Andrew Loh

In a Straits Times report on 10 July, five out of the nine new Nominated Members of Parliament (NMPs) list Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew as their favourite politician. United States president, Barack Obama, is second with two votes of confidence, with one each for former South African president, Nelson Mandela and another US president, Benjamin Franklin.

New NMP, Associate Professor Paulin Tay Straughan, who is also vice dean of NUS’s Arts and Social Sciences faculty, gushes as she says, “I never envisaged that I would enter politics, but I had hoped that I would get to meet Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew and tell him how much I admire him,” she told the Straits Times. “I hope to do that soon.”

To Mr Terry Lee Kok Hua, a veteran unionist, MM Lee is the “Father of Singapore”. “He has transformed Singapore from a Third World to First World nation that now provides Singaporeans with better jobs, better pay and a better life.”

MM Lee is admired for his “wisdom, vision and foresight” by Mr Teo Siong Seng, managing director of shipping company Pacific International Lines, for “transforming this tiny city with virtually no natural resources into one of the most developed countries in the world today.”

Indeed, MM Lee seems to be admired by the oldest and the youngest of the new NMPs. Mr Laurence Wee, 63, related how he had watched the debate between Mr Lee and Singapore’s first chief minister, Mr David Marshall, in the 1950s and went away awed by Mr Lee. “I was impressed with MM Lee’s calmness and composure during the debate,” says Mr Wee, who is Executive director of Presbyterian Community Services. “I thought to myself then that Mr Lee held the future of Singapore.”

To Ms Jocelyn Yeo, 30, winner of numerous medals for swimming for Singapore, MM Lee “epitomizes leadership”. “His wisdom, strength and courage in making decisions that shaped Singapore are greatly admired,” she says. “He was and is truly a leader among leaders.”

Nominated Members of Parliament are said to be selected because they can provide alternative views. Hopefully, their seemingly deep admiration for the Minister Mentor will not prevent them from doing so.

—-

Tags: ,

141 Responses to “5 out of 9 new NMPs list MM Lee as their “favourite politician””

1. Harry 12 July 2009

Before LKY took over as PM in July 1959, Singapore was already a leading
    city port in Asia.
    So many Singaporeans living overseas and without LKY’s leadership have done
    much better than had they stay on in Singapore. Latest is the man who made his millions after leaving Singapore and just found his long lost family.
    HK, Taiwan, Korea and many other countries without LKY has progressed and
    prospered. In some cases they are financially better off and they have got their freedom, human rights and dignity.
    So Singaporeans should stop underrating themselves by attributing all the achievements in Singapore to LKY. There are many others who are responsible. Above all it is the hardworking, diligence, integrity and sacrifices of Singaporeans who made this success possible. Without Singaporeans, LKY is NOTHING.

2. B.Kuppupokusamy 12 July 2009

Frankly,this NMP manoeuvring is a very curious but sleek political concoction created only by the PAP on this planet earth,to try to avert any “tsunami”.What other country has such ruse to trick the electorate?
    Do not fall for it.
    If you want alternative views with iron bites,not effeminate nibbles,a true and strong opposition entrenched in parliament is still needed.Pseudo-opposition like the NMP system will only perpetuate the single-party authoritarian rule in Singapore for all eternity.
    For all eternity…………..

3. zachary 12 July 2009

@Harry, well said.

4. borderless 12 July 2009

The whole concept of NMP is preservation of the ONE-PARTY whilst giving the false impression of ‘democracy’. In actual fact, few can see that this country is virtually a dictatorship in disguise.

5. President Barack Obama, Nelson Mandela and Franklin Roosevelt are the political pple I look up to. But for social activism, I actually prefer Archbishop Tutu, Martin Luther King Jr, and Mother Theresa.

The late Princess Diana is also another one. MM Lee is, to me, only a good politician who’s highly skilled in the political during his prime. But I don’t and never will ever worship or idolise a politician. And his legacy, as compared to past greats in the international era, pales in comparison to President FDR. FDR was the one who was the main reason on why the Allies managed to beat the Axis in WWII; MM Lee for all his achievements, cannot top that.

6. blackfeline 12 July 2009

in the footnote of world’s great leaders…that’s where he will be mentioned!

7. Other one 12 July 2009

Question : “what about the other 4 out of 9 MNPS who did not vote for MM ?”

Answer : “they voted for the PM lor”. (they had no choice cos someone has to lick the other pair of VIP boots !!). LOL.

8. famiLee politician 12 July 2009

Of course MM Lee will be the favourite politician of
    those who are well fed like the pigs in “animal farm”,
    those who treat Spore like a hotel,
    those FT who get better treatment than local peasants,
    those who play the part of pigs in “animal farm”,
    those who play the role of guard-dogs, bootlickers to the pigs,
    those who enjoy similar benefits in any part of the world they belong to.

9. mightmouse 12 July 2009

this also nice to debate about? good news! shows singkpore peeps still v suupportive of local “brands” and “legacies” instead of foreign trash.

10. mightmouse 12 July 2009

>>>>>98) Concerned

shows that he is dishonest. dishonest peeps should never serve as mps.

11. I respect LKY as a political leader. I would have much preferred that in the ST article, a section had been included in the NMPs’ views on at least 1 issue which they disagree, or find controversial with the leader they admired. Does not have to apply only to LKY. If no, then just state no and why. This allows readers to assess for themselves if this person has exercised sound thinking, and at the same time provide insights on the person concerned, in the event he doesn’t fully agree with a particular area. I am a subscriber that in good faith, diversity of views, not uniformity, will add quality to discussions.

12. whenpoliswearkaki 12 July 2009

[i]) kf on July 12th, 2009 7.38 pm I respect LKY as a political leader. I would have much preferred that in the ST article, a section had been included in the NMPs’ views on at least 1 issue which they disagree, or find controversial with the leader they admired. Does not have to apply only to LKY. [/i]

indeed
    a very very smart moves
    perhaps you missed the leekuanyew interviews with undergraduates last few years ago
    when 1 of our brilliant undergrads asked leekuanyew a very good question
    on how good leekuanyew is?
    what did leekuanyew says?
    who are you
    where do you lived
    what is YOUR name
    ~zhee~
    you called this a fruitful discussion?
    what did leekuanyew
    did to capitan ryangoh of sia
    when ryangoh were the pilot union chief?
    first he had him FIRED
    than he had ryangoh permanant status REMOVED INDEFITENITELY!
    FORCING RYANGOH TO MIGRATE TO AUSTRALIA
    and what happened to ryangoh’s young SINGAPOREAN born daughter?
    she too was forced to become a quitter and migrate to australia
    now which part of leekuanyew as a political leader needs respect?
    please GUIDE us….
    thank you

13. #100) Harry
    #103) zachary
    ‘ @Harry, well said.’
    #80) KopitiamApek
    #47) Terence
    ‘I am with you on this, Terence.’
    ……………………………………………………

LKY made a very big mistake. He should have gracefully retired from the govt and politics when he handed over the premiership to GCT. Then, he won’t be characterised by critics as Satan, evil monster, etc…. The longer he remains in govt the lesser will be his legacy to the country.

14. Harry 12 July 2009

LKY succeeded and lasted so long because he used evil dictatorial measures to get his way. Besides those instances mentioned here like the sacking and cancelling of SIA Captain Ryan Goh, there are many other instances in the past where he used forced to achieve his aim. Let me just highlight one for the benefits of younger Singaporeans . This involved a very well known and wealthy Singaporean philantrophy, Tan Lark Sye. Tan Lark Sye founded Nantah and donated the land for the building of huge Kong Meng San Buddhist Temple Complex. In the 1963 GE he was braved enough to finance and support a group of brave young fresh Nantah graduates to challenge LKY and the PAP. 13 of them were elected into Parliament including Chia Thye Poh. However immediately after the close of election, LKY abused the ISA to launch operation Cold Storage to round up all the leaders of the opposition. Tan Lark Sye paid a very heavy price for his brave stance against LKY. Not only did LKY abused the government machineries to kill his business empire, LKY also took away Tan Lark Sye’s passport and citizenship. I called LKY an evil monster for very good reasons.

15. Led by a Makapili 12 July 2009

# 114) Harry

Do you know who was heading the ISA then? Are they still partners today?

16. What is the effect 12 July 2009

Why so many nominated and not let singaporeans vote for MPs instead of NMP?
    I wonder only lah. Cans or nots?

17. Who else would you expect 5 out of 9 of them to pick as their favourite politician? This is Singapore and we don’t believe in things like ….fighting back or for the people. Let’s look at the likely candidates they could have picked.

1-Nelson Mandela – Nope……lead a revolutionary struggle against a racist regime

2 – An Sang Su Kui – Nope…she refuses to do as she’s told and accept that the full power of the state is always right/

3 – Jose Ramon Horta/Xana what’s his name. – Nope…fought against established regime and I don’t think they went to Cambridge

4 – Dalai Lama – Nope….silly man wanted to make China look bad for doing things like shooting people at will and replacing religious culture with karaoke bars

5 – Barak Obama – Nope – says he wants to change things a few times too many

6 – John McCain – Nope – Once said that torture is wrong and ineffective

7 – Pope – Nope – Believes that he’s accountable to God……

So when you look at things this way, they’re right to list MM as their favourite politician of all time ….now if only the other four could see things the responsible way ;)

18. One of the candidates did say Nelson Mandela. Another said Barack Obama.

19. Don’t you think there too many MP running acountry like SIngapore, which is equivalent to Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia.

I wonder, why they need so many MP to run SIngapore, it is a waste ot public funds – the should retrenched some of the MP, abd led oine MP to run 2 constituency. That is what happen oin our job now, they call it multi- tasking

20. Gilbert Goh 13 July 2009

Though I agreed that LKY is the greatest visionary leader of our times, he may have overstay his term here.

Good leaders learn how to exit in their prime and not over extend their stay in leadership.

When they over stay, they tend to hold on to their long held power and never learn to let go to their appointed leaders. It is tough for successful leader to let go…that is why countries like N Korea has appointed their sons to take over the power. We may go that pathway here.

Mahathir chose to let go but we all know that he tried to condemn the previous appointed PM till he has no choice but to go off.

Though I admired LKY for his drive and vision, he has definitely hold on too long to power here.

21. Owe $$ pay $$ 13 July 2009

114) Harry on July 12th, 2009 9.31 pm
    This old man will pay for his due when time is up, very soon.

22. Ok, I buy the point on him having ‘overstayed’. In addition, I did not see a major difference in contributions as a mentor to ministers (through the output of the ministers) compared to previous ministers who had no ‘mentor’ (?).
    It’s a package that Singapore took in having him, and there were accomplishments during his watch, in which the economy would not have surged ahead of many other countries if not for his foresight. Again, I am not saying that I agreed with everything he did, or say.

23. Harry 13 July 2009

Sure LKY and his old guards did good things for Singaporeans in the early days. In the 60′s LKY and his pap are just like any other political parties assuming power in that they fumbled from one end to the other. Things stabilised in the early 70′s and improve from the mid 70′s until the late 80′s. Singaporeans were generally very happy with the way LKY and his team was running Singapore. Many did improved their quality of lives. However things started to take a bad change for average Singaporeans when LKY forced his older colleagues into premature retirement and replaced them with gutless young technocrates. That is when LKY changed from his socialist inclination into a purely capitalist one.
    Free public hospitals were restructed into paying ones by Goh Chok Tong as health minister. All government services were priced at commerical rates. Welfare were publicised as a dirty word. Checks and balances were eradicated. Government began to intrude into commerical business like daily press and public transportation. In the old days the PAP government works for the average Singaporean. Now they worked for themselves, those around them, the rich and foreigners. I used to support them and have high regards for LKY until I knew of the many evil things they did without Singaporeans knowledge. Bukit Ho Swee is one of them. The PAP is very good in marketing themselves way above their worth. They are also very good in hiding their rotten arses.

24. Harry 13 July 2009

The old directors of ISA who carried out LKY evil deeds are all dead except for one, Nathan.

25. Mohamad Hamim 13 July 2009

NMP issue.
    This country Singapore are multi-racial.
    We have Malay, Chinese, Indian, Caucasian and Others.
    The NMP must multi-racial.
    Non Contituency Member Of Parliament, they do not belong to any contituency but must be pro citizen of singaporean.
    What are the pro citizen of singaporean issue?
    These NMP have to ask themself.

26. Jackson 13 July 2009

If LKY had retired after being PM, I think people might have high regard
    for him. But because he refused to let go and cosmetically appoint
    shadow replacements (seriously LHL is not acting like a PM), more
    people will see the negative side of him especially the way he treated
    the opposition people who were mercilessly despatched away without
    compassion> Whats more govt policies are more and more
    getting money-oriented resulting in hardships for many people.
    Presently only presses are singing his praises.
    I think there will be a long line of people waiting to piss at his grave
    when he is 6 feet under

27. anonymous 13 July 2009

whatever wonderful things u feel lky has done for singapore, its all in the past and he and his family has been MORE THAN OBSCENELY compensated for it in terms of money and status.
    lets move on and no need to worship him anymore lah!

now u understand why pap still need him around and election may be sooner than u think. must make him help them win one more term before he up the lorry.
    hopefully next election result will give him a heart attack instead.

28. Anonymous 13 July 2009

NMP Calvin Cheng already had the makings of an arrogant PAP MP when he takes offence for his calvalier attitude as reported by journalist Balji.

How can he now defend that his curiousity to join as a member of PAP Youth is a plus point when he has at the same time admitted that he was an inactive member all along. I take it as that his curiousity defence is an obvious excuse for his ultimate motive in joining the PAP Youth as a stepping stone towards bigger opportunities as an elite member of the establishment.

May I ask Calvin Cheng, how can someone join a political party for fun (another pun for curiousity) ?

29. bootlip 13 July 2009

i also vote MM as my favourite politician, i hope his party will take note and make me a heavy weight in GLC or ministries for my undivided loyalty. btw i am also very curious if this would happen. ha ha

30. Led by a Makapili 13 July 2009

#124)Harry

The answer is out as to how and why Nathan is where he is today.

31. Harry 14 July 2009

Nathan’s friendship with LKY dated back to the days when both of them work for the Japanese occupation forces. They were enjoying their lives while many Singaporeans were struggling to survive under the atrocious and wicked Japanese occupation forces. A large number of Singaporeans were murdered or tortured to death. There were a few mass grave sites in Singapore. One in situated in a hill in the East Coast.

32. anonymous 14 July 2009

Jocelyn Yeo? She’s from that nationalistic church of hers. Wouldn’t expect less.

33. HonkytonkMan 14 July 2009

The balls carrying is amazingly refreshing. I left this country cos it’s not a free country.. It’s a patriarchy and a benevelent dictatorship. One cannot enjoy being who he is without being scrutinized by anally retentive commie spy types

34. Charles Stewart Lee 14 July 2009

96) borderless on July 12th, 2009 9.56 am

The founder(s) of Singapore are the SINGAPOREAN people.

100)Harry on July 12th, 2009 1.32 pm

Damn right both of you !

35. runawayfromsinopore 14 July 2009

stop complaining and vote the PAP out. and that will never happen coz singaporeans are after all sigaporeans lah,,,

36. Led by 2 Makapilis 15 July 2009

OMG!

BOTH of them had been working for the Japs?!! One is bad enough… now then we know its actually TWO!

OMG!

37. Super GRC 18 July 2009

Harry, cautious in what u said … u may be sent out by a porter

38. Singaporean (and sadly so) 21 July 2009

Can’t really blame them….This happens…..brainwashing or ass kissing

In Mao China, there were those who worship Mao like a god
    In Nazi Germany, there were those who worship the fuhrer
    In North Korean, there are those who worship their great leader…..