Ng E-Jay / Current Affairs Desk
Half of Singapore’s population could consists of foreigners in 11 years time, if the government continues its current plan of attracting foreigners to feed its “growth-at-all-cost” economic model. This, couple with the low birth rate among locals, may result in unprecedented stress on our social fabric.
THE NATIONAL Population Secretariat announced on Wednesday that Singapore’s total population grew to 4.84 million in 2008, with the proportion of foreigners increasing to 25 percent.
Noting the challenges faced by families during the current downturn, the Secretariat reiterated the need to encourage marriage and parenthood, attract foreigners, and foster naturalisation and integration of new immigrants.
(Photo: Is it time for the government to stem the flood of foreign workers coming into the country? Courtesy of Wong Jun Hao / Creative Commons)
The challenges faced by Singapore in integrating foreigners into the local community is by no means unique, but the fact remains that the large influx of foreigners in recent years have the potential to cause many social problems. Foreigners have been blamed for depressing wages and making it harder for citizens to secure employment — factors that are exacerbated during an economic crisis.
Undercurrents of resentment against foreigners have also surfaced from time to time, the most recent example being the emotional uproar during the National Inter-School ‘A’ division badminton finals where one of the Junior Colleges fielded teams comprising mainly foreign students.
If the growth in the number of foreigners continues on its present trajectory, the proportion of foreigners in our midst will continue to grow every year, and might hit one-third of the total population when the Government achieves the target population of 6 million.
Assuming that there is no limit placed on population growth and policies remain the same, in slightly over a decade, foreigners could account for half our population. This would spell dire consequences for our social fabric and national identity.
Statistics paint a bleak picture
According to the statistics released by the National Population Secretariat from 2007 to 2008, the total population increased by 5.5% to 4.84 million. In 2008, foreigners accounted for 25% of the population, or around 1.21 million people. This means that Singaporeans and permanent residents numbered around 3.63 million in 2008.
It was also revealed that roughly 100,000 new citizens and PRs were added in the period 2007 to 2008. This implies that the number of Singapore citizens and PRs grew from 3.53 million to 3.63 million during this period — a growth rate of approximately 3%. By contrast, the number of foreigners (total population minus citizens minus PRs) grew from 1.06 million to 1.21 million in the same time interval — a growth rate of approximately 14%. The number of foreigners is increasing at a much faster rate than that of citizens and PRs.
If the respective rates of growth of both groups (citizens and PRs, versus foreigners) continue unchanged, Singapore’s total population will exceed 6 million in a mere 4 years. By the end of the 4 years however, the proportion of foreigners in our midst would have grown to roughly one third. Neglecting any limits of population size, if the increase in the number of foreigners continues to outstrip that of citizens and PRs by the same amount, then within 11 years, more than half the population would be foreigners.
In other words, if the current immigration policies of the Government are maintained indefinitely, we would in time become a nation of foreigners.
Social Integration
In April this year, a National Integration Council chaired by Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports, was established with the purpose of fostering social integration amongst existing Singaporeans and newly minted permanent residents and citizens.
Initiatives spearheaded by the Council include conducting outreach programmes for PRs and new citizens, and encouraging them to participate in grassrooots activities and take on leadership roles. Of course, from here, the new citizens and PRs would be just one step away from becoming politicized and inducted into the machinery of the ruling party.
Getting new residents to participate actively in community projects and events is a good way of exposing them to our way of life and a good chance for us to also to learn about their culture. But the social integration initiatives must go beyond merely encouraging the new residents to become active citizens.
The social impact of a sudden influx of a large number of foreigners to the local community must also be addressed. In light of the current recession, we also need to seriously rethink our economic strategies and examine whether they are sustainable over the long run.
If the Government is truly serious about promoting social integration and preserving social harmony, it must address its “growth-at-all-cost” model of economic management, as well as its pro-foreigner policies which are currently taken to the extreme.
What is needed is:
1) A more sustainable model of economic management that recognizes the long term limitations of our nation’s growth rate,
2) a more controlled rate of import of foreigners and more careful selection of the quality of foreign manpower we are importing,
3) a more comprehensive social safety net for the needy, elderly and sick,
4) independent labour unions that genuinely seek to protect the rights of Singaporean workers, and
5) a “Singaporeans first” policy that gives due recognition and assistance to National Servicemen who have had their studies and careers disrupted due to National Service, and policies to ensure they are not being discriminated against in the workplace.
Sins of the Past
The current population problems we are facing can be traced back to the disastrous “Stop at Two” policy that was introduced in the early 1970s. At that time, even some liberal NGOs like the Singapore Planned Parenthood Association (SPPA) were used by the Government to spread their “Two is Enough” propaganda, which unfortunately was bought wholesale by Singaporeans. When they tried to reverse the trend upon realising that it had been a mistake, the damage had already been done.
In order for a society to maintain itself socially and economically over the long haul, the required fertility rate is 2.11 children per family. A society will decline if its fertility rate is less than that.
Historically however, no society has reversed a fertility rate below 1.9. In Singapore’s case, where our fertility rate is a mere 1.3, the situation is practically intractible. That is why the Government is trying to welcome foreigners into Singapore, to artificially boost the falling birth rate. But the consequences for the social fabric of our nation can be deep and longlasting.
With contributions from Choo Zheng Xi, Leong Sze Hian, and Ravi Philemon.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

@149) Working & living in UK on June 24th, 2009 5.23 pm
TA is civilans turning soldiers for days/weeks each year — something like our Reservist. Yes, the Brits returned to it with pride. Prince Andrew (bro. of Pr. Charles) did heli in the Falklands; same concern about high priority target but mummy chewed the “little wise men”, and off goes her son to war! Prince Harry first appeared as Troop leader of Schmitars, meaning recon, meaning classy job but definitely very dangerous. So no-no for Iraq but reappeared as an FAC for Afghanistan — classy, precious, not so dangerous job — just right for a Prince. Compared to our White Horses, some can’t find their way out of jungle without pee-pee in their pants (oh, yeah, Tiger Balm in hand also), and someone holding their hands. Meritocratic society indeed!
Like said, back to subject. Years back, one FT told me that when he graduated in Canada, 3-4 EDB officers were at the graduation ceremony interviewing. Yes, we have also surpassed UK in being easy access for “talents”, no experience required. Wonder if that is happening at your husband’s Univ.
But we learned “the stiff upper lip” from the Brits. Those “mistakes” FT/FWs mentioned in 153) and 88), we sometimes re-enact their deeds in our “Crime Watch” TV series — and Voila! — they do help generate economic value! Good day to you, M’dm.
@135) to 142)
Guys, my take is that Singapore society has not “grown” naturally, meaning not just the Stop-at-2, Don’t-Stop-at-2 birth control policies.
Over the years, the cream of our population has been siphoned off as govt scholars. This is not to degrade the rest of the people. But this practise directly leave us with a lack of enterprenuers, private inventors, people that may succeed in a home-grown SME, people with brains and a die-die attitude, etc. The fact is, our esteemed A-team has been a let-down — like #140) Neuralitic Psychosis said, we are more adopters of tech than innovators. The top finanical honchos in TH are blowing billions of our cash away. Getting more FTs in for research etc. is really a waste (and a strain to us) because if the top mgt can’t squeeze something out of our local top brains, what make them think the FTs will be more motivated? Like the MSK saga, using very good soldiers (Gurkhas) as guards, yet a “bai-ka” can escape. WHERE is the fault?
Most of the B-team that had managed to succeed below the A-team had left us, or are planning to. Sure, the gahmen is now hoping that some of these can provide bridges to their newly adopted countries. No mind their prima donnas A-team are mainly sitting behind an air-con desk, CBL.
So, the focus now seem to be on the $800-$1200 jobs, the C-team, so to speak. First World and we are emboiled at C-level? Is this what we get for $1m paid ministers?
Sure, there are calls that most of us are whiners (D-team?). I believe these accusers are A-teamers sucking up to justify their lack of real contribution to the nation. Again, not to demean anyone, but I am sure most in this forum are really looking out for someone that can break the vicious cycle of mismanagement and bring us to a prime again. Sure wish we had an Obama — cheaper and better.
With regards to the increasing no of foreign professional working here, I do agree that the govt tend to increase the population at too fast a pace. Mayb they also worried that many locals have already migrated to other countries. There is a report stating that 180000 local either working or staying in other countries.
HK to introduce minimum wage
http://business.asiaone.com/Business/News/Office/Story/A1Story20090625-150742.html
Will this happen here?
here?
“maximum wage for the few, adequate (quite subjective lah) wage for the middle & as-long-as-got (any amount of) money at the bottom dun be choosey…”
156) Small Time Businessman on June 25th, 2009 12.49 pm
” HK to introduce minimum wage”
Oh no!!! NO!!!!
I am an employer, luckily no min wage in singapore ! yeah!!! pheeeewww!!
150) Eureka on June 24th, 2009 5.59 pm ,
a reality threat in future. i am very concern and worrisome about this for our kids generation in future.
why are FTs treated better than locals like me who have to do NS and then compete on the same level as them? Because LKY knows they have better brains than you.
now this sounds exactly like a father who treat his adopted son better than his natural son, what would u do if u r the real son?
In 20 years 2030, LKY would not be around to Social Engineered Singapore Populations!
Is it a Hell or Heaven in Singapore then! Let you Guess?
Is the World so willing to learn abt LKYism! Think China has already Ahead of us!
Singaporean Employees dare not Voice Up ( majority).
Singaporean Employers are luving it (no min wage).
This, to me, spells THE END.
Future. What kind of Future? Very rosey one is it?
Stop deluding ourselves that it is alright to have newly minted citizens leading us and everything will be alright. There is an outright difference between a born and bred here Singaporean and a foreigner taking an oath and a giftpack back to his house. By putting these people who were born and bred elsewhere is going to open up a great social divide in time to come, including but not limited to the very survival of the political party who open up this channel for them in the first place.
On record there is only 25% foreigners here now, but one does not need to look far to see that at ground level it is more like 90%. On any day taking an MRT ride, I can see the whole row of seats being taken up by foreigners. In one particular instance that is etched in my mind, I recall two Blangadeshis seated on my left where I am standing, then one who looked like a local lady, followed by two taiwanese ladies, from their accent and then two Indonesians and on the right two seats were occupied by Chinese Nationals who were necking away in public.
Either the locals were all at home, conserving energy or the statistics are not accurate.
If the government has listen to advise and take the route of the Nordic countries, we would have never been in this situation.
Just to share this experience with all of you. We were at Mustafa’s last Saturday night and it was packed. My wife noticed this and not once but many times.
As she walked past, of course being packed, you have to touch ,but the arms of the other person moved closer and lifted up slightly to touch her tighter and rub her arms or body longer than usual! No guessing which race did this!!!
It was amusing but at the same time don’t know what to say! Don’t knkow if they are visitors or working here. This was related by another brother , until we saw it for ourselves last Saturday.
#163 Raibina
I wonder why is your future in minimum wage. Say hypothetically the Government sets the minimum wage to $1000/- tomorrow.
(1) It does not directly benefit those earning more than $1000 monthly.
(2) As for those earning less than $1000/-, legally their pay will be raise to $1000. Business costs will go up and this higher costs go back to the consumers like you and I.
(3) Worst of all, without a control on new immigrants; the “FTs” who are taking away those locals’ jobs below $1000 will benefit because their pay will be raised to the minimum wage. Singaporeans are still on the losing end.
I do agree with you that the future in Singapore does not look very rosey. Our housing prices and other costs of living have have grown beyond what our average household income levels can sustain. I do not believe that the solution lies in minimum wage but in policies that can lower our costs of living and housing and creating jobs for sporeans.
“Business costs will go up and this higher costs go back to the consumers like you and I.”
Pay is only one component of business cost. Maybe other cost like petrol, ERP, office rental, shop rental should come down.
” I do not believe that the solution lies in minimum wage but in policies that can lower our costs of living and housing and creating jobs for sporeans.”
So you have some ideas here. What do you propose then?
This Foreigner Talents Policy is implemented for the mistake made 30 yrs ago that going to cause our extinction!
Remember 2 childrens under umberalla eating Apple!
We don’t blame FTs, they have the right to earn a Living as well as us Singaporean!
Singapore govt is pro-employer, anti-employee. They rather throw $$$ to investment than help the needy people.
Hi all,
I am a THIRD generation Singaporean, or Singaporean Bumiputra. My grandmother was born in Singapore, before SINGAPORE was born. My loyalty for Singapore cannot be doubted, I NEVER regard myself as Chinese national, unlike many of Singaporean elderly, who deep down their hearts, still treat themself as China man, though they have lived in Singapore for decades.
For the past 10 years, I find it more and more meaningless to call myself “Singaporean”, or Singapore my country my home. I am so pissed off, after that “imported Singaporean” women who won us sliver medal in Olympics, made that statement that ” As a BEIJINER, I am glad…..” it shoke me up that these IMPORTED Singaporeans are going to be like our elderly, deep down their hearts, there is a word “CHINA” imprinted so deep that it can never be erased. I do not blame them though, they are only being partriotic to the land where they are born.
After 2 generations of building that patriotism in my generations, the government is now eroding them away. Now, I preferred to call Singapore, Singapore, my most preferred HOTEL. I am an orphan now, as I need to look for a new home to stay, which I could comfortably retire. Why, cos we are treated as liabilities to Singapore, I know they will “kick” me out when I reach 50, when I can no longer work for them.
So, the bumiputra policy in Malaysia is not bad, at least they protect their own kind. Do we?
Without ‘Bumi-ism’, there will be no nationhood to talk about.
Filial piety is to our parents.
Loyalty(patriotism) is to a nation.
No nation, no loyalty.
Do we have a nation ???
patriot
#167) Mr Smalltime Busness Man
Labour costs forms 50% or more of business costs, rental forms 5%, utilities 15% and transport 15% (glance of some EDB figures on Manufacturing sector). Yes all costs has to drop.
I do not have the answers to our economic woes but I have some opinions. The equity bubble seen in the last few years was not created by wages keeping pace with productivity (the healthy formula for growth) but by the expansion of personal debt. Housing prices have sky rocketed after the annoucements of the building of Casinos in Singapore; nobody seems to mind the fact the Casinos were a desperate measure to fill the gap in GDP left behind by the dwindling Manufacturing sector. New HDB prices in Toa Payoh Peak can fetch up to $755k sums up how bad the situation is. Public housing has increased to unaffordable levels for ordinary Singaporeans.
In my opinion, Wages and Housing prices in Singapore need to see a major Correction. Government should take the lead to reduce Civil service costs. We should tag the PM’s pay to twice that of the highest paid leader of a democratic government. We should reduce defence budget. With the reduced Civil service costs, we can afford to reduce GST, ERP and Petrol taxes. Curtail personal credit by prudent monetary policy at MAS. If you cannot borrow 8 – 10 times your annual salary to buy a house, a healthy figure will be 3-5 times annual income; housing prices will be corrected.
Control the supply and quality of “FTs”. If the demand for service staffs exceeds the local plus limited FT supply, salaries will be higher because of market forces. If this is done in line with the productivity figure, the growth in salary can be sustainable. Minimum wage without control on the supply of FTs, will not benefit anyone.
Lastly, Improve taxation to distribute wealth more evenly.
@171) patriot on June 26th, 2009 10.39 am
Well, do we have a nation that cares for its own? Again, the question of value of NS to those that had served is never answered herein.
As I posed another #21) the following:
“….PS. Very patroitic nomer ‘I Love Singapore” ? If a shooting war breaks out, will you be statistically/determistically be the third person to be KIA in an operation? Simple YES/NO, pls…”
U care to answer this? Maybe u can be the first KIA…. be sure to shout “Majulah Singapore” with your last breath!
Headlines: Future Singaporeans beacoming a nation of Cheat and Liars
Yesterday The Straits Times reported that a Foreign Talent attempted to cheat and liar his way to obtain his PR. In his plead not to impose jail term on him, he highlighted his successful business in Singapore which made him $1 million dollars and employs some 150 Singaporeans whose livelihoods are at stake if his business is to wind up. In addition, the exisitng public sector projects currently undertaken by his company will also be affected.
I welcome such Foreign Talent, because he is not only capable of holding Singaporean workers at ransom, but the Government of Singapore too.
When he sets up his next business enterprise, he can just change his name and education qualifications. Maybe he will get lucky the next time and achieve his dreams of making more money, getting his PR and suckering more hardworking Singaporeans.
#174,
there are more to it. lot of chinese set up company and compete with prices like nobody business. it is crazy situation in the construction industry in singapore at the moment. what would happen when construction industry is down after the 2 casino projects? you wont be surprised that PR or no PR, when they are facing financial problem instead of what this chap claimed now could be the opposition. that is he is nowhere to be found.
@166 Sotongball wrote “Our housing prices and other costs of living have have grown beyond what our average household income levels can sustain. ”
///////\\\\\\\\
agree with above but still disagree with your view on no need for min wage and that min wage is BAD. Commonsense says that the lowest waged singaporeans are suffering on an UNLEVEL PLAYING FIELD with FWs.
I hope you do not mistaken FW with FTs and min wage with high wage.
Min wage will not incurr higher business cost by much IF you know how to do it well. What your concern is about is the negative side of the coin. Why not think about the other side of the coin?
Min wage is more to protect and fight for decent salary for singaporeans. Yes, singaporoeans who live in what you said, a very expensive and will be getting EVEN MORE Expensive soon.
Min wage can :
1. improve worker productivity as decent salary satisfies the Maslow Hierarchy’s base levels.
2. improve worker morale.
3. prevents Employers, including Singapore citizen Employers from exploiting lowest waged singaproeans using FW to push down their salaries. note min wage is for Lowest wage singaporeans. LOWEST. say it again. As the name implies, its the lowest salary to be changed and this will not drastically cause business costs to increase. Yes, it may increase a bit. But this CAN BE offset by the increase in productivity, performance expectation etc. Yes, workers may need to perform a bit better but that is better than getting a depressed wage.
4. your point is not valid as you only focus on the negative side. I presented BOTH the negative (increase business cost, affect all wage levels [which is not true or need not be true]) as well as the positive (morale, productivity and many others i have not included) sides of what min wage can offer.
Min Wage is to set a lowest level limit to wages to protect SINGAPOREAN workers living in a high cost very pro-business policy (not disagree entirely) environment. Being pro business need not mean lowest wages.
So, you rely on the Unions to fight for them?
PEACE
#176,
agree totally…
Minimum Wage is only meaningful if costs of living is not raise in tandem.
It would defeat the purpose of setting minimum wage if costs of consumables and services are raised. We are very awared that hikes have been made due to high rentals, high transportation charges and yes (high?) wages have always been cited as a reason for increases in costs of living.
It will be preferable for lowering of costs of goods and services than having higher wages. Dare I say that raising the wages for the low incomes will not make them affordable for the increases in the costs of their public housing and almost every essential(basic) consumption. And the relentless increases in goods and services are hardly justified or justifiable, they are artificially manipulated.
patriot
#154 Edward
LKY can think what he wants….as for me I upgraded myself from a heartlander to a foreign talent am working overseas. So much for foreigners being smarter.
Why?
Because since a some years back, i already have worked in companies (huge MNCs) whose IT department consists of people from another land where being a citizen , a local, is like a stranger in a ‘foreign’ land.
So, i mean, the article title should be
“A nation full of foreigners ALREADY – no need wait for 11 years.”
injoy more good good.
Any min. wage criteria should not be arbitrarily set. Its main purposes are (a) to prevent exploitation of employees, e.g. forcing Sporeans to accept wages that third world workers are OK with, and (b) as fair compensation relative to the standard of living of a society, e.g. can pay for a roof over head, 3 decent meals a day, send kids to school, have a TV (license cost), pay CFP, etc…. If costs of living in Spore goes up, so be it, as long as the min. wages also go up proportionally.
On (b): Unfortunately, one of our highest cost is housing, and everyone knows HDB prices are rather “artificially” high. This mechanism locks people in to work like hell in their prime (like till 62 now?) in order to secure a basic necessity of life, thereby generating fat taxes & GST for TH/GIC to gamble on investments.
On (a): According to an ex-NTUC person in another forum/topic, the lack of min. wage is deliberate policy– to attract FI (foreign investments). I can see this means labor cost, a main component in any operation, must be left to discretion of the MNCs, with blessings by our Triparitie gimmick (recall DBS amongst first to retrench without much courtesy to the other 2 parties). If MNCs pull out, then no GDP! Employment (FT or Sporeans) is secondary, wage levels is tertiary, citizens’ opinions is quadratic, and consideration for NS done is shit!
So, the conclusion is that we can talk ‘until cow comes home’ on pros and cons of a min.wage system, but the fact is we are wasting our time. It just ain’t, ever, to happen here.
“New HDB prices in Toa Payoh Peak can fetch up to $755k..” – SotongBall @72
- With this money (based on nominal exch rate), you can buy a freehold 4-bed detached house with a beautiful garden in the UK (not in central London, but in many other good places/towns outside of London). It shows how much HDB prices are blown out of proportion. The cost of building a house in the UK is very high because there are very stringent building standards to adhere to, so we are comparing to good qualtiy landed properties which need deep foundations. As for the other things that come with living in the place, Spore has no leisure outlets, good quality fresh meat, veges & fruit, and not much in place to protect the welfare of workers & residents. In short, they suck money out of Sporeans for as long they can do so.
“Improve taxation to distribute wealth more evenly.” – SontongBall@72
- This taxation issue really need a big article written on it. I suggest TOC do it. Many Sporeans actually believe that tax by any other name is not tax. Eg:
- All mothers who work and employ maids are paying tax called maid’s levy.
- All the people who eat at hawker centres or food courts are paying tax through rental.
- These are the two worst forms of tax because rich or poor, you pay the same tax! Whether you are a bank director or a factory operator, you pay the same maid’s levy. Wheter you are very poor or you are a student (not earning anything) or you are a child, you still pay $1 in rental for a bowl of noodle (min 100 bowls a day yields $3000 per month, about right for rental charge, depends on location of course). If you earn more, you also pay only $1 rental for the same bowl of noodle.
- I am sure there are many other stealth taxes to add. Will TOC pls do an article on this.
Well, already happened in certain workplace. The foreigners dominated as the majority. In my previous workplace, only 2 out of 10 person were singaporean.
with a large influx of foreigners (PRs, FTs, FWs, students) in our midst, what is the likelihood of social intergration?
possible barriers to a successful social intergration:
1) langauge,
2) lifestyle differences,
3) xenophobia,
4) personal bias,
5) cultural differences,
6) unwillingness to venture outside 1 comfort zone?,
7) fear (on part of foreigners) of rejection, point 3 & 4, true to certain extent .
did i miss out any?
even for locals, there are some who prefer to socialise within a their own “inner circle” of cliques, be it in school or at work. with the rapid pace which foreigners from any given country, its little surprise if they prefer to stick with their own kind than take risks intergrating socially.
i do not have any hard facts to back them up, anyone fell free to disagree, if so do share your points as well. thanks. ;)
“According to the model shown in nearly all introductory textbooks on economics, increasing the minimum wage decreases the employment of minimum-wage workers. One such textbook says:
“If a higher minimum wage increases the wage rates of unskilled workers above the level that would be established by market forces, the quantity of unskilled workers employed will fall. The minimum wage will price the services of the least productive (and therefore lowest-wage) workers out of the market. … ”
This excerpt from Wiki sums up my concerns about minimum wage if the supply of “FTs” or FWs are not controlled. Will least productive Singaporeans be priced out of the market? I think so.
Just like there is No Minimum Wage for Singapore, there should not have Maximum Wage for the top according to law of economic.
Compare Orange to Orange! Is Singapore better than Taiwan or Korea with competitive democracy in area of economy?
Judge for Yourself!
In future!Maybe well qualified FTs will rule over us when law of large volume come in!
That day will come!
Change in the only constant !
I Think CHINA PEOPLE are the pest of singapore society. Many Singapore woman are divorcing their husband because they have affairs with China ladies who goes into sweet-talking which many man are suckers for that!!!!!! This is already effecting the singapore population, so HOW to promote originally singaporean babies????? They may make use of the guys for PRs, making babies & then disappear. Doesn’t that sounds familiar????? They are out to cheat for Money, then they will proceed to other countries like USA. Singapore is just a stepping stone for them.
The China Ladies on pretext of coming to singapore is to work as prostitutes, Massage parlours – “so called Hair & Beauty Salon” earning as much as they can. They can even seduce the guys in public shamelessly. They are fooling the government sectors on visiting visa or studying visa.
I would say too much of them are in singapore. Ist question comes to my mind : IS SINGAPORE BECOMING CHINA???? Just because they are chinese??? Government wants to have more chinese babies????
We are talking about the growing (Birth) population for singapore, NOT THE EMPLOYMENT OF CHINA INTO SINGAPORE
Indonesia, philippines come to singapore to work as maid. Can the China ladies do that for a scratch?????
Talking so much about the foreigners in singapore, i forgot to include NEPALESE Gurkhas. After 15 years of service, Singapore Government should consider to allow singles or married nepalese gurkhas to have PR to start a new life in singapore with the family rather than deported back to nepal after service. I THINK ITS NOT FAIR!!!! Gurkhas can work in Singapore Police Force as they had worked together before, isn’t??? They can be talents too with good, friendly characters.
If Government can allow china, indonesia or philipines to work & stay & have PRs, WHY nepalese gurkhas are not allowed???
Curiousity is killing me, Please!!! Good guys out there, Please help me
Thank You!
“They are fooling the government sectors on visiting visa or studying visa.”
- Wrong! The gahmen is fooling the public that they allow them in only on visiting visa or study visa, that they have strict restriction policy in place. There really are some (like one KopitiamApek kind) who will buy this excuse from gahmen. Their aim is to get as many to come and spend in Spore as possible. All who reside here are ‘their customers’ paying GST, levies, charges, utility bills, telephone bills, and NTUC bills (all gahmen owned right?) Do the normal citizens get anything out of this? Only Tan Koo Koo.
To highlight how FT/FWs are changing our social fabric, another MURDER yesterday, in Queenway. Suspect = Chinese import. Victim = Chinese imported (PR already, lah). Better add another lock to my door.
181) theforgottongeneration on June 26th, 2009 5.30 pm
“Any min. wage criteria should not be arbitrarily set. Its main purposes are (a) to prevent exploitation of employees, e.g. forcing Sporeans to accept wages that third world workers…”
Of course. A Min Wage should exist for EACH type of job. To simplify and make it easier to implement, there could be 3 categories of min wage for different industries or types of jobs. eg. $990 , $1300 & $ 1800. No singaporean should work for less.
This is to protect them from brutal market forces where 3rd world fw come to increase / ensure profit of employers including true blue singaporean bosses .
nothing against fw. If I am a boss, i thank them for their cheaperability. by this, i do not mean cheap where ‘cheaper’ is a comparative term. eg. $1mil salary may be cheaper than a salary of $1.5mil.
There IS already Min Wage set for CEO’s like for a certain INC or company, the CEO or similar level top senior management are getting a Min Wage of $1 million per month. If they get paid lesser by 1 cent, they may cry ‘peanuts!’
Is time to drastically increase taxes on all Malaysian working in Singapore yet choosing to stay in Malaysia.
Is time to drastically increase taxes on all immigrants who rob Singaporean of their jobs.
Is time to fight, the Monarchy has created for the immigrants and getting
Singaporean to fight among themselves so to lose focus of the entire
picture.
We are living day and nite worrying and the Monarchy is dancing and partying
like nobody businesses.
Now (2009) 4.84 million. Of which 3.63 are Singaporean & PR.
JUST HOW MANY OF THE 3.63 MILLIONS ARE FOREIGNERS/EMPLOYMENT PASS HOLDERS QUICKLY BECOMING SINGAPOREANs & PRs IN THE LAST 10 YEARS.
MANY MANY.
So the actual long term and born-in -Singaporeans are much lesser than the 3.63 million.
you can’t handle the truth….truth is that Singapore is not a country but a HOTEL and you Singaporean doing NS military duty is all for nothing and you guys get paid even lower that foreign workers! My foreign friends will never come here if they have to do some form NS even in non-combat roles and that is the truth.
ahahah the main reason why singaporeans cant/ don’t want to have children is because of the life they are enduring. if they are suffering so much from these FTs, they started thinking how terrible it could be in the future.( mind you, the countries where the FTs come from, they got no other past times than make children, thats why their population more than 1 billion).
Absolutely bullshit… Sg would be better if we are taking on QUALIFIED migrants but its not the case… How many “educated” PRCs do you see living here? Basically any Tom Dick & Harry can now becomes a PR if they raise their hands…
196) FedUp on June 30th, 2009 11.30 am ,
yes, you are right! i personally witnessed one indian worker who happened to be a S pass holder after working few years. he applied personally for PR and got it. for what i know, he is not up to the standard of we would expected as FTs in singapore.
imagine that!!
Can all of us gather some strength and let our voices be heard rather than sit and wait for Singapore to be colonised by foreigners once again?
@198) Homeless on June 30th, 2009 5.31 pm
What do you have in mind, serious? Given the past and present policies of the gahmen? Basically, babies can’t be made overnight, it takes 18+ years to produce an employable person and we seem desperate to hit the 6 millions figure, by hook or by crook. In other words, we are screwed!
@199) theforgottongeneration on June 30th, 2009 5.55 pm
1) We should at least let the gahmen understand the Singaporean’s opinions and feelings about the FT policy. We are not restricting or against the FT policy as we know that it is somewhat beneficial to the survival of Singapore in the long run, however the rate of population increase at the expenses of interest of Singaporeans should be seriously taken into consideration.
2) Gahmen should impose more tax on companies who are employing foreign workers since these companies are complaining that the main reason why they employ foreigners is mainly due to the lack of Singaporean workers. Hence, to deter companies from exploiting cheap labours and causing job losses to Singaporeans, foreign worker levies should increase to match basic salary of employing a Singaporean worker.
3) Currently, any foreigners are being taken as an FT, be it the China lady cleaner or Malaysian sales lady. To appease true Singaporean mindset and prevent further hostilities towards FT, the Gahmen should increase the welfare of true Singaporeans.
4) Increase the hurdle to transfer from a PR status to a Singaporean citizenship. Gahmen should take into account the period of stay of a PR in Singapore, and strictly ensure that the new citizens do really give up their original citizenships before granting Singapore citizenships. I do know of many new citizens who still possess their original citizenships. This is very unfair to Singaporeans who has to adher to the law.
5) Free education for Singaporeans who are born and bred in Singapore up to Tertiary level. I believe this policy will also boost birthrate as parents have one big burden off. We should learn from Australians in this case.
6) Increase the barrier of entry and accept only true FT with creditable education. If gahmen allows any foreigners with any degree or diploma from any University from any country, it will erode the overall education level for the locals who went through the Singaporean education with blood and sweat. Is it fair to local Uni & poly students if Gahmen opens it’s big door to accept any so called FT with disreputable institutes.
@200) Homeless on June 30th, 2009 6.32 pm
There are lots of good views posted here, quite a lot echoing what you are saying. Basically, you should take a broader perspective of our policies over the years — they are geared toward pro-growth and NOT pro-citizens. My own views to your proposals:
1) The gahmen knows how Sporeans gonna feel about it, and … basically F*** care! It is widely known that they screwed up with the 2-is-enough policy years back, now the effects are here to haunt us. The gahmen definitely doesn’t apologises for past mistakes, they just expects us to “move on”. Target = 6 million people & fast. Period.
2) Why kill off companies by increasing their cost of operation? Basically if coys die, no GDP/taxes! The excuse of lack of Sporeans is a fallacy. See postings #110, #116, #181, etc.. on min. wage issue, etc…
3) Why should they appease you & me? You hostile toward FT is your problem. You probably wouldn’t get to vote in elections, yet they return to parliament. In truth, Sporeans’ welfare already sold out. You think the billions given to GIC/TH cannot be used to increase our welfare? TH lost ~$60 BILLIONS in 6 months! THey still cannot explain why so much used in investments! On 11 June, our health minister announced $25m was used to build 3 new nursing homes. Big deal! If TH’s $60b losses were used for our infrastructure, 7200 nursing homes can be built! And U wonder why he tells us to go to Johor to retire. U know how many babies can be generated if that $60b was given to Sporeans as maternity leave buy-out, baby bonuses, pro-family incentives, etc…?
4) See (1) above –> target 6 million people. Period. Unfair? Sporeans males who served 2.5yrs & 10+ yrs reservist are made to compete with these FT/Fw’s. Probably 600,000′s gone thru NS, but 1.6m foreigners here now — 6 mths, PR already. U think the gahmen is “fair”?
5) MOney is channeled to TH/GIC to gamble on investments, none left for trivials like “free education for Sporeans”. Besides, we are not a welfare society.
6) First, differentiate a FT and a FW. Again, target = 6 millions. Short-cut = import even low-grade materials. You don’t need real or fake paper qualification to generate GDP!
So, pal, the issue is not so much as thinking up rational solutions but to reclaim your rights as a citizen to influence national policies. Again, pls think! For the sake of our future generations.
“So, pal, the issue is not so much as thinking up rational solutions but to reclaim your rights as a citizen to influence national policies. Again, pls think! For the sake of our future generations.”
#201 – theforgottongeneration. Well said. Singaporeans need to “wake up” and “realise” their social-political responsibility. The current regime has “failed” quite spectacularly; and hopefully, no more “blank” cheque to any future government managing the country in the next GE.
PS: Please stop asking for perceived “quality” opposition candidate, you won’t “see or hear” one till the level of competition between the political parties are at the same level. And I am finding even SDP becomes “attractive” by the day when the economic “worsen”.
201) theforgottongeneration on June 30th, 2009 11.48 pm
“reclaim your rights as a citizen to influence national policies” ==> What do you suggest then?
203) Homeless
Vote out the “useless” MP ( if you happen to have the chance to “vote”) for a start. “Balance” the distribution of power in the political arena. Send in the message that the “people” don’t want “yes” man.