The next day, my test results were found to be negative and I was allowed to return home, but not before I was slapped with a bill for $214.05.

Daphne K. Teo, who was charged the amount for her H1N1 test. Straits Times forum page.

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

56 Responses to “Why should being responsible cost $214?”

1. KopitiamApek 29 June 2009

32) mice is nice

sorry for the delayed reply
    part 2

///you may be able to afford (& willing) to pay $200+ for the screening, ///
    you see me up, I hope it was true

///there will always be others who can barely afford (the lower income earners) ///
    yes. they should be subsidised

///or those who are unwilling to do so even if they can afford.///
    these rich ones don’t pay, all taxpayers (rich+poor) pay for them leh
    disagree

///we are not ranting over a magic number for no good reason. do you even think this are rants & not real concerns of H1N1 “on the ground”? ///
    concers and rants are not same thing
    rants solves nothing, really,
    concern will better with action.

///if this is your opinion then maybe you are quite distant from ground level “situation”. ///

I am closer to the ground than you may perceive, sometimes I think I am a little bit too close, like going inside a bit liao : ) ha ha

2. KopitiamApek 30 June 2009

49) ah soh

I am neither pro nor against ST or any media for that matter.
    Each media has its strength and weakness.
    mass reader newsprint or TV stations have to spread very thin to cater to as wide an audience as possible, and in the process of trying to be evertyhing for everbody, depth in issues gets sacrificed, It become shallow, touch and go, and frustrating to read whe you want more in depth news.
    On the other hand, if they make the papers reads like Newsweek, they sales will plummet as the mass reader is not going to be pleased with that.
    So if you want a good read on any specific subject, there are available sources of materials to read other than the newspaper.
    There is always a choice. Complaining is also a choice lah.

3. SingaporeanCA 30 June 2009

Talk kok again

4. mice is nice 30 June 2009

hi KopitiamApek, on June 29th, 2009 11.35 pm.

no worries, as long as you reply. ;)

after posting numerous post you still dun understand the core issue of this article ler…

the header spelled out very clearly liao.

<<>>

or in effect any amount? why? when MSM has been encouraging people to be socially responsible.

this article is not about,
    ////My issue in this whole $214 thing is what is the detail
    Is it full paying unsubsidised price, or subsidised price, is it a typical fee for all H1N1 patients////
    or are you too full of yourself? it may sound rather personal, but you really have to scroll all the way back to the top of the page to put your replies in perspective.

to quote your own words in post #50, on June 29th, 2009 11.35 pm
    ////… what are we discussing?////

5. KopitiamApek 30 June 2009

54) mice is nice

Replace the title with
    “Why should being responsible cost 10 cents”
    and perhaps you may see my point.

Otherwise, lets agree to disagree.

6. mice is nice 30 June 2009

Hi KopitimApek,

i admit i do not see your point on this issue…

cheers. ;)