The following is a letter to the Straits Times forum page by Gilbert Goh.
I refer to the article “Migrating Singaporeans” (ST 27 June).
I am currently residing in Sydney Australia and felt that SM Goh Chok Tong’s speech needed a response from those who are living abroad.
Having work and live for the past two years abroad, let me reiterate that it is so much different from working back home.
I worked for about a year in China in 2007-2008 and has found the experience liberating. Though work has to be done, it is not the same as Singapore which is often stressful and taxing. Let me just say that thee is still a life after work when you are abroad. The same could not be same back home. Many laboured long hours at work and suffer the consequences of not spending enough time with their loved ones. Lax labour laws favouing the employers also do not give workers enough say on their job scope.
It is no secret that the lifestyle one leads back home is not very balanced and after a while, one begins to look for a better place to spend his life with. Many I know left Singapore in search of greener pasture both in terms of a more balanced lifestyle and better career opportunities.
It is also well known that our employers are biased against older workers preferring them to be at least below forty years of age. The influx of foreigner workers competing for employment have also given Singaporeans the added incentive to search for work abroad. The job market during past few years has become an employer’s market pushing many more Singaporeans to look at alternatives.
Personally,I was unemployed for close to 1 1/2 years during the Sars period and during that period, I began to earnestly look for an alternate place to work and reside – one that does not discriminate against age. I realise that things will be very diffcult for someone who is above aged 40 years old and not very skilled. My family took the plunge last year when we were offered a 4-year work visa in Australia and have never look back. Many back home envy our so-called second chance at having a life again – abroad.
Though I appreciate SM Goh Chok Tong’s intention to try to help local Singaporeans settle down in their own country after graduation, i am afraid that his efforts will be in vain unless employment opportunities improve especially for those age above 40 years old. We also need to work less and play more.
—–

Agree with #51.
Though from economic figures, it seems that china and asia is where grow may be in the near future, the real engine of growth COMES from USA, still and will be so for a long time to come.
Asia may still enjoy growth due to LOWER COST.
Without USA, the world will progress slower if not cannot progress.
USA was mismanaged. They are suffering for it. Obama has landed himself a tough job. But he did not caused the problems. Greedy & Evil people caused it.
China is basically growing due to its low cost. It has factories but where does the technologies come from? Basically the west lah. To be fair, china also can innovate. But the fact remains, who’s the daddy?
Growth is not Forever. Look at Japan. Guess which Asian country will get or is suffering the same fate now?
;)
Does anyone know how many trained (after 2 years) NS men have migrated over the years.?
I beleived the numbers could be quite large—that is why this govt will never reveal it..Could be embarrasing.
Such a waste of tax payers money—-and letting these young men contribute to other country economy— such silly policies.
To make matters worse we import others rejects –but hey–not NS trained.
50) Passerby
Looking at it from another perspective, would Singaporeans be in a foreign land be viewed the way many here view FTs in SG?.
Smart Singaporeans should migrate. This country does not hold any future for them. So what’s left for Singaporeans who are stuck here? They deserve their plight for not voting PAP out. There is a price for change but there is also a price for inertia. Since 66% of the population has voted for inertia, they deserve their plight and PAP’s mistreatment. Smart Singaporeans who can’t effect change for this country can at least effect change on their personal lives. We should congratulate them, and not be bitter about their success in lives.
Hi Mike #41,
Singaporeans cannot hold dual citizenships. Refer to Article 129 of the Singapore Constitution for more information.
Officially, Singaporeans cannot hold dual citizenship. Unofficially …. and I know of a few unofficial cases …. Singapore is a pragmatic nation ….. not a principled one …. Think …. what it means re your CPF if you’re dual …. cannot withdraw …..
Ya i also know of some who have dual citizenships.
Maybe our home country is trying not to be too strict here in the hope that people will come back home.
Once he gives up his citizenship you lose that person.
I guess the key reason why people give up their citizzenship is to cash out their CPF money. Some have more than half a million dollars in their account (husband and wife).
Australia News
LOWLY paid workers such as security guards and cleaners will be the big winners under Labor’s new Fair Work laws, unions say.
The introduction of laws to help low-income workers bargain and laws that required parties to negotiate in “good faith” were a marked shift from WorkChoices, Ms Tarrant said.
Other significant changes include enhanced unfair dismissal rights and a more significant role for the industrial umpire to settle disputes. Standards covering penalty rates and hours of work will start from January.
Fair Work Australia will replace several bodies including the Australian Industrial Relations Commission and the Workplace Ombudsman.
Gilbert, others:
Ever tot PAP wants FTs because their thinking is like
Bertolt Brecht’s East German Communists:
“Would it not be easier
In that case for the government
To dissolve the people
And elect another”
(The Solution)
Gilbert, I couldn’t agree more with you. Improving the employablility & salaries of those workers that are 40 yrs & above will help this country stay afloat especially with an aging population. It seems that the govt solution to this problem is to hire young foreigners to take over our own population. I cannot imagine what will happen when another recession strike the global economy.
Talk about stress. There is this girl that board the same bus as me to school this morning & she look angry & pissed even to the extent of pushing me to get pass to get a seat. Being a student is already so stressed nowadays. I think a lot of our graduates may choose to opt for overseas job when they finished their studies.
In anticipation of a horrible ending here, it is indeed wise to seek a good beginning elsewhere.
It is very fair to say that Singaporeans are being let down by their very own country as evidenced in the remarks made at all socio-political blogs. In a way, it is double blow to most born in this tiny resourceless land added by the generous offerings made by the leaders to foreigners. So Singaporeans are squeezed by their leaders and the foreigners the leaders invited and invite to invade the tiny space that we have.
Make your way or prepare to make your way out if one can afford to.
Good Luck !
patriot
31) Homeless on July 1st, 2009 11.44 am
30) David on July 1st, 2009 11.23 am
You really speak my hearts out too and your words echo my deepest feelings and sentiments. I am starting to lose my nationalism towards my own country due to a sudden influx of foreigners to this heartland. 2 and 1/2 years of national service and the pledge to protect my nation and family seems more and more distant. I’am feeling more like a minority in my own country now, without any special privileges being a born bred Singaporean. It’s more like fighting for survival with the foreigners. I believe increasing number of Singaporeans are sharing my feelings as we are rapidly losing our common identity …..
Hi ..my sentiment alike. The burning question is how do one get started?
Gilbert is Wise to leave this time unless you got a net asset of 1 millions before 40 yrs old cause it is very though to be in Singapore!
PAP will force you to work way pass 60 years old!
See about 20yrs time 2030 what will happen! One fifth of Population over 60yrs and PRC no longer willings to come here to support Old people and LKY no longer around to guide Singapore. Economy will be depressed!
Do you want till 2030 to leave Singapore and by the time no body want you!
64) Homeless
Look on the bright side of things as truthfully not everyone will get the chance to migrate.
Do not depend on the govt or anyone for you are the only person that will determine your own destiny.
Spend within your means and learn to be contented.
Live simply and cherish the finer things in life like spending time with your loved ones and friends.
Look out for opportunity and seize it when it comes – sometimes in our hesitancy the opportunity will slip away.
Lastly, do not complaint here or there as we are fond of but be responsible for our own act. We determine our own future regardless.
Gilbert is Right we shouldn’t complain as it made us feel worst !
But I urge Singaporean not to be like a Frog in a Well. By the time the water is boiling, the frog already too late to escape!
Always had the foresight to see far 20 yrs down the road and all those PAP loyalty talk is just crap! Who don’t take care of their backside and future?
“Gilbert is Right we shouldn’t complain as it made us feel worst !”
So can we walk to talk by acting on it (like having street protests) smilar to those in HK, THA, KL, IND instead of only talk the talk (complaining). No wonder we need FTs who apparently will do much different things in their own countries.
Of course not those kind of protests only confined to HLG where effectively it is like dancing with balloons and whistles within a circle drawn by yourself.
No ways Singaporean can protest when LKY is alive!
He will not tolerate that and send in the tanks like Deng Xiao Peng did! No matter how many Degreee or Talents you have.
That is Life in Singapore! Things we can’t change let it be and follow Gilbert footstep to a better place before we go heaven!
Time is not on our Side for Singaporean Anymore! Wake up your Idea!
“That is Life in Singapore! Things we can’t change let it be and follow Gilbert footstep to a better place before we go heaven!
Time is not on our Side for Singaporean Anymore! Wake up your Idea!”
Things can change lah but the work may be long and arduous lah. singapore does not have the right characterics for tanks to roll in just like in CHI – tankees may forget and train the turret the other way lah – some of the lesser ranked persons are even more intelligent than those sqare-head at the top.
Singapore is still a Chinese Society! Never Offend your Boss or Rulers! They will kill you! By force or Bankruptcy and instill fear in your heart!
Your Life means nothing to PAP, you are just a digit in their statistics! Long term is to build 6 millions to substained the economy by hook or crook!
Change will only within PAP and Singaporeans pls sit down and shut up! Talk somemore will cut your tongue! Thanks for the America Military who invent the internet so Singapoean can talk!
So let change for a better place!
singaporeans who cannot change things here may not be able to change things elsewhere also. escape no use.
“Singapore is still a Chinese Society! Never Offend your Boss or Rulers! They will kill you! By force or Bankruptcy and instill fear in your heart!”
aiyoh, that is what I am afraid of and that is why society (the whole nation in general) with such strong boss or rulers tend to be regressive as a whole in the end – simply because those favoured ones who may not be the most worthy ones are protected and are made to look good over many other more deserving ones by virtue of knuckles rather than words.
“Talk somemore will cut your tongue!”
Yes, that is the competence of last resort for some if they cannot win out in any arguments.
“Thanks for the America Military who invent the internet so Singapoean can talk!”
while we may be criticising the ang mohs for some other shortcomings, we are still using handphone, internet, television, airplane, submarines, etc, etc, etc, etc. all mostly invented by the ang mohs. talking about asian value, kids here talk about mcdonalds, kentucky fried chicken, toy r us, etc, etc, etc.
While our tongues may be cut, they are leaving their tails too long in the open.
Singaporean should be able to change and adapt to all enivroment like Charles Darwin Said! The most adaptable creatures will be the stronger but sadly compare to collective society like Taiwan, Korea or Japan, we are way out even we are strong in English Language!
It is the Singaporean attitude of Ka Su, Ka Sei, Ka PAP that we become who we are and dare not question the boss like LKY! Even the boss is wrong we said is right like the Emperor New Clothes. Which employee dare to made decision!
Singaporean should be the most Global Citizen in the World as compare to American and be able to work in the world. Yet we are long way to go in this Scare to Die Society!
Unless top and bottom take ownership and account for their mistakes like what Temesak suppose to admit than we can improved on our shortcomes.
“It is the Singaporean attitude of Ka Su, Ka Sei, Ka PAP that we become who we are and dare not question the boss like LKY! Even the boss is wrong we said is right like the Emperor New Clothes. Which employee dare to made decision!”
That is why we need FTs to learn from them – where I have seen much younger FTs who are more expressive and very verbal (very confident even someitmes in situations where they may not be so correct) managing much older singaporeans who dare not even talk back (even in polite manner) – too submitting to higher authority.
Our country is good training ground for being very obedient and kiasi that those at the top can sometimes tell you rubbish and get away with it.
“Unless top and bottom take ownership and account for their mistakes like what Temesak suppose to admit than we can improved on our shortcomes.”
You are as good as your weakest link who ironically may be protected when he should be the very one to be let go.
Sometime I saw those expressive FTs like Filipinos during the Q&A sessions by management?
I’m afraid something will happen to they when they give sincere feedback about the company!
Think those Filipinos think Singapore is like America but bare in mind in Singapore it is still very Chinese. Feedback is just digs out the oppositions and terminated them!
I saw so much in fighting in our MNCs ! Now the MNC have gone to China for Good so all engineers are jobless! Ha Ha!
LKY once said that those who migrate are not successful here and are the second-best. The best remains. The scholars have their futures charted by the govt. He is quite right as almost all the top posts are occupied by men-in-white and their followers. Unless you are a millionaire those who are above 45 you are stuck here with the old, the poor and the foreigners on this little red dot.
“Sometime I saw those expressive FTs like Filipinos during the Q&A sessions by management?”
Even in uni where I got asked before by some FT grad here why local students do not usually voice up any opinion during open floor sessions. I was smiling in my heart.
“I’m afraid something will happen to they when they give sincere feedback about the company!”
Well, at the end of the day, the company went to China.
“Now the MNC have gone to China for Good so all engineers are jobless! Ha Ha!”
We have so many many many so called talents being very very very obedient working for other MNCs that we forget to create our own MNCs (those with good lasting brand or corporate goodwill) with all the right supporting culture (not only in terms of funding but also in intangibles like risking out-of-the-box “adventures” in the public domain) – aiyah, not those linked-here-and-there companies which have only upside but min downside and are relying on ah kong money.
“He is quite right as almost all the top posts are occupied by men-in-white and their followers.”
At least we should be glad that one of them managed to detect some missing link after two decades. As for the rest, …………..
54) KopitiamApek on July 2nd, 2009 1.49 am 50) Passerby
Looking at it from another perspective, would Singaporeans be in a foreign land be viewed the way many here view FTs in SG?.
———————————————————————————————–
No, I don’t think so cause they climb higher and faster than non-aussie. Or maybe there is but just that I don’t know haha. As for those working under non-aussie management are not too bad as their pays are supported by unions.
I think generally, they welcome migrants as they will push up house prices. Almost all my colleagues have more than 1 property.
SINGAPORE will not go down in my opinion as singaporeans are resourceful and ambitious but the rich are casting a shadow over the population, there is not much chance for the middle class to break that cycle.
Maybe thats why the gov import FT so that it can create more chances for ambitious singaporeans. Of course, some will win some will lose. But still the rich are copying, see what happened recently on news? reserving prime lot for own copy of other biz.
And the pay for middle class will never be higher than other developed countries cause we don’t have the support of resources.
I have faith in sg, just that the gov need to give more space for innovativity.
80) Passerby
Thanks for your reply
@50///If you think australia can let you retire gracefully, I hope you can open your eyes when you come over here. The reason that you see their old can do that is because they are being supported by the youngs pple (seriously, in my opinion non-aussies). And these incentives are taken away bit by bit, year by year///
Ya, Not sustainable over the long haul.
80) Passerby
///SINGAPORE will not go down in my opinion as singaporeans are resourceful and ambitious ///
Considering what we don’t have compared to our neghbours, we are doing realtively well.
I recall MM once described life as rowing a sampan upriver, A journalist asked him why is he so pessismistic. He says that is the reality of SG. When you are rowing upriver, the moment you stop rowing you go backward.
This is event worse scenario than the mice on wheels.
With our almost non existence resources, we end up working helluva a lot harder just to having a decent life, thus causing a lot of frustration among people in general.
I recall a Malaysian guy U knew who was working in SG telling me for his pay, he can live very well in SG. And he was getting a relatively lower pay for the work he did.
I though about that and concluded that he sees things from another perspective, his needs and wants are very different, as as a result he is happy. He is able to accept delayed gratification for his longer term gains. As a result he saved qute a sum, as is doing relatively well in life compared to a lot of his peers.
//// the rich are casting a shadow over the population////
I am not too sure what you meant by that.
Just spent 2 weeks in my country of birth – Singapore. My adopted home is now Downunder (15 yrs now) and recently I decided to spend a few years in China, the land of my ancestors before they left and settled all over the world.
There are so many foreign workers in Singapore and it looks like they are taking over the country! I can feel it. Singapore, in her mad rush to take in more Chinese are making the mistake of taking in every “tom, dick and harry” (to do labouring work that S’poreans don’t want to do) whereas countries like OZ and NZ are a little bit more selective. In OZ and NZ, people love to do labouring work and servants and maids are shunned upon whereas in S’pore everyone want a maid so that they feel that they are being served like a king or queen.
I am now in China and I can tell you, this huge country is a lot more easy going (and relaxed) than Singapore! Singapore is like a compressed sauna and boiling cauldron … it must be small size, overcrowding, concrete buildings and airconditioning system that add to the heat. My goodness the humid heat of Singapore is unbearable. In Shanghai here, even though it’s hot, it’s not as unbearable as Singapore.
Some facts & comparision since its pretty obvious some of you guys think that migrating down under is a walk in the park.
AU vs SG Income Taxes
Australian Income Taxes is FOC for the first 6K. Starts at 15% across $6001 and maxed out at 45% across $180K for WY09/10
AU VAT vs SG GST
AU – 10% on most stuff. Some stuff like Govt Services / Food at VAT FOC though
SG – 7% GST on all Goods and Services
AU Housing vs SG’s Housing
Wide range of areas to talk about, but if we were to talk about conventional housing (house in AU vs Apartments in SG), alongside with the same amount of distance from town to home, there isn’t any significant price difference.
In capital cities, they are often more expensive, in part due to the housing boom for the past 10 year. That put aside, homes affordability in AU is another question. Some factors to consider.
AU – Cash for Home Loans
SG – CPF for Home Loans
AU – Very high interest rates (Max 10% In FY08)
SG – HDB 2.6%, Banks hardly across 5%
For anyone who says that interest rates isn’t important, please go get a financial calculator and calculate a 300K loan on 30 year with 5% interest and HDB’s 2.6% interest and you’ll know how much you’ll pay more.
Also, the paying via HDB is also a very important factor.
AU Education vs SG Education
AU – Free Education till Uni. Pay for Books. (Less Stressful)
SG – Cheap Education till Uni. Mainly pay for Books / Misc Fees. (Very Stressful)
AU’s Uni – Residents pay 25%, approx A$25K for 3 – 4 years Course. Govt Loan Avail.
SG’s Uni – Citizens pay around S$20K for 3-4 years course. Bank Loan (managed by MOE) avail for up to 75%. Can also use Parents CPF if enough money.
Social Welfare
AU – Social Welfare to some extent
SG – NIL
Social Security (Note – Different from Welfare)
AU – SuperAnnuation – 9% Employer Contribution
SG – CPF – 20% Employee Contribution, 14.5% Employer Contribution.
Note that Super can be used for Investment only but CPF can be used for investment + housing.
Medical
AU – High Quality Free Healthcare System, complemented by Private Insurance.
SG – High quality Medical System (Expensive)
Some notes here.
AU – While AU’s Healthcare is good, there are also complains about it being slow et al. But considering that its free, nothing much to complain about. Most citizens will have some form of Medical Insurance to cover themselves for family, which costs around A$2K+ for a family of 4.
SG – SG’s healthcare can be very expensive for the uninsured. The Govt’s 3M system does mitigate the situation somehow, there there will be people who fall off the cracks..
SG’s healthcare + point would be the extremely cheap insurance. Catastrophic Medical Insurance is often under $200 PA (using medisave) and very affordable. Adding rider to these insurance means a very comprehensive insurance scheme which means one will not be required to pay a single cent for most insurance.
FYI, anyone earning around $1K a month will contribute approximately slightly under $100 to Medisave Account per month.
The major problem with the 3M + Private Insurance is cases where no hospitalisation is required. Like outpatient cancer treatment, where drugs cost over $3K and no insurance can be claimed / govt does not subsidy.
Lifestyle
AU – Pace of life slow
SG – Pace of life fast
AU – Working time pretty fixed and people don’t expect you to work as hard
SG – You want money, you work hard. Harder and harder…
AU – Cars Cheap, but a must have
SG – Cars Expensive, but not a must have
AU – Wide Open Spaces
SG – Need I say more?
AU – Expensive for out-of-country travel (by virtue of Qantas)
SG – Cheap for International Travel
AU – Childcare is HYPER expensive
SG – Maids cost Max $1K. In AU, you can’t even smell that.
Salary Structure
AU – Conventional payscale studies show that their payscale is around 20% higher then Singaporeans (Note the much higher tax)
SG – Lower payscale but lower income taxes
As a person who has looked at AU migration actively for close to 2 years (and is still looking), there are good and bad in everything. Before anyone wack SG for it being a crap place, ask yourself if AU is better. If you have a good, high paying job in AU then perhaps. But if you’re also having a good, high paying (like 5/6K job in SG, then you would be comfy here as well)
Anyway, just providing another point for reference.
@Passerby
Try retiring in Australia without working there for 20/30 years and paying off your mortgage and you must be joking. Have you even did your sums before?
Super was created because the Pension scheme cannot sustain the entire country. The Govt’s welfare is a last resort and only on subsistence. Do you really think the Aussie are going to give you A$5K a month to spend when you grow old?
After 50 yrs of Self Rule, majority of citizens already worn out and look forward to better future elsewhere!
Their depressed pay by FTs will never beat the rising HDB prices even in a recession.
If Life is just about 5C(Cash, Condo, Credit C) and Score As in A level, it is very shallow! It should be more than that! We live once and for our Dream to do greater things!
No wonder now we lose out to Taiwan, Korea, Hong Kong with no innovative products like iphone out of Singapore.
When we grow Older to Die, the Foreigner Talents would no want to support us by paying higher GST! They will earn their money and leave!
To inix
One more point to note:
AU – Min wage protection
SG – Fight with FT/ FW
@Small Time Businessman
Agreed, and I actually agree the implementation of Min Wage in SG. But the question would be likely be a underlying and sudden increase of inflation. Who wants ah?
Furthermore, if one is living on min wage anywhere, its likely they won’t be able to migrate to AU lah
To inix
maybe other cost of doing business/living should come down, eg rental, petrol tax, hdb prices etc
Inix
Thanks for your detailed comparison on living standard between Singapore and Australia.
It is not only very analytical but comparative.
As spoken before, there is no perfect country besides heaven of course.
Each country has their pluses and minuses.
I guess those Singaporeans who migrate are looking at options – ways to move on to a fresher hopefully better place to live their life.
There are several reasons why people chose to migrate:
1. Lifestyle – this to me is one of the chief reasons why people migrate. People are sick of a work place that is exploitative and unreasonable. Moreover, the pay is nothing to shout at unless you are the top brass there. Work is also demanding and perfectionist. Stress is the by product of our working system back home. They want a life and when they migrate many find that there is life after work. Of course if you earn $5-6K in SIngapore, it is unlikely that you will want to search for greener pastures.
2. Education – many parents chose to migrate as their chidlren could not cope with the stressful demanding curriculum there. Some kids exhibited psychological stress and the educational system in Australia is more relaxed and not so demanding. The emphasis is different here. Chidlren learn more to express themselves and there is no exam during primary school eyars till I think Sec 2.
3. Personal – there are also many personal reasons why people migrate. Some left because of the lack of political space. Others are unhappy with our government top-down approach. Some just want a break from the boredom of living in a country for decades.
I also realise that people who miragte are often adventurous, creative and risk taking. They often explore options to live a better qualitative life. Money may not be the chief reason why people left. To me, many lose out here due to the high taxes. Singapore is a better place to earn money if you work very hard but there is a high price to pay.
At a certain age, money doesnt appeal to many. We all need money to survive of course but it is not the chief determinant of how we live our life. We want to pursue our ideals and dreams.
I urge all Singaporeans to strive on despite the harsh environment back home. Do not complaint against the government too much and lose your reasons for living on. Do not envy us as we also have our own problem here. There is the adjustment issue and we all miss our family members and friends back home ALOT.
More importantly, live life meaningfully wherever you are. Live is too short to always wish for things to become better.
inix
Did you take into consideration tax by other names? Am referring to Levy, ERP, food court rental, etc etc.
Inix, Re Comment #85. Some Singaporean migrants can buy a house outright in Australia with their CPF money, so mortgage is not an issue. With mortgage no lonegr being a factor, life in Australia is a bed of roses. You have the option to work part time or start a small home based business. No more rat race like in Singapore. Also, families get a better deal here as the fortnightly Family Tax benefit payments offset some or all of the PAYG tax that you pay.
@Angelina
Not quite sure what you mean by Levy / Food Court Rental? On ERP, Sydney isn’t any better. Sydney’s highway tolls arnt any cheaper.
@Gilbert Goh
Agreed. There is no right and wrong. But looking at the complains about the government on the various things like ERP, high govt salary, its almost 90% about money.
Personally, I’ve got nothing to hide. Money IS an important part, so my comparisons are always money first. Lifestyle comes automatically after that
Thanks inix :-)
@Maximillan
You’re not telling the actual story. To immigrate to AU, you can’t get the Passport directly. It will take a minimum of 3 years from the day you move from SG to become the Australian PR.
To cash out your CPF, you will need to discard your Singapore Passport to get the moolah.
@Small Time Businessman
if SG remove Petrol Tax, will you take a corresponding increase in other taxes? We have extremely low income taxes, so other indirect taxes must also play a part.
Rental – Thats market forces at work eh? So do we now want the government to become socialistic? FYI, Australian rental isn’t any cheaper ah?
HDB Prices – Same old reason again. Australian houses are any cheaper? Despite the Economic Crisis, prices has only came down 10% hor. And I am monitoring both SYD and MEL very actively.
inix Re # 96. It’s actually four years now, but that fact is irrelevant. If you’ve got enuf moolah in the CPF, you just have to grin and bear it for four years after which you will live in Australia debt free. That’s the situation I am in right now, and I can tell you for a fact, the feeling is simply priceless. I am luckier though as I only had to wait two years under the old rules.
inix, Re: property prices. $550K gets you a four bed house on a 550m2 block in a nice suburb like Glen Waverley in Melbourne. Pray tell what that sort of money gets you in Singapore?
82) KopitiamApek on July 2nd, 2009 9.12 pm
“//// the rich are casting a shadow over the population////
I am not too sure what you meant by that.”
apek, it means (my interpretation) that the very very rich (those extremely filthy rich especially who are welcome with open arms & who buy properties like toys in this very very land scare country) have a tendency to inflate the prices of everything in general (as expensive property prices (subsidised housing ?) will form a major cost component over your lifetime) and thus drowning the purchasing power of those common people here.
Last when our country was not so rich, a family of 4 to 5 can sustain on the income of one breadwinner with real affordable shelter. Now a new couple will have to really consider the option of having kids with high front-end commitment of even a subsidised shelter (currently still marketed as affordable while it still invites complaints).
This is made worst by encouraging higher and higher floor development and at the same time liberal policies welcoming ‘talents’ (some leaning on fake degrees) to boost / sustain demand and turning this place like sewage compressed into a small sardine can.
In big country, development (whether housing or industrial) can always slowly expand away from the urban city area to outlying sub-urban or country side. In a country like ours, it is not too difficult to envisage how this will turn out if the above scenario continues its current course.
After 40 yrs, try get a job even you are a Manager before in Singapore!
Go fly kite! Employer just want young fresh and innovative below 35.
Sometime I see those PMETS in E2i, I really pity them some are retrenched VP, manager wtih children and no one want to employed them!
That is life, unless they pick up their own feet and be Businessman , No one can help them! Call God for Help! Help! God pls help me!
Where is God????
For me no children I still can survived on my fully pay HDB and Car and still get some savings.
If Die Die sell away my house and move to else where!