Announcement:
Look out for TOC’s National Day special from August 1st. Our writers share their personal take on each sentence of the National Pledge.

Andrew Loh

We will manage it [Speakers’ Corner] with a light touch. So I think there’s no need for the police to get involved.” (Straits Times)

That was what Prime Minister Lee Hsien Long said in August 2008 when he announced the relaxation of the rules for public demonstrations at Speakers’ Corner. The new rules came into effect on 1st September 2008. Singaporeans who wanted to hold public demonstrations at the park no longer had to apply for a police permit to do so.

We will hand this over. Mah Bow Tan has agreed, NParks (National Parks Board) will take over,” the Prime Minister explained during his National Day Rally speech. “And NParks, you know their green fingers, everything will grow nicely, it will be well in hand.”

When Speakers’ Corner was first created in September 2000, Minister for Home Affairs Wong Kan Seng gave a similar assurance, saying that the Internal Security Department “has a lot of better things to do” than monitor the movements of the speakers. He was responding to opposition politician Mr JB Jeyaretnam’s concerns that Singaporeans were required to provide personal details when registering to speak at Hong Lim Park. (Singapore Window)

With such assurances by the Prime Minister and the Home Affairs Minister, one must wonder why there are now five closed-circuit televisions (CCTV) at Hong Lim Park. Coming on the heels of the recent spate of new rules such as the amendments to the Films Act and the introduction of a new Public Order Act, Singaporeans are wondering if political space is being curbed, instead of being opened up, which was what the Prime Minister had promised.

When I visited Speakers’ Corner on Friday, 24 July, there were three cameras mounted along the perimeter of the field – one just outside the entrance to Clark Quay MRT station, a second near the Kreta Ayer Police Station and the third just in front of the stage. All three face the open field.

A fourth one is located near the car park and the fifth mounted on the external wall of the police station, facing the park.

Why is there a need to have five security cameras at a relatively small area?

To find out the reasons, I visited the Kreta Ayer police station, which is located beside the park. The officer there told me he knows nothing about the cameras, except the one mounted on the police station building. I asked him who monitors the cameras. He said the park is under the charge of the National Parks Board (Nparks) and gave me a number to call them. So I did.

I was told that the cameras were installed by the police and that my query has been passed to the relevant department of the police force. (We will update this article when we receive a reply from the police.)

In reply to queries by the Today newspaper, the police say the cameras are for “safety and security” reasons. “CCTVs are used to complement police presence on the ground and to project a greater sense of security,” the police statement to Today said. (Today)

A few questions naturally arise.

One, have there been complaints from the public that Hong Lim Park is unsafe? How many complaints, if any, have there been so far? More importantly, what is the crime rate at the park to warrant five cameras to be installed? In April 2009, Member of Parliament Ms Irene Ng said, “We have been fairly successful with our experiment at Speakers’ Corner. The protests there have been peaceful thus far.” She was so impressed by the peaceful events that she called for street processions to be allowed as well. “We should take that experiment further and allow certain streets which lead up to the Speakers’ Corner at Hong Lim Park to be designated safe for processions,” she said. (MFA)

So clearly, the police’s reasons for installing the CCTVs – “safety and security” – are at best dubious ones. Surely, the crime rate there could not have suddenly spiraled since April, which is just three months ago, when Ms Ng made her remarks. Besides, Hong Lim Park has also been rather quiet the last three months. So, the police’s fear of “safety and security” does not stand either. In any case, isn’t it strange that the police officers at the Kreta Ayer police station, which is virtually within the park itself, do not even know about the CCTVs?

Two, the police’s statement is interesting to note. It said, “CCTVs are used to complement police presence on the ground and to project a greater sense of security.” Notice that the police does not say the cameras are to provide a greater sense of security but only to “project” it. Put another way, the cameras are for deterrence.

The question is: Who are the police trying to deter? There is no evidence of any significant presence of crime at the park. So, criminals cannot be the target. Are the cameras suppose to deter activists, as some have suggested? Yet, why would the police want to do this? Isn’t Speakers’ Corner supposed to be a free space where demonstrations are even allowed now?

Three, does not the police feel that the presence of the cameras would instead be contradicting the promises of the Prime Minister, who said that “there is no need for the police to get involved”?

Perhaps the government did not expect huge crowds to turn up for events at Speakers’ Corner and thus was caught by surprise. Hence, this back-peddling and the presence of the five cameras. Crowds as large as 1,000 people turned up to protest their predicament during the structured products saga last year. More recently, 700 people showed up for the Pink Dot event, organized by the gay community in Singapore. By local standards, these crowds are huge.

Perhaps the government should not be alarmed that more Singaporeans are now willing to participate in such events. They should be encouraged and not curtailed – or seen to be curtailed. This has been what our ministers have been urging Singaporeans to do – to get involved, to speak up, and so on. The PM even called on Singaporeans to “mobilize” themselves.

Indeed, our former Prime Minister, Mr Goh Chok Tong, said:

Singapore’s political and social climate needs to give space for more ventilation and variation.

Diversity will affect how the people and the Government relate. If Singapore is to become a place where people can fulfill their aspirations, where they can explore many different things, it will no longer make sense for the Government to always control and regulate every activity.” (TOC)

Fimmaker Mr Martyn See sees the presence of the CCTVs as further proof that political space in Singapore is being further constrained. “There is a chronic, deep-seated political climate of fear in Singapore. The Government will pretend it doesn’t exist but they know it does. And this explains the installation of CCTVs in Hong Lim Park, the introduction of the Public Order Act and the new restrictions to the Films Act. These measures are not there to deter a handful of already-determined activists,” Mr See said, “but they are calculated to further instill fear in the general public. “

“Lee Hsien Loong’s government is not freeing up political space. They are calibrating it so that they [can] better manage it,” he added.

While the security cameras may deter ordinary Singaporeans, activist Mr Seelan Palay says he will continue to use the park to express himself. “The cameras being installed at Hong Lim Park only go to show that ‘liberalization’ of political space is something that the PAP government only pays lip service to,” he said. “But their fear tactics will not deter me from being there to support various causes because in my heart I know I am on the side of justice and truth.”

Former Nominated Member of Parliament, Mr Siew Kum Hong, called the presence of the cameras “ridiculous”.

In his National Day Rally speech last year, the Prime Minister said the following:

“We’ve got to think through our own problems ourselves, find the right path for Singapore. Crossing a river by feeling for the stones, step by step, as Deng Xiaoping said. But please remember, even in the cyberage, some things don’t change.”

Indeed, it seems they don’t.

—-

Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

79 Responses to ““Even in the cyberage, some things don’t change””

1. i think we should not be chicken out by such action of the government. i strongly believe in the truth. go with your heart and deal with actuall situation that comes along.
    this cctv is just a fear factor that catered in for public to have fear for being doing wrong ‘thing’. so what ‘wrong’ thing are we talking about? so go with the truth!

2. Mayhem 28 July 2009

Is the board or people who hire Ho Ching responsible for the country’s money? What consequence, if any, will the Chairman of the board face if all the money is lost? I believe there is zero consequence otherwise it won’t be such an easy decision to appoint the right CEO.

3. will4 28 July 2009

Gilbert, the putting of the CCTV is questionable unless it is to deter terrorist or crime but judging from it, it is the least likely target.

4. Piped Piper Wanted 28 July 2009

51) Gilbert Goh on July 28th, 2009 5.08 pm
    “I guess to progress we have to ignore the cameras.

If we let fear affects us, we all fall into the trap …”

agree. we should not be afraid of cameras. somemore they say meant for safety or something like that right?

anyways many who were at HLP may have been filmed by others already or went online already with their faces in videos.

its purely a psychological thing rather than anything else.

without the cameras installed, people go to HLP. But among the crowd can be people with filming tools also or capture from high rise nearby using telescopic lenses or still cameras. if wanted, anyone could already have taken footage.

so, the new cameras should not be anything new other than it may be a psychological barrier for many.

maybe people should take the lead and show that it is still the same old HLP and then followers might come.

5. tiredsingaporean 28 July 2009

53) Mayhem on July 28th, 2009 5.48 pm
    What consequence, if any, will the Chairman of the board face if all the money is lost?

You think these ppl will still be around in singapore when the singaporeans one day really discovered that their entire cpf savings are actually being ripped off totally? C’mon! what can you ppl do really, you think singaporeans are like the Thai ppl? even till today, the process of hunting down thaksin is still going on around the globe.

6. When Wong Cunt Seng gave the “assurance”in 2000, their fear & nightmare have just begin…..No microphone is allowed in HLP. PAP is then hoping HLP will become a white elephant.

Little expect the crowd swell as years go by & PAP balls shrunk. Aunties & uncles also go there to Protest.

————————————————————————————————————–
    Comment in the TOC while you can.

S’pore streets don’t trust the PAP anymore
    Do not be surprise if the PAP shut down this web site, as election draws near (after giving “sweets” at national rally ).

TOC Do stand-by for some contingency plans if that happens.

7. doctorwho 28 July 2009

Think positively, u are caught in HLP cameras, u are in Singapore History, future generations would remember u. Your grand children can proudly say my grand pa/ma is a hero/heroine!

Now don’t be shy, say cheese and take a group video in front of the cameras.

8. kekleng siao 28 July 2009

The cctv is to protect Chee SJ my friend. Just in case anything happen to him at HLP the footage is useful. Also in case those wearing pink doing something that is indecent in the open at HLP we will have solid prove.

9. World Citizen 29 July 2009

I don’t think, after so many incidents of breaking promises, I would be able to trust those leaders who say one thing in public but do just the opposite in actions any more.

It is, therefore, better for me to prepare myself and my children to look for somewhere else (Australia, Canada or US) for our future. This tiny island is simply getting too congested and too stifling for any good. Sincerely, I don’t see a good future for my future generations here.

So, make hay while the sun shines! Make as much money as you can, withdraw the CPF money and totally settle down somewhere else. This is my advice for those who can and willing. But for those who are not able to or are die-hard stayers, good luck to you.

In this Cyberspace Age, the whole world is OUR Country, not a tiny island controlled by a few dictators!

10. Jackson 29 July 2009

Time will age those bloodsuckers to death. The MIW up there already has white hair and fragile bodies. I still have more than 30yrs to see their doom. lol.

11. Understand that after the Chee Soo Juan episode in the courts, with the leaked recording and international publicity gained from youtube, it has been made illegal to film the police in action. Sometimes, I wonder at the extremes the people in power go to , to protect their position. Thinking about all that took place after JBJ’s victory in Anson and the blow Chee took for challenging the elities and the subsequent legislative changes (Now ironically termed the – Chee laws), I fear the day, more seats are lost, posing a threat to their hold on power. I dare not imagine the measures they will take in fear to further protect themselves. For it has been proven in our history that the elites will never give up their power held for so many years so easily and have the capability and capacity to do anything to remain in power at all cost. The camera in Hong Lim park is just Big Brother watching and waiting to swing into action and destroy the green shoot of democracy before it becomes a giant tree.

12. aiyoyo 29 July 2009

aiyoyo

talking during breakfast

is this chinese saying applicable?

“上梁不正 下梁歪”

aiyoyo

13. who will be the loser ? 29 July 2009

I don’t know how some smart guys with high high salary thinks. They have not understood the fact that – in live, the more you try to grab, the more it will slip away from you.

You may win this round. But it is not possible to win all the rounds.

Sad sad day for them when they loose big.

14. unabel 29 July 2009

Friends, Singapore is PAP’s property & pleasure. From 1965 if one steps on the
    demarkation line one is clobbered. If one crosses the demarkation line, it is
    simply one’s “oblivion”

15. veryscared thus anonymous 29 July 2009

Vote them out at the next election? Aw comeon are u guys kidding me? Wake up!
    There is nothing to vote for. Come on children, let me use my crystal ball to show u wads going to happen. (disclaimer, out of fear of somehow my IP address being tracked down, may I please state the below is just a creative imagination on my part)

Firstly, come 2011, there will be the short term goodies and freebies thrown at the people, particularly torpedoed towards the fearful, short-term memory citizens like my mum who will fear that everything will become armageddon like Thailand if we vote opposition in. She’ll say, better don’t anyhow change.

Pepper that with promises to help the poor and the elderly and all the good things of the world, just like in our last election, 2006.

Then there will be the political potholes our opposition figures will invariably fall into, and you will sure have another round of defamation suits in the newspapers. Further increasing our fear factor. By the way, how come Brits, Australians and Americans can say what they want and not get into defamation libel suits? I thought our democracies are the same ideologies. But I digress.

Then, finally, when you have decided to go vote, you realize

A) Eh? I din know I was supposed to vote in Marine Parade / Tanjong Pagar / Bukit Timah GRC leh….I wonder why..does this mean my house actually is worth more money now ah? Oh no leh, last I checked I still take MRT from Braddell…hmm is it i got dementia already..aiyo
    or
    B) Oh my GRC is a walkover ah? Ok lor just walkover to buy some toto and lim kopi can already lah.
    or
    C) I get to vote finally after waiting for so many years. Hmm better check calendar, Alamak is this the 22nd century already? Eh, I already lao kok kok already vote for wad…

Wake up lah. Find a job, earn a living, be a security guard or drive taxi or something, don’t be choosy. Choose to be happy with what you have. Peace out.

16. Tom #57: No microphone is allowed in HLP

No microphone is allowed at the Speakers Corner. But at community events (does the Pink Dot gathering count as a community event?) a mic and a mini amplification sytem was used.
    At another more recent foreign community event at HLP, a full-fledged speaker system was used, providing day-long amusement for a crowd of several thousands.
    Wonder if the authorities fear such events might be hijacked by “sinister” types? Remember the massive student protests at Tiananmen? Hence, CCTVs could be be useful — to facilitate a hunt for the perpetrators of public protests (or bombers as in the case of the London subway).

17. X.X!!! 29 July 2009

@#57 Tom…

hahahaha.. freaking hilarious..

Quote ” Wong Cunt Seng” end quote – hahahaha

18. X.X!!! 29 July 2009

The day PAP gets kicked out, sg will rejoice. If that day nvr happens, then damn, sg will be the next state which is gona be like the 1930′s Nazi Germany. wait, consider it already halfway there!
    XD

19. Homeless in my own country 29 July 2009

8) ABC on July 27th, 2009 11.56 pm

Geylang is littered with vices definitely need the 5 expensive hi-tech CCTVs. Home Team so short of manpower and resources still can spare 5 CCTVs for Hong Lim Park protesters. They are so caring. Truly amazing hor! Really intelligent leaders running the home team. BRAVO. :>

Well said!

20. Mayhem 29 July 2009

Please guys, pray tell, who in their right minds are adoring, honouring and VOTING back the Mafia and Godfather to oppress them?

21. Mayhem 29 July 2009

51) Gilbert Goh wrote:

“If we let fear affects us, we all fall into the trap of the authorities which is trying to use scare tactics here.”

- The fear factor is very real! Look at all the political victims, they are either sued till bankrupt, thrown in prison, end up in IMH or exiled. Will you be the first to campaign for any new victim esp from HLP?

“I beliebe Singapore will move and the next election will hopefully bring forth much needed changes to our country.”
    - Depends on how much exposure the SG population is getting. Most are ‘programmed’ by the Sg education system.

22. auntie moo 30 July 2009

A liberal waste of our money. More white elephants.

23. A Tan 30 July 2009

“International cyberspace expert from Belorussia, EVGENY MOROZOV, warns that it is naïve to assume that the internet will export free speech and spread democratic values around the world. He says that the global diffusion of the internet has presented authoritarianism with opportunity as well as challenge.”

http://www.evgenymorozov.com/

24. Dumb and dumber 31 July 2009

72) Mayhem

“- The fear factor is very real! Look at all the political victims, they are either sued till bankrupt, thrown in prison, end up in IMH or exiled. Will you be the first to campaign for any new victim esp from HLP?”
    >> You mean we are living in “N Korea” now? No, no no. By persecuting a commoner for airing “different” opinion, they turn that person into a “martyr”. It’s bad for PR. Just make sure you don’t break the law but inciting violence, etc. Any sane person will know where’s the boundary; especially Singaporeans. We have already a lot of OB markers created by fear already.

Nonetheless, it’s a different thing for an opposition politician though; as over the years, PAP has cultivated the impression into Singaporeans that if you entered politics as opposition, it’s a serious business and they will come after you if you broke the “law”. And over time, Singaporean slowly accepted this norm.

“Firstly, come 2011, there will be the short term goodies and freebies thrown at the people, particularly torpedoed towards the fearful, short-term memory citizens like my mum who will fear that everything will become armageddon like Thailand if we vote opposition in. She’ll say, better don’t anyhow change.”
    >> Think about your children instead. That will give you strength. I can only say that you need to slowly educate your mother and put things in perspective.

“Wake up lah. Find a job, earn a living, be a security guard or drive taxi or something, don’t be choosy. Choose to be happy with what you have. Peace out.”
    >> Not asking your to join the opposition and fight against the PAP. This forum is about raising awareness in the social and political arena. The only thing you need to do is to do your own reading and draw your own conclusions; and lastly, vote base on your own conscience and understanding – not fear. If you vote out of fear – you vote in a “bully” – is that good for you and your children?

25. Anonymous 31 July 2009

So the bottom line is : Our PM told us what was a lie”

26. Betrayed 31 July 2009

Our police and army chief is more powerful than the Prime Minister of Singapore. They can disobey the PM who is elected by the people.

27. ourmoneytemasekcrownjewel 1 August 2009

[i] ATan on July 30th, 2009 5.59 pm “International cyberspace expert from Belorussia, EVGENY MOROZOV, warns that it is naïve to assume that the internet will export free speech and spread democratic values around the world. [/i]
    right on
    and russia today have no internet access perhaps?
    russia today have the biggest hackers/virus infectors as well
    they are rakin in billion$ of profit$ just to be connected to the internet
    you should lived in vietnam
    everytime you screw the vietcong government
    they just closed down your internet cafe….
    so easy
    yet you sound so difficult
    than again
    you are indeed
    ATan..
    A stand for what?
    a s s hole perhaps?