Sunday, May 31, 2009 23:32

Tweaking back to time…

In Quotes • 892 views • 28 Comments

Our forefathers fought for Singapore to be freed from the shackles of colonialism and for us to be able to run this country for our own interests instead of those of our colonial masters. Two generations later we find ourselves struggling again to restore democracy and bring about a govt that works for our interests instead of its own.

Lucky Tan

1. Some concerns about annuities and tweaking the CPF
  2. Number of comments on TOC surpasses 100,000
  3. P65 blogger reveals he is Young PAP member
  4. “I’d rather be sued for defamation than shot in the head” – P65 blogger says of opposition in S’pore
  5. Party political films please, we’re the PAP!

28 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

free as a bird
Jun 1, 2009 2:31

Cannot agree more with Lucky Tan.

It was a collective effort then, by leaders and people of that era.
It begs the question, where are those leaders and people of that era now ?
What I see is one incorrigible oldman clinging on to power with his bunch of stooges, disregarding what he stood for in the early years of colonialism.

mice is nice
Jun 1, 2009 3:16

sometimes, some become the very “thing” they fought very hard against in the past?

History Not Repeating
Jun 1, 2009 10:08

the history of revolutions tells it all – a people’s leader win and take the country through some high ideals….then the leaders became the look alikes of the ones they took apart..and so on…..and the circle is completed….not so in Singapore

we are lucky in Singapore with some material wealth and fantastic infrastructure still intact

but the pap is too smart & brillant ..it pre-empts all others……and so it is- if citizens are really not happy they can leave – europeans are already doing ns, chinese, indians, pakistanis, etc are queing to get onto Singapore shores…

the landscape of people and rulers has changed forever- and the effects – you see everyday in the likes of – callous “FT” MPs like LBW running the show, you see highly paid ministers tai-chi their responsibilities, you see beautifully crafted explanations in parliament about Temasek when all know that their real previous gains were mainly from value added from release of shareholdings from shares held in SIA, Keppel, DBS, etc,,not really performance related but sheer luck….

they is no compassion or grace nowadays. judging by the behaviour of the younger leaders being groomed…if you are not with them, you will sooner or later be perceived as a threat, and will be treated as an outcast….as scores of new citizen born elsewhere take their pledge here.

History is not repeating but what choices do good old citizens have ?

Animal Farm comes true....
Jun 1, 2009 12:45

We have proven to the world that the Animal Farm story is true.

tiredsingaporean
Jun 1, 2009 13:53

If we singaporeans still prefer to stay put and let those greedy elites to continue to do whatever they wish, be prepared to seal your own fate and hose of your childrens . . . . with $billions of taxpayers money being lost and still those responsible can still walk away without any accountability nor tranparency, what do you citizens think can possibly going to happen next, or in time to come? Do what is right for your country and for your future generation, and stop being taken into believing whatever’s been written on the shitty time and MSM, its all propaganda with many twisted facts, so stop dreaming and time to wake up to reality now.

We need Another LKY but from the Opposition
Jun 1, 2009 16:24

Can someone enlighten me:
Are current or past MPs from PAP or civil servants allowed to join Opposition Party to help beef up the talent pool in that camp?

If not, what happens IF in a scifi scenario where PAP lose in the next election?

With only 3 MPs from opposition having relevant experience, can they form a new govmern?

From national perspective is it not right for those experienced to help the new govmern? Is it true the PAP MPs in this scenario are not allowed to switch camp to continue to serve the nation with their experience ?

Could someone here clarify for me?

mucho gracias.

citizens as employers
Jun 1, 2009 17:15

to 6) “another LKY but from the opposition”

Not possible to have another LKY. S’pore is too small for 2 LKY.
The real one would have put the wanna be LKY out of business using the ISA.

Remember LKY started as the opposition and never had any previous experience running a country. But LKY had many capable men to help him.

Ask yourself whether PM Lee is the best, ditto for the other ministers.

Ask yourself whether S’pore will be better for many or only some S’poreans with this bunch of leaders.

Ask yourself whether this bunch of PAP leaders is of any use to the country in the event they become the opposition. One thing for sure, they will work hell of a lot harder for the citizens to regain their votes. This I hope will explain why it is important for citizens to make PAP the opposition.

Time for citizens to think like an employer and behave like one.

This should always be the mindset of all citizens when dealing with the PAP or any opposition party. Otherwise Lucky Tan will still be lamenting about our pathetic situation when he is old and grey.

Mucho Gracias to #7
Jun 1, 2009 18:32

In that case, can I suggest that we need another OTC or JBJ to come from Opposition camp?

Mucho Gracias

Haifey Loboz to #7
Jun 1, 2009 18:37

“Ask yourself whether this bunch of PAP leaders is of any use to the country in the event they become the opposition. ”

Well, I definitely find the calibre of LEE BW stunningly high.
I regard her as setting benchmark for politician Calibre.
There are many many others hovering at her level. But in order to show my sincere admiration for our leadership, I shall talk about these next time.

I wonder how many talents we have on the bench at her level?

hmmm……

Yamasam
Jun 1, 2009 21:58

Back in 1965, Singapore was forced to leave Malaysia because the PAP govt was advocating a Malaysian Malaysia.

So when Singapore become a sovereign country, one would expect a Singaporean Singapore. Maybe it was when it first started.

Today, does anyone feel it is a Singaporean Singapore ?

cpfisdead
Jun 1, 2009 22:42

[i]INCREASE in CPF minimum sum: when will Singaporeans ever see their hard-earned saving

——————————————————————————–

From The Newsroom Team

The CPF minimum sum has been INCREASED yet again to “adjust for inflation”. However, for some strange reasons, the Straits Times chose to omit the key word – “increased” in its report:

“From next month onwards, Central Provident Fund (CPF) members will see changes made to their Minimum Sum (MS), Medisave Minimum Sum (MMS), and Medisave Contribution Ceiling (MCC).

Starting July 1 this year, the CPF MS will be revised from $106,000 to $117,000. This will apply to members who turn 55 from July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2010.” (read article here)

The minimum sum is the amount of money needed to to be set aside in the Retirement account of Singaporeans after they reach 55 years of age before they can withdraw their CPF in one lump sum.

For example, if one has $118,000 in his/her CPF ordinary account, he/she can withdraw $1,000 in cash while leaving the minimum sum of $117,000 in the Retirement account.

In other words, if you do not have this amount in your CPF by the time you are 55, you will be at the complete mercy of the CPF Board to “dispense” your own savings to you monthly till the day you die.

To make it worse, if you are unable to set aside your full Minimum Sum in cash, your property, bought with your CPF savings, will be automatically pledged for up to half of your Minimum Sum. (details here)

How many Singaporeans can pledge this minimum sum to their retirement account by 55 years of age? It will be a interesting figure for us to find out.

The figures are computed based on the cost of living in Singapore. What if one decides to retire in China, Thailand or Malaysia? Can the sum be adjusted so as to free out more cash for retirees to enjoy their twilight years elsewhere?

The government has no business or right to withhold the savings of Singaporeans from them. These monies are not sitting idly in the CPF. Are they used by our Sovereign Wealth Funds in overseas investments, e.g. to bail out distressed foreign banks?

It seems like most Singaporeans will never be able to withdraw their CPF in one full sum unless they are filthy rich or they pack up their bags and live Singapore for good.[/i]

off course singapoor is world best
better than india or china
the government know how
to take care of you
and
YOUR cpf..
please worked till you dropped DEAD…

citizens as employers
Jun 1, 2009 22:57

to 8) Mucho Gracias,

What an excellent suggestion ! Another OTC or JBJ from the opposition.

JBJ has granted your wish, you now have Kenneth J.
As for another OTC, you have to convince Leong Sze Hian.

Both gentlemen will be of great service if put in place to audit our reserves, which belongs to all S’poreans. And they can do much more without further elaboration.

CPF Min Sum hike - Smells like more good years
Jun 1, 2009 23:14

singaporeans, the time has come
to say More Good Years

Ai Biah Jia Eh Ya

tiredsingaporean
Jun 1, 2009 23:19

11) cpfisdead on June 1st, 2009 10.42 pm
[i]INCREASE in CPF minimum sum: when will Singaporeans ever see their hard-earned saving

I have a strange feeling that there might not have any much leftover anymore in our reserve after losing so much $billions, they may not be able to pay off those many folks who are reaching 55 soon, so this may be just another trick to push away their responsibility to the people of singapore and then to implement more and more other taxes to balance their books in time to come.

BLUE-man
Jun 2, 2009 2:00

“Both gentlemen will be of great service if put in place to audit our reserves, which belongs to all S’poreans”
“when will Singaporeans ever see their hard-earned saving ”

Sometimes, I wonder if what people really care about is democracy? Or are they assuming democracy naturally buys what they really want? And will they get what they really want in the end?

GABRIEL
Jun 2, 2009 10:03

I say, you have got to start somewhere. Give the opposition a chance. See what happened in Malaysia – there was a major swing to the opposition. The electorate was unhappy and showed its displeasure.
The same can happen in Singapore. The power of social newtworking via the facility of the Internet cannot be underrated. It has given rise to the start of a lively debate via blogs, on the TOC for instance. No longer can be issues be swept under the carpet as was being done by the MSM, for whatever reason.
The more opposition voices we vote into Parliament, the more can issues be brought into open debate. Only good can come from this open forum. Stop worrying about accusations that we are a naive lot. Singaporeans have by and large matured into a thinking society.
So, be brave – give the opposition a chance. Things can only get better. Keep up the good work, TOC.

(o.O)
Jun 2, 2009 10:49

[i]INCREASE in CPF minimum sum..

sounds like a Madoff Scheme..

kongseeme
Jun 2, 2009 11:26

Imagine, if we were like some countries. Traffic jams because there are strikes and no one knows when will be the next strike. citizens carrying guns and making it unsafe. tension between different races and causing uncertainty. government does not care about its people as they are only worried about themselves. corruption is rife. public schools are in shambles. most of them drop out of schools becasue teachers have careless attitude and givernment not interested in giving priority to education so that its population can be educated.

why? becasue the government cannot sort itself out as the opposition parties trying to undo the other. parliamentary sittings are exciting as they have a go at each other.

very hsien
Jun 2, 2009 12:29

With interest payment of 2.5 % and 4 % for such a long-term non-withdrawable deposit, it is worse than a Madoff Scheme.

Muhd Khalis
Jun 2, 2009 12:51

Now is the time where the new generation of Singapore to remember that the path towards independence was started by true sincere and patriotic Singaporeans since the day British landed here on our island.

We may have achieved independence but all these decades,we have not been able to achieved a Democratic Society.

We are a Democratic State which have a democratic system in theory.
Yes we do have General Election and Presidential Elections.But what most people do not know is there are many restrictions and Law that made it difficult for a this democratic system to be functioning.

The main point is a Functioning Democracy.

For example.The conditions to even consider eligible to become a candidate to contest in a PE is really ridiculous.

For GE i am sure many would have known.GRCs, Political Donation Act,A Banned on Podcasting during GE.The list just goes on.

Singapore have been de-politicised.

9th August should not be known as National Day,instead it should be known as
Independence Day (Hari Merdeka)

I am a Malay but Chinese and Indians are all my Brothers and Sister.We are all one as Singaporean

21?
Jun 2, 2009 13:27

you know what? i find the analogy to colonialism very dramatic…

KopitiamApek
Jun 2, 2009 15:48

2) mice is nice on June 1st, 2009 3.16 am sometimes, some become the very “thing” they fought very hard against in the past?////

Read the Animal Farm? story same same.

what Animal Farm ?
Jun 2, 2009 16:25

“Read the Animal Farm? story same same.”

at least, it will be the animal’s turn or someone’s turn instead of staying concentrated with one same farmer. what animal farm ? you do have one big human farm in our vicinity. Please stick to your kopi farm.

ahtong
Jun 2, 2009 19:43

“Imagine, if we were like some countries. Traffic jams because there are strikes and no one knows when will be the next strike. citizens carrying guns and making it unsafe. tension between different races and causing uncertainty. government does not care about its people as they are only worried about themselves. corruption is rife. public schools are in shambles. most of them drop out of schools becasue teachers have careless attitude and givernment not interested in giving priority to education so that its population can be educated.”

Kongseeme, thank you for giving the examples of dysfunctional democracies. While I think that in the earlier stages of economic development, it might be good for more authoritiarian forms of government, this situation cannot go on forever. Singapore is the only country in the world (so far) that did not become more democratic following rapid economic development which transformed it to become a first world economy.

Ever wondered why the Government does not often refer to Singapore as a developed country, even though we already are by economic indicators? And why is Singapore not a member of the OECD, which most, if not all developed countries are a member of? And do you know that all OECD country are fully functioning democracies?

KopitiamApek
Jun 2, 2009 20:59

23) what Animal Farm ? ///. Please stick to your kopi farm.///

are such personal jibe necessary?

Triple Threat
Jun 2, 2009 21:31

Animal Farm, go read it. It’s a book that depicts similar social trends that are seen in Singapore today. It has been used as a Literature textbook for Lower Secondary students, luckily and fortunately.

Amusing to see how “Four Legs Good, Two Legs Bad” becomes “Four Legs Good, Two Legs BETTER!” in the end. So much for all the struggle and hardship to ride out oppressive leaders while the hero himself also turning to the alike in the end.

aiyoyo
Jun 2, 2009 21:48

aiyoyo

everything control, how huh?

cpf $ also kana control, how huh?

why own $ also kana control?

then elites make losses, commoners cpf cant take out how?

very tough (plus economy no good alamak)

aiyoyo

mice is nice
Jun 7, 2009 0:38

how?

work till drop dead loh.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook