Friday, June 5, 2009 11:35

Temasek is “most transparent”

In Quotes • 904 views • 43 Comments

Singapore’s investment firm Temasek Holdings has been ranked as the most transparent sovereign wealth fund (SWFs) in the first quarter of this year.

Channel NewsAsia

1. Shouldn’t MINDEF be more transparent about servicemen deaths?
  2. Ho Ching’s Temasek appointment is not decided by the Prime Minister, says High Commissioner
  3. GIC, Temasek and transparency
  4. President holds veto power over Temasek CEO appointment
  5. What the Temasek debacle reveals

43 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

tiredsingaporean
Jun 5, 2009 11:44

see how they start to misled the people again! by using our very own govt controlled CNA, why not try to do it on CNN, BLOOMBERG, WSJ, REUTERS . . . . .

Daniel
Jun 5, 2009 11:51

Blatant piece of lie that can only come from Singapore. Nation-building press at its worst again.

aiyoyo
Jun 5, 2009 12:02

aiyoyo

did elites make $$$ or not?

aiyoyo

laughingtoes
Jun 5, 2009 12:05

my toes are laughing so hard till the nails are almost dropping.

blackfeline
Jun 5, 2009 12:09

transparent? sure..with lots of holes to see thru! What about performance wise?

Dont Play That Song For Me
Jun 5, 2009 12:17

CNA, go and tell that to the Marines!

Reminds me of the song by Keith Locke & The Quests:

“Don’t Play That Song”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YIMUZN0FxdU

mike
Jun 5, 2009 12:17

OF COURSE!! SURE!

they like boost so much and show off to the world by so called ‘transparent’ which is at their liberty and dispose as their wish.

but when comes to us for transparent, they ‘hide’

obscenely transparent
Jun 5, 2009 12:32

So transparent that everyone can see there is no accountability and the appointment of HC was based on obscene merit and total disregard for conflict of interest .

Yang
Jun 5, 2009 12:53

CNA. Is the worst TV station that I ever encountered. Nobody will reply you if you send in comment through email. Worst till you call them. They will tell you that all the staff are very busy. Please send in your comment by email. So in the end, you will just merry do round with them. Fortget about watching CNA. A lousy and boring TV station.

Lao Uncle
Jun 5, 2009 13:23

Temasek said that from time to time, there are media reports based on unnamed sources claiming to be familiar with certain situations. It said a number of these are inaccurate and misleading. … CNA

Who is misleading whom???

Transparent??? — Sold Barclays earlier in the year, yet not revealed to Singaporeans.

Sad.

collins
Jun 5, 2009 13:23

By cherry picking on best figures to reveal to public & the world and thus deceiving on the real loss, they’re of coz being portrayed as a transparent organisation.

Only when they “opened up” under public pressure will we be able to see how transparent TH really is.

JACK
Jun 5, 2009 13:28

CNA can’t even report with biase or favour on local news, and they want to
claim to be the voice of ASIA?
I think CCTV or North Korea’s KNCA NEWS have more credibility

tiredsingaporean
Jun 5, 2009 13:36

10) Lao Uncle on June 5th, 2009 1.23 pm Temasek said that from time to time, there are media reports based on unnamed sources claiming to be familiar with certain situations. It said a number of these are inaccurate and misleading. … CNA

They can do what they like but the whole world is now looking, not only we singaporeans, all we can do is continue to dig and dig further, and you will see more and more ugly things in sight. They can run but cannot hide, its retribution time for those long years of suffering in silence to the people of singapore while they paint a very promising view to the rest of the world

SZ
Jun 5, 2009 13:51

Man, i really like this…CNA by announcing something like this, have the revealed their true colour? even though we already guess what it is a long time ago….well, anyway, i got a good laugh from this….if they are so transparent, why will our dear FM appear to be using ninja technique of smoke bomb?

aiyoyo
Jun 5, 2009 14:08

aiyoyo

when can cpf be withdrawn?

aiyoyo

CJ
Jun 5, 2009 14:38

Damn they have NO SHAME…
How long can they keep up this charade?
Their CNA reports are Self Denials at best, the WHOLE WORLD knows how ‘transparent and accountable” they really are… why even bother with the denials???

2 sides of the Coin for All things
Jun 5, 2009 14:42

I believe it is always possible to show 2 sides of a coin for all issues and matters.

News reporting is as credible only as its last reporting.

Although I dun buy the news (as I borrow news from others, to save money to pay and pay for price hikes) , I do expect fair reporting.

CNA, sure I believe you. I trust you. This you should believe me.

Fork
Jun 5, 2009 14:47

So has the TH confirmed the reporting by world class international, non-singapore news agencies about the LOSSes incurred for Barclay’s sales?

If so, i like to humbly ask our Transparent leaders why was this news not disclosed during Dec and Jan?

So, my asumption is that it turns out true that TH did sold the shares in dec and jan.

perfect 10 points
Jun 5, 2009 14:48

Perfect is a Strong word.
What is the basis for Perfection?

farnie
Jun 5, 2009 15:27

They are so transparent i cant even see anything behind that facade

Humtinization of the 2 sides Ying and Yang
Jun 5, 2009 16:10

Could there be many other ranking organizations in this world?
prolly.
What if another ranker gives a different ranking?
Has all the rankers done the ranking?
Must all rankers produce exactly the same ranking?
I wonder what are the rankings of other , if any, rankers.

Uppercut the Lowercut
Jun 5, 2009 16:18

I feel the word Transparent is quite interesting.

A thing is Either Transparent or it is not.

No 2 ways about it.

Maybe instead of the nice word ‘most transparent’, why not use other words to describe?

For eg.
call something “90% imperfect” instead of 10% perfect ?
see, ‘Perfect’ means Perfect. No 2 ways about it.
‘Imperfect’ is when there is not perfect. Anything not perfect should be described as imperfect.

please feel free to disagree.

transparent to the world
Jun 5, 2009 16:49

They truly are transparent to the world.

They will make the necessary announcement to US authorities and UK authorities.

They will make the necessary reports to Ministry of Finance if necessary.

What is wrong is that our ministry of finance is not the most transparent to the citizens.

Notice how these losses could be divulged to our highest most authority – the parliament last week.

But all our MPs and citizens had to learn it from the CNA / Reuters / AFP.

So our Temasek is top notch.

Our finance minister IS NOT!

transparent the untransparent
Jun 5, 2009 16:55

No wonder the world is so screwed up.

Lydia Chua Mui Mui
Jun 5, 2009 17:01

I wonder what is the impression of the people about their handling of investments with respect to Transparency ?

This should be a better yardstick – the People’s impression of them.

ram
Jun 5, 2009 17:31

Temasek is wearing a transparent thin see-through dress. But beneath this transparent thin see-through dress is a bullet proof camisole and petti-coat.

Temasek is transparent but yet cannot see. Got it?

anakin
Jun 5, 2009 18:41

temasek is like a lady in a bikini. What you can see is very nice and what you can’t see is shocking.

Dark age
Jun 5, 2009 19:06

I think this piece of news is for those 66% and some suckers. CNA am i right?

Enigmatic
Jun 5, 2009 19:09

CNA – How did this transparency rating come about – on what basis and criteria and by which organisation : non disclosure of its detailed source will render itself guilty of being its originator – given the preponderance of bootlicking by the various local mass media.

smallvice585
Jun 5, 2009 19:43

Temasek is like a girl in bikini – what you can see is suggestive but what you can’t see is vital.

KopitiamApek
Jun 5, 2009 20:04

30) smallvice585

///Temasek is like a girl in bikini – what you can see is suggestive but what you can’t see is vital.///

Good point..
A hilarious analogy!

KopitiamApek
Jun 5, 2009 20:53

Interestingly, dictionary.com defines transaparent as “having the property of transmitting rays of light through its substance so that bodies situated beyond or behind can be distinctly seen.”

so being being mostest of the most transaprent,
it is really saying that we see the bodies situated or behind it, but what we need to see, we don’t see.

so intsead of opening the books for all to see, we can only see through the book, not the book.

ummm.

red_dot
Jun 5, 2009 22:27

How come????????
The best of the worst???

notalone
Jun 6, 2009 2:17

Transparent = see thru = details still hide around the rims. Forget it man.

TMT
Jun 6, 2009 5:30

Wow….that will reassure the 66.6%!… Looks like the “Bullshit” has become Singapore’s national dish!

gemami
Jun 6, 2009 11:25

So transparent that it takes 5 months for the news of the Barclay sales to reach us.

So transparent that it is not disclosing how much lesser it would have lost if it had sat with Barclays for a wee bit longer.

So transparent that not one single representative from Temasek has thus far come out to explain the situation it is grappling with.

TC performance - by ah Teo of LPP
Jun 6, 2009 12:23

30) smallvice585 on June 5th, 2009 7.43 pm
“Temasek is like a girl in bikini – what you can see is suggestive but what you can’t see is vital.”

You mean, artificial makeup and cosmetics and plastic surgery is skin deep and what lies beneave is more important like does she have diseases of the S type?
If so, you are one wise dude.

The Reservist
Jun 6, 2009 13:56

Losers need all the accolade they can get.

Temasek orgy
Jun 6, 2009 14:22

Another way to understand why Temasek is not transparent is to imagine those working there as having some orgy that involves mind-boggling sexual activities.
How to be transparent , right ?

CJ
Jun 6, 2009 14:56

I wonder what Obama would say about this… or rather NOT say at all – just like there wasn’t a mention of SG throughout his recent speech..

ironman
Jun 6, 2009 15:43

i remember one minister said that he already felt rich looking at his monthly CPF statement (see quote). maybe the temasek report card will make him go wild.

quote – http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/382080/1/.html

toiletmatter
Jun 9, 2009 0:05

Singapore’s investment firm Temasek Holdings has been ranked as the most transparent sovereign wealth fund (SWFs) in the first quarter of this year. -Channel NewsAsia

even if true about transparency, so what? where is action taken against idiots who squandered away public monies? give may day award some more? maybe if cover up the losses we can still feel better

Bunny
Nov 11, 2009 15:36

NOT CNA LAH YOU BLOCKHEADS!

“Temasek Holdings has kept its position as one of the world’s most transparent sovereign wealth funds (SWFs).

It attained a perfect score in the third quarter of this year on a United States-based transparency index which evaluates such entities.

Temasek scored 10 out of 10 on the latest Linaburg-Maduell Transparency Index, published quarterly by the Sovereign Wealth Fund Institute in California.”

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook