Five cctvs in total have been mounted at Speakers’ Corner at Hong Lim Park. The Singapore Democratic Party first reported on this on its website here. TOC will have a report on it soon.
Pictures by Andrew Loh. More pictures on TOC Facebook.

Workers installing the cctvs on Tuesday. (Picture by the SDP)

Camera near the entrance of Clark Quay MRT station

Camera near the Kreta Ayer Police Station

Camera near the stage at Hong Lim Park

Camera near the carpark
If you like this article, please consider a small donation to help theonlinecitizen.com stay alive. Please note that we can only accept donations from Singaporeans. Thank you for your assistance.Do you have a flair for writing? Volunteer with us. Email us your full name and contact details to theonlinecitizen@gmail.com

to no. #3…
yup. well said there, the motive behind putting up the CCTV cams. its to discourage ppl from turning up at HLP during events.
Nevertheless, there’s something known as the internet! woohoo for that! thank goodness.
————————————————
and btw, what the heck la, already opposition so small, PAP still want to cripple them until like that, and can still say democratic, id say its a police state, or better known as an authoritarian regime.
The only difference in political system btw Sg and China?
China admits to being communist while Sg doesnt. >.>
Omnipresent of the nether world type – yin hun bu san liao….
A miserable corner (such as SC) can attract five CCTVs. Joke of the century!
how about tighter security for our min-stars? 2 CCTVs in their office alone? for security mah….
on anot? :P
39) anakin
///// Gahmen should cut the BS and put CCTVs in all our homes……///////
Sorry to inform you that is was already done. You didn’t know?
You StarHub cabled TV set is a 2 way device, you watched them, and they’ve been watching you all these years.
How else do you think they know where to weave and redraw the electorial boundaries of each GRC in such creative ways every 5 years.
Better turn off that TV set now.
wow, 1st we have cameras on the traffic lights and expressways and then we have it
in the Lifts and some public areas.
recently, we have reporter cameras on MRT customers chewing sweets and getting fined and broadcasted on the net their encounter with the MRT authorities who fined them $30 for eating sweets. Drinking plain water also can get fined. whatever the reasons? how about for children and elderlies and the sick?
Now we have cameras for HLP.
I must say this is progress.
Enjoy more and more. Security lah.
I wonder if majority accept this.
Preemptive strike. Now we can’t go HLP to protect about HC being CEO again. Or for that matter, we are unable to protest anymore.
For down and out entrepreneurs, don’t you take the hint? This is the new business to be in!
CCTVs everywhere.
“The only Fear is Fear Itself”
If PAP is to instill fear in Singaporean’s heart than it is the begining of the downfall of Lee Dynasty!
Guess besides the spf monitoring those cctv, you think who else sitting in the comfort of their palace will have direct access to the cameras?
Will the department responsible for putting up the cameras in Hong Lim park please explain why there is a need for such action. Suppose to be a free speakers corner.
No way near, compared to Hyde Park, speakers corner in London where you need not apply for a licence to speak. You can speak you mind.
What freedom do we citizens have now. Even a single person who protests is
considered illegal assembly and gathering. What farce is this? One person is a gathering? It was passed in parliament giving the police power to remove and charge the single demonstrator.
Tantamount to suppression of the basic rights of a citizen. Absolute power of PAP
abuse the very power the citizens voted them in. So, the next round, please vote
wisely to have more stronger opposition voices in parliament. NMPs in parliament are of little essence. Paper tigers
The PAP government are the rich elites with all the Ministers and cronies millionaires but ordinary heartland citizens living below the subsistence level.
“Camera, camera , the PAP directors are directing our life.” Singaporeans please
have the courage to do something to change the suppression of our life under the totalitarian and nepotic rule of the PAP.
>>“This is to keep Singapore SAFE!”
Alamak don’t be paranold…this is to prevent people sleeping in the park’s bench..ha ha ha
http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_290308.html
well , as long as the people accept, there will be no protest.
In view of the cameras in HLP, maybe we should hold a gathering there
to tell the people and petition why Ho ching should not be reinstated as CEO and what sort of strategic differences that Temasek cannot accept, hence Chip Goodyear had to exit the CEO position.
Calling SEELAN PALAY, why don’t you initiate the move and many of us will support you.
Let us gather at HLP to voice our displeasure that the Lee dynasty, acted with absolute power to re-instal his daughter-in-law Ho Ching with his own law, of the familee business but using taxpayers monies.
It is a Hybrid Regime.
If SDP comes to power I won’t worry if they install cctv in public but worry I will lost everything in my CPF, the tap water does not flow and if we still have racial harmony.
“If SDP comes to power I won’t worry if they install cctv in public but worry I will lost everything in my CPF, the tap water does not flow and if we still have racial harmony.”
why worry about imaginary thing ? Why think step 2 when you can’t even complete step 1 ? Why create your own fear ? Why even come here to deliberately get trample by others by your comment ? Don’t you have dignity or you have none ? Why spoilt your own day ?
At least you go to PAP forum and P65, you will be treated nicely by your comment.
By the time SDP comes to power, your CPF would have been lost by Ho Ching, the tap water stops flowing because the company supplying water was sold to some foreign company and they jack up the price so high, you have to beg your neighbours for some, and there will not be racial harmony because the S’pore born Chinese themselves would end up as other minority with the millions of China men/women displacing everyone. And of course your beloved famiLee and PAP stooges would have made their exit ……all captured on CCTVs.
Another costly mistake by the authorities. Every mistake erodes confidence little by little until….
[i]singaporekia on July 25th, 2009 12.08 am If SDP comes to power I won’t worry if they install cctv in public but worry I will lost everything in my CPF, the tap water does not flow and if we still have racial harmony.[/i]
and
the pap government is givin you your cpf money?
when?
the day you are nail in your coffin
with the cheque intact in your funeral sendoff suite pocket as well?
racial harmony?
wah malaysia must have lots of riots
right?
Singaporekia,
If SDP comes into power, I worry you will turn into a terrorist.
I plan to put on my dark sun glasses. Do u think they can srill make up who I am? Not sure leh
You all jokers !
Why You worry and care so much ???
If what You do are above board and conscientious,
why are You afraid of their monitoring ?
Let them do whatever they want to destroy themselves.
Let them be the nuts they want to be !
singaporekia> if SDP comes to power, that’s the beginning of Singaporeans redemptions against racial segregation, suppression of low income earners and against forced slavery called NS. You are really clueless about the meaning of freedom of thought and acceptance of diversity.
Recall the ScareCrow Effect of camera crew interviewing petition organizer and interested public members. that time, there were a handful who signed only if i not wrong.
aiyoyo
is it part of create jobs?
any idea the cctv for what huh? monitor hong lim park? for what?
why not put cctv at the lifts? (to catch smokers/urine etc..) isnt better usage?
cant understand elites (is it they think different, then can become elites?)
aiyoyo
I think there is a lot of cctv in the market now. maybe good pricing? over supply? not sure leh.
One of the reasons why I do not hang the Singapore flag is because of the diminished shine of the 5 stars.
Looks like the particular star of democracy is NO longer shinning.
This is the ultimate display of guilt by PAP and proved to every Singaporean that Dr Chee Soon Juan words truly hold and finally earned him every credit and trust that pap tried to tarnish. If anyone is still skeptical about Dr Chee message in his books, this silly & paranoia behavior by PAP is a good testimony to what Dr Chee has written todate. Go read & digest it if you have not done so!
#56 kopi tiam Apek
Thankfully, I don’t have cable TV and don’t watch much of the crap on TV anyway. But you seem to be more paranoid than me…..hahaha
Hi Fellow Singaporeans:
There are much undue concern and worry being conveyed here. Correct me if I am wrong, me tends to think in a very conventional way.
Let’s assume that there is a man who worries no end because he thinks that others are against and want to harm him, he is all the while conscious that his deeds has attracted a lot of antagonies and hatreds and therefore needs all kind of measures and protections. He may even want his whole family and clans protected, of course I do not imagine that he wants bodyguard in his bedroom lah. DOES THE PEOPLE AROUND HIM NEED TO BE WORRIED ? Obviously not !
Just liked a liar tends to forget his lies, too much of paranoia and unnneccessary measures will cause the jitterer dearly to himself. There can be fear only when ones’ conscience is not at ease; are our consciences being affected by a measure implemented by a jittery system ? I shall say no.
They should have more cctvs, not just Hong Lim Park, maybe everywhere they are fearful. And that should cover every corner of SIN, for I heard and hear disappointments and curses on the local system of governance everywhere I went in SIN for quite a long time.
patriot
Hong Lim park is not big, having 5 CCTVs are an over kill which show the degree of fear PAP is living with. The more frightened they are, the more powerful citizens have become. We win. Thus if you need to show one of your fingers or carry an umbrella in front of the cam, by all mean my pleasure. The guilt do not come from the protestors in HLP, but the people sneaking thru the cam.
No worry lah…they’ll probably be like those of S(tanding)MRT or WDC….never turned on..
Akan datang: SINGAPORE posts DUMMY MATAs
http://www.island.lk/2008/07/23/world6.html
>>…carry an umbrella in front of the cam
Soon like motorcycle helmet banned in bank – - umbrella & sun-glasses etc BANNED in HLP
To make it appears non-political, the government should install cctv cameras in all our parks and gardens. Security hazards looms more in other remote parks compare to Hong Lim parks.
To prevent the cctv from surveillance just bring five huge standing banners and plant in front of the cameras before the rally or demonstrations, this is not against the law I hope. Or maybe check when the cameras malfunction all together then you hold the demonstration.
hi guys… i see it a blessing with disguise with those CCTVs…
my feel is this… whenever “protest” events happened… singaporeans have the unfounded fear that some people doing the video-ing are plainclothes police… now it is no longer unfounded, the fear is there
but fear can be overcome… from my own experience before i get more involved into activism activities… naturally i am scared when i see those plainclothes police video-ing towards my direction and try to hard… the first 2 or 3 times… i admitted i did that… but somehow after a while such fear naturally dies off… and now even when plainclothes police are video-ing me…. i couldn’t be bother and funny thing is these plainclothes police are more scared when citizen journalist start to video them back
well the thing is i hope to encourage that once singaporeans get used to the fact that such things like the CCTV are here to stay and dun give a shit… the powers that be will realize their ammo to control singaporeans will not work and for that they will shit in their pants
If so scared to be filmed and still wanna go, use umbrellas, wear caps or face masks (to keep out viruses) or cross-dress.
67) singaporekia on July 25th, 2009 12.08 am
“If SDP comes to power I won’t worry if they install cctv in public but worry I will lost everything in my CPF, the tap water does not flow and if we still have racial harmony.”
If………, blah blah blah.
If………, blah blah blah,
If………, blah blah blah.
If………, singaporekia may be selling tissue papers at some hawker centres or just outside mrt station.
Now anymore ifs.
Five where got enough!! Install more CCTV so that you can see more. Expand to other part of s’pore and keep a lookout out for trouble maker. Spend Spend Spend. Need not to worry, s’pore got money.
Now we know why Dr Chee insists that protest shouldn’t just happen in Hong Lim Park, it should happen everywhere since the gov can play punk in a designated place as we have witness now. Can those clowns put camera everywhere ?
govt is scared of legal protesters?
Is gov going into porn industry by putting camera in park ? Who responsible if those videos surface on the net ? Remember about the video of someone jumping off MRT surface in the web, and SMRT act blur ? Will you be the next porn star ?
aiyoyo
无风不起浪。。。
aiyoyo
“I will lost everything in my CPF, the tap water does not flow and if we still have racial harmony.”
CPF ? Monthly statement or annual statement ? If your type is the former type, you do not have to worry at all about the rest of the things……..
The SDP stays in Hong Lim Park huh? How come install CCTV there, they are the first to see?
A British survey already showed that millions of cameras intalled in England streets were just a bloody waste of money compare to its actual usefulness.
Our goverrment always learn from other developed countries, why not this?
Time to be practical, my dear government.
“Our goverrment always learn from other developed countries, why not this?”
Since when our government ever learn in the first place ? Their action seems to counter whatever positive learning they have with one step forward and two steps backward.
#96) Dude
‘ The SDP stays in Hong Lim Park huh? How come install CCTV there, they are the first to see?’
………………………………………………….
Maybe they know in advance SDP is going to organise something big there and hope to get more evidence to nail him.
Something BIGGGGGGG is coming !!!
Maybe, SDP was tipped off by the contractor? SDP seems good at this kind of report which, even known, will not be covered by PAP’s propaganda bootlicking ST or its sister outfit MediaCorp.