Wednesday, June 3, 2009 10:47
Recession over? Not so fast, says PM Lee
In Quotes • 722 views • 26 Comments
I believe we should not be too hasty to pronounce that the recession has bottomed or that things are getting better.
Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong
26 Comments
blackfeline
hansolo
Recession is ending but unemployment woes still continue. That’s why PAP so eager to dampen any good news.
Otherwise they will look really incompetent! Er actually…
James
the world is full of fast changes … Sg is incapable for fast flexible adaptation whilst the world is moving on.
Just look at the STTA saga which has just been designated an internal matter which means it is preferred that the whole thing just die down.
forked tongue lingo
More likely the popularity of famiLee and PAP is over , ain’t that right PM Lee ?
And I hope the performance of this govt has bottomed and things will get better.
samantha_Loy
Yeah we sure didn’t hear the reverse when you so hastily declared million dollars salaries for yourself and your cronies.
CJ
I say SHUT UP already with all the negativities!
If he didn’t see the downturn coming, and now cannot do MUCH to help the people during this recession, it is BEST to just SHUDDUP!!!!
… busy yourself counting your salary.. please. Just shuddup…!
aiyoyo
aiyoyo
since “should not be too hasty to pronounce that the recession has bottomed or that
things are getting better.”
so what’s elites immediate actions+help to commoners?
(since commoners paid taxes)
aiyoyo
anakin
well better to be safe than sorry…..in case his earlier remarks about U shaped, V shaped or L shaped is correct. Was it big L, fat U? Hmmmm
mice is nice
help for those who need it oso not so fast.
not so fast? work on it lar, waiting for money to fall from the sky meh?
small engineer
S’pore, the only place in the world u can make no-brainer “analytic” statements & then reward yourself with obscene salaries…
Charles
As Singapore’s economy is more export based than other countries with fewer avenues for domestic stimulation in the private sector, the recession in Singapore is more likely to be as Anakin suggests……….a fatter U, in the shape of a bigger L.
If ‘Business as Usual’ prevails and being as connected as it is to the Global Economy, the recovery will be dependent on the recovery of Singapore’s Trading partners initially and Singapore will be holding on to the coat-tails of others.
The recovery for Singapore would require creativity on the part of the Govt.
Alternatively…………
A good place to start would be to aggressively assist Singapore SMEs and to relinquish the role of GLCs in undermining the potential contributions of homegrown SMEs. Parents have to relinquish the reins.
Singapore SMEs are very resiliant as they have had to compete ‘unfairly’ in the free market with such a big GLC presence.
Doing this would start a ’snowball’ effect in the domestic economy that would gain momentum.
This way the recovery in Singapore is more driven locally and less dependent on others.
smallvice585
anakain,
World Bank says economic recovery will be a wide W-shape.
mice is nice
if we got some capable people W-shape can also become V-shape, but alas…
ziiro
Says the man who hastily proclaimed “More Good Years Ahead!”
anakin
well wide W or fat U or big L, I doubt our gahmen will do much as ministry of finance already said no more stimulus package needed. Agree with Charles, unless gahmen change the biz as usual style of attracting MNCs and using GLC, I do not think we are going to get off the ground much less fly. Frankly, i’m sick of hearing the usual rethoric recession= re-train yourself until MNCs/world economy recovers, boom time=gahmen got talent and more FW as we need to stay competitive……biggest con job in history
It has happened What to do
What do do? It happened!
What can men with fork-tongue do?
What can twisters of words do?
What can a sissy-looking leader do?
What can one who’s whole life has been suppressed and overwhelmed by dad and mom do?
Except to become an actor?
CJ
I say THEY can keep their damn GRC, but just let EVERYONE vote in next election and THEY will see if there are still a lot of people believing in their competence.
We are ENTIRELY SICK, of their administration!
IMS
i think PM is honest when he goes abroad and speak in such major event. Can you imagine if he tells the whole world the economy is on the way to recovery? What would the foreigners think of him? Back here in Singapore, all the news are saying things are improving and signs of recovery.
Sometimes you want to reconcile. If things are improving how come unemployment keeps going up and the recruit section is getting so thin?
Get real… US companies screwed the economoy and consumers for so many years. Just a couple of months, do you think they have repaired the fundamentals and they are also recovering? All those funds pumped in will take time…
The stock market has been manipulated by our so called market sentiments. Just 2 months, the whole market is back to 2007 level from 1400. Do you think its real?
toiletmatter
rather than tell the obvious tale, how about something useful for a change?
mice is nice
like electricity price rising again due to oil price?
*faint*
I Can Honestly Say . . .
it’s not difficult to be a doomsday prophet whose predictions no one wishes to see come true.
When things are actually better, one can always claim credit for being more than competent to the task, after all, would you rather he had been right in his prophecy?
Win-Win.
This actually sounds like the first intelligent thing that the PM has said about the recession. I mean, this beats all the comments about how Temasek is actually managing its money very well and its more realistic than all the comments about how well the ISA is doing to capture Mas Selamat when we all know he was caught in JB
ram
What can he say when Temasek was reported by Thomson Reuters to have lost as much as 800 million pounds on sale of Barclays Plc. The 2% stake in Barclays was bought for 1 billion pound.
It was reported in Business times that Abu Dhabi sells Barclays stake for gains of US$2.5 billion.
Singapore was wrong on BofA, ABC Learning, Barclays. I am sure he has lost confidence in forecasting, so say something meaningless.
Singafools
The least he should do — is to join…oops i meant lead LSS & his gang in singing “UPTURN THE DOWNTURN”…
#12 Charles — A good place to start would be to aggressively assist Singapore SMEs.
There is merit in what Charles says. Help the SMEs through the storm. Also, provide sees money for out-of-work Singaporeans who come up with workable bsuiness ideas. Our unemployed colleagues only want to generate income. Very few continue to hanker after titles.
Allow breadwinners to continue to put food on the tables with income generated form small enterprises.This will help preserve self-esteem.
Conduct courses to help them run viable businesses. This is what NTUC should start thinking of — and implementing. We need good ideas — not silly songs. This is not North Korea.
The nation will survive if every breadwinnner is given the opportunity and help to start small businesses. Again, this is where NTUC must play a part.
Who knows, out of the thousands of mini enterprises that spring up during the downturn, our own MNC will arise one day. If that indeed is the dream that Singapore Inc cherishes.
mice is nice
looks like there are just “a few” more losses we will be hearing from foreign media??
o.O

isn’t that a no brainer?