Video by Ho Choon Hiong

Andrew Loh / Pictures courtesy of Jacob George

In a simple but solemn gathering at Speakers’ Corner on Thursday, about 100 people observed the 22nd anniversary of the arrest and detention of 22 social activists by the Internal Security Department in May, 1987. They were accused of being part of a Marxist plot to “subvert the social and political system” in Singapore and replace it with a Marxist one.

The 22 were detained without trial for as long as three years.

Thursday’s event, organized by a group of five young activists, was held to “condemn the arrest, detention and torture of 22 fellow Singaporeans under the Internal Security Act in 1987,” the group’s statement said.

Taking turns to read out the statement, the five activists – Mr Seelan Palay, Ms Rachel Zeng, Mr Mohd Shafie, Mr Chong Kai Xiong and Mr Mohd Khalis – condemned the use of the Internal Security Act which “violate[s] the fundamental human rights of the 22 Singaporean citizens.”

“The ISA threatens the primary rights of freedom of expression and freedom from fear of the people and should be abolished,” they said.

The group asks for “a truth and reconciliation commission to be set up and tasked with discovering and revealing wrongdoings by the state officials in 1987.”

Mr Seelan Palay pointed out that while the government had used the ISA on the detainees because they were thought to be communists, the People’s Action Party’s Youth Wing, however, had recently paid a visit to China’s Communist Youth League to learn “political education and leadership development. (See AsiaOne’s report.)

Mr Seelan later read out a strongly-worded, blistering letter from former Solicitor General and ex-detainee, Mr Francis Seow, castigating the actions of then Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew. “May 21, 1987, will long remain a day of ignominy in the history of modern Singapore,” the letter said.

Mr Seow called Mr Lee’s claims that the group of 22 were planning to overthrow the government “a figment of Lee’s overwrought imagination”.

On May 21, 1987, twenty-two young men and women were arrested on the allegation that they were trying to overthrow the PAP government through violence and replace it with a Marxist government.  These were, and are, serious charges,” Mr Seow’s letter said.  “No guns, no ammunition, no armaments of any kind whatsoever were ever seized or produced to substantiate this fetid allegation.”

He described the confessions of the detainees “not worth the paper on which they were recorded” which, he said, were “obtained under duress from the detainees”.

Several of the ex-detainees were present to grace the occasion: Mr Vincent Cheng (picture left, in spectacles) who was then accused of being the ringleader of the “Marxist” group and detained for three years; Ms Teo Soh Lung, detained for two and a half years; and Ms Wong Souk Yee, who was incarcerated for 15 months.

The three did not make speeches but mingled with members of the public after the event.

Several opposition members were also present to show their support. These included the secretary general of the Reform Party (RP), Mr Kenneth Jeyaretnam, Mr Ng Teck Siong, the former chairman of the RP, Mr Gandhi Ambalam, chairman of the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP), Ms Chee Siok Chin, also from the SDP and Mr Goh Meng Seng of the National Solidarity Party.

Many in the gathering, which included young students and young adults, expressed appreciation that such an event was held to mark the anniversary of the arrests and detention.

—–

——

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

79 Responses to “Remembering the 22”

1. I would like to say thanks alot to those that have attend the event..
    Special thanks to the ex-detainees for supporting our event..

Among those present too was from Singapore Democratic Party..
    Gandhi Ambalam (SDP -Chariman)
    Chee Siok Chin (SDP)

Tkz to all..
    Its was an event for all

WE THE PEOPLE EMPOWER OURSELVES

2. Andrew Loh 22 May 2009

Hey Khalis,

Thanks for organising the event. It was very meaningful to me…

And also thanks for reminding me about Gandhi and Siok Chin… trying to juggle too many things at the same time… :(

Today’s event was the best event I’ve attended at Hong Lim Park…

3. Hi there Anrdew,

Tkz to all..The event was not possible without you guys that took the time on a weekday to come down..

Tkz to TOC for coming down and do a report of the event..
    This event is not about us but thode ex-detainees that sufferes at the hands of ISA in 1987..

4. jim007jimmyboy 22 May 2009

I was taken aback when i learned that it was organised by group of student. But I am gratified to know that youth are taking an interest in Sg politics and this issue that occurred in our past.

The youth of today will help steer the politics of the future. With more people taking interest in Sg politics and participating. There is hope for a better future for all of us.

It is a wake up call to our Ministers who of late seems to be detach from the public and they have to be more transparent and accountable.

5. Dear jim007jimmyboy,

we are students no more. Our schooling days are way way over and done with hahaa! Well at least for the moment anyway for some of us. ;)

6. Clear eyed 22 May 2009

I would have attended if I could make it. I’d like to thank the 5 young activists for organising this. Glad that 100 attended. Number may be small but it’s a start.

7. Young Singaporean 22 May 2009

Please make this a YEARLY event.

Thank you.

8. kingfisher 22 May 2009

Where was Low Thia Khiang?

TOC should organise this event every year. That will remind the kind of govt that we have, and the Opposition that we have not. Innocent socially active citizens were incarcerated, beaten, tortured and forced to confess to offences they never committed. It is time to think about not only abolishing the ISA because then they enact equally illegitimate laws like the POA, but to throw out the PAP in the next elections, or deprive them of 2/3 majority in Parliament.

9. Daniel 22 May 2009

“Where was Low Thia Khiang?”

It seems that he staying Low nowsaday.

10. Lai CF 22 May 2009

Where will you all go from here?

It was a pleasant surprise to me that youthful political activism is still alive and well.

“Ostracise GE2011 and prepare for GE2016″.

11. stayer staying elsewhere 22 May 2009

I remember watching the interview of these “marxist conspirators” on tv. It was so painful to watch. I think Kenneth Liang did the interviews (I may be wrong). It was so obviously a wayang. My heart went out to those “detainees” esp Soh Lung who was obviously not a Marxist. As a lawyer said then “if these are Marxists, we have nothing to worry about”….thanks TOC for remembering…if only someone could obtain footage of the “sham” interview and post it….

12. Jokers 22 May 2009

Where’s Chiam? Where’s Chee? You guys should be asking where’s the PAP in all this! Why pick on Low Thia Kiang?

13. TrueBlood Singaporean 22 May 2009

Well done to the 100 people with the guts of no afraid to be arrested!\

I wish I had the gut but LKY still have not go to heaven!

14. only 100 hot blooded singaporeans attended. so others are worried about being identified… the pink dot has more people right? singaporeans still have no balls.

15. I appreciate all that took time to read the report and also commented on the event.

Some of you asked where is Mr Low (WP) Dr Chee (SDP) and Mr Chiam (SPP), its good to asked but let us refrain from getting (maybe) too personal.

Yes I do support Freedom of Speech and Expressions but let us get the points correct here.

We clearly hope and wish to see all political parties and activist and civil society to work hand in hand if possible.

In order to achieve that,we ( Singaporeans) must participate and be part of it.Maybe some of you are not here today because you have something else.Its ok.Its fine.I believe that we, as Singaporeans, are United in this Cause in one way or another.

This is not a Political event but a People’s event.Without Singaporeans, we (activist) won’t be standing here today for any cause.Its because the People are here and supportive of us that is why the event and protest (past present future) will take place.

It is Unity that we seek through Solidarity.

16. S'pore's 4th June 22 May 2009

Yes indeed, it is S’pore’s version of 4th June.
    I will be there next year.

17. Alot Singaporeans are apathetic and just concerned about their livelihood….they are just concerned about the next bowl of rice or the next buck they could earn and adopted a cannot care less attitude. That is the “beauty” of the education system inclucated into them and our children…Most of my colleagues and frens prefer blissful ignorance if they got their bowl full of rice and cannot be bothered who takes power….such a pity

18. Lao Uncle 22 May 2009

Thanks for organising this event.

Although it was a short session, nonetheless, it was very meaningful.

In 1987, I was supporting a young family. The fear of speaking out was real then.

I feel that I had no wasted my time at Hong Lim Park. Justice has to be done — better late than never.

Singapore still has a future with you young activists around.

Keep it up.

19. What has the international community have to say on this thingy? 22 May 2009

Any ideas of past news about reactions from international bodies concerned about such issues?

We expect Evidence to be produced .

Based on justice and equality so as to achieve.

20. TakeAStepBack 22 May 2009

Thank you for those who organized this. The injustice done to these individuals who were just working to make Singapore a better place for all can never be atoned. Whenever I hear about ISA, the first thing I remember is the “ang ku kueh”story Mr. Cheng told me awhile back.

It would be good that as the leader of the current government, our Prime Minister / MM can at least acknowledge that it was a mistake and apologise. Compensation / Civil suits afterwards can be dealt through our ‘independent’ Judiciary, and I think the damages awarded will not be as much as the losses Temasek has made on BoA.

I think the mark of a good government is to take responsibility for mistakes that have happened. Credit definitely goes to MM Lee for building this country to the economic miracle that it is today, and I am sure many of us respect him for that. His iron-fist style of governance, necessary at that time, has evolved into a more inclusive political and social landscape, and if we look at it, PM Lee is running the country quite different from his Dad.

I am personally quite puzzled why after so many screw ups, Wong Kan Seng is still in Cabinet, much less DPM, while there are other respectable people such as Lim Hwee Hua and Khaw Boon Wan.

This democracy is waning, and I think if the people hear that the Government is actually taking responsibility for its actions, political activism will rise, our youth will be more willing to voice their opinions, and more importantly, realise that they CAN make a difference in our country. That the Government is human, and that politics is more than a game for the rich. As Singaporeans, it is important that we choose a leader responsibility, and realise that the Goverment are civil servants, and not big daddy. They are at our service – they know that, but sometimes, because we are apathetic, they have evolved into a bulldozer.

21. Sadman 22 May 2009

I am very happy to see young people stand up and speak out.
    Singpore will have better future lah….

Otherwise under LKY style of governance, black become white, white become black, donkey become horse……. Where got hope?

22. I support the call to remember May 21st and the apparent injustice done to the do-gooders in the society. But I do not support the abolishment of Internal Security Act yet; without puting into place another legislation like Terrorism Prevention Act. A country like Singapore has got to be prepared and ready to take all action necessary to prevent and evade the threat of terrorism, which is very real. But the same act, should not be misused for political purposes. That is another reason why power should not rest with just one group of people.

23. Vote of Opposition 22 May 2009

I can’t attend this event.

Should ISD arrest the Young PAP members who attended the meeting with Chinese Communist Youth? Are they indoctrinated by the Chinese Communists during their trip via entrapments etc??? I am shock that such hypocrisy existed!

24. Hi All,

I was there, inside the group photo too!

Would like to thank from the bottom of my heart the youths who organised this event despite of their hectic schedule. A female organiser was late due to work commitments.

Hope this group would continue to gel and attract more youths to join their campaign.

Hail to a new era of active communal politics in Singapore!

25. David 22 May 2009

It is relatively a good turn out given that many people have to work on weekday. Hope to have such event sustained for as long as Singapore live and constantly keep the younger generations updated of the past, the present and their likely future under pap who has not clue of any solutions while being paid highest than the world top leader.

26. Hi Ravi, which other actual democracy has something similar to the Internal Security Act that the government can use and abuse? Or perhaps we do not live in a democracy at all..

And the PAP under LKY and WKS will NEVER allow pluralism in parliament to come from a bigger opposition representation. That is why they have cleverly brought up this idea of bringing in 6 new NMPs, to representing different interest groups.

You can say now, that the same act should not be misused for political purposes, but when push came to shove, even people with views like yourself backed down and said/did nothing in 1987.

And understandably so, because they had families of their own to look after and could afford getting into trouble. Remember that 6 poly students were arrested just for writing to the government for the release of the detainees. If another such politically motivated sweep happens, what makes anyone think they won’t be arrested as well for speaking up? Unless you’re willing to make that sacrifice, of course.

The ISA is an archaic law, why, it is not even a law at all. I can’t understand how someone like you would support retaining such a thing. What if you were one of them in 1987 Ravi? Would you still support retaining something that can do so much harm to society?

27. Harry 22 May 2009

I am glad to see these young Singaporeans who are righteous. They can see thru the government propaganda. There is hope for the future of Singapore if we continue to see more and more young Singaporeans stepping forward to expose the wrongs and evils of society.

28. 22/5/09

Not again…….this group of five young people do not know what they are doing and clearly abusing their freedom and democratic rights in our Modern Singapore.

Internal Security Act (ISA) is still very relevant and must be maintained at all costs perhaps only this time be reviewed ie focuing on both local and international terrorists who go all out to sabotage our Modern Singapore ie physically and her economy, and no mercies must be shown to these people, and should our local politicians are involved ie abetting these local and international terrorists, use the ISA on them, again no mercy,

ISA and Death Penalty for capital crimes ie murder and drugs trafficking must be maintained at all costs and hence making our modern Singapore safe and we Singaporeans can continue with our daily life and sleep soundly without fear

Thank God that Mas Selamat was caught in Johor by the Malaysian Police and this clearly shows that he is a very smart and shrewd man and was able to escape from ISA detention.

Regards
    Andrew Chuah

29. Humpty will fall wearing invisible pinkiehose 22 May 2009

whatever the law , it should be based on evidence to incriminate someone.
    I assume this is basic respect for humans.

30. Hi F,

I do understand the strong feelings. Any person with a heart, will surely empathise with the injustice meted out on 21 May 1987.

I am not trying to defend myself here, but would like to state my thoughts:

1. In 1987, still doing my National Service, I had yet to come to ‘political awakening’. But I remember Chiam See Tong and his debate in parliament and remember admiring his courage.

2. If you notice I said, “I do not support the abolishment of Internal Security Act yet”. The key word there is ‘YET’. ‘Yet’ because we do not have anything in legislation besides the ISA now, to combat terrorism and religious extremism. Today thirteen international conventions are in force, opened to ratification which were developed under the auspices of the United Nations and its specialized agencies and the International Atomic Energy Agency. The UN General Assembly adopted on 8 September 2006 a “Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy”. We need to protect the public from the threat of terrorism and we need appopriate legislation for that.

31. Humpty will fall wearing invisible pinkiehose 22 May 2009

To be honest, I cannot believe that over 100 turned up and many wearing the T-shirt.

And they are not rounded up. that is good sign. For more such events.

This gives confidence to more like myself to turn up if its organized again.

I wonder why the event for jobless singaporeans had such a low turnout of around 20?

Well done Seelan! You have my support.
    I authorize this message.

32. Loyola 22 May 2009

Ravi,

There is legislation put forth under the United Nations Act to address such CT strategies e.g targeting terror financing and all that.

33. Daniel 22 May 2009

“But I do not support the abolishment of Internal Security Act yet; without puting into place another legislation like Terrorism Prevention Act.”

Ravi Philemon,
    I don’t think you really need to worry about that. A kiasu and kiasi government we have will ensure more acts conceived if ISA is (ever, although fat-hope as long as LKY still around) abolished. Even if the ISA is abolished, another new act more potent than ISA might be conceived if the PAP’s intention is to entrench its power. Isn’t the Public Order Act now even look more potent than its predecessor ? Our government has already demonstrated themselves as very “capable” act and law makers (public order act, law to prevent investigation of gahmen, etc). Our government will never want to lose out by giving out something without anything return as they believe that there is never free lunch.

The only time that one need to worry about that is when the government is totally toppled and replaced (if ever possible since a freak election means army will be activated). Even then, we will still be reusing majority of those coffers to run the show (LSW, WKS, etc)

34. Daniel 22 May 2009

“To be honest, I cannot believe that over 100 turned up and many wearing the T-shirt.”

The ST today report only 50 people but then it’s media ranking is not a wayang.

35. Ah Siao 22 May 2009

100 turnout.

Any idea, among them, how many are ISD agent and under cover police?

36. Daniel 22 May 2009

“100 turnout.

Any idea, among them, how many are ISD agent and under cover police?”

The ST report 50 people turn out. Did ST knows something we don’t know ? But it doesn’t matter even 100 agents turn up because they are still perceived as supporters. But if the old man turn up, it is another matter.

37. I wonder - by Brembo 22 May 2009

I wonder what would have happened if
    Dr Chee S J spoke there with exactly the same script?

What say u?

38. TrueBlood Singaporean 22 May 2009

LKY say Black means Black!

LKY say White means White!

Do you question God’s Words!

Answer is “No” Beware the Tanks into Hong Lim Park!

TOC you are putting yourself at infront of the Big Gun!

Never wake up a “GOD”

39. TOC, please interview Vincent Cheng. The MSM said he was not willing to offer any comment. Perhaps, he would be more willing to talk to TOC. Vincent never recanted on TV, if I recall right. How was he allowed to get out? Was it not a rule then that no recant, no freedom? What was Tan Wah Piow’s role in that so-called Marxist conspiracy, if any? Is there merit in giving space to Tan Wah Piow to express his views on TOC? Many Singaporeans assume till today that the authorities would not have swooped if it did not have concrete evidence of a conspiracy to overthrow the government. But till today, some of us are not convinced that there was indeed a conspiracy. Perhaps our memories are failing us. Won’t the TOC find a way to refresh our memories before they fail us altogether?

40. Ravi, the question is: who determines who is a terrorist? These 22 young men and women were branded “terrorists” by the 1987 Singapore government, without any proof whatsoever (a TV appearance does not constitute proof).

That’s why the ISA must go or at least be modified heavily to restrict detention without trial to a maximum of, say, 90 days. (In the UK, maximum period of detention without trial is 28 days). If the government is not able to produce proof of subversive activities within 90 days (which is quite a long period of time, if you think about it), then the person detained is, in all likelihood, not a terrorist.

Remember, the rights of the individual are paramount (unlike the spurious arguments produced in parliament by MP Ng Kah Ting). We can’t even begin to imagine the incalculable damage that has been done to the lives of these 22 people and how they have been permanently altered over these past 22 years by the actions of the government. We are talking about peoples lives. You cannot play around with them, without producing proof of guilt.

41. Angelina 22 May 2009

I would like to add to the ‘hypocracy list’. The Govt practices Capitalism to jack up their own bank accounts, AND Communism to stay in power. Some of the Govt’s Communist practices:

1. The media (both ST & Mediacorp) are state controlled (directly or indirectly does not make any difference). They are their propaganda machines just like Communist China has a Propaganda department where even an image is scrutinised to make convey the story they want.

2. Every other major business is state owned. No other democratic countries has state owned businesses, not in the number that Spore has.

In fact if PAP practices Communism alone, things may not have been so bad.

42. Peter Sellers@39: I agree in principle to the spirit of your comment.

43. Abolish ISA.

I want Ombudsmen Team !!!

44. Angelina 22 May 2009

I must clarify that I am a Capitalist but always modestly claim, ‘with a social conscience’. I champion Capitalism, Socialism, or even Communism as long as they are not abused for individual selfish gains at the expense of the masses.

TOC did a great job by publishing the May 21st story and of course, a lot of praise and admiration should go to the young Sporeans who organised the event. I am impressed to say the least esp for pointing out the ‘hypocracy’ so blatant.

History is for historians or academics to write, not policitians. Should it happen that the May 21st is obliterated from Spore history books so that the future generation does not know about it, will Sporean historians and academics esp scholars just accept it? If ‘President scholars’ can accept that history can be written to suit by the Govt, the title of PS has no more merit anymore.

If not for the TOC report on the May 21st incident 21 yrs ago, I will never have imagined that UK has policital assylum seekers. I always thought that these are from Iran, Afghanistan, North Korea, Zimbabwe…. It was good that Malaysiakini interviewed Tan Wah Piow and published it online. I have also always have the impression that Spore is spiteful of the UK (based on ST’s selective reports) but did not know why. Perhaps its because UK has given assylum to one of their ‘political dissidents’.

So many things have come to light, thanks to TOC!

45. theonlinecitizen 22 May 2009

Gabriel,

The next article is about Tan Wah Piow refutation of the charges. Not many know that he wrote a book just 3 weeks after the 16 were arrested on 21 May 1987.

We’ll feature the book in the next article – and his defence of some of the charges.

Stay tuned!

46. I was there this year, and I’ll sure be there the next year. We simply deserve it!

47. prettyplace 22 May 2009

Looking forward to the commentary on Tam Wah Piow’s book…if possible maybe get my hands on a copy…does select sell the book….can anyone help or know…where to get one….

48. TrueBlood Singaporean 22 May 2009

If Singapore = PAP = Lee Dynasty!

What is left for people of Singapore

49. I was there too.

Why no one is talking about the Public Order Act that they will be passing in the next few days? I just felt that if this Act goes thruogh, abolishing the ISA will not mean anything.

50. Absolute power sucks!

It was there then, it is here now.

The latest Public Order Act makes democracy and justice a joke and our national pledge hollow.

feedmetothefish