Update: Singapore ‘dismayed’ over Suu Kyi charges - AFP (Friday, 15 May 2009)

Gerald Giam / Senior Writer

Myanmar’s opposition leader Daw Aung San Suu Kyi has been charged with breaching the terms of her house arrest after an apparently uninvited visit by an American man.

This is clearly a flimsy excuse to extend her detention, which expires at the end of this month. These latest charges carry a penalty of 5 years imprisonment, which would stretch her detention beyond even the 2010 elections, effectively disqualifying her from contesting it.

She has been under house arrest under the country’s military regime for 11 of the past 19 years since her party, the National League for Democracy, was elected to power in the last democratic elections in the former Burma.

The United States, European Union and the United Nations have all expressed their unhappiness at these latest developments. The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), through Thai Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva, has merely expressed “concern” and hopes that “positive steps will be taken”.

This is not enough. Myanmar has clearly violated the recently inked ASEAN Charter, which it is a signatory to. The country’s military regime has contravened several articles of the Charter, including:

Article 1(7): “To strengthen democracy, enhance good governance and the rule of law, and to promote and protect human rights and fundamental freedoms.”

Article 2(2i): “Respect for fundamental freedoms, the promotion and protection of human rights, and the promotion of social justice.”

Article 5(2): “Member States shall take all necessary measures, including the enactment of appropriate domestic legislation, to effectively implement the provisions of this Charter and to comply with all obligations of membership.”

Myanmar’s continued and unwarranted detention of its people’s democratically elected leader should be considered a case of a serious breach of the Charter. It is therefore appropriate for the matter to be referred to the ASEAN Summit, in accordance with Article 20 of the Charter.

In addition, ASEAN should strongly and unequivocally condemn this behaviour by Myanmar immediately, lest it be seen to be acquiescing to the military junta’s violations of basic human rights.

Singapore, as a founding and influential member of ASEAN, should likewise state its strong condemnation of Myanmar’s behaviour. This is in Singapore’s interest, as not doing so will invite accusations that we and ASEAN are not serious about implementing the principles outlined in the Charter, making a mockery of the entire Charter.

—–

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

32 Responses to “Singapore, ASEAN must strongly condemn Myanmar”

1. Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang) 15 May 2009

Looks like she won’t be getting her orchid in Botanic Gardens anytime soon…:(

2. Good article quoting a few Article from the ASEAN Charter.

Indeed Singapore and ASEAN need to send a strong message to the Fascist Junta of Burma.

We as Citizens should be clear on this;
    1)Singapore stand on not interfering in other ASEAN country domestic affairs
    and
    2)Upholding Democracy and Human Rights Diplomatically.

When a country is clearly abusing its powers and we say ‘We will not interfere’ so as not to destroy Diplomatic ties with the country concern,isn’t it the same as saying we side with the aggressor?

As a first world country with we should take the lead and be seen as a role model and take the step in ensuring Peace Democracy and Social Justice is being Uphold and Defended in any parts of the world.

But to say this to PAP and Lee Kuan Yew? huh!

Firstly TOC should really highlight the abuse and how autocratic our own government are.

Where are TOC and Gerald when clearly Dr Chee and fellow Activist are being illegally accused, fine and send to jail?

Why don’t TOC have an online education for fellow readers regarding our own proud Singapore Constitution.

There are many instances whereby PAP bypass our own Constitution for their own benefit and for the misery of others.

Law are supposed to be there to protect Citizens and Uphold our Constitution
    but instead some of our Laws are there to Con-the-Citizen-via-the-Institution.

TOC, Gerald ,and the rest ,I hope and sincerely hope that TOC would highlight all the abuse of power by PAP and this Goverment.

That is the least TOC can do.

3. Dr Frankenstein 15 May 2009

Singapore condemn Myanmar Generals get what in return=> no money. Singapore gahmen only place value on economic returns. So, there are more incentives to commend the generals rather than condemn. Same goes for Robert Mugabe.

4. KOPI O KING 15 May 2009

I am going to cut those intellectual-crabs and what-nots.

You can’t change that swine-head in the junta. Why don’t we just sent killer- squard to lead him to hades.

By the People’s Farts, lets blast him off from the face of this earth.

If PRC resentful towards having to discipline this 70-yrs old swine of Burma, better-off , a revival of Tiananmen Square.

5. erm... 15 May 2009

C’mon la, Singapore no need Myanmar’s money la.

And it should be ASEAN as a whole condemning Myanmar, why will Myanmar listen to us (as in Singapore)? If anything, shouldn’t our bigger brudders like M’sia or Indonesia take the lead? They bigger wat…

6. mad93 15 May 2009

Orchid Orchid Orchid!

7. wrong visitor 15 May 2009

Damn stupid American ! not thinking of the consequences to Suu Kyi.
    Hope the CIA is not involved, trying to pass / receive messages to / from her.
    The smart move should have been to get G. Yeo to swim across and pass the message. At least the Burmese junta will excuse G. Yeo if found out.
    They can just accept more orchids as payment in kind. lol

8. Any country that does not condemn the Burmese junta is just as guilty of suppression of human rights.

I am ashame if my government does nothing.

9. Daniel 15 May 2009

“I am ashame if my government does nothing.”

Don’t be ashame though as our gov can take this opportunity to do more thing. our gov can even increase more trade with Junta knowing that Suu Kyi cannot contest election anymore, and hence not jeopardising their monkey business and relationship.

10. What a sissy response “dismayed over Suu Kyi charges” .

11. Orchid 15 May 2009

The actions of Myanmar’s Military Regime really make one’s blood boil.

Shame on them for treating a fragile lady (who loves her country dearly) with such ‘brutal’ force.

12. WeiHan 15 May 2009

What do we expect from our government?
    I think hope can only start from what kind of education we are giving to our children nowaday. Be a passionate person who uphold justice, values and standby with courage or be a person who only pursue success for oneself.

13. WeiHan 15 May 2009

I think people can do positive thing. Raise some money and build a school. If it is not possible in Singapore, then maybe in Thailand. This school will inculcate values such as standing up for justice etc and will be the fortress for future leaders.

14. gambit 15 May 2009

General Than Shwe comes here for medical treatments. treated like a vip. nuff said

15. Angelina 15 May 2009

“Singapore rolling out red carpet to barbarians & murders” – TOC

Shocking for me to discover that VIP treatment also extended to Mugabes & Kim JI, thanks to TOC.

16. Curious 15 May 2009

15) Angelina on May 15th, 2009 8.11 pm

It’s all business as usual. But what does it profit a man if he gains the whole world and in the end loses his own soul?

IMHO, Singapore must stop being an oasis to thugs from around the world or we too would lose our soul.

17. Ms Suu Kyi should have accepted exile and worked more effectively from abroad. Her people might have vilified her for it, but she probably would’ve accomplished more for her cause since 1988…

18. The American who caused all the trouble to Ms Suu Kyi should be hung on the top of Shwen Dagon Pagoda which is the Number One Tourist Symbol of Burma.
    I used to visit Rangoon in the 1960′s on business and all Burmese told me that their First President is Suu Kyi’s father who was killed when presiding a meetingin Rangoon.
    Can the Straits Times publish a series of articles soon of her famous father.
    This will help many to know more about Ms.Suu Kyi’s family contribution to Burma.

ObamaosamatakBolehTahanglagi

19. A Kaung O 16 May 2009

As a Myanmar citizen, we really feel so sad. I believe ASEAN can do something on Myanmar generals.

All ASEAN countries leaders and people, please help Myanmar people.

20. white raven 16 May 2009

I am totally appalled and dismayed by a mere dismay from Singapore. Surely with all the clever people up there, we could have used a stronger word? Or perhaps they were too clever by half,lest they offend the junta and we lose our sand deal with them?

21. all will be forgotten in afew days 16 May 2009

my 15min is up

22. Buddhi 16 May 2009

I love my country. I love my leaders. But I am really dissapointed with them right now. I am sad that our very leaders who should have been role models for us and our children are demostrating the wrong values. I tell my children that the mark of a great person is not in his riches but in his strength of compassion. I teach them that it didnt matter if they lose every material possession but they should never trade their soul. I don’t understand why do we treat these leaders who are cruel to their own people like VIPs and even naming an orchid after Him. We don’t need their dirty money. Their monies are milked from the blood of their people… I don’t want any part of it. Wake up my dear Leaders, if you do not do the right thing – I will turn my head away. I will never vote for you again. You have lost the respect and gratitude I had for you for so long.

23. Curious 16 May 2009

19) obamaosamataksama

No need to ask “the Straits Times publish a series of articles soon of her famous father”.

Here are two interesting articles on General Aung San:

1 Biography

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aung_San

2 Who killed Aung san? This article in the newspaper suggested it was the Brits.

http://www.irrawaddy.org/article.php?art_id=719

24. winstoncheng 16 May 2009

I would really like to hear TOC’s or Gerald’s reply to post no,2 ) Muhd Khalis

25. Dr Frankenstein 16 May 2009

I am still waiting for the day the Botanic Gardens names an orchid “Vanda Free Aung Suu Kyi”

26. tew ah seow 16 May 2009

Can somebody organise a petition to release Aung San Suu Kyi in HL park. The organiser can collect signatures and send to the Burma Embassy to protest the illegal charges against Suu Kyi.

27. Pray for Aung San Suu Kyi 16 May 2009

Poor lady, sad to say, all we can do is to pray for her.
    Don’t blame the American who swam over to meet her, the cold blooded dictators will always find another excuse, or even no excuse, to prosecute her.

What do you expect from a regime who said that they did not need foreigh aid, their typhoon inflicted peasants can eat frogs? While they wine & dine?

As for ASEAN, it is a hopeless toothless tiger with no backbone, I had long given up on them. The West, for all you like to say about it’s hyppcrisy at times, does stand up against such injustice. I used to work in a Dutch Electronics MNCs, and we received instruction to take down all billboard advertisements in Myanmar. And see how France continues to be friendly with Dalai despite the risk of losing favor with China.

28. Angelina 16 May 2009

Looking at these posts, I am so proud of my fellow Singaporeans. I have always thought there are some great people in Singapore, and have met some very impressive young people in Spore. Shame on the leaders! What a waste of the great people of Spore.

I can understand Spore cannot afford to offend any other nation, however much poorer or weaker that Sporeans are led to think those nations are. Not in military terms and not in economy terms. So what is all the talk about Spore being the best, the richest, one of the strongest economy, the highest rank in education, the most wired (high tech), the most……?? All for us to say we are not in a position to offend anybody?

29. Remember the burmese people here were deported for anti junta demo in Sg.? Why is Sg comdemning the junta now? Diplomatic wayang?

30. Stevenado 17 May 2009

tok too much…bo seng li cho….”.dismayed ” must have think and think and think to come out with such as nice word……for the junta to hear…..

31. The way forward is to develop Myanmar economically. Let the Burmese take care of their own politics. Freedom and progress will come when there is prosperity. To alienate and condemn the Burmese government is to punish the Burmese people and prevent progress.

There are no poor and free countries.