Video by Ho Choon Hiong

Andrew Loh / Pictures courtesy of Jacob George

In a simple but solemn gathering at Speakers’ Corner on Thursday, about 100 people observed the 22nd anniversary of the arrest and detention of 22 social activists by the Internal Security Department in May, 1987. They were accused of being part of a Marxist plot to “subvert the social and political system” in Singapore and replace it with a Marxist one.

The 22 were detained without trial for as long as three years.

Thursday’s event, organized by a group of five young activists, was held to “condemn the arrest, detention and torture of 22 fellow Singaporeans under the Internal Security Act in 1987,” the group’s statement said.

Taking turns to read out the statement, the five activists – Mr Seelan Palay, Ms Rachel Zeng, Mr Mohd Shafie, Mr Chong Kai Xiong and Mr Mohd Khalis – condemned the use of the Internal Security Act which “violate[s] the fundamental human rights of the 22 Singaporean citizens.”

“The ISA threatens the primary rights of freedom of expression and freedom from fear of the people and should be abolished,” they said.

The group asks for “a truth and reconciliation commission to be set up and tasked with discovering and revealing wrongdoings by the state officials in 1987.”

Mr Seelan Palay pointed out that while the government had used the ISA on the detainees because they were thought to be communists, the People’s Action Party’s Youth Wing, however, had recently paid a visit to China’s Communist Youth League to learn “political education and leadership development. (See AsiaOne’s report.)

Mr Seelan later read out a strongly-worded, blistering letter from former Solicitor General and ex-detainee, Mr Francis Seow, castigating the actions of then Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew. “May 21, 1987, will long remain a day of ignominy in the history of modern Singapore,” the letter said.

Mr Seow called Mr Lee’s claims that the group of 22 were planning to overthrow the government “a figment of Lee’s overwrought imagination”.

On May 21, 1987, twenty-two young men and women were arrested on the allegation that they were trying to overthrow the PAP government through violence and replace it with a Marxist government.  These were, and are, serious charges,” Mr Seow’s letter said.  “No guns, no ammunition, no armaments of any kind whatsoever were ever seized or produced to substantiate this fetid allegation.”

He described the confessions of the detainees “not worth the paper on which they were recorded” which, he said, were “obtained under duress from the detainees”.

Several of the ex-detainees were present to grace the occasion: Mr Vincent Cheng (picture left, in spectacles) who was then accused of being the ringleader of the “Marxist” group and detained for three years; Ms Teo Soh Lung, detained for two and a half years; and Ms Wong Souk Yee, who was incarcerated for 15 months.

The three did not make speeches but mingled with members of the public after the event.

Several opposition members were also present to show their support. These included the secretary general of the Reform Party (RP), Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam, Mr Ng Teck Siong, the former chairman of the RP, Mr Gandhi Ambalam, chairman of the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP), Ms Chee Siok Chin, also from the SDP and Mr Goh Meng Seng of the National Solidarity Party.

Many in the gathering, which included young students and young adults, expressed appreciation that such an event was held to mark the anniversary of the arrests and detention.

—–

——

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

79 Responses to “Remembering the 22”

1. KopitiamApek 22 May 2009

are they singing about themselves?
    and I noticed only one person was doing all the talking.
    very angry now young man
    ask yourself how will you feel ten years from now?

there is a Chinese saying ” to know the road ahead, ask thoe coming back”

2. KopitiamApek 22 May 2009

There is so much negative energy in the submiited comments, so much hatred.

The countries in our beautiful planets comprises of governments systems in a continuum, extremely rotten corrupt inefficient repressive to extremely unrotten incorrupt efficient open.

Where in this continuum is our lovely island state?

We do not live in an ideal world. Neither can we have ideal policies, as there is non that exists.

3. KopitiamApek 22 May 2009

27) Harry ” I am glad to see these young Singaporeans who are righteous
    There is hope for the future of Singapore if we continue to see more and more young Singaporeans stepping forward to expose the wrongs and evils of society.

4) jim007jimmyboy ” I was taken aback when i learned that it was organised by group of student. But I am gratified to know that youth are taking an interest in Sg politics and this issue that occurred in our past.. The youth of today will help steer the politics of the future. With more people taking interest in Sg politics and participating. There is hope for a better future for all of us.”

May I ask other than by “exposing” , how are the young people of this group going to “steer” the politics of Singapore?

From the group photo of 25, half are very young.

From the crowd photos, they looked like those who will crowd around koyok sellers, accident scenes, killing time

4. Non-Historian 22 May 2009

The use of ISA against obviously innocent citizens is indeed reprehensible. I’m not familiar with the history of ISA but after 1987, when were the other times that ISA was used for controvesial (i.e. political) reasons ? If a pattern of dubious employment of ISA has continued after 1987, then I’m sitting up.

5. #13) TrueBlood Singaporean
    ‘ Well done to the 100 people with the guts of no afraid to be arrested!\
    I wish I had the gut but LKY still have not go to heaven!’
    #14) IMS
    ‘ only 100 hot blooded singaporeans attended. so others are worried about being identified… the pink dot has more people right? singaporeans still have no balls.’
    …………………………………………………………..

I was outside the gate of Queenstown Prison when M Shafie was released and I was present yesterday at Hong Lim Park. I don’t think the ISD agents would knock on my door at 4.00 am soon. Time has changed. Communism is practically dead. It is not easy now for LKY or his son to arrest political opponents on flimsy grounds. They can only make them bankrupt.

We must thank the few young and brave activists for organisng the event. From some comments in TOC and the crowd at Hong Lim park we can sense that many citizens are still fearful in coming forward to stand up for democracy in Singapore. The pink dot had more than a thousand to support the gays but only a hundred for democracy. What a joke! The gays are more united and creative than members of our opposition parties. No wonder the PAP is always laughing at the opposition parties. No solidarity. Always quarrelling with one another.

Perhaps it is not a bad idea to co-opt some gays to help in the opposition’s cause. They had pink balloons, umbrellas, T-shirts, etc. It was a tremendous victory for the gays. Or we can learn from them to make the next democracy event as grand as the pink dot.

6. lee chow yang 22 May 2009

heh guys, go google and check up burman relation with lee kuan yew.
    and u know how ugly this PAP is.dare to detain innocent people who just want to ask for more rights and freedom in singapore and charge them for being communist.then they themeselves allow burma drugs leader to make us of singaore as a finance hub to wash their dirty money!!!
    guys, go check google and see how much money lee and his yes man make dealings with burmese.bastard man!!!!! i wonder if the god got eyes anot.let the PAP rule for so long!!!

7. ST Observer 23 May 2009

Today’s straits times reported “50″ people turned up. I was there. I think the ST reporter Sue-Ann Chia needs a calculator. X’mas is coming. Someone please buy her a calculator.

After 22 years, the SHITTY TIMES is still shitty.

8. Daniel 23 May 2009

“Communism is practically dead.”
    But not its ideas and elements as they still revive into new laws and acts. and very much alive.

“It is not easy now for LKY or his son to arrest political opponents on flimsy grounds.”
    I don’t know if it is true but it definitely come close for gomez has not certain clown mistaken said something about fixing opp party and buying supporter’s vote. Has gomez been arrest then the investigation should be called to do so for PM as well. They call it a rest because of not wanting too much implications.

“They can only make them bankrupt.”
    That is just as devastating because Money is the number one thing in Singapore, and since they can’t kill people at will like the junta, then making opponent bankrupt is the best way to discourage people from been a dissent just like killing people by Junta is way to give warning. Junta use violence, ours use law and money, with money comes their own-made law.

9. Dear Ravi Philemon, until today there is no evidence produced to show whether ALL (as in each and single one) of those men arrested for being alledged “terrorists” or “JI members”.

They did the same thing with them in the papers – build a web of conspiracy connecting person to person. Create a scene in quite a silly way, that they were going to terrorise Yishun MRT with a bicycle, and so on.

What if some of those detained in 2003 are innocent, and they’ve been there rotting for the past 6 years, tortured and being forced to confess, eventually to come on TV and make similar statements? All the while never ever being given a chance in court?

Don’t throw the word “terrorist”around on everyone, especially don’t use it to justify the ISA. EVERY HUMAN BEING deserves a fair trial and is innocent until proven guilty. I’m quite disappointed by your point of view, but I will continue supporting you Ravi..

10. To ST Observer 23 May 2009

I wonder has anyone seen who this Sue-Ann Chia looks like?
    I do not buy the news. I rarely read the news. To save money to pay and pay for
    things like library books fines etc.

If know, then next time at a HLP event if she is there to write about it, people can go and approach her lor. and ask her was it typo or was it 100 people turned up and not 50.

11. Chia Pah Buay - Sudah makan 23 May 2009

Why would Evidence not be available if someone is detained for eternity?

12. TrueBlood Singaporean 23 May 2009

Remember June 4 89, Deng Xiao Ping sends the tanks to kill millions and I believe LKY would do the same if not careful!

13. Sorry guys, I am still harping on it. Can we focus on the future? if the Public Order Act becomes law, ISA will just be a joke.

Public Order Act have to potential to be used to blind and gag the public. With such a law, everyone cannot legally film what the police is doing, therefore, any ‘evidence’ obtained will be illegal and cannot be use in the courts. Also, journalist cannot expose the wrong doings of the authorties, since government action is almost carried out by the police.

Finally, given such powers, isn’t it easier to lead to police brutality?

I really hope I am wrong in my worries. I hope some one trained in the law can correct me.

14. TrueBlood Singaporean 23 May 2009

I would support Opposition when LKY go to Heaven!

15. KopitiamApek 23 May 2009

Deng Xiao Ping sends the tanks to kill millions ?

Would you like to substantiate “millions” ?

16. KopitiamApek 23 May 2009

28) Andrew Chuah

you seems to be the only one here who wrote something constructive.

17. Kee # 63, you don’t need to be trained in law to know what the problem is.

Sections 9 and 14 of Part IV (Fundamental Liberties) of the Constitution of Singapore have been heavily tampered with. In particular, Clauses 2 and 3 of Section 14 should be removed completely. Look them up.

18. Peter Sellers, thanks for replying to my appeal to discuss the POA. Everyone else seemed only interested to duscuss about this 22 years later but not now.

19. Retiree 24 May 2009

# Kopitam Apek’s comments are instructive, wise and relevant, and I implore participants to really take note. Also do not forget that you are living in the present and it will be YOUR LIVES THAT MATTER henceforth. !987 is long gone; memories are merely historical and perhaps for some emotional reflections upon sharing.

I admire the bravery of the youthful 4 who spoke ; just do be very careful in whatever you do – the ISA is there and will be there forever.

Do take care. please

20. Balanced view 24 May 2009

I am support the removal of ISA against political and social activists but retain it as a tools to discourage terrorist acts such a bombing, hostage taking etc.

Tan Wah Piow is not available for loan yet in the library. Anyone know where can can I locate them in Singapore bookshops?

Thanks

21. Lai CF 24 May 2009

70) Retiree on May 24th, 2009 7.15 am # Kopitam Apek’s comments are instructive, wise and relevant, and I implore participants to really take note. Also do not forget that you are living in the present and it will be YOUR LIVES THAT MATTER henceforth. !987 is long gone; memories are merely historical and perhaps for some emotional reflections upon sharing.

I admire the bravery of the youthful 4 who spoke ; just do be very careful in whatever you do – the ISA is there and will be there forever.

Do take care. please
    ********************************************************************************
    retiree, these youths are testing the envelop of POA now, as well as Ah Loong “a consensus society with alternative and diverse views”.

Like 1st, 2nd & 3rd generation apolitical Singaporeans, 4th Generation is certainly vocal, raucous (“kanagroo”, ‘non-violent Civil disobedience”) and best of all assertive.

Can cut both way:

1 – either smash like 21-May-1987
    2 – or an “alternative party” is emerging and given plenty of leeway like “anti-PAP but yet pro-Singapore”.

- The Malayan Communist Party is no more,
    - 2nd World is no more,
    - Communism, Marxism, Marxism-Leninism and Maoism in retreat and proven false
    - China is a capitalist heaven nowadays.
    - Informaiton can’t be suppressed like in the 80s.

In all probability, there is a high chance that 4th generation Singaporeans is slowly evolving into an assertive and questioning citizenry.

PAP is no slough and allow this kind of situaiton like a “pressure relief valve” before it can build up a nice head of steam.

Meaning:
    it is easier to defang a situaiton that to suppress it like in the 80s.

With absolute poltiical control, starving oppostion of finance, talents and resources, PAP is only bemused at these various pin-pricks which have absolutely no impact or make the slightest d ent to their absolute political power control.

Do not worry.

Thsi kind of remembrance is excellent propanganda fro PAP Government to show to APEC leaders in Novemebr that “democracy sia lvie and well and we have a vibrant poltiical opposition culture in SIngapore with our youths now slagging PAP over polciies in 1987″.

Rememebr this con-man’s saying:
    “For every attempt,a llow the sucker to win 1 in 5″.

Well, “Operation Spectrum” remembrance can be that lucky “1 in 5″ that PAP Gvoernemtn tolerate…with an eye on Novemebr APEC Meeting.

22. KopitiamApek 24 May 2009

It is absolutely human to want to hear (or read) what is agreeable to our point of view. That is the attraction of the people who posted in TOC. Same same view. The common interest is here is not cooking.

But do read wider, see beyond, there is a whole world of views out there.

23. MatthewTan 29 October 2009

Detention without trial is here to stay. Support for the PAP and the Internal Security Act is tremendous in Singapore. We will not allow Western nations to define “human rights” in Singapore. Singapore, along with Asean nations, and nations like China will define its own human rights. The days of Western “thought imperiallism” are over. We take care of our own destiny!

MY SUPPORT FOR DETENTION WITHOUT TRIAL !

24. MatthewTan 30 October 2009

“Several opposition members were also present to show their support. These included the secretary general of the Reform Party (RP), Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam, Mr Ng Teck Siong, the former chairman of the RP, Mr Gandhi Ambalam, chairman of the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP), Ms Chee Siok Chin, also from the SDP and Mr Goh Meng Seng of the National Solidarity Party.”

This list of “opposition party members” is so pitiable.

If you guys want to “protest” against anything, make sure you have a gathering of sufficient numbers and enough respectable people in your ranks. Your protest and call for abolition for ISA are better reserved for home consumption for your kids at home. Don’t bother us the majority of Singaporeans who repeatedly voted the PAP.

25. Alex Xia 19 May 2011

I joined the call to abolish this law since I was 19 whilst in the University. The call probably started 5-10 yrs before that I am now 61. Society has changed beyond recognition over these years…it is probably time to review it’s requirement. The attitude of just leave it therein case we need it needs to be reexamined in view of a just and equitable society where people can live without fear.

26. Nathaniel Chan 25 June 2011

Time the PAP government come clean about the 1987 arrests. As what Mr Chiam See Tong said – produce the evidence of a Marxist conspiracy. Hopefully the 6 elected WP opposition plus the 3 Opposition NCMPS will push for an independent Commission of Inquiry in Parliament on the Marxist conspiracy arrests.

27. @Matthew Tan
    Nobody is saying that supporting the demolishment of ISA is a representation of supporting Western ideologies.
    HUMAN RIGHTS is a UNIVERSAL concept. Are you going to say that freedom of speech should only be a western concept. In that case, how are YOU being allowed to speak for yourself?
    Broaden up your narrow mind and LOOK beyond the surface of these problems.
    People like you, who fear repression are the main reason why we need to work towards the creation of a brave young generation.

Even though the support in physical aspects may not seem huge for the abolition of ISA, your numbers in FEAR are worth more to be ridiculed.