—–

—–

—–

—–

—–

—–

Previous video: In unity for her liberty

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

15 Responses to “June 4th Tiananmen massacre 20th anniversary”

1. tiredman 6 June 2009

Dear TOC
    What is this issue about?
    Maybe you can change the title to make it more meaningful.
    regards,
    tiredman

2. Thinktok 6 June 2009

The real massacres happened in Hiroshima, Nagasaki, Nanjing, Iraq, Afganistan, Vietnam, Dafur, Palestine, Beirut etc etc yet the West conveniently forgot about it.

TienAnMen can be termed a revolution as the people who started it couldn’t control it’s outcome. The risk to National security is real. The students were aping the West.

When will the West ever learn??

3. babyboy 7 June 2009

Although the west is involved in many “overseas” killings, this is not the west problem… even if the students were “aping” the west, that does not mean that a massacre is a solution to the problem on it’s own citizens. Did the students kill anyone? Other than the inconveniences caused by the students, they did not kill. Looking at history, who came down with heavy firepower and tanks?

Imagine the US sending tanks and killing it’s own citizens with M16s. I can imagine this happening in Singapore but not in the US.

Come to think of it, if I was donning my uniform and I was given the command to “kill” an enemy. I would do it regardless of who or what it is… that is sad. No brains army with citizen soldiers. Man against man.

4. KopitiamApek 7 June 2009

3) babyboy ///I can imagine this happening in Singapore but not in the US. ///

They eradicated an entire race, the native Red Indians who were there before them.

5. ah soh 7 June 2009

The Whites fought each other(amongst themselves) too while they were taking over the New World(US) from the Red Indians, hence North and South Americas today.

6. Thinktok 7 June 2009

Hi Babyboy,
    First you are still a baby and second you are still a boy. In this respect you are coming along well. But when you grow up, you will learn to process information and not to believe everything you hear or read.

In the recent Minyan earthquake in Sichuan, the PLA acquitted themselves very well. In fact I was pleasantly surprised. Only Japanese citizens and Army will react in that manner.

Elsewhere what happened in New Orleans when Katrina hit. The US authorities took a long time to react because it is mostly black ghettos. Bush only visited on the fourth day.

Compared to that Mr Wen was crawling in and out of rubbles providing moral support to the rescuers and victims. That he is alive is a miracle because there were thousands of aftershocks.

Learn to give credit when credit is due. TianAnMen rebellion can be classified as some kind of WMD. The onus to decide are the Chinese people alone and not some humdrum rights good, Falungong etc. They are stooges of the West. So do you prefer a thousand casualties or a million casualties.

Think about it.

7. KopitiamApek 7 June 2009

5) Thinktok

I cannot help but sometimes conclude that the West loves highlighting the faults of the other Asian countires at every opportunity. Faults as defined from their perspective, that is.

The is no perfect information, no one can know all the info. Exploiting this to their advantage to achieve their desired goal, perhaps continued world dominance.

So any prominent voice of dissent from these countries will get the West’s open arm welcome, be in political asylum or any other form.

Not that such voice of dissent are wrong, but they get played into the Western world politics which goal may not be in the interest of the country of that voice of dissent.

8. Thinktok 7 June 2009

Once in a while a country gets a great and effective leader like Deng to China, and LKY to Singapore. This we have to give thanks.

What have we not done right?

We do not imprison our duly elected opposition.
    We do not have policies that favours a certain race
    When we say we build something, we get it done in the reasonable time.
    Our infrastructure is nearly complete, if not for the population X policy, they would be sufficient.
    We have freedom of speech but not freedom to slander or defame.
    We can travel anytime we want.
    If we are not fussy, HDB flats are there for us. To top it up, they appreciate in value.
    Our MRT, roads, and water management are quite comprehensive
    Our Health care is quite comprehensive, wish they would do away with GST
    Our schools are world class
    Our ports and airports are world class

No wonder the opposition and those dissenters find it hard to fault the Govt except those old records on Human rights, TBT, lost of billions of dollars, CPF withdrawal, ERP etc

We indeed have a happy problem. Next trip when in Manila visit the smokey mountain and in Bombay visit the abode of the Millionaire actors.

No one owes us a living.

9. sarek_home 7 June 2009

4) KopitiamApek on June 7th, 2009 12.01 pm

3) babyboy ///I can imagine this happening in Singapore but not in the US. ///

They eradicated an entire race, the native Red Indians who were there before them.

It remains me of the movie “Mississippi Burning”. Yes, it did happen in USA, in the Deep South and lasted for decades.

10. sarek_home 7 June 2009

6) KopitiamApek on June 7th, 2009 12.34 pm

5) Thinktok

I cannot help but sometimes conclude that the West loves highlighting the faults of the other Asian countires at every opportunity. Faults as defined from their perspective, that is.

They play the human rights card whenever it serves their interests. They don’t do much unless it serves their interests.

11. KopitiamApek 7 June 2009

The West wants China to disintegrate like USSR, to be like the Middle East fragmented and in perpectual conflict,

Oftentimes they will spot the seeds of dissent in a country and will lavishly supply fertilisers to help it that grow into giant oaks of dissent, and when necessary, give them political asylum in the West, and then use them to ignite political instabilty in those countries by long distance remote control.

Since the colonial days, World domination has been a addiction of the West.

12. Thinktok 7 June 2009

To KopitiamApek
    Democracy operates in that manner. Those ill informed Americans or Europeans who only got most of their info through BBC or CNN will pressure their elected Govt to react in a certain manner or else they will loose support in the election.

Which Country sold opium to the chinese and come out smelling like a rose?

These people are clever and enjoyed adventurism like swimming across the Inya Lake to Su Kyii’s house. They are all over the world and poking their fingers into people’s eyes all in the name of human rights, freedom. etc They are not even aware of the human rights violation in their own backyard.

On the world stage, I don’t like Ban Ki Moon. He is not as good as Kofi Anan. How can he boycott the Beijing Olympics and chided the Sri Lankans?

It is our duty to keep an open mind and recognise what is good and fair.

13. borderless 7 June 2009

Who killed 3,000 innocent people on 9-11? WHO WERE THE REAL PERPETRATORS OF 9-11?

Support the 9-11 Truth Movement! Expose the media LIES!!

Respected American Christian Theologian, Prof David Ray Griffin, has this to say :
    “For many Americans the idea that we are living in country where our own leaders planned and carried the attacks of 9-11 is simply too horrible to entertain. UNFORTUNATELY, HOWEVER, THERE IS CONVINCING EVIDENCE FOR THIS VIEW..”

MUST WATCH!!!
    http://www.911docs.net/911_american_empire.php
    http://www.911docs.net/911_mysteries.php

14. KopitiamApek 7 June 2009

11) Thinktok on June 7th, 2009 5.21 pm To KopitiamApek
    ///It is our duty to keep an open mind and recognise what is good and fair.////
    Well said.

And I love the way you put it

/// They are all over the world and poking their fingers into people’s eyes all in the name of human rights, freedom. //////

Ah ! Kofi Anan. Ya, I am one of his admirer. Maybe he reminds me of Kopi : )

15. Richard 8 June 2009

@babyboy
    “Imagine the US sending tanks and killing it’s own citizens with M16s.”

The Kent State shootings, also known as the May 4 massacre or Kent State massacre, occurred at Kent State University in the city of Kent, Ohio, and involved the shooting of unarmed college students by members of the Ohio National Guard on Monday, May 4, 1970. The Guardsmen shot into the crowd 67 times for 13 seconds, killing four students and wounding nine others, one of whom suffered permanent paralysis.