Source: Businessworld India

Singapore firms Singapore Technologies and Media Architects are two of seven companies banned in a corruption probe   against India’s former Ordnance Factories Board Director General Sudipto Gosh.

CRACKING DOWN on corruption in defence deals, India has blacklisted seven companies, including those from Israel, Poland and Singapore, and “put on hold” all acquisition from them.

On the orders of Defence Minister A K Antony, who had last week strongly reiterated the government’s zero-tolerance stand on corruption, the Defence Ministry issued orders yesterday banning the seven companies, which were named by the CBI in the First Information Report (FIR) against former Ordnance Factories Board Director General Sudipto Gosh.

(Photo: Indian Army in action. Singapore Technologies is the strongest contender in tenders for 155-mm towed artillery guns for the Army. Courtesy of cell105 / Creative Commons)

The backlisted companies include Israeli Military Industries, Singapore Technologies, Singapore-based Media Architects and Poland’s BVT.

“The Defence Minister has directed that all acquisition cases in the pipeline in respect of the seven companies figuring in the FIR registered by CBI in Kolkata against OFB former DG Sudipto Gosh be put on hold till further orders,” a Defence Ministry spokesperson said in New Delhi.

The other companies in blacklist are HYT Engineering, Delhi-based T S Kishan and Company, and R K Machine Tools.

The blacklisting of the seven companies comes four years after the South African arms firm, Denel, was banned by India in 2005 for allegedly paying off Rs 20 crore in a rifle contract.

The defence ministry’s action would mean that India would not operationalise any project that these companies are involved or accept supplies from them,Ministry officials said. While, Israeli Military Industries is the contractor for the OFB’s five ammunition factories for the Bofors 155-mm artillery guns that are to come up in Nalanda in Bihar, Singapore Technologies is the strongest contender in tenders for 155-mm towed artillery guns for the Army.

Media Architects is said to be supplying video-editing software to the armed forces, while BVT Poland is said to be engaged in marine engineering and naval architecture.

T S Kishan and Company is said to be suppliers of spares and accessories for Army’s T-72 and T-90 tanks, and infantry combat vehicle BMP-II, while Pune-based HYT Engineering supplied components of missiles produced within the country.

Ludhiana-based R K Machine Tools supplied spares for vehicles and machinery produced by Bharat Earth Movers Ltd.

However, the Defence Ministry has sought a detailed list of equipment and material that these blacklisted companies provided to the armed forces and the list was still awaited, officials said.

The CBI had filed the FIR against Gosh on May 17 this year on corruption charges. Although no charge sheet had yet been filed in the case, there were concrete evidence such as transfer of money to personal accounts that were detected, the Defence Ministry spokesperson said.

“The government views both receiving and giving bribes as an offence and as such there cannot be any lenient view on this account.

“The matter will be further reviewed as and when the CBI provides more evidence. The Defence Ministry desires to tackle issues of corruption in procurement cases head-on,” the spokesperson added.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

53 Responses to “Singapore Technology blacklisted by India in corruption probe”

1. Wow.. Not on local media.

2. Subscribing…

3. Loyola 13 June 2009

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/gun-ready-for-testing-singapore-firm-top-brass-rush-to-explain/475807/

“With its 155-mm lightweight howitzer lined up at the Army’s testing range at Pokhran, the top brass of defence contractor Singapore Technologies, president and CEO Tan Phey Hock and Vice President Patrick Choy, are here in an attempt to explain to the UPA government that their company has nothing to do with either middlemen or those named in the bribery scandal allegedly involving former Ordinance Factory Board chief Sudipta Ghosh.

The company has also written a letter to the Defence Ministry and is said to have claimed that it wasn’t involved with Ghosh and middlemen, including Ramesh Nambiar, who figure in the CBI investigation.

Singapore Technologies and six companies are not mentioned in the FIR against Ghosh but the Defence Ministry has said these firms are under the scanner based on “evidence” and has put all “procurement processes (with these firms) on hold.”

4. aiyoyo 13 June 2009

aiyoyo

why like that huh?

thought they’re iron rice bowl & elites invest in it correct?!..

sad story – next time go travel keep quiet dont mention where we from..

aiyoyo

5. K Das 13 June 2009

The litmus test as to whether a country is generally corrupt may be determined by the level of service accorded to one and all at the front line counters providing the public services, be they government department services, government agencies or government linked companies. You just take a que number and wait for your turn. You don’t require to draw in a third party with bribes to get things done as in many other countries. I will give the thumbs up to Singapore for its zero tolerance to corruption as far as dispensation of publice services are concerned. As for securing overseas deals, Singapore connected agencies and companies may resort to offering something extra because it is a norm as otherwise you get knocked out if you don’t. It is because of local market compulsions and not because you are corrupt.What does street smart mean?

6. not suprised 13 June 2009

A big news like this would certaintly sell msm, but then again,??????

7. sobri 13 June 2009

Sometimes the line dividing promotions and corruption is very thin.

Many big companies sponsored hotel stays, gift packs, etc for participants of a conference. The companies aimed to make known their products.
    The amount spent could run to billions of dollars.

But if you take a percentage of that money and provide a personal gift, that would be corruption.

The weapon sale is a case of every contender doing the same. So if you are a new comer, what would you do?

There are also cases where unless you give some kind of kickback, shipping of your goods will be delayed to the point of you suffering substantial loss. One after another inspections will be made on your goods by different departments.
    What would you do?

I used to think it was a clear Black & White case………..but after listening to a number of people involved in marketing, I must confess, I’m not so sure after all.

The best I can do is neither to accept nor to ask for bribes. Fortunately I’m not in the business line.

8. smallvice585 13 June 2009

Will CPIB get involved at all?

9. K Das, you will never understand the meaning of ‘zero-tolerance’ on corruption.

You will never never understand how Lee Kuan Yew stamped out financial corruption in Singapore.

You will never understand why the US has outlawed the giving of bribes by US companies on overseas deals.

It is fantastic that a country such as India, long regarded as very low on the list of corruption-ridden countries can come out so strongly against corruption. One can’t put it down to witch-hunting against an outgoing government because the Congress has not only won the elections but has come out stronger.

Singapore (led by the GLCs) needs to shed its ambivalence once and for all and make up its mind as to whether it is a first-world country or just another Asian country.

10. lisachiobu 13 June 2009

Not surpring at all. If the cabal can “legitamise” corruption by paying themselves million dollars salaries, it shows that the ruling regime is aware of the prevailing corruption practice. Thus, it is only a matter of time when other countries bar these garhmen linked companies from infiltrating and “corrupting” the local enterprises.

11. Lim Say Say 13 June 2009

maybe its an unsourced report.
    let move on.

12. SpeedWeed 13 June 2009

not so “whiter than white” when its not our “nation building” media doing the reporting.

when u twist the truth to one person, its called lying.
    When you do it to afew million people, its called “nation building”

13. prettyplace 13 June 2009

CBI is a serious investigator…..these guys were goondu’s…the DG was already under investigation…

This is quite common in defence industry….procurement especially….
    in fact most PO’s play around with their responsibility……

Well….looks like ST didn’t know the the ropes….hahaha…getting entangled and getting a bad name……

14. Mr. E 13 June 2009

not really that surprised having worked with ST before.

15. Theodore Thio LP (Lin Pin) 13 June 2009

What we, the enlightened netizens (minority), know is not as important as having the majority People know what they dunno if there is something they dunno.
    and let them comment on the reality, if any. kekekeke

16. Singapore is a clean country…And then you have Myanmar. Anybody can recall the tie up between a local taxi company with that of Myanmar(and guess who owned that company) with the entire Opel stationwagons fleet in it’s inventory which had proven to require maintainance on par with that of fighter jets after the first year of operation?……..little red dot!….lol

17. Typo mistake of mine, the post @14 nickname is TMT. Sorry!

18. tiredsingaporean 13 June 2009

Sad to see so many corruptions going around even in govt company these days, wonder if the top knows about it or just that they keeping 1 eye closed as long as you people can just bring in profit to the company.

19. How DARE India doubts our integrity??!
    Sue them! How can say Singapore backed ST is CORRUPTED?!
    CORRUPTED, you know?

How can defame Singapore like that, India?

Mr Wee should SUE India!

Corruptions…

Corruptions and Singapore…

How can India malign us?

Singapore… …

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha…

Can I by the show of hands know who in Singapore is NOT corrupted? Singapore gahmen is anti-corruption one. Please own up, thanks…

20. prettyplace 13 June 2009

In the USA…..any company offfering bribes or engaging in such activity with any foreign company or govt…. will be investigated……

I wonder what Singapore will do…..

21. TrueBlood Singaporean 14 June 2009

Corruption can be Legal or illegal?

illegal means you do it without Gov gaining the favour like China, Taiwan, Malaysia!

Iegal means kill off all your competitors and mark up the price you want!

So Singapore practise which type! You Guess!

22. TrueBlood Singaporean 14 June 2009

There is always 2 School of Thought!

1) People who believe in Crisp Logic! True or False! Yes or No! Absolute!

2)Others believe in Fuzzy ! May Yes or May be No! Very Grey! Relativity!

So you guess who is Right in Real Life!

23. TrueBlood Singaporean 14 June 2009

Integrity means telling you everything in Private or Public!

When the Old man talk abt Integrity, always want to vomit!

Will Temesak or GIC tell you faithfully how much they lose and how much they still have! How much they still can afford to lose!

Stupid still Singaporean still chase after the Sky High HDB flats!

24. Test

25. aiyoyo 14 June 2009

aiyoyo

seems like 2009 got many news about elites/company…

not sure if these news can be read on cna?

aiyoyo

26. BG Lee 14 June 2009

Yes, Singapore should SUE India for casting doubt into the integrity of the Singapore Government. Fully support PAP govt to sue India.

27. in asia, a lot of rampant corruptions, you think singapore can avoid? you dont see, does mean they dont happen.

28. KopitiamApek 14 June 2009

6) sobri

Very well thought through point of view.
    Black & White is in an idealworld that sdo not exist
    In reality, it is a spectrum, a continuun of various shades of grey.

29. mad93 14 June 2009

Doesnt our government had stake in Singapore Technology?

30. KopitiamApek 14 June 2009

28) mad93

As at 11 March 2008, Temasek Holdings has direct and deemed interests in about 1.52 billion ST Engineering shares or 50.8% of total shareholdings.

The rest of ST Engineering shares are widely held by major institutions and funds worldwide, and retail investors. ST Engineering has over 30,000 shareholders.

31. lisachiobu 14 June 2009

Stand up for Singapore ! Our govt should act immediately and spray out defamation charges to whatever country or press that accuses our country or state-owned-companies of mal-practices.

Are these countries simply jealous that our leaders are being rewarded MILLIONS despite being the FIRST country in ASIA to be in recession ? Are they also envious that head of TH is still being bestowed national award despite losing BILLIONS of hardearned money by the ppl ? Are they even more jealous that nepotism is so prevalently and blatantly practiced amongst the upper echoleon ?

32. blackfeline 14 June 2009

last post..good idea..and knowing how our super efficient government works..to deal with donkeys they will send donkeys..in this instance who is most suitable..I strongly suggest the high n mighty shumugam!

33. RED-man 14 June 2009

this leave you to wonder, that “thingy” you buy how truth is the cost isn’t it? How much have you pay for corruption from factory to the retailer? Capitalism, just name design to tell u that you need this but you don’t. Oh yes, do you know that all over the world education system is preparing the people for the country while on the other hand everything in the country go automation? It is just a matter of time, the economy system of the world collaspe!

34. aiyoyo 15 June 2009

aiyoyo

if really the world economy crash, alamak commoners will kana hit,

how about elites?

aiyoyo

35. Is ST partly owned by govt? Under Temasek Holdings umbrella right?

36. Leon Kennedy in sarcasm 15 June 2009

Singapore Technologies is as clean as Umbrella Corporation.

37. today is a real world out there. the bottomline is when you want something badly, just make sure you get it done without any complication issues being hanging on esp politically. so if you got caught, too bad someone just have to answer it.

in sg, no one get caught and no one knows anything about it. it is indeeds unique!

38. Boh Lee Yew 15 June 2009

home ground advantage vs away matches. The record is clear.

39. tiredsingaporean 15 June 2009

#38) mike

when the news get heated up, believe me someone (a chosen sacrificial lamb) will be made to take the rap and he/she will be sacked from ST, but then again where he/she goes to after that remains a ????

40. Know Too Well Already 15 June 2009

#40) tiredsingaporean,

Agree with you. To add on:

That someone who gets “sacked” pretentiously may be awarded by NTUC to be “Friend of Labour!” or “Man of the Year” or something like that.

Then quietly “retired” into one of the “C” organisations, such as CDC, TC, CCC, RC or even “Pak Puay Si”.

41. RED-man 15 June 2009

35) how about our elites?

They have see this coming I guess, if not why so in the hurry to rise their pay? Don’t need a rocket scientist to tell you that right?

42. Not Goondu 15 June 2009

36) loop: ” Is ST partly owned by govt? Under Temasek Holdings umbrella right?”

You should ask what is NOT partly owned by govt, worse still PAP, worse still PAP members. Govt owned means that if lo and behold another party takes over, everything changes hand. Do you see it coming?

43. rWf@sfsf.com.sg 15 June 2009

A lot of indian IT companies hired only Indian staff in Singapore. Our government should protect locals and stop issueing work visa to these companes….

44. toiletmatter 15 June 2009

>Singapore Technologies is the strongest contender in tenders for 155-mm towed artillery guns for the Army.

sell it to Palestine & see how India will response (its strictly business)

45. Vote of Opposition 15 June 2009

#20:

As long as u do it outside of Singapore, you are ok. You may get an May day award!

46. tiredsingaporean 15 June 2009

# 41) Know Too Well Already

and suddenly the thought of TT Durai came into my mind now . . . . wonder which company CEO or similar he is holding now.

47. zhixiong 16 June 2009

47) tiredsingaporean – “and suddenly the thought of TT Durai came into my mind now . . . . wonder which company CEO or similar he is holding now.”

I think TH shud kick out the mr. Cheapo man and get him to be the next CEO. Afterall, both these companies are famous for being so secretive and non-transparent. He should fit in easily.

48. SotongBall 18 June 2009

This is a very serious accusation from a foreign government and we did not hear from it in the local news. I think the Government should have an investigation on this matter. Either to find ST clear of the accusations or to find the culprits behind.

49. Local news in foreign media 18 June 2009

SotongBall,

You want local (bad) news, read foreign media! We have local propaganda paper for nation-building, mistaken as newspaper. In SG, no news is bad news!

50. local 27 July 2009

singapore govt do not annouce its arms dealing with foreign nations.

if you had searched, you will realise that the ST’s FH-2000 artillery has scored big sale in pakistan and turkey, while ST’s latest SRAMS mortar was bought by UAE, a middle east country.

while the ST’s BRONCO ATTC was selected by the british to for its forces in afganistan, a first ever sale of asian APC to a western nation.

lastly, singapore cannot intervene nor interfere into the investigation by another country in their own country.

just think how embarass it would be for india if our investigators were to found the indian anti-corruption agencies taking bribes.