Sunday, May 10, 2009 0:36

Singapore government knew that Mas Selamat had been arrested

In Main Stories, Top Story • 3,175 views • 86 Comments

The following is a press release from the Prime Minister’s Office.

PRIME MINISTER LEE HSIEN LOONG ON THE RE-ARREST OF MAS SELAMAT KASTARI

I had a four-eye lunch with Datuk Seri Najib in Pattaya on 11 April. It was an impromptu arrangement which we made after the ASEAN meeting was called off because of the Red Shirt demonstrations. Datuk Seri Najib told me that the Malaysians had arrested Mas Selamat Kastari. I responded that I had been informed about this, and thanked him for Malaysia’s generous support and help. I said that the terrorism problem affects both of us. The JI group remains active in the region, and we must work together to counter them as well as other such groups.  I especially appreciated the close cooperation and trust between ISD and its Malaysian counterpart, the Special Branch.

DPM Wong Kan Seng had earlier told me about Mas Selamat’s rearrest by the Malaysians. I knew that ISD had been working hard on the case, and had found some leads which they had given to the Malaysian authorities. But we could not say anything publicly or else it would jeopardise the operation. I was happy and relieved that Mas Selamat had been found and arrested before he had done any harm. Kan Seng told me that the Malaysians had asked us to keep this quiet for the time being. I replied that we had to respect this, even though I knew that Singaporeans would be very anxious to know the news. So we held the information very tightly.

On Thursday afternoon when all the Ministers were having our weekly Pre-Cabinet lunch, Kan Seng received a phone call informing him that The Straits Times had asked ISD to confirm their scoop which the ST said it came from the KL correspondent, that Mas Selamat has been arrested by the Malaysians. As the story had leaked, we had no choice but to confirm it. It was only then that Kan Seng told the Ministers that Mas Selamat had been arrested, the news had leaked, and we would be confirming the story. They were taken completely by surprise. 

I thank all the officers who have been involved in hunting for and tracking down Mas Selamat over this last year. I never had any doubt that we would eventually find Mas Selamat, because I knew the quality and commitment of the officers working on this. ISD had recovered quickly from the mistakes which led to Mas Selamat’s escape, put things right, and set themselves to finding and arresting him back. But nevertheless it is good that we have now got him. Our security agencies work quietly and anonymously, keeping Singapore safe. The public only hears about their work occasionally, for example when things go wrong. But we owe them more than most Singaporeans realise.

We must not think that Mas Selamat’s arrest is the end of our problem. The terrorism situation in Southeast Asia is under control, but the threat is far from over. Once in a while there is an attack somewhere, so far fortunately not in Singapore. But for every attack reported in the newspapers there are many more plots which the security agencies uncover, track and hopefully disrupt. These never make it into the public consciousness, but we know about them from intelligence reports. Our challenge is to keep up our guard without getting fatigued or complacent. The price of security is eternal vigilance.

PRIME MINISTER’S OFFICE

9 MAY 2009

1. Breaking News: Mas Selamat reportedly arrested in Malaysia
  2. The Mas Selamat Scandal: Its Impact on the Government-People Relationship
  3. Mas Selamat captured – all thanks to the ISD!
  4. Rewarding Mas Selamat?
  5. TOC Editorial: ST’s Mas Selamat coverage bad for the ST, worse for Singapore

86 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

dsdsf
May 10, 2009 0:46

i understand you have your problem for not saying earlier.

brainwave
May 10, 2009 0:54

I sincerely hopes the PM appreciates TOC for such current news and also having a neutral platform for unhappy citizens to voice their annoyance. Maybe directly or indirectlyy as a result of TOC, PM feels a need to make a statement to settle the ground. At 1230am, I read it at TOC.

Thank you, TOC

Doesn't matter lah
May 10, 2009 1:01

Doesn’t matter whether he tell or not tell Singaporeans earlier lah.

Who cares about Mas Selamat when you got retrenched or lose your job to foreign talent.

What is national security if your own stomach is not secure?

cynic
May 10, 2009 1:19

I find the last sentence incredibly perverse.

“The price of freedom is eternal vigilance.” – Thomas Jeffferson

What a way to subvert the concept.

Andrew Loh
May 10, 2009 1:34

“As the story had leaked, we had no choice but to confirm it. It was only then that Kan Seng told the Ministers that Mas Selamat had been arrested, the news had leaked, and we would be confirming the story.

So Wong Kan Seng and PM Lee kept the news from the Cabinet for one whole month??

Even MM Lee didn’t know?

Goodness!

Weijia
May 10, 2009 1:50

Well I think it’s right for them to respect the wishes of the malaysian counter part if they had asked them to keep the news quiet for a while. Just as they should confirm it if it has leaked.

At least we are hearing from our PM now, and not, oh 2 weeks later after everyone else have had their say.

BD
May 10, 2009 2:03

If anybody thinks national security is not important because people are getting retrenched or losing their jobs, they need to wake up. A breach of national security will lead to more instability which will cause more retrenchment and lost jobs. On the other hand, SPF, ISD and a multitude of private security service providers are increasing their hiring to cope with the increased demand for security. There will be paradigm shift from traditional military security towards non-traditional security in the form of counter-terrorism, cyber-security andanti-piracy.

TOC reader
May 10, 2009 2:15

http://singaporecitizen.wordpress.com/2009/05/09/hi-mr-wong-kan-seng-doyoumindclarifying/

so PM lee confirms wong kan seng lied bare face to his isd officers on the 16th when he claimed mas was not yet recaptured?

ha, so much for integrity of PAP ministers.

so what other lies have we been fed?

IRA Revisited
May 10, 2009 3:25

Dear PM, while the association of Mas Selamat with JI is as bright as daylight, however, where terrorism is concerned there is a need to broaden the horizon as the IRA styled terrorism may be more potent than the backward JI approach.

Investors! Singapore is Secure
May 10, 2009 4:11

Dear Investors!!!! Who ever left amongst you!!!

Please come (back) to Singapore with your money (if it is not already gobbled up by RIP banks). Although the economy is worsening by the day and the situation Singapore was predicted to be … (hmm… as uncertain?)…

Please be AWARE that the crisis has made Singaporeans more mature… Our civil societies have demonstrated its civility and maturity. This means Singaporeans are able to think. ‘Thinking workers’ are good as they will ensure that your money will be accounted for just as well as it has been in First World nations in the west.

With Mas Selamat captured just as a new (guard) threat lurks in the background… Security worries have been largely addressed. Eventhough Mas Selamat has fled the detention centre for over a month… he wasn’t able to do much to convince people in Singapore, Malaysia and Indonesia to be by his side. The proof is, he was caught in his T Shirt and shorts… meaning, he couldn’t even get donations for clothings, thus we believe, monetary donations in this Economic Crisis would be unlikely.

We understand that your worries go beyond armed terrorism. As such, we have enacted laws that will safeguard your interest in the form of Public Order Bill. With this bill, the mob situation you see in Bangkok, Perak and elsewhere in Southeast Asia will not see light here in Singapore.

We also understand your needs to keep costs low. As such, we have opened up our shores to workers from abroad who are (unlike more than some Singaporean workers) very very talented; these are workers, despite their low qualifications, low English Language proficiency and rural-folk mannerism, are talented enough to be able to survive in expensive Singapore with low pay and ability to weave through the law with their black market trades without getting caught. Their tenacity for survival will be the most important talent you’ll need to wither the economic crisis and pounce on the opportunities when the economy recovers.

Please come with your family members and friends… we have good schools across Singapore and some better ones which your shildren will benefit from. You may choose to become citizens and reap the benefits from the many pro-business schemes for local enterprises. Our Students have won many international accolades in Maths and Science (although were still struggling to produce one after their NS years). Not to worry, even you attain citizenship today, we understand that the lure of bigger countries such as Canada will always be attractive. You may be worried that by applying for Singapore citizenship your children’s future may be jeapordised by the lost years in National Service. That is many years away, you have time to think and make yourself at home and lots of money. If you’re still not convinced, you can always give up your citizenship for greener pastures. We have many sports talents that have ‘earned’ their citizenship, represented SIngapore and gave them up soon after being dropped by the National team; although we know that much money have been spent, we know we need to move on and we are still hopeful that some will stay to take up important roles such as ‘4th generation’ leaders; If your children can Sing, Dance and play some musical instruments would be a plus.

You see, there is nothing else to worry about… all the worrying are being taken care of by the many many Singaporeans who have time to spare (as they are currently unemployed). We hope to shower you with our warmest greeting ‘Selamat Kembali!’ meaning Welcome Back!

Investors! Singapore is Secure
May 10, 2009 4:16

Apologies, ERRATA!

With Mas Selamat captured just as a new (guard) threat lurks in the background… Security worries have been largely addressed. Eventhough Mas Selamat has fled the detention centre for over a YEAR… he wasn’t able to do much to convince people in Singapore, Malaysia and Indonesia to be by his side. The proof is, he was caught over a month ago in his T Shirt and shorts… meaning, he couldn’t even get donations for clothings, thus we believe, monetary donations in this Economic Crisis would be unlikely.

white raven
May 10, 2009 7:12

First thing as the PM is to tell yr DPM don’t screw up again if he is returned to Sinnagpore’s custody, otherwise, the whole Home Team led by WKS have to attend lectures and workshops under the Malaysians on how to hold a captive securely.

aiyoyo
May 10, 2009 7:33

aiyoyo

is elites so busy until no time to comment on MAS thing which already happen in

m’sia truly asia…?

sad story again…

aiyoyo

yipeng
May 10, 2009 7:43

I don’t think Singaporeans do not live in fear for their lives over Mas Selamat. OK that the public didn’t know. That he was back in custody is most important after all. ;)

yipeng
May 10, 2009 7:44

Sorry! I don’t think Singaporeans *live* in fear for their lives over Mas Selamat.

don't be naive lah
May 10, 2009 7:59

#7 BD

“If anybody thinks national security is not important because people are getting retrenched or losing their jobs, they need to wake up.”

Wake up? Why you so naive? If they had wake up, Mas Selamat would not have escaped in the first place. He would not have been on the run for so long. He would not have been caught on foreign soil and our shameless ISD and WKS claiming credit. These people in charge didn’t wake up, so expect ordinary folks to wake up?

aiyoyo
May 10, 2009 8:06

aiyoyo

look at yahoo news on “World’s Happiest Places” :

Denmark, Finland and the Netherlands rated at the top of the list, ranking first, second and third, respectively. Outside Europe, New Zealand and Canada landed at Nos. 8 and 6, respectively. The United States did not crack the top 10. Switzerland placed seventh and Belgium placed tenth.

keep looking for red dot name, but cant find…

why elites keep saying 1st world thing, cant understand.

think with MAS or no MAS, life still goes on for man on the street..

aiyoyo

Jetreroy
May 10, 2009 8:15

I am perfectly fine with keeping the capture a secret due to security needs.

What I cannot agree with was the way our dear Mr Wong kept blowing his own trumpet.

Should a proper minister be rejoicing over the numbers of sms congratulating him instead of working on how to improve our borders security?

smallvice585
May 10, 2009 8:42

Hi Yipeng,

I too concur that Singaporeans do not live in fear over Mas Selamat’s escape last year. In 2006, Londoners proceeded with their life as if nothing happened the day after the 7/7 Incident strike the heart of London’s public transport. This is called psychological resilience and I am glad Singaporeans have demonstrated this ability.

I personally think whether the Singapore Government knows about the arrest in Malaysia is a non-issue. The crux of the matter on Mas Selamat’s escape last year is how he escaped and whether ISD’s have improved their security measures at Whitely Detention Centre.

ammerika
May 10, 2009 8:56

LHL should seriously STOP congratulating WKS and his ISD for nabbing this mas selamat. ISD screwed this up in the first place and it is only right for them to clean up this sh*t.

The garhmen is sending all the wrong signals. First we have his wife loosing billions and getting an award, then the home team putting the country at big time risk and now getting praised ?!

This is like telling sporeans that it is alright to make big time mistake, coz your boss will not only praise you, but eventually reward you ?! It is little wonder that employers prefer to hire FTs like m’sians who are more humble and self-deprecating.

Eve
May 10, 2009 9:31

Next concern is how are we going to prevent terrorists from swimming to S’pore. Mas Selamat made it so easy and I doubt he is PES A. Even Osama can do the same if he tries hard enough. Any fit JI member probably can swim over from Johore within half an hour, makan, and swim back to Skudai for shopping. Much faster than being stuck in the Causeway jam.

accountablilty
May 10, 2009 9:40

just so you know – the PM and DPM can withold information from the cabinet for weeks.

Is this a 2-member cabinet.

What other information is withheld?

Scary.

hopeless
May 10, 2009 10:13

MAS know how to plan only…. but no action, no threat. some people plan whole life to strike rich, but no action equal to zero. no fear.

smallvice585
May 10, 2009 10:24

Surveying and catching the JI network indeed has put on stress on bilateral and multilateral security measures. I do hope hope Mas Selamat’s re-capture would help to refine the multilateral security measures at the ASEAN level.

aloha
May 10, 2009 10:39

Mat was captured in second/third world country like indonesia and malaysia and in a world class singapore, he escaped from toilet break?

The newspaper should stop trying to repair the damage by praising the people who let him escaped.

Bloated PMO
May 10, 2009 11:17

So now with MAS SELAMAT caught, can we reduce the number of ministers in Prime Minister Office ? One minister mentor, two senior ministers, two deputy prime ministers, three ministers in prime minister office. How many servants does the prime minister need ?

relieved
May 10, 2009 12:24

Sigh of relief. Now Wong Kan Seng needs to be promoted and his salary doubled.

Ravi Philemon
May 10, 2009 12:35

“DPM Wong Kan Seng had earlier told me about Mas Selamat’s rearrest by the Malaysians…Kan Seng told me that the Malaysians had asked us to keep this quiet for the time being.” – PM Lee Hsien Loong

It is one thing to ‘keep this quiet”, but quite another to say “we will recapture him” when you already have information that he has been captured (see link: http://www.mha.gov.sg/news_details.aspx?nid=MTQwNg%3D%3D-SOITePml5jQ%3D)

blackfeline
May 10, 2009 13:12

so where was he during the heat of e saga? With the arrest he’s extremely prompt in making appearances! What bloody hypocricy!

WKS can wayang
May 10, 2009 13:22

#25 “It is one thing to ‘keep this quiet”, but quite another to say “we will recapture him” when you already have information that he has been captured.”

That’s why WKS not only incompetent but also can wayang!

To think of the million $ pay for all this. Shit!

LIFE'S UNFAIR
May 10, 2009 13:32

When Mas Selamat escaped, Wong Kan Seng got NONE of the blame.

When Mas Selamat was recaptured, Wong Kan Seng got SOME OF THE CREDIT.

Was Wong Kan Seng directly (or even remotely) involved in Mas Selamat’s recapture? The guards and officers at Whitley were reprimanded/demoted because they were directly involved in Mas Selamat’s escape.

May 10, 2009 13:36

#27: “Gosh.. why are you people getting hysterical over the non-disclosure of intelligence reports to the public? ”

song4. that’s why.

some people just are just song4 at poking at gahman irregardless issue or non-issue

doctorwho
May 10, 2009 13:51

Only Mas Selamat knows the truth (like how he actually crawl his way out of the toilet to JB), but he is not available for press conference now. Please wait for next 100 years.

potatoehead
May 10, 2009 14:19

totally agree with you. When they keep it quiet, some complain they never share early enough.

After revealing, Gerald Giam say ISD stealing the glory from Malaysia but leakin it before they do.

Lose him – scold gahment
Recapture – scold gahment

piangz. No sense of self-determination

potatoehead
May 10, 2009 14:21

#28 Ravi,

Then what you want?

If he say he knows nothing you will call him a liar.
When he say he will be reacpture, you now call him liar.
If he keep quiet, you will say he hiding from public.

Seriously, there are more important things to be worrying about than this petty grumblings. Like the ECONOMY!!

yipeng
May 10, 2009 15:41

Actually his escape is likely to be a good thing for terrorism security in the region. Security has become tighter as processes are revealed and more innovative (such as the sending of Mas Selamat’s photo via MMS)… and the governments can question him to reveal more JI leads…

Dr Frankenstein
May 10, 2009 15:46

Tomorrow Tharman will say yes we knew the economy was going to recession as far back as 2007 but can tell you mah coz it will cause panic is the stock mkt, investor confidence, etc,etc. So see, we have helicopter vision, can see beyond horizon, blah, blah blah

Hal
May 10, 2009 17:21

#28 – he is already caught, what does 1 month, 3 months or 6 months before we are alerted matter?

#38 – what a terrible analogy; you are talking about information they don’t know but pretend that they know earlier ; the capture and radio silence is about information they know but pretend that they don’t know earlier. Total opposite.

All this whining about not being told using the explanations of accountability and transparency is lame, and an infantile recycling of the 4-hour gap before public alert example when Mas Selamat escaped.

That at least, was a good debate as he was after all a fugitive and alerting the public early (how early is early was the real question) could mean that the public could be roped in to help. Obvious that information on the arrest was withheld and vague statements made so that the Malaysians can do their job.

wack0
May 10, 2009 17:55

It shows either the PM or DPM is lying.

[quote]
DPM Wong Kan Seng speech in [color=red] ISD Service Promotion Ceremony on April 15 clearly shows WKS is unaware of MS capture.[/color] The Johorians silence on the capture is understandable.
[/quote]
———————————————–

[quote]

Mas Selamat’s re—arrest not the end of Singapore’s problem
Channel NewsAsia – Sunday, May 10

SINGAPORE: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has said Singapore’s security challenge is to keep up its guard without getting fatigued or complacent.

In his first remarks on the capture of Mas Selamat Kastari, Mr Lee said Singapore must not think that the re—arrest of the Jemaah Islamiyah (JI) leader is the end of its problem.

He said the terrorism situation in Southeast Asia is under control, but the threat is far from over. He added that the price of security is eternal vigilance.

In a statement to the media on Saturday, the Prime Minister also said information
about the [color=red] capture of Mas Selamat on 1 April was not made public earlier, because of a prior agreement with the Malaysian authorities.[/color]

Mr Lee said he was told about the arrest by his Malaysian counterpart Najib Razak [color=red] on 11 April during an impromptu four—eye lunch in Thailand’s Pattaya after the ASEAN meeting was called off due to demonstrations.

He thanked Datuk Seri Najib for Malaysia’s generous support and help and told him Singapore’s Deputy Prime Minister and Home Minister Wong Kan Seng had earlier told him of the arrest.[/color]

Mr Lee said he was happy and relieved that Mas Selamat had been found and arrested before he could do any harm.

But Malaysia had asked Singapore to keep this information quiet for the time being, so Singapore respected this and held the information very tightly in order not to jeopardise the operation.

But on May 7 afternoon during a weekly pre—Cabinet meeting lunch, Mr Wong received a phone call informing him that the Internal Security Department (ISD) had received a request from the The Straits Times to confirm a scoop that Mas Selamat had been arrested by the Malaysian authorities.

As the news had leaked, the Singapore government had no choice but to confirm the story.

[/quote]

MumDon'tLie
May 10, 2009 18:38

Part of WKS’s speech at the ISD Intelligence Service Promotion Ceremony on 15 April 2009:
14 It has been and continues to be a testing time for the Department. I understand that at one time or another, officers from all the various commands have been deployed to work on the case which for some, involved taking on an entirely new type of assignment for the first time in their career. I have been regularly updated on the Department’s efforts to track Mas Selamat Kastari down. I have no doubt of your determination. I have confidence that with patience – which has always been a virtue of the Department – we will recapture him. The keen sense of fellowship and camaraderie among ISD officers, of being one family through thick and thin, that I have seen particularly during this trying episode, will see you through this, and make all of you even stronger.

The ISD officers must be laughing in their heart when WKS spoke the above. They must know that their leads had led to Mas Selamat’s capture on 1 April. WKS can really act.

kopi
May 10, 2009 18:46

asked to keep quiet for more security operation or to keep quiet until terms are agreed in event of his release to SIN. Keep quiet to sort out terms?

General Lim
May 10, 2009 20:12

You Can’t Handle the Truth!

This is about National Security, You Small fries don’t know anything.

PJ
May 10, 2009 22:20

I think some of you guys are simply too disgruntled that you complain about everything. I like TOC but I think Wong Cant Sing or Ah Lee keeping this development under wraps is really not big issue. Think about it: the PAP gahmen would love nothing more than to announce to the whole world that MSK has been recaptured – it pus everybody’s mind at ease, and more importantly for the PAP gahmen, this will assuage all the unhappy feelings our population have of WKS and the gahmen. Remember how WKS came under widespread “attack” during that time? It’s great news more for them and then for the people. But first, they must respect the Msian Special Branch’s request. Obviously, you don’t need to be rocket scientist to know or deduce that Special Branch will still need some time to tie up other loose ends or follow other leads or continue further investigations on other individuals found to have been involved with MSK. Is this too difficult for you people to comprehend? What’s the hurry to announce? One month delay is not that bad. How do you know there are no other people involved with him and no yet apprehended? I would want my ISD – if I am in charge – to ensure everything is covered and 100% safe secured and in place before I tell the world that MSK has been found. A premature announcement will just scatter all other MSK contacts and helpers and then they’ll come back to haunt us again. There are other things that we should be worrying about, such as Joel’s Army steeplejacking our churches, our schools, our government, and our business corporations. Let the ISD do their job. Sure, they screwed up the last time. But this time, they’re doing right. (By the way, the leak of MSK’s recapture could have come from the north – they want to take credit also because S’pore always make them look so incompetent).

Jentayu
May 10, 2009 22:26

Even the cabinet was not told of the recapture. You mean even your own cabinet you cannot trust? Too much wayang!

tom
May 10, 2009 22:52

Surprise……surprise……

PM Lee gave a statement on the re-arrest of Mas Selamet so soon.

But last year, when Mas Selamat escaped in Whitley Detention Centre, PM Lee was “missing” for many days…….maybe it will good for him to give statement on himself why he was “missing” then……………….

PJ
May 10, 2009 23:38

The cabinet has 82 people. Out of the 82, at least 8 will tell their spouses – “My dear, I tell you a secret but you promise don’t tell others ok?” . Out of 8 spouses, at least 1 will be big mouths – “Eh I tell you something very secret hor, promise you won’t tell anybody. My husband/wife said…don’t tell anybdy ok”. Then the news will be leaked. Then the Msian Special Branch and their gahmen will become angry with us — they will say S’poreans cannot be trusted to keep a secret. Then how? However, I am 100% sure Lau Mentor was also informed. There is no issue with not breaking the news earlier. One or 2 months is just nice. We are making a mountain out of a molehill.

godlike
May 10, 2009 23:57

Well, now the dust is settled, they can say watever they want.

More sadly is when I read the ST report on the capture, most of the articles are so politically motivated, with one aim, that is to alleviate the negative impact of the capture.

hear! hear!
May 11, 2009 0:40

So are they transferring MSK back to the all-new whitley road dentetion centre..i got better idea..lock him up in WKS house basement…cannot trust ghurkha to guard properly..get WKS maid to be the sentry lah…HAHAHAHAHAHA

wack0
May 11, 2009 1:14

TOC can organised a “WELCOME BACK MSK” cheer group at the Changi Airport when he is transported back to Sg

So Sad
May 11, 2009 1:37

It doesn’t matter whether you guys believe anything or not. The 66.6%
will overwhelm your votes. Just saw so many balls carrier at a Mother’s
Day function at a void deck earlier, waiting to give their MP a rousing
welcome.

Even the mothers who were abandon by their children on Mother’s day
supports them. What hope does the vocal minority have?

sunday_smiling
May 11, 2009 1:40

44) PJ,

Disgruntled, yes, but I think PJ you are missing the entire point.

One must scrutinise the source of the unhappiness and this is stemmed largely from the refusal by wongcan’tsing to graciously apologise or even step down for the potential terrorist threat to the entire country that his team has created.

Thus, as long as this painful nail is still stuck in the foot, ppl will always find avenues to attack wong and his team, including finding fault with why the news of the capture was released a month later.

To rub salt onto the wound, now wong and LHL are grabbing credit for the capture when we are still not entirely clear of how mas selamat was apprehended. It just makes one wonder if they are that desperate to redeem their status as the higher immortals.

anon
May 11, 2009 2:16

so it is an undisputable fact that either WKS LIED to his ISD officers OR
PM LEE LIED about when he found out mas was recaptured.

pse don’t let this go away easily again.

PAP always talk about integrity but do they walk the talk?

Astrophysics_1
May 11, 2009 2:53

I appreciate TOC’s carrying of a straight up press release.

Some may see it as lazy. But on the web, you have the luxury of space and you allow the PMO’s statement to be read in full and critiqued in full.

At the same time, TOC stays safe from defam-suits.

winstoncheng
May 11, 2009 3:48

The ISD can’t track him down when he was in our turf and they can track him down when he’s abroad? C’mon, you think we are kids? O.K let’s say we are kids. We kids know the `hide & seek’ game. Say we play `hide and seek’ in our estate and we can’t even find the hider. He’s clever enough to slip through our fingers in our own territory which we know like the back of our hand and we can track him down in other people’s estate. Give me a break! I believe either the M’sian government is magnamious enough to let us claim some glory to save face or someone in Johore had a lead and called our ISD to negotiate the reward.

A loyal Singaporean, to the nation only
May 11, 2009 7:50

‘aloha on May 10th, 2009 10.39 am
Mat was captured in second/third world country like indonesia and malaysia and in a world class singapore, he escaped from toilet break?
The newspaper should stop trying to repair the damage by praising the people who let him escaped.’

I agree with Aloha!

We spent days using our army to try find the guy in singapore, which is just a little dot compared to the state of Johor. Yet our malaysian folks can find him! This is very strange and disturbing for our security and high-paying (referring only to the salary that is official) ministers. we boast of excellent military and talented ministers but how do we compare to the Malaysians and their ministers who are paid much lower in official salary?

We need better people than the PAP regime governing our country. because this is our country, not PAP regime’s country.

Incredulout
May 11, 2009 9:14

PJ – you must be joking – 82 in the Cabinet??? You had better check your facts and find out a few things about government. There is no Government Cabinet in the whole side world witn 82 members.

If you cannot trust members of Cabinet, who can you trust. Cabinet in any country discusses CONFIDENTIAL matters every day of the week.

OMD
May 11, 2009 9:20

Lie, white lie, disinformation, ambiguity, vague info, all semantics. The point is that it was hush hush and even cabinet don’t know for the sake of the investigation, why should people know. Fair enough. If people cannot understand priorities of , so be it. I thought the PM statement insulted our intelligence instead by explaining the obvious. But I want to know the details later in a White Paper.

Retiree
May 11, 2009 9:49

Whilst I rejoiced and am also happy that Malaysia is involved ( Singapore need friends too), I am perturbed that if really WKS & then PM knew earlier, then WKS’ speech on the 15 April 2009. Is really stupid! Is not it ? “Stupid” is quite a fasionable work nowadays having found its way out from MM’s staff in the dialect debate. And now with this spill, who is really “stupid”?

So is there really something which citizens are led to miss a beat or two.?…
PM has said his bit…. and if it is the truth, the WKS must come out clean and tell his side of the story too …otherwise it only thickens the plot and put into disrepute the integrity of the PAP politicians ..like these two most recent episodes involving PAP people- and vis a vis, (1)”why would WKS lie ?”,(2) ” why would Lee Bee Wah implied that ex head coach LIu has issues of integrity and professionalism” ?, and yet am afraid to face up the coach Liu’s challenge of a meeting or to disclose the “facts”? Is she such a nice person to want to protect others – after all has seen of her outbursts and sackings without real justification or investigation.
The PAP must put its house in order if its members want to continue to enjoy the respect and their high salaries ; claiming credit of performances such as from Malaysian security and foreign coaches are somewhat natural human behaviour given the competitiveness here. BUT Lies if any , and wooling over citizens’ eyes will backfire just as in the NKF case.

Active NS man
May 11, 2009 10:24

#51 retiree

I wouldnt go as far to say he lied at the ceremony. He said he “will be recaptured”, he did not say, “we still dont know where he is”.

Do you remember Operation Iraqi Freedom? Knowing that the enemy was watching their every move on TV (as was the case in the Gulf War), the US effectively gave false information to the press in order to misdirect their enemy. Then they got surprised by their shock and awe tactics.

Some amount of circumspection is required by our leaders who are effectively keepers of alot of high level secrets. Lose lips have operation repercussions.

PJ
May 11, 2009 10:42

#56) Incredulout on May 11th, 2009 9.14 am

Oops. My bad. We have 21 members in cabinet, 82 MPs in parliament. Still, it doesnt change the complexion of things. There’s no need to inform everyone yet.

WKSistheBEST
May 11, 2009 12:04

WKS did the right thing. He told a white lie to the ISD officers during the ceremony so that the Malaysian can continue to do their job. It must be tough for him to lie to his very own officers. Kudos to him.

mike
May 11, 2009 12:09

to me, it is totally failure of the Home Team led by WKS. first, he escaped without of a trace and our expert have no ideas at all.

now, it appeared he has captured probably right after he got out of jail to johor and since then it already more than one year. again, there is no trace at all untill now. so why in the first place, the patrol coast is not red alert when sounded of his escape then.

look like credit should goes to selamat for being able to trick and walk out so freely under the nose of so called WORLD BEST HOME TEAM.

mike
May 11, 2009 12:10

coninue……..

he should be welcome to take over WKS who know nuts about security.

Pangyuan
May 11, 2009 13:51

It was a great relief that Mas Selamat is captured. Credit should be given to the close co-operation between the two countries. After all, it takes two hands to clap!

Objectively, it came at an extremely high costs, economic and otherwise, not only to Spore but also to the neighbouring countries. Despite tight securities and surveillances using the latest technology, it is amazing that it only took Mas Selamat to climb through a toilet window and escaped by swimming using, possibly a used car tyre!

With reputation now restored to the security agencies, it may be a good time to reshuffle some of the senior officials…. as the saying goes… No one is indispensable!

aygee
May 11, 2009 14:36

Just to lighten the conversation a little…

Our intelligence services have always known Mas Selamat was in Malaysia.

Because every time you cross the causeway, a large sign says…

“Selamat Datang Ke Malaysia”. :-)

PS – for those who dont know Malay, the above sentence can be translated as…”Welcome to Malaysia” or “Selamat came to Malaysia”…

Loyola
May 11, 2009 17:35

If I were in his shoes, and had to spin a shell story to preserve opsec, I would. At the point of speech, that probably is more important than anything else.

kopi
May 11, 2009 22:43

Only LHL & WKS knew about it and THEY (these TWO) did not trust their own Cabinet colleagues. What a sad day for SIN; the rest of CABINET only knew about it the same day all SIN read about it.

WHAT is going on ? Is it so SSSSS SECRET to point CABINET mustnt know?. Arent you dealing with terrorist per se & on same wavelenght as all your CABINET colleagues or are you dealing with a plan which manages his escape and his final arrest where the PLAN from day one (before his escape) were also not made known to your CABINET colleague.?

This had been the speculation all along, he was deliberately set free to rein in more JI? He is not so much a terror as claimed, cant run far for one.

jumbo
May 11, 2009 23:55

All this talk about Mas Selamat and JI is really another case of injecting phobia into the community when nothing really matters than our own job at risk. Rhetoric on Mas Selamat is a joke and its quite deafening to listen to those stooges keep on harping the slogan over and over again….i think they like to talk about him and instill the fear in the people……but its getting bored now. If you have not realised yet…Mas Selamat is not known to be armed….How to be terrorist like that hoh?

jumbo
May 12, 2009 0:08

DAVID CORN, the Washington editor of The Nation magazine

Washington–a city of denials, spin, and political calculations. They may speak English there, but most citizens still need an interpreter to understand its ways and meanings.

Singapore – a city no different …..

jumbo
May 12, 2009 0:32

‘Mistakes’ or ‘plans’ in 9/11, Iraq invasion and occupation, ‘war on terror?’
Steve Hammons July 11, 2006
http://www.americanchronicle.com/articles/view/11401

Is Mas Selamat escape a “Mistake” or “Plans”?

jumbo
May 12, 2009 0:38

“Only the most naïve will take events and government actions at face value, for there are often many agendas going on behind the scenes. Legitimate and not-so-legitimate factors exist on many levels.”
http://www.americanchronicle.com/articles/view/11401

jumbo
May 12, 2009 1:10

According to a January 2007 BBC World Service poll of more than 26,000 people in 25 countries, 73% of the global population disapproves of the US handling of the Iraq War.

The US government has long maintained its involvement there is with the support of the Iraqi people, but in 2005 when asked directly, 82–87% of the Iraqi populace was opposed to the US occupation and wanted US troops to leave.

Iraqi violent deaths, Opinion Research Business – August 2007: 1,033,000

Singapore being a apart of “Coalition of willing”
Singapore: 175 offshore (deployed 12/03-withdrawn 12/08)

After all this, the invasion being a mistake….Gov has to tell Singaporean we’re under terrorist threats…the result is the passing on of guilt or shame….

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iraq_War

woopaper
May 12, 2009 2:08

1) mas selamat escaped swimming on an “improvised floatation device”. he swam over. i want to puke. where were we or the malaysians at the time? sleeping?
2) did he have time to sunbathe at pedra branca as well on the way?
3) why is WKS taking credit for this? its not like they caught someone out of the blue, they made a mistake and now its been rectified. pure garbage.
4) it doesnt hurt, to say something to the effect of “i am sorry once again to the people of s’pore for this grave error that put your lives in potential danger” etc. but politicians will be politicians.
now can we please focus on the screwed up economy and things that matter to our daily lives.

jumbo
May 12, 2009 9:38

The CIA admits that Bin laden worked for them under the code name “Tim Osman”.

http://mx.truveo.com/911-Coincidences-TIM-OSMAN-The-Perfect/id/1333238272

Will someone admit MSK worked for them under code name “Tak Selamat D’ Malaysia”?

jumbo
May 12, 2009 10:09

Aaron Russo remix part 1 – Freedomtofascism.com

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u3PO62kvsGw&feature=related

Wendy Tan
May 12, 2009 11:50

PAP needs to keep Singaporeans afraid to keep them submissive, an effective political philosophy. Mas is really just a bogeyman to distract people from issues such as ministers’ pay, Temasek Holdings.

jumbo
May 12, 2009 12:08

America: Freedom to Fascism – Director’s Authorized Version

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-1656880303867390173

Singapore is going to be the same…watch the video.

mee_siam_mai_hum
May 12, 2009 15:23

let mas escape again la, show us how good u can catch terrorist, justify all that money spend on security

101 Info
May 12, 2009 17:22

First time on this Blog.

I actually enjoyed reading all the comments right up to the last comment.
I had a good laugh reading all the grumbles and rumbles.

To me, I take issue with the following:

1. The escape shoudd not have happened in the first place. How could it happen when we see people escaping from toilet window in the movies all the time. That was schoolboy error and those responsible should have their ears pinched.
2. He was able to swim accross to Johor in spite of the high security alert. So much efforts and moneys spent all go down the drain.
3. The recapture should have been a low profile affair. No credit should be claimed over the recapture.
4..Move on and improve our border security .Just to borrow the iconic phrase from the AWARE SAGA: “Shut Up And Sit Down”…………. and Work Hard On It !
Lets us all work very hard on it. Its everybody’s business.

kueh pisang
May 12, 2009 22:40

maybe if the media just shut up and stop feeding the straits times (8 stinking pages today) we will be less angry

gj
May 13, 2009 11:55

Lets make a movie.Comedy, of course!

vodka2health
May 13, 2009 17:29

Fact that mas still linger around when he could dig a hole like saddam & disappear means he is determined to terrorize our island, such a clown should be made example of by capital punishment, kill one to scare a hundred.

Justfacts
May 14, 2009 10:16

I can only think of a few reasons for the delay of the news being made public.

- Singapore police has not met MAS to confirm the person arrested is indeed him?

- Singapore has not gotten the chance to interview MAS as the Malaysia refused to let Singapore see him?

- Singapore needs to find out if any Singaporean had assisted him in the escape so that they can arrest the person too?

- Singapore needs to find out about his new planned attack on Singapore so as to tighten the compromised area before the news?

I wonder if the reasons are valid for the delay though…

tiredsingaporean
May 14, 2009 11:26

# 76) Wendy Tan on May 12th, 2009 11.50 am

PAP needs to keep Singaporeans afraid to keep them submissive, an effective political philosophy. Mas is really just a bogeyman to distract people from issues such as ministers’ pay, Temasek Holdings.

Ya, you’re right Wendy. Don’t hear anymore or any follow up issues like the PAP TCs losing those $millions and still keeping dead quiet till now, no more issues of those profiteering from public housings HDB, issues of the toxic funds sold by DBS and all other issues in connection with the ruling party just seem to disappear now.

Nair hater
May 16, 2009 20:14

pancake
Jun 2, 2009 22:34

Now Malaysia says they were on top of things from day 1 when Mas cross over to Johore. They did not apprehend him in hope he’ll lead them to accomplices. This contradicts WKS point that the arrest arose from a Singapore tip-off. From experience, Singapore gov always refutes strongly any comments that discredit them. Wonder if they do so this time.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook