Please note that the forum is on Sunday, 28th June.

REVISITING HISTORY

Operation Spectrum – Breaking The Ice After 22 Years

An open forum.

No designated speakers.
Admission is free.
All are welcome to speak.

Date: 28 June 2009 (Sunday)
Time: 2pm – 5.30pm
Venue: Diamond Room, Level 3, Quality Hotel, 201 Balestier Road

Organiser : Martyn See
Blog : http://singaporerebel.blogspot.com

Members of the press (and the ISD) are welcomed.

Audio recordings are welcomed but no photography and video taking in the auditorium please.

Donations at the event to help me defray the costs of venue rental will be appreciated.

———————————————————-

“As far as I am concerned, the Government’s case is still not proven. I would not say those fellows were Red, not from the stuff they presented…I think a lot of people have this scepticism. ”
- Attorney General Walter Woon, Straits Times, 6 July 1991

“Although I had no access to state intelligence, from what I knew of them, most were social activists but not out to subvert the system.”
– Minister for Finance Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Straits Times 2001

“When writing memoirs, you are talking to posterity. Among them will be historians who will check what you write against the accounts of others. So do not shade the past.”

- Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew, Straits Times, July 17 2007

Links on Operation Spectrum :

Operation Spectrum on wikipedia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operation_Spectrum

‘Marxist plot’ revisited
http://www.singapore-window.org/sw01/010521m1.htm

“Marxist Conspiracy” arrests – 20 years on

A detainee remembers

‘Marxist Conspiracy’ annniversary remembered

———————————

The Online Citizen’s Special Feature

May 1987 – A conspiracy un-proved
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/may-1987-a-conspiracy-un-proved/

Passion for activism extinguished…but not for long
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/passion-for-activism-extinguished%E2%80%A6but-not-for-long/

Straits Times of May ‘87 – Four days of government statements on “Marxist Conspiracy”
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/straits-times-of-may-87-four-days-of-government-statements-on-marxist-conspiracy/

The Marxist Conspiracy – Not forgetting the evil things that have already been done!
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/the-marxist-conspiracy-not-forgetting-the-evil-things-that-have-already-been-done/

Was it a Red or White conspiracy? http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/was-it-a-red-or-white-conspiracy/

29 July 1987: Chiam’s finest hour (Part One)http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/29-july-1987-chiam%E2%80%99s-finest-hour-part-1/

Chiam’s finest hour (part two): the government responds
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/chiam%E2%80%99s-finest-hour-part-2-the-government-responds/

Let the people judge
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/let-the-people-judg/

Remembering the 22
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/remembering-the-22/

Teo Soh Lung – In her own words (Part One)http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/toc-exclusive-teo-soh-lung-%E2%80%93-in-her-own-words-part-one/

Teo Soh Lung – In her own words (Part Two)http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/teo-soh-lung-%E2%80%93-in-her-own-words-part-two/

That we may dream again – book review by Chee Siok Chin
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/that-we-may-dream-again-book-review-by-chee-siok-chin/

“Operation Spectrum was political rape”
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2009/05/operation-spectrum-was-political-rape/

——————————

Additional reads:

Detention of journalists and lawyers under the ISA
http://singaporerebel.blogspot.com/2007/03/detention-of-journalists-and-lawyers.html

Surviving long-term detention without trial
http://singaporerebel.blogspot.com/2007/03/surviving-long-term-detention-without.html

Life in Singapore’s political prisons
http://singaporerebel.blogspot.com/2007/02/life-in-singapores-political-prisons.html

The ISA as a political tool
http://singaporerebel.blogspot.com/2007/02/isa-as-political-tool.html

Political detention in Singapore : Prisoner case histories
http://singaporerebel.blogspot.com/2007/02/political-detention-in-singapore.html

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

70 Responses to “Operation Spectrum – A public forum”

1. Overseas Sporean 8 June 2009

Don’t know if it is relevant to your discussion but why does the Govt has to ban Tan Wah Piow’s book? What is the reason for this drastic action? My own personal guess is of course that the Govt does not want the Spore public to hear the other side of the story at all but why? And does the Spore public not have a right to choose what they want to read or hear?

Yes, I am angry that the book has been banned in Spore. If the Govt has the power to decide what literature is allowed, how can we have a ‘government free’ history account of this episode?

2. Banana Kangolees Gown of Clowns 8 June 2009

Wayang party petition had less than unemployment event (20 turned up) organized by TOC’s members.

Its reported that the few who reached Clarke Quay were discouraged by the presence of MSM tv cameras and reporting crew.

That event was a success in that people successful shunned away.

I do , however, wish you all the best in your this event.

In spirit, i support your event.

tchuus.

3. Martyn See fan 8 June 2009

I wonder is this important historical fact reflected in the history books of today?

4. Concerned Sporean 8 June 2009

Post in #2 is right. The Spore Govt has produced zombies in Spore who will distant themselves even from such academic discussions. I wonder how can Sporeans call yourself educated or worse a scholar if you don’t question things like these. Showing interest is besides the point, if you are educated, you should also be a thinker and if you are a thinker, forum such as this is best place to be. Sadly for many, education is a matter of learning from given text, no questioning, no alternative reading, no discussion (if any, got to be in school grounds).

5. Overseas Sporean 8 June 2009

Martyn See fan @3
    Whether it is mentioned in history books is not the point, who’s account gets mentioned is crucial. If they can ban the other side of the story, of course it will enter Spore history the Govt way!

6. Isrizal Mohamed Isa 8 June 2009

#1 Overseas Sporean

Was/Were there ever any directive or directives to ban Wah Piow’s books? Then it would a matter of great irony that his books are listed in A SENSE of History: a
    selected bibliography on history of Singapore.
    http://www.lib.nus.edu.sg/bib/sh/sing1965k.html

Is it “Freedom of Information” or “Freedom to Information” that we are dealing with here?

7. anomynous 8 June 2009

Can do a video conference with Tan Wah Piow or not?
    A laptop with webcam and a wireless broadband dongle will do it on the cheap.
    Just one suggestion.

8. Ho Mai Lan 8 June 2009

In the west, creative people love these kinds of events which stimulates their creativity and thinking by listening and analyzing alternative views.

But that is for 1st world creative western citizens of the intellectual kind.

Asians, well, I am not so sure dare to turn up.

9. Isrizal Mohamed Isa 8 June 2009

#8 Ho Mai Lan

Please, don’t use “Asians” as a representation of a monolithic entity. Singaporeans
    is good enough then again it can be argued even if only a few do turn up.

Commemorating the 20th anniversary of Operasi Lalang:

http://www.aliran.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=396:commemorating-the-20th-anniversary-of-operasi-lalang&catid=49:2007-8&Itemid=10

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operation_Lalang

10. Watchman 8 June 2009

I am quite puzzled by Minister Tharman remark that he has “no access to state intelligence”. I find it very hard to understand:

(1) Being an intelligent person, I assume he would ask questions when confronted with an important issue that remained unresolved?
    (2) Being at the top of the top of Singapore leadership, it is not convincing that he has no access to “state secret”?
    (3) Being a PAP candidate, I would assume this would be one of the question he may want to ask during the Tea Session before deciding to be a candidate as MP?
    (4) Being a MP who represents Singaporeans at large, he would asked whoever in-charge of ISA for an explanations during parliament meetings?

Can somebody enlighten me ?

Quote: “Although I had no access to state intelligence, from what I knew of them, most were social activists but not out to subvert the system.” – Minister for Finance Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Straits Times 2001

11. prettyplace 8 June 2009

# Watchman….

Most are on a Nedd To Know Basis…proberbly…..lol…

12. Omega Lee 9 June 2009

Meanwhile the REAL (Malayan) Communist Leader is a celebrity in the little Red Dot. Er Ren Xian Gao Zhuang.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chin_Peng

….
    Chin Peng has lived in exile in southern Thailand and has also given lectures in the National University of Singapore.
    ….

Chin Peng has never expressed regret overseeing Communist Party of Malaya in their war against Malaysian goverment, in fact, is proud of it as written in his book, “Every generation shapes its dreams. But you pay for your dreams. We certainly paid for ours. I do not regret having fought for what I considered – and still consider a just cause.” (Chin Peng, 2003:9)”

13. gemami 9 June 2009

We have to be kinder to ourselves and know that every struggle has to begin somewhere. This event could just be the impetus to kick start the struggle for true democracy – with ammunitions provided by the government from 22 years ago.

14. Suppose you have travel back in time through a time machine and you are brought back to the medieval dark ages when everyone believe the Sun rotates around the earth, or when the earth is flat.

You have nothing with you that can prove that they are wrong. And life in the Dark ages is such that, you can be burnt in the stake if you dare to proclaim that the earth goes around the sun.

In that situation does it matter if you are the only one who knows the truth?

15. Daniel 9 June 2009

“In that situation does it matter if you are the only one who knows the truth?”

Truth does matter especially the same group of pappies that responsible for Operation Spectrum is the very same group that responsible to the dismay state of current Singapore today. Knowing the truth from past history is vital to wake those citizen up from their surreal make-believe dream mockup by the monarchy. The time to wake up from propaganda, lies and deception has long been overdue.

16. Does anybody see a correlation between the values of the New Guard (in the Aware saga) and those purportedly expounded by the so-called members of the Marxist Conspiracy?
    Thew New Guard gave the impression being militant in their desire to reform Aware’s outlook pertaining to homosexuality and sexuality education in schools. Their drive for reforms could have been harnessed by the opposition, posing a threat to the staus quo. Events that followed (or were allowed to happen, as some would say) led to the consequent removal from office of the New Guard.
    The members of the so-called Marxist Conspiracy were also united in their desire for reforms based on the mandates of social justice promulgated by the Catholic Church. Their purported link to the opposition could have signalled a threat to the establishment, leading to the arrests of members of the group and admonishment of the Church.
    Anybody care to share some views, just for the sake of discussion and enlightenment?
    There seems to be a body of thought today that the Marxist conspiracy was but a convenient label used by the establishment to nip in the bud the the potential influence posed by a group of social activists.
    Today, with the view that we need to discuss events in history with an eye to the future, we should recall and record those events with a dispassionate and matured outlook. This way, succeeding generations of Singaporeans will have a more rounded view of how our nation’s development was shaped.

17. “I am quite puzzled by Minister Tharman remark that he has “no access to state intelligence”. ”

HAHAHA that’s cause there is no intelligence (all dumbo) in the state lah..

18. Overseas Sporean 9 June 2009

In response to 6) Isrizal Mohamed Isa on June 8th, 2009 7.58 pm

“Was/Were there ever any directive or directives to ban Wah Piow’s books?”

- Put it this way, no bookshops will dare put one on the shelf even if a local publisher has the guts to publish it. If I can get hold of a copy, I will present it with my passport at the customs/immigration checkpoint and see what happens and challenge the authorities with your questions and then I will get ‘clear’ directives.

- Like many other things, the Govt will not be clear on directives because they know it is wrong. I think they will be shooting themselvs on the foot if they give clear directives to ban the book. Self censorship is very effective in Spore given the consequences already faced by people as innocent as the students.

- I do not know the directives but came across a post that says the book is banned in previous forum. The forumer also posted where to get a copy of the book in Malaysia. Perhaps I should have posted the same question as you in that forum however I have no doubt that was the case because I (like some other forumers) have never known of this book until the first TOC article about it.

“Then it would a matter of great irony that his books are listed in A SENSE of History: a selected bibliography on history of Singapore.”

- I am so glad you pointed this out, that it is in the library. Put it this way, they know their limits however it is not going to change the perception of the masses with one ‘hidden’ in the library is it?

“Is it “Freedom of Information” or “Freedom to Information” that we are dealing with here?”

- Both! All through self-censorship by writers, publishers and bookshops or websites.

19. Overseas Sporean 9 June 2009

For me, there are 5 nagging issues I would like the forum to discuss:

1. Do we have freedom of ideologies? Is it a crime if my ideology is different and opposite to the Govt’s?
    2. If Sporeans are only to practice the Govt’s ideology, what basis does the Govt use to pinpoint anyone with a different ideology?
    3. How do we differentiate ‘toppling the ruling party’ (thru legitimate opposition) from ‘toppling the Govt’?
    4. How can the public get to hear the other side of the story?
    5. How can we prevent this ever happening again?

20. Knowing the truth from past history is vital to wake those citizen up from their surreal make-believe dream mockup by the monarchy. The time to wake up from propaganda, lies and deception has long been overdue.
    =====

Does knowing that the earth goes around the Sun instead of other way around really matters to a person? You may be preaching to the converted here but you overestimate the extent people really care about justifying what they believe in.

Beliefs have an important habitual element. If one is brought up from young to believe that LKY is the savior of Singapore, that the PAP is the only party capable of leading Singapore, CSJ is a hooligan, the adherence to those beliefs is cheap.

Once you believe something, you will be reluctant to incur the cost of changing the belief unless assailed by some doubt that you cannot easily resist; and people do not like being in a state of doubt. Most people cannot give a good account or defense of their beliefs; they believe something because they have always believed it, not because they have a good, conscious reason to believe it.

Once a belief system is entrenched, it is likely to persist indefinitely until a very rude reality check causes the costs of continued adherence to the system to exceed the costs of change.

To me, that can only happen when an external event hit Singapore that causes massive loss of jobs, like what happen to Indonesia during the Asian Financial Crisis. So far, we are not seeing that so the PAP will continue to be entrenched in power.

21. Bodyguards vs Social Support 9 June 2009

Beliefs

22. Bodyguards vs Social Support 9 June 2009

Sorry, my finger slipped in above.

“Beliefs have an important habitual element. If one is brought up from young to believe that LKY is…..”

What is education then? Might as well continue to fall back on myths, beliefs and traditions. Are Singaporeans an educated lot or what?

23. Only Time will liberate when humans can do only so little 10 June 2009

While I applaud Mr Martyn for his effort trying to get closer to the Truth,
    I feel that such activities is done ahead of time.

Singaporeans are Singaporeans – we are not there yet, to be able to have a complete meaningful discussion with everyone who is interested. Many will not dare to turn up.

I am sure Martyn knows this reality. But he has made a correct effort – an effort is better than no effort. He may also know that many especially those lesser educated or apathetic would not even have come to this blog to read about this event.

Despite being ahead of his time, and despite the Apathetic and Indifferent attitudes of the majority, I support activities that SEEK THE TRUTH. How can I be wrong when I support the mighty Truth?

There is a valid reason to seek the truth given that even the men in white also has said they have no sufficient info or could not make the Conclusion.

Fortunately, TIME is on your side. No one can slow it down. It can help humans solve a lot of problems , when humans have failed to achieve their goals. So, we WAIT. Putting a bottle of Champagne in the freezer now is a timely thing to do – you never know when you get to pop it.

24. borderless 10 June 2009

A typical FALSE FLAG OPERATION. Just like 9-11.

25. borderless 10 June 2009

The ghosts of the past will return to haunt the gulity.

26. KopitiamApek 10 June 2009

25) borderless

Evil never dies. It waits for a rematch : )

27. AngelVision 11 June 2009

KopitiamApek,

OK, the detainees may be faulted with having a different ideology but I cannot see that they were doing something evil. I am very interested and ready to hear your version of the story esp why you consider them evil.

28. Loyola 11 June 2009

KopitiamAhpek,

The only thing that stays constant is change. Cheers.

29. KopitiamApek 11 June 2009

28) Loyola ,

///The only thing that stays constant is change. ////

And when things keeps changing, it becomes a constant.

30. KopitiamApek 11 June 2009

They were evil to themselves.
    They did not give themselves a chance to win.
    A person with a best intension to help others, must be able to actually do it.
    And not get himself into a situation that he cannot carry out his intentions, the loggerheaded approach got them nowhere. They were evil to themselves. And if they do not learnt, they will come back for rematch, and the story repeats itself.

31. They were doing what was right, what was noble, what was what thousands of other activists were doing around the world.

And what was KopitiamApek doing? Probably drinking kopi at the shop saying the same thing he is now.

32. AngelVision 12 June 2009

KoitiamApek re: post @30

Seldom do I ask people to define words but in this instance I can’t help but ask what is the meaning of ‘evil’ to you. If I understand you correctly, to you “They did not give themselves a chance to win” thats evil?

I hope you allow me to try and understand you by asking some questions to your other statements:

@30: “A person with a best intension to help others, must be able to actually do it.”

- How would a person know if s/he is able to do it if s/he hasn’t tried or even discuss about it? A start would be to discuss if things can be better and how to go about making things better. If this was interrupted or sabotaged, was this the person’s or persons’ fault? Are they then considered to be evil to have been halted abruptly? Sorry but I just cannot see your logic.

@30: “…not get himself into a situation that he cannot carry out his intentions, the loggerheaded approach got them nowhere.”

- The only way a person can avoid loggerheads is by agreeing and conforming so what other intentions would there be in this case?

- What do you base on to say that the person is using a ‘loggerheaded approach’? If I guess correctly, do you mean the person should have asked for a meeting with the powers that are there to discuss alternatives? Do the oppressed stand a chance?

@30: “They were evil to themselves. And if they do not learnt, they will come back for rematch, and the story repeats itself”

- At least they were “evil” UNINTENTIONALLY and TO THEMSELVES however it still defies my logic as who would want to get themselves into such mess and hurt.

- Do you mean they should have learned to be SUBMISSIVE?

- Do you think the same group of people will come back for rematch? FYI TOC is trying to locate Tan Wah Piow, the supposed leader of the coup! I personally think that it is a blessing in disguise for Tan to have been exiled. What would he have gained had he remained suppressed in Spore, like many Sporeans of today? He is now doing something that he has passion for, thats practicing human rights law in London. His children and further generations have also escaped from this regime.

-

-

33. KopitiamApek 12 June 2009

32) AngelVision

loggerheaded ….SUBMISSIVE, is there nothing between?
    what has he actually achieved that made you hero-worship him so much?

/// He is now doing something that he has passion for, thats practicing human rights law in London. His children and further generations have also escaped from this regime.////

are you interpreting for him or are those based on some facts?

34. KopitiamApek 13 June 2009

32) AngelVision

To add on to my comments:
    A man’s discontent is his worst evil
    I am not saying that we have to be content with the status quo, but to be in a permanent state of discontent is another ball game.

35. anomynous 15 June 2009

This public forum has been rescheduled with new date and new venue.

It will now be held at 2pm, 28th June (Sunday) at Quality Hotel, off Balestier Road.

Read details here:
    http://singaporerebel.blogspot.com/2009/06/ops-spectrum-forum-to-go-on-with-new.html

36. History is written by the victors…..but only for a brief period. The truth will surface one day and I hope to be able to witness when it comes.

It doesn’t matter how long you live, it only matter how well you live.

37. tiredsingaporean 15 June 2009

#36) anomynous
    Guys, be prepared for a 3rd option. I believe those police just don’t come around by themselves without any instruction by who we all know.

38. Anonymous 16 June 2009

28 June 2009 is a SUNDAY.

39. 15) Daniel ,

i concur with your statement.

40. Lee FATT Yew 16 June 2009

While I do not condone holding such events ,
    I do, however, feel that more needful things should be done.
    For example,
    Is it fair that All Voters vote to show how many support which parties?
    AND
    For such a tiny country which is a city in itself, where population is tiny comparatively, should ALL voters’ decision be reflected by collecting ALL their votes regardless who the majority support?

ps: “majority” here does not mean the same “majority” that is the 66.6%. The reason is clear and i assume no need explanation.

41. AngelVision 16 June 2009

KopitiamApek

I take it that you thought I “hero-worship” Tan Wah Piow because I did not condemn or blaspheme him like PAP and you do and just because I wrote that he is now better off as a leading human rights lawyer in London from what I read. You are entitled to doubt the source is right, just like I can doubt all that I read in the ST are true.

By your hint, can I also infer that you idolise and hero-worship PAP leaders?

I am not one to idolise or worship people or a tree, because these terms have a disturbing meaning of blind following. I respect the oppo leaders for standing up for themselves and for others, despite serious consequences and threats. And yes, that does not mean that I should sing their praises all day long if thats what you mean by idolise and hero-worship.

This particular forum being held is to me, not a political one, but a deeper discussion and analysis into what had happened and what should not have happened.

If the ruling party had not done anything wrong, they should should WELCOME the redress to enlighten the younger generation, to prevent any coup and to condemn Communism. Another reason why the Govt should encourage such forums is it provides good academic discussions. So often so many things the Spore students read are so remote from their experiences and they cannot relate to the real world. Hence I will be very surprised, even intrigued if the Govt come down hard on this meeting. What are they afraid of? Why?

42. KopitiamApek 16 June 2009

41) AngelVision

///good academic discussions///
    I agree with you we should hope to be able to reach such a level which would make posting in TOC a intellectually satisfying experience.
    I certainly hope to see a better proportion of good academic discussions in TOC. But, you may disagree, but from my humble view, at the moment, with exception of a number of very regular post which are very objective, there is a whole lot of ranting and gahmen bashing.

and this will lead to your point of
    ////By your hint, can I also infer that you idolise and hero-worship PAP leaders?///
    which I am have to disagree

My oft repeat term “gahmen bashing” does not equate to that I am pro gahmen.
    The issues of the world are a milion shades of grey, no black no white, sadly.
    There are many thing that gahmen has erred and have totally screwew up and I have been personaaly affected badly, but you have to agree there are also many things that was done right. Otherwise we wouldn’t be anywhere what we are today. So we must hope to see posts having courage to say the right things, hamtam when it is bad, but have courage to praise when it is done well. But most would not do that, for it is not a popular thing to do in TOC, for they will get the very crude response that I often get. The truth hurts sometimes, and people get emotional when they read what they do not like to see. It is human.

But there are time that opposing view gave me new insight, and I am grateful that I learnt a new thing, and will gracefully accept the opposing view.

So if we are wanting a more open and receptive society, we need to hone our delivery skill, in this new media, where it’s no holds barred, and yet we can post responsibly, then we will gain credit.

We should not attack opposing view to the extend that we hope the never return to TOC, (although some seems to be implying that to me at times), then we are no different to what we are accusing the gahmen of doing, not accepting oppsing views.

Have we arrived there yet? A journey of a thousand miles begin with one step. And we are fortunate that we are wearing Nike shoes for the journey.

43. Hikari Alfons 16 June 2009

Dear Open Forum host /organizer,

may i humbly provide a suggestion , which you may already have considered :

1. keep changing the venue until the day before. Keep them guessing. Ensures no surprises waiting for you there.

2. get a scanner or sorts that scans for hidden cameras or recorders. not expensive wan.

cheers. ;)

44. Maruku Bengalis 16 June 2009

Ya lor #43, i recall the scarecrow effect at Clarke Kueh (pun).

who knows, that sports reporter with his crew members may come knocking on your doors and then………all fly away…..

just a concern to share.

45. As I Do Not BUY the news (borrow from fren only) 17 June 2009

39) Anonymous on June 16th, 2009 8.21 am
    “”" 28 June 2009 is a SUNDAY.”"”

Number 39 dude is correct. I checked also. 28th is a Sunday not Saturday as shown on top.

So, this freaks me out is this a belated April joke and if the organizer is serious about it?

Pls errata asap for the readers.

46. Ah Zui 17 June 2009

Hi 45,

Apparently, the organizer has not errata for so many days.
    I am disappointed by them.
    What is the REALity?
    What is going on?
    Like this many people scared away liao. sigh.

47. AngelVision 18 June 2009

Hikari Alfons (post 43)

Why does the forum organiser need to do that? If this forum is not allowed, it tells a lot, it is hard evidence of something cynical. Publish all the details of how the forum was prevented. This is even more sensational and if anybody has half a pea brain will wonder why the authorities have to come down hard on this forum.

KopitiamApek (post 42)

- Where else can frustrated citizens do their ranting and Govt bashing without being thrown into IMH or sued till bankrupt?

- Do you have same burning passion for defending say domestic helper (Spore term ‘maid’) bashing? There are good ‘maids’ or there are some good things they have done too. If not, why the Govt?

- You also wrote “have courage to praise when it is done well” referring to the Govt. Do you praise the road sweeper? or do you think anyone would write to praise ‘maids’?. Are we really such a gracious society or is this our culture? In this respect, it is not out of the ordinary that we do not praise the Govt, in fact it is awkward to praise and I think people (me included) find their hair standing on ends if they read esp straight line praises for this Govt!

48. KopitiamApek 18 June 2009

46) AngelVision

I actually do praise cleaners for their job well done.
    I do praise my maid for a job well done too.
    And I will praise the gahmen for what they done well.

This is depositing into your emotional bank account (if I may borrow from Stephen Covey)
    It is good to do this regularly, for it must come a time when it is time to hamtam, like telling your maid that the even your dog will flee if it tasted the atrociously bad tasting meal she cooked this evening,
    , …because you have been honest about their good work in the past, they will be more willing to listen to you

Praising may be ackward initially, but believe me, it gets easier over time.
    And for the hair standing thingy, use shaver lah : )

49. KopitiamApek 18 June 2009

46) AngelVision

and one more thing, do your self a good therapeutic favour

list down honestly 20 good things this gahmen has done for you for a start
    (I will provide the shaver if necessary : ) )