Ng E-Jay and Leong Sze Hian / Current Affairs Desk

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong’s uncharacteristic comments about flying economy class as a way of leading by example cannot be taken seriously. The only way for him and his senior ministers to gain greater respect would be to lower their own salaries to more acceptable standards.

A SOUTH Korean official got it all wrong when he called Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong’s decision to fly economy class “praiseworthy” and “pragmatic”.

(Photo: Some Singaporeans are unhappy at Mr Lee’s extravagent salary. Courtesy of Faith Toh / Creative Commons)

The Chosun Ilbo, a leading South Korean newspaper, reported that when Finance Minister Yoon Jeung Hyun asked Mr Lee “why the leader of an affluent country (doesn’t) use a private or charter jet”, Mr Lee responded by saying that he did not think Singapore was an affluent
country.

Mr Lee also reportedly said: “Besides, as a government official, I have to lead by example. Singapore’s senior officials fly economy class, not first class, for flights under six hours.”

The entire exchange, as well as the Chosun Ilbo’s coverage of it, was reported in the Straits Times. Both leaders spoke after attending the Asean-South Korea Commemorative Summit in South Korea.

When politicians start making statements that display a false sense of humility, one cannot help but question the premise of those statements as well as the issues that those statements obscure.

Mr Lee’s assertions of “leading by example” seem rather hypocritical, given the pay he receives as a minister.

Had Mr Lee’s statements come from a politician of any other developed country, they would probably not cause any stir. But Mr Lee is the highest paid politician in the world by a wide margin, and one cannot help but wonder at the purpose of this false sense of humility.

It may well be true that South Korea’s per capita GDP is only half that of Singapore, as Mr Yoon had stated when he questioned PM Lee on the latter’s choice of transport.

However, Singapore cabinet ministers on the average earn 20 to 50 times more per dollar of GDP compared to politicians of other developed countries like US, Britain, etc.

It is equally facetious for Mr Lee to claim that he thought Singapore was not an affluent country, in light of the fact that the ruling party frequently touts the competence of their cabinet ministers and public servants and high rate of economic growth as the justification for the ministers’ million-dollar salaries.

If Singapore cannot be considered an affluent country, why are we affording our ministers such affluent lifestyles funded out of the taxpayer’s pocket?

If you are one of the almost 300,000 Singaporeans and permanent residents who still earn $1,200 or less a month, or one of 126,000 or so working part-time for a median monthly income of $600 that has remain unchanged for the last nine years, how would you feel after reading the news about Mr Lee’s remarks?

If you are one of the 95,600 who are unemployed with no prospects of a job on the horizon, or one of 60,000 who are having problems paying your mortgage for your HDB loan flat, would you not be upset at the outrageous salaries that the ruling party declare for themselves?

It is sad that Mr Yoon has mistaken Singapore’s ruling party’s self-serving attitude and Mr Lee’s misguided sense of humility as “pragmatism”. The false modesty displayed by him should never be mistaken for humility.

Indeed, Mr Lee’s assertion that all ministers fly economy for flights under six hours is questionable. It is known that permanent secretaries used to fly first class for all flights, and that was subsequently changed to business class for short flights and first class for long flights.

It will also be interesting to ask when this policy to fly economy was implemented, and whether senior official fly business or first class for flights over six hours.

If our ministers really want to lead by example, perhaps they could consider reducing their salaries some more, as a $1.5 million annual salary is still unjustifiably high.

Only then can they earn a greater measure of respect among the poor and disenchanted.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

137 Responses to “PM Lee displayed false humility”

1. tiredsingaporean 11 June 2009

49) Daniel on June 11th, 2009 10.15 pm
    Talking about salary, Are these clowns only earn in region of millions from their gahmen title ? How about their appointment in GIC, Temasek, GLC ? They say that there is no free lunch, so are their appointment FOC ?

If they were to disclose all their total combined salary + all the additional appointments hold in the various sectors within the TH & GIC, I believe this can cause a real riot outbreak in Singapore history. Thats why everything within TH & GIC are still being kept very tightly away from anyone except for a handful of family members and close associates today.

2. tiredsingaporean 11 June 2009

and may even cause an outbreak of the military, just imagine how those citizens who are made mandatory to risk their lives serving the 2.1/2 years NS at a misearable monthly salary which is worse than those foreign banglah workers while they keep helping and self rewarding themselves with millions and millions of the taxpayers money into their own bank a/c. Just use your head and think why that Teo chap who is so well respected and liked by the military was suddenly promoted to deputy PM and transfer to the PM office?

3. Retiree 11 June 2009

Hello Daniel #49 – For your info, all board of directors are paid handsome director’s fees. There is no such thing as FOC appointment. Money is the key. If you take a look at the board members of TH & GIC link companies, you will see that many top brass in the civil service and also from the armed forces are board members of these companies. This is how the elites reward their own members. So nothing is for free. No money no talk.

4. mice is nice 11 June 2009

hmmm…. military men taking on top govt positions in the country? sounds like some communist regime. hmmm….

no wonder the affinity with China, & now Myanmar?

o.O

5. Daniel 12 June 2009

Wow in this case … our politicians cum businessmen not only the highest paid in the world for top positions, they win it by a mile ! Part-time job for minister and gahmen already get millions, and full job isn’t more handsomely paid especially with government relationship to do business. Where in the world people do half-fart job and still get millions ? Only in Uniquely Singapore.

6. Go to the polls and show PM lee what is humility that he wants. There is a limitation on the insult of our intelligence. Shitty times editors should have not even mentioned this crap on the papers. when u pay peanuts u get monkeys, very true.

7. doctorwho 12 June 2009

Try flying from central america to Singapore on economy class for business trip. A total of 24 hours on the sky and x hours staying at transit point. They should all switch to economy class no matter how long the flight time!

8. white raven 12 June 2009

Oh well, the PM is right! Singapore IS NOT an affluent country after all the losses made by his fatrher and wife. But his is an affluent family, drawing millions of dollars in pay so no need to have private jet lah.Continue to use Sinkies taxpayers money to fly him here and there is good enough.

9. AngelVision 12 June 2009

Each year we Sporeans keep the Minsters up there, each year we are contributing to their next property elsewhere along with a neat sum of money to retire. Pls Sporeans, we are bleeding money for their selfish plans. Do you think they will be around when you need them? On the contrary, they will even sell you out, look at the foreign workers allowed in. Stop & Think! Is this what you really want?

10. I have reservations if what PM said is a fact or even documented in the IM (govt instruction manual) that senior civil servants and political leaders (they are not the same) must travel by economy class. My suspicion is that depending on grade and travel requirements, they fly by economy, business or even first-class.

Can someone verify? If so, PM has (inadvertently?) provided inaccurate information and our MSM is complicit in broadcasting sound bites without checking.

Is this good journalistic practice to just regurgitate what persons in authority utter?

11. aiyoyo 12 June 2009

aiyoyo

thought elites dont bluff people one,

is it now commoners kana smoked?

why like that huh? how next time?

aiyoyo

12. Retiree 12 June 2009

mice is nice #54 – For your info, many ex top armed forces men are holding top posts in GLCs and TLCs. Apart from ministers, top people in LTA, CAAS, SIA, PUB, PSA, MPA. Spring Spore etc are all top ex-military men. These people get double rewards. After their retirement, most are given top posts and with guaranteed high income too. The elites get richer where the farmers/labourers get poorer.

13. LHL’s shameless attempt to win approval.

It goes to show that the fault lines are cracking in the Singapore system and the elections are near.

14. Strange Fact 12 June 2009

First we had Napolean, Squealer and the nine dogs. Well we need a lot of position after 40 years, there are hell of a lots on pigs and dogs. But they are no longer called pigs and dogs but elites, who have the ultimate brains because of their breed.

15. Be-lee-ttled 12 June 2009

Like what #59 white raven mentioned, that singapore is now poorer after the recent investment lost, perhaps there is more than meets the eye in what our PM said.

Perhaps the depth or debt that our leading investment companies has incurred in the recent financial storm is more than what was announced. Perhaps we are a lot less affluent than what used to be…

Plus if it is true that he can lie about such things (flight sittings), he can lie about our money also.

No transparency, no idea what is happening to our money.

16. theforgottongeneration 12 June 2009

There seems to be a depth perspection issue when we talk about prudence lately.

Considering econ vs business class, the difference is probably $1+K tops, i.e. 1 with 3 zeros.

Just yesterday, announced that GSK invested $600m for new vaccine plant here. Also Health Minister said $25m spend on building 3 new nursing homes for our elderly. These are 600 and 25 with 6 zeros behind. Considering known TH losses till Nov 2008 + BoA + Barclays + ABC Learning + etc.. of at least $60+ billions, that is 60 with 9 zeros. This translates to about 100 new high-tech plants or 7200 nursing homes.

And we always lament why our home-grown industries are not picking up or that our retirees should go to Johor.

17. pugdragon 12 June 2009

“However, Singapore cabinet ministers on the average earn 20 to 50 times more per dollar of GDP compared to politicians of other developed countries like US, Britain, etc.”

Wow! That’s amazing! With such an amazing fact, the citizens must be earning tonnes more than Americans & British as well! Oh wait… We don’t…

Gosh, how does he even manage to sleep at night? We all know how many poor Singaporeans can be helped & saved with a fraction of his exorbitant salary.

18. CM Liew 12 June 2009

In this world, only here you set and raise your own salary.
    Ask yourself, is your salary set by you ? of course NOT, it’s by your Boss.

So, who is the boss of them ?? Simple logic.

19. A Tan 12 June 2009

Give PM and yrself a break, TOC.

There are more impt issues to criticise, highlight than this.

20. hi a tan 12 June 2009

these are connected to more important issues.

21. Hi A Tan, This IS an important Issue.It’s because we dont question or highlight flaws in certain policies that we end up paying the price.Never forget, Mr.Tan, dont trust any politician.They are there for the power, status and $.

22. theforgottongeneration 12 June 2009

Just yesterday also, Christiano Ronaldo sold to Real Madrid for $130m. If Singapore Inc.is to blow $60+ billions in investments (mind here, not even considering GIC losses), we should be able to buy … let see … 460 Ronaldo’s. Sure chance for Red Dot for a World Cup title, expresso! How’s that for investment worth! No need to be emboiled with LBW/STTA/Coach Liu over an Olympic silver.

For those comparing salary. Why no noise over the many years for NS servicemen? MPs salaries are pegged to their “alternative economical worth” if working in the private sector. But for a Singapore male with ‘A’ level or Poly diploma, how much are they paid during 2+ years? More than their “economical worth” of $900-1800 starting salary WHEN they join the market AFTER serving NS?? 100,000′s have been short-changed over the years & we are stingy over a business class ticket? Now, every company tries to get cheapest labor while their management pay themselves top dollars for implementing such clever schemes. Going by our NS policy, Singapore Inc. sure has lots of experience!! I hope some ladies MPs, like the infamous LBW or that Indranee something, etc.. take this up during their next Parliament speech. Show us your monthly $10,000+ worth!

69) Mr A Tan, OK, over to you for the more important issues ….

23. theforgottongeneration 12 June 2009

Just heard also, Christiano Ronaldo sold to Real Madrid for S$130m. If TH can blow $60+ billions on investments (mind here, not taking GIC losses in acc.) then we should be able to buy… let see… 460 Ronaldo’s! Sure chance for Red Dot for a World Cup next. How’s that for investment worth! No need to be emboiled with the messy LBW/STTA/Coach Liu stuff…

Talking salary. Why no noise over the years for our NS servicemen? Our MPs salaries are pegged to their “alternative economical worth” in the private sector. But a Singapore male with A level or Poly diploma is definitely paid less than the $900-$1800 starting salary that they CAN get if they join the market during the 2+ service years. Sure every company tries to pay the cheapest labor while their management pay themselves fat bucks for thinking of such clever schemes! As such, Singapore Inc. sure has lots of experience. I would like to see some ladies MPs like the infamous LBW and that Indranee something, etc… take this up during the next Parliament sitting.

69) Mr A Tan. Ok, over those you for the more important issues…

24. Wynnx 12 June 2009

What a mockery!

25. xtrocious 12 June 2009

Ya A Tan

This concerns us because it’s our tax money that they are spending hor…

26. Others are MEDIOCRE - what ARROGANCE! 12 June 2009

With highest pay in the world for politicians,
    I humbly like to know,
    if anyone knows,
    why then we still rely on USA for prosperity?
    Or is the understanding less than correct?

By:
    3 tablets on standby

27. Ang Kong Kia 12 June 2009

If PM takes economy class, they probably have to vacate at least 5 rows in front and behind where he sits for security reason. Correct me if I am wrong.

28. To 76 12 June 2009

If so, an economy flight would theoretically cost tax payers
    5 x 7 seats per row = 45 seats + 1 (that guy) = 46 x economy flight ticket price?????

and if we add the security guys or medical team that tag along…….

someone, please spare my agony! tell me if this true.

*assumption: 1 row has 7 seats where 2 for the window seats and 3 for the center column seats. Also, i assume this is theoretical discussion for purpose of enlightement only.

29. To 76 12 June 2009

If so, an economy flight would theoretically cost tax payers
    2 x 5 x 7 seats per row + 1 = 70 seats + 1 (that guy) = $ (71 x economy flight ticket price)?????

and if we add the security guys or medical team that tag along…….

someone, please spare my agony! tell me if this true.

*assumption: 1 row has 7 seats where 2 for the window seats and 3 for the center column seats. Also, i assume this is theoretical discussion for purpose of enlightement only.

30. Stevenado 12 June 2009

please lah stop talking about the salary….highest in the world….. if our pm can
    lead a good example for all ministers to follow…..salary cuts by just 40% or 50%….the whole of singapore will shed tears of happiness…..that’s what we can call our LEADER!!!! but no lah….very scare…..everybody talk about…..better still if nobody talks about it….the chinese used to say take first win first…

31. borderless 12 June 2009

Set an honest example by following that of a Japan Airline CEO.
    That’s been honourable.
    Watch this if you have not already done so :
    http://www.boreme.com/boreme/funny-2008/jal-ceo-takes-pay-cut-p1.php

1) Live in 3 Brm HDB flat
    2) Give 90% of his assets the poor
    3) Take home $1300 a month

AND EXPERIENCE WHAT IT’S LIKE TO AN ORDINARY SINGAPOREAN WORKER!

And stop all that BS about flying economy class. That’s just cheap publicity stunt.

32. I believe for VIPs, the relevant airline might upgrade the seats automatically to business class or better, if they deem the customer to be a VIP or someone with potential to become one.

So this point about travelling economy is moot.

33. Kangaroo 12 June 2009

Eh isa @84, ya hah, policy to travel economy, but he can upgrade to first class then claim under transport allowances or be invited to seat in first class without paying extra. Afterall SIA is also state owned mah.

34. Thinktok 12 June 2009

Evidently there is a lot of heartburn about high salary. If I am the ministers today I will be a bit uneasy. High is relative. Our CEOs draw $1mill to $20 mill salary. Jobwise, the ministers’ responsibility and performance are at the level of the CEOs if not more.

Let just look at the meteoric rise of a minister. Adm Lui, ex navy chief, ship collided, sailors died under his ‘watch’. He was on front page crying ‘we want our crew back’ Salary maybe $200k a year?? Hop to PSA. PSA functioned normally maybe with improvement in Security etc. Salary maybe also $200K a year. Then to Tg Pagar and now Acting Minister, salary $1.5 million a year? (not sure)

They argued that salary is not that high as some ministers suffered income lost when they joined the Govt. true but what has it got to do with Adm Lui’s ability and pay escalation from $200K to $1.5 mill? There must be moderation.

At the end of the day, they will also draw a pension or commuted to a lump sum based on their Pensionable Emoluments (P.E.) and length of service. It would be interesting to know the difference between the P.E. and the actual pay.

One morning 30 years ago I said the Parliament is such that a vote to increase MP’s salary can easily be passed. Today my wife thinks I am so clever to predict the outcome.

Anyway compared to Singapore’s achievement and net worth it is still ‘small beer’

35. Not Goondu 12 June 2009

Thinktok @86: “Anyway compared to Singapore’s achievement and net worth it is still ’small beer’”

What achievement and what net worth? There are old men & women bent double picking cardboards, there are blind people selling tissue papers, there are disabled people stuck within their 4 walls, there are many children brought up by maids (not parents), there are many children left behind in the education system, there are 90% population living in 99 yr leasehold (in effect having ZERO assets) and unsure about retirement age & income, there are……..
    ‘Small beer’? What about paying them another few millions per year then?

36. Not Goondu 12 June 2009

bordeless, you ask the PM to “EXPERIENCE WHAT IT’S LIKE TO AN ORDINARY SINGAPOREAN WORKER”

He can tell blatant lies and get away with it and he can easily FIX opposition so why would he need to do that? UK ruling party’s own members are calling for their PM to resign. Spore’s PM has his Daddy to protect him ok. His silver spoon is guaranteed, better than the princes of England!

37. red_dot 12 June 2009

“If our ministers really want to lead by example, perhaps they could consider reducing their salaries some more, as a $1.5 million annual salary is still unjustifiably high.”

Perhaps Pres Obama should also come and straighten these people up and set their maximum annual salary to not more than S$300,000.

38. Thinktok 12 June 2009

87) Not Goondu

Frankly i find your arguement hard to understand. 99 year leasehold (zero asset). That generally freehold is more valuable than leasehold I can agree. But some leasehold properties are very expensive about $2000/sq ft and you call them Zero asset. Do you know what you are talking?

Your other points have no bearings and I think you are frightening yourself for nothing.

39. BayesianThinker 12 June 2009

If Mr Lee’s detractors here are right, then

Equation 1: high salary + high office = hypocrisy – respectability – humility,

Equation 2: But, high office = respectability,

Equation 3: If hypocrisy = high salary + humility,

Therefore, substituting Equation 3 into Equation1:

high salary + high office = (high salary + humility) – respectability – humility,

Solving, high office = minus respectability! (Equation 4)

Please note that Equation 2 and Equation 4 contradicts each other. This proves that Equation 1 is wrong and the thrust of this article is false!

40. I don’t understand why the flights on economy class were raised now. Many years back when the economy was GOOD, I had the benefit to see my senior management leading by example by flying economy flights around the world, and questioning anyone down the hierarachy for doing otherwise (unless of course, the person pays for it personally!).
    If this remark was given during good times, I would have given an A grade immediately, because for the salary these policy makers receive, and the accountability to funds usage, that is a mark of blameless prudence.

41. With salaries near millions, all ministers can buy their own business class tickets and still have plenty left….. No need to make our ministers look cheap by flying economy class. Hope, they are thinking of using Budget Airlines !

“Jangantembak mayin”

42. reader 12 June 2009

why does anyone believe Pinky etc give a fuxk about what singaporeans kaopeh, how singaporeans are doing, how to help them etc etc??

after every election he, prata man, wooden, etc etc are GUARANTEED at least $20 million dollars(!!!) each no matter what they do or don’t do or how screw up they are.

they don’t give a fuxk about what we want because by just conning sinkies one time, they already gasak enough to live their elite lives many many times over.

why bother with doing a good job to secure your living when you know u don’t need to?

43. Anonymous 13 June 2009

There was a previous Project Director at LTA who had some funny military title – BG or something like that. He was in charge of one of the MRT lines but when he chaired the consultants’ meeting, it was obvious that he was not a technical man at all as he had to rely on his engineers to advise him. In fact, his engineers joked that he play more golf than attending meetings.

This is PAP’s own interpretation of ‘meritocracy’ – You angkat me, I appoint you.

44. Dear BayesianThinker,

The equations don’t contradict. All they prove is that under the ASSUMPTION that high office = respectability (which you have yet to justify), then high office = 0.

That in itself is a good theorem. i’ll post your “proof” on my facebook page :-)

E-Jay

45. smallvice585 13 June 2009

Hi BayesianThinker #91,

You forgot an equation:

respectability = 0

46. #95 Anonymous

“This is PAP’s own interpretation of ‘meritocracy’ – You angkat me, I appoint you.”

We have better examples:

[1] Ms Ho Ching – what were her qualifications/experience when she was appointed
    as Managing Director of Singapore Technologies or when she became Deputy Chairman of the Economic Development Board? In fact there was a period when she was holding these positions at the same time. When some American businessmen suggested that there might be a conflict of interest and undue business advantage benefiting Singapore Technologies because of her role in EDB [having first hand insider information, for instance], the govt or EDB argued in her favor. Likewise, what meritocracy are we talking about with regard to her position as CEO of Temasek? Somebody or some people wanted her to be seen as one of the most powerful women in the world, with the power or means to invest, or to lose, by the billions. That presumably was the whole intent.

[2] LSY – what were his qualifications/experience when he was placed as chairman of Singtel or, for that matter, as the now chairman of F & N? Special or extraordinary business acumen?

47. Ah Tua 13 June 2009

Some time ago, I read in our ST that LHL flew to an Asean meeting by RSAF plane. What kind of plane is this? A private jet? Special air force plane?

48. khaojie 13 June 2009

i dun agree that what pm lee said were out of place. it was nothing more that a normal exchange of courtesies, why make a heap of personal attacks out of it?

pm lee may have come from a privileged background, but there is nothing to suggests that he is arrogrant or lacking in humility. from my own observations, it is the opposites. the issue of pay is something we disagree with. but that policy wasnt started under his watch; even if he had wanted to change that, it would not have been easy too.

49. K Das 13 June 2009

Good, you take economy class. Please refuse upgrade (offered often to economy class passengers) when there are empty seats in the business or first class. That will be walking the talk!

50. Hello A Tan !!! 13 June 2009

A Tan, it’s about Leadership and Values. Are these not important for the country???

Look at the state of our society where do you think the underlying values come from???