The following is a video by Singapore News Alternative. NTUC Chief, Lim Swee Say, and union leaders singing to encourage workers to be more upbeat about the recession.
Have a look and give your comments.
Watch the original video from NTUC below.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

This is worst than the worst horror movie.. in fact, like the mother of all crisis we are going through now, this is the mother of all horror movie!
What r they trying to do? pacify the heartlanders? oh plez…. Singapore is no more like the ’60s, don’t treat us like uneducated and ignorant idiot even though we are staying in HDB..
this is the 21st century already, if staying in HDB is only reserve for fools who know nothing about what is going on around the world, then more than 80% of Singaporean are fools already..
those who can’t feel, can’t sing. besides i highly doubt those on the stage really feel for the people retrenched or are working on a reduced salary. a better song about economic blues would come from someone going through it, not some highly paid dudes living unaffected.
wow, i do not know that there are still alot of balls-carrier around? are these people hoping for bit and pieces of bread crumbs to fall off the table? what a desperate bunch of losers.
i think they wouldn’t have mind selling their soul to the devil if there is one.
Think it will never reach the Billboard Top 100000 anytime soon!!
This is DJ SZ in the house….We have a live dedication for our dear LSS and the song request is……
Black Eye Peas-Shut Up
*Music Start*
Shut up
Just shut up
Shut up [3x]
Shut it up, just shut up
Shut up
Just shut up
Shut up [3x]
Shut it up, just shut up
………….
why don’t all those on stage just take a 50% paycut and be done with it. no need sing song, dance etc.
confirm will lift my spirits & gain my respect.
Solution for DRASTIC REDUCTION in Unemployment to <1% guaranteed.
1. Unemployed work as insurance agent.
Catch : no guarantee of income.
Question : is this a Solution?
Does this solve income issues?
There you have it – technically a solution to lower if not zerolise unemployment rate, on paper (keyword).
I never thought that I would be saying this, but minister hiphop pales in comparison with the upturn/downturn song. LSS is world class (clown)!
Just compare his “speech” with President Obama’s speech in Cairo to this “Union” head who wrongly takes on the work or the role of the government. The union’s head job is supposed to work by the right of the worker. His direction is strangely funny in this case.
President Obama on the other hand brings in his ideas, his plans for the world. He works by the right of the world people. His good quality speech is filled with dreams and motivation and how he is going to help the suffering soul. People around the world respect him with his idea. What about our very own rich MPs, like the one above?
President Obama is someone who worth my time for watching his Cairo’s speech twice (45min *2).The time spent is many times more than I want to waste my time listening to what the MPs of our very own land who hardly motivate the people.
So, what is your plan Mr Mp? I do not see any content in it. Sorry, Mr MP, you do not earn my respect.
*** Edit
So, what is your plan Mr Mp? I do not see any content in your “speech”. Sorry, Mr MP, you do not earn my respect
#55 I have a request 4 LSS :
Shut up n drive by Rihana
Thanks
and that charbo Josephine who threw a sledgehammer at LTK confirmed our worst fear!
She’s a Stepford wife whose only skills singalong n cheerleader’s high kick!
Funny, how come all comments here are negative. Surely there must be those ball carriers who is reading this forum and should come out to support their swaysway boss…Goes to show that the ground is really sick of these nonsense. Seriously, I cannot stomach all these anymore…really low class!
Hehe, I noticed even kopitiam ahpek dont dare to showface here ;)
If the Hungry Ghost advance recon party watches and mistakes it for a getai preview, the whole mob will happily opt not to book out from hell this seventh month.
I am here
hi Blackfeline,
are you sure you really want lSS version of Shut up n Drive? o.O
better ready your earplugs. wa-hahaa…
I like to humbly ask to clarify
does “sings to lift spirits” mean :
1. there are somethings in the lift?
or
2. something about liquor?
or
3. something else i don’t know?
1.The UK Coal Miners’ Strike
The UK Miners’ Strike was major industrial action affecting the British coal industry. It was a defining moment in British industrial relations, and its defeat significantly weakened the British trades union movement. It was also seen as a major political and ideological victory for Margaret Thatcher and the Conservative Party.
In 1984, the National Coal Board announced that in order to rationalise government subsidisation of industry they intended to close 20 coal mines. Twenty thousand jobs would be lost, and many communities in the north of England and in Wales would lose their primary source of employment.
2.The demise of General Motors:
Some blame the US United Auto Workers (UAW) for the automotive industry crisis of GM. They point to union workers’ high wages and allegedly overly generous benefits compared to those working at non-union Japanese auto plants in the U.S. as one of the primary reasons for the poor competitiveness of the Big Three. Each UAW worker receives $74 per hour while Toyota workers receive about $44 per hour.
source: wiki
==========================
In (1) the continued government subsidisation of coal was viewed by Thatcher as unsustainable, when coal could be cheaply imported from abroad vs extracted beneath Britain and thus her tough and unpopular action to move towards closing the mines. Thatcher paid her political price eventually, but the coal mine industry would have collapsed like GM without her drastic action. The pain to face relity will just be postponed.
In (2), the unsustainable demands by UAW eventually got everyone into deep shit.
The postponed pain eventually came.
Wah! KopitiamApek, you drink very strong coffee ah? This is the MTV channel featuring the song: Upturn the Downturn by The Sway Sways. How come got coal miner and general motor?
70) gemami
Ya agree. I sidetrack somewhat. But still union related mah
Sidetrack, Uptrack, Downtrack, oso cannot detract lah! I thought people say opposition are clowns? Now ruling party oso clowns hah? Chiat lak liou!
Sorry but what language are they singing in? The music sounds Chinese (love the string instrument), the people look Chinese (style of communists) but some bits sound English. Heard the bit about pro-Worker and pro-Business. Am I right?
My goose pimples still won’t go away! Is this why PM has to open the door to opposition MPs to give alternative views in parliament? Looks like if you got ‘liao’ you won’t join them. Lucky I don’t work for Mr Lim SS else I have ‘sing’ the silly song on the stage as well. Really gone case!
They really think by singing like that can change the economy. The idea behind union is good but the people running it suck, when you email to the union (e.g. e2i), they dun reply, think they are treating the workers as beggar. Go NTUC Union website also no place to give feedback or allow complaint.