The next day, my test results were found to be negative and I was allowed to return home, but not before I was slapped with a bill for $214.05.
Daphne K. Teo, who was charged the amount for her H1N1 test. Straits Times forum page.
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

Daphne, too bad. Nothing is free in this world especially in S’pore.Some one will had to foot the expenses. Yes, the TTSH should in the first place let you know there is need to pay. Ths is their oversight. That’s what always happen in S’pore, we need to ask. If not, they will presume you know. Next time you have to know what to do before you go into it or else you be slam with a big bill.
If not, then who should be responsible? all the taxpayers must share her bill?
would she rather be tested positive to make paying the bill worth it?
is the glass half full or half empty, a choice of perspective
There’s no free lunch in the world. If it’s free, everyone will be swarming to the hospital. So what’s going to happen to people who really need to be tested.
Fool…
Someone has to foot the bill. But after the report in the press, I’m concern that some may not come forward for testing. That will be disastrous!
S$214 is no small sum. The test was very comprehensive, but was it necessary?Can there not be a simplier and cheaper way of testing. Can the virus not be detacted from a simple blood test?
3) facepalm
////There’s no free lunch in the world. If it’s free, everyone will be swarming to the hospital. So what’s going to happen to people who really need to be tested.//////
If it is free, the Singaporean monster, the buffet syndrome will surface, and the those who need it most will be crowded out, like people driving Mercedes queuing for free textbooks meant for the poor.
Fool…
4) All that tests?
////S$214 is no small sum. /////
it will be usedful to learn if she is full paying patient or is that after subsidy?
oops. the word “fool” shoild not be there in my post #5
sorry
Donaldson Tan highlighted in ¨TOC: Swine Flu Could Hit One in Three¨ (13 May 2009) that:
a) it is not uncommon if one’s company healthcare plan or healthcare insurance do not cover Swine Flu
b) it is unknown if Medisave can be used to cover Swine Flu treatment.
In retrospect, I think all the possible charges are:
1) GP Fees
2) 933 Ambulance
3) H1N1 Test Charge (it seems this test covers other stuff such as STD and HIV)
4) Overnight Stay at TTSH
5) H1N1 Treatment
KopitiamApek said, ¨If not, then who should be responsible? all the taxpayers must share her bill? would she rather be tested positive to make paying the bill worth it?¨ My answer is whoever benefits pay. In this case of H1N1 Pandemic, the public benefits for the potential H1N1 patient to verify his / her status. It is only fair that there should beH1N1 subsidy on top of standard subsidy already entitled due to her status as a Singaporean.
7) smallvice585
Agree,
However, any one in sg who is treated for any communicable disease that poses a health risk to everybody else, indiredtly benefit the community. It is not limited to H1N1,
7) smallvice585
I think if one look at it at a broader perspective, is it a sum worth paying (or if you prefer, dying for?
$214
When some are willing pay a lot more for the latest fancy handphone, to replace the equally fancy that they just got tired of.
And interestingly, the long queues also at handphone shops, no complaints heard here about that leh.
i know who should pay,
1) those who have harped “dun over-react!”,
2) those who said life goes on, for some even if it means death,
3) we’ve done our part, now (that its passed the tipping point) do yours- social responsibility!!
well, many more will just have to pay with being on leave, dance with death & deal a blow to the economy because earlier on when the risk is much more managable, little was done, as it does not make economic sense?
hey, everyone, dun loose sleep over H1N1 okie? we have been assured of systems in place to deal with any bug, we must trust them lah. this is how S’pore works, TRUST me. if trust is not enough, we got re-badged Tamiflu with extended shelf-life, world class health care, the best brains to oversee the situation & last but not least our SARS experience!
SARS has a new friend- the H1N1!! so just sit back relax & not over-react, our airports, ferry terminals & cross border bridges are there to give H1N1 a warm sunny welcome with a population of 4.84 million live specimens!! passport stamped with official approval, with a smile to (welcome the bug) boot…
hi KopitiamApek,
for those who are feeling the pinch or pain of rising costs of living locally, please exercise some empathy to those who find that amount hard to swallow. $214.05 for the test alone may not be much compared to the lost of life, if its so true authorities would have exercised zero-tolerance & prevented the bug from entering at-all-cost.
surely many can see the risk of a community level spread in our very compact & dense population. why even allow the Asian Youth Games procede, if $214.05 is not alot, surely organisers do not mind forfeiting any amount of security deposit or even loosing total cost on the venues on the grounds of social responsibility?
social responsibilty is only an excuse to hold only individual citizens accountable, its always easier to pass on the buck to the person at the bottom!! a very well thoughtout “business” decision, we’ll be ranked highly for being business friendly the next round.
I wonder how the quaratine works….does the US lawyer have to foot the bill….for the Aloha resort….
Pity things have to get so ugly….it looks as if S’pore is not well prepared even after SARS….
Now for the bill part, I think we have to foot the bill…for the sake of our families and people around us….and I know they, the hospitals will allow us to pay later or perhaps if the person cannot pay–deduct from medisave….
$214 should not endanger the lives of others. People should not be worried about this payment….nor complain.
I am pretty sure Khaw wouln’t mind paying the bill…..just to contain the spread.
hi PrettyPlace,
i read an article about cabbies who worry about getting the H1N1,. to these group, its $214.05 (not sure if its the same elsewhere…) + daily rental + lost of income just to get a lab report.
again its the lower income who have most to lose for being unable to work. i remember an episode of Channel News Asia’s documentary, Get Real- on cleaners working in foodcourts. being on MC = a $** fine for not being at work for a day.
there could be other professions that have a penalty for staff being absent from work, however legit. & maybe to these group, every cent counts, what more of $200+.
Daphne
you can’t handle the truth….the truth is the govt loves to suck $ from people. Accept it and move on soldier
11) mice is nice
Here we are ranting on and on about this magic number -
$214.05
this discussion in TOC will be more objective and constructive by having a unambiguous understanding what is the above amount for?
TOC should get the facts of this. It will elevate the quality of discussion in TOC.
Unless and until we know what that amount comprises of, whether it is applied to ALL H1N1 cases in TTSH, wether it is the full rate or subisdised rate, we are all barking at different trees in different forests.
Sadly, from my brief experience in TOC, we do not usually get those facts.
Perhaps this case will be an exception. A new beginning.
[i]KopitiamApek on June 28th, 2009 10.33 am
11) mice is nice
Here we are ranting on and on about this magic number -
$214.05
this discussion in TOC will be more objective and constructive by having a unambiguous understanding what is the above amount for?[/i]
as mentioned before
which is still under moderation by toc
do you think when the hospital staff asked me AFTER goin through all the testin/maskwearin procedures
if i coughed or not?
even if i sneeze
would i tell them?
than again
to you
$214 is a small siap siap suey amount?
aiyoyo
why like that huh?
$214 leh…
cant see the logic leh
aiyoyo
16) $214payee
///do you think when the hospital staff asked me AFTER goin through ///
are you the writer of the artcle Daphne?
//to you $214 is a small siap siap suey amount?///
another presumptious statement
$214 is a lot to ah soh as she has to work 7 days to get this amount as pay.
7 days leh ! And not 7 days playing with keyboard.
7 days doing menial/manual labour.
$214 is a lot, alot of money to me and what about the unemployed ?
Have a little conscience, jus a little will do.
19) ah soh
Yes. agree. the amount is a lot.
Unless and until we know what that amount comprises of, whether it is applied to ALL H1N1 cases in TTSH, wether it is the full rate or subisdised rate, we are all barking at different trees in different forests.
[i]KopitiamApek on June 28th, 2009 1.29 pm 16) $214payee
///do you think when the hospital staff asked me AFTER goin through ///
[i]are you the writer of the artcle Daphne?[/i]
why?
must i be daphne in order to speak on BEHALF of my pellow singaporeans?
ain’t you 1 sellfish rich fishmongrol?
//to you $214 is a small siap siap suey amount?///
[i]another presumptious statement[/i]
and yours is?
why didn’t YOU complaint
when
YOU, ME AND DAPNHE is subsidising
the overpayin the overpaid health minister salaries?
[i]KopitiamApek on June 28th, 2009 2.16 pm 19) ah soh
Yes. agree. the amount is a lot.[/i]
now you agreed?
earlier on you
INSIST the money got nothin to do with it?
would the americans citizens pay $214 to go for a suspected volunteer checkups
if they know they are GOING to be charged this attricious amount?
you want fellow singapooreans to be kind carin and sharin
off course to you you wouldn’t mind payin
right?
so that your fellow workers/neighbours would not be infected?
yes
no?
p.s.
i just returned from china
with my WHOLE famiLLEE
do you see me volunteered to gor a $214 checkup?
21,22) $214payee
///earlier on you
INSIST the money got nothin to do with it?///
another presumptious statement
you are getting good at this : )
////why didn’t YOU complaint
when
YOU, ME AND DAPNHE is subsidising
the overpayin the overpaid health minister salaries?///
because I stay on the subject, which if I may suggest, you should too.
///must i be daphne in order to speak on BEHALF of my pellow singaporeans?////
did she give you the persmission to be her spokesperson? you can read her mind?
Hi KopitiamApek’
It is so nice of You to agree with me that $214 is a lot of money, shall I say to many and not all lah. And please don’t imagine that KopitiamApek only agrees with the armourous ah soh.
As to whether $214 applies to all H1N1 cases at TTSH; I should think so as TTSH is the only Designated Hospital for H1N1 if I understand correctly. I must admit that I have not idea how much the whole screening process cost with and without profit considerations. I find it costly by relating(comparing) to the average income of the lower paid segment of the workers which I guesstimate at around $1200 a month. So, won’t be able to talk much about the cost.
And if $214 after subsidized is a lot to me, I shudder to imagine the charges at UNsubsidized Rate which of course is much higher lah, correct ?
Just like to say to readers to sympathize and empathize H1N1 patients, it is not just medical bills that they burden with, they have to be quarantined and the daily rated without medical coverage by their employers are really in for hell. I also heard that fulltime staff were told to use their leaves(annual/holiday etc) when required to be quarantined. Why not Medical Leave ?
@ Ah soh,
I believe quarantine leave is now considered as Hospitalisation Leave. Its supposed to be 1 higher up as compared to MC.
On medical costs. I believe this amount is probably 100% Medisave deductible as she managed to get warded. Most conventional insurance won’t pay out as the minimum excess level (normally horvers around $2000 – $3000) applies, however, this can be mitigated by buying additional insurance such as AIA’s Pink of Health.
On H1N1′s medical cover, Medical Insurance will have to pay out as they are not allowed to exclude conditions after the plan has been purchased.
On the cost of $200+ being more expensive then your lower class worker who earns $1200, this is technically not wrong, but there are some issues to look at;
1: Medisave. Even with people earning $1200pm, the Medisave is expected to grow around $100 per month. Medical Insurance costs is around $100+PA, which is pretty insignificant
2: Financial Assistance. Lower rungs actually have the Financial assistance to rely on. The only question if they want, or know that they can apply
I personally think SG’s Catastrophic insurance scheme works decently. But one of the major issue would be long-term secondary care which are often not included into our medical insurance.
Cancer Treatment for example, consists of hospitalisation vs outpatient care. Hospitalisation care is normally claimable, but outpatient care? None. That IS the actual issue.
Kopiapek – talk kok.
@ $214payee
Putting the Million Dollar paycheck for our ministers aside, I find it interesting that you’re bringing in the American Healthcare system.
If the system is oh so fantastic, then I’m afraid Obama wouldn’t have such a hard time trying to revamp the system. If you’re talking about the French, Australian or even the German medical system, perhaps?
But Americans? Oh please.
If H1N1 checkup costs money, then who will want to volunteer to do the checkup? Those millionaires MPs not thinking hard enough.
hongjun
24) ah soh
///And please don’t imagine that KopitiamApek only agrees with the armourous ah soh.///
I agree with anyone’s points of view that is agreeable to me, stating the obvious lah.
///$214 applies to all H1N1 cases at TTSH;///
yes only TTSH does that, what I meant was if it is applicable to anyone whho steps into TTSH. I believe this is largely answered by 25) inix
if I may, the other points raised by you I answer them together below…
25) inix
Yes, quarantine leave is Hospitalisation Leave. Report your employer to MOM if they are so unkind to make you take your own leave.
///Most conventional insurance won’t pay out as the minimum excess level (normally horvers around $2000 – $3000) applies, however, this can be mitigated by buying additional insurance such as AIA’s Pink of Health.///
And IncomeShield Rider will cover to last dollar of bill.
///I personally think SG’s Catastrophic insurance scheme works decently. But one of the major issue would be long-term secondary care which are often not included into our medical insurance///
long-term secondary care or what they termed as step down care is currently being studied and I believe will be eventually incorporated into the healthcare insurance including medisave, medishield. This is in line with the current review of the various issues pertaining to our greying (and hopefully wiser) population
27) inix
///Putting the Million Dollar paycheck for our ministers aside////
You are asking for quite a lot here, as some posters here desperately need this “model answer” for their standard reply to all subjects, relevant or otherwise
: )
Thank You all inix and KopitiamApek.
Allow me a little indulgence, thanks to my ancestors for good gene generations, me and family are healthy. Due to laziness and lack of intellect, I have yet to comprehend the Medisave, Medifund and Medishield Thingies, too technical and legalistic, in short; complex and complicated for mere mortals.
I was thinking what would happen if one gets afflicted by H1N1 and due to financial problem, did not seek medication and resulted in spreading the virus and died as a consequence. If and when the Health Authority came to know of such a situation, what measure will it take ? What will his/her family member(s) be subjected to in terms of social and legal obligation ?
And what about one who knew he/she has H1N1 and purposely moves around to spread it ?
hi KopitiamApek,
you may be able to afford (& willing) to pay $200+ for the screening, there will always be others who can barely afford (the lower income earners) or those who are unwilling to do so even if they can afford.
we are not ranting over a magic number for no good reason. do you even think this are rants & not real concerns of H1N1 “on the ground”? if this is your opinion then maybe you are quite distant from ground level “situation”.
////This discussion in TOC will be more objective and constructive by having a unambiguous understanding what is the above amount for?////
this is not the point, i think it could have been a misunderstanding on your part. the point of the article is (in my opinion) to highlight the issue on why individuals are made to pay for being socially responsible.
////Sadly, from my brief experience in TOC, we do not usually get those facts.
Perhaps this case will be an exception. A new beginning.////
no, its not TOC responsibility to get the facts, its up to hospitals, related healthcare parties to be upfront & transparent in letting the public know about why they are made to pay for the various related charges for being socially responsible.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
without empathy, one cannot fully comprehand the wide spectrum of reason people give for “looking out for themselves” as opposed to “for the greater good”.
32) mice is nice
wah so many tough question for me leh…
I will attempt to respond in parts, can?
///no, its not TOC responsibility to get the facts, its up to hospitals, related healthcare parties to be upfront & transparent in letting the public know about why they are made to pay for the various related charges for being socially responsible.///
agree
its not TOC responsibility to get the facts if indeed the facts are not there in the first place
but we cannot rule out that the Daphne could have been given the details of the bill, as all hospital bills would have done, and if one is still not satisfied, they will provide the very deatiled breakdown. we do not know that if she did have the details or not, or do we?
that is where I am coming from. TOC should not just paste the article here and let the discussion go wild, knowingly the hopsitals are not going to come in here to answer them, why not they make the effort to ask Dephane, and even better, Daphne clarifies this.
end of part one : )
31) ah soh
Medisave is the compulsary contribution thru CPF we all mere mortals gotta pay each month. Currently at $30 something k max
Medishield is the basic hospitalisation insurance . all CPF account holders auto included. It give covers you up to B2 class .The enhanced shield schemes upgrade you to B1 and above wards, and if you buy the rider, up to last dollar of your bill. Medisave can be used to buy that, except the rider part.
Medifund I beilef is a final safety net for those who fall thru the gaps of the first 2 Ms above.
Hope you are not more confused by me ….
31) ah soh
////I was thinking what would happen if one gets afflicted by H1N1 and due to financial problem, did not seek medication and resulted in spreading the virus and died as a consequence. If and when the Health Authority came to know of such a situation, what measure will it take ? What will his/her family member(s) be subjected to in terms of social and legal obligation ?
And what about one who knew he/she has H1N1 and purposely moves around to spread it ?/////
please see:
INFECTIOUS DISEASES ACT
(CHAPTER 137)
Certain persons not to act in manner likely to spread disease
21A. —(1) A person who knows, or has reason to suspect, that he is a case or carrier or contact of a disease set out in the Fifth Schedule shall not expose other persons to the risk of infection by his presence or conduct in any public place or any other place used in common by persons other than the members of his own family or household.
[7/2003]
(2) A person having the care of another person whom he knows, or has reason to suspect, is a case or carrier or contact of a disease set out in the Fifth Schedule shall not cause or permit that person to expose other persons to the risk of infection by that person’s presence or conduct in any such place.
[7/2003]
(3) A person shall not lend, sell, transmit or expose, without previous disinfection, any clothing, bedding or rags which he knows to have been exposed to infection from a disease set out in the Fifth Schedule, or any other article which he knows to have been so exposed and which is liable to carry such infection.
[7/2003]
(4) Any person who contravenes subsection (1), (2) or (3) shall be guilty of an offence.
FIFTH SCHEDULE
Section 21A (1), (2) and (3)
DISEASES IN RESPECT OF WHICH ACTS REFERRED TO IN SECTION 21A ARE PROHIBITED.
1. Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS).
2. Swine Influenza.
Hi KopitiamApek,
You said in post #15: TOC should get the facts of this. It will elevate the quality of discussion in TOC. In a single sentence, you absolve your responsibility to get information to defend your position. All TOC staff is voluntary, that’s why readers’ contribution is just as important as staff input.
If you cannot substantiate your own view, I implore you to do your own research. Nobody views your unsubstantiated ranting favourably. Despite the thin line between discourse and ranting – you are obviously ranting.
You said in post #33: TOC should not just paste the article here and let the discussion go wild, knowingly the hopsitals are not going to come in here to answer them. You are the only one who is going wild here. This behaviour coincides with that of a hysterical ranter.
KopitiamApek,
me sincerely very thankful for your efforts to enlighten me.
I knew the existences of Medisave, Medishield, Medifund and Eldershield, but sadly, I do not know how they are applied in practice. For example, does hospitalisation bill be paid with Medishield first and outstanding amount(beyond Medishield Coverage) be then covered by Medisave or the other way round ? My mother’s hospital expenses had always been from me and one of my sibling. She (mother at 93 yr old) had her own Medisave albeit with negligible amount in her account and we never know if she is covered with any Medical Scheme.
Your Post 35 indicates that it is an offence to spread contagious diseases such as SARS and H1N1, I gathered that has to be so and therefore asked what will the Authority do or how will it react to such offences and the measure(s) it will take to contain the problem. Anyone willing to enlighten me ? And I will thank whoever does in advance here, will appreciate and grateful.
@ah soh
Good for you. Unfortunately, I don’t have the luxury of good health. I’ve got a chronic problem which was unfortunately hereditary. Its because of this that I’m extremely concerned about differentiating between what is fact and fiction between SG’s healthcare system.
So far, all I noted is the following. The system is pretty fair to people who are able to self insure. Insurance, fortunately is very very affordable (around under $200 PA using Medisave), and top-up insurance is also good. All in all, catastrophic insurance works.
But the issue comes when we’re dealing with Chronic illness. Like the one I’m dealing with. I need specialised drugs daily. $11.50 per pill, per day. This isn’t significant to me now, as I’m doing OK, but this is most certainly expensive for your average Joe earning under $2000pm.
I don’t get insurance cover for this pre-existing illness, although I do get coverage from Medishield because I found out about this illness after 1999, the year Medishield is started. In a nutshell, the system is unfair. It’s unfair to me. But again, I can understand why its structured like that.
Having said that, I’m prepared to pay up to 30% of my wages in the form of income taxes flat out, for free medical services. Will the rest of our average Singaporean be prepared to? That’s another question that we will need to deal with, eventually.
38) inix
pre-existing illness
that is the key word
thus one should not wait too long to get on board those MediShield plans as young as possible, as the list of pre-existing illness must get longer as one grows older.
the critical insurance one should get should be the hospitalisation plan (the Shiled plans) Chronic illness, PA catastrophic illness, etc only kick in only upon certain conditions
38) inix
/// fact and fiction between SG’s healthcare system///
looking at the surgical tables of prices, the way the surgeons are charging are getting to be like lawyers, ridicoulously high.
37) ah soh
I believe they use the act to enforce quarantine orders
Unless one deliberately go to Butter Factory fully loaded with H1N1 virus to share the joy around, I think one need not be too paranoid that one will be faulted for spreading deadly virus if we do our clear conscience permit us to do.
no free lunch…move on!
@KopitiamApek
There is no doubt that its expensive. But when you start to look at the bills one get in AU, France or even US as an uninsured foreigner, then the bills in SG suddenly look cheap.
But still, I believe we can do much better then this. Way much better. But till that day… oh well
37) ah soh
You MediSave will pay hospital bills up to some predetermined caps. The rest is cold cash.
Basic Medishield covers very little. It is conditional that you are staying in a C, and B2 class ward. Upgrade it to the Enhanced Medishiled (from Income or others) and it covers up to B1 wards or even A class wards depends on what you want. One up again, you get a Rider, and it will cover up to the last dollar of you hospitalisation bill. You can use Medisave to pay for these except the Rider.
You are a very good daughter. Salute. Salute. Salute.
OK you can check out your mum’s medical schemes with CPF at the CPF website http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Members/home.htm.
You need a SingPass password and her NRIC number. There are instructions to lead you t get a SingPass if your mum hasn’t got one.
43) inix
Yah. In certain countries, you are quickly warned to get a medical insurance fast.
It baffles me why doctors have to be paid so much?
The medical bill that piles up at the late stages of life
Doctors will alwaysattempts to save the patient, (one wonders if that is to prolong life or delay death) and quite often it is a futile attempt, leading to an astronomical bill. It look like (to see it in a bad way) they are trying the max out the bill , one last shot before you go.
And at these moments of anguish, how are the relatives to be able to rationally decide to go through this or that procedure and just let it go?
Life is full of tough choice, even when facing death.
36) smallvice585
///You said in post #15: TOC should get the facts of this. It will elevate the quality of discussion in TOC. In a single sentence, you absolve your responsibility to get information to defend your position. All TOC staff is voluntary, that’s why readers’ contribution is just as important as staff input.///
Strong words.
Perhaps, I may have miscommunicated my thoughts.
I do not quite belief that it is necessary to ” defend my position”
I am here to share my views, and hear others’ views. If the views concurs, they concur, if not, we all can agree to disagree.
Neither was it my intention to “absolve my responsibility ” to get the right info.
If you have been following my post, to quote myself “I am a sucker for stats”. I have oftentime posted info to substantiate or debunk an issue of discussion in the hope that a more meaningful discussion will be possible when facts are divorced from hearsay and rampant speculation.
In this instance, I do not think I can get hold of Daphne’s bill. I do not even have a clue who she is. But we are all talking about this bill. And no one has seen it, I believe. If Daphne can share that piece of info with us, that will be good. And if TOC is able to do that, then it will be good.
Hope you can see my point.
It like discussing a movie review without knowing the movie title.
hi KopitiamApek,
in post #33, on June 28th, 2009 7.37 pm
you have raised a valid reason, then it would be very hilarious of Ms Daphne K. Teo to submit an article to the Straits Times if there is no grain of truth. doing so only added fodder for others to counter her frivolious claims out in the public sphere not to mention now, online as well.
we all know how good MSM is at digging into people’s personal life. remember Ong Kah Chua (apologise if i mis-spelled the name)?
as for a detailed breakdown, i think (personal opnion lah) MSM have the duty to inform the public, a general guide as to what charges apply- to those who volunteer to go for a medical check-up or call 993. since it was through MSM, social responsibility is encouraged. so why penalise those who are?
hi KopitiamApek,
i got many tough questions for you meh?
*scratch head*
KopitiamApek,
once again, I must thank You for guiding me. Indeed, I am a good daughter and by extension a good daughter-in-law too.
I do agree with mice is nice that our MSM kaypoh mostly for the wrong reason, that is; digging mostly into unimportant and irrelevant informations that serve little or no purpose to the Subject Matters. More often than not, the more relevant and vital facts are hardly probed into. For example; who authorized Town Council Investments, when and where are the money invested and what amount etc.
Me and some friends were so greatly disappointed, we stopped buying local newspapers for some years now and have no intention to buy them at all. Well, sometimes, me got free copies from my primary school nephew who got the ST free at school. ST is kind in helping to educate our students(primary level) and please don’t suspect that our press is trying to indoctrinate the young minds or that it has too many unsold copies.
47) mice is nice
I do not for a single moment thought that Ms Daphne K. Teo would submit an article to the Straits Times if there is no grain of truth.
I have no issue with that.
I have no issue that the poor should not be paying these high bills. These guys needs a break.
I have no issue with that gahmen must have a plan to deal with the out break (and you may not agree with me but I honestly do believe they are trying their best, and we are not helping by pouring cold water on them)
My issue in this whole $214 thing is what is the detail
Is it full paying unsubsidised price, or subsidised price, is it a typical fee for all H1N1 patients
We may blame TTSH for not telling us what this $214 is for
We may blame ST for not telling us what this $214 is for
We may blame Ms Daphne for not telling us what this $214 is for
We may even blame Michael Jackson for dying before telling us what this $214 is for
But without knowing it, what are we discussing?
Repeating myself, It like discussing a movie review without knowing the movie title.
Hope you can see my point.