Wednesday, May 6, 2009 1:16

The government’s strategic intervention in the Aware saga

In Guest Writers, Main Stories, Top Story • 4,058 views • 54 Comments

PN Balji / Picture by Damien Chng

In a different time and under a different political leadership, the acrimonious public tussle for the leadership of Aware would have seen the knocking of some heads and the twisting of some arms.

Thank God that did not happen, though the ingredients for such a direct government intervention were all there: A well-planned plot to grab power at the 25-year-old women’s organisation, the new guard’s reluctance to engage the public fully about their intentions, the positioning of the debate as an issue between the pro- and anti-gay lobbies and finally the unfortunate use of the pulpit to influence last weekend’s fight-back for power by the old guard.

The government’s instincts must have been to step in, what with some media reports suggesting that such an intervention might be necessary.

Instead, we saw what I would call strategic intervention by government leaders, from DPM Teo Chee Hean downwards, drawing some kind of out-of-bound markers. Don’t push your views too hard, don’t forget we are a secular society and go for a “rainbow coalition” approach to settle issues.

Underpinning these statements — which the media took some pains to show were made at the sidelines of functions the ministers were attending or (at least in one case) in an email interview — was a clear signal to the warring parties not to get too worked up and unwittingly end up dividing Singapore.

Still, things could have gone all wrong — if these events had not taken place:

One, the coming out into the open of the new guard’s inspiration and motivator, Thio Su Mien. The timing is important here. Coming just nine days before the extraordinary general meeting that was called to seek a vote of no-confidence in her team and just one day before three ministers spoke on the issue, Ms Thio’s appearance at a quickly-arranged press conference addressed two missing links in the story: Who was really behind the move to capture power and what was the insurgents’ real agenda.

Miss Thio said clearly and forcefully that Aware had lost sight of its mission by focusing on lesbianism and homosexuality. She zeroed in on Aware’s sexuality programme in 30 schools and asked somewhat dramatically, like a lawyer would have done in arguing her case: Are we going to have an entire generation of lesbians?

The press conference must have eased the anxiety of a government that has made its stand clear on why those who want to provide leadership and mentorship for civil society groups must do so openly and declare their intentions explicitly. 

The Thio story is not over, though. With the Ministry of Education saying it will want to get more information from her on the feedback she claimed to have received from parents on Aware’s talks in schools, a fringe debate is on the cards.  

Two, the National Council of Churches of Singapore’s statement that churches should not get dragged into the affairs of other organisations, followed quickly by a “I stand corrected” apology by Pastor Derek Hong.

Pastor’s Hong’s use of the pulpit to campaign for the insurgents would have provided a good reason for direct government intervention. Instead, the council stepped in, rightly so, and gave the priest no wriggle room but to tell Singaporeans categorically that it was a grave mistake to politicise the pulpit.

Finally, the savvy move by the police to get the Singapore Expo not to say yes to the holding of the weekend meeting at its Changi venue. This was the closest the government came to intervention.

With a large Christian conference taking place at the same place and time, the police move avoided what could have turned out to be a very ugly affair sparking a government crackdown.

That would have set civil society and the country back many years. Thank God it didn’t turn out that way.         
—–

1. Aware saga: Calm down and move on, says DPM Wong Kan Seng
  2. Philip Jeyaretnam: Remove perception of government intervention in legal profession
  3. Property bubble : More government intervention or less?
  4. A Christian woman’s take on the Aware saga
  5. AWARE saga not a national dispute, says Lim Hwee Hua

54 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

smallvice585
May 6, 2009 1:39

We are fortunate that the Internal Security Act and the Religious Harmony Act were not used in the AWARE SAGA. It would have damaged and propagated unwarranted fear in Civil Society, further stunning its growth and outreach to Singaporeans in general. Nevertheless, I would like to remind all clergymen that it is a crime under the Religous Harmony Act to promote political agenda under the name of religion.

smallvoice585
May 6, 2009 2:19

I think the Government was probably caught off-guard by this saga. Its light touch is a reflection of its indecision and possible realization that it needs to perform a very delicate balancing act.

Any action likely to be interpreted as taking sides has wide political repercussions. It is fortunate that the events reached such a benign conclusion.

smallvice585
May 6, 2009 2:27

I believe MOE would publish the review of AWARE’s Comprehensive Sex Education suitability to be taught in Singapore schools long after the AWARE SAGA has blown over. It is very atypical of the Government. One might recall that MAS only published the review of sale of financial products almost 6 months after the Lehman Brothers Fiasco. and seek public response for it Parents, you have to wait till November 2009 to see the results of your petition.

jayencee
May 6, 2009 2:30

smallvoice585: You can call the Singapore Government lots of names, but “indecisive” ain’t one of them. Balji’s reading of the situation is correct. The government deliberately held back, preferring to monitor, for strategic reasons. I suspect it wanted to observe how the situation would play out and use it as a model for potential future similar scenarios. Whatever the case, you can be sure the Religious Nutjob Desk at the ISD has been working overtime lately.

la nausée
May 6, 2009 2:37

A crucial fact which prevented this episode from swerving towards the late-1980s precedent of the Christian Marxist ‘conspiracy’ and the subsequent crackdown was, I think, the fact that both sides could boast of having bona fide establishment figures. TSM on one side, and several ex-NMPs/journalists on the other. Given their political clout (as compared to a motley crew of university students), the Government probably decided not to intervene out of prudence. It was hoping for things to self-correct, as they arguably did during last Saturday’s EOGM.

One wonders what the Government’s reaction would have been had things turned out differently that evening in Suntec City.

Credit to All Parties
May 6, 2009 6:03

Why all the credits go to the government?

Yes, I agree that the government’s holding back to take drastic actions was a prudent move but I think most of the credits must go to the bloggers, the netizens and the reporters of the mass media who have been tirelessly doing investigative reports to reveal facts that were not forthcoming and hidden from public view.

If not for the expose of Pastor Derek Hong’s illegal activity in the Church of Our Saviour, and the malicious emails being spread in cyberspace, the invading insurgents could have got their way and therefore, the Government might have to intervene with a crackdown for political reason.

In addition, the general public who could be bothered to take time off to go down to Suntec City on that Saturday, to let their voice heard and to stand up against unethical and sneaky trojan-horse tactics, should also be credited for their sacrifice and/or unselfish efforts.

One very important and urgent thing to be done:

Pastor Derek Hong’s “stand to be corrected” is not good enough. He should correct himself if he had truly realised his folly, not to wait to be corrected by others. ISD should call him up to find out more.

What exactly is behind all these?

What other motives could there be?

I don’t believe it is so simple – just because of the lesbian issue. If that is so, there are other channels to bring it up; why infiltrate, invade and capture the leadership of Aware?

Are they (religious extremists amongst the mega churches) aiming and planning for the take-over of other organizations – even political organizations and the government?

How many have already infiltrated into Government Organizations and the Civil Service, including the Police and Armed Forces?

Who is the actual “big fish” behind all this power-grab?

This precedence set by Pastor Derek Hong and his gang must be immediately addressed now! Don’t wait for a similar “Mas Selamat” or “Marxist-Conspiracy” case to materialize.

Hooligans
May 6, 2009 8:09

The party is over…….
All the “teachers” are out again trying to jump in now to gain favours….
some to score points with the government, some to cover up their earlier unthinked utters, and some to continue slinging mud…

The government is the biggest winner here while the hooligans of the old guards and the old and now new new Ex-CO- all caught on tape in posterity are the real and biggest losers – and the agenda is an imagined one – lesbian & homosexual & ok gay sex, versus christianity ! How naive are Singaporeans.
Football hooligans would have been brighter….

gemami
May 6, 2009 8:43

Why must the government claim credit for everything? Even for things they did not do? Why must the MSM see the need to give credit to the government? This is just a simple case of the government not knowing what to do because there are no precedents they could tap on prior to this saga.

It does not take a genius to know that when in doubt, take no sides, go straight down the middle and you won’t offend anyone. When things blow over, the credit is there for you pick it up. This article is nothing but ‘wind beneath the wind’ (no typo here).

theotherviews
May 6, 2009 8:49

smallvice585, you should see the other point of view of asking the government to use Internal Security Act against the old guard of Aware posted in April 2009 before the EGM on an internet forum – http://forum.singaporeforumonline.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1267

both sides got point, so how?

The Watchman
May 6, 2009 9:48

You see cat fights as civil society coming of age. It is like watching a stoneage
stage play with old and young uncouth feline women , ah lians crawling the air.
Gahment intervention? The acted more like directors of a play giving cues.
That was a smallvice ..Stop fantasizing ….isd, conspiracy and all the craps ,creating a whirlpool in your own toilet bowl.

observ
May 6, 2009 9:51

Why write about such stale news?

Why don’t you write about the ‘elephant in the living room’ ?

More than 6000 parents (still growing) are demanding an answer from MOE as to why it allowed AWARE to teach our students that ‘anal sex can be healthy’, ‘homosexuality is perfectly normal’.

This petition is the REAL outcome of the AWARE saga.

T
May 6, 2009 10:20

Watchman – this one is for you…

That’s interesting. I did not know that the “feminist mentor” was a prophet, a healer and saved Singapore from the Tsunami thanks to her prayers.!
Maybe someone can save Singapore from the Swine Flu as well…

“Last February, a USSPN Washington Regional Coordinator was present during a report given by an international lawyer from Singapore, Thio Su Mien (Su), who is gifted in prophetic intercession and healing. She shared about some of the things going on in the area of Indonesia before the tsunami.

She explained how the SARS virus hit Singapore a year prior to the earthquake/tsunami. The Lord alerted the intercessors and told them that if they did not get on their faces and repent on behalf of their nation’s involvement in abortion as the contraceptive of choice, that the land would suffer from His hand of judgment.

Because they saw how devastating the SARS virus had been, the intercessors immediately took action to seek His mercy and forgiveness. Singapore was not touched by the earthquake disaster. The Malaysian intercessors joined them in diligent prayer and also opened healing rooms in Kuala Lampur. The area on the Northern Coast of Malaysia was hit hard. There are amazing stories of God’s grace and mercy in saving souls and lives there.

It was the prayers of the intercessors that had saved the disaster from affecting an even larger area. She emphasized that the intercessors crying out with repentance and asking for mercy, along with declarations of the Word of God over the land (both written and rhema), released the curse upon the land and the people were spared. It was a plea for intercessors to step up to the plate and continue to press into God for mercy from judgment coming.”

From http://www.elijahlist.com/words/display_word.html?ID=2997

Boxed-In
May 6, 2009 10:20

#6) Credit to All Parties on May 6th, 2009 6.03 am.

Wow, so “cheam”. So serious ! My mind cannot think like that.

As for me, I am rather simple minded and I read it as such:

The New Cha Bors see something not quite right and good for the general socitey so they want to do something about it, but use the wrong tactics and technic, but very swift and alot of other cha bors don’t like it.

The Lau Cha Bors was chugging along just fine but was caught unaware. So they buay tahan and they fought back with alot of other cha bors and some of their boi boi (read boys or men) supporting them.

In between, many other people throw stones at issues (real or drum up) and really got good press coverage and provided some distraction from otherwise boring Singapore for ordinary citizens and for many who lost their jobs.

Now the battle is over and the professors, writers and the thinkers are out and have their say. Another good press coverage and more distraction for those still looking for a job or trying to pay their bills.

I simple minded fellow retreat to my daily activities and put some bread and water on the dining table.

But I really appreciate all the Old/New Cha Bors who cared enough who wants to make a difference in our country. 3 cheers !

dsims
May 6, 2009 10:53

Incidentally “wind beneath the wings” is a Christain Song” and JL stills said she is not intent to be secular!

Merlion
May 6, 2009 10:54

The AWARE saga appears to be over for now.

The usual suspects have given us the benefit of their opinion:- Chua Mui Hoong, Jenadas Devan, Cherian George, Simon Tay etc.

Notably absent is of course the personal view of the only legitimate ‘Mentor’ on this island – MM Lee Kuan Yew.

Sure, DPM Teo & Wong, even Ho Ching have said their piece.

But it is the political wisdom of our Grand Old Sage that many Singaporeans hope to hear.

He who has the foremost authority on educating Singaporeans, state/religion separation and politics.

I am sure many other pertinent facts beneath this saga may never see the light of day – perhaps too sensitive.

If LKY can appear with the Roman Catholic leadership in press conference in 1987 over alleged church interference in the Vincent Yeo detention, surely this time around – the govt has been most patient & circumspect in dealing with religion.

How NCCS come forward with their statement, How Rev Derek Hong subsequently conceded he’stand corrected’, how FM Thio Su Mien decided to ’surface’, how she began her ‘homework, took notes’ & start her email exercise to enourage her mentees to come forward, online evidence of alleged emails by Thio & church staff, Police intervention on EGM venue etc etc

I am sure behind the scene, firm hands have prevailed over the relevant parties.

While we may not be privy to what the ISD & Home Affairs Ministry know, surely Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew’s time-honed instincts cannot missed much of what is going on.

I eagerly await the opportunity at some appropriate public event when MM Lee can give the nation the benefit of his considered opinion on the trends & undercurrents of secular/religious Singaporean society.

Gilbert Goh
May 6, 2009 11:27

To me the saga means alot of unspoken thigns went underground and people simply have no way to articulate them.

We simply have to keep our convictions to ourselves alot of times.

Churches also have convictions especially on hot topics like homosexuality. I still get calls to sign petition against the homosexuality and the infamous Act.

Many people here simply have no way to filter off what that is on their mind and heart. A lack of freedom to speak and act now surface up in the Aware saga.

Our country’s perceived lack of freedom of speech perhaps has it’s shortcoming as people find alternate ways to let off their views.

To me, the Josie Lau’s team has religious conviction on the homosexuality issue and when they found no way to voice out their views openly, they simply think of the candestine “valid” way to hijack Aware so that they can do something about the situation.

Speaker’s Corner does not appeal to many here as it means you have to make efforts trying to draw the crowd and you become a national object as the media covers the event.

The govt perhaps may want to lighten the knot on speaking up here.

It does not help in a society that is both democratic and developed.

It’s freedom of speech act seems very third world in nature.

socool
May 6, 2009 11:33

16) Merlion on May 6th, 2009 10.54 am

I agree with what Merlion said. There is more that meets the eye. How sure is PN Balji when he wrote this:

“Two, the National Council of Churches of Singapore’s statement that churches should not get dragged into the affairs of other organisations, followed quickly by a “I stand corrected” apology by Pastor Derek Hong.”

Do you think that NCCS took its own initiative and was not prodded by the gahment. Do you not find it coincidental when the newspaper published NCCS statement last week in the media that Wong Kan Seng also cooed to the same tune on the SAME DAY!

It may sound like a conspiracy theory but with memories of the Catholic Marxist conspiracy at the back of their gahment’s minds, it may have been like this behind the scenes between NCCS & Wong Kan Seng of MHA on the day NCCS coughed up a press statement:

Probable phone conversation between NCCS & WKS:

Secretary to WKS : Archbishop John Chew, please hold the line as WKS would like to speak to you now on a very urgent matter.

John Chew: Yes Mam

WKS: Archbishop John Chew, in order to maintain racial harmony in Spore, I will be sending you a DRAFT transmission soon on a press release that YOU have to issue on behalf of all churches in Spore you represent. Go thru it first, then give me a call if you agree to the press statement. You MUST release this before the evening news hit the TV by XXXX PM. Is this understood?

John Chew: Yes, Sir. I will do my utmost to get back to you asap & to release the press statement as you have stated. I DO AGREE with you that racial harmony has to be maintained in Spore.

WKS: That’s good to hear.

Coincidences are quite rare don’t you think so, NCCS & WKS humming to the same tune on the same day.

observer
May 6, 2009 11:53

“the intercessors immediately took action to seek His mercy and forgiveness. Singapore was not touched by the earthquake disaster. ”

Hahahaha… way to go, TSM.. Spore has never been touched by ANY earthquake disaster because Spore is geologically sheltered by the INdon shelf, and not sitting on any tectonic faultline..

Way to go for taking credit for a fluke of geology!

flyingdagger
May 6, 2009 12:00

The Watchman
May 6, 2009 12:29

12) smallvice585 on May 6th, 2009 10.02 am ,

wow!!! that is anti chrisitian. The ISD should come after you. That is a seditious rant to incite hatred against the christians. This isn’t a small vice anymore…That is inciting a majority against the minority.. ..i can imagine all churches got burned and all christians dragged to the streets shot by smallvice 585 and his or her gang of mad women..
Someone, stop this madman. Sanity is now hanging from a thread and anytime it snaps all hell and mayhem will break loose.

Retired Man
May 6, 2009 13:01

The question now is, did anyone committed an offence under the Religious Harmony Act ?. If yes, then the authority should have issued a stern warning to those responsible.
Indeed this time around – the govt has been most patient & circumspect in dealing with religion. Nevertheless, it should be taken as a sign of weakness. Ours is a multi cultural/religious society and it is extremely dangerous to involve religion and places of worship in any dispute.

Arix
May 6, 2009 13:01

#12,

I think that we should not over-deify the Old Guard. In this issue, they had their own biased interests as well, securing their own political position in AWARE. I know your doctrine of rushing to support anything that you believe in to the fullest, and trying to silence your opponents. But let’s try to keep that out of discussion threads, ok? And approach the matter objectively?

Going back, while the New Guard were not particularly tactful in the way they took over or managed the EGM, nonetheless the Old Guard is not fully pure-white either. There are still many questions left unanswered over AWARE’s CSE programme, and to tell the truth, what the Old Guard released over the CSE Programme is more like a brochure, rather than an information booklet. The purpose of a brochure is to advertise, so there is reason to suspect that the Old Guard is hiding something behind a smokescreen.

Also – contrary to what you may believe – there are many long-time members who agree with the New Guard’s opinions, and are wary of the stance President Singam was taking prior to the takeover.

After all, the most important factor remains: The New Guard was elected into power; it did not simply conduct an armed military coup like the Yellow Shirts did in Thailand to oust Thaksin. So, saying that they gained power ‘unconstitutionally’ is actually a virulent statement of propaganda on the part of the Old Guard.

Perhaps, we need to look at this issue more objectively.

PJ
May 6, 2009 13:09

Why is it our kneejerk instinct to run to the government at every shout and commotion? When you treat a people like children all the time, the people will never grow up to become adults. People can never function at their best (or worst admittedly) if you keep them boxed in all the time. If you want the best out of people, release them and let them fly.

tom
May 6, 2009 13:28

12) smallvice585

Regardless of race, language or religion,

Regardless of race….(R you refering to Foreigners, China nationals, etc coming here to take over our jobs)??

Language or religion…..(Yes-man language & PAP is the religion)

Based on Justice and Equality…(This country is worst than communist)

—————————————————————————————————————

Who are the old guards & reporters in AWARE?

They are former MPs. In short, they belong to PAP. When they lost, it just as good as losting out General Election. No face & can’t take the reality so die-die must win back. Even economy crisis or swine flu became secondary.

No govt intervention? Only in dreams.
In S’pore, PAP govt has a hand in everything.

No wonder, this year S’pore Sports Awards has left out Coach of the Year.
Who is charge of S’pore Sports Award? PAP again.

xtrocious
May 6, 2009 15:07

Wondering if anyone read The Christian Post on their views on the AWARE incident…

Really makes you wonder…sigh

eh
May 6, 2009 15:48

i actually agree that the old guards of aware would have lost if not for the less than secret warnings from the government for churches to lay off. the christians have managed to polarise the issue to become against God or for God, and against homosexuality and anal sex and for homosexuality and anal sex, when the whole issue was never even about either of this. And sadly there are a lot more unthinking, blindly following zealots out there than liberals and moderates who would stand up against such unscrupulous acts of steeplejacking (haha) which take advantage of a constitutional weakness.

on the side, i suggest we all just ignore the Watch-man’s rantings. they are becoming so repetitive that they don’t even entertain anymore. i guess that’s what happens after too much thiology.

gyfr
May 6, 2009 16:33

“That would have set civil society and the country back many years. Thank God it didn’t turn out that way.”

The last statement sounds somewhat ironic, in a cute way. :)

A Tan
May 6, 2009 16:51

This govmin (and WKS in particular) have proven themselves rather incompetent over the last few yrs. Mat’s escape and continuing avoidance of capture, investments in UBS, Citi, ML, Shin, ABC and Barclays, “Golden period” juz before things turn nasty, GST rise etc etc

Maybe this is juz another example?

Or maybe why bother abt hen fight when there are more impt things to work on — like fixing the economy (again)?

No there are other reasonable possible reasons, than the genius of the PAP in action again.

mrthinktalk
May 6, 2009 17:11

27) small voice
Thanks for the links. Well said article. Really there are the Christians and on the other side that won….who are they? Still do not know the composition yet… Maybe another group that could be more explosive as we witnessed at the EOGM!. Still have to monitor wisely…….

AWARE Saga: Post-mortem « Tipped Ear Clan
May 6, 2009 17:29

[...] The government’s strategic intervention in the Aware saga [...]

Max Chew
May 6, 2009 18:43

Whatever it is, the new MOS for Education owes an apology to Mother Superior Dr Thio Su Mien. Read the forum letter from MOE tomorrow….they have finally woken up from their slumber and had a 2nd look (or is it first look?) at the contents of the literature produced by the Aware of old regarding lesbianism. Deft promoting the gay life-style than informing and explaining.MOE has now suspended that particular document which I believe was written by an extreme lesbian trying to “normalise” her lifestyle and sexual orientation! One question…..how to make babies, meh?

socrates
May 6, 2009 18:55

Interesting. MOE suspends sex education by AWARE..On AWARE’s sexuality education programme, the ministry found some aspects of it positive, while other parts did not conform to guidelines.
Please check out latest news at http://www.channelnewsasia.com

socrates
May 6, 2009 18:57

Interesting. MOE suspens sex education programme by AWARE…
On AWARE’s sexuality education programme, the ministry found some aspects of it positive, while other parts did not conform to guidelines. Please check out latest news at http://www.channelnewasia.com

Serendity
May 6, 2009 19:43

To #25,Tom

Appreciate your clarity and right to the point comments; many others are carried away by the episode which in essence featured an establishment kicked out by newcomers………..
Caught offguard, “good cop, bad cop” and “the end justify the means tactics” are seen……to gain back the status quo never mind the lawlessness and hooligan behaviour exhibited…pity all the players captured on video last saturday. EOGM…..they will regret later of the uglyness that they will have to see of themselves forever..
Pastor Derek may lose his job soon… if not perhaps early retirement….NMP Siew will get another term,,,, Thio junior will be out…..Josie will be demoted ? Singam will get a medal for all her rable rousing efforts…..and so on……farewell to the real civil society…..
It is still not over yet – to balance the scenario – Aware’s controversial sex education featuring ok to anal sex will definitely be taken off ( Muslim Anwar was taken to task rightly or wrongly ) – again the Government is caught offguard here…. they do not know the sexual contents until NOW!
Mas Selamat and Aware – same performance, same complacency…….yet same big salaries;

As for the injustice in Table Tennis – this is the beginning of the decline, just watch the baggages carried by the STTA officials and see them collapse one by one in due course…….As for the MP involved, – she will not win votes for her GRC for sure now given the injustice she just sanctioned. She has a good chance to show her magmanity , a but her character now appears to be revengeful, lacking in any compassion and as a “FT” and once a guest here still does not appreciate the feelings of the common citizens here.

mrthinktalk
May 6, 2009 21:53

Balji’s first article in TODAY was simply asking the old guards to piss off and let the new team have a chance..
Then came the posting from TOC accusing the new team of being pro-Christian and anti-gay..after that all hell broke loose. Someone should trace the chrono of this saga. Makes interesting reading and lots of lessons to learn on the power of the new media…

veritasi
May 6, 2009 22:18

So now that Aware has the apparent endorsement of ‘public’ votes it now freely expresses its agenda.

Regardless of SEXUALITY? But secular is not liberal, and equality of ideology is not part of our national pledge or values.

Please stay out of schools. And we’d hope a recognized civic institution doesn’t actually cross over into championing subversive liberal ideology.

Praise the gov?
May 6, 2009 23:11

I thank PN Balji for praising the gov.

observ
May 6, 2009 23:26

MOE finally addressed the ‘elephant in the living room’.

This is THE issue about the AWARE saga, and not all the discourses about inclusiveness, secularism, transparency and what not.

prettyplace
May 6, 2009 23:57

This was a good saga in Singapore’s history.
I never commented earlier, just waited to see how it would flow…and I am niether impressed nor satisfied of the outcome.

We did not get to see how the new Aware performed, ..albeit Christian right…thus

The credit going to the govt…mmm…too much…they just did not know what cards to play…but nonetheless..some of the comments by the ministers were very balanced…(some smart alec made the right decision)…

Some of you might want to know what LKY might have to say….Why did I educate you woman…..hehehe…

No offence..this was said by him in India…mmmm..between the years 1997–1999

What I think came out of this entire event was that Singaporeans are starting to believe in themselves….the issues close to their hearts.are being addressed…the under hand tactics are being fought with a vengence….people want their say….finally..I am proud of all the woman who did manage to participate….to have their say…YOU BELONG…. .

and now is the time to pick it up and promote AWARE as a grand organization.
I wish AWARE…. ALL THE BEST

ketosis
May 7, 2009 0:12

i really wonder if the now ousted new guard did hijack the leadership of AWARE or did the media paint the picture of that? the media reports on the whole incident had been so biased, and so there were personal attacks on the individual members of the new guard and their kins which personally i felt was misleading. Josie Lau and co were demonised by the media while in fact they were a group of people who merely bravely stood up for their convictions. if your own personal beliefs (including religious ones) should not stand in the way of running a secular organisation, then why did the old AWARE take a pro homosexual stand? is that something that a stand that the organisation should take or is that the conviction of some of the members in the organisation? the truth is personal convictions will always shape how an organisation is run. Josie Lau and co were crucified simply because those against them were more vocal and active in garnering support.

Babyboomer62
May 7, 2009 7:24

First NKF,then Ren Ci and now AWARE ………….botomline Money & power so.what next?

A Tan
May 7, 2009 7:27

Whatever you may rant abt them, TSM,Josie & Co got the CSE programme suspended. And MoE admitting that it not 100% in-line with MoE policy. Since when has govmin admitted it screwed up?

Now that is power.

So what if the GLBT militants crow that their hens now in control of AWARE. And Damien Siow talks abt justice and fair play.

So all those anti-Josie posters, be afraid, very afraid.

If the swine bug doesn’t get you, the Special Branch may be visiting you.

Power to COOS! They shall inherit S’pore.

A Tan
May 7, 2009 7:37

#38 mrthinktalk

Or swaying in the wind?

Wonder if the TSM victory over CSE manual will mark another shift?

cynicholas
May 7, 2009 8:28

#46 it’s not really a victory, because MOE also suspended materials from TSM’s camp, Focus on the Family. they’re trying to show impartiality with that move, imo. whether they will revise the entire syllabus with a new vendor remains to be seen, in any case TSM and her lackeys will not rest until she has imposed her agenda on the entire system.

aygee
May 7, 2009 13:06

To Mr Balji’s piece, jayencee, and smallvice585…

The question was – Was this a “decisive”, “indecisive”, or “strategic” move by the govt…?

Its either WKS has redeemed himself somewhat, and the leaders in that ministry are finally earning their pay…

OR…”market forces” and the maturity of all involved shows that we are truly growing up as a nation, and can sort things out without any old-school “put them all in jail under ISA”.

Now, this would open an interesting line of discussion :-)

Jin Xian
May 7, 2009 13:06

smallvice585:

You must really love us Christians. You bother to go to our websites to find readings for our own people to use it against us. Tsk.

Now now, before you drag me out to shoot/stone me, let me just tell you one thing;

Let he who has done no wrong cast the first stone.

A Tan
May 7, 2009 13:19

Only CSE was highlighted, and these are damning words.

“However, MOE’s assessment is that in some other aspects, the Guide does not conform to MOE’s guidelines. In particular, some suggested responses in the instructor guide are explicit and inappropriate, and convey messages which could promote homosexuality or suggest approval of pre-marital sex.”

My observations:

When I flipped thru purported manual on web, I was surprised that what it said on homosexuality or pre-marital sex had MoE approval.

I was also surprised that I couldn’t find anything on homosexuality being illegal. But I was told that the CSE manual does say this.

sarek_home
May 7, 2009 16:39

52) smallvice585 on May 7th, 2009 4.30 pm

Hi Jin Xian,

Stop defending the Christian Right! If you are a Singaporean and Christian, denounce the Christian Right.

Christians on the floor passionately supporting the Old Guard and arguing against Josie and team.

COOS has 4,000 members but Josie and team got only 761 votes. Josie and team did not get much support from her own church, much much less from the Christians community as a whole.

mice is nice
May 7, 2009 23:32

hey everyone, its an Instructor’s Guide, not student handbook. it has to cover as much ground as possible. our younger generation can be very outspoken. how would any parent/s react if their kid go home & says “mummy, or daddy or both, MOE approved instructor only half cup full, i ask question s/he dunno how to answer…”.

secularist
May 8, 2009 7:04

Hi Watchman,

I am amused by your debate with smallvice585. He had correctly pointed out that Steeplejacking had taken place at AWARE while you remain skeptical. If you think the Christian Right is bogeyman crap, you had taken into the other side of the Christian Right. Well-respected activist Alex Au himself had a guest contribution of which Rev. Dr. John C Dorhauer’s expert opinion was sought. Dr Dorhauer is the Conference Minister for the Southwest Conference of the United Church of God.

You won’t know for sure what the Christian Right is when your very own pastor had coaxed you to believe that every action and thought you have is Christian and not Christian Right. You might have noticed how some fundamentalists claimed that the only true Christians are fundamentalists. It is the very same mindset the Christian Right wants to entrap you into, so you will see no wrong in their doing. The Christian Right is none other than Christian Fundamentalism creeping into political space preaching hate and intolerance.

jonathan
May 8, 2009 21:33

If MOE has taken the responsibility to plan for an appropriate Sex education program, these damages could be avoid.

The irresponsible behavior of MOE was “We did not receive any complaint!”

A Tan
May 9, 2009 11:33

What abt analysing the reversal of MoE stand on the CSE.

Not often government back-tracks.

Legend
May 16, 2009 18:44

Party’s over !!

Firstly, there’s no gods or saints …. religions are stories and artefacts moulded to “proper behave” human populations …. that’s why there are so many religions catered for so many countries & races…. sometimes ppl expolit religion and re-convert it to the dark side …. but nevertheless…. they are all stories …

Secondly, about the AWARE thingy, they are simply not aware that they are just wasting time as at the end of the day, nothing is crafted out of it …. just as expected …

Finally, let’s move on to more fresh News out there both Locally & in the World …

Steven Tan
Jun 5, 2009 9:53

Christian Group Encroaching Secular Schools

http://www.bb.org.sg/cos/o.x?c=/wbn/pagetree&func=view&rid=31818

The Boys’ Brigade is a Christian organisation. They should not be allowed in Non-Christian schools. This is another proof that a Christian group is encroaching on secular space. The Ministry of Education should not allow it to happen. This shows the Ministry is biased in favour of Christianity allowing them to promote Christian values and proselytizing in schools!

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook