Tuesday, June 16, 2009 11:00

Learn from Singapore

In Quotes • 1,832 views • 89 Comments

There is, of course, no need to ape everything Singapore does. After all, according to a former president of Indonesia, it is no more than a red dot on the map! Besides, there is no way Malaysians or Penangites can pay the chief executives of the government what Singaporeans are paying their prime minister and ministers.

Retired academic Dr Goh Ban Lee, in an article for Malaysian paper The Sun.

1. Forgiveness – “a strange lesson to learn” for NMP
  2. Military elitism in Singapore
  3. Singapore — the modern middle kingdom?
  4. Singapore-Indonesian treaties: Is the light at the end of the tunnel a train?
  5. Singapore government knew that Mas Selamat had been arrested

89 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

zhixiong
Jun 16, 2009 11:34

How insightful ! Everything about us summarised succintly in 4 sentences.

blackfeline
Jun 16, 2009 11:38

Well said…calling a spade a spade. Hope to see some high and mighty in our midst..with conscience…who dare to say likewise. And for goodness sake…let us learn not to flip over the moon whenever overseas leaders praised us to the heap..it’s all politics..stupid!

A Tan
Jun 16, 2009 12:04

M’sia tak bolen

S’pore boleh

We got the $$$

Learn, learn and learn
Jun 16, 2009 12:20

Singaporeans got to learn to be simple, humble and frugal.

Singapore Leaders need to learn to be less conceited, money-minded and calculative.

Jack
Jun 16, 2009 13:12

Actually, its not Sinaporeans agreed to pay their leaders, its the leaders
are paying themselves. I have not doubt about the result if a referendum is held on the issue of Ministers’ pay.

freeman
Jun 16, 2009 13:45

Is no one interested to comment on Charles Chong’s remarks about singaporeans and the 15minutes waiting time for 1st world buses where fares were hiked more or less regularly for the last few years?

freeman
Jun 16, 2009 13:50

Tried as i might, I could not fault Dr Goh for her comments that :

1. it is a little red dot. even ‘they’ elites have described it as a little red dot. It is tiny piece of land compared to even malaysia. So, it is not faultable statement.

2. ‘they’ are paid the highest world record in the world for that line of work. the 2nd place USA president is a far far 2nd position. In fact, an unofficial observation showed that the world’s top 30 highest paid gubbermen officials (inclusive of ranks that are non deputy/pm) are all singaporean.

So, what is the big deal about her comments which I could not find any fault with?

Charles chong, anyone?

smallvice585
Jun 16, 2009 14:33

Dr Goh Ban Lee made a fair point – learn the good aspects of Singapore and do not adopt the bad aspects of Singapore.

ex tarzan
Jun 16, 2009 14:47

Yes Dr. Goh Ban Lee, you are right.

Do not ape S’pore, not when it is run by the biggest chimp and his gang.

Lee FATT Yew
Jun 16, 2009 15:20

5) Jack on June 16th, 2009 1.12 pm
” Actually, its not Sinaporeans agreed to pay their leaders, its the leaders
are paying themselves. I have not doubt about the result if a referendum is held on the issue of Ministers’ pay.”

Talking about Referendum thingy, I like to honestly ask you, do you know any singaporean, past, present who knows, really knows, of all the possible voters,
HOW MANY DO NOT SUPPORT THE RULING PARTY?

My personal observation, based on limited and finite resources, is NO ONE REALLY KNOWS. At best, they give an estimated guess. But the fact remains, no one knows.

Is this fair to voters?
Is this right?
Is this known by the whole universe already?
Is this healthy ?
Is this the way for future singaporeans ,going forward?

yours,
Lee FATT Yew, really.

anakin
Jun 16, 2009 15:42

why do you emphasize the FATT in caps?

Well if Dr M’s comments are anything to go by then Singapore is indeed projecting itself as a “good boy in a bad neighbourhood.”

M
Jun 16, 2009 16:04

Mahathir wrote about LKY recently calling him a ‘little emperor’ http://chedet.co.cc/chedetblog/2009/06/the-modern-middle-kingdom.html

Lee FATT Yew
Jun 16, 2009 16:09

Hi #11 Anakin, well, thanks for noticing. ‘FATT’ in cantonese means Prosper or To Prosper or Prosperity. In times like this, hoping for ‘Fatt’ is what i can do as we wait for USA salvation of Asia.

Sometimes, I chant “Fatt and Fatt”. ‘Fatt’ing all day makes me feel better. Please do not mistake it as english word. The nick is a name we use to identify ourselves as the comment posters here.

Allow me the pleasure to wish you “may the FATT be with you”.

PEACE. :)

smallvice585
Jun 16, 2009 16:10

Hi M,

Sianz.. Dr M brought the water issue again…

anakin
Jun 16, 2009 16:13

Well thanks for enlightening me. Fatt be with you also.

Mr. E
Jun 16, 2009 18:01

its not as if we have a choice in this matter.

Wise Malaysian
Jun 16, 2009 19:29

Malaysian are always wiser in thoughts and words

and

they are so lucky to be endowed with plenty of natural resources.

They are just born lucky, Nature has been very kind to them.

Malaysia and Malaysians need not be bothered with what foreigners say

Puy Bak Yong
Jun 16, 2009 21:03

Malaysians or Penangites have too much courage and sanity to resist paying their leaders the obscene amount of money Singaporeans are paying their ministers!!! If any Singaporeans are truly proud that their own ministers are paid such obscene amount of money, you probably deserve the “golden period” as promised by the old man!

Since 2006 got peeper BSong liao
Jun 16, 2009 22:26

I wish to express my sincere Respect and Admiration for Malaysians.
I feel we have much to learn from them.
1 being Malaysiakini.
We have TOC and Wayangparty but Malaysiakini is malaysiakini.
Nevertheless, all 3 I like.
Its up to the rest of the people now.

Penang born SIngapore PAP minister & MPs
Jun 16, 2009 22:32

Aiya, even some from Penang have migrated to Singapore to be ministers and MPs. Like Health minister Khaw Boon Wan and MP Irene Ng. If they had stayed on in Penang, they may not earn in a lifetime what they earn here in just a few years!

JACK
Jun 16, 2009 22:38

Phuy@ #18
As I said in earlier post, its not that Singaporeans agreed to pay their leaders, its
their leaders are paying themselves. Based on acquaintances, I have yet
to come across 1 (yes,not even a pathetic ONE) person who agreed to their pay. Don’t believe go ask around.
FATT @# 10
The ruling party got 66.6% of the votes in the last GE. If we are honestly a true
democracy, ie people vote according to their heart without fear, carrots or sticks
whether common citizens or civil servants, fair election rules, impartial media
coverage etc, you can deduct at least 10% from the ruling party score.
Again this is based on straw poll on the ground

HaiGong
Jun 17, 2009 0:06

Actually, I respect Dr M, when he steps down he really do it. We have to learn from malaysia., their generosity, their democracy……etc
Unlike ours who is an antique , still blocking the way for our country to move forward. every year he stays our country will move further back.

aiyoyo
Jun 17, 2009 9:48

aiyoyo

now then know that we’ve been paying so much,

by the way are commoners getting what they pay for?

still puzzled..

aiyoyo

ABC
Jun 17, 2009 10:09

I think other major countries like US, China, France, Germany, UK etc must pay their Presidents,PMs, cabinet ministers high salary like S’pore or else they will be corrupted like what our old man said.

GABRIEL
Jun 17, 2009 11:27

Hi Jack #21.
Yes, the PAP got 66.6 per cent of the votes in the last election. This is 66.6 per cent of the votes in the constituencies that were contested — constituencies in which Singaporeans got a chance to vote.
What are the feelings of Singaporeans in the constituencies that were not contested?
(Anybody has figures on this — how many Singaporeans in the constituencies that were not contested? What is the percentage against the entire electorate?) How would they have voted if given the chance? My guess is as good as yours.
Of course, there will be some among us who will say that that the 66.6 per cent vote for the PAP is representative of how the rest of the Singaporeans who did get the chance to cast a vote, would in any case vote, if allowed to. But that is hypothetical at best.
An independent survey in the uncontested constituencies could throw up a better perspective of how Singaporeans feel about the PAP, and whether they would cast a vote for the ruling party if there was a contest.
Anybody has any ideas on this?

tew ah seow
Jun 17, 2009 14:08

Singaporeans being kiasu, will vote for Pap again this time, the % will increase more than 66.6 %.

To Gabriel @25
Jun 17, 2009 15:47

“What are the feelings of Singaporeans in the constituencies that were not contested?”

A VALID question indeed. I wonder what the MSM has to report on this thingy? I mean , is this not news worthy? I think it is 101% newsworthy.

Alas, it does not take 1 hand to clap, as in , the people are responsible to show how they feel as they are the subject of the question. So, is there a REFEReNdUm on this thingy? If not, at most people can Guess or Estimate or Suspect. Pretty unscientific and unneccessary. For people’s sake, have an official PRE or POST ELECTION Referendum on popularity or the lack of it polling based on 100% (or as close to it as humanly possible) Electorate.
This need not have legal effect, as in, it still should be the election that determines the winner or loser Officially. But it IS still as important as the election given the Walkover system DENIES casting of votes as long as there is no candidates to contest with the incumbent. I propose in this situation, a GRC or the like should be nullified and clubbed with other walkover GRCs or the likes to form a cluster that REQUIRES all Voters there to cast their vote and a CHECK BOXes saying something like “I support Ruling party” AND “I DO NOT! support ruling party even if there is no opposition candidate to contest” SHOULD be added to the Ballot paper as choices.

My reason is simple : Although there is no candidate to challenge the ruling party, Voters should get to vote to contribute to a report card on the ruling party that has ruled for HALF a CENTURY!!!! in a row, non-stop, continuously. The definition of a Voter, based on my understanding, is that he performs the act of voting. Why this walkover thingy has to Deny Voters from voting? Walkover , in my view, is the ruling party is UnContested. This should not erase the Need for Voters to SHOW THE RULING PARTY the APPROVAL Rating , that is not based on Sampling or Estimates but Actual Real human Voter voting.

I am very puzzled why citizens never gave a strong signal they want to vote , such that it becomes clear how much they want to participate in the progress of the nation. Yes, several have complained , but behind closed doors or quietly. But like this, would the message be clear?

What I am saying is the people should be responsible for not having the chance to vote , also even if it is also because candidates join ruling party instead of opposition, not that there is insufficient candidates. And many dare not step forward for whatever reasons for the last half a century.

Collectively , the people is partially responsible in their own ways.

Steven
Jun 17, 2009 16:10

For the amount of money that we are paying for our Prime Minister, may I request that my tax dollars are used to pay Barack Obama instead. I think for the amount of money that we are paying our Prime Minister, I dun think I am getting my money’s worth of talent. Since our government has always been very open about foreign talent, I am sure this is no issue right?

I think for our Prime Minister salary, I think we can get President Obama, Hiliary Clinton and maybe even Tim Geinther for the salary of 1 Singaporean Prime Minister. Value of money leh!!

cynicholas
Jun 17, 2009 17:51

-applaud-
and after converting to ringgat, lagi cannot.

DP
Jun 17, 2009 19:19

for once we can shut our gaps and take the cue from our neighbours that the power lies with the people. even the royals are not spared and yet we fear a dictator and his son and cronies. pathetic lot we are. well perhaps we don’t want to rock the boat as everyone is hoping their son will be the next MP and the whole family and generation to come will enjoy life as elites. join the opposition and you end up paying your father’s debts. pride and respect is the only heredity you get but it cannot feed you.

Kang Hong
Jun 17, 2009 21:25

Dont ape SIN – When doing business in SIN, meeting the wife get you nowhere. But in Malaysia, it is a must to see the executive wife.

Be warned
Jun 17, 2009 21:46

Love SIN and immediately one becomes a Sinner.

RW
Jun 17, 2009 22:17

#25 “What are the feelings of Singaporeans in the constituencies that were not contested?”

i guess you are right, that no one knows for sure.

But if you think about it logically– when the opposition decides where to contest, they will probably choose the areas they have highest chance to win and leave out areas they think they have less support.

So, at least by the opposition party’s internal estimation, the support for govt in non-contested areas should be higher.

Lee Fatt Yew
Jun 17, 2009 23:38

Hi #33 RW,
however, the fact remains that we or the opposition can guess. no matter how good a guess they think is their guess, it is still a guess. Not scientifically convincing enough.

Its sad that no one in singapore will ever know how many (out of all possible voters) did not support ‘them’ in the last several elections, even if we allow +/- 5% margin for error.

Well, as long as the people accept.

But I am curious how the whole world sees singapore’s situation.
If one were to compare , we need to 1st realise that this country is not like most countries which is much much more unmanageable in terms of size and population. The population is so small that it makes more sense to find out what all the voters feel about the ruling party and not by way of sampling or street polls but to get ALL possible voters to vote.

Lee Fatt Yew
Jun 17, 2009 23:44

30) DP on June 17th, 2009 7.19 pm
“”" well perhaps we don’t want to rock the boat as everyone is hoping their son will be the next MP and the whole family”"”

1 thing the people cannot run away from is
that the People are still responsible in their own ways for the status quo of this era. Is it good or bad, I leave it to you the citizen of 1st world country called singapore.

mice is nice
Jun 18, 2009 0:05

hi Lee Fatt Yew,

i agree with your post #34 & #35.

besides not all get a chance to vote.

more so on the quote below.

////1 thing the people cannot run away from is
that the People are still responsible in their own ways for the status quo of this era. Is it good or bad, I leave it to you the citizen of 1st world country called singapore.////

that, an ugly truth for most who made ‘that’ choice.

T
Jun 18, 2009 8:48

Well, ex-President Ferdinand Marcos of the Philippines was only paid US$7,000 a YEAR. Mahathir was paid less than S$7,000 a month. Sometimes, this is really a case of penny wise, pound foolish. As a wise man once said, he was/is one of highest paid politician in SE Asia, but one of the poorest.

Petronas makes tens of billions of profits a year (net profits – not revenue). Where did all the hundreds of billions disappear to in the past few decades? Think.

Malaysia can’t afford to pay their Ministers? Don’t have to lah. They are all dying to get into office for a pittance. The Klang FTZ saw RM12.5 billion disappeared into thin air – how many ministers they can pay at RM10 million per year for how many years with that kind of money? Go and work out the arithmetic.

Another query
Jun 18, 2009 9:17

Do the Singapore Ruling Party Politicians invest in businesses ?

And if they do, are there any conflict of interest ?

balekkampong
Jun 18, 2009 10:40

Oh ape us you must ! Afterall, we are the best in the world, even better than the US. Our politicians are paid the highest in the world. We continue to loose BILLIONS and still able to be anointed with national awards. We claim that we are approachable and reachable to our people and yet they douse us with kerosene and greet us with flying chairs. And rather spending time cooking nasi lemak at home, you must ape us to go to Paris to learn cooking ok ?

Sue And Kia
Jun 18, 2009 13:03

38) Another query on June 18th, 2009 9.17 am
“Do the Singapore Ruling Party Politicians invest in businesses ?

And if they do, are there any conflict of interest ?”

Interesting diverse view point.
I cannot comment if that is in conflict.
I do can say many MPs owns businesses if not sitting on many boards as directors. check out the websites of companies for their management teams.

Correct me if this is not true.

Kim Jong Loli
Jun 19, 2009 0:07

37) T on June 18th, 2009 8.48 am

Do you have any pittance of an idea how much is LOST already?

Thinktok
Jun 19, 2009 9:04

You think Obama is cheaper than our PM? Think again. He has Air Force One a Jumbo 747. A Helicopter and a battalion of secret servicemen. When Reagan wants to go and chop wood in his home town he flew Air Force One, and of course the batalion of servicemen went with him.

Think about the cost!

We would rather pay our ministers well and know that they are getting involved in APs, higway tolls, crooked bridge etc

Think again. High pay is high pay and it is not obscene. Tomorrow your children becomes a minister he or she will be paid the same.

IMS
Jun 19, 2009 10:28

Lim Swee Say kept asking us to tighten our belts and accept low pay. Our leaders are getting obscene pay. In school, they say if top is not straight, the below is slanted. After next election, they will re-peg their pay to private sector again. Recently, they published that CEO Liew is taking in $30M!

art of hoodwinking
Jun 19, 2009 12:52

@ T,

“A wise man once said, he was / is one of the highest paid politician in SE Asia, but one of the poorest.”

Fast forward……this wise man is now the second highest paid politician in the universe and he should be comparing himself with leaders from Europe, India, Japan, China, Australia, NZ, HK, etc. Will this wise man now imply these leaders are corrupt or susceptible to corruption ?

It was condescending of this wise man to make the above quote.

Rather than comparing monetary wealth to see who is the poorest, this wise man is actually one of the poorest example of what leaders should be in the free world. I believe the quote mentioned by some clever netizen is appropriate for this wise man, ” To protect one’s reputation, give publicly, but steal privately”.
This to me is the art of hoodwinking. LOL

T
Jun 19, 2009 23:17

/// 41) Kim Jong Loli on June 19th, 2009 12.07 am
Do you have any pittance of an idea how much is LOST already? ///

Dear Great Beloved Leader,

Let’s assume SG lost US$30 billion out of US$100 billion due to bad investment decision. Compare this to US$70 billion stolen/pilfered/leaked/commisioned away out of US$100 billion in bolehland. What do you think is more acceptable?

Mind you of the 30% lost, not all are realised loss; some are unrealised and can be recouped.

Kim Jong Loli
Jun 20, 2009 0:04

44) T on June 19th, 2009 11.17 pm
Are you making a guess ?
What is the Basis for what you claim?
Do you have access to all the transactions?
Or do you based on what is in public domain?
Do clarify leh.

Kim Jong Loli
Jun 20, 2009 0:08

By the way, T,
do clarify if TH admitted to the international press reports on their latest losses.
I must clarify, I do not buy the news since 2001 although I do borrow at times. recently have not read the news much.

prettyplace
Jun 20, 2009 7:44

All of them on both sides got different styles and ways to take lah….

I know Malaysia has changed as well….before it used to be outright bribery…..
but now they are all businessman……

Same for Singapore….either they are in business themsleves(directorship)…or their wife’s are in business…..

this is what happens, when there is no proper media…..and also no proper poplutation….

Just look at the heat Rudd…is getting in Ozland…over Ozfare….
we all know on both sides it’s going to take sometime for us to get there.
Lets just hope its sooner then later.

Talk only
Jun 20, 2009 12:47

“”As a wise man once said, he was/is one of highest paid politician in SE Asia, but one of the poorest.”"

1. Why do you assume they must not be one of the Poorest?
2. How do you know ? But where is the proof? If you can proof, you are accusing those of Corruption with evidence? Are you saying this? Can you clarify?
3. How do you know the wealth of the rest? Based on hear say? Are you alleging?

See, what you say needs to be substantiated. Else, you are accusing without evidence.

john
Jun 20, 2009 13:28

‘The Klang FTZ saw RM12.5 billion disappeared into thin air – how many ministers they can pay at RM10 million per year for how many years with that kind of money? Go and work out the arithmetic.’ T @37
So this is justification for our Ministers to be paid obscenely?
I wonder why the leaders of the US, EC Oz NZ, China, India etc use your same
logic to pay themselves obscenely too?
I guess the word “public service” should be strucked out from our vocabulary.
If our leaders are not there for it, I say tgood riddance if they get lost to the
private sector, and I mean the real private sector ( No GLCs, Stat boards )
and see how many can earn even half what they getting

To John @49
Jun 20, 2009 19:13

I doubt you will receive any reply directly from T.
We did not receive any reply from LDS, T and people like this.
Guess they like to Tell us a story and that is also the End of story. kekekeke
1-WAY Communication is funny.

Lessons from Singapore
Jun 20, 2009 20:17

Here are ten Lessons that Malaysia can learn from Singapore:

1. To be boastful that it is the First World country.

2. To be conceited that its leaders are the best in the whole world and that is why they are paid the world’s highest salaries and bonuses.

3. To self-praise all the time, even when others are mocking them no end.

4. To be thick-skinned and shameless when collecting millions of dollars in salaries and bonuses from taxpayers” money.

5. To be arrogant and always belittling other countries’ leaders and their performance.

6. To suppress all forms of dissent and opposition to the government under all sorts of reasons and excuses.

7. To pass laws that help to suppress the populace like changing under-wears.

8. To side-step taking responsibility when some blunders happened.

9. To refused to account for the huge losses of public funds through bad judgment and poor performances.

10. To keep as much things secret from the public as possible so that they people will not be able to question much about the performance of every ministry and their leaders.

Arix
Jun 20, 2009 21:38

Hey, has anyone here seen the commentary on today’s Straitstimes that suggested US should pay their Secretaries and President the equivalents of Singapore’s salaries?

Walau
Jun 20, 2009 22:02

#49 – Yah. The Klang FTZ epitomizes what it means to be in political office of the UMNO kind: multi-million $$$ contracts to party cadre is like paying themselves obscene sums of money. Makes a fool out of malaysia and malaysians.

Between million-$ salaries to few ‘good’ men and day-light robbery of the Malaysian-kind, I guess I’ll settle for the lesser evil.

Edward
Jun 20, 2009 22:33

LKY once said that the best and most intelligent Americans are in business while the second best go into politics. They get the highest compensations and they make their country prosperous. This may be one of the reasons why he pays his ministers high salaries to attract the scholars and the successful professionals to work for the PAP so that he don’t end up with the second best Singaporeans.

When “a wise man once said, he was / is one of the highest paid politician in SE Asia, but one of the poorest”, he is implying that leaders in other countries enrich themselves much more while in office but which is impossible in Singapore. Politicians around the whole world fight hard to get into parliaments while the PAP has to induce them with the highest salaries in the world.

The best and most intelligent Americans also created this world financial disaster which Temasek and GIC will remember for a long time.

Danguli
Jun 20, 2009 22:35

53) Walau on June 20th, 2009 10.02 pm

Why would you settle for it if there is ‘evil’ (your word)?
Why would you not FIX the problem You mentioned?
Does 2 of a kind ….. ?

You know what I would do?
I would do what is right to make it BETTER.
By what you doing, can you make things BETTER?
I am not sure if you could give me a convincing rebuttal.

Curious
Jun 21, 2009 0:07

Malaysia can learn from Singapore’s strong dollar and make up for the lost decades by pegging the ringgit to the Sing dollar at 1 to 1. That should stop the jam at the causeway overnight.

Malaysia should confer the new title of “MM” to Tun Dr Mahathir and then appoint him as the permanent Ambassadors to Nth Korea. Najib will then have no problem selling sand to Singapore.

Curious
Jun 21, 2009 0:10

errata: “Malaysia should confer the new title of “MM” to Tun Dr Mahathir and then appoint him as the permanent Ambassador to Nth Korea.”

T
Jun 21, 2009 11:31

/// 49) john on June 20th, 2009 1.28 pm
‘The Klang FTZ saw RM12.5 billion disappeared into thin air – how many ministers they can pay at RM10 million per year for how many years with that kind of money? Go and work out the arithmetic.’ T @37
So this is justification for our Ministers to be paid obscenely? ///

John@49, before we can have a meaningful and mature discussion, please go and read the Sun article provided in the link. Do not quote or rebut me out of context. At the very last sentence of that article, is this quote below:

/// Besides, there is no way Malaysians or Penangites can pay the chief executives of the government what Singaporeans are paying their prime minister and ministers. ///

That is why I made that statement. Malaysia can damn well pay their ministers much higher than what Singapore pay its ministers. And I suggest RM10 milllion per minister per year and there will still be plenty left over if only leakages like the Port Klang FZ does not happen. And that is not counting the hundreds of billions from Petronas that has disappeared.

My point to those who cannot see the forest for the trees – is it better to pay minister inadequately and they resort to lining their pockets? You save millions per year in salary costs, but the country lost billions through corruption and white elephant projects whose only raison d’etre is to provide huge commissions for the proposers.

Before you guys starting attacking me again. Read my post carefully. I am also against the high ministerial and civil service pay. The key point is “adequate”. My view is – in Singapore’s case – it is way way above more than adequate. So, get off your high horse and debate the issue without emotion and misconstruing what I said.

John – which line did I write that lead you to conclude that I justify their high pay or that I agree to the high pay? I am totally against this obscenely high pay. If you want to pay ministers like investment bankers from Lehman Brothers and Morgan Stanley, well, when they don’t deliver or they screw up – then they are out, just like in the private sector. But for civil servants and ministers, do we see such “hire and fire” actions? Hardly. They have the best of both worlds – an iron, (no, make that platinum) rice bowl and obscene investment banker pay.

So, I hope your pinch of salt is miserly now.

KopitiamApek
Jun 21, 2009 14:44

58) T
///before we can have a meaningful and mature discussion, please go and read the Sun article provided in the link. Do not quote or rebut me out of context. ////

Unfortunately, TOC is infested with such replies that are emotional, irrational, out of context.
Just watch what happens to me after this post : )
More misguided misslies coming my way in the from of replies.

They are not worthy of a reply.

T
Jun 21, 2009 14:55

Thanks KopitiamApek. I agree with what you say about most of the replies here – which is why I am not eager to contribute here as most of them just go off tangent.

Greetings from another ulu kampong apek.

X
Jun 21, 2009 15:10

ah pek, you lonely or what?

lollipop
Jun 21, 2009 15:11

LOL. I think ah pek attempting damage control to his brain.LOL

KopitiamApek
Jun 21, 2009 15:18

60) T

Stick around though.

There are posters here that are very good. I learnt from them. And one can get quite good discussion here too.

I have had my fair share of bashing here, been asked to get lost too. Do not let a few black sheep here make you go away. These sheeps come disquised in multiple nick names that changes faster than one changes underwear.

I do not give them the attention they crave for. Stonewalling them drive them up the wall.
Let them throw their tamtrum.

We focus on our discussions.

marked4deaf
Jun 21, 2009 15:23

ah pek, you poured hot coffee on people and here you are, trying to justify your “holier than thou” attitude…how can? you take common folks as fools or what?

KopitiamApek
Jun 21, 2009 17:28

60) T

Observe as the very predictable unfolds before your very eyes. ; )

also see http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/06/singapore-the-modern-middle-kingdom/ #64
talk about going off tangent, this reply went way off tangent into a parallel universe !

boxing
Jun 21, 2009 17:30

This ah pek got no shame. LOL

X
Jun 21, 2009 17:43

yeah, but he is very proud of his “parallel universe”. hahaha

ah soh
Jun 21, 2009 18:29

For Malaysia to learn or ape Singapore will make the Malaysian looks like copycat and silly. They would rather wisely enjoy their God given resources, fair weather to watch butterflies and smell the flowers. They will not want to see and watch their neigbours slog like their water buffaloes too, so they built the IDR and maybe hospices and retirement villages to save their neighbours from further miseries in their old age.

Anyway, whilst Malaysia may not have to learn from Singapore, Singaporean Netizens should be as objective, knowledgeable and peaceful as KopitiamApek, he is certainly admirable, at least ah so does lovingly looks forward to his comments. Although his comments are not very constructive, there are much facts and statistics in them. Of course, I do expect many to be very skeptical of them.

kaypoh
Jun 21, 2009 18:37

so the ah soh, taleban trained, comes in and speak “peace” whose words are neither peaceful actually, but an indirect stab at others for not complying to taleban rules of assault?

KopitiamApek
Jun 21, 2009 18:40

68) ah soh

Thank you.

X
Jun 21, 2009 18:43

one supporter out of 4 over million people. i am happy for you :)

TiamTiam
Jun 21, 2009 18:44

X,

The others are hiding in his “parallel universe” lah. lol

mice is nice
Jun 21, 2009 18:52

hi Arix, on June 20th, 2009 9.38 pm

////Hey, has anyone here seen the commentary on today’s Straitstimes that suggested US should pay their Secretaries and President the equivalents of Singapore’s salaries?////

yes i have. they are out of their mind.

X
Jun 21, 2009 18:55

you gotta wait for the ah peks facts and statistics to come out before you comment ok?

budamax1952
Jun 21, 2009 20:22

Ah-pek and ah soh will be joining up in holy matrimony soon, with the looks of it.

smallvice585
Jun 21, 2009 21:56

Hi mice is nice #73,

You gotta be kidding me. High cabinet pay is not one of Singapore’s good aspects. Those commentaries are taking the debate on obscene ministerial salaries to a completely new and obscene level.

T.
Jun 21, 2009 22:33

AhPek,

you drink too much kopi liao. I no fren u liao.

KopitiamApek
Jun 21, 2009 22:38

68) ah soh

/// They will not want to see and watch their neigbours slog like their water buffaloes///

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a08A7lDjTFE

and IDR must also provide for cemeteries for Singaporeans, as we are already vertical stacking our dead at Choa Chu Kang.

T
Jun 21, 2009 23:12

77)T. – that is not very nice trying to pass off as somebody else. You love period/ Period.

KopitiamApek
Jun 21, 2009 23:21

79) T

Wolves in sheep’s clothing come disquised in multiple nicknames that changes faster than one changes underwear.
You can identify them as likely to be the same person by the close timing of the posts.

Be prepared to meet T: T@ T= T% and many of its variants.

But these wolves do not have much of a bite. More like mosquitoes they are irritating, but you cannot never completely get rid of them.

ah soh
Jun 21, 2009 23:26

KopitiamApek,

I do not see any problem as far as cemetries are concerned in Malaysia.

As a Chinese, non burial (into the earth) does bothers me, ‘ru tu wei an’, loosely translated meaning burial concludes ones’ ending successfully with Nature. I consider back to Nature important but not hanging in the air or stack on one another as You described.

Can’t explain why I have the queer feeling, just dislike to see and feel the remain(ashes/bones) not being returned to earth for recycling. Please forgive me here as I won’t be able to proceed further with the subject of burial. As I said it is just a feeling which I have no explanation.

Surprise that KopitiamApek brought up such a topic, so may I ask him if he finds ‘vertical stacking’ odd or unacceptable ??

ah soh
Jun 21, 2009 23:33

KopitiamApek,

thank You very much for the Video Clip. You made me feel young again, but not sexy.

Good Night !

KopitiamApek
Jun 21, 2009 23:37

81) ah soh

///Surprise that KopitiamApek brought up such a topic, so may I ask him if he finds ‘vertical stacking’ odd or unacceptable ??///

Honestly, I have not put much tought into that, but being placed inside a jar could feel like a genie trapped in a magic lamp. Perhaps throwing ashes in the sea would be a another option, letting the spirit be free.

pieceofchickenshit
Jun 22, 2009 0:50

ahpek, you heng got chickenshit protect you here.

i suppose, shithead like you will get you way as long as shithead believe your kind of crap or ….cloaked attitude huh?

($)~($)
Jun 22, 2009 1:02

@ 51) Lessons from Singapore,
clever post indeed !

The 10 lessons from S’pore should be a gift to the world and not just Malaysia.
May I include lesson number 11, putting in place a fake democratic system.

kopitiam-ah-ape
Jun 22, 2009 1:12

81) ah soh

///Surprise that KopitiamApek brought up such a topic, so may I ask him if he finds ‘vertical shacking’ odd or unacceptable ??///

Honestly, I have not put much tought into that, but being placed inside condom could feel like my didi trapped in a magic lamp. Perhaps jerking off in the sea would be a another option, letting the cok be free.

KopitiamApek
Jun 27, 2009 11:55

TOC

thanks for removing the offensive post

KopitiamApek
Jun 28, 2009 11:33

TOC

correction. You did not remove the offensive post.
so much for self regulation

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook