizen).

Soon, desperation will drive all these unwelcomed foreigners to their homeland, and Singapore will become a true and less chaotic place to live again. I missed those peaceful day where I can ride MRT or bus in full comfort without losing my punctuality in work.

Grief
May 7, 2009 7:29

7) To Ravi from jobless bloke on May 5th, 2009 4.03 pm

I only can pity u jobless.If I had the cash, I wudnt mind helping you. but what are we to do? we’re all sufferring here

unabel
May 7, 2009 11:37

My take is THE ROOT OF OUR JOBS PROBLEM during these past 5 or 6yrs is the increasingly appreciation of our Sing Dollar against most other currencies.

It is an open secret my employer pays between 10-20% lower salary for a foreigner than for a Sporean worker.

We employ 16waiters of whom only two are Sporeans and they are in their late
40s and the rest being Malaysians whose starting pay is $800 per month(nearly 1,900 ringgit. The Malaysian receives at the most 1,100ringgit(465 Sing $) if he is employed in a 5/6-star hotel in Malaysia.

A Filipina receptionist started with a salary of $1,100(33,000 Phillippines pesos, she is not paid more than 16,000pesos for a similar job in a top class hotel in Manila) while a Sporean’s starting salary is $1,300.

A Indian national IT-systems programmer is willing to accept $1,800 while a Sporean is quite reluctant to receive $2,000.

Three Sporean cooks, all being in their early 50s are paid more than $3,500 monthly while the other 3Malaysian cooks are all paid below $3,000.

All employers look at the bottom-line. The PAP has always been proud of turning Spore into a high-cost nation. Their constant retort when criticised is
“your property values go up”.

Gilbert Goh
May 7, 2009 19:43

7) To Ravi from Jobless Bloke

Please email me at gilbert@transitioning.org so that I can understand your situation more.

cyngenx11
May 8, 2009 10:54

I fully understand the angst of many fellow Singaporeans.

But I have little sympathy for folks from Gen Y. Many of these Gen Y folks seem to have an unjustified sense of entitlement, a huge sense of self worth and have proven themselves to be serial job hoppers. There is no place in this world for people like that.

Harry
May 8, 2009 16:47

The Singapore authorities were in the dark over this arrest. That much for the cooperation and joint operations. Wong Kan Seng in a speech to the ISD officers
told them that “we will get him.” I think this meeting took place after April 1st. If WKS is aware of the arrest, he would not have made that remark.

Jackson
May 8, 2009 16:54

Foreigners can accept lower wages than Singaporeans simply because they have little or no commitments in Singapore. Singaporeans got many loans and bills to pay, ya know!?

To Vote of Opposition
May 8, 2009 18:19

40) Vote of Opposition on May 6th, 2009 7.21 pm #36
“Correction, we did not vote the PAP gehman to power, they walk over to power via the GRC system.”

But then back to the Fact – the people are still in their own ways responsible for the kind of system they want to have, the kind of govmin they wanna have.
What i mean is the people cannot run away from some responsibility in this aspect.

Handyman
May 8, 2009 20:47

Dear Jacobite,

Glad that you know you’re a foreigner, not a SIngaporean. The main thing here is that you shouldn’t even be writing here.

we are talking about “PROTECTING THE SINGAPOREAN WORKER” and NOT FOREIGNER!!!

Brenda Lim
May 8, 2009 23:30

38) Jackson on May 6th, 2009 5.43 pm
” If I were to scold someone, I will scold both the government and ourselves.

Scold the govt becoz they did all the unnecessary, brought in too many foreigners and spoil the entire labour market. ”

Japan and SKorea use very low ratio of foreigner.

I notice that many singapore companies like hawker centers hire many foreigners. This is to take advantage of the ease of supply of this labor and the lower cost which means more money for the boss to spend on things he like.
Many of these employers are also true blooded singaporeans.

When it comes to personal gains …… so i do not see this problem going away but get more serious in future. As we grow older, our market value changes. But when young and cheaper labor is constantly available from all over and the ease of getting them in is like among the best in the world if not the best (easiest) in the world, I think we better brace ourselves.

But I am hopeful. Life is a self cleaning toilet. Time will present opportunity.
the only constant in the galaxy.

kf
May 9, 2009 1:25

Did anyone invite a minister or mp to sit in on this upcoming session ? If not, why ? If not, should the invitation be a standard protocol in future ?

TrueBlood Singaporean
May 9, 2009 9:32

Can anyone invite Ong Teng Cheong he speak more like a human being but sadly this true gentleman already in heaven.

If invite Lim Swee Say before he say anything people already know what he is saying no different from a parrot!

hopeless
May 9, 2009 9:42

Comparison between majority Singaporean and Foreigner……

Foreigner – work , work and work,their goals – next time go back to their country buy big houses, big cars, retirement. Relax have children and repeat this cycle. ( that why they can take the tougher job, longer working hours, they got clear goals in life. )

Singaporean – work, work and work, their goals – pay 20-30 years for hdb and return when reach 99 years, buy car return 10 years, relax??? possible??? working in mcdonald after retirement age? struggle for whole life? Have children and repeat this cycle.

Dear foreigner, will you be so hard working back in your own country? Please think twice before you say singaporean are lazy. Don’t forget your currency conversion. thanks.

hopeless
May 9, 2009 9:46

TrueBlood Singaporean, Ong Teng Cheong is a hero!!! nathan? what he done for singapore except waving to the crowds?

TrueBlood Singaporean
May 9, 2009 10:32

Before his Death, Ong Teng Cheong has speak out against the Gov abt Reserve!

But LKY don’t like it and after a decade his ghost came back and PAP LL has to open the reserve.

What has being right in this time is not right in the other time!

His conscience is clear as true gentleman who speak his mind and not like those parrot!

kf
May 9, 2009 11:02

What I meant earlier was invite ministers and mps to sit in, not speak.

Go there listen is it illegal ?
May 9, 2009 12:23

Although I have a what is considered iron rice bowl, I too feel that it is important to participate in this event. Voice may not be heard if no one participate by just passing by to listen.

Young people who have less committments may be able to wait for the recovery (depending on USA), but in future, which will come, these young people would become old and when that happens and by the next recession, if things do not improve, i wonder how much worse will life be if out of job at late 30’s or older?

Will cost of living increasing further on top of what is already very expensive at least based on S.E Asian standard ?

Will more foreigners be coming here to compete?

As you grow older, even if you go for Course to switch line , at an older age, how optimistic are you to land a job when there is no problem getting younger and same or more skilled and experienced worker from overseas who are attracted here for several reasons eg. Exchange Rate? Why would employers like singaporean employers employ a older newly skilled singaporean who is old enough to have many committments and demand slightly more salary at least?

Jia You TOC! I hope more turn up but pessimistically, by virtue of 4 percent unemployment, 96 percent may not be bothered to turn up as they may feel that it does not concern them, as in not their parsar.

TrueBlood Singaporean
May 9, 2009 13:04

Former PAP people like Ong Teng Cheong and Tan Kim Lian got certain concern of Ordinary Singapore Workers.

But the Current NTUC Chiefs get no respect by Ordinary Workers but only in the eye of LKY.

TrueBlood Singaporean
May 9, 2009 13:16

I really encourged Ordinary Singaporean who are concern with their Rice Bowl to attend this event.

It may not be your turn but very soon it will be your turn to be replaced unless you are in Civil Sector with Iron Rice Bowl.

See how Ordinary Jobless Singapore had Suffers these few years and it will be your turn soon.

If you got nothing, you got nohing to lose expect your HDB flat.

For those who want to hear the Truth pls come Hong Lim Park 5pm!

We Must Make New Citizens Feel Welcomed!
May 9, 2009 18:09

The policy of fast tracking foreigners to citizenship should not be left out when discussing the issues of protecting local workers becos it masked the definition of who are actually foreign.

If enough foreign workers are granted citizenships in a short period of time, the number of foreign workers in the statistics will invariably fall off thereby resolving the issues in a flash.

TrueBlood Singaporean
May 9, 2009 21:49

Do you think foreign would earn and spend here. Don’t be stupid, they like the strong Sing dollars but if anyting wrong they will ship back what they earn to their home countries whereby things are cheaper.

If Gov is so capable than attract foreigners of Steve Jobs Category but they can’t cause these type of people treasure Freedom of Expression and Innovative Enivronment for their business to thrive and Singapore can’t provide them.

Ask any PRCs, their ultimate aim is in the New York or Silicon Valley!

Rurehe
May 9, 2009 22:18

Is there age discrimination in Indochina?

I am 69 and I was hired as a sub-editor cum journalist by an English newspaper in Indochina.

Probably much less. Here, if you can do the job then it is OK and I hire you.

One of my village buddy is around my age and his two young ones are around nine and 10 years old and he had switched jobs three times. He speaks good English and now he runs a school.

If you are old and you are capable and you say you sok mia or looking for a wife then it is perfectly OK. In sing they say you dirty old man. More tolerant here.

Can sing learn from Indochina?

Come on sing. sing boleh.

TrueBlood Singaporean
May 9, 2009 22:21

We ready Hope One Day the Foreigners will be more than the

locals and take over the PAP like they take Suzhou from LKY during the 90s and

according to their terms.

I don’t mind to call the next PM to be Li etc etc rather than Lee etc. One day we

will call Chinaman to be Boss! Very Very Soon!!!!

Singaporeans did not turn up to give support
May 9, 2009 22:55

The turnout was more than disappointing.

1. tens of thousands are jobless. not even 1 percent of these turned up to listen. Why? Are these not affected? Those still holding a job could not care less? 5-6pm timing bad? people go for dinner or shopping? The news of the event did not reach out to enough people? While Aware made people realise there is some hope left in singaporeans, this event reminded me that singaporeans are truely unique to the CORE.

2. Statistics – how to ensure the people see the clear truth like how many residents vs citizens occupied what types of jobs? One of the Speaker, Miss Braema, said something like Solution requires Research data . Without clear data, how can solution be created to target the problem of why people are not getting jobs when it is reported so many jobs are available and so many people willing to accept 42% pay cut and this means even cheaper than FTs, possibly.

3. I can understand why certain types of employees dare not turn up to listen.
But I could not understand why the 99.9% of the jobless and retrenched did not show up.

4. Could the system be improved to benefit singaporeans more? If so, why are people not stepping forward to provide the solution , to discuss, to voice up?
The current policies are great for employers. They could pick from anyone in the world and easily get them here to work . Why should employers hire a singaporean who is older and asks for slightly higher pay due to living standard and CPF overhead to the employer?

5. We are all gonna grow older. If not now, we are gonna have to face this employment issue sooner or later. Why are people so passive?

6. why is Aware response different from rice bowl issue? I thought singaporeans will only voice up when they themselves pocket are hurt?

I want to migrate but its not so easy as I have to have a job 1st to complete the application form where you need to provide resume and proofs of where you have been employed and worked as what and have what skills, for skill-based migration.

Okay, there is still hope left. Wait . Wait for Nature to provide the opportunity.
Thank goodness we are all humans and all humans are mere mortals. Evil cannot prevail. Period.

mice is nice
May 9, 2009 23:17

thanks TOC for organising a talk at HL Park.

^.^

ZA
May 10, 2009 0:22

@TrueBlood Singaporean
@Singaporeans did not turn up to give support

Don’t be discourage about the turn-up or misunderstand and make conclusion from the outcome.. I’m all for this event, however, honestly, not much people are aware of this event. Furthermore, it was such a short notice.. Me? I got to know on these on evening of 8th May. All Excuses? Nope… we need to garner support and create awareness to those that don’t frequent TOC, on the event.

Is there a way to make the event a more public one? or arrange it to in advance e.g. 3 weeks to 1 months? I’m very sure that it will have a different outcome. Send out an invitation email on the event and drawn support on the cause. You send to 10 recipients.. then each of them will send to another 10. Slowly and surely, they will reach the audiences. Get 50 committed audiences and it will create a wave… Then have another (same) event in 2 weeks time… Definitely, the number go up!

I have two daughters studying, and worry if there are jobs for them once they graduate… It’s a real concern for Singaporean…

We Must Make New Citizens Feel Welcomed!
May 10, 2009 0:55

“2. Statistics – how to ensure the people see the clear truth like how many residents vs citizens occupied what types of jobs? One of the Speaker, Miss Braema, said something like Solution requires Research data . Without clear data, how can solution be created to target the problem of why people are not getting jobs when it is reported so many jobs are available and so many people willing to accept 42% pay cut and this means even cheaper than FTs, possibly.”

As mentioned in #62, the quickest way to resolve these FTs and workers issues is to fast track these residents to become new citizens; so, no more arguments. Is this solution already taking place?

Taken for a ride
May 10, 2009 2:35

Jobless Bloke who dare not eat pork because too expensive. You do not need to go to NTUC Fairprice where the pork is so expensive. Try going to Giant. I just went and bought half a kilo of airflown Australian lean hind for slightly over 4 dollars. Tasted very good in my salted pork porridge which I had because I was running a fever. So did not attend the talk.
I think if TOC can manage to put out an advertisement on TV or the newspapers the response will be better. Don’t forget the AWARE issue was widely aired and reported in the media prior to the runup. It all boils down to advertisement. If an advertisement can be put up on the positions vacant ads on a Saturday you will be seeing a huge response.

To #62 by Pork and Airflown australian pork from Giant - you secret spy on me?
May 10, 2009 9:03

I dont see how your idea will help or solve problem for existing singaporeans who are jobless or will be jobless or retrenched.

Your idea seems to make the statistics look better only.

Very evil you.

regrads
Pork and Pork to you

A Call to TOC
May 10, 2009 9:16

I second and concurr with 68) ZA .

TOC or some other NGO should hold another event on the same.

This turnout of under 50 was appalling and illogical Representation of the situation and sentiments on the ground. This means there is a gap between organizer and the target audience. I see a need for Marketing Specialists and Advertisement Gurus to execute a solid plan for mobilization.

Youths, in time, and time passes quickly, you too will become 35 and then 40.
There is also no more iron rice bowl at least based on some reporting.
Regardless of these factors, we should still open our eyes and heart and come together to solve a Real problem.

I like many who turned up are not Against FTs. We have many FT friends, real friends. The issue is This is our country. What is inplace to give singaporeans support when employers clearly choose to favor hiring FTs and some cite the convenient but Broad and non-specific reason that singaporeans a lazy or shun this job or are too choosey or job hop a lot or ask for too high pay. EVEN IN THIS CRISIS? I do not think so their reasons are Valid anymore. Yet.

Who is really ensuring and checking the quota in all companies every month?
I think the quota is or can be different for different industries or companies.
Which of you really knows what is happening?
Oh I forgot, got Tripartism.
sigh…

Gilbert Goh
May 10, 2009 13:16

Thanks to all who attended the HL PArk event. Your turn out meant alot to us.

It is true that the turn out was disappointing. We expect at least 200 to come for such a relevant event.

Maybe we need to publicise and give more thoughts to marketing it in future.

I am sure that we will do this again sometime in future. That is for sure.

Such events need a concerted effort by all to publicise it. Bring your friends and help us to be your mouthpiece.

Thanks again for those die-hard who turn up yesterday.

Everything starts from the first time and I am sure the second one will be much better.

Rally can't work here lah
May 10, 2009 13:58

#73 Gilbert,

Singaporeans are like that lah. Much as I appreciate your intention, the fact is this will not help them one bit in securing a job!

Also please do not be too fixated with big turnouts lah. Remember those opposition rallies during elections? They were huge, much bigger than those of the PAP. What was the voting result?

Also more recently Tan Kin Lian’s Minibond fiasco rallies. What was the positive impact to those investors who lose money? Almost none. They still have to fight their legal battles with the banks if they want to get back their money.

mice is nice
May 10, 2009 14:35

hwy, people. dun so dishearten lah, at least yesterday never rain & it did materialise.

other than publicity, i think some jobless people who may have known about (or not) the event may not want to spend the if they stay far & for a talk that they may feel sceptical that it will change their plight.

& yes i dun stay that far away…

No-Show - Could it have sent a Wrong Signal?
May 11, 2009 11:30

Due to some strong reason , the turnout of between 20-49 (estimate) wasn’t great. So, I wonder could this have sent a wrong signal to the u-knoe-who or not?

I mean its fair to assume ‘they’ have sent people there to observe. If so, does the low turnout give an impression of APATHY on issue that is BREAD AND BUTTER? Or could it have given the signal that the People are not facing job security problem related to FT in a time like this? People not affected by Age Discrimination? People not jobless and cannot pay and pay the arrears as they are now hardly able to eat Pork and Pork ?

Could this sent a signal to citizens that People are 99.9% not bothered about voicing up for this issue as there is no such serious problem? Could this Dissuade the youths from participating? Could they have gotten a wrong message.

Could the messages not have reached the Youths and Adult workers?

regrads
Pork and Pork

mice is nice
May 11, 2009 15:03

compared to the Aware’s EOGM where its widely & frequently publised in the local media on TV, radio & newspapers, and the online interests it generated. fair to say the level of publicity for this talk is fairly muted.

social issues are not fashion fads, where a sudden surge reaches a plateau then sees a rapid decline in interest wan. maybe it’s 99% who may have turned up dun even know of it?

anyway civil society movements do not always have things going smoothly in the early stages. just look at Aware, after 20+ years still got so much room for improvement, those gritty women never gave up their cause. that is the spirit mah.

Aware is different
May 11, 2009 17:03

Aware has real people as members.
Aware has a office where real people meet there physically to solve problems or help women.

Other civil society awareness blogs exists on the virtual cyberspace.
‘Members’ are real but many are readers without a face identified by nicknames.

Other civil society internet ‘establishments’ does not have the kind of funding to advertise to reach critical mass.

The process may take another 20 years to mature? I hope not as too many would have given up.

Rurehe
May 11, 2009 20:14

I cannot turn up at HL Park because I am in Indochina.

I will be back in October and if there is a meeting at that time I will turn up.

Sure as hell.

Are sing people dead scared and scared that ISD and all the other are taking photographs of the crowd.
Let us catch these spooks.

You know when I was at uni in Auckland the white students caught a spy for the gahmen and they really fixed him and they punched him hard and so he begged God for mercy.

mice is nice
May 11, 2009 23:04

re to Aware is Different,

i know, Aware is different. but they do not have internet to spread their cause. this is the online comunity’s advantage. not sure about Aware’s fundings in their early years.

i am not saying this also will take that long, i am saying it takes a determined group of core “founders” who believe in it & work towards a common goal, without the certainty of knowing when “success” will come.

i also hope its well under 20 years. lol… -.-”

I am singapore
May 12, 2009 17:19

Some jobless PR and FT go back to their country as they manage to find good jobs in their country. I wish I can do that.

I believe there must be some rules to protect Singaporen worker. Can anyone list out all ?
Can anyone tell me how the other first world country protect their citizen workers ? Or they do not?

TrueBlood Singaporean
May 12, 2009 17:53

Ayio all these Unemployed are so worried and depressed till they can’t step out of their house or just hide in the library.

Some need to go see psychristry to take depression pill and the psychristry are so happy that their business had increase during this time!

Singaporean never reliase that Change is Only Constant and even during unemployment they just refused to change!

What a pity! Singaporean bless you to the grave!

mice is nice
May 12, 2009 19:20

to TrueBlood Singaporean,

if our forward looking govt that have always been able to plan years ahead, the change would not be painful & sudden. just like their leadership renewal, no where near drastic, smooth, largely predictable. compare that to the change people are being forced into this past few months, through job losses, reduction in salaries with a change of job.

everytime there is a change (“recession”) common folks are made to swallow bitter pills like wage freeze, CPF cuts, rising cost of limits. the biggest change is the status quo of PMETs who made up the large middle (low, mid to high) income earners. this group is being pushed to the low income group with all the retraining for new industries that pay much less. how to keep their (&heir family’s) heads above troubled waters?

George
Sep 17, 2009 0:23

For an export dependence country like Singapore, global recession will have a profound effect on employment. Manufacturing will contract and workers will be retrented. Similarly shipyard workers were retrented as the number of ships were parked/mothballed. Globalisation come with both positives and negatives.The poor FT/FW especially those newly arrived who were still paying off the debth they had to take on to travel to Singapore. The unique feature of this recession is that although company were reducing their head count, food inflation was still rising. This made life doubly hard for those unemployed. I supposed because we import all our food from abroad, there is little we could do about it. Maybe our gahment could fellow the example of S.Korean and Saudi and use our hugh reserve to lease farm land and grow our own food. It will create employemnt by training Singaporean to grow our own food. That would also garantee our own food supply.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook