Leong Sze Hian / Columnist
With the Labour market still weak, it is time to question the effectiveness of th Jobs Credit Scheme.
WHILE the Ministry of Manpower may claim that low wage workers are better off, it seems like the economy is still in the doldrums as the job market remains weak.
(Photo: Many workers and unemployed are still not helped by the government. Courtesy of Ken Yee.)
Just a week ago, on 7 June, a 72-page report “Significant progress for low wage workers since 2006” was released by the Ministry of Manpower (MOM).
Now, the MOM’s Labour Market First Quarter 2008 report, which is just released, may give us some indications as to the effectiveness of the Jobs Credit Scheme.
Labour market not recovering
The following statistics suggest that the labour market is hardly out of the woods in Singapore:
- In the first three months of 2009, nominal earnings fell by 3.7% over the same period of 2008. This is the first decline in six and a half years.
- Consequently, real earnings experienced a larger contraction in the same period at 5.8% despite the easing of inflationary pressure.
- Even as earnings fall, the labour market has not shown signs of recovery as well. It saw its first quarterly contraction in nearly six years with total employment falling by 6,200.
- The number of people re-employed fell as well, with only 51% of those retrenched in the last quarter of 2008 re-employed by March 2009, compared to 70% in Dec 2008.
- Job vacancies has fallen for the third consecutive quarter to 21,000, down 20% from December 2008 and 45% from a year ago.
- With unemployment on the rise for five consecutive quarters, the number of unemployed residents who had been looking for work for at least 25 weeks more than doubled to 16,600 in March 2009 from 7,500 a year ago. These long-term unemployed formed 0.8% of the resident labour force in March 2009, double the 0.4% a year ago.
- Labour productivity is not spared, declining over the year by 15% in the first quarter of this year, following a 12% drop in the previous quarter, reflecting a sharp fall in output.
- More workers are being laid-off temporarily or put on a short work week, from a mere 120 in the first quarter of last year to a staggering 26,530 for the first three months of this year.
Time to review measures to help workers
In view of the above statistics, I would like to suggest an urgent review of the following:
- Our drive to hire low-skilled, low-wage foreign labour as a means of growing the economy, which has contributed to declining productivity and increasing unit labour and business costs.
- The release of the much talked about second stimulus package which we have been holding back for some time now.
- While many Singaporeans are suffering from financial stress, it seems like the government has been stingy in its release of Comcare funds. In the first quarter of this year, 485 new Comcare cases were approved for financial assistance against 15,000 new Comcare applications, which is an alarming figure.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Hmmm, I wonder? Should I shift to become a low wage worker instead? At least they have jobs…
50) mike on June 25th, 2009 4.53 pm
But I am quite sure, his boss will never know who came and went.
Those may be living in ivory towers hor?
When the emperor is far away, the generals can do what they want.
48] toiletmatter : Precisely what I feel. To be honest, I really sensed that he sort of afraid of me like maciam wary or feel threatened like that. The lesson learnt this round is that when in a recession, in an interview, do appear to fit the role for the kind of qualification required. Else, the interviewer, who is more concerned about his RICEBOWL than the Company getting higher qualified candidates, may purposely find reasons not to hire someone who can pose a threat of replacing him.
singaporeans fight with singaporeans for jobs. There is no compassion in job market. Case in point, singaporean employers would be more than glad to hire as many cheaper labor as he is allowed so that he can profit more to buy his next lambo. And remember what they say, “no one owes you a living”.
Its a brutal world and a vicious cycle.
hi I went for interview,
////singaporeans fight with singaporeans for jobs. There is no compassion in job market. Case in point, singaporean employers would be more than glad to hire as many cheaper labor as he is allowed so that he can profit more to buy his next lambo. And remember what they say, “no one owes you a living”.
Its a brutal world and a vicious cycle.////
its ugly & its so true, i’ve experienced that not just once. local employers… sigh.
cannot even secure own ricebowl serve NS protect what, other people’s ricebowl?
“13) mice is nice on June 18th, 2009 3.13 pm
hi Brembo Braka,
eh, you mean WDA not WCA?
maybe they want to weed out “choosey” jobseekers?”
Can you entirely blame some for being choosy?
Take this scenario into consideration:
PMET buys a typical 4 room flat after getting married. Due to the high cost of public housing here, he is committed to a 30 year loan of about $420k for that 4 room flat.
Have two kids. Put them thru school. High cost of child care. Tuition to ensure kids can keep up with the competitive school environment.
Earning the average $3000 a month, it is enough to get by on a day to day basis.
Now, company retrenches. Minimum compensation. Go to govt agencies for these so call work schemes only to be offered jobs that pays $1000-$1200. After CPF deductions, which is not even enough to service the HDB loan for the home due to the drop in income. So to ensure there is a roof over head, have to top up with cash.
So tell me, can you afford to just take up a job that pays so much less, so much so that it is not even enough to make ends meet?
And you call them choosy?
And I am just referring to those average singaporeans who is earning an average salary. So think about it, for those singaporeans who is earning and living in the below average range, how are they going to cope if the next job offer they get are not at least the same level as the one they just lost?
So, don’t brand people who are choosy about their jobs with a single broad paint brush. They have reasons to do so!
I agree with mice is nice–singaporean employers and the job market itself can be cruel.
Searching for a job is really tough. I don’t know if I’m being choosy but, at the risk of sound arrogant, I believe I’ve somehow earned it. Having come from the US and working at one of the top banks there for 3 yrs, I naturally want to top or at least match my previous job (in pay at least). But no, Singaporeans won’t have any of it.
It is either you get a low paying job or, they won’t even touch you at all. I’ve seen ads by recruiters offering jobs. but when you contact them, it seems as if these posters are non-existent. Not even a “thanks for sending in your CV” or something. And that’s just for starters. What bout companies who never seem to answer your response to their job postings? Let’s not even go there…
What gives?
Searching for a job…and the meaning of life itself: http://bit.ly/3wmLeV
For Jackson, I learned something from Singapore Gahman.
There is nothing wrong with them.
Everything that is wrong is you, the Singaporean. They always setup good system, it is always u the Singaporean that screw up.
As a Singaporean I am pissed by all the BS published by the media.
Just check SAF, how many Officers you think can pass IPPT?
Yet, NSMen must pass if not RT u go.
Singapore pledged for EQUALITY, regardless of RACE, LANGUAGE, RELIGION.
Do you really think there is equality? Is time to wake up everybody.
The Monarch is trying to secure the Monarchy. We have to wake up now.
If not, all will be marginalized.
hi PMET,
yes i mean WDA, not WCA. it was a typo error…
////Take this scenario into consideration:
PMET buys a typical 4 room flat after getting married. Due to the high cost of public housing here, he is committed to a 30 year loan of about $420k for that 4 room flat.
Have two kids. Put them thru school. High cost of child care. Tuition to ensure kids can keep up with the competitive school environment.
Earning the average $3000 a month, it is enough to get by on a day to day basis.
Now, company retrenches. Minimum compensation. Go to govt agencies for these so call work schemes only to be offered jobs that pays $1000-$1200. After CPF deductions, which is not even enough to service the HDB loan for the home due to the drop in income. So to ensure there is a roof over head, have to top up with cash.
So tell me, can you afford to just take up a job that pays so much less, so much so that it is not even enough to make ends meet?
And you call them choosy?////
i get your drift, but unfortunately, do bosses care? that is my point, they person who points finger at others should look into the mirror. in this case its the employers, are they not choosey?
of course, the condescending term was coined then echoed to insult our intelligence. because throughout the decades post independance we have been encouraged to aim high & work for our dream & turn them into reality. now that the bubble of the boom years has passed, they powers that be needed a buzzword that is easy to remember & echoed….
there are 2 words being repeated rather often to thumb the already down throddened “business sense”.
govt say, business also use this convenient term…. S’pore INC Pte Ltd?
come to think of it does anyone here share the sentiment that the large (low, mid + high) middle class (coined as fat sandwich) is being trimmed drastically?
looks like we really are back to square 1 when S’pore achieved independance. the middle class boom of yesteryear, seem all but bust, now….
hey singapore,
after all is said here, any progress?
not in my opinion.
TIME is our only solution. tick tock.
46) I went for interview
///5. Then, he said, how about work in wee hours shifts? I told him, your household name super market got operate at midnight or wee hours wan meh? He got stunned, he stammered and said, oh, no lah just asking.////
Actually there are stocktakers who work thru the night to stock up the store for the next day at the “household name super market “
hi KopitiamApek,
//// Actually there are stocktakers who work thru the night to stock up the store for the next day at the “household name super market ////
true, but its a little known fact for majority of shoppers. never see, never know.
this is a good example of gross job mismatch.
jobseeker profile:
- middle age
- with high overheads, like family commitment
has to content with,
- low salary (not sustainable income for the long haul)
- odd hours (impact of family commitment, time spent)
- gross mismatch in qualification
from the HR point of view, he is not the ideal candidate. reason not to hire- possible high chance of turnover, resulting in the need to find replacement again. will reflect poorly on the HR who made the decision if the fear of turnover comes true.
61) mice is nice
///from the HR point of view, he is not the ideal candidate. reason not to hire- possible high chance of turnover, resulting in the need to find replacement again. .///
true.
and the post here who said that he did not tell the truth about his qualifications during interview, I think most bosses can read thru these lies by the way the candidate speaks and his body language
I know of a young person with a degree in psychology. Upon graduation, immediately grabbed by a foreign bank and was given the job in personal banker, targetting high value clients, made easy money, moved out of parents home to live on his own, and life was going just great, then kaboom!!! subprime came along, outta a job.
But he is stuck with this high expectation of good pay good life, when he was just a lucky shot for being at the right time at the right place
He has completely no experience in his field of study (psychology) and is not really a banker but really a salesman exploited by the bank, and during the banking boom, a monkey can sell finacial products
this is an example of a PMET went wrong
hi KopitiamApek,
////and the post here who said that he did not tell the truth about his qualifications during interview, I think most bosses can read thru these lies by the way the candidate speaks and his body language////
yes, non verbal communication counts.
post #63, on July 13th, 2009 10.31 pm
eh, let’s be fair. this downturn has forced many PMETs out of job. besides, the more 1 earns the more 1 spends. even in difficult times MSM is encouraging everyone to spend like the boom years. how many can really lead frugale lifestyles? there is subtle pressure from co-workers, friends, family, & society at large to “live it up”.
back to the topic, we cannot pin all the blame on select individuals. “when the music is playing we have to keep on dancing”. those who do live their lives contrary to society’s expectation run the risk of being ostracized for the worse, being wierd, a little queer. at work, impressions matter.
also, KopitiamApek, whenever you tell your little stories, you risk offending others who you do not know, & your little stories may not accurately portray the poster’s experience. i will not be surprised if the poster takes you to task for that (as i have in the past).
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
KopitiamApek,
consider this. everyone at an informal office party drinks wine, beer or alcoholic fruit punch. how would others think of 1 “oddball” who insist on sticking to milk, or plain water?
Outside there also hav large companys have this when a person wif years of working experience and relevent qualification for tat job, got selected for interview, for when coming to mention salary term, they either pull down or make the same salary as previous company with no extra or any other allowance…when the person tink for a sec, the HR staff continue said if u don’t take this job outside still have long queue for it…