Ng E-Jay and Leong Sze Hian / Current Affairs Desk

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong’s uncharacteristic comments about flying economy class as a way of leading by example cannot be taken seriously. The only way for him and his senior ministers to gain greater respect would be to lower their own salaries to more acceptable standards.

A SOUTH Korean official got it all wrong when he called Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong’s decision to fly economy class “praiseworthy” and “pragmatic”.

(Photo: Some Singaporeans are unhappy at Mr Lee’s extravagent salary. Courtesy of Faith Toh / Creative Commons)

The Chosun Ilbo, a leading South Korean newspaper, reported that when Finance Minister Yoon Jeung Hyun asked Mr Lee “why the leader of an affluent country (doesn’t) use a private or charter jet”, Mr Lee responded by saying that he did not think Singapore was an affluent
country.

Mr Lee also reportedly said: “Besides, as a government official, I have to lead by example. Singapore’s senior officials fly economy class, not first class, for flights under six hours.”

The entire exchange, as well as the Chosun Ilbo’s coverage of it, was reported in the Straits Times. Both leaders spoke after attending the Asean-South Korea Commemorative Summit in South Korea.

When politicians start making statements that display a false sense of humility, one cannot help but question the premise of those statements as well as the issues that those statements obscure.

Mr Lee’s assertions of “leading by example” seem rather hypocritical, given the pay he receives as a minister.

Had Mr Lee’s statements come from a politician of any other developed country, they would probably not cause any stir. But Mr Lee is the highest paid politician in the world by a wide margin, and one cannot help but wonder at the purpose of this false sense of humility.

It may well be true that South Korea’s per capita GDP is only half that of Singapore, as Mr Yoon had stated when he questioned PM Lee on the latter’s choice of transport.

However, Singapore cabinet ministers on the average earn 20 to 50 times more per dollar of GDP compared to politicians of other developed countries like US, Britain, etc.

It is equally facetious for Mr Lee to claim that he thought Singapore was not an affluent country, in light of the fact that the ruling party frequently touts the competence of their cabinet ministers and public servants and high rate of economic growth as the justification for the ministers’ million-dollar salaries.

If Singapore cannot be considered an affluent country, why are we affording our ministers such affluent lifestyles funded out of the taxpayer’s pocket?

If you are one of the almost 300,000 Singaporeans and permanent residents who still earn $1,200 or less a month, or one of 126,000 or so working part-time for a median monthly income of $600 that has remain unchanged for the last nine years, how would you feel after reading the news about Mr Lee’s remarks?

If you are one of the 95,600 who are unemployed with no prospects of a job on the horizon, or one of 60,000 who are having problems paying your mortgage for your HDB loan flat, would you not be upset at the outrageous salaries that the ruling party declare for themselves?

It is sad that Mr Yoon has mistaken Singapore’s ruling party’s self-serving attitude and Mr Lee’s misguided sense of humility as “pragmatism”. The false modesty displayed by him should never be mistaken for humility.

Indeed, Mr Lee’s assertion that all ministers fly economy for flights under six hours is questionable. It is known that permanent secretaries used to fly first class for all flights, and that was subsequently changed to business class for short flights and first class for long flights.

It will also be interesting to ask when this policy to fly economy was implemented, and whether senior official fly business or first class for flights over six hours.

If our ministers really want to lead by example, perhaps they could consider reducing their salaries some more, as a $1.5 million annual salary is still unjustifiably high.

Only then can they earn a greater measure of respect among the poor and disenchanted.

137 Responses to “PM Lee displayed false humility”

1. borderless 13 June 2009

if the prime minister was to fly ‘economy’ on SIA, would he be treated as a ‘economy class’ pax?? hiii ….. be wuld be treated as first class pax seated on an economy seat and before long will be offered a business class seat.. heeee…. flight attendants should know. any flight stewardesses reading this?

what are you even talking about?

“would not have been easy” = accept fate? what kind of leader is that? a lazy one?

tells us to eat “bitter pills” ALL THE TIME, GOOD AND BAD and says money can fix corruption while the poor can’t depend just $1 more on their government. what kind of attitude is that? if that is not lacking in humility………………..

you are seriously #########

you are stupi-d. really stupi-d.

4. khaojie 14 June 2009

oh, what an ungentlemenly response.

it clearly shows the kind of gutter level people out there doesnt it?
    (read: dark forces)

LOL.

5. smallvice585 14 June 2009

Hi Ah Tua #99,

The plane is the Fokker 50 and the Asean meeting was the aborted Pattaya Summit. You can find the photos of the Singapore Delegation (including the plane) to the aborted Pattaya Summit here. The range of the Fokker 50 is about 2,000km while the distance between Seoul and Singapore is 4700km. I seriously doubt if LHL can fly to Seoul on a Fokker 50.

6. famiLee airforceone 14 June 2009

LHL can fly to Seoul on a Fokker 50 if
    a) the plane stops at either Hong Kong, Macau, Shenzhen,Taipei, etc to refuel,
    b) the plane was modified to have inflight refueling capability…… if only wife and father had been prudent with state investments

or LHL can fly to Seoul using C130, long range airplane.
    This is a better option, especially with his entourage, helps to keep costs in check. After dropping LHL and his stooges off at Seoul, C130 can then fly off and park for free at one of S.Korea’s military airbase, which can also provide free lodging, meals for C130 crew.

And of course should some unforseen mishap occur with the C130, we can trust the pilots to save themselves and dump those useless politicians onboard the flight. Many of us would be eternally grateful. LOL

7. BayesianThinker 14 June 2009

HI 96) Ng E-Jay and 97) smallvice585,

Yes, you are correct to say that there is no contradiction between Equations 2 and 4 only if both High Office and Respectability are zero.

But I hope that both of you realize the consequences of that assumption, and it is not what you think. You may think that you are positing that PM lack the qualification for high office or that he does not deserve respect.

No. Mathematical equations cannot just be applied to specific instances. Mathematics is a universal language. If you say High Office =0 or Respectability = 0, you are actually saying that they both have no value. That is, a person’s appointment as a cleaner, a manager or a CEO has no bearing on a person’s capability. And that whether a person is worth respecting or not is not important. Obviously, on both counts, even if we have minimal social experience, we know that cannot be true.

Also, it is a sign of intellectual lassitude to simply assign zero values to certain variables to circumvent contradictory equations. If Einstein was to behave likewise, he would have solved the Theory of Everything a long time ago!

8. Hotsun 15 June 2009

To enjoy a good reputation,give publicly,and steal privately.

9. About this, It’s true that the so-called “LEE” family has taken the whole little red dot over…But me as a LEE family, i seriously never see any benefits for me too…what’s going on with the surname..It’s not abt it,it’s about that family…From White House to Singtel to parliament to wherever, it’s just them. But if not for old man, singapore wun be as NOW. Singapore would be like OTHERS. H1N1 anyhow spread,more corruption, no CDAC, no MENDAKI etc, no racial harmony but riots and riots.

But for now, what we can do is wait is for the LEE family response on this and see what their thinking is like.It’s true I never seen them on economy planes before. And I agree to one of the commenter that maybe he book the whole ECONOMY plane for himself. Also cant imagine what he used his money on other things too.Think clothes all that must be tailored then food also must be fresh all that..whatever etc bla bla bla..

But if our little red dot is being overtaken by some other ppl, WHAT IF, there’ll be more corruptions?more riots?more laws loosen?

Cutting their pay is one thing.If you cut their pay,isn’t it the same becoz at most u cut by 10%,also a lot..u cut by half, also almost a million, what’s the diff?not possible also..

I’m not helping them or against them, I’m a LEE also. But what I see is true they took too much from us.esp the tax,GST whatever u all complained.

But in life it will never happen that ALL,EVERYONE will be as rich as they think, if this happens, the world will come to an end. everything will be in a mess seriously. I rather be normal with a happy life than famous,f***ing rich but leading aimless unhappy life.

10. It is simply unbelieveable that S’pore Ministers “fly economy class, not first class, for flights under six hours”. Can you imagine LKY or LHL squeezing with the peasants in economy class ection???!!! What did LKY fly economy class on his recent trip to KL??

I bet my last dollar that they either fly First Class or SIA gave all of them FREE upgrades from Economy Class to First Class onboard!!

11. Not Goondu 15 June 2009

Lego,

It is not FREE upgrade, its still on the taxpayers’ tab because SIA is state owned. It is just very clever way of deceiving people that he is prudent with taxpayers money.

12. Not Goondu 15 June 2009

tazmania @111,

Spore has turned out to be what it is – belonging to one familee only, is because of people like you and there are lots of your type around. You are leading normal and happy life while there are children with ill parents to support them or people supporting their elderly parents besides their own family, parents who have seriously ill children or ill elderly parents, families with disabled members or in fact just ordinary families with children but no family life (parents working 12 hours a day with children left to maids or grandparents). Spare a thought!

13. P for Progress 15 June 2009

tazmania @111,

I do not expect your type to do anything but please let the others who care enough to get on. If you want to suppress anybody, at least do not suppress the already suppressed. The PAP is powerful enough to do that, they don’t need you.

If everybody is like you, worrying that life will be worse for yourself if we rock the boat, this whole world will still be in the dark ages!

14. Not Goondu 15 June 2009

To Thinktok

Re your post “Frankly i find your arguement hard to understand. 99 year leasehold (zero asset). That generally freehold is more valuable than leasehold I can agree. But some leasehold properties are very expensive about $2000/sq ft and you call them Zero asset. Do you know what you are talking?”

- Ya, pehaps my argument is too cheem for you, perhaps you should think harder.

- “That generally freehold is more valuable than leasehold” – it is NOT GENERALLY, it is more valuable because freehold is truly yours – FOREVER, you own it! Leasehold is a tenure, it runs out after the contracted yrs, meaning even if your property is $2000/sq ft, it becomes ZERO at the end of it. So it does not matter whether the leasehold property is very expensive or not. Your HDB flat will begin depreciating in value after 25 to 50 yrs, this is partly why the Govt got to inflate the value of HDB. With the inflated value, the depreciation is well hidden, on the contrary, it seems your flat is valuable asset since you can make a profit selling it before the tenure runs out. If the value of an average flat is inflated to £1 mil, what happens if your flat is in its 90th year? Do you think it is still worth £1 mil?

- Do YOU know what YOU are talking??????? I hope you are not a graduate!

Re: “Your other points have no bearings and I think you are frightening yourself for nothing.”

- Oh ya, I can see now of course why YOU make such a statement! No lah, I am not frighten lah, just sharing my caution with forumers lah. Perhaps its not for you lah.

15. Thinktok 15 June 2009

Actually you are a Goondu!
    A building has 2 lives. One economic life and the other physical life.
    Before your HDB flat reaches its physical life (99 years) it already surpassed its
    economic life and therefore will be torn down, rebuild through ‘enbloc’.

You are just bitchy and you bury your head in the sand.

Govt do not inflate HDB resale prices. What for? You are Govt this Govt that. What depreciation is well hiden?? You are really cheem but in the wrong sense.

16. Not Goondu 15 June 2009

Ya la, resort to calling me ‘Goondu’ lah, bitchy lah, bury head in sand lah, then your argument will sound more credible hor?

Are you saying ALL HDB flats will be torn down and rebuild through ‘enbloc’ after some years. If yes, how many years? If you can provide this info, everyone will thank you, no need to dump and buy freehold overseas for our retirement and children’s future financial security sake.

Indeed Govt do not inflate HDB RESALE, they increase (inflate) NEW flat prices. The excuse – follow market trend (when the original idea of HDB is to provide affordable housing for Sporeans). When prices of new flat is high, of course resale will follow. Get it?????

17. what is 'enbloc' leh 15 June 2009

“Before your HDB flat reaches its physical life (99 years) it already surpassed its
    economic life and therefore will be torn down, rebuild through ‘enbloc’.”

enbloc for what ? usually for another ‘better’ block (either again public or private) ? at higher prices or lower prices ?

this has the tendency to inflate the price if it seen in the context of private property prices & also in the new flats of public housing – both of which will be chased by ↑ no. of people (both locals and foreigners of both low-skilled and the very rich allowed because of liberal open policies).

“Govt do not inflate HDB resale prices. What for?”

The above explain how it gets inflated.

As for what for ? You can’t tax on raw resources as you do not have any. So you tax / rent-seek on human resources and static properties. Why ? bcos you need local currency funds for internal public consumption & foreign exchange / reserves for import of a lot of things which you do not have ? the exact mechanic is pretty fluid and it is anyone’s guess ? Anyone who cares to debunk ?

18. Angelina 15 June 2009

Thinktok re “Before your HDB flat reaches its physical life (99 years) it already surpassed its economic life and therefore will be torn down, rebuild through ‘enbloc’.”

Please confirm if this is your assumption. Please also enlighten me what value will the compensation be based on. Is there really no difference between a 50 yr old flat and a 5yr old flat?

19. fairplay 15 June 2009

Dear Thinktok and Not Goondu

99 years leasehold surpasses your lifespan and your children’s lifespan. So why care so much about its value. We will be dead and our children will be dead. You leave the valueless miserable lease expiring apartment to perhaps your grandchildren to fight over it. You won’t be able to know what they will do with it. So just live life and be happy.

20. No Goondu 15 June 2009

Dear fairplay

I know someone will say what you say but it is not the end of the lease that you will see the effect, you start to realise the depreciation after 25 yrs! Think about your 5 yr old car compared to your new car. I don’t see how HDB dwellers can consider HDB an asset.

21. tazmania 15 June 2009

Hey guys, my NORMAL life is = parent separated, bro and sis live elsewhere,both parents not working,i only breadwinner,loansharks and loansharks..u think my normal life is like MM Lee ar…

I just saying no matter what,just be happy lor..don’t complain so much..And see what is the government next step is,and what they will say abt this..tt’s all I’m trying to say..

go sue the government if u got power lor..

22. toiletmatter 15 June 2009

>99 years leasehold surpasses your lifespan and your children’s lifespan.

unless ur lifespan is 50, u r talking cock

23. Vote for PAP………….and get SCREWED for another 5years……..

Doesn’t matter what class they fly, truth is our beloved PM & his stooges don’t mean what they say……..

Wonder how long more will us (lesser mortals) suffer in silence………

We need a miracle……short of a ‘divine intervention’ to get rid of this A Team!

From Third World to First World???? For whom??????

24. Charles 15 June 2009

I’ll believe it when I see a minister sitting next to me in Economy class!

Yes, it might be the policy for the ministers to fly economy but with the kind of $ they are being paid, these senior officials would have no problem upgrading out of their own pocket…

So it basically boils down to their pay packet which I think is the main point of the article…

25. Hotsun 16 June 2009

It is inexcusable for scientist to torture animals ;let them make their experinents on journalists and politicians.

26. Ripley Believe it or Not 17 June 2009

Should go into Ripley believe It or Not gallery.

27. “Hello Daniel #49 – For your info, all board of directors are paid handsome director’s fees. There is no such thing as FOC appointment. Money is the key. If you take a look at the board members of TH & GIC link companies, you will see that many top brass in the civil service and also from the armed forces are board members of these companies. This is how the elites reward their own members. So nothing is for free. No money no talk.”

I have always wondered, if we, the tax payers are the pay masters of these MIWs and other ministers in the cabinet, shouldn’t they be performing their jobs full time?

I mean, I as a common worker are not allowed to hold a second job to my current one as laid out in my employment letter. Reason being, I will not be able to give my all to the job that the company is employing me for, so no second job. If discovered, I will be terminated with no second questions asked.

So, with these million dollar salaries, why is it then they are allowed to hold so many positions in so many places, be it a company or a stat board?
    And if they are holding down so many jobs, which one is priority then? The minister job? Or the company or stat board job where they are accountable to their share holders?

If it is the latter, then, why the hell are we still paying these people to do a part time job? We are talking frigging 6 zeros here leh.

28. doctorwho 5 July 2009

A different set of rules set by the elites, it is no different from the ancient chinese dynasty style of ruling and we know wat happens to it.

29. i luv sg 18 August 2009

What happened in the end of every dynasty — the emperor (Lee) is killed and replaced by another dynasty

30. need t impress 20 August 2009

APEC coming to town .State buys brand new BMW. Sproun up Orchard road. Spround up building around Ocrhard road. Street becomes brighter, moneis poured into landscaping.. . All becos they need to impress. The needs and urge to impress is syptom of secuirty. .ALL these year SIN are ignored .. when obamsa comes to town.. why care when cupboard lady in waterloo street are hidden away.. One price of a BMW is enough to give her a little luxury for balance period here on earth. SINs …

31. “APEC coming to town”

Did you forget one important thing that the state need to do ? That is the state need to keep 24 hours surveillance on Dr Chee and his accomplices to risk spoiling the millions-dollar Truman show.

32. Big Brain 30 September 2009

PM LHL must be out of his mind when he said that minister take economy class. Can any body forgot that his mother have to be flown back home by SIA jet specially converted for her to brought her back to Singapore? Surely PM LHL must be mad if Singaporean believed him.

33. jaywalker 19 November 2009

Next GE is kick ass time! Their infantile charade to disguise their true grit sickens to the gut.

34. Yes, let’s unite and kick them out, dump all papy trash, every single bit of it, into the trashbin, where they belong.

35. nonsense 3 January 2010

Which is more comfortable: fly in a first class seat with strangers around you or fly in a economy class seat with all the neighbouring seats up to four rows in front and behind you blanked out ? I would much rather fly in such an economy class seat. Besides I can also order anything that I want, including caviar, and of course any TV entertainment that even first class passengers do not get to enjoy.

Personally I think it is penny wise pound foolish to pay the ministers stratospheric salaries and then make them fly economy class. The drain on the taxpayers money on the ministers salaries runs into hundreds of millions, but the cost of a first class seat is but only ten thousand dollars.
    I would much rather get the ministers to fly first class so that they can get refreshed quickly so as to start doing their job promptly upon arrival. They would save the national coffers 10000 dollars for every day they can start work earlier after a long flight.