At the ST, we value constructive criticism. It drives us to keep getting better. Sometimes, though, all we ask for is fair shake.
Carl Skadian, in response to accusations against the Straits Times about unbalanced coverage.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Not that the ST always gives everyone a fair shake. Ironically.
what they need is a mirror..to take a hard look at how long their nose has grown!
What has ST to say about the reports by foreign press agencies or newsmedia about singapore news that is either reported later or not reported ?
We must trust him lah. He sure unbiased and tell the truth wan.
So, you see my dilemma?
From that MSM article: “The truth of the matter is that we knew about this particular case, but decided it wasn’t worth running because it involved a small group of workers not being paid. It’s not quite what the headline on the foreign news agency report which led to the blogger’s accusation – “Casino’s builders strike over pay” – made it out to be.”
So, now we know they can have such excuses or some call it reasons for not publishing an article.
like this win already lor.
“Straits Times is an objective, unbiased newspaper which provides an independent analysis of news.” …. Yeah right!!
The problem here is that ST has acquired a stigma of being slanted and biased and often being pro-govt so that in those rare instances where they were truthful and honest in their reporting or lack of it, it still doesnt come off well. The remedy is for ST to cast off its stigma by casting off the subservient yoke of the govt by speaking out and defending citizens’ legitimate causes in a bolder and more balanced manner.
Let’s hope this is the beginning of liberalisation of local MSM in Singapore.
ST, start by giving a fair shake to the likes of SDP, Josie Lau & friends, the majority of S’poreans who are not hip GLBT.
aiyoyo
maybe now need to go to cnn news or yahoo news liao…
aiyoyo
Constructive criticism? All I read in the ST now are about personal columns by young “journalists”, food review, whinny spinsters, new parents. It is as if S’poreans have not been through these passage of time, bo liao stuff.. I can read all these stuff on blogs etc for free. The serious stuff are all reproduced from foreign publications. In comparison to the South China Morning Post, it is worlds apart. I do not want to criticise the ST, I just want to challenge them to make my 80cts worth every day. Go ahead, make my day.
Value constructive criticism ?! Oh please, I almost choked on my chee cheong fan! I can get more insightful and unbiased reports from CNN.com ANYTIME !
If S.T. values constructive criticism, it’s ranking would not be 154th for umpteen years and the likes of Chua L H and company would have been replaced with independent minds.
It is absolutely laughable when I hear hypocrites asking for a fair shake.
It reminds me of the many PAP hypocrites who failed to speak up for citizens.
I will wager these same PAP hypocrites will ask the public for a fair shake when they campaign at the next GE, provided of course there are no walkovers.
At the ST, we value constructive criticism (up to the point it threatens our jobs). It drives us to keep getting better (up to the point it helps us keep our jobs). Sometimes, though, all we ask for is fair shake (so that we can keep our jobs).
Why don’t you just shake me instead? Disgusted. You guys don’t even qualify to be a bookmark on my browser.
With all due respect to the journalists and reporters, I am certain they are repeatedly sanctioned by the chief editor who is in turn controlled by the OLD MAN. All it takes is just a phone call from the OLD MAN or for him to spray his famous libel/defamation suits, and those who reports on anything that remotely hints at the cabal mal-practices will immediately loose their jobs.
Other than the weekend whiny spinster reporter and the suspisciously gay metrosexual reporter, all the rest who has any single journalism integrity left in them should seriously seek a better job elsewhere.
Carl,
TH investment news reported by so many internation press agencies and websites.
You find it got any news worthiness or not?
Who determines news worthiness?
Do Reply. If you are able.
Haha.. after how you retracted JBJ’s win on Anson on the front page in the 80s, after what you did with the Marxist Conspiracy, after calling Chee Soon Juan a psychopath – you expect a fair shake?
Come on ST, you were never fair to the local opposition and have constantly shown yourself to be nothing more than a mouthpiece of the PAP. While the international press screams of our alarming losses and coming pitfalls you still scream: “GO SINGAPORE YES ITS GREAT WOW LETS HAVE FUN IN SINGAPORE! WHOO! THANK THE PAP FOR OUR 50 YEARS OF AUTHORITARIAN RULE! WHOO HOO!”
Straits Times, maybe you should rename yourselves as States Times. At least then you’d be a bit more honest :)
Even Chinese newspaper in China are more liberal than ST!!
It is no wonder that many friends todl me that they don’t read ST they prefer NY Times or even The Star!
For me, I read ST more for the current happenings rather than believing in their stories especially those that upturn the downturn.
People are not stupid and running the press as if we are in out 1990s just doesnt work anymore…wee are logical enough to decide on our own and the govt should have nothing to fear against adverse reporting if they govern well.
A free press not only benefit the people but also allow them to have alternative views about issues.
Right now, we are solely dependent on the govt for information and even jobs!
In the long run, if they cant deliver, Singapore will be pissed…
“maybe you should rename yourselves as States Times”
Or better still, it will have more credibility and integrity if it is renamed as PAP Times so that everyday understand clearly that it is partisan newspaper.
While your article gets published by the MSM and endorsed or approved by your editor, I do not regard this as a convincing discussion on the issue.
Not convincing because it is primarily 1-way communication – only what You say / think is published. It would be better if you come out and have a live debate with Readers.
1 question Begging to be asked or debated with you:
1. What is your explanation for the TH investment news published by so many international press when at that time, ST or any MSM did not report the same?
Likewise for ALL similar other articles either published later or much later if not unreported, if any.
Come on, reply.
17) Gilbert Goh on June 15th, 2009 1.50 pm
“Even Chinese newspaper in China are more liberal than ST!!”
Well, as long as this lot of majority comfort-zone singaporeans intellectuals accept the status quo……..there is nothing we can do but wait for the Event of the Millenia for singapore. When that happens…….hhhmmmmmhhahaahahahahaaaAA!!!!!!!
As long as the ST remains the same, nothing will change, as long as the ruling party continues to hold its power in office, nothing will change, infact it can only get worst, can’t imagine the damage level would be like in the near future with these bunch of useless MPs.
Chair of SPH is Tony Tan anyway.. things won’t change lah..
I stopped buying that SPH compost years ago and have never regretted it. One of the best decisions I’ve ever made. At first, it was a little uncomfortable not finding the decaying trash at my gate in the mornings.
But now, what joy it is to know that I am not contributing a single cent to the pay packages of sterile cuckoos like Sumiko and the Sisters Chua. Having seen the light, I encourage all persons of goodwill to jump on board the wagon. Stop wasting hard to come by money on drivel.
Alternatively, read Today Online. To use an Animal Farm like mantra, “Download the Upload!” It’s free. Still Today Online can be no substitute for the excellent news articles that can be had from Google News, Reuters, Bloomberg and the BBC. They give diverse points of view over an issue or event.
Always remember to hit and hurt SPH in the pockets where it matters most. I must give credit to the state for this brilliant idea. Twenty years ago, the state allowed (note: in an aspiring Orwellian state “allowed” can also be equated with “coerced” since all state offers are not meant to be refused) an obscure NTUC affiliated union to photostat and sell pirated copies of the Far Eastern Economic Review after putting the original publication on the restricted circulation list. Every advertisement in the xeroxed version had to be airbrushed out before the copies could be sold, a monumental effort on the part of the pirate typesetters.
To save money in this recession, I do not buy the news and borrow at times only, when possible. In fact, i stopped buying it since the last 2 E…… to save money lah ;) ;) ;)
So, I like to check if the MSM has published the TH losses as reported by the internation press communities already? Hope someone who Buys the news can let me know.
In addition , although there is a comment section online, the MSM is basically 1-way communication in that comments can be deleted and the hard copy news does not allow instant feedback. only when and if your comment letters are allowed to be published. And that is some days later, at least, IF allowed to be published.
The issue is not about constructive criticism. It’s about what you do with them. Use them to improve? or continue to cast them aside?
fair shake ? tsk tsk , this is reserved for deserving people only !!!!
I stopped buying ST years ago.No regrets.Just count the number of pages dedicated to handphone sales.The rest is some propaganda by young journalists not even reflecting the true situation.Bloody predictable and boring.
I think, RECONSTRUCTIVE criticism is more likely a better term to describe what they need….
And personally, I stopped buying ST papers since the Internet was available in 1st Workd Singapore..
BTW, I’ve stopped buying ST a long time ago too and I know many have done so as well.
Charles Chong said something memorable today. Can TOC have this for discussion?
Talking about this MSM, I stopped buying it already. I think it is not illegal activity right? kekekeke. I am already broke and jobless. I am only borrowing it from library to look for job using the saturaday price-hiked edition.
I want to say for the price hikes. Already so many price hikes.
sunday news, also very few pages compared to saturdays.
Why pay and pay when important news are being discussed on the net with unadulterated views and opinions offered for free and instant gratification ?
I mean , convince me if you can to pay and pay. I borrow ok.
Today, I read it from the newstand. for free. someone was flipping thru it and i just stand behind. kekekeke
ST should always operate in the manner of transparence, fair and impartiality, for upholding a balanced coverage of news reports whether it is about the ruling or an opposition party.