The following is a video by Singapore News Alternative. NTUC Chief, Lim Swee Say, and union leaders singing to encourage workers to be more upbeat about the recession.
Have a look and give your comments.
Watch the original video from NTUC below.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

since when has TOC turned into a horror website?!?!?
This bunch of so-called union leaders should be detained under the ISA. They are behaving like communists.
Atrocious.
Scary. The singers looked as if they believed their message would get across to us beleagured folks. Does Lim Swee Say have a blog? He would be able to get better feedback than clowning around as a wannabe popstar.
The man may have good intentions – but he is just not coming across as a serious leader. Like LBW.
This is proof that not only is the Government of Singapore so detached from its people, but also the intruments that are supposed to bring to the government the plight and problems faced by the people. It is clear that tripartism is not working for the people even as it works wonderfully for the government.
I will not be surprised, if this video is shown to a wider audience, that there will be more flame-throwers, chair-throwers, phone-threats and creative inscriptions aimed towards the PAP MPS and ministers.
HowSway can one get with such a video clip.
There is nothing to be upbeat about a recession. People have lost their jobs and are struggling to make ends meet. What are these leaders doing about the high cost of living and so on, we don’t have to ask any more. We are tired of the crab that comes from these highly paid leaders who will not feel any impact at all.
UPTURN THE DOWNTURN?
MANY PEOPLE ARE ALREADY OVERTURNED AND UPSIDE DOWN!
I personally think that if they go to such PR lengths, things may be worst than it actually seems. Now I’m worried.
Oh for Pete’s sake, its action, not words and bad singing that defines a movement, a group and individual, Mr. Lim.
Stop singing such crap and start doing something substantial for a change. Making us cring at your atrocious singing, most re-assuredly, is not gonna increase our level of confidence at your competency.
Can I say, not that I want to say, that the Upturn primarily depends on the USA?
I wonder did any PAP MP mention this or explain what is explained in the vid to the PEOPLE they represent?
Kudos to Mr Leong!
They should have done a rap and hip hopped. Thus creating an unholy trinity of awfulness that might have scared economy demons away.
Atrocious !! OMG, top salaries for a bunch of singing nimcumpoots. By volunteering to reduce your MILLION dollars salaries sure beat whatever nonsense you sing or talk. It’s action, not words or songs, that matters.
OMG… this is SOOOO ATROCIOUS!
Simon of American Idol will surely suffer a stroke if he hears this!
OMG man! LSS paid so much and this is what he can only do?!?!?!
Sing about over issues?!?!
Shameless scums…
core job cannot do properly 1 2 take on extra duty to divert attention. looks like some people really so free, high pay, little competition, easy job make for a fat cat.
this is a gross job mismatch, why not trying working 3 months as a security guard or any other service staff to get a feel of the ground live on their level of salary? some elites truely need this type of job attachment, now many too detached.
the commoners are the ones helping the elites upturn the downturn….?
Oh…But truely, my neighbour’s barking dog sound better than their singing.
very soon…we will have our own full feature musical..courtesy of NTUC…along the line of “The White Hair Girl”..a must see during the cultural revolution in china. Our version will exhort the virtue of how our great leader(s) in white save us…the commoners…from the clutches of the evil prophets of doom!
Very often it is difficult to justify a curse aimed at another human being. This is one such time where a curse is fully justified.
This is just too condescending. What were they trying to do? Lift up the spirits of those who lost their jobs? Do you think anyone besides them and those with iron rice bowls will be amused? Or maybe they’re really taking people’s cry of ‘show some empathy!’ too literally….
hi Gemami,
where got curse? some have been hexed with job loss. those who are hexed with paycuts may be hexed again with the next wave of retrenchment or fear being replaced by cheaper “talent”.
reason for job loss, sorry we not the only 1 kenna, others also, cannot do anything. have to wait for everybody to recover at same time, now all we can do is wait (& wait, & wait…).
“we dun plan to fail, we fail to plan.”
Perhaps after hearing some mentor averted the tsunami and SARS thru prayer…no harm LSS & the gang follow suit….UPTURN THE DOWNTURN..WHOOPS
This song is good for wartime.
It will make you want to charge at the enemies.
I would have laughed if not for the dire straits we are in. Still can clown around!!!
It’s sad that they really believe they can chase away the blues by their awful singing :-(( . Or are they just bluffing us?
Don’t they know that slogans will not bring us out of our depressed situation. What we need are plans and concrete actions to create jobs for those retrenched — that’s pro-workers.
These clowns, like witch doctors, have been trying all kinds of gimmicks hoping that something good will come by.
What’s next after this “Upturn the downturn”?
Maybe in his heart, he is trying to tell you people, so what if you lose your job? as long as I can angkat my boss up there, who cares if you people die or not. I’m still enjoying my $million salary. Not happy, just pack and go! we have tonnes of FT waiting to get their PR and free citizenships and they are the goodie goodie ones, not like you singaporeans complain kings and queens, just know how to talk but no action.
Wow, Josephine Teo not only need to become a Director of Business China come July 2009 she also need to sing as well.
MP life so tough, need to sacrifice so much for Directorships, MP and grassroots activities. Some even sacrifice for tens of companies as directors.
Still can find time to sing like that. Wow, really remarkable.
So, when the economy eventually comes back, I guess partly is because of the slogan ‘Upturn the Downturn” ? or is it the singing? How to measure effectiveness?
come on guys give NTUC a break….this clip is very good….I’m sure they have already have a buyer of this clip, Mr Kim il Sung and his chosen successor
The whole of singapore is not laughing. Only the govt is laughing.
An out of tune NTUC union leaders complimenting the out of touch highly paid ministers of the PAP.
How appropriate.
With singing like these and calibre like these,
i wonder how many talents out there qualify to compete as MPs with them?
Talents, your time has come.
I will stand behind you.
I will volunteer to rally for you.
I will do anything I can.
You will not walk alone.
Even if it rains, I will clap for your rally speech.
I am going all out.
Some times, people say, provide a solution rather than just complain.
But this is possible only when quality information is accessible and available for the public or at least all political parties. Else, without information, how can anyone provide any counter solutions????
Who has answered Mr Leong’s pertinent questions?
On this day 3 June, 50th yrs of Singapore Self Rule!
Let Hope Democracy wil pervail above LKYism!
Got paid millions of taxpayers’ money and with multiple pays for multiple appointments, yet cannot afford to go and hire a professional teacher to teach them how to sing properly?
At least do a few rehearsals to ensure there is harmony and coordination before going on stage lah!
This kind of standard dare to show to the public? My grandmother can sing better than that.
Simply don’t know what is shame! Thick skin!
To Lim Swee Say… reaching out to the people means clowning around…. Honestly, I just could not understand how this guy Lee Bee Wah could get through the tea interview…..
I know no dynasty lasts forever… but it should not be so soon by bring in the clowns to bring itself down so fast…..
They are real slithery – very adapt at doing the hula hula aka ular ular : albeit without the hula hoop – very slippery in deed
what a bunch of clowns and imaging paying this a**hole so much!
Is this the only solution our PAP can deliver to jobless Singaporean? gloating at us with their self-created “funeral song”. Can LKY please open his eyes, just for once, to see the kind of MPs he thought are coming at good bargain. I wonder how other Singaporeans will feel, over such stupid & fruitless reaction in the middle of Singapore crisis.
Why are these MPs appear to be so happy? not because they are trying to motivate Singaporean but because their pays were not affected at all and nobody has presurrised them to set a good example with pay cut. Did I hear wrongly today that the govt are advocating all employers to start cutting cost and some guidelines were given and management level should also set a good example.
Singapore need to order a big mirror for the PAP. I can’t take it anymore of their filth.
Lim SS is singing about the millions he obtained through his salary. The union leaders are obviously happy of their privileged position.
It is disgusting that NTUC claims to be a union but is championing the cause of the employers instead of the workers
“No eye see”. Like a joke.
this type of song is like rubbing salt on other people wounds.
election time, organise a “Big Sweep”, time for S’pore to do housekeeping liao. roof leaking (money no enough for rainy days), main door not secure (FWs come in “takeover”), fight so hard just for 3 meals (paycuts), bills going up again…
i cant wait for Mr Brown’s version… :P
With deep humility here’s some poetry(strictly non-copryrighted meaning –anybody can freely use)—THE SONG REMAINS THE SAME;;NTUC HAS SOLD IT’S SOUL IN THE BARGAIN;;LITTLE IT CARES FOR THE COMMON PEOPLE;;AS THE PAP PERFORMS THE TANGO WITH THE DEVIL;;;;;;;;;THE TIME HAS COME THE TIME IS HERE;;SATAN LAUGHING SPREADING HIS WINGS IS HERE;;UNDERNEATH NTUC AND THE PAP PIGS CRAWLING;;BEGGING FOR MERCY BUT TO NO AVAIL COS SOON IN THE FIRES OF THE HELLS THEY WILL BE AFRYING.
The govt has run out of ideas to help the unemployed.
I heard that they are recruiting more staff to help in CDCs but more often than not people still cant get what they want.
They should seriously put back good money into jobless workers and not Jobs Credit into companies that still continue to retrench workers.
After the enxt quarter tranche of Jobs Credit in June, July may be a frightening month for many as comapnies weigh the options of cutting down staff.
[speechless]
In the great depression of the 1930s, it was the jazz and blues of the ghettoed people that gave birth to a social industry in Harlem. However, here it seems that the Parliament ‘Ídols’ might just be the cause of the blues of ghettoed people.
Noticed anyone of them holding to lyrics sheet? How much time (and the equivalency of the money these ppl are receiving) were spent to memorise the lyrics?
For goodness sake! If they’re serious about being pro-people, they should be opening avenues for local talents to play and be paid! One of the politicians there plays a musical instrument and is acquainted with the ‘Band and Jamming’ scene (maybe his case is the ‘Jam Band’ scene). There are real good talents out there who are writing, arranging, recording music mostly in their bedroom. Have these so called pro-people ‘out-of-tune’ yes-man singing sensations developed measures to help these bedroom singers Sell their music abroad?
Bloody Ridiculous!!! Just Bloody Ridiculous!!! This just added on to the list of Politicians, unable to use their brains in Parliament but trying to clown on stage dancing Jam&Hop, Rapping an MTV, playing in a rock band, Singing Karaoke on TV, and now an unsyncronised Choir in an overlit public arena!!!
ERGGHHHHH!!!
Singapore elites got talents!
Was about to recommend the following song, my favourite one from the NDP series, “We are Singapore”, which was quite inspiring to me back then, with the pledge and everything. Turned to Wikipedia to check the year it was used at the NDP – and then it popped up:
It seems less inspirational now.
Hell, at least the music is nicer, no [fist-pumps] “Oi! Oi!”……
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pyuXN8ZVQ-U
1st of all, they couldnt even do their day-job properly & now they wanna to show off their singing talents! This is so stupid, instead of spending money on useless crap like this, why not use the money to help someone back on his feet? I would fire the guy that thought of this stupid act & I am sure it’s probably from the same place where they thought of getting MPs to do hip hop is a sure fire way to connect themselves with the public! I am very disappointed with this stupid song & dance rubbish cos it doesnt help anyone nor does it able to put rice on the table for my retrenched Singaporean brothers & sisters!
Maybe the usual balls-carriers will tell the MPs that it’s a brilliant idea & since the ministers are so out of touch of the Average Joe on the street, they just accept whatever those ball-carriers tell them!! It just remind me of this ad by M1 where you have 3 stooges telling their idiotic client that their stupid idea will work wonders & the client buys it!! Sigh…….rubbish like that not only happens on TV but also with our MPs!!
This video tells us everything we need to know about the Sway Clown. Just like the way he goes about doing his job – brainless – not knowing that he has no talent for a leadership role. Very much like his singing; making one’s hair stand on ends, and causing one to puke at the sound of his voice.
He does not even realise that he has such a lousy voice, that makes one violently sick in the stomach. He prefers to believe that his voice is so pleasantly uplifting – capable of uplifting the downcast spirits of downtrodden Singaporeans, struggling without concrete help, to overcome the recession. This Sway Clown has gotten drunk with too much of himself.
I spit on him, spit on him and spit on him – till the day he places his feet in his grave – I will still spit on him.
I support ah Lim Swee Say for SMC if he would do so!
All union members shall be so thrilled to support him.
Nice vocal cords too.
Now, which ones shall get to run for SMC?? How they will feel?
shiok?
why is it call a union when there is a MP chairing this shitty union. When will they wake up and stop making untastefully down video..
This is by far, THE WORST they have ever done – on top of NOT having done anything concrete.
Bunch of Lamers, and an UTTERLY USELESS ‘union’…