Andrew Loh, Main Stories, Top Story - Written on Friday, July 24, 2009 13:38 - 144 Comments

Big Brother descends on Speakers’ Corner

Five cctvs in total have been mounted at Speakers’ Corner at Hong Lim Park. The Singapore Democratic Party first reported on this on its website here. TOC will have a report on it soon.

Pictures by Andrew Loh. More pictures on TOC Facebook.

Workers installing the cctvs on Tuesday. (Picture by the SDP)

Camera near the entrance of Clark Quay MRT station

Camera near the Kreta Ayer Police Station

Camera near the stage at Hong Lim Park

Camera near the carpark

1. Going to Speakers’ Corner? Inform the Hong Lim Gardener
  2. NTU students protest at Speakers’ Corner
  3. Raffles Institution’s students take to Speakers’ Corner this Sunday
  4. Investors invited to Speakers’ Corner
  5. Bloggers speak up against public transport shortcomings at Speakers’ Corner

144 Comments

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

respond with masks
Jul 24, 2009 14:03

To humour the paranoid ruling elites, perhaps all future organisors of events at HLP should think of selling Obama, Aung San Suu Kyi, Mandela, etc, look alike type of masks. That’s right, put these masks on before entering the CCTV area.
I would like to see this broadcasted on CNA or featured in S.T…….LOL

ErniesUrn
Jul 24, 2009 14:12

I think they should spend paxpayers money wisely and not try to waste our money by installing this cctv for what reason? Model of governance is bullocks.

Beside monintoring politcal events here, i can’t think of anything else. Robbery? Rape? BS…

Maybe they should install more cctv in Temasek Holdings and GIC. You don’t know who maybe be stealing your money.

Marketplace Thiologist
Jul 24, 2009 14:17

Speakers have to register their particulars at the National Parks Singapore before giving a speech. It appears that the registration is not doing enough to stop people from signing up, so the purpose of CCTV Cameras is to discourage supporters to turn up, thus further discouraging people to speak at Speakers’ Corner.

ErniesUrn
Jul 24, 2009 14:18

Politcal freedom … hmmm everytime they tell Singaporeans, voice out, don’t be a afraid and then they sneakly monitor you. Hows that for trust?

Political paranoia is an understatement. Political cowardness is more likely.

Gilbert Goh
Jul 24, 2009 14:25

Not surprising as ours is a controlled democratic country.

We are going very backwards this day.

ErniesUrn
Jul 24, 2009 14:25

Election is coming so they are putting these erm …brave measures… incase there is a unofficial rally at HL. And also in case PAP looses the election, they can use these tapes and sell them as video memoirs.

New Law
Jul 24, 2009 14:30

Your suggest will provoke Wong Cunt Sing to pass another new law in Singapore:

1. “NO masks, heavy make-ups, dark glasses, wigs or anthing that will distort your face, be used in any political rallies or political funerals or any functions which the state deem political.

2. On top of that, all audience and speakers in political rallies or any functions which the state deem as political must register with their I.C.

A “Hong Lim Park by-law” will be passed: “with the above two clauses plus everyone must not try to avoid the camera…they must at least twice look towards the cameras (must be at least two different cameras in case one of them is not working) so that it can capture the face clearing. Also no glasses must be wore when you look at the camera…must last for at least 5 seonds and must not smile or laugh..just be still like taking a passport or prisoner’s photograph.

Peace
Jul 24, 2009 14:30

During the rally cover them with big plastic bags and remove them after the rally.Let us see whether there are human survellience other than camera.

ErniesUrn
Jul 24, 2009 14:33

Election is coming ..so i guess this is the brave thing they are doing ..so brave they have to watch a space that had been abandon for so long, brave indeed, such display of politcal openess deserves a no vote.

Jonah
Jul 24, 2009 14:40

that is the amount of “trust” our current government has of us, after it demanded our “trust” in its way of unlocking our reserves…

singkies are a pathetic bunch, so pathetic that we don’t even know it…

Kishore
Jul 24, 2009 14:57

This is to keep Singapore SAFE!

Moe Gan Thai
Jul 24, 2009 15:00

Wong KS will say, putting up camera is to prevent theft, and pickpocket. The govt cares so much abt its ppl, that is why they can spend money to instal the camera to protect the citizens. 1st world govt. vote Pap for another 50 years.!!!!!

ErniesUrn
Jul 24, 2009 15:05

Yeah right to keep us SAFE… from politics… maybe to deter people from politics …this comes just after last years NDP politcal openess bullcrap message. Screw that ..i’ll still go visit HLP anytime.

Marketplace Thiologist
Jul 24, 2009 15:10

Hi New Law #4,

Wearing mask will be considered as “obstruction of justice” since it render the CCTV cameras useless.

F
Jul 24, 2009 15:13

THANK YOU PAP FOR YOUR LIBERALISATION!

I DIDNT KNOW IT CAME WITH 5 FREE CCTVs!

Dumb and dumber
Jul 24, 2009 15:27

To 12) F:

You must thank yourself (if you pay taxes) and many others. It’s tax payer’s money.

mad93
Jul 24, 2009 15:33

Great! The return of 1984! Well done PAP, im so proud of you! Using cameras to spy on legal protesters, very well done….and you see your next general election results will plunged to 20 yr low.

ErniesUrn
Jul 24, 2009 16:00

Here’s a chance for MSM to prove they are not a mouth piece. Please cover this story.

F
Jul 24, 2009 16:02

To 13) Dumb and dumber:

Yes I know, anyway I was being sarcastic. Unfortunately your statement is the sad truth.

Jc
Jul 24, 2009 16:11

So No to censorship.

mice is nice
Jul 24, 2009 16:33

time to carry umbrella at HLP!! :)

ABC
Jul 24, 2009 16:36

Good idea, carry pink color umbrella.

mice is nice
Jul 24, 2009 16:41

dun forget the umbrella formation, Roman style:
- 1st row umbrella at waist level,
- 2nd row umbrella stack above the 1st row
- 3rd row umbrella above the 2nd row.
hold the formation, dun break ranks!!

why leh, scared of bird s**t at HLP. thes days so many types of flu SARs, H1N1, must “cover” lah. :)

Marketplace Thiologist
Jul 24, 2009 17:14

Hi Mice #20,

Haha.. A Roman Tortoise made out of Umbrellas. ROFL.

Frank Speaks
Jul 24, 2009 17:20

When you use the toilet next time, check for any CCTV. I’m sure Big Brother is watching you somewhere :-) Listening to every word ….

Daniel
Jul 24, 2009 17:26

“This is to keep Singapore SAFE!”

What ? Are you sure this is not to monitor people from eating and drinking ? haha

whjho
Jul 24, 2009 17:36

Come on, in the context of possible riots, registered speakers ‘prostituting’ and stirring up the audiences emotionally to create un-necessary noise and disturbances which spoilt spore’s image. Remember one top gun just say Spore is as almost crime-free, begger-free, strike-free, noise pollution-free, all the vices-free city.

Well, at least, singapore is not only a FINE city, but also a FREE city.

SotongBall
Jul 24, 2009 17:45

They probably installed hidden listening devices there too.

Muhamad Nur
Jul 24, 2009 17:46

PAP government’s mantra “Do All Possible Means to deter dissent”. The setting up of CCTV is just one of their means.

Juliana
Jul 24, 2009 17:50

this is a case of dog scared of its own shadow…what a waste of time this whole exercise of move towards a more democratic society. I am soo repulsed by their cowardice.

Daniel
Jul 24, 2009 17:52

“but also a FREE city.” Which part of city is FREE ? Are you referring to FREE accomodation, kopi and curry rice in Changi Prison ?

By the way, the spin doctor will come soon. Remember when someone ask the old fart, why not open area for protest, his answer is there is going to be riot and violence. But after a year, it prove there is no violence and no riot, very peaceful protest. Now the old man and his clowns want to save face just in case people question them of their pathetic reason. NOw the old man and his henchmen can stand with head high telling the world why there is no violence and riot in Hong Lim Park is because there are CCTV monitoring the activity therefore no violence and riot, and not because Singaporean is capable of peaceful protest.

Anyone with me ?

Daniel
Jul 24, 2009 17:54

And because of above reason, more CCTV will likely built in area where opp party is contesting ! Talk about fear-monger !

Daniel
Jul 24, 2009 17:59

Now this is serious. It means I could not dress up my dog as a kangaroo now in Hong Lim Park.

mice is nice
Jul 24, 2009 18:07

i am surprised no effort & money was spared for such installations.

HLP is not Geylang redlight district…

Spycamera
Jul 24, 2009 18:08

Please remember that this place is a park after all, there are couples going there at night to talk love and sometimes also touch here and there, so if the cameras are there, all the actions will be watched and recorded, No privacy at all. I’m afraid no couple will dare to go there to pat-tall anymore.

plopp
Jul 24, 2009 18:11

Waste money put five. Hong Lim also not that big, get mugshot of every participant is it?

Daniel
Jul 24, 2009 18:13

“No privacy at all. I’m afraid no couple will dare to go there to pat-tall anymore.”

Hong Lim Park is now a holy park that will be closely monitor for indecent and
improper behaviour ?

Spycamera
Jul 24, 2009 18:27

Then I suggest we should also install cameras at Botanic Garden, MacRitchie Reserviour etc.

anakin
Jul 24, 2009 18:47

Gahmen should cut the BS and put CCTVs in all our homes……

prettyplace
Jul 24, 2009 19:12

had a good laugh reading some of your comments.

Paranoid PAP. And to counter this now they got to put up cameras in parks..pity the lovers.

ahtong
Jul 24, 2009 19:17

With the global terrorist threat, this pre-emptive move by the Singapore government could well become a global ‘best practice’ emulated by governments all over the world seeking to ensure greater security and safety for their subjects (oops, I meant ‘citizens’). Perhaps we should suggest to the British and Canadian governments to do likewise for their Speakers’ Corners. The world is becoming a more dangerous and unsafe place you know?

Brendan
Jul 24, 2009 19:18

I noticed the lack of a lightning arrestor on each CCTV? Since sg is a lightning prone area, that will be the first to fry during a heavy thunderstorm. Wait till that happpens before do something about it. So tax payers, get ready for another 5 “spare” cameras.

Singapore police put up CCTV cameras at Hong Lim Park aka Speakers’ Corner « Jacob 69er
Jul 24, 2009 19:39

[...] 69er: See also TOC’s Big Brother descends on Speakers’ Corner. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Judge dismisses complaint against Singapore [...]

Yang
Jul 24, 2009 19:50

So! What are we going to do? Just talk and grumble about it. Take action! Call the PM office and ask them what is it all about. With pressure from us, they will take it down. ACTION ACTION ACTION!!!!!!!

whenmatasworeshort
Jul 24, 2009 19:57

[i]Marketplace Thiologist on July 24th, 2009 2.17 pm Speakers have to register their particulars at the National Parks Singapore before giving a speech. It appears that the registration is not doing enough to stop people from signing up, so the purpose of CCTV Cameras is to discourage supporters to turn up, thus further discouraging people to speak at Speakers’ Corner.[/i]
if i wore black
borrowed ronald macdonal arc rival black mask
put it on
would i be incaserated into woodbridge?
this cameras all linkedup to 10 oxley rise
nowadays
laulee must be borin till death do him part…
what is he gonna do?
might as well
add a joystick
armed with laser beam
start shootin life target
boom…
1 peasants bite the dust
just liked the green aliens invader from mars attack III

gemami
Jul 24, 2009 19:59

Alamak! All of you are really mistaken. The 5 cameras are for live coverage of anti-government protests which will be beamed to the 5 continents, without censorships. See, we are trully opening up wat. We are more democratic than any democracy in history – ever. ! The modern day democracy! Singapore leads the way!

Majulah Singapura!

Daniel
Jul 24, 2009 20:01

So what’s next on the list ? ERP on Hong Lim Park so everytime people want to let off their steam and protest, they have to pay for entry ? Will Gahmen say this is privilege not a entitlement ? But then losing billions are both a privilege and entitlement to them ?

Daniel
Jul 24, 2009 20:04

” Call the PM office and ask them what is it all about. With pressure from us, they will take it down. ACTION ACTION ACTION!!!!!!!”

Will the clown says “Boogeyman back again, what to do, it’s happened. ” ?

ant
Jul 24, 2009 20:21

Just wondering how these reasources not available to ISD when MSK escaped :)

OKman
Jul 24, 2009 21:26

The expensive CCTVs are installed to make sure that people do not pluck the grass…. from the look of it, these CCTVs can zoom into minor details such as the pimples on your face. Why install such “powerful” CCTVs in a park? So crime prone meh???

joker
Jul 24, 2009 21:36

If every Singaporean get pissed and started to burn the one that keep on bring in foreign trash, I will be the first one to celebrate.
Hope the gayman do not continue to overdo things.
Is getting extremely disturbing when I see so many immgrants around this country.
Is a matter of anger awaiting to be ignited.

X.X!!!
Jul 24, 2009 21:54

to no. #3…

yup. well said there, the motive behind putting up the CCTV cams. its to discourage ppl from turning up at HLP during events.

Nevertheless, there’s something known as the internet! woohoo for that! thank goodness.
————————————————

and btw, what the heck la, already opposition so small, PAP still want to cripple them until like that, and can still say democratic, id say its a police state, or better known as an authoritarian regime.

The only difference in political system btw Sg and China?
China admits to being communist while Sg doesnt. >.>

Enigmatic
Jul 24, 2009 22:00

Omnipresent of the nether world type – yin hun bu san liao….

liesbuster
Jul 24, 2009 22:09

A miserable corner (such as SC) can attract five CCTVs. Joke of the century!

mice is nice
Jul 24, 2009 22:10

how about tighter security for our min-stars? 2 CCTVs in their office alone? for security mah….

on anot? :P

KopitiamApek
Jul 24, 2009 22:20

39) anakin

///// Gahmen should cut the BS and put CCTVs in all our homes……///////

Sorry to inform you that is was already done. You didn’t know?
You StarHub cabled TV set is a 2 way device, you watched them, and they’ve been watching you all these years.

How else do you think they know where to weave and redraw the electorial boundaries of each GRC in such creative ways every 5 years.

Better turn off that TV set now.

Finer than Fine
Jul 24, 2009 22:45

wow, 1st we have cameras on the traffic lights and expressways and then we have it
in the Lifts and some public areas.

recently, we have reporter cameras on MRT customers chewing sweets and getting fined and broadcasted on the net their encounter with the MRT authorities who fined them $30 for eating sweets. Drinking plain water also can get fined. whatever the reasons? how about for children and elderlies and the sick?

Now we have cameras for HLP.

I must say this is progress.

Enjoy more and more. Security lah.

I wonder if majority accept this.

XIIIblackcat
Jul 24, 2009 23:06

Preemptive strike. Now we can’t go HLP to protect about HC being CEO again. Or for that matter, we are unable to protest anymore.

ram
Jul 24, 2009 23:09

For down and out entrepreneurs, don’t you take the hint? This is the new business to be in!

CCTVs everywhere.

TrueBlood Singaporean
Jul 24, 2009 23:14

“The only Fear is Fear Itself”

If PAP is to instill fear in Singaporean’s heart than it is the begining of the downfall of Lee Dynasty!

tiredsingaporean
Jul 24, 2009 23:19

Guess besides the spf monitoring those cctv, you think who else sitting in the comfort of their palace will have direct access to the cameras?

leesjuanpat
Jul 24, 2009 23:23

Will the department responsible for putting up the cameras in Hong Lim park please explain why there is a need for such action. Suppose to be a free speakers corner.
No way near, compared to Hyde Park, speakers corner in London where you need not apply for a licence to speak. You can speak you mind.

What freedom do we citizens have now. Even a single person who protests is
considered illegal assembly and gathering. What farce is this? One person is a gathering? It was passed in parliament giving the police power to remove and charge the single demonstrator.

Tantamount to suppression of the basic rights of a citizen. Absolute power of PAP
abuse the very power the citizens voted them in. So, the next round, please vote
wisely to have more stronger opposition voices in parliament. NMPs in parliament are of little essence. Paper tigers

The PAP government are the rich elites with all the Ministers and cronies millionaires but ordinary heartland citizens living below the subsistence level.

“Camera, camera , the PAP directors are directing our life.” Singaporeans please
have the courage to do something to change the suppression of our life under the totalitarian and nepotic rule of the PAP.

Singpour
Jul 24, 2009 23:33

>>“This is to keep Singapore SAFE!”

Alamak don’t be paranold…this is to prevent people sleeping in the park’s bench..ha ha ha

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_290308.html

halliday
Jul 24, 2009 23:35

well , as long as the people accept, there will be no protest.

leesjuanpat
Jul 24, 2009 23:40

In view of the cameras in HLP, maybe we should hold a gathering there
to tell the people and petition why Ho ching should not be reinstated as CEO and what sort of strategic differences that Temasek cannot accept, hence Chip Goodyear had to exit the CEO position.

Calling SEELAN PALAY, why don’t you initiate the move and many of us will support you.
Let us gather at HLP to voice our displeasure that the Lee dynasty, acted with absolute power to re-instal his daughter-in-law Ho Ching with his own law, of the familee business but using taxpayers monies.

Patriot Missile
Jul 24, 2009 23:47

It is a Hybrid Regime.

singaporekia
Jul 25, 2009 0:08

If SDP comes to power I won’t worry if they install cctv in public but worry I will lost everything in my CPF, the tap water does not flow and if we still have racial harmony.

Daniel
Jul 25, 2009 0:19

“If SDP comes to power I won’t worry if they install cctv in public but worry I will lost everything in my CPF, the tap water does not flow and if we still have racial harmony.”

why worry about imaginary thing ? Why think step 2 when you can’t even complete step 1 ? Why create your own fear ? Why even come here to deliberately get trample by others by your comment ? Don’t you have dignity or you have none ? Why spoilt your own day ?

At least you go to PAP forum and P65, you will be treated nicely by your comment.

political motive
Jul 25, 2009 0:59

By the time SDP comes to power, your CPF would have been lost by Ho Ching, the tap water stops flowing because the company supplying water was sold to some foreign company and they jack up the price so high, you have to beg your neighbours for some, and there will not be racial harmony because the S’pore born Chinese themselves would end up as other minority with the millions of China men/women displacing everyone. And of course your beloved famiLee and PAP stooges would have made their exit ……all captured on CCTVs.

Lifeobzervr
Jul 25, 2009 2:08

Another costly mistake by the authorities. Every mistake erodes confidence little by little until….

stupidkopiapek
Jul 25, 2009 2:37

[i]singaporekia on July 25th, 2009 12.08 am If SDP comes to power I won’t worry if they install cctv in public but worry I will lost everything in my CPF, the tap water does not flow and if we still have racial harmony.[/i]

and
the pap government is givin you your cpf money?
when?
the day you are nail in your coffin
with the cheque intact in your funeral sendoff suite pocket as well?
racial harmony?
wah malaysia must have lots of riots
right?

ErniesUrn
Jul 25, 2009 5:08

Singaporekia,

If SDP comes into power, I worry you will turn into a terrorist.

Plumber
Jul 25, 2009 7:21

I plan to put on my dark sun glasses. Do u think they can srill make up who I am? Not sure leh

Let it be
Jul 25, 2009 8:07

You all jokers !

Why You worry and care so much ???

If what You do are above board and conscientious,

why are You afraid of their monitoring ?

Let them do whatever they want to destroy themselves.

Let them be the nuts they want to be !

Muhamad Nur
Jul 25, 2009 8:40

singaporekia> if SDP comes to power, that’s the beginning of Singaporeans redemptions against racial segregation, suppression of low income earners and against forced slavery called NS. You are really clueless about the meaning of freedom of thought and acceptance of diversity.

Lee Fu Yew
Jul 25, 2009 9:49

Recall the ScareCrow Effect of camera crew interviewing petition organizer and interested public members. that time, there were a handful who signed only if i not wrong.

aiyoyo
Jul 25, 2009 9:54

aiyoyo

is it part of create jobs?

any idea the cctv for what huh? monitor hong lim park? for what?

why not put cctv at the lifts? (to catch smokers/urine etc..) isnt better usage?

cant understand elites (is it they think different, then can become elites?)

aiyoyo

Lee Fong Fong
Jul 25, 2009 10:04

I think there is a lot of cctv in the market now. maybe good pricing? over supply? not sure leh.

Star7
Jul 25, 2009 11:29

One of the reasons why I do not hang the Singapore flag is because of the diminished shine of the 5 stars.

Looks like the particular star of democracy is NO longer shinning.

David
Jul 25, 2009 11:34

This is the ultimate display of guilt by PAP and proved to every Singaporean that Dr Chee Soon Juan words truly hold and finally earned him every credit and trust that pap tried to tarnish. If anyone is still skeptical about Dr Chee message in his books, this silly & paranoia behavior by PAP is a good testimony to what Dr Chee has written todate. Go read & digest it if you have not done so!

anakin
Jul 25, 2009 11:39

#56 kopi tiam Apek

Thankfully, I don’t have cable TV and don’t watch much of the crap on TV anyway. But you seem to be more paranoid than me…..hahaha

patriot
Jul 25, 2009 11:54

Hi Fellow Singaporeans:

There are much undue concern and worry being conveyed here. Correct me if I am wrong, me tends to think in a very conventional way.

Let’s assume that there is a man who worries no end because he thinks that others are against and want to harm him, he is all the while conscious that his deeds has attracted a lot of antagonies and hatreds and therefore needs all kind of measures and protections. He may even want his whole family and clans protected, of course I do not imagine that he wants bodyguard in his bedroom lah. DOES THE PEOPLE AROUND HIM NEED TO BE WORRIED ? Obviously not !

Just liked a liar tends to forget his lies, too much of paranoia and unnneccessary measures will cause the jitterer dearly to himself. There can be fear only when ones’ conscience is not at ease; are our consciences being affected by a measure implemented by a jittery system ? I shall say no.

They should have more cctvs, not just Hong Lim Park, maybe everywhere they are fearful. And that should cover every corner of SIN, for I heard and hear disappointments and curses on the local system of governance everywhere I went in SIN for quite a long time.

patriot

David
Jul 25, 2009 12:06

Hong Lim park is not big, having 5 CCTVs are an over kill which show the degree of fear PAP is living with. The more frightened they are, the more powerful citizens have become. We win. Thus if you need to show one of your fingers or carry an umbrella in front of the cam, by all mean my pleasure. The guilt do not come from the protestors in HLP, but the people sneaking thru the cam.

Sing
Jul 25, 2009 12:07

No worry lah…they’ll probably be like those of S(tanding)MRT or WDC….never turned on..

Akan datang: SINGAPORE posts DUMMY MATAs

http://www.island.lk/2008/07/23/world6.html

Sing
Jul 25, 2009 12:10

>>…carry an umbrella in front of the cam

Soon like motorcycle helmet banned in bank – - umbrella & sun-glasses etc BANNED in HLP

Spirit-centred
Jul 25, 2009 13:45

To make it appears non-political, the government should install cctv cameras in all our parks and gardens. Security hazards looms more in other remote parks compare to Hong Lim parks.
To prevent the cctv from surveillance just bring five huge standing banners and plant in front of the cameras before the rally or demonstrations, this is not against the law I hope. Or maybe check when the cameras malfunction all together then you hold the demonstration.

Ho Choon Hiong
Jul 25, 2009 13:49

hi guys… i see it a blessing with disguise with those CCTVs…

my feel is this… whenever “protest” events happened… singaporeans have the unfounded fear that some people doing the video-ing are plainclothes police… now it is no longer unfounded, the fear is there

but fear can be overcome… from my own experience before i get more involved into activism activities… naturally i am scared when i see those plainclothes police video-ing towards my direction and try to hard… the first 2 or 3 times… i admitted i did that… but somehow after a while such fear naturally dies off… and now even when plainclothes police are video-ing me…. i couldn’t be bother and funny thing is these plainclothes police are more scared when citizen journalist start to video them back

well the thing is i hope to encourage that once singaporeans get used to the fact that such things like the CCTV are here to stay and dun give a shit… the powers that be will realize their ammo to control singaporeans will not work and for that they will shit in their pants

Andrew
Jul 25, 2009 14:22

If so scared to be filmed and still wanna go, use umbrellas, wear caps or face masks (to keep out viruses) or cross-dress.

selling tissue papers
Jul 25, 2009 14:30

67) singaporekia on July 25th, 2009 12.08 am
“If SDP comes to power I won’t worry if they install cctv in public but worry I will lost everything in my CPF, the tap water does not flow and if we still have racial harmony.”

If………, blah blah blah.
If………, blah blah blah,
If………, blah blah blah.
If………, singaporekia may be selling tissue papers at some hawker centres or just outside mrt station.

Now anymore ifs.

Yang
Jul 25, 2009 14:32

Five where got enough!! Install more CCTV so that you can see more. Expand to other part of s’pore and keep a lookout out for trouble maker. Spend Spend Spend. Need not to worry, s’pore got money.

Daniel
Jul 25, 2009 14:33

Now we know why Dr Chee insists that protest shouldn’t just happen in Hong Lim Park, it should happen everywhere since the gov can play punk in a designated place as we have witness now. Can those clowns put camera everywhere ?

Jackson
Jul 25, 2009 14:35

govt is scared of legal protesters?

Daniel
Jul 25, 2009 14:36

Is gov going into porn industry by putting camera in park ? Who responsible if those videos surface on the net ? Remember about the video of someone jumping off MRT surface in the web, and SMRT act blur ? Will you be the next porn star ?

aiyoyo
Jul 25, 2009 14:57

aiyoyo

无风不起浪。。。

aiyoyo

what kind of statement
Jul 25, 2009 15:04

“I will lost everything in my CPF, the tap water does not flow and if we still have racial harmony.”

CPF ? Monthly statement or annual statement ? If your type is the former type, you do not have to worry at all about the rest of the things……..

Dude
Jul 25, 2009 16:01

The SDP stays in Hong Lim Park huh? How come install CCTV there, they are the first to see?

notalone
Jul 25, 2009 16:33

A British survey already showed that millions of cameras intalled in England streets were just a bloody waste of money compare to its actual usefulness.

Our goverrment always learn from other developed countries, why not this?

Time to be practical, my dear government.

Daniel
Jul 25, 2009 16:38

“Our goverrment always learn from other developed countries, why not this?”

Since when our government ever learn in the first place ? Their action seems to counter whatever positive learning they have with one step forward and two steps backward.

Edward
Jul 25, 2009 20:09

#96) Dude
‘ The SDP stays in Hong Lim Park huh? How come install CCTV there, they are the first to see?’
………………………………………………….

Maybe they know in advance SDP is going to organise something big there and hope to get more evidence to nail him.

CM LEw
Jul 25, 2009 21:07

Something BIGGGGGGG is coming !!!

seebeng
Jul 25, 2009 21:08

Maybe, SDP was tipped off by the contractor? SDP seems good at this kind of report which, even known, will not be covered by PAP’s propaganda bootlicking ST or its sister outfit MediaCorp.

mice is nice
Jul 25, 2009 21:49

CM LEw

////on July 25th, 2009 9.07 pm Something BIGGGGGGG is coming !!!////

like transparency & accountability?

lol…

CMI
Jul 25, 2009 21:50

why worry about the CCTVs if our actions are legal and above board?
in any case the CCTVs are open and not hidden. We will have more to worry if the CCTVs are hidden from view.

Albino Spoilt Bratus of the Humus
Jul 25, 2009 22:28

Would singaporeans even dare to THINK, CHALLENGE and QUESTION this installation?

I mean 1st world singaporeans.

Daniel
Jul 25, 2009 22:35

“Would singaporeans even dare to THINK, CHALLENGE and QUESTION this installation?”

I doubt any Singaporeans has the gut to show the middle finger at the installation, let alone THINK, CHALLENGE and QUESTION it.

It looks like I need to teach my dog some new tricks like identifying Camera post … Is there any rule that condemn my dog into SPCA due to some extraordinary act like peeing at the installation post ?

Hum Dowager Pinkleton
Jul 25, 2009 22:37

Imagine IF all singaporeans Come together in HLP.
What kind of picture will the camera show?

Singaporeans, its really in your hands also.

Dun complain.

Hum Dowager Pinkleton
Jul 25, 2009 22:44

104) Daniel on July 25th, 2009 10.35 pm
[[[[“....
It looks like I need to teach my dog some new tricks like identifying Camera post … Is there any rule that condemn my dog into SPCA due to some extraordinary act like peeing at the installation post ?]]]]]

Hey natday is coming. we can come together.
so, dun you think this is progress?
I mean singaporeans are so cooperative.
what a FINE country.

The incomprehensible thing about singaporeans
Jul 25, 2009 22:49

….. is that despite several criticisms on the net,
no one dares to step forward and complain about it
in HLP.

not say i say wan.
u say u say wan.
u proved it.
not me.

YODI
Jul 25, 2009 23:09

So lucky I did not get my singtel mio cable for next season championship league can watch from this tv ma. two way effect.

Time for change. I keep saying this but no one pays attention. SO i give up.

Zefly (aka Joshua Chiang)
Jul 26, 2009 1:54

Maybe it’s meant for next year NDP to be held there.

doctorwho
Jul 26, 2009 8:05

Talk to the birds in the park, ask them to sh*t on the camera lens.

KopitiamApek
Jul 26, 2009 9:14

85) Sing

//////Soon like motorcycle helmet banned in bank – – umbrella & sun-glasses etc BANNED in HLP///////

you brought up an interesting point.

the helmet and sunglass ban by banks, although not a law (I think), was implement by banks after some bank robbery umpteen years ago by robbers who don helmet and sunglass

wonder how many of the banks peolpe remembered why the rule was put there in the first place, and if it is still relevant today

The Monkey Experiment:

Start with a cage containing five monkeys. Inside the cage, hang a banana on a string and place a set of stairs under it. Before long, a monkey will go to the stairs and start to climb towards the banana. As soon as he touches the stairs, all of the other monkeys to be sprayed with cold water. After a while, another monkey makes an attempt with the same result, and all the other monkeys are sprayed with cold water. Pretty soon the monkeys will try to prevent it, to prevent any monkey from trying to reach the bananas.
Now, put away the cold water. Remove one monkey from the cage and replace it with a new one. The new monkey sees the banana and wants to climb the stairs.
To his surprise and horror, all the other monkeys attack him. After another attempt and attack, he knows that if he tries to climb the stairs he will be attacked.
Next, remove another of the original five monkeys and replace it with a new one. The newcomer goes to the stairs and is attacked. The previous newcomer takes part in the punishment with enthusiasm!
Likewise, replace a third original monkey with a new one, then a fourth, then the fifth.
Every time the newest monkey takes to the stairs, he is attacked. Most of the monkeys that are beating him have no idea why they were not permitted to climb the stairs or why they are participating in the beating of the newest monkey.

After replacing all the original monkeys, none of the remaining monkeys have ever been sprayed with cold water. Nevertheless, no monkey ever again approaches the stairs to try for the banana.
Why not? Because as far as they know, that’s the way it’s always been done around there.

KopitiamApek
Jul 26, 2009 9:15

110) doctorwho

///////Talk to the birds in the park, ask them to sh*t on the camera lens./////

then they will bring in the crow shoooters
we should not drag in the birds lah, spare their lifes lah, the are innocent bystanders
they do nothing but bird talk : )

mad93
Jul 26, 2009 10:38

Bravo! The return of 1984! I love you very much PAP! You have turn this wonderful first world free speech country into a third world totalitarian police state! Outrageous! Spying on legal protesters! Wheres the freedom that PAP promises?

FUNNY
Jul 26, 2009 12:10

The Authority worries and fears that the citizens will gather at Honglim Park for political activities that are damaging to it. And the installations of monitoring devices by the Authrity frightens the citizens.

Why are the Authority and the citizens so suspicious and fearful of each other ???

QUEER !!!

pattayapimp
Jul 26, 2009 12:53

[i]Hum Dowager Pinkleton on July 25th, 2009 10.37 pm Imagine IF all singaporeans Come together in HLP.
What kind of picture will the camera show?

Singaporeans, its really in your hands also.

Dun complain.[/i]

and withour a doubt
chengsan opposition preelection gatherin was a failure right
take a peek @ the chengsan opposition gatherin compared to the pap held ones
you would be amaze
why did gohchoktongue placed his head on the choppin block?
because his wife is doin with a kileng perhaps?

Edward
Jul 26, 2009 12:54

#115) FUNNY
‘Why are the Authority and the citizens so suspicious and fearful of each other ??’
……………………………………………..

Fear is a useful medium to control the people. Shi Huang Ti, Ghengis Khan and Mao Tze Tung and many other emperors have transformed a race that is now disciplined and fearful of authorities so much so that a biography stated that LKY
believes that if an ‘Ang Mo’ were to become an Emperor of China the Chinese people would still kow tow to him and obey him.

How many in Singapore is not fearful when Chia T P was imprisoned for 23 years and under house-arrest for another 9 years? Longer than Mendela of South Africa. After his release, Chia T P said, “At least, he became the President of South Africa.”

The fear of the PAP is losing more than 10 seats in parliament, anything more than that would not be manageable for LHL, as mentioned by him at the rally at Raffles Place during the 2006 GE.

Dark Age
Jul 26, 2009 15:01

They said that it’s for safety and security reasons? Safety and security for who? Old man, familees or PAP are feeling unsafe and insecure?

mice is nice
Jul 26, 2009 15:06

the police post nearby for what har? wayang? :)

FUNNY
Jul 26, 2009 17:03

Hi Edward, thank You for the response #117.

“How do you keep a system which delivers an outstanding quality of leadership and government, and yet at the same time, have free play and the opportunity for people to say, ‘I want this government, but I do not like this policy or the other’?… [Singapore’s system] is a system that has worked well and one that has not let the people of Singapore down…”, unquote.

PM Lee Hsien Loong said the above quote which seemed to indicate that the leadership and the people are liked one people, one nation and the same party having ruled Singapore for over 44 years must have won over the people with their sincerity, integrity and ability mah, why does the Authority suspect its’ citizens ?

PM Lee had said that ‘[Singapore's system] is a system that has worked well and one that has not let the people of Singapore down.’ Did he or is he misreading or unable to read the people ?

KopitiamApek
Jul 26, 2009 19:08

119) mice is nice

There is also a Police post near President’s residence, in fact just few houses away only

And another inetersting observation I noted 2 years ago in a diff location was a pirate CD shop operating directly across the street in full view of the PP

: )

mice is nice
Jul 26, 2009 19:10

another example of taxpayers money gone to waste. :(

Wuan Wuan Lai
Jul 26, 2009 19:56

CCTV shouldn’t be put on the speaker corner, it a place for expression of speech. It should be put on all the Lorong in Geyland to track on those illegal AYAM! I came to notice one CCTV was put up only in Lorong 17 . If I am not mistaken One of the civil “s” sibling was staying in that Lorong. Wuan Wuan Lai

kan sei hoong
Jul 26, 2009 22:54

what is the use of any article , any comment?
u all think the majority bother?
if so, long ago the sun risen from the north-south.
yes, there is no such thing as north-south direction also.
u people fail to realise the TRUTH.
the holiday must come. then only then…. nothing else works.

Ashinigami
Jul 27, 2009 1:02

New Law on July 24th, 2009 2.30 pm

“A “Hong Lim Park by-law” will be passed: “with the above two clauses plus everyone must not try to avoid the camera…they must at least twice look towards the cameras (must be at least two different cameras in case one of them is not working) so that it can capture the face clearing. Also no glasses must be wore when you look at the camera…must last for at least 5 seonds and must not smile or laugh..just be still like taking a passport or prisoner’s photograph.”

HAHAHAH that made me LOL for a while. Good one. And frankly speaking, not too far fetched considering the frantic back pedalling and ridiculous face saving the goondus in blue and WKS had to do when Mas Selamat was apprehended largely without their help.

Oh and the 1-man is an assembly law too.

kafei may
Jul 27, 2009 10:31

‘Did he or is he misreading or unable to read the people ?’

May I add, or is he misleading the people by saying only the nice thing and hiding the ugly facts and realities of Ruler and Citizen Divide ?

Don Trisnan
Jul 27, 2009 11:46

Get a life ppl!

Install cctv create a big ho-ha. How come when Boat Quay and some other places install never make noise. So typical of Singapore.

London and some US states every corner you see camera also what!

If you have done nothing wrong why scare of the cctv? 问心无愧 get it??

moimoshedyanmatagandhi
Jul 27, 2009 12:16

[i]London and some US states every corner you see camera also what! [/]
YOU get a life
YOU think you are the only bloke livin in london?
how long you lived there?
even done a court jury services as well?
london is big dark and dangerous
it cannot afford to have every bobbies in every dark cornors
singapore is bright and safe
the cameras wasn’t meant to deter crimes
used YOUR brain
IDIOT
if you have any………….

moimoshedyanmatagandhi
Jul 27, 2009 12:19

[i]If you have done nothing wrong why scare of the cctv? 问心无愧 get it??[/]
and tanglianhong must have done something very very serious
right?
who is compensatin tanlianhong life and properties
whi is his familly sufferin
when his wife and daughter done nothin?

ABC
Jul 27, 2009 12:55

I suggest to those who want to go HLP to attend rally to put on mask to prevent getting virus W1K1S1

Daniel
Jul 27, 2009 13:02

“I suggest to those who want to go HLP to attend rally to put on mask to prevent getting virus W1K1S1″

Anyone know where to buy the mask for “V for vendetta” ?
http://images.buycostumes.com/mgen/merchandiser/21136.jpg

Look like my dog need one too. … haha

The day Singapore is liberated is the day majority wear the mask of Freedom
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rDEYxL7LBZQ

cambrige
Jul 27, 2009 14:29

Point your middle figure to the camera each time you pass by HLP … to tell them how tu lan we ground people feel

lobo76
Jul 27, 2009 15:14

127) Don Trisnan on July 27th, 2009 11.46 am
If you have done nothing wrong why scare of the cctv? 问心无愧 get it??

1. I do not know what laws that exists but is usually not enforced… until the moment it is enforced on me.

2. ‘Wrong’ is subjective… as in subjective to certain powers interpretation. You may not think what you did is ‘wrong’, but it doesn’t matter, so long as certain power interprets it to be wrong.

lobo76
Jul 27, 2009 15:16

Bring lots of mosquito coils … put them right under the CCTVs when there is an event. lol

ChiangYK79
Jul 27, 2009 17:05

CCTVs ARE EVERYWHERE!!!

Newton hawker, Little India, Boat Quay and Geylang all have cctv leh.

To date still alot of people go what. That day I just went to chiong at BQ. Somemore got commotion then mata come down quite fast leh.

I believe it helps to ensure that such places are safe lah. Same like those cameras installed at those lift lobby to catch tiko-pek and thief but sadly cannot record sound else it will be like porno with surround sound. I think my neighbour also have cctv installed to catch vandals.

moimoshedyanmatagandhi
Jul 27, 2009 18:11

[i]ChiangYK79 on July 27th, 2009 5.05 pm CCTVs ARE EVERYWHERE!!!

Newton hawker, Little India, Boat Quay and Geylang all have cctv leh.[/i]

and you can go to the above places
with an empty crate
stand on it
with a loudhailer
and shout
friends singapooriums and country bumpkins
lent me your ears……………….
perhaps?

Mayhem
Jul 27, 2009 21:14

127) Don Trisnan: “London and some US states every corner you see camera also what!”

- London & US have no political assylums (people who flee from persecution by their ruling party for speaking up). So their people have no problem with ‘fear’ of reprisal but problem with loss of privacy.

“If you have done nothing wrong why scare of the cctv? 问心无愧 get it??”
- Tell you what, try saying this to a group of people: “If Singaporeans want a better qualify of life, they must be rid of nepotism & legal corruption, they must vote out this Govt” with your face or name & IC number revealed. Tell me if you dare!

Mayhem
Jul 27, 2009 21:15

Sorry I mean London & US have no political assylum seekers.

Mayhem
Jul 27, 2009 21:16

Alamak wrong again, I mean there are no political assylum seekers from London or US.

The Sole Religionist
Jul 28, 2009 1:04

I wonder … is the government afraid that terrorists will bomb Speakers’ Corner?

Piped Piper to Hohlarnd
Jul 28, 2009 5:32

So, these cameras shall be there until the end of time?
what happens when new holiday installed?

Gan Thio Say
Jul 28, 2009 5:37

I heard that MRT circle line, at least, got cctv can be viewed centrally far away.

YK
Jul 28, 2009 9:09

Gan: Thats good. LTA can now fine ppl for eating and drinking from the cameras.

MicMac
Jul 30, 2009 23:45

The more things change, the more they stay the same.
Hope Singaporeans will enjoy the government opening up.
Majula Singapura everyone !

Leave a Reply

Comment

theonlinecitizen on Facebook

Uncategorized - Jan 15, 2010 10:12 - 126 Comments

It is affordable – Mah Bow Tan

More In Uncategorized