MORE than 16,000 people had applied to be teachers as at the end of last month.

Education Minister, Dr Ng Eng Hen

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

26 Responses to “More applied to be teachers”

1. blackfeline 6 June 2009

sure..and which countries r they from? And those who r successful..how many singaporeans made e cut?

2. hear! hear! 6 June 2009

Shows that all other sectors of industry are not healthy. Govt just employ the whole country so that we can be like N.Korea lah!

3. mice is nice 7 June 2009

of the 16000 how many really want to teach?

will those who do not have the aptitude, take their job related frustrations on the students anot?

4. I Can Honestly Say . . . 7 June 2009

that I am one of those who applied.

After applying for more than a hundred jobs outside, I only managed to get 3 interviews. Of the 3, 1 rejection, nothing heard out the other 2 after more than a month and a half.

so teach lor….provided you are even given a chance.

if not how to survive in this country?

JCS? Hello…where are u??

5. here is the dilemma 7 June 2009

here’s the dilemma: if you want to keep teaching jobs just to singaporeans, then don’t complaint about the quality and cost of teachers. if you want to raise the teaching standards, then don’t complain about not giving more employment opportunities to singaporeans.

6. Singapore for Singaporeans 7 June 2009

How to increase jobs for Singaporeans:

1. SAF to take in more uniform and non-uniform personnel.

2. Civil Defence to increase its capacity and capabilities.

3. Police to take in more traffic police instead of out-sourcing.

4. Police to employ people to monitor and arrest jay walkers.

5. ISD to employ more people to guard the Whitley Road Detention Centre.

6. Prison Authority to employ more wardens, physical exercise supervisors and rehabilitation officers.

7. Social Services to increase more helpers and social service officers.

8. All Ministers are barred from driving their own cars; they must employ personal drivers and more body guards.

9. All MPs must employ own body guards and also employ people to help them – must not allow them to use free services from volunteers in grass-root organisations.

10. Town Councils to employ more inspectors to inspect buildings and other infrastructures and amenities.

11. GIC, GLCs and Temasek cannot employ foreigners.

12. NTUC cannot employ foreigners.

13. Civil Service cannot employ foreigners.

14. All Ministries cannot employ foreigners.

15. All Statutory Boards cannot employ foreigners.

16. All local banks cannot employ foreigners.

17. Hospitals cannot employ foreigners. This will force Ministry of Health, Ministry of Education and Ministry of Manpower to provide more opportunities for local Singaporeans to be trained as nurses and doctors.

18. The quota for companies to employ foreigners should be fixed at a ratio of 1:10 (one foreigner for every 10 locals employed).

19. Salaries/wages for foreigners should be lower than those for local Singaporeans.

20. Construct Old Folks Homes and Old Folks Nursing Homes in every Constituency.

Can be done? Obama will say, “YES, YOU CAN!”
    But Singapore’s leaders will give all sorts of excuses to avoid and delay.

7. aiyoyo 7 June 2009

aiyoyo

last time try to switch to teaching

wa the interviewer ya ya papaya

asking – why switch to teacher?

lucky no join; else tough job

(got cousin retired liao; he ask his daughter not to join)

maybe blessing in disguise…

aiyoyo

8. Hey Mr I tell you how to zero un-employment! 7 June 2009

Employment does not mean having income.
    This is a fact.
    1. Be an Insurance Agent
    2. MLM agent
    3. start a business – need capital. employ others . high risk of failure. tiny teeny weeny market.

Basically most if not all unemployed office workers can work as above.
    Technically, unemployment can become zero, EASILY.
    Realistically, it may not solve the INCOME problem.

Unemployment statistics…….sigh…..

9. Hand me the Chicken 7 June 2009

#8,

I have a suggestion (if not already in use) for Insurance agencies. They logon to job portals as employer. Access all resumes. Contacts may be there.
    Offer them a job as insurance agent or manager.
    From their contact info, check their identity, if given, if they are their existing policy holders.
    If not, due to the goodness of their policies and care for another human being,
    hire them as agents so that you can tell them how good your policies are.
    Who knows, the unemployed if accept the job, could also consider buying a policy from them so as to benefit from their caring policies.

if you multiply this effect.

10. Kill-netizen?? 7 June 2009

to Singapore for Singaporeans.

>>Construct Old Folks Homes and Old Folks Nursing Homes in every Constituency

Hallo, do yo know that ALL the nursing aides from Old-folks-home and Nursing home (usu 30 per organisation) are all philipinos, burmese, PRCs and sriLankans.

11. Vision 7 June 2009

Teaching has always been a high calling. It’s not just another job. Teachers impact young lives for better or worse. If you’re not call to teach, please choose another vocation.

It is without doubt from 1st hand experience of my kids, good teachers produce good results, poor teachers deiver bad results … in the lives they teach, not just academic performance.

16,000 is a very large pool of applicants. MOE please don’t compromise in your selection.

12. KopitiamApek 7 June 2009

6) Singapore for Singaporeans

someone posted in the other topic on civil service saying that exisitng 60k civil servants already costing $2.6 bil annually .
    How much is your proposal gonna cost?
    Are you prepared to pay higher taxes for that to happen?

13. KopitiamApek 7 June 2009

11) Vision

////Teaching has always been a high calling. It’s not just another job. Teachers impact young lives for better or worse. If you’re not call to teach, please choose another vocation. It is without doubt from 1st hand experience of my kids, good teachers produce good results, poor teachers deiver bad results … in the lives they teach, not just academic performance.///////

Absolutely in agreement with you.
    Sadly we get some teachers who seemde to have got their calling from a different planet.

Good teachers, I salute you.

But to the rest, some would say this:
    “Those who can, work
    Those who can’t work , teach
    Those who can’t work and can’t teach become principals”

14. KopitiamApek 7 June 2009

7) aiyoyo

Thank you for not being a teacher.

15. Teodore Kam Ho Pin 7 June 2009

16000 teachers means 16000 more public servants or civil servants?

And what are they not supposed to do?

16. Southpaw 7 June 2009

I’m a current teacher. Yes, situation is bad in local education. Those people making decisions are often not doing things for the kids. Lots of actors. No worklife balance. Stressful if you want to do the right thing. The service is getting all the wrong people and parents are simply crap. They expect me to play their roles in their child’s life & i ‘m not even married. LOL.

Worse of all, teaching is the least i do. I am more of an event organiser.

That is why the turnover rate is freaking high despite the relatively high pay.

16k in this year, 15k out after the bond…………

17. Happy For Teaching Profession but 7 June 2009

I did applied but did not even have the MOE’s courtesy of the outcome…..

18. mice is nice 9 June 2009

hi KopitiamApek,

can i offer my opinion in referance to point #6?

some people who have been working for too long in 1 place tend to treat the place as their own, like big boss. having fresh faces sometimes (not always) keep the slackers on their toes, as with private sector, hire & fire process can take place at the same time. self renewel, a survival instinct?

Utopia situation:
    firing those who underperform (at all levels, even the top) can send a strong message that there is no “iron ricebowl”. hiring excess to reduce individual workload & allow teachers to concentrate on core tasks, with students benefiting.

real world sitation:
    that’s a big IF…

19. toiletmatter 9 June 2009

>>6) Singapore for Singaporeans on June 7th, 2009 5.34 am
    >>How to increase jobs for Singaporeans:

u forgot the fact that pap is giving away free red passport to FTs as easily as giving away red packet some more even without NS commitment, so eventually ur whatsoever job security to ‘singaporean’ is being played out meaninglessly

20. KopitiamApek 10 June 2009

18) mice is nice ,

///can i offer my opinion in referance to point #6? ///

I think the numbering shifted.. not too sure which one you’re refering to leh….

but on the topic you are on.
    ……”slacking” to “no worklife balance”…….2 ends of a spectrum

21. KopitiamApek 10 June 2009

17) Happy For Teaching Profession but
    //// I did applied but did not even have the MOE’s courtesy of the outcome…..////
    I believe most large org pte or gahmen would have stated upfront they will not reply to unsuccesful applicants, for logistical reasons. But why not just pick up the phone and call to ask?

22. KopitiamApek 10 June 2009

18) mice is nice

another aspect:

business continuity…
    ancient employees in cobwebs….to…..ever changing staff, like a revolving door, staff changing as often as underwears……2 end of a spectrum

23. mice is nice 11 June 2009

hi KopitaimApek,

dun go on the extremes ends of the spectrum, the more ideal + realistic solution is not at the ends.

some things move so fast yet seems so still, are 2 ends of a spectrum that co-exists in nature.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

so back to the topic of staff (teacher) recruitment. the main question is who benefit more from the surplus, fellow teachers or students?

24. KopitiamApek 12 June 2009

23) mice is nice

///so back to the topic of staff (teacher) recruitment. the main question is who benefit more from the surplus, fellow teachers or students?///

Singapore over the decades of nation building has tended to do better in the “hard” aspects, like urban renewal, public housing, infrastructure, expressway network, MRT network, reservoirs, power supply.

Similarly, in the hard” aspects of education, we did well. Spanking new schools and new JCs, nice Polys, SMU, etc and just look at ITE East !

But when it come the the “soft” aspect, like the education system, it seems to be taking forever to improve.

My answer would be – both.

Having more teachers now must mean workload reduction to existing teachers. It would take a mismanagement of a grand to actually end up with more work with more helping hands, but we should never underestimate a poor managers’ abilty to screw things up.

The students would benefit as the teacher student ratio will be improved. Unless more teachers = more homework.

25. KopitiamApek 12 June 2009

Correction:

Having more teachers now must mean workload reduction to existing teachers. It would take a mismanagement of a grand scale to actually end up with more work with more helping hands, but we should never underestimate bad managers’ abilty to screw things up.

26. KopitiamApek 12 June 2009

23) mice is nice

part 2

The schools may want to look at how the hospital managed to address the nurses shortage by hiring non nusring staff to do the non nursing work that do not require a trained nurse to do, like admin work, etc. In the old days they seemed to have to pow sua pow hai. I noticed this change over the years. I am not sure if they have solved the nurse shortage now, but is is definitely a wise thing to do. I just wondered who started the less the wise way in the first place.

The situation in school now has some similarity. Teachers are doing all sorts of non teaching work. If more variety of job posts are created, it will have a positive effect.