Monday, June 29, 2009 0:26

Children using violence on their parents

In Main Stories • 1,394 views • 41 Comments

The following is from the Straits Times. Have you come across similar instances? What are your views on children using violence on their parents? Is this a new phenomena? What do you think can be done? Share your views here or, if you have specific instances or stories, email us at theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

ANNOYED that his mother was nagging at his young niece for refusing a bowl of hot porridge, Hong Kia Cheng, 47, threw a wooden dining chair at the 67-year-old woman.

Another man, Koh Kim Swee, 22, was so frustrated by his mother’s nagging that he whacked her on the head with a hammer in their Jurong East flat.

Then there was Tan Su Ann, 39, who also took a hammer to her 79-year-old father after he tried to stop her from shouting at their maid.

1. Parents suing their children?
  2. Domestic violence, whether mild or severe, is not acceptable
  3. Catherine Lim’s letter to parents on CSE programme
  4. No place for political violence in Singapore
  5. Parents should not abdicate their responsibility to kids

41 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

purr
Jun 29, 2009 0:29

i believe theres a grammatical error in your blurb thingy under ‘main stories’.

-shakes head-

XiiAoGeNgEnX
Jun 29, 2009 2:42

It’s quite depressing to know that there are some children out there who would use physical violence on the very people who raised them to be who they are today.

However, I also hope that these cases are few and far between. It’s always possible to find rotten eggs in the basket if you look hard enough, so I don’t think this is necessarily a reflection of the times.

Fittest Survive
Jun 29, 2009 3:16

its jz life..learn to live with it..if they dun whack up their parents now,their kids will do it to them one day anyway..so jz enjoy the moment..

smallvice585
Jun 29, 2009 3:53

What happen to our asian values?

Poor Elderly
Jun 29, 2009 4:44

wonder if stress was one of the reason or cause for the violence especially with economic downturn when one can be more stress up, afterall, our society and government don’t seem to value the elderly even with suggestion of sending our elderly to neighbouring countries for medical treatment and nursing homes, what’s else or more can we hope for in our country.

aiyoyo
Jun 29, 2009 6:41

aiyoyo

parents bring up children,

then children grow up (and use violence on parents)

beware of lightning leh…

aiyoyo

MC Harding
Jun 29, 2009 8:42

This is physical abuse and assault. These men should be thrown in jail.

agongkia
Jun 29, 2009 9:12

Something wrong with our educational system.
Certain subject have been left out,I suppose.

GABRIEL
Jun 29, 2009 10:31

Aiyoh, the “kids” are 47 and 39 years old. What the heck are they doing — still staying with their parents? If I were the parents, I would send these grown-up miscreants packing, once they show disrespect for the sanctity of their parents’ home.
That way, they would learn how to fend for themselves and not use their parents as a convenient whipping post whenever they lose their cool. Or perhaps, their parents are their “guests”.
In this case, it would be better to send their parents to an old folks homes — where they would face less risk in being threatened or beaten up.
But frankly, good kids would find it very hard to bully their parents, even when the old folks get cranky occasionally. I loved my mother, for all her faults. We accepted one another — I too had my faults galore.

85thmptobe
Jun 29, 2009 10:49

2 nights ago
i tend to a regular client
a familyman who just want to have a happy family relationships
unfortunately
his 2 grown up college kids treat him liked dirts
only demands toys from him
without 1 word of xia xia
the poor father got insulted/shouted right in front of me
an outsiders………
if i were that father
i would have KICKED both kids out of the CONDO apartment…..

TrueBlood Singaporean
Jun 29, 2009 11:26

Violence against anyone is wrong!

Evil thoughs will have Evil Actionns!

Singapore is stress out society couple with recessions. Education is not to score As but character building and improved Anversity Quotient! Also Talents building!

Singapore Education fail to create Technology Genuis like Taiwan to improve economy.

If anyone don’t know to vent frustration can to Online citizen

SDP supporter
Jun 29, 2009 11:44

85thmptobe,

Don’t kick ‘em out of condo, just let RSAF C-130 throw them with malfunction parachutes, or let some Leopard 2 run over ‘em hahahahaha!

Loyola
Jun 29, 2009 11:46

To be single and living with their parents at their 40s shows a general lack of ability to even be independent and care about their own life.

SDP supporter
Jun 29, 2009 11:48

That Tan Su Ann should be hired to teach those chao RECs at Tekong. Like to shout some much be an BMT instructor la! I recommend her to be SAF representative at next ACE!

rajalingam muthaya
Jun 29, 2009 11:51

I can’t believe this kind of thing happened in the disciplined, cleanliness/law-obidience/integrity-concerned society of Singapore!

That's Life
Jun 29, 2009 13:14

This sick social ill symptom is mor evident today, and I think it’s attributed to the following:

1) Poor or no parenting. Many of the old folks would have been very busy working very hard and long hours; hence no emotional bonds. It’s always been a rat race.

2) Greater social awareness and channels of recourse; more reported cases.

3) Very wrong socialization process over the past 20 years with focus on the 5Cs, more good years and nucler family as a means to the good life. Traditional values lost because kids cannot see parents showing filial piety to their grandparents. What ever is not shown is not learned. Words and occasional display at birthdays and New Year, is just not enough.

It is evidently clear that our society will get much worse before it gets better. Just like the financial crisis, our whole social system is build in mud and shifting sand. It will take generations to repair – it’s social not economic.

We lost precious time and now we pay the price. We will not see a major explosion like the financial crisis but increasing pockets of social ills like this. The current crisis will definitely have a great impact down the road, making corrective efforts more difficult.

loop
Jun 29, 2009 14:52

Some of them are probably mentally ill. Anyway, some parents do not take good care of their children or teach them properly so don’t blame the childrens for turning out like this. I know a lot of parents use vulgar languages at home.

mice is nice
Jun 29, 2009 15:43

there are family problems & there are famiLee problems lah….

angry_one
Jun 29, 2009 17:57

Let me present another side of the problem – i’m sure all of us have seen parents ill-treating their children, beating them just for not scoring full marks for exams, and threatening them with punishment everyday. The consequence of such a climate at home? The children grow up to think violence is an accepted way to treat family, and become those attackers in this article.

KopitiamApek
Jun 29, 2009 21:00

1) purr

//// am i believe theres a grammatical error in your blurb thingy under ‘main stories’./////

I believe recently, someone else also pointed out another error in the title of another TOC topic.

It will be good to reduce such occurance.

KopitiamApek
Jun 29, 2009 21:08

3) Fittest Survive

///its jz life..learn to live with it..if they dun whack up their parents now,their kids will do it to them one day anyway..so jz enjoy the moment..///

Whack now first since you gonna get whacked in future anyway?
Very interesting point of view.
A classic example of the cycle of violence.

KopitiamApek
Jun 29, 2009 21:14

4) smallvice585 o

/// What happen to our asian values?///

Yes. What happen to it?
But like some post here said, it could be a minority.. Let’s hope it is.
And no matter what stress our life may bring us, no matter what crappy education system we endured through, no matter how much money Temasek loss, no matter how much fellow posters here may sometimes disagree with KopitiamApek, there is no justification for violence against one’s parents.

Be nice to them lah.

patriot
Jun 29, 2009 21:26

Like That’s Life Post #16;

it is very true that traditional and cultural practices and values have all gone with the Pragmatic Ethos adopted nationally since the Locals took over the Administration of Singapore. There were and are great emphases on modernization, economic and financial successes for the country and individual settlers. Material affluence is the status symbol and those that failed to have material fullfilments live in perpetual disappointment and emotionally frustrated leading to all the personality, social and familial upheavels.

Dare I say that when vernaculars were used to educate us, Civics and Ethics was a core subject, we were taught and imbued with virtues such as honesty, filial piety, integrity, propriety, humility, FRUGALITY and SIMPLICITY. Then, many were living in multi generation households usually with the oldest members of the family and clans holding sway over the younger ones. Respects for the elderlies were second nature regardless of their statures, they were respected for bringing up the younger generations who in turn felt grateful. The youngs in older days were taught to be grateful and respect the wisdoms of the old and not their status of the elders.

All said, I for one, do not believe we would be able to rekindle the old values as our leaders themselves failed badly to exemplify much virtue. In fact, many citizens are downright disappointed with our leaders’ lack of virtues, want proof ?
Please read how netizens described them(Ruling Politicians) in Blogoland and there lies the evidence.

patriot

Hang Seng
Jun 29, 2009 22:28

Verbal abuse is just as bad as physical abuse…. what does the article mean by “nagging”??? Does the article mean that it’s alright to “nag” (using language which puts down another person) than to use physical voilence? I put them both in the same category. There is a lmit to everything. Both parties are at fault even though they may be of the same blood.

KopitiamApek
Jun 30, 2009 0:07

24) Hang Seng

Agree, Words can be more hurtful.

Gary
Jun 30, 2009 1:02

Heard of “parents using violence on their childern” ?

Renaerd
Jun 30, 2009 10:00

Notice that most of it started off with some parents nagging at them?

Sometimes some aunties really can drive you nuts by saying the same thing ten times over, in endless chattering of 10min non-stop. Then there are those arrogant uncles who think that they are always right, people should always listen to them, and that anyone who raises a second opinion is being “disrespectful to elderly”, and they will start lashing at you endlessly in the public.

Of course, this doesn’t mean it warrants a whalloping by the kids. But perhaps to a certain extent, they were the one who drove the kids into their violent behavior.

sadoh
Jun 30, 2009 10:54

Karma is all I can say … what come from you go back to you eventually

We did not know the past of these old folks, could it be that they did the same things to their parents, and thats why they are getting the same things back from their children?

Similiarly, when these children gets old, will they be getting the same treatment from their younger generation?

Treat your parents well.

cat's poop
Jun 30, 2009 11:35

you guys should see similar happenings in PRC or HK. the abusers get younger and more violent. some just outright kill the parents.

poor undergrad
Jun 30, 2009 12:04

It’s all about dollars and cents, living within one’s means, swallow pride at times and forget about it. in short, MOVE ON.

How can they expect, in life, no one will irritate them.? Unable to forget about the irritation, and also, powerless against the irritators, go home, abuse family members…

This, I call, Bully yet a coward…

And yes, being a hero, not necessary means direct confrontation… it should be look at the big picture.

frustrated
Jun 30, 2009 19:16

Majulah $ingapura

mari kita rakyat $ingapura
$sma-$sama menuju bahagia (?)
cita-cita yang mulia
berjaya $ingapura

marilah kita ber$satu
dengan $emangat yg baru
$emua kita ber$eru
majulah $ingapura

KopitiamApek
Jun 30, 2009 21:21

Eight Lies Of A Mother

The story began when I was a child…
I was born as a son of a poor family.
Even for eating, we often got lack of food.
Whenever the time for eating, mother often gave me her portion of rice.
While she was removing her rice into my bowl, she would say “Eat this rice, son. I’m not hungry”.
That was Mother’s First Lie

When I was getting to grow up, the persevering mother gave her spare time for fishing in a river near
our house, she hoped that from the fishes she got, she could gave me a little bit nutritious food for my growth.
After fishing, she would cook the fishes to be a fresh fish soup, which raised my appetite.
While I was eating the soup, mother would sit beside me and eat the rest meat of fish, which was still on the bone of the fish I ate.
My heart was touched when I saw it.
I then used my chopstick and gave the other fish to her.
But she immediately refused it and said “Eat this fish, son. I don’t really like fish.”
That was Mother’s Second Lie

Then, when I was in Junior High School, to fund my study, mother went to an economic enterprise to bring some used-matches boxes that would be stuck in.
It gave her some money for covering our needs.
As the winter came, I woke up from my sleep and looked at my mother who was still awoke, supported by a little candlelight and within her perseverance she continued the work of sticking some used-matches box.
I said, “Mother, go to sleep, it’s late, tomorrow morning you still have to go for work.
Mother smiled and said “Go to sleep, dear. I’m not tired.”
That was Mother’s Third Lie

At the time of final term, mother asked for a leave from her work in order to accompany me.
While the daytime was coming and the heat of the sun was starting to shine, the strong and persevering mother waited for me under the heat of the sun’s shine for several hours.
As the bell rang, which indicated that the final exam had finished, mother immediately welcomed me and poured me a glass of tea that she had prepared before in a cold bottle.
The very thick tea was not as thick as my mother’s love,
Seeing my mother covering with perspiration, I at once gave her my glass and asked her to drink too.
Mother said “Drink, son. I’m not thirsty!”.
That was Mother’s Fourth Lie

After the death of my father because of illness, my poor mother had to play her role as a single parent.
By holding on her former job, she had to fund our needs alone.
Our family’s life was more complicated. No days without sufferance.
Seeing our family’s condition that was getting worse, there was a nice uncle who lived near my house came to help us, either in a big problem and a small problem.
Our other neighbors who lived next to us saw that our family’s life was so unfortunate, they often advised my mother to marry again.
But mother, who was stubborn, didn’t care to their advice, she said “I don’t need love.”
That was Mother’s Fifth Lie

After I had finished my study and then got a job, it was the time for my old mother to retire.
But she didn’t want to; she was sincere to go to the market place every morning, just to sell some vegetable for fulfilling her needs.
I, who worked in the other city, often sent her some money to help her in fulfilling her needs, but she was stubborn for not accepting the money.
She even sent the money back to me.
She said “I have enough money.”
That was Mother’s Sixth Lie

After I graduated, I then continued my study to Master Degree.
I took the degree, which was funded by a company through a scholarship program, from a famous University in America .
I finally worked in the company.
Within a quite high salary, I intended to take my mother to enjoy her life in America .
But my lovely mother didn’t want to bother her son, she said to me “I’m not used to.”
That was Mother’s Seventh Lie

After entering her old age, mother got a flank cancer and had to be hospitalized.
I, who lived in miles away and across the ocean, directly went home to visit my dearest mother.
She lied down in weakness on her bed after having an operation.
Mother, who looked so old, was staring at me in deep yearn.
She tried to spread her smile on her face; even it looked so stiff because of the disease she held out.
It was clear enough to see how the disease broke my mother’s body, thus she looked so weak and thin.
I stared at my mother within tears flowing on my face.
My heart was hurt, so hurt, seeing my mother on that condition.
But mother, with her strength, said “Don’t cry, my dear.I’m not in pain.”
That was Mother’s Eight Lie

After saying her eighth lie, She closed her eyes forever!

NSrifleMan
Jul 2, 2009 13:07

Shout so much, not “shou some much” but it may be the typing error lol. Anyway your idea is great – Tan Su Ann shd go to SISPEC and her personnel motto is “With Hammer I Treat”.

When she got promoted as WO and get the RSM post, remind her to bring the hammer as a symbol of rank! lol

The Sketch Times
Jul 2, 2009 13:55

Karma. What goes around, comes around. For the parents who got abused maybe it is retribution, for the kids who abuse their turn might come.

KopitiamApek
Jul 2, 2009 20:00

TOC, hope you can retain my post #32
Albeit being rather long, the story is meaningful in the context of this topic

mice is nice
Jul 2, 2009 22:34

there is always a story to suit the context of any article, this is how diverse life is.

this article came about probably to re-enforce the need for…
Maintainance of Parents Act!

+.+

patriot
Jul 3, 2009 8:43

The Parent Maintenance Act is a sick Legislation.

It will add fuel into a troubled families and mess up it up further.

And it was enacted without proper studies and due diligence but an expedient way to brush domestic and spcial problems aside and make the people responsible themselves.

Seriously, it is a very irresponsible Act !

patriot

patriot
Jul 3, 2009 9:19

The Parent Maintenance Act is a piece of Sick Legislation.

It messes up broken families and adds fuel into their domestic disputes causing further damages. Much of the punishments and orders made on responsible party are hardly enforceable and further punishment/order on those failing to comply with the punishment/order, such as alimony/monthly maintenance sum(of money for parent), will complicate matters to no end.

The Act was enacted WITHOUT sufficient research and due diligence and was expedited to make the people responsible for their own domestic problems. And it is domestic problems alright, unfortunately it invariably develops into social problems.

If offsprings have failed or neglected their duties to their parents to cause the Legislation of the Parent Maintenance Act, The State must also implement Act or Law that It(State) has the Duty to ensure that all citizens are protected, not let to suffer starvation, sickness(expose to contagious diseases) and abuses and died with nobody knowing as had happened.

Whatever it is, any Act(legislation/Solution) should not create any further complication for the problem it is intended to solve/overcome. It cannot be an effective or good Act when it not only fail to solve existing problem but complicates matters further. The Parent Maintenance Act is just an expedient way to make the people responsible for their own trouble and problem.

patriot

KopitiamApek
Jul 3, 2009 13:13

Thank you TOC for retaining my post #32

mice is nice
Jul 3, 2009 18:08

such articles are designed to get readers fired up & respond. based on responses collected to guage public sentiments, it will either support or shoot down a proposed Bill.

so do be more cautious when responding to MSM. if the general response from the public shown it is largely in favour of the Bill, it will be passed- with a sample size abait sometimes biased fraction of support….

KopitiamApek
Jul 5, 2009 0:15

36) mice is nice

///// there is always a story to suit the context of any article, this is how diverse life is.///

and if I may add, a song for every context too.

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook