Andrew Loh / Contribution from Leong Sze Hian
Mr Eric J Brooks is a happy man – happy with how Singapore is. In his letter to the Straits Times Forum Page on 31July, his effusive praise for the Singapore government is unabashed. “After living and working in six countries, I have known for a long time that no country takes care of its people the way Singapore does,” he writes.
Mr Brooks is a Canadian, according to the Straits Times letter’s heading, “A Canadian writes – Be grateful, Singapore”.
Coming on the heels of the recent Temasek Holdings fiasco of Charles Goodyear’s premature departure and revelation of hefty losses, Mr Brooks’ praises of the government somehow ring hollow. Referring to Singapore’s economy which, he said, “has recovered from the collapse faster than any other country”, he lauded Singapore’s “years of good economic management.”
He went on to compare his native Canada with Singapore – from public housing to rubbish collection, from sheltered walkways to service and conservancy fees. Singapore comes out tops in all these areas, as far as Mr Brooks is concerned.
One would take Mr Brooks’ words with a pinch of salt – especially when in the same Straits Times edition of 31 July where his letter was published, this headline appeared on page three:

And followed by this on the front page of the Home section of the same day:

Evidently, Singapore has not “recovered from the collapse”, as Mr Brooks mistakenly claims. In fact, government ministers have repeatedly warned against assuming this. “It’s too early to tell” is a common and regular refrain from ministers.
We do not know how well Mr Brooks knows Singapore or Singaporean life. We also do not know how long he has lived here – if he is living here at all. His letter does not say. Perhaps Mr Brooks should not dwell too much on the superficial, such as covered walkways or rubbish collection, but look deeper at the real issues.
Here are a few he should ponder on:
- 750,000 people don’t have any kind of medical insurance.
- 116,600 unemployed (resident unemployment rate of 6%) without any unemployment benefits.
- Only 3,000 people qualify for Public Assistance of $360 a month.
- Elderly working for $600 a month as cleaners with only 2 days off a month.
- Elderly collecting used aluminium drink cans and used cardboard boxes for $1.30 and $0.40 per kilogram respectively.
- One of the highest public transport fares to bottom 10% income ratio in the world.
- Bottom 10% of employed households have per capita monthly income of only $360.
- 417,000 roll-over their credit card debts – one of the highest in the world.
- One of the highest public housing price-to-median income ratio in the world.
- 40% have less than $40,000 in their CPF at age 55, and average only have $60,000+, when the CPF Minimum Sum is now $117,000.
- Highest ministers’ pay to average income ratio in the world.
- HDB visited 60,000 HDB flat-dwellers last year who had difficulty paying their mortgages.
- In the United States, typically when you default on your home mortgage, you just lose your home. In Singapore, you may lose your home, life CPF savings and may be made bankrupt too.
Finally, Mr Brooks should note that it was only about four months ago that a survey by life insurer AXA found that Singaporeans were the least optimistic about the future among citizens of eight Asian countries. This was reported by Channelnewsasia:
Angela Lau, head, Branding & Communications, AXA Life Insurance Singapore, said: “They’re not so confident about their health and career, and how they are going to cope with the challenges in life. For the career perspective, they are actually very concerned about job security.”
On reflection, Mr Brooks’ letter is not a surprise, given that National Day is around the corner and our “nation-building” Straits Times is up to its old tricks again.
Mr Brooks’ letter occupies prime space in today’s forum page – right at the top with that big bold headline exhorting Singaporeans to “be grateful”, from a foreigner no less.
—–

Why is ST stirring anti-foreigner sentiments by publishing this “Be Grateful, Singapore” letter?
TOC should contact Mr Brooks and do a video interview with him. If he refuses, pls publish his refusal.
When the chips are down, you can expect many
more of these craps in our state media
Mr Candanian, Did your country have a system such as American. Abrahim Lincoln said with such a system, like check & balance. America can be a riches country for another fifty year. No doubt with this Global crisis, American system can simply, revive, They are still the riches country in the world. Goon Do “C”
Straits Times usual spin to paint locals in negative light. with national day approaching i believe there will be more such personal articles in the forum page.
i wouldn’t get too bothered. these are little skirmishes calculated to sap energy & distract the masses on bigger issues at hand.
the furthest 1 should go is to enlighten such individuals who think all is nice & bright in this tiny country. try not to let such personal comments get into your head.
I was pretty happy reading Mr Brook’s letter and wanted to count myself one of the fortunate guy living in Singapore, when I realised that I am of retiring age (hey the old one at 55, not the new retiring age at 62 or is it pushing for 67?) and yet I cannot retire because my money no enough.
Yes, I do appreciate all that were mentioned in his letter, but this article by TOC really gave me a reality check.
My neighbour sold his HDB flat, brought his wife 3 schooling children to Canada some 7 years ago. Took out his CPF 2 years ago, bought a nice house. His children now all in the Uni, he and his wife choose to work only for 4 days per week. They are not your rich class type that migrated. Just ordinary folks you will find in the heartlands in Singapore. Not big time lawyers, accountant, businessman, etc, just your average working class type and they are talking about retiring and yet getting retirment fund from the Canadian government.
Hey, somebody pinch me please !
What’s the use of all that were mentioned in Mr Brook’s letter when I can’t even find time at my age to find a park to walk in and smell the flowers.
My friend in Canada is enjoying the big outdoors and not worrying at all about old age.
As a Singaporean, I am grateful for many many things. But not for being able to slow down and enjoy old age. Jack Neo say it all ” Money No Enough” Si beh sian.
Woah ..Talk is cheap.. dude.
Show us your gratefulnes ..get a pink IC first. Join us? Let your sons and grandsons serve the country. Now, that is what Singapore Govt calls grateful.
A letter of praise is enough to buy ‘alot of love’ from our government ..that’s how cheap it is.
As a Malaysian, I am also grateful for many, many things in Malaysia in particular roof over my head, food to eat, and a job. Don’t know what is the point of this letter.
Hey, Mr Brooks, what about exchanging my HDB with your Canadian villa? You bring your family and settle here and I bring mine over to your country. No need to talk so much.
just give him the citizenship!
eer
you all don’t be liked that lark
even the prime minister 2 sons is livin in canada
so grateful to the canadian government
now the thinggie is
why on earth
is the prime ministers’ 2 sons livin/study in canada
when their grandfather booast so loud
how good is our local universities is
with their father echoed
our singapore systems is so finetuned
and their mother who says
this year
we lost $40 billion$ nia…………….
puzzled………………………………………………….
Canidian foreigner is NOT WELCOME to comment about Signaporean local politics.
You come here to make your money and YOU be grateful. However, please shut up about singaporean local affairs because you are not in a position nor welcome to comment.
So, please shut up.
I know of 3 families who had migrated to Canada more than 10 years ago. They had made many trips back here to catch up with families and friends during Chinese New Year. And me, much as I wanted to, I had never the chance to visit them all these years. No time and money! So who’s having a better life???
singapore’s a great place to live so as long as you aren’t singaporean.
We do not need to compare with Canada, just compare it with our immediate neighbour Malaysia you will be able to see the good fortune of Singaporeans.
Not too long ago Malaysian was on par with us but now, we have a run away success. Thanks to LKY, that is why you see Dr.M eating sour grapes.
Well, having lived in Canada (Toronto to be more specific), I’ve come to the conclusion that no city and no country is perfect. The saying “the grass always looks greener on the other side” is very true. Over in Toronto, the garbage collectors have been on strike for several weeks now, so the streets there now stinks and reeks of garbage. It seems to me that Mr. Brooks has chosen to compare the worst of Canada with what he sees as the best of Singapore. I have seen some of the best and worst of Toronto, and being a Singaporean who lived here for most of my life, I have also experienced Singapore in both its good and bad. Mr. Brooks idealizes Singapore as it represents to him what Canada is not – its efficiency, transport system, healthcare, education. I know that some Singaporeans would disagree with Brooks’ observations, but once you have lived in an Canadian city and experienced how inefficient its public services and public transport is vis-a-vis Singapore, you will understand why Singapore feels like a paradise. But we all know Singapore is not that all perfect. In terms of social graces, Canadians are so much better. And civil society and the arts in Canada so so much more advanced than in Singapore. If an ideal country exists in the world, to me it would combine the best of Singapore and Canada, minus the negative. But that exists only in the realm of the imagination.
Wanbao is showcasing MIW MPs’ recipes …perhaps top civil servants’ gourment cooking is next?…sigh
“Thanks to LKY, that is why you see Dr.M eating sour grapes.”
Dr. M is known for being blunt but nevertheless accurate assessments. He may be the last one having the last laugh given time.
stupid PAP. go until such low extents to “SHOW” the people that they are great.
bloooody idiots…
and ya..
this canadian fool…
GET LOST LA! you come into other ppl country and bootlick the govt like some idiot dog!
Or is this idiot nothing more that a paid fool to sing praises about PAP??
Or is this ignorant idiot even aware about the no. of ppl who are against likes like him?
I can certainly say that he doesnt care abt the welfare of the ppl, i mean he even state “worked and lived in six countries” — what is he? A hopper?? He just makes use of it. Doesnt even give a damn abt the less fortunate coping in sg.
and this canadian fool… i think he’s brainwashed with a load full of PAP propaganda shit!!!
[i]singaporekia on July 31st, 2009 7.24 pm We do not need to compare with Canada, just compare it with our immediate neighbour Malaysia you will be able to see the good fortune of Singaporeans[/i]
indeed
a well spoken truthwords
see
in malaysia
i can buy a proton sage brand new
i can have credit cards
i can even lived in a terrace house
as lon as i can earned $1000….
some poor malaysian chaps
even have a proton saga and a credit card
when they only earned 700 hundred ringgits/month…
even dr khaw
asked you sick peoples to migrate to johore to retire
so singaporekia
are you callin that the penangborn health minister a LIAR?
perhaps?
I think is very difficult to compare S’pore and Canada. One is so small and the other is so huge. So the lifestyle is fifferent between the two places. One is go slow and the other one chasing after time. So what to compare?
If I would have a chance to stay in Canada. I will relax myself and go slow. That’s is the kind of lifestyle Just like in Australia, people there are like in Canada. Relax man!!!! What to complain there???
Guys, and the next thing you’d know, if we dont vote out PAP, we’re gonna get another few more years of shit coming in our way.
HAHAHA! I CAN tell that they are desperate to regain the citizen’s trust.
Of all you know, LHL must be EMO-ing in his office everyday.
Ya Mr Brooks….pls let your children come to Singapore for it’s world-class education – enrol them in the American school here like Jet Li :)
Grateful. Today I just heard some China Man laughing at how stupid our government is. In their own country, they are not being look upon as talent.
But in Singapore, they are being treated as god. Worst, they are from Fusionpolis.
“Over in Toronto, the garbage collectors have been on strike for several weeks now, so the streets there now stinks and reeks of garbage.”
at least, the garbage collectors have the avenue to ensure that they are not too unduly marginalised.
minimum wage plus the rights to protests ensures that their dirty-smelly work should be justly compensated & welfare taken care off. as for here, you will know how it works ………
19) X.X!!! on July 31st, 2009 8.05 pm WROTE:-
this canadian fool…
GET LOST LA! you come into other ppl country and bootlick the govt like some idiot dog!
Or is this idiot nothing more that a paid fool to sing praises about PAP??
Well, for all you know, he may be a fictional character : )
I was wondering, if this Canadian were to write something unsavory about
us , about the country or about the authoritarian govt which are all factual.
Would it get printed in the same paper and if it were , would the govt throw the
book at him for being “foreigners interfering in local politics”??
singaporekia
U sure or not??? I think u siao already. U know Malaysian have cars & homes for assets? We don’t have anything except for household items. At least Malaysian can relax during old age. We, Singaporean?? Work until u die!
So paiseh to be proud as a Singaporean under PAP government. Don’t get me wrong here… I AM for my country though.
LKY suck so much sweat (white blood)
Does Mr Brooks exist or is he the figment of some ST’s writer’s imagination?
haha…it’s interesting to hear all those lavishing praise on malaysia. how many singaporeans immigrate to malaysia and how many malaysians immigrate to singapore? talk is cheap. people vote with their feet and how many singaporeans are actually willing to put their money were their mouth is and trade their singapore passport for a malaysian one??? and as for canada…yes, it’s great if you don’t mind being bored out of your mind.
http://www.efeedlink.com.cn/expert.php?id=5
“Eric J. Brooks is a Canadian writer who lives in Singapore. He is currently the editor of eFeedLink’s flagship publication – FEED Business Asia, and he contributes in eFeedLink.com with insightful write-ups on the latest hot topics in the feed business and animal production industry.”
yea.. you guys may be right,
Mr Brooks may be a figment of imagination. If thats really true, then the PAP are worse then despo maniacs, so despo to regain their citizen’s trust.
HA… idiot foreigner. Hop until 6 countries. I bet when sg got prob or got war, he confirm 1st one book air ticket zao ga liao!!!!
“Not too long ago Malaysian was on par with us but now, we have a run away success.”
not too long ago, we also had run away success stories in those big bank names (well, you should name it for us).
singaporekia, you should read (or reread if you have already done once) the famous fable about the tortoise and the hare.
we also had some local success story in some very-very-hard-to-understand “secretive” holding called TooMooSek where their trumpeted prize catch recently ””””’ran-away”””’ (successfully ????) less than 6 months after being announced for the top-top job. funny leh, top-top job, still leaving.
30) starch: “as for canada…yes, it’s great if you don’t mind being bored out of your mind.”
You must be a shopoholic! In Canada, you can go fishing for Salmon in the rivers, you can take a sledge out and go play in the snow, you can go trekking in the great outdoors, you can….. Oh and we all drive, so why would the Canadian govt spend on an efficient publich transport system?
MR Brooks should realise that he’s being slammed online for his ignorant comments. what a piece of crap, if he has brains, ill bet its the size of subatomic particle. so damn small that its unimaginable.
And also… to the person who published this on ST, the same goes. thats why the ST(SHIT TIMES) has such a “*great*” reputation.
I have never heard of a mainland chinese telling HK people to be grateful.
I have never heard of english having to tell the french to be grateful too.
Only s’poreans allow foreigners to talk down to them.
Can someone send an email to brook to press him to tell us his current citizenship status and why he doesn’t want to convert to Singaporean. Ask him for the reasons and why he finds Canada still a better home than being a Singaporean. His answer should be published here – back to back with his “grateful” comments.
As an angmoh and foreigner, Brooks is trying to apple-polish and bootlicking MM LKY’s government to maybe give him a VIP treatment when he visits Spore again.
Brooks superficial understanding of the true life of Singaporeans, shows that he is an idiot to write something which he only has a limited knowledge. His medulla oblongata is that a bird, so we must forgive him.
Straits Times is quick to publish all letters praising the government because ST are always compliant and is a state controlled newspaper. The editors are all puppets to the system. Singaporean has along knew that.
Get you facts right, Brooks before you yap yap your rubbish. You are entitled to be stupid but please do not abuse the privileged.
Straits Time is a total letdown to let the letter published.
TOC please track down and interview Mr Brooks.
If he cannot be found or then the article is a facade. Something made up by the media for national day.
Is Straits Times running out of ideas to create an impression that the economy is recovering and Singaporeans in good condition ? My first reaction when I read this is : who (name : _____________) gave the green light to even publish this ?
Everyone knows that a good survey and/ or good facts is/ are many times more convincing than an individual’s opinion.
Why publish the view of 1 canadian as if :
(a) he is the authority to speak on behalf of all canadians familiar with Singapore
(b) his analysis has all-encompassing criteria and arguments merit serious consideration ?
@cyrstalline..
yup. smthing veeeeery smelLEE is going on….
A foreigner from the other side of the world telling Singaporean to be grateful??? When NDP is nearing??? My, ST! You sure think Singaporean are stupid don’t you?or maybe there isn’t anything for you to write in your paper anymore?
Lets see, assumming you are a foreigner now:
1. Would you be interested in telling another country people to be grateful of their government?
In the old days we had easterner licking the balls of the westerner; and now with the fruitification of Karma, the trend has reversed, with the quite common appearance of this modern phenomena — westerner licking eastener’s balls.
ST will always published anything “positive” about s’pore. Local media is good at playing the mind game, lots of propaganda news. ST is the mouth-piece for the govt.
No wonder so many TV mobile in the buses. Trying hard to brain wash people mind.
Since ST is so free, go & find out what is the latest status of MM Lee’s wife.
Go & find out why singaporeans detest PAP so much.
With such findings, publish it out……..the rest of the news are secondary.
——————————————————————————————————–
If Mr Eric J Brooks is happy– happy with how Singapore is, so why do he becomes a Singaporean instead. Give up his canadian citizenship and move over to this red dot.
#18) sour grapes
“Thanks to LKY, that is why you see Dr.M eating sour grapes.”
Dr. M is known for being blunt but nevertheless accurate assessments. He may be the last one having the last laugh given time.
……………………………………………
Sometimes ago, Dr M’s daughter visited Singapore and stayed for a few days. She wrote and praised Singapore for its efficiency, cleanliness, etc. etc. but she said she would never enjoy living here for the long term.
Readers should be objective. Mr Brooks after enjoying the good life in Canada looks forward to also enjoy the good life in Singapore. To him, political freedom and freedom of speech which Singaporeans are deprived of are not relevant to him. He doesn’t care much and also cannot talk much for our citizens who can be jailed for 23 years and under house arrest for 9 years for opposing the govt.
Is there a possibility that the Canadian Writer of the Said Letter is ‘awaiting the result of his application to be PR or Citizen’? And hoping to be given a quick and positive reply ?
A Matured and intelligent person would know
that anyone can praise anything he likes.
But this is merely his point of view.
Another person can have other points of view or impression.
The issue is are these negative impressions presented on the same page or in the same newspaper?
Anyone can praise about anything. Its easy. What is more difficult is to daringly criticise at the risk of not being diplomatic.
The NATIONAL NEWSPAPER is doing NATIONAL SERVICE again.
Nice try; may the Editor come in here and read the Comments.
Many Singaporeans do not buy the Straits Times nowadays simply because they are convinced by ST that it only carries bullshits.
patriot
“t it only carries bullshits”
Not only ShittyTimes carries bullshit, it only carries “AngMoh” ‘s shit nowadays as long as those Shit smell goodness !
AngMoh, let’s me ask you , why not you appreciate and “Be Grateful” to your own Canadian country and go back to where you belong to before you teach us to “Be Grateful” ! Are our shit smell nicer than yours that you come here ?
This is a window dressing strategy or rather damage control in certain way. What makes you think that the guy was not asked to write for the said purpose. It is quite common actually everywhere and not just in Sg.
it is a publicity strategy. if you notice for every bad news that came out, readers will be bombarded with bad news from other countries to cushion the blow. Even the news about bonuses for bankers in the US exceeded the profits gains, came about after announcement that TH will defer bonuses for their executives. just to send the message ‘ We are angels compred to those bankers you know’.
Frankly the patern is rather predictable. among others :
1. Bad news normally will be preampt with bad news from other countries
2. A midly good news being placed around other disasterous news from other country